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COUPLES 
Wisconsin law addresses the legal rights and obligations of couples, as to each other, in the 
areas of marriage, domestic partnerships, marital property, divorce or separation, property 
division, and spousal maintenance. 

Marriage 
In Wisconsin, marriage is a civil contract between spouses that also creates a legal status 
that governs certain rights and responsibilities to each other and to others.  [s. 765.01, 
Stats.] 

Parties 
In order to marry, a person must be at least 18 years of age.  If a person is age 16 or 17, the 
person may marry with the written consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian.  [s. 765.02, 
Stats.] 

Some individuals are not allowed to marry under Wisconsin law.  Specifically, persons who 
are nearer of kin than second cousins (unless sterile); a person who is already married to 
someone else; a person who is incapable of assenting to marriage due to a “want of 
understanding”; and a person who has been divorced less than six months may not marry.  
[s. 765.03, Stats.] 

License and Ceremony 
A marriage license may be obtained in any county where at least one party has resided for 
30 days before applying for the license.  A license will be issued no sooner than five days 
after receiving the application.  
However, at the county clerk’s 
discretion, and upon receiving an 
additional fee, the five-day 
waiting period may be waived.  If 
both parties are nonresidents of 
the state, a marriage license may 
be obtained in the county where 
the marriage ceremony will be 
performed.  [ss. 765.05 and 
765.08, Stats.] 

With the completed application, a couple must submit a fee, provide their birth certificates, 
provide documentary proof of identity and residence, submit a copy of a judgment or death 
certificate affecting prior marital status, and swear to and affirm the application before the 
county clerk.  Once the license has been issued, the couple may marry in any county in the 
state within 30 days of its issuance.  [ss. 765.09, 765.12, and 765.15, Stats.] 

“Common law” marriage is not recognized as a 
legal marital status in Wisconsin.  In some 
states, common law marriage is a status where 
a couple living together in a marital-like 
relationship for an established period of time 
are treated as legally married. 
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The statutes provide a procedure for family members, the district attorney, or a circuit 
court commissioner to object to a marriage.  The person objecting may file a petition with 
the clerk of probate court explaining that the application is false or insufficient, or that the 
applicants are not legally allowed to marry.  If the court determines the objections have 
merit, it must issue an order for the marriage applicants to appear, at a hearing, and show 
why the objections are not valid.  [s. 765.11, Stats.] 

The marriage ceremony must involve the mutual declarations of the two parties that they 
take each other as husband and wife.  The declarations must be made before an authorized 
adult, and at least two competent adult witnesses.  Authorized officiants are ordained 
clergy members, judges, circuit court commissioners, and municipal judges.  In certain 
recognized religious ceremonies, the two parties themselves may mutually declare the 
marriage without an officiant.  [s. 765.16, Stats.] 

Recognition of Valid Marriages 
Generally, under the Full Faith and Credit Clause of the U.S. Constitution, a marriage 
contracted in another state that satisfies the legal requirements of that state will be 
recognized in Wisconsin.  However, courts have acknowledged an exception for when a 
marriage violates Wisconsin’s strong public policy and Wisconsin had the most significant 
relationship to the spouses at the time of the marriage.  Additionally, state law provides 
that if a Wisconsin couple enters into a marriage outside of this state when the couple is 
ineligible or is prohibited from marrying under state law, the marriage is void, and each 
party is subject to a penalty of up to nine months in jail and up to a $10,000 fine, or both.  
[See Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410, 422 (1979); ss. 765.04 and 765.30, Stats.] 

Same-Sex Marriages 
The Wisconsin Constitution has a specific provision addressing same-sex marriages and 
civil unions in Article XIII, Section 13.  This section provides that:  “Only a marriage 
between one man and one woman shall be valid 
or recognized as a marriage in this state.  A legal 
status identical or substantially similar to that of 
marriage for unmarried individuals shall not be 
valid or recognized in this state.”  This provision 
was challenged in federal court, and on June 6, 
2014, the U.S. District Court for the Western 
District of Wisconsin issued a decision holding 
the provision to be in violation of the Due 
Process and Equal Protection Clauses of the U.S. 
Constitution.  The court held that the provision interferes with the right to marry, and 
discriminates on the basis of sexual orientation.  [Wolf v. Walker, 986 F. Supp. 2d 982 (U.S. 
Dist. Ct., W.D. Wis. 2014).] 

Same-sex marriages are legal 
under both state and federal 
law.  Valid same-sex 
marriages must be 
recognized in every state. 
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The federal district court issued an injunction on June 13, 2014, against enforcement of the 
state’s same-sex marriage ban, but stayed the injunction pending the state’s appeal of the 
decision.  [Wolf v. Walker, No. 14-cv-64-bbc (U.S. Dist. Ct., W.D. Wis. June 13, 2014).] 

The Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit affirmed the decision, and on October 6, 2014, 
the U.S. Supreme Court denied the state’s petition for review of the Seventh Circuit 
decision.  [Baskin v. Bogan, 766 F. 3d 648 (7th Cir. 2014); Wolf v. Walker, cert. denied, U.S. 
Oct. 6, 2014).]  Consequently, the appeals have been exhausted, and the district court’s 
decision, which held that the state’s same-sex marriage ban is unconstitutional, and the 
injunction prohibiting enforcement of that ban, are in effect in Wisconsin.  

As a result, the state now authorizes same-sex marriages to be entered into in Wisconsin, 
and recognizes same-sex marriages that were validly entered into in another state.  Under 
the court order, Wisconsin must:  (1) permit same-sex couples to marry on the same terms 
as opposite-sex couples; and (2) treat same-sex couples the same as opposite-sex couples in 
determining the rights, protections, obligations, or benefits of marriage.  Therefore, 
statutory provisions relating to marriage apply in the same manner to both opposite-sex 
and same-sex married couples.  A statute that refers to a “husband” and “wife” applies 
instead to a “spouse,” regardless of whether the spouse is of the same or opposite sex, if the 
statute governs a right or obligation that is conferred by virtue of the marital status.  
However, there are still some questions about how a gender-neutral statutory 
interpretation would apply in specific circumstances, such as the post-marriage 
legitimation of a child conceived while a couple was in a relationship but born before the 
couple entered into a marriage.  [s. 891.41 (1) (b), Stats.]   

Subsequently, on June 26, 2015, the U.S. Supreme Court held in Obergefell v. Hodges that, 
under the Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, a state must:  (1) issue 
marriage licenses to same-sex couples as it does to opposite-sex couples; and (2) recognize 
same-sex marriages that are licensed and performed in other states.  [Obergefell v. Hodges, 
576 U.S. ___ (2015) slip op. (no. 14-556).]  Consequently, under the U.S. Supreme Court’s 
decision, all same-sex marriage prohibitions are unconstitutional, states must issue a 
marriage license to same-sex couples to the same extent that they are issued to opposite-sex 
couples, and valid same-sex marriages must be recognized in every state. 

Domestic Partnerships 
Wisconsin law includes provisions for the establishment of domestic partnerships and 
related rights and benefits. 

  



Chapter 16 – Family Law  November 2016 

Wisconsin Legislator Briefing Book 4  

Declaration of Same-Sex Domestic Partnership for Legal Rights 
Same-sex couples sharing a common residence may apply for a declaration of domestic 
partnership with the county clerk where they have resided for at least 30 days prior to the 
application.  Five days after the application is made, the county clerk will issue the 

declaration to the couple.  The 
declaration may be issued sooner, in the 
clerk’s discretion, and upon receipt of an 
additional fee.  In order to form the legal 
status of domestic partners, the couple 
must then sign the declaration before a 
notary and submit it for recording with 
the Register of Deeds.  The Register 

then files the declaration with the Wisconsin Vital Records Office.  The Wisconsin Supreme 
Court has reviewed and upheld the validity of the same-sex domestic partnership law under 
the Wisconsin Constitution.  [Appling v. Walker, 2014 WI 96, July 31, 2014.] 

Partners who wish to terminate their Wisconsin domestic partnership must file a notice of 
termination in the same county clerk’s office that issued the declaration of domestic 
partnership, even if they no longer reside in that county.  If only one party signs the notice, 
that partner must complete an affidavit stating that the notice was served on the other 
party or, if unable to serve, that an official notice was published in the area where the 
partners last shared a residence.  The county clerk will then issue an original certificate of 
termination of domestic partnership, which is effective 90 days after being recorded by the 
Register of Deeds.  Additionally, if either party enters into a valid marriage that is 
recognized in this state, the partnership is automatically terminated as of that date of 
marriage.  [ch. 770, Stats.] 

Same-sex domestic partners who have declared the relationship have certain benefits, such 
as inheritance rights and medical access, but do not have certain other rights of marriage, 
such as the mutual obligation for support, the comprehensive marital property system, and 
child custody and placement rights and obligations.   

Affidavit of Same- or Opposite-Sex Domestic Partnership for Public Employee 
Benefits 
Both same-sex and opposite-sex couples may file an affidavit of domestic partnership with 
the Department of Employee Trust Funds (ETF) to enroll the partner in the employee 
benefit programs administered by ETF for the state, and for participating local 
governmental units.  To qualify, the couple must share a residence and agree to be 
responsible for each other’s basic living expenses. 

County-by-county legal resources for 
domestic partnership forms and guides 
can be found at:   

http://wilawlibrary.gov/ 

http://wilawlibrary.gov/
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All benefit programs that are 
administered by ETF are available to a 
qualifying partner.  Children of a 
qualifying domestic partner can be 
covered by the employee’s health 
insurance if the family coverage option 
is selected and by the employee’s life 

insurance if spouse and dependent coverage is selected.  Benefits are also available to a 
qualifying domestic partner of a retired employee.  [s. 40.02 (20) and (21d), Stats.; ss. ETF 
10.01 (2), 20.10, and 40.01, Wis. Adm. Code.] 

Marital Property 
Wisconsin’s marital property law took effect on January 1, 1986.   The law governs spousal 
property interests during marriage as it relates to creditors and at death.  It generally does 
not govern property rights at dissolution of marriage by divorce, annulment, or legal 
separation.  [ss. 766.03 (2) and 766.75, Stats.] 

The principal feature of the marital property system is that each spouse, by law, has an 
equal ownership interest in property acquired by either or both spouses during marriage, 
which gives a present, undivided, one-half interest in all property.   

Under the marital property law, all property owned by spouses is presumed to be marital 
property.  Marital property includes income earned by a spouse or income attributable to 
property of a spouse that accrues during marriage; property acquired in exchange for, or 
with, the proceeds of marital property; the substantial appreciation value of individual 
property that is attributable to the substantial effort of either spouse; and any property not 
classified as something other than marital property.  [s. 766.31, Stats.] 

A spouse may nevertheless have individual property that is excluded from marital rights in 
the following circumstances:  property owned by a spouse before marriage; property 
obtained by gift or inheritance during the marriage; property acquired in exchange for, or 
with, the proceeds of individual property; market appreciation of individual property; 
income from third party trusts; property designated as individual property by a marital 
property agreement; income from nonmarital property designated as individual by a 
properly executed “unilateral statement”; and certain portions of personal injury awards.  
[s. 766.31, Stats.] 

Special classification rules apply to homestead property, certain retirement, pension and 
deferred compensation plans, and life insurance policies.  For example, a home titled in 
both spouses’ names together is automatically classified as survivorship marital property, 
with all ownership passing to a surviving spouse, unless explicitly classified otherwise.  [ss. 
766.605, 766.61, and 766.62, Stats.] 

In general, spouses must act together to manage and control marital property held in the 
names of both spouses in the conjunctive (e.g., John and Mary).  Otherwise, a spouse acting 

The ETF affidavit of domestic partnership 
can be found at:   
 
http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2371.pdf 

http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2371.pdf


Chapter 16 – Family Law  November 2016 

Wisconsin Legislator Briefing Book 6  

alone may manage and control the person’s own individual property and marital property 
held in the alternative (e.g., John or Mary).  Special management and control rules apply in 
some circumstances, such as creating a mortgage interest on a home, managing business 
property, and making gifts.  [ss. 766.51, 766.53, and 766.70 (3), Stats.] 

One aspect of the marital property law is equal access to the extension of credit.  In 
evaluating a spouse’s creditworthiness, the law requires a creditor to consider all marital 
property available to satisfy the obligation.  If credit is extended, a creditor must give 
written notice to the nonapplicant spouse of the extension of credit before any payment is 
due.  The type of obligation determines when marital property may be used to satisfy the 
obligation.  For example, an obligation 
incurred prior to the marriage is generally 
satisfied from the incurring spouse’s 
individual property.  An obligation 
incurred by a spouse during the marriage 
is presumed to be in the interest of the 
marriage and the family and may be 
satisfied from all marital property, as well 
as the individual property of the incurring 
spouse.  [ss. 766.55 and 766.56, Stats.] 

Marital Property Agreement 
Spouses, as well as persons intending to marry, may enter into a marital property 
agreement regarding the classification of marital or individual property and the rights to 
control the property.  Any agreement must be in writing and signed by both parties.  An 
agreement cannot affect certain obligations, such as child support.  Generally, an 
agreement may be amended or revoked only by a subsequent marital property agreement. 

In order for a reclassification of property to be effective against a creditor, the creditor must 
be furnished with a copy of the marital property agreement prior to the granting of credit.  
[s. 766.55 (4m), Stats.] 

The statutes include both marital property and individual property classification agreement 
forms, sometimes referred to as “opt-in” and “opt-out” agreements, that parties may use to 
easily classify all property as either individual or marital.  These agreements may be 
terminated by one spouse unilaterally and they have no impact upon property division at 
divorce.  [ss. 766.588 and 766.589, Stats.] 

A spouse or a person intending to marry may also unilaterally classify the income 
generated by his or her individual property as individual property by executing a written 
statement to that effect.  The executing spouse must provide the other spouse with a 
written copy of the statement within five days after it is signed.  The executing spouse may 
revoke the statement in writing at any time, but must notify the other spouse in writing 
upon revocation.  [s. 766.59, Stats.] 

Marital property agreements are 
commonly known as prenuptial 
agreements, or pre-nups, though in 
Wisconsin they may be executed 
either before or during marriage.   
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Wills 
A spouse may dispose of half of the couple’s marital property and all of the spouse’s 
individual property, if any, by will.  The surviving spouse retains a one-half share in the 
marital property, and that share is not subject to probate.  “Deferred marital property” 
rules apply to property acquired during the marriage, but prior to 1986, that would have 
been marital property had the marital property law applied when the property was 
acquired.  This property is also called “unclassified property.”  Under certain circumstances, 
a surviving spouse may elect to retain or receive a portion of the deferred marital property.  
[ss. 766.589, 851.055, and 861.02, Stats.] 

Taxation 
Married persons in Wisconsin may file 
joint or separate tax returns.  On joint 
returns, all income, deductions, and 
credits for both spouses are combined on 
the same return.  [s. 71.03 (2) (d), Stats.; 
26 U.S.C. s. 6103.]  However, the Internal 
Revenue Service’s (IRS’s) innocent spouse 
rule relieves a spouse from tax liability if 
the innocent spouse did not know or have reason to know that the other spouse omitted an 
income item or erroneously claimed a tax credit or deduction on a joint return, and it would 
be inequitable to impose liability on the innocent spouse.  [s. 71.10 (6), Stats.; 26 U.S.C. s. 
6015.] 

If separate returns are filed, each spouse must report half of the total, combined, marital 
property income, deductions, and credits, except as provided by a marital property 
agreement.  In order to resolve questions that might arise regarding access of a spouse to 
the other spouse’s tax return if separate returns are filed, Wisconsin tax law permits the 
spouse or former spouse to examine tax returns or claims of the other spouse if the 
Department of Revenue (DOR) issued an assessment or notice of claim to the spouse or 
former spouse, or if the spouse or former spouse is subject to a collection for a delinquency.  
Also, DOR may disclose whether an extension for filing a return or claim was filed.  [See 
Rev. Rul. 87-13, 1987-1 C.B. 20; 26 C.F.R. s. 1.66-1; ss. 71.78 (4) (k) and (4m) and 766.31, 
Stats.] 

For income tax purposes, spouses may reclassify future income by a marital property 
agreement or in some cases by a unilateral statement.  In order to affect state tax liability, 
the agreement or statement must be filed with DOR before a tax assessment is issued. 

For estate tax purposes, the “basis” in marital property, which is the adjusted original cost 
of property that is used to determine the amount of gain or loss for capital gains taxes, 
differs from that given to property that is jointly held with other people.  Both spouses’ 
share of marital property receives a new basis upon the death of the first spouse to die, 
adjusted to the date-of-death value of the marital property.  This is known as a “double 

The married person’s tax credit is 
available to couples filing joint returns 
but not separate returns. 
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step-up” in basis, for community property states such as Wisconsin.  [s. 71.05 (10) (e), 
Stats.; 26 U.S.C. s. 1014.] 

Divorce or Separation 
In Wisconsin, actions for divorce, legal 
separation, or annulment each use the same 
procedures.  For this discussion, the term 
“divorce” will generally be used.  A judgment of 
legal separtion differs only in allowing the 
parties to maintain the legal status of marriage 
(sometimes used to continue family coverage for 
health insurance, or for other personal reasons) 
while separating the family and financial 
obligations.   

In order to initiate a divorce action, one spouse must have been a Wisconsin resident for at 
least six months prior to the filing of the petition for 
divorce.  In addition, at least one of the parties to 
the divorce must have been a resident of the county 
in which the petition is filed for at least 30 days 
prior to the filing of the petition.  County clerks of 
court collect a fee when a party commences an 
action affecting the family.  [s. 767.301, Stats.] 

Wisconsin is a “no fault” divorce state, which means the court must find simply that the 
marriage is “irretrievably broken.”  This is shown by both parties stating in the divorce 
petition that the marriage is irretrievably broken; by the parties voluntarily living apart 
continuously for 12 months or more immediately prior to filing the divorce petition; or, if 
only one party has stated that the marriage is irretrievably broken, by the court 
determining that there is no reasonable prospect of reconciliation.  [s. 767.315, Stats.] 

Wisconsin requires a waiting period before a judgment of divorce or legal separation may be 
granted.  When the parties have filed a joint petition for divorce, 120 days must pass from 
the filing date before the action may be brought to trial or to a final hearing for approval of 
a settlement agreement.  When one party has filed the petition, the 120-day waiting period 
begins when the other party is served with the petition.  [s. 767.335, Stats.] 

Pendency of Divorce Action 
A circuit court judge or court commissioner may make just and reasonable temporary 
orders during the pendency of a divorce action concerning legal custody and periods of 
physical placement of a minor child; removal of a child from the court’s jurisdiction; 
payment for child support and spousal maintenance; payment of debts; disposal of assets; 
counseling for one or both parties; and other issues.  [s. 767.225, Stats.] 

Legal separation is a legal 
status that is distinct from 
physical separation.  Any 
couple may physically 
separate at any time without 
affecting their legal marital 
status. 

Circuit court forms for family 
actions can be found at: 
 
https://www.wicourts.gov/ 

https://www.wicourts.gov/
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Reconciliation may be attempted, if stipulated by the parties in writing, during the 
pendency of a divorce action.  A suspension of the proceedings to effect reconciliation may 
be granted for up to 90 days.  Suspension does not affect the parties’ rights in the divorce 
action.  During the suspension period, the 
parties may resume living together as husband 
and wife and their acts:  (1) do not constitute an 
admission that the marriage is not irretrievably 
broken; and (2) do not negate that the parties 
have voluntarily lived apart continuously for 12 
months or more immediately before the 
commencement of the action.  If the parties do 
not reconcile, the action will proceed as though 
no reconciliation period was attempted. 

[s. 767.323, Stats.] 

During the pendency of a divorce action, parties are required to disclose information about:  
(1) assets owned by them individually or jointly; (2) debts and liabilities; and (3) income.  
There are penalties for disclosures that are not complete.  All financial and asset 
information that is disclosed is confidential and sealed by the court.  [s. 767.127, Stats.] 

The statutes contain various requirements for the parties to attend counseling or 
educational programs.  Most of the programs focus on educating parents about the effect of 
divorce or parental separation on children and how to lessen any detrimental effects.  
Specific provisions relate to child custody mediation where it appears that legal custody or 
physical placement is contested, as discussed below.  [ss. 767.401 and 767.405, Stats.] 

Reaching a Judgment 
The primary issues decided in a judgment of divorce are:  property division; child support 
and spousal maintenance; legal custody of a child; and periods of physical placement with a 
child (sometimes including visitation rights of third parties). 

Parties may stipulate to any of these issues in settlement of a divorce action, subject to 
court approval and certain limitations.  For example, child support must be determined in a 
manner that is consistent with the state’s child support standards.  Also, a stipulation 
cannot leave one party in need of assistance from the state.  [ss. 767.34 and 767.35, Stats.] 

Property Division 
Property division in a divorce action is not governed by the marital property law, but, 
rather, by the marital dissolution laws.  Generally, in a divorce, all property acquired before 
or during the marriage, owned by either or both spouses, is subject to division.  This 
includes assets such as pension plans, retirement accounts, vehicles, and real estate.  
Property acquired by gift or inheritance by one party is generally not subject to division. 

Each party’s financial 
disclosure statement in a 
divorce action is sealed by 
the court and generally 
cannot be disclosed to any 
person outside the action. 
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After determining all assets and debts of the parties, the court must presume that each 
party should be awarded an equal value of the total divisible property, but the application 
of certain statutory factors may alter this presumption.  This includes considerations such 
as the length of the marriage, the property brought to the marriage by each party, and the 
tax consequences to each party.  For example, in dissolving a marriage of short duration, 
where the parties had a large difference in the property brought to the marriage, a court 
may consider an unequal division of property, approximately back to where the parties 
started. 

Debts incurred during the marriage are also assigned, but can be collected from either 
party regardless of how responsibility for debts is divided between the parties in their 
judgment of divorce.  A divorce judgment assigning a debt is not binding on creditors, 
because a creditor is not a party in the divorce action.  To avoid possible problems with the 
collection of debts after a divorce, parties may take actions such as consolidating and 
refinancing in the name of the spouse who is assigned those debts.  [ss. 766.55 and 767.61, 
Stats.; Sokaogon Gaming Enterprise Corp. v. Curda-Derickson, 2003 WI App 167.] 

Maintenance 
As part of a divorce judgment, a court may order maintenance payments (formerly known 
as alimony) to either party for an open or defined period of time after considering several 
designated statutory factors.  Some of these factors include the length of the marriage; the 
age and physical and emotional health of the parties; the division of property made in 
connection with the divorce; the educational level of each party at the time of the marriage 
and at the time of the divorce; the earning capacity of the party seeking maintenance, 
including the party’s educational and employment background, length of absence from the 
job market, and child-rearing responsibilities during the marriage; and the contribution of 
one party to the education, training, and earning 
power of the other party.  [s. 767.56, Stats.] 

A maintenance award must meet the dual objectives 
of supporting the recipient in accordance with the 
parties’ needs and earning capacities, while ensuring 
a fair and equitable financial arrangement between 
them.  There is no statutory presumption of an equal 
division of earnings in awarding maintenance, but 
the courts have stated that a reasonable starting 
point for a maintenance evaluation in a long-term 
marriage is that the dependent spouse may be entitled to one-half of the total combined 
earnings of both parties.  [Hefty v. Hefty, 172 Wis. 2d 124 (1992); Johnson v. Johnson, 225 
Wis. 2d 513 (Ct. App. 1999).] 

If no maintenance is awarded in the judgment, maintenance is generally waived, unless 
specifically held open, and cannot later be ordered by a court.  If maintenance is awarded, a 
court may consider revising the amount or duration if it first finds that there has been a 

Maintenance payments 
pursuant to a judgment 
of divorce are taxable 
income to the recipient 
and are a tax deduction 
to the payer.   
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substantial change in the parties’ financial circumstances.  [s. 767.59, Stats.; Grace v. 
Grace, 195 Wis. 2d 153 (Ct. App. 1995).] 

The IRS allows a payer to deduct the amount of maintenance payments from reported gross 
income on a tax return, if certain requirements are met.  Additionally, the IRS allows 
payments made to a third party for the benefit of a former spouse to be considered as 
maintenance.  However, the IRS disallows deductions for any portion of spousal support 
that is intended for child support.  [26 U.S.C. ss. 71 and 215.] 

CHILDREN 
Wisconsin law addresses the legal rights and obligations of parents and other caregivers 
towards children in the areas of legal custody and physical placement, child support, 
paternity, adoption, and third-party visitation. 

Legal Custody and Physical Placement 
In actions for divorce, legal separation, annulment, or paternity, a court must assign legal 
custody and physical placement for a child.  “Custody” and “placement” involve different 
aspects of a child’s upbringing. 

“Legal custody” means the right and responsibility to make major decisions concerning a 
child.  Major decisions include decisions regarding consent to marry, consent to enter 
military service, consent to obtain a driver’s license, authorization for nonemergency health 
care, and choice of school and religion.  The court, in its order for custody, may delineate 
specific decisions to be made by either party. 

In contrast to legal custody, which authorizes decision-making on major issues, physical 
placement is the actual time a child is in a parent’s care.  A parent must make routine daily 
decisions while the child is physically with that parent, consistent with the major decisions.  
[ss. 767.001 (2), (2m) and (5) and 767.41 (6), Stats.] 

Statutory Factors 
In assigning legal custody and physical placement, the 
court must consider numerous statutory factors.  Some of 
these include the child’s wishes; the child’s relationship 
with the parents; the child’s age; the family’s history of 
custodial roles and any reasonable lifestyle changes that 
are proposed; the child’s adjustment to home and school; 
and the need for regularly occurring and meaningful 
periods of physical placement to provide predictability 
and stability for the child.  [s. 767.41 (5), Stats.] 

In determining legal 
custody and physical 
placement, a court 
must consider all facts 
relevant to the best 
interests of the child.  
A court may not 
prefer a parent on the 
basis of sex or race. 
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Legal Custody 
It is presumed that joint legal custody is in the best interest of the child.  However, a court 
may award sole legal custody if the parties agree to it, and if the court finds that sole legal 
custody is in the child’s best interest.  If the parties do not agree to sole legal custody, the 
court may award it if the court finds that one party is not capable of performing parental 
duties or does not wish to be active in raising the child; that conditions exist that 
substantially interfere with the exercise of joint legal custody; or that the parties will not be 
able to cooperate in future decision-making. 

If there is evidence of a pattern or serious incident of domestic abuse by one parent against 
the other parent, the presumption for joint legal custody does not apply, and there is a 
rebuttable presumption that joint legal custody is detrimental to the child and contrary to 
the best interest of the child and sole or joint legal custody cannot be awarded to that 
parent. 

The “spousal abuse” presumption for sole 
legal custody may be rebutted only by a 
preponderance of evidence that the abusive 
party has completed treatment for batterers 
provided through a certified treatment 
program or treatment provider and is not 
abusing alcohol or any other drug, and that 
it is in the best interest of the child that the 
abusive party be given joint or sole legal 
custody after considering the specified 
custody and placement factors. 

If the court finds that both parties have 
engaged in a pattern or serious incident of domestic abuse, for purposes of the presumption, 
the court must attempt to determine which party was the primary physical aggressor, 
considering factors such as any prior acts of abuse, relative severity of injuries, acts of self-
defense, and any patterns of coercive and abusive behavior between the parties.  If one, but 
not both, of the parties was convicted of a crime that was an act of domestic abuse with 
respect to the other party, the court must find the party who was convicted to be the 
primary physical aggressor.  If the court determines that neither party was the primary 
physical aggressor, the presumption against a party’s custody rights does not apply. 

[s. 767.41 (2), Stats.] 

Physical Placement 
A child is entitled to periods of physical placement with both parents unless the court finds 
that placement with a parent would endanger the child’s physical, mental, or emotional 
health.  In determining physical placement, a court must consider the same statutory 
factors that apply to legal custody determinations, for the best interest of the child. 

A court must set a placement 
schedule that:  (a) allows the child 
to have regularly occurring, 
meaningful periods of physical 
placement with each parent; and 
(b) maximizes the amount of time 
the child may spend with each 
parent. 



Chapter 16 – Family Law  November 2016 

Wisconsin Legislator Briefing Book 13  

Wisconsin statutes provide that a placement schedule should allow a child to have regularly 
occurring, meaningful periods of placement with each parent.  The schedule must maximize 
the amount of time a child spends with each parent, considering geographic separation and 
the accommodations in the separate households.  According to Wisconsin court decisions, 
the requirement to maximize time with both parents is not synonymous with a presumption 
for equal physical placement, but requires a consideration of the child’s best interests and 
the amount of time a child has with both parents within an overall placement schedule.   

A court may not deny a parent physical placement based on the parent’s failure to make 
child support or maintenance payments.  [s. 767.41 (4), Stats.; Keller v. Keller, 2002 WI 
App. 161, ¶ 12.] 

Guardian Ad Litem 
When the legal custody or physical placement of a child is contested, or if there is reason for 
special concern regarding the welfare of the child, the court appoints a guardian ad litem 
(GAL) for the child.  A GAL’s responsibility is to represent the best interests of the child 
and to make recommendations to the court regarding paternity, custody, physical 
placement, and support.  A GAL must be a licensed attorney in the State of Wisconsin who 
meets the GAL special training requirements.  Generally, both parents are required to 
contribute to the payment of the GAL’s fees.  [s. 767.407, Stats.] 

Mediation 
Mediation services may play a significant role in actions involving child custody and 
placement issues.  Every county must make mediation services available to help the parties 
resolve their disputes about the best interests of a child.   

With exceptions for undue hardship or endangerment to one of the parties, an initial 
session of mediation is required in any action where it appears that legal custody or 
physical placement is contested.  The parties may contract with a mediator at their own 
expense or may use the county’s family court counseling service mediators.  If an agreement 
is reached, it must be reviewed by the parties’ attorneys and the GAL and be approved by 
the court.  If no agreement is reached, the matter must be referred for a legal custody or 
physical placement study and the issues are resolved through court procedures. 

[s. 767.405, Stats.] 

Modification of Custody and Placement Order 
A court generally may not modify an initial legal custody or physical placement order for 
two years unless the current custodial conditions are physically or emotionally harmful to 
the best interest of the child.  This is meant to provide a period of finality and stability 
while the child is adjusting to the new family situation. 

After the two-year period, the court may modify the legal custody or placement order if it 
first finds that:  (1) it is in the best interest of the child to do so; and (2) a substantial 
change of circumstances has occurred that affects custody or placement.  In considering a 
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request to modify a custody or placement order, the court presumes that continuing 
substantially equal periods of physical placement, or continuing greater periods with one 
parent, is in the best interest of the child. 

If the parties have substantially equal 
periods of placement, the court may modify 
an order for physical placement at any time 
if it is in the best interest of the child, but 
only if circumstances make it impractical to 
continue the equal placement arrangement. 

If a court granted physical placement rights 
to both parents and a parent later plans to 
move outside of Wisconsin, move within Wisconsin to a distance that is 150 miles or more 
from the other parent, or remove the child from Wisconsin for more than 90 days, that 
parent must give at least 60 days written notice, by certified mail, to the other parent.  The 
statutes provide a procedure for the nonmoving party to object to the move, and provides 
standards for when a move may be allowed.  The objection must be made within 15 days of 
receipt of the notice.  The court will then refer the parents for mediation or other family 
court services and may appoint a GAL. 

At any time, a court may deny a parent’s physical placement rights if it finds that the 
placement rights endanger the child’s physical, mental, or emotional health.  [ss. 767.451 
and 767.481, Stats.] 

Enforcement of Custody and Placement Order 
Methods for enforcing rights to legal custody and physical placement include contempt of 
court sanctions and criminal sanctions relating to interference with the custody of a child.  
Additionally, statutory remedies require a court to grant periods of physical placement to 
replace those denied or interfered with by the other parent and to order the uncooperative 
parent to pay costs and attorney fees for maintaining the enforcement action.  [ss. 767.471 
and 948.31, Stats.] 

Wisconsin courts may also enforce or modify custody and placement orders from tribal 
courts, other states, or other countries under the procedures set forth by the Uniform Child 
Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (UCCJEA) [ch. 822, Stats.], and the Hague 
Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction. 

Under the so-called “use-it-or-lose-
it” provision, a court may modify a 
party’s rights to physical placement 
for failure to exercise physical 
placement. 
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Child Support 
As part of a divorce judgment, paternity judgment, or cases where a child’s parents may 
live apart, the parties are responsible for supporting a child under 18, or under 19 years old 
if the child is pursuing an accredited course of instruction leading to the acquisition of a 

high school diploma or its equivalent.  The court 
must determine the amount of child support to be 
paid using child support standards promulgated 
by the Department of Children and Families 
(DCF), unless the court finds that to do so would 
be unfair to the child or either parent.  [s.767.511, 
Stats.] 

The administrative code provides the child 
support standards that are to be applied to a person’s income in determining the 
appropriate level of child support.  Child support amounts are based on a percentage of the 
parent’s gross income.  The percentage-of-income standards when one parent has primary 
physical placement are as follows: 

• 17% for one child. 

• 25% for two children. 

• 29% for three children.  

• 31% for four children. 

• 34% for five or more children. 

When both parents have court-ordered periods of physical placement of a child for at least 
25% of the year (92 overnights) each, the percentage standard is calculated for both parents 
and offset under a specific formula.  [ss. DCF 
150.03 and DCF 150.04 (2), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

The amount of child support is determined from 
the obligated parent’s gross monthly income.  
Gross income includes all salary and wages 
before taxes and other deductions are taken out, 
income from assets, workers’ compensation, 
unemployment income, and Social Security 
disability.  Income does not include public welfare assistance.  [s. DCF 150.13 (2), Wis. 
Adm. Code.] 

The court is also permitted to set child support based on a payer’s ability to earn, or 
“imputed income,” beyond actual earnings.  The court may consider factors such as past 
earnings; current physical and mental health; history of child care responsibilities of the 
parent with primary placement; the parent’s education, training, and recent work 
experience; and local job openings.  [s. 150.03 (3), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

In cases of teenage parents, both 
sets of grandparents also have a 
child support obligation.   

Additional information on child 
support in Wisconsin can be 
found at:   
 
http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs 

http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs


Chapter 16 – Family Law  November 2016 

Wisconsin Legislator Briefing Book 16  

Special rules govern the application of the percentage standards to the following types of 
payers: 

• A serial family payer, who has an existing child support obligation and incurs an 
additional child support obligation in a subsequent family. 

• A split-custody payer, who has physical placement of at least one but not all the 
children. 

• A low-income payer, with an income below 150% of the federal poverty level.   

• A high-income payer with an income 
above $84,000 per year.  A further 
reduced percentage rate applies to 
income in excess of $150,000.  [s. DCF 
150.04, Wis. Adm. Code.] 

A court may set child support without 
using the percentage standards only in 
limited circumstances.  Upon request of a 
party to the action, the court may deviate 
from the standards if the court finds that the use of the applicable standard is unfair to the 
child or to any of the parties.  Any deviation must include consideration of an extensive list 
of factors set forth in the statutes.  [s. 767.511 (1j), (1m), and (1n), Stats.; s. DCF 150.03 
(11), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

Although the child support amount is calculated based on a percentage standard, current 
law provides that the child support order must be given as a fixed sum.  The order may be 
expressed as a percentage only in limited circumstances.  [s. 767.511 (1) (a), Stats.] 

A court that issues a child support order must also assign responsibility for payment of the 
child’s health care expenses.  In assigning responsibility, the court must consider specified 
factors, including existing and available health insurance, the extent of coverage, and the 
cost of health insurance coverage for the child.  The court may require a parent to initiate 
or continue health care insurance coverage for a child.  [s. 767.513, Stats.; s. DCF 150.05, 
Wis. Adm. Code.] 

Child support is generally required to be withheld from employment income, and is paid to 
the Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund.  Child support payments are then paid out 
by direct deposit or added to a debit card.  [s. 767.75, Stats.] 

Modification of Child Support Order 
A child support order may be modified only when there has been a substantial change in 
circumstances of the parties or the children since the entry of the order.  A court may 
presume that it has the authority to reconsider a child support order under the following 
changes in circumstance:  commencement of participation in Wisconsin Works (W-2) by 

In most cases, child support is 
automatically withheld from the 
income paid by an obligated 
parent’s employer.  This is known 
as income assignment.   
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either parent; expiration of 33 months after the date of entry of the last child support order; 
or failure of the payer to furnish a timely annual financial disclosure. 

Additional factors the court may consider in determining whether or not to revisit a child 
support order include a change in the payer’s income or earning capacity, a change in the 
child’s needs, or any other condition the court determines is relevant in a particular case. 

If a court determines that a substantial change in circumstances has occurred to give it 
authority to review the child support order, the court may, but is not required to, modify 
the order by applying the child support standards to the current circumstances.  [s. 767.59, 
Stats.] 

Enforcement of Child Support Order 
There are several tools available for enforcement 
of support orders.  The mechanisms include 
mandatory employer reporting of newly hired 
employees to DCF; tax refund intercepts; accrual 
of interest on past due child support amounts; 
work search requirements; contempt of court 
proceedings with penalties of fines, imprisonment, 
or both; ineligibility for W-2 benefits; suspension 
of driver’s licenses; data sharing between DCF and 
state financial institutions; liens on property; 
seizure of assets; suspension of recreational 
licenses and professional licenses and credentials; 
denial of passports; denial of college or business 
loans; and seizure of bank accounts.  State and 

federal criminal penalties may also apply.  [subch. VIII, ch.767, Stats.] 

Wisconsin courts may also enforce or modify child support orders from other states under 
the procedures set forth in ch. 769, Stats., the 
Uniform Interstate Family Support Act (UIFSA). 

The local county child support offices prosecute 
enforcement actions on behalf of parents receiving 
child support, when the recipients have applied for 
the services.  The fee for services is $25 for each year 
in which $500 or more is received in support.  [s. 
767.57, Stats.] 

Paternity 
If parents are not married when a child is born, legal fatherhood can be established in three 
different ways: 

The Wisconsin Child Support 
Lien Docket is a registry 
containing the names of any 
person with an obligation for 
past-due child support.  The 
amount owed equals a lien 
against the person’s real and 
titled personal property. 

The searchable child support 
lien docket is available at: 
 
http://liendocket.wisconsin.gov 

The application form for 
child support case 
management services can be 
found at:  
http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs/
applications.htm 

http://liendocket.wisconsin.gov/
http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs/applications.htm
http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs/applications.htm
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• Voluntary paternity acknowledgment.  If both the mother and the man are sure 
that the man is the father, the easiest way to establish fatherhood is with the Voluntary 
Paternity Acknowledgment form, which the father and the mother may sign together 
before a notary.  The Acknowledgement may be signed at any time, and is commonly 
provided after birth, by a hospital or midwife.  Local child support agencies can also 
help with the form.  [ss. 767.805 and 891.405, 
Stats.; 42 U.S.C. s. 666 (a) (5) (D).] 

• Court ruling.  If a man is named as the 
possible father in a petition for paternity and 
does not agree, or, if a man states that he is 
the father of a child and the mother does not 
agree, a court will make a ruling about 
paternity.  Both the man and the mother will 
be notified of the hearing and both may attend. 

• Acknowledgment of marital child (legitimation).  If a mother and the father marry 
after their child is born, the parents may sign a form for an Acknowledgment of Marital 
Child to establish paternity.  Local child support agencies can help with the form, which 
is then filed with the state Vital Records Office.  [s. 767.803, Stats.] 

Several persons are eligible to commence a paternity action under Wisconsin law.  Eligible 
persons include the child, the child’s mother, or the state.  Likewise, a man alleging himself 
to be the child’s father may bring an action to determine paternity.  In addition, the 
husband of the mother, who is presumed to be the child’s father, or a man legally 
acknowledged as the child’s father at birth, may bring an action to refute paternity. 

[s. 767.80, Stats.] 

Court Procedure 
A paternity action is commenced by filing a 
summons, notice, and petition for paternity with 
the clerk of court for the county in which the child 
or the alleged father resides. 

The person filing the action must serve the 
petition, summons, and other documents on the 
other parent or alleged parent within 90 days of filing with the clerk of court.  The time 
may be extended only for good cause.  All parties to a paternity action may be represented 
by an attorney.  A GAL is appointed for a minor parent, and may be appointed for the child 
in some circumstances.  The alleged father has a right to counsel, and will have an attorney 
appointed if the alleged father is indigent and cannot afford one.  [ss. 767.813, 767.815 to 
767.83, 801.02 (1), and 801.11, Stats.] 

The court proceeding generally has three stages:  the first appearance, the pretrial hearing, 
and the trial.  Paternity can be acknowledged at any of these stages.  The alleged father is 

A child born to a married 
couple is presumed, by law, to 
be the natural child of both 
spouses. 

An action to establish 
paternity cannot be brought 
after the child turns 19. 

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs/define_paternity.htm
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs/define_paternity.htm
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permitted to enter one of the following three pleas relating to the paternity:  admit 
paternity, deny paternity, or admit paternity subject to confirming tests.  [ss. 767.863, 
767.88 and 767.883, Stats.] 

At the first appearance the court must inform the parties that a judgment of paternity 
grants parental and inheritance rights and establishes child support obligations; that the 
alleged father is entitled to an attorney, at public expense if he is indigent; that any party 
may request genetic tests; and that the alleged father has several defenses available to him 
to deny paternity, including that he was sterile or impotent at the time of conception, that 
he did not have intercourse with the mother during the preconceptive period, or that 
another man had intercourse with the mother during that period.  The first appearance can 
be held any time after 30 days have passed from the service of the petition on the 
respondent.  [ss. 767.86 to 767.863 and 767.813 (5g), Stats.] 

At the pretrial hearing the court has an opportunity to evaluate the probability of 
paternity.  At this point, witnesses and other evidence may be presented.  The court may, at 
the conclusion of the evidence, dismiss the action or make a recommendation to the parties 
regarding settlement of the paternity action.  The pretrial hearing is closed to persons other 
than those necessary to the action.  [ss. 767.853 
and 767.88, Stats.] 

If no settlement is reached at the pretrial stage, a 
paternity trial is held.  Like the pretrial hearing, 
the trial is closed to persons other than those 
necessary to the action.  The paternity trial is in 
two parts:  first, to make the determination of 
paternity, as shown by a clear and satisfactory 
preponderance of the evidence; and, second to 
make a determination of child support, legal 
custody, periods of physical placement, and any related issues.  [s. 767.883, Stats.] 

Evidence Used to Establish Paternity 
Genetic tests are one form of evidence used to determine the existence of paternity.  If the 
results of genetic testing show that the alleged father is not excluded as a possible father of 
the child and that the statistical probability of the alleged father’s parentage is 99% or 
higher, the alleged father is presumed to be the father of the child. 

Other evidence that may be submitted includes evidence of sexual intercourse between the 
mother and alleged father during the possible time of conception; evidence of a relationship 
between the mother and alleged father at any time; an expert’s opinion concerning the 
statistical probability of the alleged father’s paternity based upon the duration of the 
mother’s pregnancy; and any other evidence relevant to the issue of paternity.  [ss. 767.84 
and 767.87, Stats.] 

  

Liability for past child 
support payments is limited to 
the period after filing unless 
the action was delayed 
because of duress, threats, 
promises, or evasion. 
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Judgment of Paternity 
Once the trial is completed, the court enters a judgment of paternity.  The judgment 
contains an adjudication of the child’s paternity, an order requiring either parent to pay 
child support, an order for the child’s legal custody and physical placement, an order 
regarding which parent will have the right to claim the tax exemption for the child, and 
orders relating to the payment of birth expenses and all related costs and fees of the action, 
including GAL fees and genetic testing fees.  [s. 767.89, Stats.] 

Adoption 
The process for adopting a child usually involves four steps:  (1) termination of parental 

rights; (2) petition to adopt and order for 
investigation; (3) agency investigation (often 
referred to as the home study); and (4) 
hearing on the adoption.  State law requires 
that all hearings concerning termination of 
parental rights and adoption must be closed 
to the public.  [s. 48.837 (2) to (8), Stats.] 

Agency adoptions involve the placement of a child with adoptive parents by a public agency, 
including the Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare or any other county department of 
human or social services, or by a licensed private agency.  Public child welfare agencies 
generally place children who have become wards of the state for reasons such as orphanage, 
abandonment, or abuse.  Private agencies are sometimes run by charities or social service 
organizations.  [ss. 48.833 and 48.834, Stats.] 

An independent adoption refers to situations where the biological and adoptive parents find 
each other without the help of an agency, often through friends or acquaintances.  In 
Wisconsin, these families must still work with an agency for the home study and birth 
parent counseling services.  [ss. 48.837 
and 48.84, Stats.] 

Similarly, a parent who has custody of a 
child may place the child for adoption in 
the home of a relative.  This is most 
familiar in cases of grandparent 
adoptions, but could also include 
adoption by a brother, sister, first or 
second cousin, uncle, or aunt.  [s. 48.835, 
Stats.] 

It is also common for a stepparent to adopt the child of his or her spouse under the same 
general procedures.  Wisconsin does not allow adoption by a same-sex or opposite-sex 
domestic partner of a birth parent, under the stepparent adoption procedures.  [s. 48.82 (1) 
(a), Stats.] 

Additional information on adoption in 
Wisconsin can be found at:   
http://www.dcf.wi.gov/children/adoption 

There is no statutory “open adoption” in 
Wisconsin.  If adoptive parents have 
made promises of continued contact with 
the birth parents after the termination of 
parental rights, those promises are not 
enforceable by a court. 

http://www.dcf.wi.gov/children/adoption
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It is lawful for the proposed adoptive parents to pay certain, limited expenses of the birth 
parent that relate to the adoption.  These may include medical and hospital expenses, 
birthing classes, maternity clothes (not to exceed $300), legal expenses, living expenses if 
necessary to protect the mother or child’s health and welfare (not to exceed $5,000), 
counseling, and a gift to the mother (not to exceed $100 in value).  [s. 48.913, Stats.] 

A biological parent may sign a consent to terminate parental rights after the birth of a 
child, and may revoke the consent at any point up until the judge signs the order 
terminating parental rights.  When the termination order is entered by the court, it is final, 
and there is no waiting period allowing the biological parent to change his or her mind.  A 
biological parent may appeal the order within 30 days, under an expedited appeals process.  
[ss. 48.41, 48.46 (2), 48.63 (3) (b) 5., and 48.837 (1r) (e), Stats.] 

In every adoption, the agency caseworker must determine whether the federal Indian Child 
Welfare Act of 1978 applies.  The Act applies if the child is either a member of an Indian 
tribe or eligible for membership, and is the biological child of a member of an Indian tribe.  
Each tribe sets its own standards of eligibility for membership.  Unless it is a voluntary 
proceeding, the tribe must be notified and given an opportunity to assert the statutory 
placement preference priority in favor of the child’s extended family and tribe.  [s. 48.028, 
Stats.] 

Third Party Visitation 
Wisconsin statutes provide for the visitation of children by certain nonparents, including 
grandparents, stepparents, and domestic partners, in several situations.  However, unlike a 
parent with physical placement or even supervised physical placement, a person granted 
visitation with a child does not have any other parental rights or obligations towards the 
child. 

In Actions Affecting the Family 
A grandparent, great-grandparent, or stepparent may petition the court for visitation with 
a child subsequent to, or during, an action affecting the family (such as divorce, annulment, 
legal separation, and paternity actions).  The court may grant reasonable visitation rights 
to the grandparent, great-grandparent, or stepparent if:  (1) the parents have notice of the 
hearing; and (2) the court determines that visitation is in the best interest of the child.  
Whenever possible, in making its determination, the court must consider the wishes of the 
child.  [s. 767.43 (1), Stats.]   

In a recent decision, the Wisconsin Supreme Court clarified that grandparents, great-
grandparents, and stepparents do not need to prove a parent-like relationship with a child 
in order to qualify for visitation.  [S.A.M. v. Meister (In re Meister), 2016 WI 22, ¶ 22.]   

Person With a Parent-Like Relationship 
First, in the context of an existing action dissolving a marriage, persons other than 
grandparents, great-grandparents, and stepparents who have maintained a relationship 

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/cases/id/5JGF-4CM1-F04M-F0C2-00000-00?context=1000516
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similar to a parental relationship with a child may request and be granted reasonable 
visitation rights, if the parents have notice of the hearing and the court determines that the 
visitation is in the best interests of the child.  [s. 767.43 (1), Stats.] 

Wisconsin courts also recognize an independent action for a former same-sex or opposite-
sex partner who is seeking visitation rights with a minor child if the partner proves four 
specific elements to demonstrate a parent-like relationship with the child.  These elements 
are:  (1) the biological or adoptive parent consented to, and fostered, the person’s parent-
like relationship with the child; (2) the person and the child lived together in the same 
household; (3) the person assumed parental obligations, including contributing to the child’s 
support, without expectation of financial compensation; and (4) the person has been in a 
parental role long enough to have established a bonded, dependent parent-like relationship.  
If there is no underlying action affecting the family, the person must show that there was a 
significant triggering event, such as substantial interference with the parent-like 
relationship.  [Custody of H.S.H.K., 193 Wis. 2d 649 (1995).] 

Grandparents of a Nonmarital Child 
Grandparents of a child whose parents are not married may petition for, and be granted, 
visitation rights in an independent action for visitation or in an underlying paternity 
action.  The child’s parents must have notice of the hearing and the court must find that:   
(1) the parents have not married each other after the birth of the child; (2) the paternity of 
the child has been determined if the grandparents seeking visitation are the paternal 
grandparents; (3) the child has not been adopted; (4) the grandparents have maintained a 
relationship with the child (or have tried but have been prevented from doing so by a 
parent); (5) the grandparents will not act in a manner contrary to the parenting decisions of 
the parent; and (6) the visitation is in the best interest of the child.  [s. 767.43 (3), Stats.] 

After Adoption 
Other relatives may apply for visitation after adoption when:  (1) a parent has remarried, 
the other parent’s rights have been terminated, and the stepparent adopts the child; or (2) 
both parents have terminated their parental rights to the child and the child is adopted by 
another relative.  In these cases, even though the parental relationship has been legally 
extinguished with one or both birth parents, other relatives (listed in the statutes) who 
have maintained a parent-like relationship with the child within the two years before the 
action is filed may request visitation rights.  Reasonable visitation may be granted if the 
court determines that it would be in the best interest of the child, the relative will not 
undermine the legal parents’ relationship with the child, and the relative will not act in a 
manner contrary to the parenting decisions of the legal parents.  [ss. 48.02 (15) and 48.925, 
Stats.] 

After Death of One or Both Parents 
Grandparents and stepparents of a child may request and be granted visitation with the 
child if one or both parents of the child are deceased and the child is in the custody of the 
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surviving parent or any other person.  For the rights to be granted, the visitation must be 
in the best interest of the child.  The petition may be filed in an underlying guardianship 
action or as an independent action.  [s. 54.56, Stats.] 

ADDITIONAL REFERENCES 
1. Legislative Council Information Memoranda (IM): 

• IM- 2012-09, Legal Custody, Physical Placement, and Child Support (May 10, 
2012). 

• IM- 2016-05, Visitation by Grandparents and Other Third Parties (August 4, 
2016). 

These publications are available at:  http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc. 

2. Wisconsin Department of Revenue: 
• Publication 109, Tax Information for Married Persons Filing Separate Returns 

and Persons Divorced in 2015 (December 2015). 

• Publication 113, Federal and Wisconsin Income Tax Reporting Under the Marital 
Property Act (December 2015). 

These publications are available at:  http://revenue.wi.gov/html/taxpubs.html#indiv.  

GLOSSARY 
Guardian ad litem (GAL):  A guardian ad litem is an attorney admitted to practice in 
Wisconsin who must advocate for the best interest of a minor child as to paternity, legal 
custody, physical placement, and support.  The GAL must consider, but is not bound by, the 
wishes of the minor child or the positions of others as to the best interest of the minor child.  
The GAL must review and comment to the court on any mediation agreement, stipulation, 
and parenting plan.  The GAL has none of the rights or duties of a general guardian.   

Joint legal custody:  Joint legal custody means the situation in which both parties share 
legal custody and neither party’s legal custody rights are superior, except with respect to 
specified decisions as set forth by the court or the parties in the final judgment or order. 

Legal custody:  With respect to any person granted legal custody of a child, legal custody 
means the right and responsibility to make major decisions concerning the child, except 
with respect to specified decisions as set forth by the court or the parties in the final 
judgment or order. 

Major decisions:  Major decisions include, but are not limited to, decisions regarding 
consent to marry, consent to enter military service, consent to obtain a motor vehicle 
operator’s license, authorization for nonemergency health care, and choice of school and 
religion. 

http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc
http://revenue.wi.gov/html/taxpubs.html#indiv
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Mediation:  Mediation means a cooperative process involving the parties and a mediator, 
the purpose of which is to help the parties, by applying communication and dispute 
resolution skills, to define and resolve their own disagreements.  In cases where a child is 
involved, the best interest of the child is the paramount consideration. 

Physical placement:  Physical placement means the condition under which a party has 
the right to have a child physically placed with that party and has the right and 
responsibility, during that placement, to make routine daily decisions regarding the child’s 
care, consistent with major decisions made by a person having legal custody. 

Sole legal custody:  Sole legal custody means the situation in which only one party has 
legal custody.  

Termination of parental rights (TPR):  Termination of parental rights means that, 
pursuant to a court order, all rights, powers, privileges, immunities, duties, and obligations 
existing between parent and child are permanently severed. 

Wisconsin Legislative Council 
One East Main Street, Suite 401 

Madison, WI  53703-3382 
Phone: (608) 266-1304 
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