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INTRODUCTION 

Family law encompasses all areas of family relationships, including marriage, domestic 

partnerships, marital property, divorce, legal custody, physical placement, child support, 

third-party visitation, paternity, and adoption.  

The legal rights and obligations of couples, as to each other, are addressed in the areas of 

marriage, domestic partnerships, marital property, divorce, legal separation, property 

division, and spousal maintenance.  

Wisconsin law addresses the legal rights and obligations of parents and other caregivers 

toward children in the areas of legal custody, physical placement, child support, paternity, 

adoption, and third-party visitation.  Note that the issues of custody, placement, and child 

support are decided in any type of family law proceeding in which minor children are 

involved.  If the parents were married, then such issues would be decided in a divorce or 

legal separation proceeding; if the parents were not married, generally those issues would 

be resolved in the context of a paternity case. 

MARRIAGE 

In Wisconsin, marriage is a civil contract between spouses that creates a legal status 

governing certain rights and responsibilities to each other and to others.  [s. 765.01, Stats.] 

Parties 

In order to marry without parent or guardian consent, a person must be at least 18 years of 

age.  If a person is age 16 or 17, the person may marry with the written consent of a parent, 

guardian, or custodian.  [s. 

765.02, Stats.] 

Some individuals are not allowed 

to marry under Wisconsin law.  

Specifically, persons who are 

nearer of kin than second cousins 

(unless sterile); a person who is 

already married to someone else; 

a person who is incapable of 

assenting to marriage due to a 

“want of understanding”; and a person who has been divorced less than six months may not 

marry.  [s. 765.03, Stats.] 

License and Ceremony 

A marriage license may be obtained in any county where at least one party has resided for 

30 days before applying for the license.  If both parties are nonresidents of the state, a 

“Common law” marriage is not recognized as a 

legal marital status in Wisconsin.  In some 

states, common law marriage is a status where 

a couple living together in a marital-like 

relationship for an established period of time 

are treated as legally married. 
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marriage license may be obtained in the county where the marriage ceremony will be 

performed.  Generally, a county clerk may not issue a license within five days of the parties’ 

application.  However, at the county clerk’s discretion, and upon receiving an additional fee, 

the five-day waiting period may be waived.  [ss. 765.05 and 765.08, Stats.] 

With the completed application, a couple must submit a fee, exhibit certified copies of their 

birth certificates, provide documentary proof of identity and residence, submit a copy of a 

judgment or death certificate affecting prior marital status, and swear to or affirm the 

application before the county clerk.  Once the license has been issued, the couple may 

marry in any county in the state within 30 days of its issuance, except, when both parties 

are nonresidents of the state, the ceremony must be performed in the county in which the 

marriage license was issued.  [ss. 765.09, 765.12, and 765.15, Stats.] 

The statutes provide a procedure for family members, the district attorney, or a circuit 

court commissioner to object to a marriage.  The person objecting may file a petition with 

the clerk of probate court explaining that the application is false or insufficient, or that the 

applicants are not legally allowed to marry.  If the court determines the objections have 

merit, it must order the marriage applicants to appear at a hearing, and show why the 

objections are not valid.  [s. 765.11, Stats.] 

The marriage ceremony must involve the mutual declarations of the two parties that they 

take each other as spouses.  The declarations must be made before an authorized efficient, 

and at least two competent adult witnesses.  Authorized officiants include ordained clergy 

members, judges, circuit court commissioners, and municipal judges.  In certain recognized 

religious ceremonies, the two parties themselves may mutually declare the marriage 

without an officiant.  The officiant, or for ceremonies without an officiant, one of the parties, 

must return a completed marriage document (which consists of the license and a license 

worksheet) to the Register of Deeds of the county in which the marriage was performed 

within three days after the marriage date.  [ss. 765.16 and 767.19, Stats.] 

Recognition of Valid Marriages 

Generally, under the Full Faith and Credit Clause of the U.S. Constitution, a marriage 

contracted in another state that satisfies the legal requirements of that state will be 

recognized in Wisconsin.  However, courts have acknowledged an exception for when a 

marriage violates Wisconsin’s strong public policy and Wisconsin had the most significant 

relationship to the spouses at the time of the marriage.  Additionally, state law provides 

that if a Wisconsin couple enters into a marriage outside of this state when the couple is 

ineligible or is prohibited from marrying under state law, the marriage is void, and each 

party is subject to a penalty of up to nine months in jail and up to a $10,000 fine, or both.  

[See Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410, 422 (1979); ss. 765.04 and 765.30, Stats.] 
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Same-Sex Marriages 

Same-sex marriages are legal under both state and 

federal law.  Valid same-sex marriages must be 

recognized in every state, and any same-sex marriage 

prohibitions have been deemed unconstitutional. 

Thus, states must issue a marriage license to same-

sex couples to the same extent that they are issued to 

opposite-sex couples.  Wisconsin statutes that refer to 

a “husband” and “wife” apply instead to a “spouse,” 

regardless of whether the spouse is of the same or 

opposite sex, if the statute governs a right or 

obligation that is conferred by virtue of the marital 

status. [Obergefell v. Hodges, 576 U.S. ___, 135 S. Ct. 

2584 (2015); Baskin v. Bogan, 766 F.3d 648 (7th Cir. 

2014); Wolf v. Walker, cert. denied, U.S. Oct. 6, 

2014).]  

Marital Property 

Wisconsin’s marital property law took effect on 

January 1, 1986, making Wisconsin what is 

commonly referred to as a “community property” state.  The law governs spousal property 

interests during marriage as it relates to creditors and at death.  It generally does not 

govern property rights at dissolution of marriage by divorce, annulment, or legal 

separation.  [ss. 766.001 (2), 766.03 (2), and 766.75, Stats.] 

The principal feature of the marital property system is that each spouse, by law, has an 

equal ownership interest in property acquired by either or both spouses during marriage, 

which gives a present, undivided, one-half interest in all property.   

Under the marital property law, all property owned by spouses is presumed to be marital 

property.  Marital property includes:  income earned by a spouse or income attributable to 

property of a spouse that accrues during marriage; property acquired in exchange for, or 

with, the proceeds of marital property; the substantial appreciation value of individual 

property that is attributable to the substantial effort of either spouse; and any property not 

classified as something other than marital property.  [ss. 766.31 and 766.63, Stats.] 

A spouse may nevertheless have individual property that is excluded from marital rights in 

the following circumstances:  property owned by a spouse before marriage; property 

obtained by gift or inheritance during the marriage; property acquired in exchange for, or 

with, the proceeds of individual property; market appreciation of individual property; 

income from third party trusts; property designated as individual property by a marital 

property agreement; income from nonmarital property designated as individual by a 

Wisconsin law recognizes 

domestic partnerships 

and related rights and 

benefits in limited 

circumstances.  2017 

Wisconsin Act 59 closed 

the domestic partnership 

registry under ch. 770, 

Stats., in that no new 

declarations of domestic 

partnerships are being 

issued after April 1, 2018. 

Also, Act 59 generally 

discontinued certain 

benefits for domestic 

partners of public 

employees of the state and 

local governmental units. 
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properly executed “unilateral statement”; and certain portions of personal injury awards.  

[s. 766.31, Stats.] 

Special classification rules apply to homestead property, certain retirement, pension and 

deferred compensation plans, and life insurance policies.  For example, a home titled in 

both spouses’ names together is automatically classified as survivorship marital property, 

with all ownership passing to a surviving spouse, unless explicitly classified otherwise.  [ss. 

766.605, 766.61, and 766.62, Stats.] 

In general, spouses must act together to manage and control marital property held in the 

names of both spouses in the conjunctive (e.g., John and Mary).  Otherwise, a spouse acting 

alone may manage and control the person’s own individual property and marital property 

held in the alternative (e.g., John or Mary).  

Special management and control rules apply 

in some circumstances, such as creating a 

mortgage interest on a home, managing 

business property, and making gifts.  [ss. 

766.51, 766.53, and 766.70 (3), Stats.] 

One aspect of the marital property law is 

equal access to the extension of credit.  In 

evaluating a spouse’s creditworthiness, the 

law requires a creditor to consider all marital 

property available to satisfy the obligation.  If credit is extended, a creditor must give 

written notice to the nonapplicant spouse of the extension of credit before any payment is 

due.  The type of obligation determines when marital property may be used to satisfy the 

obligation.  For example, an obligation incurred prior to the marriage is generally satisfied 

from the incurring spouse’s individual property.  An obligation incurred by a spouse during 

the marriage is presumed to be in the interest of the marriage and the family and may be 

satisfied from all marital property, as well as the individual property of the incurring 

spouse.  [ss. 766.55, 766.555, 766.56, and 766.565, Stats.] 

Marital Property Agreement 

Spouses may enter into a marital property agreement regarding the classification of 

marital or individual property and the rights to control the property.  Persons intending to 

marry may enter into a marital property agreement, but the agreement becomes effective 

only upon their marriage.  Any agreement must be in writing and signed by both parties.  

To be enforceable, spouses must enter into the agreement voluntarily and after receiving 

notice and disclosure of the other spouse’s property and financial obligations.  An 

agreement cannot affect certain obligations, such as child support.  Generally, an 

agreement may be amended or revoked only by a subsequent marital property agreement.  

[s. 766.58, Stats.] 

Marital property agreements are 

commonly known as prenuptial 

agreements, or pre-nups, though in 

Wisconsin such agreements may be 

executed either before or during 

marriage.   
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In order for a reclassification of property to be effective against a creditor, the creditor must 

have actual knowledge of the relevant provision in the marital property agreement prior to 

the granting of credit.  [s. 766.55 (4m), Stats.] 

The statutes include both marital property and individual property classification agreement 

forms, sometimes referred to as “opt-in” and “opt-out” agreements, that parties may use to 

classify all property as either individual or marital.  These agreements may be terminated 

by one spouse unilaterally and they have no impact upon property division at divorce.  [ss. 

766.588 and 766.589, Stats.] 

A spouse or a person intending to marry may also unilaterally classify the income 

generated by his or her individual property as individual property by executing a written 

statement to that effect.  The executing spouse must provide the other spouse with a 

written copy of the statement within five days after it is signed.  The executing spouse may 

revoke the statement in writing at any time, but must notify the other spouse in writing 

upon revocation.  [s. 766.59, Stats.] 

Wills 

A spouse may dispose of half of the couple’s marital property and all of the spouse’s 

individual property, if any, by will.  The surviving spouse retains a one-half share in the 

marital property, and that share is not subject to probate.  “Deferred marital property” 

rules apply to property acquired during the marriage, but prior to 1986, would have been 

marital property had the marital property law applied when the property was acquired.  

This property is also called “unclassified property.”  Under certain circumstances, a 

surviving spouse may elect to retain or receive a 

portion of the deferred marital property.  [ss. 

766.589, 851.055, and 861.02, Stats.] 

Taxation 

Married persons in Wisconsin may file joint or 

separate tax returns.  On joint returns, all income, 

deductions, and credits for both spouses are 

combined on the same return.  [s. 71.03 (2) (d), 

Stats.; 26 U.S.C. s. 6103.]  However, the Internal 

Revenue Service’s (IRS’s) innocent spouse rule relieves a spouse from tax liability if the 

innocent spouse did not know or have reason to know that the other spouse omitted an 

income item or erroneously claimed a tax credit or deduction on a joint return, and it would 

be inequitable to impose liability on the innocent spouse.  [s. 71.10 (6), Stats.; 26 U.S.C. s. 

6015.] 

If separate returns are filed, each spouse must report half of the total, combined, marital 

property income, deductions, and credits, except as provided by a marital property 

agreement.  In order to resolve questions that might arise regarding access of a spouse to 

the other spouse’s tax return if separate returns are filed, Wisconsin tax law permits the 

Certain tax credits are 

available only to couples 

filing joint returns, not 

those married filing 

separately. 
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spouse or former spouse to examine tax returns or claims of the other spouse in the 

following circumstances:  (1) the spouse or former spouse may be liable; (2) the Department 

of Revenue (DOR) issued an assessment or notice of claim to the spouse or former spouse; or 

(3) the spouse or former spouse is subject to a collection for a delinquency.  Also, DOR may 

disclose whether an extension for filing a return or 

claim was obtained, the extended due date, and the 

date on which the return or claim was filed.  [See 

Rev. Rul. 87-13, 1987-1 C.B. 20; 26 C.F.R. s. 1.66-1; 

ss. 71.78 (4) (k) and (4m) and 766.31, Stats.] 

DIVORCE 

In Wisconsin, actions for divorce and legal 

separation generally use the same procedures.  A 

judgment of legal separation differs in that it 

allows the parties to maintain the legal status of 

marriage (sometimes used to continue family 

coverage for health insurance, or for other personal 

reasons), though the judgment must still addres all 

financial and child-related matters, similar to 

divorce.  This discussion generally focuses on divorce 

proceedings.   

General Requirements and Procedures 

In order to initiate a divorce action, one spouse must have been a Wisconsin resident for at 

least six months prior to the filing of the petition for divorce.  In addition, at least one of the 

parties to the divorce must have been a resident of the county in which the petition is filed 

for at least 30 days prior to the filing of the petition.  County clerks of court collect a fee 

when a party commences a divorce or any other action affecting the family.  [ss. 767.301, 

814.61, and 814.75, Stats.] 

Wisconsin is a “no fault” divorce state, which means the court must find simply that the 

marriage is “irretrievably broken.”  This is shown by both parties stating in the divorce 

petition or otherwise under oath that the marriage is irretrievably broken, or by the parties 

voluntarily living apart continuously for 12 months or more immediately prior to filing the 

divorce petition and one party has stated that the marriage is irretrievably broken.  If only 

one party has stated that the marriage is irretrievably broken and the parties have not 

voluntarily lived apart for 12 months, the court may find that the marriage is irretrievably 

broken by determining that there is no reasonable prospect of reconciliation.  [s. 767.315, 

Stats.] 

Wisconsin requires a waiting period before a judgment of divorce may be granted.  When 

the parties have filed a joint petition for divorce, 120 days must pass from the filing date 

before the action may be brought to trial or to a final hearing for approval of a settlement 

Legal separation is a legal 

status that is distinct from 

physical separation.  Any 

couple may physically 

separate at any time without 

affecting their legal marital 

status. 

Circuit court forms for family 

actions can be found at: 

 

https://www.wicourts.gov/ 

https://www.wicourts.gov/
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agreement.  When one party has filed the petition, the 120-day waiting period begins when 

the other party is served with the petition.  [s. 767.335, Stats.] 

Pendency of Divorce Action 

A circuit court judge or court commissioner may 

make just and reasonable temporary orders 

during the pendency of an action.  Temporary 

orders may concern legal custody and periods of 

physical placement of a minor child, removal of 

a child from the court’s jurisdiction, payment for 

child support and spousal maintenance, 

payment of debts, disposal of assets, and 

counseling for one or both parties, among other 

issues.  [s. 767.225, Stats.] 

Reconciliation may be attempted, if stipulated by the parties in writing, during the 

pendency of a divorce action.  A suspension of the proceedings to effect reconciliation may 

be granted for up to 90 days.  Suspension does not affect the parties’ rights in the divorce 

action.  During the suspension period, the parties’ acts:  (1) do not constitute an admission 

that the marriage is not irretrievably broken; and (2) do not negate that the parties have 

voluntarily lived apart continuously for 12 months or more immediately before the 

commencement of the action.  If the parties do not reconcile, the action will proceed as 

though no reconciliation period was attempted.  [s. 767.323, Stats.] 

During the pendency of a divorce action, parties are required to disclose information about:  

(1) assets owned by them individually or jointly; (2) debts and liabilities; and (3) income.  

There are penalties and other procedural consequences for incomplete disclosures.  All 

financial and asset information that is disclosed is confidential and sealed by the court.  [s. 

767.127, Stats.] 

The statutes contain various requirements for the parties to attend counseling or 

educational programs.  Most of the programs focus on educating parents about the effect of 

divorce or parental separation on children and how to lessen any detrimental effects.  

Specific provisions relate to child custody mediation where it appears that legal custody or 

physical placement is contested, as discussed later in this chapter.  [ss. 767.401 and 

767.405, Stats.] 

Reaching a Judgment 

The primary issues decided in a judgment of divorce are:  property division; child support 

and spousal maintenance; legal custody of a child; and periods of physical placement with a 

child (sometimes including visitation rights of third parties). 

Parties may stipulate to any of these issues in settlement of a divorce action, subject to 

court approval and certain limitations.  For example, child support must be determined in a 

Each party’s financial 

disclosure statement in a 

divorce action is sealed by 

the court and generally 

cannot be disclosed to any 

person outside the action. 
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manner that is consistent with the state’s child support standards.  Also, a stipulation 

cannot leave one party in need of assistance from the state.  [ss. 767.34 and 767.35, Stats.] 

Property Division 

Property division in a divorce action is not governed by the marital property law, but, 

rather, by the marital dissolution laws.  Generally, in a divorce, all property acquired before 

or during the marriage, owned by either or both spouses, is subject to division.  This 

includes assets such as pension plans, retirement accounts, vehicles, and real estate.  

Property acquired by gift or inheritance by one party is generally not subject to division, 

unless the court finds that refusal to divide the property would result in a hardship on the 

other spouse or the children, if any.  [s. 767.61 (2) and (3), Stats.] 

After determining all assets and debts of the parties, the court must presume that each 

party should be awarded an equal value of the total divisible property, but the application 

of several statutory factors may alter this presumption.  One factor for consideration is the 

existence of a written agreement by the parties concerning any arrangement for property 

distribution, which is binding on the court if equitable.  Other factors include the length of 

the marriage, the property brought to the marriage by each party, and the tax 

consequences to each party.  For example, in dissolving a marriage of short duration, where 

the parties had a large difference in the property brought to the marriage, a court may 

consider an unequal division of property.  [s. 767.61 (3), Stats.] 

Debts incurred during the marriage are also assigned, but can be collected from either 

party regardless of how responsibility for debts is divided between the parties in their 

judgment of divorce.  A divorce judgment assigning a debt is not binding on creditors, 

because a creditor is not a party in the divorce action.  To avoid possible problems with the 

collection of debts after a divorce, parties may take actions such as consolidating and 

refinancing in the name of the spouse who is assigned those debts.  [ss. 766.55 and 767.61, 

Stats.; Sokaogon Gaming Enterprise Corp. v. Curda-Derickson, 2003 WI App 167.] 

Maintenance 

As part of a divorce judgment, a court may order maintenance payments (formerly known 

as alimony) to either party for a limited or indefinite period of time, after considering 

several designated statutory factors.  Some of these factors include the length of the 

marriage; the age and physical and emotional health of the parties; the division of property 

made in connection with the divorce; the educational level of each party at the time of the 

marriage and at the time of the divorce; the earning capacity of the party seeking 

maintenance, including the party’s educational and employment background, length of 

absence from the job market, and child-rearing responsibilities during the marriage; and 

the contribution of one party to the education, training, and earning power of the other 

party.  [s. 767.56, Stats.] 

A maintenance award must meet the dual objectives of supporting the recipient in 

accordance with the parties’ needs and earning capacities, while ensuring a fair and 
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equitable financial arrangement between them.  There is no statutory presumption of an 

equal division of earnings in awarding maintenance, but courts have stated that a 

reasonable starting point for a maintenance evaluation in a long-term marriage is that the 

dependent spouse may be entitled to one-half of the total combined earnings of both parties.  

[Hefty v. Hefty, 172 Wis. 2d 124 (1992); Johnson v. Johnson, 225 Wis. 2d 513 (Ct. App. 

1999).] 

If no maintenance is awarded in the judgment, 

maintenance is generally waived, unless 

specifically held open, and cannot later be 

ordered by a court.  If maintenance is awarded, a 

court may consider revising the amount or 

duration if it first finds that there has been a 

substantial change in the parties’ financial 

circumstances.  [s. 767.59, Stats.; Grace v. Grace, 

195 Wis. 2d 153 (Ct. App. 1995).] 

For judgments entered before January 1, 2019, the IRS allows a payer to deduct the 

amount of maintenance payments from reported gross income on a tax return, if certain 

requirements are met.  However, the IRS disallows deductions for any portion of spousal 

support that is intended for child support.  [26 U.S.C. ss. 71 and 215.] 

Under the new federal tax law, maintenance payments are no longer deductible for the 

payer, nor are such payments considered taxable income to the recipient. These new rules 

apply to any judgment of divorce or legal separation entered after December 31, 2018, and 

to any judgment of divorce or legal separation entered before that date, but modified after 

December 31, 2018, if the modification expressly provides that the new law applies to the 

modification. [Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, Pub. L. No. 115-97, s. 11051, 131 Stat. 2054 (2017).]  

PATERNITY 

A child born to a married couple is generally 

presumed by law, to be the child of both spouses.  

Paternity issues arise when unmarried couples 

have children.  Depending on the circumstances, a 

paternity action may be filed, in which the court 

addresses not only paternity, but issues related to 

the child, similar to the way these issues are 

addressed in a divorce. 

Ways to Establish Paternity 

If parents are not married when a child is born, legal fatherhood can be established in three 

different ways: 

 Voluntary paternity acknowledgment.  If both the mother and the man are certain 

that the man is the father, the easiest way to establish fatherhood is with the Voluntary 

The application form for child 

support case management services 

can be found at:   

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cs/apply 

A child born to a married 

couple is generally presumed, 

by law, to be the child of both 

spouses. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cs/apply
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Paternity Acknowledgment form, which the father and the mother may sign together 

before a notary.  The Acknowledgement may be signed at any time, and is commonly 

provided after birth, by a hospital or midwife.  Local child support agencies can also 

help with the form.  [ss. 767.805 and 891.405, Stats.; 42 U.S.C. s. 666 (a) (5) (D).] 

 Court ruling.  If a man is named as the possible father in a petition for paternity and 

does not agree, or, if a man states that he is the father of a child and the mother does 

not agree, a court will make a ruling about paternity.  Both the man and the mother 

will be notified of the hearing and both may attend.  These procedures are explained in 

more detail below. 

 Acknowledgment of marital child 

(legitimation).  If a mother and the father 

marry after their child is born, the parents 

may sign a form for an Acknowledgment of 

Marital Child to establish paternity.  Local 

child support agencies can help with the form, 

which is then filed with the state Vital Records 

Office.  [s. 767.803, Stats.] 

Several persons are eligible to commence a paternity action under Wisconsin law.  Eligible 

persons include the child, the child’s mother, or the state.  Likewise, a man alleging himself 

to be the child’s father may bring an action to determine paternity.  In addition, the 

husband of the mother, who is presumed to be the child’s father, or a man legally 

acknowledged as the child’s father at birth, may bring an action to refute paternity.  [s. 

767.80, Stats.] 

Court Procedure 

A paternity action is commenced by filing a summons, notice, and petition for paternity 

with the clerk of court for the county in which the child or the alleged father resides. 

The person filing the action must generally serve the filed documents on the other parent or 

alleged parent within 90 days of filing with the clerk of court.  A guardian ad litem (GAL) is 

appointed for a minor parent, and may be appointed for the child in some circumstances.  

The alleged father has a right to counsel, and will have an attorney appointed if the alleged 

father is deemed indigent.  [ss. 767.813, 767.815 to 

767.83, 801.02 (1), and 801.11, Stats.] 

The court proceeding generally has three stages:  

the first appearance, the pretrial hearing, and the 

trial.  All three stages are closed to the public.  

Paternity can be acknowledged at any of these 

stages.  The alleged father is permitted to enter 

one of the following three pleas relating to the 

paternity:  admit paternity, deny paternity, or 

An action to establish 

paternity cannot be brought 

after the child turns 19. 

Liability for past child 

support payments is limited to 

the period after filing unless 

the action was delayed 

because of duress, threats, 

promises, or evasion. 

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs/define_paternity.htm
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs/define_paternity.htm
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admit paternity subject to confirming tests.  [ss. 767.853, 767.863, 767.88, and 767.883, 

Stats.] 

At the first appearance, the court must inform the parties of several things, including the 

rights and obligations established by a paternity judgment; that any party may request 

genetic tests; and that defenses to paternity include sterility or impotence at the time of 

conception, lack of intercourse with the mother during the preconceptive period, or that 

another man had intercourse with the mother during that period.  [ss. 767.86 to 767.863 

and 767.813 (5g), Stats.] 

At the pretrial hearing, the court must evaluate the probability of determining paternity at 

trial.  At this point, witnesses and other evidence may be presented.  The court may, at the 

conclusion of the evidence, make a recommendation to the parties regarding the paternity 

action including dismissal or settlement.  [ss. 767.853 and 767.88, Stats.] 

If no settlement is reached at the pretrial stage, a paternity trial is held in two parts:  first, 

to make the determination of paternity and second, to make a determination of child 

support, legal custody, periods of physical placement, and any related issues, if necessary.  

[s. 767.883, Stats.] 

Evidence Used to Establish Paternity 

Genetic tests are one form of evidence used to determine the existence of paternity.  If the 

results of genetic testing show that the alleged father is not excluded as a possible father of 

the child and that the statistical probability of the alleged father’s parentage is 99% or 

higher, the alleged father is rebuttably presumed to be the father of the child. 

Other evidence that may be submitted includes evidence of sexual intercourse between the 

mother and alleged father during the possible time of conception; evidence of a relationship 

between the mother and alleged father at any time; an expert’s opinion concerning the 

statistical probability of the alleged father’s paternity based upon the duration of the 

mother’s pregnancy; and, any other evidence relevant to the issue of paternity.  [ss. 767.84 

and 767.87, Stats.] 

Judgment of Paternity 

Once the trial is completed, the court enters a judgment of paternity.  The judgment 

contains an adjudication of the child’s paternity, an order requiring either parent to pay 

child support, an order for the child’s legal custody and physical placement, an order 

regarding which parent will have the right to claim the tax exemption for the child, and 

orders relating to the payment of birth expenses and all related costs and fees of the action, 

including GAL fees and genetic testing fees.  [s. 767.89, Stats.] 
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LEGAL CUSTODY AND PHYSICAL PLACEMENT 

In actions for divorce, legal separation, annulment, or paternity, a court must assign legal 

custody and physical placement for a child.  Custody and placement involve different 

aspects of a child’s upbringing. 

“Legal custody” means the right and responsibility to 

make major decisions concerning a child.  Major decisions 

include consent to marry, consent to enter military 

service, consent to obtain a driver’s license, authorization 

for nonemergency health care, and choice of school and 

religion.  The court, in its order for custody, may delineate 

specific decisions to be made by either party. 

“Physical placement” is the time a child is physically 

placed in a parent’s care.  A parent must make routine 

daily decisions while the child is physically with that 

parent, consistent with the major decisions made by 

either or both parents having legal custody.  [ss. 767.001 

(2), (2m) and (5) and 767.41 (6), Stats.] 

Statutory Factors 

In assigning legal custody and physical placement, the court must consider numerous 

statutory factors.  Some of these include the child’s wishes; the child’s relationship with the 

parents; the child’s age; the family’s history of custodial roles and any reasonable lifestyle 

changes that are proposed; the child’s adjustment to home and school; and the need for 

regularly occurring and meaningful periods of physical placement to provide predictability 

and stability for the child.  [s. 767.41 (5), Stats.] 

Legal Custody 

The court must presume that joint legal custody is in the child’s best interest.  However, a 

court may award sole legal custody if the parties agree to it and the court finds that sole 

legal custody is in the child’s best interest.  Absent party agreement, the court may award 

sole legal custody if the court finds that:  (1) one party is not capable of performing parental 

duties or does not wish to be active in raising the child; (2) conditions exist that 

substantially interfere with the exercise of joint legal custody; or (3) the parties will not be 

able to cooperate in future decision-making. 

If there is evidence of a pattern or serious incident of domestic abuse by one parent against 

the other parent, the presumption for joint legal custody does not apply.  Rather, under 

such circumstances, the court presumes that joint legal custody is detrimental to the child 

and contrary to the child’s best interest. 

However, the “spousal abuse” presumption may be rebutted by a preponderance of evidence 

that the abusive party has completed treatment for batterers provided through a certified 

In determining legal 

custody and physical 

placement, a court 

must consider all facts 

relevant to the best 

interest of the child.  

A court may not 

prefer a parent on the 

basis of sex or race. 
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treatment program or treatment provider and is not abusing alcohol or any other drug, and 

that it is in the best interest of the child that the abusive party be given joint or sole legal 

custody after considering the specified custody and placement factors. 

If both parties have engaged in a pattern or serious incident of domestic abuse, for purposes 

of the presumption, the court must attempt to determine which party was the primary 

physical aggressor, considering factors such as any prior acts of abuse, relative severity of 

injuries, acts of self-defense, and any patterns of coercive and abusive behavior between the 

parties.  If one, but not both, of the parties was convicted of a crime that was an act of 

domestic abuse with respect to the other party, the court must find the party who was 

convicted to be the primary physical aggressor.  If the court determines that neither party 

was the primary physical aggressor, the presumption against a party’s custody rights does 

not apply.  [s. 767.41 (2), Stats.] 

Physical Placement 

A child is entitled to periods of physical placement with both parents unless the court finds 

that placement with a parent would endanger the child’s physical, mental, or emotional 

health.  In determining physical placement, a court must consider all facts relevant to the 

child’s best interest, including the same statutory factors that apply to legal custody 

determinations. 

Wisconsin statutes provide that a placement 

schedule should allow a child to have 

regularly occurring, meaningful periods of 

physical placement with each parent.  The 

schedule must maximize the amount of time 

a child spends with each parent, considering 

geographic separation and accommodations 

for different households.  According to 

Wisconsin court decisions, the requirement 

to maximize time with both parents is not 

synonymous with a presumption for equal 

physical placement, but requires a 

consideration of the child’s best interest and the amount of time a child has with both 

parents within an overall placement schedule.   

A court may not deny a parent physical placement based on the parent’s failure to make 

child support or maintenance payments.  [s. 767.41 (4), Stats.; Keller v. Keller, 2002 WI 

App. 161, ¶ 12.] 

Guardian Ad Litem 

When the legal custody or physical placement of a child is contested, or if there is reason for 

special concern regarding the welfare of the child, the court appoints a GAL for the child.  A 

GAL’s responsibility is to advocate for the best interest of the child and to make 

A court must set a placement 

schedule that:  (a) allows the child 

to have regularly occurring, 

meaningful periods of physical 

placement with each parent; and 

(b) maximizes the amount of time 

the child may spend with each 

parent. 
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recommendations to the court regarding paternity, custody, physical placement, and 

support.  A GAL must consider, but is not bound by, a child’s wishes.  A GAL must be a 

licensed attorney in the State of Wisconsin who meets the GAL special training 

requirements.  Generally, both parents are required to contribute to the payment of the 

GAL’s fees.  [s. 767.407, Stats.; SCR 35.015 (2015-16).] 

Mediation 

Every county must make mediation services available to help the parties resolve their 

disputes about the best interests of a child.  With exceptions for undue hardship or 

endangerment to one of the parties, an initial session of mediation is required in any action 

where it appears that legal custody or physical placement is contested.  The parties may 

contract with a mediator at their own expense or may use the county’s family court service 

mediators.  If an agreement is reached, it must be reviewed by the parties’ attorneys and 

the GAL and be approved by the court.  If no agreement is reached, the matter must be 

referred for a legal custody or physical placement study and the issues are resolved through 

court procedures.  [s. 767.405, Stats.] 

Modification of Custody and Placement Order 

A court generally may not modify an initial 

legal custody or physical placement order for 

two years unless the current custodial 

conditions are physically or emotionally 

harmful to the best interest of the child.  This is 

meant to provide a period of finality and 

stability while the child is adjusting to the new 

family situation. 

After the two-year period, the court may modify 

the legal custody or placement order if it first finds that:  (1) it is in the best interest of the 

child to do so; and (2) a substantial change of circumstances has occurred that affects 

custody or placement.  In considering a request to modify a custody or placement order, the 

court presumes that continuing the underlying physical placement arrangement is in the 

best interest of the child. 

If the parties have substantially equal periods of placement, the court may modify an order 

for physical placement at any time if it is in the best interest of the child, but only if 

circumstances make it impractical to continue the equal placement arrangement. 

2017 Wisconsin Act 263 created a new procedure that applies when a parent seeks to 

relocate a child.  Generally, under the new law, if a court granted physical placement rights 

to both parents and a parent later plans to relocate and reside with the child 100 miles or 

more from the other parent, the moving parent must file a motion with the court seeking 

permission to relocate, except in circumstances in which the parents already live more than 

100 miles apart.  The motion must contain specific information, including notice to the 

Under the so-called “use-it-or-lose-

it” provision, a court may modify a 

party’s rights to physical placement 

for failure to exercise physical 

placement. 
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nonmoving parent regarding how to object to the relocation, and must be served on the 

nonmoving parent by mail.  The statutes provide a procedure for the nonmoving party to 

object and provides standards for when relocation must or may be allowed.  A court must 

hold an initial hearing on the motion to relocate within 30 days after the motion is filed.  If 

there is an objection, the court will generally refer the parties to mediation, appoint a GAL 

if mediation fails, and set a final hearing to be 

held within 60 days.    

At any time, a court may deny a parent’s 

physical placement rights if it finds that the 

placement rights endanger the child’s physical, 

mental, or emotional health.  [ss. 767.451 and 

767.481, Stats.] 

Enforcement of Custody and Placement Order 

Methods for enforcing rights to legal custody and physical placement include contempt of 

court sanctions and criminal sanctions relating to interference with the custody of a child.  

Additionally, statutory remedies require a court to grant periods of physical placement to 

replace those denied or interfered with by the other parent and to order the uncooperative 

parent to pay costs and attorney fees for maintaining the enforcement action.  [ss. 767.471 

and 948.31, Stats.] 

Wisconsin courts may also enforce or modify custody and placement orders from tribal 

courts, other states, or other countries under the procedures set forth by the Uniform Child 

Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (UCCJEA), and the Hague Convention on the 

Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction.  [ch. 822, Stats.] 

CHILD SUPPORT 

As part of a divorce judgment, paternity judgment, or cases where a child’s parents may 

live apart, the parties are responsible for supporting a child under 18, or under 19 years old 

if the child is pursuing an accredited course of instruction leading to the acquisition of a 

high school diploma or its equivalent.  The court must determine the amount of child 

support to be paid using child support standards promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Families (DCF).  [s. 767.511, Stats.] 

The administrative code provides the child support standards that are to be applied to a 

person’s income in determining the appropriate level of child support.  Child support 

amounts are based on a percentage of the parent’s gross income.  The percentage-of-income 

standards when one parent has primary physical placement are as follows: 

 17% for one child. 

 25% for two children. 

 29% for three children.  

Additional information on child 

support in Wisconsin can be found 

at:   

 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cs/home 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cs/home
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 31% for four children. 

 34% for five or more children. 

When both parents have court-ordered periods of physical placement of a child for at least 

25% of the year (92 overnights) each, the percentage standard is calculated for both parents 

and offset under a specific formula. 

[ss. DCF 150.03 and 150.04 (2), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

The amount of child support is determined from the obligated parent’s gross monthly 

income.  Gross income includes all salary 

and wages before taxes and other 

deductions are taken out, income from 

assets, workers’ compensation, 

unemployment income, and Social Security 

disability benefits.  Income does not 

include public welfare assistance.  [s. DCF 

150.02 (13), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

The court is also permitted to set child 

support based on a payer’s ability to earn, or “imputed income,” beyond actual earnings in 

situations where a parent’s income is less than the parent’s earning capacity or is unknown.  

The court may consider factors such as past earnings; current physical and mental health; 

history of child care responsibilities of the parent with primary placement; the parent’s 

education, training, and recent work experience; and local job openings.  [s. 150.03 (3), Wis. 

Adm. Code.] 

Special rules govern the application of the percentage standards to the following types of 

payers: 

 A serial family payer, who has an existing 

child support obligation and incurs an 

additional child support obligation in a 

subsequent family. 

 A split-placement payer, who has physical 

placement of at least one but not all of the 

children. 

 A low-income payer, who has an income below 150% of the federal poverty level.   

 A high-income payer who has an income above $84,000 per year.  A further reduced 

percentage rate applies to income in excess of $150,000.  [s. DCF 150.04, Wis. Adm. 

Code.] 

A court may deviate from the standards only if the court finds that the use of the applicable 

standard is unfair to the child or to any of the parties.  Any deviation must include 

In cases of teenage parents, both 

sets of grandparents also have a 

child support obligation.   

In most cases, child support is 

automatically withheld from the 

income paid by an obligated 

parent’s employer.  This is known 

as income assignment.   
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consideration of an extensive list of factors set forth in the statutes and the reasons for 

deviation must be written or stated on the record.  [s. 767.511 (1j), (1m), and (1n), Stats.; s. 

DCF 150.03 (11), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

Although the child support amount is calculated based on a percentage standard, current 

law provides that the child support order must be given as a fixed sum.  The order may be 

expressed as a percentage only in limited circumstances.  [s. 767.511 (1) (a), Stats.] 

A court that issues a child support order must also assign responsibility for payment of the 

child’s health care expenses.  In assigning responsibility, the court must consider specified 

factors, including existing and available health insurance, the extent of coverage, and the 

cost of health insurance coverage for the child.  The court may require a parent to initiate 

or continue health care insurance coverage for a 

child.  [s. 767.513, Stats.; s. DCF 150.05, Wis. 

Adm. Code.] 

Child support must generally be withheld from 

employment income and is paid to the Wisconsin 

Support Collection Trust Fund.  Child support 

payments are then paid out by direct deposit or 

added to a debit card.  [s. 767.75, Stats.] 

Modification of Child Support Order 

Generally, a court may not modify a child support 

order except when there has been a substantial 

change in the circumstances of the parties or the 

children since the entry of the order.  A court may 

presume that there has been a substantial change in circumstances in response to certain 

events, including: commencement of participation in Wisconsin Works (W-2) by either 

parent; expiration of 33 months after the date of entry of the last child support order; or 

failure of the payer to furnish a timely annual financial disclosure.  A court may also find 

that any of the following constitute a substantial change in circumstances: a change in the 

payer’s income or earning capacity; a change in the child’s needs; or any other condition the 

court determines is relevant in a particular case.  If a court determines that there has been 

a substantial change in circumstances, then the court may, but is not required to, modify 

the order by applying the child support standards to the current circumstances.  [s. 767.59, 

Stats.] 

Enforcement of Child Support Order 

There are several tools available for enforcement of support orders.  The mechanisms 

include mandatory employer reporting of newly hired employees to DCF; tax refund 

intercepts; accrual of interest on past due child support amounts; work search 

requirements; contempt of court proceedings with penalties or fines, imprisonment, or both; 

ineligibility for W-2 benefits; suspension of driver’s licenses; data sharing between DCF and 

The Wisconsin Child Support 

Lien Docket is a registry 

containing the names of any 

person with an obligation for 

past-due child support.  The 

amount owed equals a lien 

against the person’s real and 

titled personal property. 

The searchable child support 

lien docket is available at: 

 

https://liendocket.wisconsin.gov 

https://liendocket.wisconsin.gov/
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state financial institutions; liens on property; seizure of assets; suspension of recreational 

licenses and professional licenses and credentials; denial of passports; denial of college or 

business loans; and seizure of bank accounts.  State and federal criminal penalties may also 

apply.  [subch. VIII, ch.767, Stats.] 

Wisconsin courts may also enforce or modify child support orders from other states under 

the procedures set forth in ch. 769, Stats., the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act 

(UIFSA). 

Local county child support offices prosecute enforcement actions on behalf of parents 

receiving child support, when the recipients have applied for the services.  The fee for 

services is $25 for each year in which $500 or more is received in support.  [s. 767.57, Stats.; 

42 U.S.C. s. 654 (6) (B).] 

ADOPTION 

The process for adopting a child usually 

involves four steps:  (1) termination of 

parental rights; (2) petition to adopt and 

order for investigation; (3) agency 

investigation (often referred to as the home 

study); and (4) hearing on the adoption.  All hearings concerning termination of parental 

rights and adoption must be closed to the public.  [s. 48.837 (2) to (8), Stats.] 

Agency adoptions involve the placement of a child with adoptive parents by a public agency, 

including the Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare or any other county department of 

human or social services, or by a licensed private agency.  Public child welfare agencies 

generally place children who have become wards of the state for reasons such as orphanage, 

abandonment, or abuse.  Private agencies are sometimes run by charities or social service 

organizations.  [ss. 48.833 and 48.834, 

Stats.] 

An independent adoption refers to 

situations where the biological and 

adoptive parents find each other without 

the help of an agency, often through 

friends or acquaintances.  In Wisconsin, 

these families must still work with an 

agency for the home study and birth 

parent counseling services.  [ss. 48.837 

and 48.84, Stats.] 

Similarly, a parent who has custody of a child may place the child for adoption in the home 

of a relative.  This is most familiar in cases of grandparent adoptions, but could also include 

adoption by a brother, sister, first or second cousin, uncle, or aunt.  [s. 48.835, Stats.] 

Additional information on adoption in 

Wisconsin can be found at:   

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/adoption 

There is no statutory “open adoption” in 

Wisconsin.  If adoptive parents have 

made promises of continued contact with 

the birth parents after the termination of 

parental rights, those promises are not 

enforceable by a court. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/adoption
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It is also common for a stepparent to adopt the child of his or her spouse under the same 

general procedures.  Wisconsin does not allow adoption by the domestic partner of a birth 

parent under the stepparent adoption procedures.  [s. 48.82 (1) (a), Stats.] 

It is lawful for the proposed adoptive parents to pay certain, limited expenses of the birth 

parent that relate to the adoption.  These may include medical and hospital expenses, 

birthing classes, maternity clothes (not to exceed $300), legal expenses, living expenses if 

necessary to protect the mother or child’s health and welfare (not to exceed $5,000), 

counseling, and a gift to the mother (not to exceed $100 in value).  [s. 48.913, Stats.] 

A biological parent may sign a consent to terminate parental rights after the birth of a 

child, and may revoke the consent at any point up until the judge signs the order 

terminating parental rights.  When the termination order is entered by the court, it is final, 

and there is no waiting period allowing the biological parent to change his or her mind.  A 

biological parent may appeal the order within 30 days, under an expedited appeals process.  

[ss. 48.41, 48.46 (2), 48.63 (3) (b) 5., and 48.837 (1r) (e), Stats.] 

In every adoption, the agency caseworker must determine whether the federal Indian Child 

Welfare Act of 1978 applies.  The Act applies if the child is either a member of an Indian 

tribe or eligible for membership, and is the biological child of a member of an Indian tribe.  

Each tribe sets its own standards of eligibility for membership.  Unless it is a voluntary 

proceeding, the tribe must be notified and given an opportunity to assert the statutory 

placement preference priority in favor of the child’s extended family and tribe.  [s. 48.028, 

Stats.] 

THIRD PARTY VISITATION 

Wisconsin statutes provide for the visitation of children by certain nonparents, including 

grandparents, stepparents, and domestic partners, in several situations.  However, unlike a 

parent with physical placement, a person granted visitation with a child does not have any 

other parental rights or obligations towards the child. 

In Actions Affecting the Family 

A grandparent, great-grandparent, or stepparent may petition the court for visitation with 

a child subsequent to, or during, an action affecting the family (such as divorce, annulment, 

and legal separation actions).  The court may grant reasonable visitation rights to the 

grandparent, great-grandparent, or stepparent if:  (1) the parents have notice of the 

hearing; and (2) the court determines that visitation is in the best interest of the child.  As 

part of its best interest determination, the court must first find that the child’s family is not 

intact.  Whenever possible, in making its determination, the court must also consider the 

wishes of the child.  [s. 767.43 (1) and (2), Stats.; Cox v. Williams, 177 Wis. 2d 433 (1993).]   

In a recent decision, the Wisconsin Supreme Court clarified that grandparents, great-

grandparents, and stepparents do not need to prove a parent-like relationship with a child 

in order to qualify for visitation.  [S.A.M. v. Meister (In re Meister), 2016 WI 22, ¶ 22.]   

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/cases/id/5JGF-4CM1-F04M-F0C2-00000-00?context=1000516
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Person With a Parent-Like Relationship 

First, in the context of an existing action affecting the family, persons other than 

grandparents, great-grandparents, and stepparents who have maintained a relationship 

similar to a parental relationship with a child may request and be granted reasonable 

visitation rights, if the parents have notice of the hearing and the court determines that the 

visitation is in the best interests of the child.  [s. 767.43 (1), Stats.] 

Wisconsin courts also recognize an independent action for a third party petitioner, other 

than a grandparent, who is seeking visitation rights with a minor child if the petitioner 

proves four specific elements to demonstrate a parent-like relationship with the child.  

These elements are:  (1) the biological or adoptive parent consented to, and fostered, the 

petitioner’s parent-like relationship with the child; (2) the petitioner and the child lived 

together in the same household; (3) the petitioner assumed parental obligations, including 

contributing to the child’s support, without expectation of financial compensation; and (4) 

the petitioner has been in a parental role long enough to have established a bonded, 

dependent parent-like relationship.  If there is no underlying action affecting the family, 

the petitioner must show that there was a significant triggering event, such as substantial 

interference with the parent-like relationship.  [Custody of H.S.H.-K., 193 Wis. 2d 649 

(1995).] 

Grandparents of a Nonmarital Child 

Grandparents of a child whose parents are not married may petition for, and be granted, 

visitation rights in an independent action for visitation or in an underlying action affecting 

the family that affects the child.  The child’s parents must have notice of the hearing and 

the court must find that:   (1) the parents have not married each other after the birth of the 

child; (2) the paternity of the child has been determined if the grandparents seeking 

visitation are the paternal grandparents; (3) the child has not been adopted; (4) the 

grandparents have maintained a relationship with the child (or have tried but have been 

prevented from doing so by a parent); (5) the grandparents will not act in a manner 

contrary to the parenting decisions of the parent; and (6) the visitation is in the best 

interest of the child.  [s. 767.43 (3), Stats.] 

After Adoption 

Other relatives may apply for visitation after adoption when the child has been adopted by 

a stepparent or by another relative.  In these cases, even though the parental relationship 

has been legally extinguished with one or both birth parents, other relatives (listed in the 

statutes) may petition for visitation if they have maintained parent-like relationships with 

the child within the two years before filing the petition.  Reasonable visitation may be 

granted if the court determines that it would be in the best interest of the child, the relative 

will not undermine the legal parents’ relationship with the child, and the relative will not 

act in a manner contrary to the parenting decisions of the legal parents.  [ss. 48.02 (15) and 

48.925, Stats.] 
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After Death of One or Both Parents 

Grandparents and stepparents of a child may request and be granted visitation with the 

child if one or both parents of the child are deceased and the child is in the custody of the 

surviving parent or any other person.  Visitation may be granted if the person with custody 

of the child has notice of the hearing and if the court determines that visitation is in the 

child’s best interest.  The petition may be filed in an underlying guardianship action or as 

an independent action.  [s. 54.56, Stats.] 

ADDITIONAL REFERENCES 
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divorce, child custody, child support, domestic partnerships, and grandparent 
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GLOSSARY 

Guardian ad litem (GAL):  A guardian ad litem is an attorney admitted to practice in 

Wisconsin who must advocate for the best interest of a minor child as to paternity, legal 

custody, physical placement, and support.  The GAL has none of the rights or duties of a 

general guardian.   

Joint legal custody:  Joint legal custody means the situation in which both parties share 

legal custody and neither party’s legal custody rights are superior, except with respect to 

specified decisions as set forth by the court or the parties in the final judgment or order. 

Legal custody:  With respect to any person granted legal custody of a child, legal custody 

means the right and responsibility to make major decisions concerning the child, except 

http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc
https://revenue.wi.gov/pages/HTML/taxpubs.aspx
http://wilawlibrary.gov/topics/wiforms.php
http://wilawlibrary.gov/topics/witopicindex.html
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with respect to specified decisions as set forth by the court or the parties in the final 

judgment or order. 

Maintenance: Maintenance is a payment from one spouse to another spouse that a court 

may order as part of a judgment of divorce, legal separation or annulment.  Referred to in 

other jurisdictions as “alimony” or “spousal support,” the goal of maintenance is to allow the 

parties to maintain a standard of living reasonably comparable to that experienced during 

the marriage. The amount and duration of maintenance, if any, varies based on the 

application of several statutory factors. 

Major decisions:  Major decisions include, but are not limited to, decisions regarding 

consent to marry, consent to enter military service, consent to obtain a motor vehicle 

operator’s license, authorization for nonemergency health care, and choice of school and 

religion. 

Mediation:  Mediation means a cooperative process involving the parties and a mediator, 

the purpose of which is to help the parties, by applying communication and dispute 

resolution skills, to define and resolve their own disagreements.  In cases where a child is 

involved, the best interest of the child is the paramount consideration. 

Physical placement:  Physical placement means the condition under which a party has 

the right to have a child physically placed with that party and has the right and 

responsibility, during that placement, to make routine daily decisions regarding the child’s 

care, consistent with major decisions made by a person having legal custody. 

Sole legal custody:  Sole legal custody means the situation in which only one party has 

legal custody.  

Termination of parental rights (TPR):  Termination of parental rights means that, 

pursuant to a court order, all rights, powers, privileges, immunities, duties, and obligations 

existing between parent and child are permanently severed. 
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