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Good Morning!

Thank you Chair Petrowski and committee members for hearing Senate Bill 304 (SB 304), which 
makes changes to the statutes for prohibited practices of motor vehicle manufacturers, importers, 
and distributors.

SB 304 would prohibit manufacturers from assessing surcharges on Wisconsin motor vehicle 
dealers for utilizing the Wisconsin statutory formula for reimbursement of warranty work. There are 
currently 18 states that prohibit manufacturer’s retaliatory surcharges.

I authored this bill at the request of local automobile dealers in my Senate District whom have had 
difficulty working with General Motors (GM) within the confines of current law. They have asked 
us to consider changes to state statute to further protect businesses in our state and ensure that our 
laws do not put them at a competitive disadvantage with neighboring states.

In 2011 the Wisconsin legislature passed Senate Bill 96, which updated and amended the Wisconsin 
Motor Vehicle Franchise law. The bill was signed into law as 2011 Wisconsin Act 91.

One provision of 2011 Act 91 includes a warranty reimbursement formula that calls for 
manufacturers to reimburse dealers for repairs performed under the manufacturer’s warranty at the 
same rate that customers who no longer have a valid warranty would pay for similar repairs. 
Requiring a manufacturer to compensate a dealer at the average customer pay rate prevents 
Wisconsin consumers from subsidizing the manufacturer’s warranty repair obligations.

In October of 2018, General Motors began assessing a surcharge between $178 and $279 per 
vehicle sold on select GM dealers who had requested to be reimbursed at the statutory 
reimbursement rate. Nissan also currently surcharges all of their dealers $75 per vehicle.

My district covers a large portion of southwestern Wisconsin, bordering both Illinois and Iowa. The 
surcharge puts in-brand dealers and those on state borders at a competitive disadvantage and 
ultimately Wisconsin consumers pay more for the purchase price of a new vehicle as well as more 
for non-warranty repairs.

Thank you again for hearing SB 304, and your timely action on this proposal.
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Thank you, Chair Petrowski, and members of the Senate Committee on Transportation, Veterans 
and Military Affairs for holding this public hearing on SB 304. This bill prohibits auto 
manufacturers from assessing a surcharge on auto dealers in order to protect auto dealers and 
consumers throughout Wisconsin.
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When a car owner brings their car in for warranty work, the dealer performs the work on behalf of 
the manufacturer. The rates at which the dealer is reimbursed are determined through the dealer’s 
contract and franchise law. In October of 2018, General Motors began assessing a surcharge 
between $178 and $279 per vehicle sold on select GM dealers who had requested to be reimbursed 
at the statutory reimbursement rate. Nissan also currently surcharges all of their dealers $75 per 
vehicle.

This action by GM and Nissan attempts to coerce their dealers into waiving their right to fair 
compensation as negotiated in 2011 Act 91. This puts in-brand dealers and those on state borders 
at a competitive disadvantage and ultimately Wisconsin consumers pay more for the purchase 
price of a new vehicle as well as more for non-warranty repairs. The cost for warranty work is 
already built into the price of the vehicle from the manufacturer to the dealer. It is not a free market 
when a surcharge allows the manufacturer to pick and choose dealers to selectively raise the price 
of a new vehicle, rather than raising the invoice price to all dealers.

Currently, an individual dealer does not have an ability to negotiate these surcharges with the 
manufacturer through their contract. That is why the parameters of these contracts need to be set 
on a statewide basis through franchise law. SB 304 levels the playing field, and it gives auto dealers 
the ability to negotiate reasonable compensation for warranty work with the manufacturers. This 
legislation would prohibit manufacturers from assessing surcharges on Wisconsin motor vehicle 
dealers as retaliation for utilizing the Wisconsin law. There are currently 18 states that prohibit 
manufacturer’s retaliatory surcharge. Requiring a manufacturer to compensate a dealer at the 
average customer pay rate protects Wisconsin consumers from subsidizing the manufacturer’s 
warranty repair obligations.

The Wisconsin Automobile and Truck Dealers Association, Inc. and the Wisconsin Recreational 
Vehicle Dealers Alliance registered in support of this bill.

Thank you for your consideration of SB 304. Please feel free to contact my office with any 
questions that you may have.
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The Honorable Jerry Petrowski, Chair
Senate Committee on Transportation, Veterans and Military Affairs 
State Capitol 
Madison, Wl 53703

DearChairman Petrowski:

On behalf of the Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, thank you for the opportunity to 
present the Alliance's opposition to Senate Bill 304. The Alliance is a trade association 
representing twelve leading car and light duty truck manufacturers: BMW Group, FCA US LLC, 
Ford Motor Company, General Motors Company, Jaguar Land Rover, Mazda, Mercedes-Benz 
USA, Mitsubishi Motors, Porsche, Toyota, Volkswagen Group of America and Volvo Cars North 
America. Together, Alliance members represent more than 70% of the car and light duty 
trucks sold in the United States each year.

SB 304 exacerbates an existing problem in Wisconsin's motor vehicle franchise law. This 
problem is unique to Wisconsin and dramatically different than every other state's law. The 
law, §218.0125(3m), requires the manufacturer to pay the dealer at its retail rate for parts and 
labor used to repair a vehicle that is under warranty. Basic math teaches that the hourly rate 
for such labor would be calculated by taking the dollars charged to retail customers and 
dividing by the number of hours billed to those customers. The problem is that §218.0125 
does not do that and uses a flawed formula instead. The law calculates the rate as dollars 
charged to retail customers divided by the number of hours that would have been billed if the 
dealer had used the manufacturer's warranty time guide, which is tailored to warranty repairs 
not general retail service. Warranty repairs and general retail service should not be conflated. 
The vehicles are different in terms of their makes, their age, the types of problems, the 
availability of special tools, and complications such as rusted or stripped parts. Because of 
those differences, a warranty repair time guide is likely to have shorter time amounts than a 
time guide designed for general retail repairs. By calculating the rate as dollars charged 
divided by the warranty guide instead of the hours actually billed, Wisconsin's law divides by a 
smaller number. Thus the statutory formula results in an hourly rate that is incorrect and 
higher than what retail customers actually pay, yet it is what manufacturers are forced to pay 
under the law. Wisconsin is the only state in the nation with this problem in its automobile 
franchise law. It is unreasonable and costly for manufacturers.

SB 304 makes the problem worse because it prohibits manufacturers from utilizing a surcharge 
to recover those unreasonable, Wisconsin-specific costs. Even worse, SB 304 includes several 
vague provisions that seem designed to encourage litigation. For example, it prohibits 
nonrandom audits of a dealer and limiting vehicle allocations if they are "in retaliation" for a 
dealer using the problematic warranty reimbursement law. But there are many valid business
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reasons for manufacturers to conduct a nonrandom audit (e.g. red flags triggered in the 
system) or limit vehicle allocations (e.g. limited availability) and SB 204 would create a chilling 
effect on those business decisions if anything that could be alleged to be retaliatory could 
trigger a lawsuit. SB 304 also forbids manufacturers from increasing prices "for the purpose of 
recovering costs of compensating dealers under s. 218.0125." In other words, the law causes 
costs to go up, but also prohibits prices from going up as a result of those costs. That is not a 
reasonable way to regulate commerce.

The Alliance respectfully asks this committee not to report SB 304, which would make 
Wisconsin's uniquely unreasonable warranty reimbursement law even worse.

Sincerely,

David E. Bright 
Attorney



Sub Amendment to Senate Bill 304/Assembly Bill 335

1. PROHIBITS SURCHARGES - Prohibits a manufacturer, importer, or distributor from assessing 
any penalties, fees, or surcharges against an individual dealer for the purpose of recovering 
costs associated with compensating for labor warranty work.

2. PROVIDES RETAIL/MARKET RATES FOR PARTS - This benefits all dealerships and is 
potentially much more lucrative than labor rate.

3. ALLOWS EXTRA TIME FOR WARRANTY WORK - A dealer may request additional time 
allowance for either diagnostic or repair work on a specific vehicle covered under the 
manufacturer's warranty in the manner and with all documentation and information as 
reasonably required by the manufacturer. The request shall not be unreasonably denied by the 
manufacturer.

4. RESTORES LABOR RATE THAT IS USED BY MAJORITY OF DEALERSHIPS - Wisconsin's rate 
would be in line with 39 other states.
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SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT ,

TO SENATE BILL 304

An Act to amend 218.0125 (3m) (a), 218.0125 (3m) (b), 218.0125 (3m) (c) 1. and

218.0125 (5); and to create 218.0125 (8) of the statutes; relating to: 

compensation of motor vehicle dealers by manufacturers, importers, or 

distributors for certain service work.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do 
enact as follows:

Section 1. 218.0125 (3m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

218.0125 (3m) (a) Subject to sub. (4m), a manufacturer, importer, or 

distributor, except a manufacturer, importer, or distributor of motorcycles with 

respect to a dealer of the manufacturer’s, importer’s, or distributor’s motorcycles, 

shall reasonably compensate a dealer who performs work to rectify the product or 

warranty defects -of under a warranty or recall issued by the manufacturer, importer,
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Section 1

or distributor or to satisfy delivery-and preparation obligations of the manufacturer^

or approved by the manufacturer, importer, or distributor or for which the 

manufacturer, importer, or distributor has agreed to pay.

Section 2. 218.0125 (3m) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

218.0125 (3m) (b) Reasonable compensation under par. (a) for labor is equal 

to the dealer’s effective nonwarranty labor rate multiplied by the number of hours 

allowed for the repair under the manufacturer’s, importer’s, or distributor’s time 

allowances used in compensating the dealer for warranty work. A dealer may 

request that the time allowance for work on a specific vehicle include an additional

amount of time for diagnostic or repair work performed on the vehicle. The request

shall be made in the manner and with all the documentation and information

reasonably required by the manufacturer, importer, or distributor. A request for an

additional amount of time allowance under this paragraph mav not be unreasonably

denied by the manufacturer importer, or distributor. Reasonable compensation

under par. (a) for parts is equal to the dealer’s cost for the parts multiplied by the

dealer’s average percentage markup over dealer cost for parts.

****NotE: Please note, this provision was a little unclear to me. Please review the 
revised language and let me know if it does not meet your intent.

Section 3. 218.0125 (3m) (c) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

218.0125 (3m) (c) 1. The effective nonwarranty labor rate is determined, using 

the submitted substantiating orders under sub. (4m) (a) 2., by dividing the total 

customer labor charges for qualifying nonwarranty repairs in the repair orders by 

the total number of hours that would be allowed-for the repairs if the repair severe 

made under the manufacturer’s, importer’s, or-distributor’s time allowances used in

or who performs any other repair work required, requested,
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Section 3

compensating the dealer for warranty wor-k generated the total customer labor 

charges as indicated in the repair orders.

Section 4. 218.0125 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

218.0125 (5) A manufacturer, importer, or distributor who fails to compensate 

a dealer for parts or labor at an amount not less than the amount the dealer charges 

its other retail service customers for parts or labor used to perform similar work shall 

not be found to have violated this section if the manufacturer, importer, or distributor 

shows that, for a manufacturer, importer, or distributor of motorcycles with respect 

to a dealer of the manufacturer’s, importer’s, or distributor’s motorcycles, the 

amount is not reasonably competitive to the amounts charged to retail service 

customers by other similarly situated franchised motor vehicle dealers in this state 

for the same parts or labor when used by those dealers to perform similar work or, 

for any other manufacturer, importer, or distributor, the amount is not reasonably 

competitive to the amounts charged to retail service customers by other similarly 

situated franchised motor vehicle dealers in this state in performing qualifying 

nonwarranty repairs.

Section 5. 218.0125 (8) of the statutes is created to read:

218.0125 (8) A manufacturer, importer, or distributor may not assess any 

penalty, fee, or surcharge against an individual dealer for the purpose of recovering 

costs associated with compensating the dealer under this section. This subsection 

does not prohibit a manufacturer, importer, or distributor from increasing the price 

charged for goods or services in the ordinary course of business.

»***NotE: Do you want to specify an initial applicability for this amendment, e.g.
“first applies to work performed on the effective date?”

(END)
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Hold That Check, We Need to Talk
The 2017-18 Wisconsin legislative session ended in frustration for the Wisconsin 
Automobile and Truck Dealers Association. However, there are some very valuable 
takeaways to keep in mind in the immediate and protracted future.

The main piece of legislation that WATDA pushed this session was an anti-surcharge 
bill. If passed, it would have added a provision to the motor vehicle franchise law that 
would prohibit manufacturers from assessing surcharges on vehicles dealers purchase 
from the manufacturer, to compensate the manufacturer for following the law 
regarding warranty reimbursement. There are currently 18 states that have such 
provisions.

But alas, a few Milwaukee-area "free market" republicans decided allowing 
manufacturers to go unchecked and engage in the practice of punishing their dealers 
via a surcharge, purely for utilizing the law in seeking fair compensation for warranty 
work, should be left up to negotiation between dealers and their manufacturers. 
Many stating, "if the dealer doesn't like the way their manufacturer is treating them, 
then they should just sell and get out of the business." The irony here is that these are 
legislators who view themselves as pro-business and economic development 
champions and yet they supported an out-of-state company that no longer has a 
presence in Wisconsin, over long-standing local dealerships that pay local property 
and state payroll and income taxes while employing over 25,000 Wisconsinites 
throughout the state.

We didn't ask for this fight. In 2011, WATDA worked to pass a franchise bill that made 
several amendments to the law. The provisions within that bill were the product of 
negotiation and compromise between the dealers and manufacturer representatives. 
The warranty reimbursement formulas for both parts and labor were a part of that 
compromise and agreement. There were several amendments made to the bill during 
its legislative passage (including taking out an anti-surcharge provision) and the 
warranty reimbursement formulas were never an issue. Four years later, in the end of 
October 2015, GM informed WATDA that they did not like the warranty 
reimbursement formula for labor and demanded that we agree to repeal the law.

After consulting with the WATDA Executive Committee, a few select multi-point 
dealers and the full Board of Directors, it was decided that one manufacturer should
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not dictate changes to a (aw that was working. As the 2015-16 legislative session 
came to an end, WATDA agreed to amend a provision in the law, but that was not 
enough for GM, who continued to demand a repeal of the formula. Senate Majority 
Leader Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) asked us to try and work something out with them 
over the legislative break. However, GM had no intention of negotiating or 
compromising and in September of 2016 they threatened their dealers who were 
receiving warranty reimbursement under the state formula, that they would be 
surcharged $389 per vehicle. Some of those dealers joined together and filed a 
lawsuit in federal court to challenge GM's surcharge. The question to be answered by 
the court is not whether GM can surcharge, but who can they surcharge. Can they 
cherry pick individuals or do they have to surcharge their whole dealer body in 
Wisconsin. (That case currently does not have a decision).

Under that setting, WATDA, asked Representative Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan) and 
Senator Luther Olsen (R-Ripon) to sponsor a bill that would prohibit a manufacturer 
from surcharging dealers. With the help of 5 different dealers testifying and many 
more making calls to their legislators, the bill passed through both the Assembly 
Consumer Protection and Senate Transportation committees unanimously and passed 
the full Assembly on a voice vote. However, in the senate, despite securing 27 out of 
32 possible votes, we ran into road blocks in the form of unwritten party rules and 
free market philosophies and the bill never made it to the senate floor for a vote.

In this day and age, especially in Wisconsin, party politics rules. The unwritten rule is, 
to get a bill to the floor for a vote, it must have the support of enough legislators 
within the majority party to pass. In other words, Wisconsin has 33 senators, so you 
need to have 17 republican senators support a bill to have it considered to reach the 
floor for a vote. In our situation, one republican senator took an administration job 
leaving 32 senators, 18 republicans and 14 democrats. The problem in the senate 
consisted of 4 express no votes from free market senators: David Craig (R-Vernon), 
Dewey Stroebel (R-Saukville), Chris Kapenga (R-Delafield) and Leah Vukmir (R- 
Brookfield) coupled with Senate Majority Leader Fitzgerald's decision not to allow it 
to be voted on by the full senate body.

Free marketers, Craig, Kapenga and Stroebel were in the assembly in 2011 when our 
last franchise bill passed. Craig and Kapenga voted against that bill. Stroebel, voted for 
the bill, but was on record as a no vote for the anti-surcharge bill (however, he did 
make a request to have the anti-surcharge bill brought to the floor for a vote). Vukmir 
was the only senator to vote against the 2011 bill and she requested a roll call vote, so 
that she could be on record as voting against it. This time around, she made herself 
unavailable time and again to speak with us about the bill. State Senator Vukmir has 
her sights set on the U.S. Senate seat and didn't want to be held accountable for a 
position on the anti-surcharge bill. (An important side note for the dealers in the 5th



Senate district [Vukmir's current seat], Assemblyman Dale Kooyenga (R-Brookfield) is 
running to replace her. Rep. Kooyenga, a free marketer, voted against the 2011 bill 
and indicated through his staff that he did not support the anti-surcharge bill and that 
he did not need nor want to talk to us about it.

It is not the typical practice of WATDA to be so candid about the sausage making 
process that working a bill through the legislature is, however, we do here for the 
purpose of educating our members about who in the legislature supports your 
business and who does not. Very soon (if it hasn't already started) legislators and 
hopeful candidates are going to be calling and mailing you seeking support from you 
to help them with their campaign. When you are solicited by candidates, talk to them, 
ask them about their position on franchise laws.

When speaking to legislators, find out how much they really know about the franchise 
system. They may not be aware that your Sales and Service Agreement is a take it or 
leave it document that manufacturers reserve the right to unilaterally modify from 
time to time as they see fit. In which case, the Wisconsin Motor Vehicle Franchise Law 
is the only mechanism you have, to effectively negotiate with the manufacturers. 
Walking away from your franchise investment is not a practical solution. Every state 
has a motor vehicle franchise law for a reason. Franchise laws regulate the dealer- 
manufacturer relationship, the dealer and customer relationship and the 
manufacturer and customer relationship. They ensure fair intra-brand and Interbrand 
competition throughout the state, which directly enables smaller dealers in more 
rural areas to survive and service those communities.

Warranty reimbursement is a perfect example. While some manufacturers 
compensate their dealers fairly, others view it as purely an expense that needs to be 
constantly monitored, controlled and reduced. Forty states have provisions that 
require the manufacturer to reimburse their dealers at the average customer pay 
rate. Twenty-seven states use the same formula for warranty parts reimbursement 
that Wisconsin does. While a majority of dealers acceptthe reimbursement formula 
that their manufacturer has decided is fair, others have opted to choose to be 
reimbursed under the statutory formula. The franchise law guarantees the dealers a 
choice. It's just a shame that some legislators feel that it's OK to let manufacturers 
punish a dealer for exercising that choice (a choice they voted to provide you).

In the upcoming months WATDA staff will be traveling throughout the state and 
meeting with our dealers. We are hoping that when we are in your area, you take the 
time to come and meet with us. It is a great opportunity for both WATDA staff and 
our members to meet and discuss the issues that are affecting your business.



10/20/2016

States Prohibiting Surcharges to Recoup Cost of 
Warranty Reimbursement

The following 19 states contain provisions in their dealer franchise law that 
prohibit surcharges to recoup the cost of warranty reimbursement:

Arizona
Connecticut
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Maine
Montana
New Mexico
New York

North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oregon
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia

(Not listed: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Illinois, 
Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, 
Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, 
Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, 
Texas, Wisconsin and Wyoming)
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