THOMAS WEATHERSTON

STATE REPRESENTATIVE « 62" ASSEMBLY DISTRICT

Madam Chair and committee members, thank you holding this hearing on AB 602, a marriage
license law updated.

Within my district I have heard from several constituents over the years that they were denied a
marriage license.

Recently, I asked my county clerk about the marriage license application, as I haven’t needed
one in a long time. To my surprise my fiancé was denied the right to file an application. My
fiancé is a Naturalized U.S. citizen with a U.S. passport, Naturalization papers, and a State of
Wisconsin driver’s license among other identification. She is also a Federal Employee.

She was born in Mexico and does not have a birth certificate. Many people from all over the
world, especially those born on rural farms do not have a birth record. U.S. Naturalized Citizens,
without a birth certificate, at some time gave proof to our federal government on when and
where they were born.

In Wisconsin a marriage license application requires a birth certificate. The law does allow the
county clerk to accept other ID but they are not required to. This bill simply changes way {0
accept other identification, slightly shortens the waiting period and makes a license valid for 60
days in lieu of the current 30 days. '

These are simple common sense changes needed desperately to reform a very old law to be more
reflective of the makeup of our communities.
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" Carmen Chavez
10224 Dunkelow Rd.
Franksville, WI 53126

To whom this letter may concern

I was denied a marriage license at the Racine County Courthouse because I do not have a
birth certificate. I was born in Mexico but I became a United States citizen in 1996. I do
have a current driver’s license and passport. If there is anything more I can do on my
part, please contact me.

Sincerely,

Carmen Chavez
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Please Wisconsin, may | get married?

- The process of getting the permission slip in this states needs some work. 1s Wisconsin about promoting
MARRIAGE, or about promoting marriage BUREAUCRACY? ’

Let me walk you through what happens after the initial “Oh my gosh, I'm getting married!” moment all
couples experience after the elation of the proposal.

You begin the endless process of PLANNING the actual wedding. Most of you are married, so | don’t
have to walk you through it, but suffice to say, it's not like you can simply conjure a wedding out of thin
air. Venue. Officiant. Reception. Invitations. Just finding a venue can be a challenge.

It threatens to suck the fun out of the whole thing on its own.

But then...then you get to THE STATE. You would think the easiest thing about getting married is getting
the license. Nope. '

in Wisconsin, you must appear IN PERSON fto your county clerk’s office. Both the bride and groom {or
bride and bride, or groom and groom) must be present in person. The clerk has limited hours. Expect to
wait in fine. Don’t count on being able to do it over lunch. Better hope your clerk’s office is close
enough to your workplace that you don’t have to take time off. Mine wasn’t. Mine was a county away.
Forget about getting done over lunch. Take the day off.

But yay! You have your license, right? Nope. You have to wait 6 days. What is that? A cooling off
period? For marriage? Apparently the state of Wisconsin wants to make sure you really, really, REALLY
want to get married! Not like you couldn’t just rip up the application if you decided you shouldn’t have
said yes while drinking....

| kid.

Next, you have to share EVERYTHING about yourself. Well, aimost everything. The country where you
were born. Your education level. What variety of ethnicity you are. Mom’s maiden name.

Why does Wisconsin care whether you graduated from graduate school or not? Why does Wisconsin
care what country you're from? What business is it of Wisconsin's what variety of Caucasian or Hispanic
someone is? And why does Wisconsin need to know your mom’s maiden names?

Then, present the EVIDENCE. A couple both present must present legal state ID, a birth certificate, a
social security number, and proof of divorce. Not just a state 1D. Not just a passport. Not just a birth
certificate. Not just a social security number. All of it. Because apparently, what's good enough to vote
or buy a gun in Wisconsin is INSUFFICIENT to get a marriage license.

Marriage is some SERIOUS business in Wisconsin, | guess!

Hang on, you're not done. You need the name, address and phone number of your officiant. How many
of you have the name, address and phone number of a judge or a priest or a pastor at the ready?




Now remember, you can’t be cleser than second cousins, unless you're a woman over 55. | guess it's for
the kids, right? Except that's more than a bit off-putting, especially if you're a same sex couple!

But finally...you've filled out the form. Now you think you're done. But you're not done. Now you wait
until your clerk has processed the application...and then you wait some more...another 6 days.

Oh and that'll be $90 please. $90 doliars to key in information from a pre-prepared form. $90 for
about 10 minutes tabor. Pretty good for government work?

Now the clock really starts ticking. You only have 30 days to USE your marriage license. S0 after that
“cooling off period”, HURRY UP AND GET MARRIED!

One day past 30 days, and the process starts all over again.

Maybe Wisconsin just wants to make us all meticulous about our time management, but with everything
going on in planning a wedding, perhaps a little relief is in order?

So finally, the big day arrives...and it's awesome. Well, mine was. All the hassle was well worth it. We
say “l do!”, the officiant says “I now pronounce you husband and wife”, and you sign the license.

Now, where to file the license? Where you live? No, where you got married. If those two counties are
different, then one more time, make that drive to ANOTHER clerk’s office, with Iimited office hours.
Probably going to cost you a little more time off from work again. Unless you had planned to go on your

honeymoon right away, in which case, pray the person you trust to file the license does so in a timely
manner!!|

Because you have exactly 3 days to FILE the license. Per W1 statute 765.30 (4)(a), the penalty for failure
to file your license in 3 days is “$200 fine or (3) months IMPRISONMENT”.

Wow, Wisconsin!

Why, Wisconsin, make it so hard. Is the state interested in promoting MARRIAGE...or a marriage
bureaucracy?

| think wé can do a lot better.

Thank you.
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JoCasta Zamarripa

STATE REPRESENTATIVE

January 30, 2017 .

Testimony on Senate Bill 529

Thank you Mister Chair and members of the Senate Committee on Public Benefits, Licensing and
State-Federal Relations for allowing me to testify in favor of this important piece of bipartisan
legislation. '

Marriage has been recognized time and time again as a right for all loving couples living in the
United States. Since I became a legislator eight years ago, we have made historic strides toward
marriage equality.

Unfortunately, there are still ways for a couple to be discriminated against when they decide to get
married. In Wisconsin, people can be legally denied a marriage license if they do not have a birth
certificate. People who wish to make a lifetime commitment to one another may have to go to
Tllinois or Minnesota because they simply do not have access to their birth certificate or have an
English language birth certificate, which in my district, is most often-an issue with residents born
outside the country.

We need to fix this outdated statutory language that is keeping loving couples from celebrating their
love with friends and family. Wisconsin is a state with a long-standing tradition of welcoming
foreign citizens and supporting the institution of marriage. We need to remove these unnecessary

barriers and obstacles to obtaining a marriage license.

Thank you again for holding this hearing on SB 529.
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January 30, 2018

TO: Members of the Senate Committee on Public Benefits, Licensing and State-
Federal Relations

FR:  Representative Dale Kooyenga

RE:  support for Senate Bill 529 — marriage license application requirements, issuance,
and validity

Thank you for holding a hearing on Senate Bill 529 and thank you to Senator Carpenter
and Representative Weatherston for introducing a bill that updates several outdated
provisions contained in our marriage license laws.

I write to share with you my support for the bill and request that you consider amending
SB 529 to include the following provisions. These commonsense suggestions were
brought to my attention by a friend who recently married. However, after AA 1 to AB
602 was introduced, we received feedback from several county clerks requesting some

- minor modifications to the language of the amendment. ‘

The following provisions contained in LRB a1905 represent those modifications and will
be introduced in the Assembly as a new amendment to AB 602. I am asking this
committee to consider introducing and adopting the same amendment. LRB a1905
provides for the following:

e It removes the 30-day residency requirement if one of the parties is active
military — this is especially helpful for our military men and women who may be
stationed here but are residents of another state.

e It requires only one witness instead of two for members of the active military —
also helpful for our military men and women who may be stationed here.

e To simply provide the applicant's social security number rather than require
production of social security card — how many 20, 30, 40 or 50 year olds can find
their social security card? ‘

Thank you for taking up this bill and considering the amendment. Please let me know if
you have any questions and I respectfully ask for your support.
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