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Felony Sentencing and Probation in Wisconsin

Introduction

In Wisconsin, a felony is defined as any
criminal  offense that is punishable by
imprisonment in state prison. All other criminal
offenses are classified as misdemeanors. Any
person age 17 years and older who commits a
felony or misdemeanor is considered an adult and
may be sentenced to confinement or placed on
probation, and/or  fined. Under  some
circumstances, persons under the age of 17 may be
charged and sentenced as an adult. Offenders
sentenced to more than one year of incarceration
are imprisoned in state correctional facilities and
all sentences to state correctional facilities must be
for at least one year. Those offenders sentenced to
less than one year, whether for a felony or
misdemeanor, are confined in county jails. A
sentence of one year for a crime occurring before
December 31, 1999, may be to either a state
correctional facility or a county jail unless the
statutes provide for a specific placement. Offenders
sentenced to one year incarceration for a crime
occurring on or after December 31, 1999, are
imprisoned in state correctional facilities.

For all felony offenses committed on or after
December 31, 1999, except for those punishable by
life imprisonment, felons sentenced to prison are
given a bifurcated (two-part) sentence, under
which a sentencing judge specifies an amount of
time a convicted felon will serve in prison and an
amount of time a felon will serve in the community
on extended supervision. Under a bifurcated
sentence, judges may also require that the felon be
placed in the intensive sanctions program as a part
of extended supervision. The bifurcated
(determinate) sentencing structure is commonly

known as "truth-in-sentencing.” Judges may also
fine an offender in addition to, or instead of,
imposing a bifurcated sentence or jail term, or may
place a felon on probation. In addition, certain
serious sex offenders may be placed on lifetime
supervision after the expiration of their sentence or
upon completion of probation. Felons sentenced to
life imprisonment do not receive a bifurcated
sentence, but rather may apply to the court for
release to extended supervision under specific
circumstances.

For felony offenses committed before December
31, 1999, convicted felons may be: (a) sentenced to
an indeterminate term of imprisonment; (b)
sentenced to the intensive sanctions program; or (c)
placed on state-supervised probation. As under a
bifurcated sentence, a convicted felon may also be
fined in addition to, or instead of, any other
punishment. This sentencing structure is referred
to as "indeterminate" because felons may be
paroled from prison and discharged from
supervision prior to serving the maximum
sentence imposed by the court.

Once a court sentences a felony offender to con-
finement in state prison under a bifurcated or inde-
terminate sentence, the offender is transferred to
the custody of the Department of Corrections (Cor-
rections). After a period of assessment and evalua-
tion at the Dodge Correctional Institution in Wau-
pun, Corrections determines which correctional
facility is appropriate for a sentenced offender.

In sentencing offenders for misdemeanor of-
fenses, judges may imprison an offender in a
county jail or place a person on probation. Maxi-
mum misdemeanor imprisonment ranges from not



more than 30 days for a Class C misdemeanor to
not more than nine months for a Class A misde-
meanor. Offenders in jail for sentences of more
than four days are eligible to earn good time credit
of up to 25% of the court-imposed sentence. The
county has custody of misdemeanants sentenced to
county jail. Corrections supervises misdemeanants
placed on probation by the court.

This paper addresses the various methods by
which an offender may be placed under state
supervision in the adult programs of the
Department of Corrections. The paper is divided
into the following sections: (a) felony sentencing
under a bifurcated sentence; (b) the Sentencing
Commission; (c) felony sentencing under an
indeterminate sentence; (d) serious repeat
offenders; (e) sentencing to the intensive sanctions
program; (f) probation; (g) lifetime supervision of
serious sex offenders; (h) original court jurisdiction
over certain juveniles; (i) waiver of certain juveniles
to adult court; and (j) placement of juveniles
sentenced to prison.

In this paper the following terms are used:

1.  "Incarceration” or "Confinement." Place-
ment of an offender in a state correctional facility
or county jail.

2. "Parole." Release of an offender sentenced
under an indeterminate sentence to the community
under the supervision of the Department of
Corrections. Corrections may discharge a person
from parole prior to the person serving the
maximum sentence imposed by the court.

3.  "Mandatory Release." Release from prison
to parole supervision after serving two-thirds of an
indeterminate sentence established by the court for
offenses occurring before December 31, 1999.

4. "Extended Supervision." Release of an
offender as part of a bifurcated sentence or release

of an offender sentenced to life imprisonment to
the community under the supervision of
Corrections. Corrections may not discharge a
person from extended supervision prior to the time
specified by the court.

5. "Intensive Sanctions." A sentence imposed
to the intensive sanctions program in Corrections
by a judge for a felony offense that includes a term
of confinement in prison and highly structured
community supervision, followed by parole. Prior
to parole, an offender under an intensive sanctions
sentence is considered an inmate and may be
returned to prison without a revocation hearing.
Judges may only sentence individuals to intensive
sanctions for offenses that occur between August
15, 1991, and December 30, 1999. Persons not
sentenced under a bifurcated sentence may also be
placed in intensive sanctions by actions of
Corrections or the Parole Commission. A sentence
to the intensive sanctions program is for a
maximum period and may be modified by
administrative actions of the Parole Commission or
Corrections.

For offenses occurring on or after December 31,
1999, an offender may not be sentenced to the
intensive sanctions program and may not
participate in the program during the confinement
portion of a bifurcated sentence, but may be placed
in the program as a condition of extended
supervision. Participation in the intensive sanctions
program does not allow Corrections to modify the
length of a bifurcated sentence.

6. "Probation." Placement of an offender
under the supervision of Corrections in the
community without confinement in state prison,
although confinement in a county jail may be
required. An offender placed on probation is
subject to conditions imposed by the court and/or
Corrections.



Bifurcated Sentence

For Offenses Committed on or after December 1,
1999, and before February 1, 2003

In 1997 Act 283, a bifurcated (determinate)
sentencing structure (“truth-in-sentencing”) was
created for all felony offenses. Under this structure,
courts are required to impose a bifurcated (two-
part) sentence for any felony occurring on or after
December 31, 1999, except for felonies resulting in
a life sentence. The sentence consists of a term of
confinement in prison followed by a term of
extended supervision in the community. Persons
serving a bifurcated sentence are not eligible for
the intensive sanctions or community residential
confinement programs during the prison portion of
the bifurcated sentence. A person serving a
bifurcated sentence is not eligible for the challenge
incarceration program ("boot camp") unless the
sentencing court specifies that he or she is eligible.
If an eligible person successfully completes the
challenge incarceration program, the judge is
required to reduce the prison portion of the
sentence so the person is released to supervision,
while the supervision portion of the sentence is
increased by a corresponding amount, resulting in
the same total sentence length. Under 2001 Act 1009,
the bifurcated sentence structure was modified,
effective February 1, 2003, and is discussed in the
following section.

Felony offenses, committed prior to February 1,
2003, are identified as either classified felonies
(Appendix I) or unclassified felonies (Appendix I1).
Appendix Il  identifies the penalties under a
bifurcated sentence and for penalties under an
indeterminate sentence for all unclassified felonies.
All felony offenses (with the exception of three
offenses) were placed under a classification system
by 2001 Act 109 (Appendix Il1).

The maximum sentence (confinement time plus
extended supervision) for classified felonies

occurring on or after December 31, 1999 and before
February 1, 2003, is: (a) Class A felony, life; (b)
Class B felony, 60 years; (c) Class BC, 30 years; (d)
Class C felony, 15 years; (e) Class D felony, 10
years; and (f) Class E felony, 5 years. The
maximum term of confinement for these is: (a)
Class A felony, life; (b) Class B felony, 40 years; (c)
Class BC, 20 years; (d) Class C felony, 10 years; (e)
Class D felony, 5 years; and (f) Class E felony, 2
years. For any felony other than a felony listed
above, the term of confinement in prison cannot
exceed 75% of the total length of the bifurcated
sentence.

When sentencing a felon, judges may specify
that sentences run concurrently or consecutively.
Judges may not, however, order imprisonment
followed by probation as the sentence for a single
crime. The length of sentence may be increased for
certain offenders by penalty enhancers for activities
such as habitual criminality, use of a dangerous
weapon or repeated serious sex crimes.

Under a bifurcated sentence, the term of
confinement in prison cannot be less than one year,
subject to any minimum sentence prescribed for
the felony and any penalty enhancement. If the
maximum term of confinement in prison is
increased by a penalty enhancement, the total
length of the bifurcated sentence (confinement plus
extended supervision) that can be imposed is
increased by the same amount.

The extended supervision portion of the
bifurcated sentence may not be less than 25% of the
length of the term of confinement in prison. The
court may impose conditions on the term of
extended supervision. A person serving a
bifurcated sentence is not be eligible for parole or
mandatory release. Further, a person sentenced to
a bifurcated sentence is required to serve the
confinement portion without reduction for good
behavior. Corrections is prohibited from
discharging a person serving a bifurcated sentence
from custody, control and supervision until the
person has served the entire bifurcated sentence,



including any periods of extension in prison
imposed by Corrections for disciplinary reasons.
The court is required to inform a person being
sentenced of Corrections’ ability to extend a
sentence for disciplinary reasons as described
below.

An inmate imprisoned under a bifurcated
sentence is not eligible for release to extended
supervision until the court-specified term of
confinement is completed. A warden or
superintendent of a correctional facility is required
to keep a record of the conduct of each inmate,
specifying each infraction of the rules. If an inmate
violates any regulation of the prison or refuses or
neglects to perform required or assigned duties,
Corrections may extend the term of confinement as
follows:

1. 10 days for the first offense.

2. 20 days for the 2™ offense.

3. 40 days for the 3 or each subsequent
offense.

Further, in addition to the above sanctions, if an
inmate is placed in adjustment, program, or
controlled segregation status, Corrections may
extend his or her term of confinement by a number
of days equal to 50% of the number of days spent
in segregation status. Corrections is required to use
the definition of adjustment, program, or
controlled segregation status under administrative
rules in effect at the time an inmate is placed in that
status. No extension of a term of confinement may
require an inmate to serve more days in prison
than the total length of the bifurcated sentence. If
the term of confinement in prison is increased, the
term of extended supervision is reduced so that the
total length of the bifurcated sentence is not
changed.

All consecutive bifurcated sentences are
computed as one continuous sentence. A person
serves any term of extended supervision only after
serving all terms of confinement in prison. An
inmate is allowed to waive entitlement to release to

extended supervision if Corrections agrees to the
waiver.

Before a person is released to extended
supervision, Corrections is required to notify the
municipal police department and the county sheriff
for the area where the person will be residing.
Inmates released to extended supervision are
subject to all conditions and rules of extended
supervision until the expiration of the extended
supervision portion of the bifurcated sentence.
Corrections may establish conditions of extended
supervision, in addition to any conditions set by
the court at sentencing, if the conditions set by
Corrections do not conflict with the court’s
conditions.

If a person released to extended supervision
violates a condition of that placement, the Division
of Hearings and Appeals in the Department of
Administration or Corrections (if the person on
extended supervision waives a hearing) may
revoke the extended supervision of the person. If
the person is returned to prison, he or she may be
returned for any specified period of time that does
not exceed the time remaining on the bifurcated
sentence. The term "time remaining” is defined as
the total length of the bifurcated sentence, less time
served in custody before release to extended
supervision by the person. The period of
reincarceration time may be extended for
disciplinary reasons.

A person sentenced to life imprisonment for
crimes that occur on or after December 31, 1999, is
not given a bifurcated sentence and is not eligible
for release on parole. The court is required to make
an extended supervision eligibility date
determination regarding the person and choose
one of the following options:

1. The person is eligible for release to
extended supervision after serving 20 years.

2. The person is eligible for release to
extended supervision on a date set by the court



that is later than 20 years.

3. The person is not eligible for release to
extended supervision.

When sentencing a person to life imprisonment,
the court is required to inform the person of
Corrections’ ability to increase the date of eligibility
to apply for release for disciplinary reasons. The
court is also required to inform a person sentenced
to life imprisonment of the procedure for
petitioning for release to extended supervision.

A person sentenced to life imprisonment for
crimes occurring on or after December 31, 1999, is
generally subject to the same sentencing provisions
as other offenders except that the following specific
provisions also apply:

1.  Noindividual sentenced to life without the
possibility of extended supervision may be placed
on extended supervision.

2. An inmate serving a life sentence with the
possibility of extended supervision may not
petition the sentencing court for release to
extended supervision until after either: (a) he or
she has served 20 years, if the inmate is given a
sentence allowing that possibility; or (b) he or she
reaches the extended supervision eligibility date
set by the court.

3. Violations of prison rules and regulations
may result in the extension of the date of eligibility
for extended supervision.

4.  An inmate serving a life sentence who
seeks release to extended supervision is required to
file a petition for release with the court that
sentenced him or her. An inmate may not file an
initial petition earlier than 90 days before his or her
extended supervision eligibility date. If an inmate
files an initial petition for release to extended
supervision at any time earlier than 90 days, the
court is required to deny the petition without a
hearing. An inmate filing for release is also

required to serve a copy of a petition for release on
the district attorney’s office that prosecuted him or
her, and the district attorney is required to give a
written response to the petition within 45 days
after he or she receives the petition. (302.114(5)).

After reviewing a petition for release and the
district attorney’s response, the court is required to
decide whether to hold a hearing on the petition or,
if it does not hold a hearing, whether to grant or
deny the petition without a hearing. If the court
decides to hold a hearing, the hearing must be
without a jury.

5. Before deciding whether to grant or deny
the inmate’s petition, the court is required to allow
a victim or family member of a homicide victim to
make a statement or submit a statement concerning
the release of the inmate to extended supervision.
The court may also allow any other person to make
or submit a statement. Any statement, however,
must be relevant to the release of the inmate to
extended supervision.

In order to be released to extended supervision,
an inmate is required to prove to the court, by clear
and convincing evidence, that he or she is not a
danger to the public. If the court grants the
inmate’s petition for release, the court may impose
conditions on the term of extended supervision. If
the court denies the inmate’s petition, the court is
required to specify the date on which the inmate
may file a subsequent petition. An inmate may file
a subsequent petition at any time on or after the
date specified by the court, but if the inmate files a
subsequent petition for release to extended
supervision before the date specified by the court,
the court may deny the petition without a hearing.

An inmate may also appeal an order denying
his or her petition, but the appellate court is
required to determine only whether the court
properly exercised its discretion in denying the
petition.

6. A person serving a life sentence who is



returned to prison after revocation of extended
supervision is required to be incarcerated for at
least five years, after which period of time the
person may, upon petition to the sentencing court,
be released to extended supervision. An inmate
may not file a petition earlier than 90 days before
the end of the reincarceration period, which
includes any extensions for prison rules violations.

7. If a person serving a life sentence files a
petition for release or rerelease, the clerk of the
circuit court in which the petition is filed is
required to send a copy of the petition and, if a
hearing is scheduled, a notice of hearing to victims
who request notification. If the victim died as a
result of the crime, an adult member of the victim’s
family is notified. The Director of State Courts is
required to design and prepare victim address
cards to send to the clerks of the circuit courts,
without charge. The clerks of circuit court are then
required to provide the cards, without charge, to
victims.

Modification to Bifurcated Sentencing on or after
February 1, 2003

In 1997 Act 283, an 18-member Criminal
Penalties Study Committee was created to study
and prepare a report on: (a) the classification of
criminal offenses in the criminal code (Chapters 939
to 951 of the Statutes); (b) the penalties for all
felonies and Class A misdemeanors; and (c) other
issues related to the implementation of the changes
in sentencing made in the Act. Most of the
Committee’s recommendations were enacted under
2001 Act 109, which modified the original
bifurcated sentence structure, effective February 1,
2003. The most significant changes include: (a)
reclassifying and expanding the classes of felonies;
(b) providing statutory caps on the extended
supervision portion of the bifurcated sentence; (c)
modifying maximum fines; (d) creating sentencing

guidelines; (e) specifying order in which penalty
enhancers are applied; (f) providing mechanisms
for offenders to petition to the sentencing court to
modify their sentence; (g) modification of the terms
of extended supervision; (h) providing a new
sanction for violation of extended supervision
conditions; and (i) providing that the sentencing
court determines the length of time an offender
will be returned to prison for revocation of
extended supervision.

Felony Classification. Under the modified
bifurcated sentence structure, the previous six
classes of felonies are expanded to nine (Class A
through Class I). Generally, classified crimes were
reclassified as follows:

(1) Class A felonies became Class A or B
felonies.

(2) Class B felonies became Class C felonies.

(3) Class BC felonies became Class C or D
felonies.

(4) Class C felonies became Class F felonies.

(5) Class D felonies became Class H felonies.

(6) Class E felonies became Class | felonies.

Table 1 shows the maximum bifurcated
sentences (confinement in prison plus extended
supervision) for the nine felony classes, compared
with the indeterminate sentences (discussed in the
following section) for crimes occurring before
December 31, 1999, and the bifurcated sentences
for crimes under the prior felony classifications.
Table 2 shows the maximum term of imprisonment
under the revised felony classes (excluding time
that may be imposed for misconduct in prison or
return after revocation), and also shows the
mandatory release times under indeterminate
sentencing for crimes committed prior to December
31, 1999.

Appendix Il identifies all felony offenses as
classified beginning February 1, 2003.



Table 1: Maximum Total Sentence (Confinement in Prison Plus
Parole or Extended Supervision)

Classification and Maximum Sentence Under
Indeterminate and Determinate Sentencing

Maximum Sentence Maximum Sentence
for Crimes Occurring for Crimes Occurring
Before  On or After 12/31/99 On or After
Classification 12/31/99 and Before 2/1/03  Classification 2/1/03
Class A Life Life Class A Life
Class B 60 years
Class B 40 years 60 years Class C 40 years
Class BC 20 years 30 years Class D 25 years
Class E 15 years
Class C 10 years 15 years Class F 12.5 years
Class G 10 years
Class D 5 years 10 years Class H 6 years
Class E 2 years 5 years Class | 3.5 years

Table 2: Maximum Time Confined in Prison for a Maximum Sentence

Maximum Confinement Time Under
Indeterminate and Determinate Sentencing

Crimes Committed Crimes Committed On or After  Crimes Committed

Before 12/31/99 12/31/99 and before 2/1/03 On or After 2/1/03
Eligible Mandatory Maximum Maximum
for Parole Release Prison Sentence Prison Sentence
Class A Set by N.A. ES Eligibility Class A ES Eligibility
Sentencing Date Set by Date Set by
Court Sentencing Sentencing
Court Court
Class B 40 years
Class B 10 years 26.6 years 40 years Class C 25 years
Class BC 5 years 13.3 years 20 years Class D 15 years
Class E 10 years
Class C 2.5 years 6.6 years 10 years Class F 7.5 years
Class G 5 years
Class D 1.25 years 3.3 years 5 years Class H 3 years
Class E 0.5 years 1.3 years 2 years Class | 1.5 years



Statutory Caps on Extended Supervision. Under
1997 Act 283, no maximum term of extended
supervision was established for bifurcated
sentencing. Under 2001 Act 109, for offenses
committed on or after February 1, 2003, statutory
caps for extended supervision were created, as
follows: (a) Class B, 20 years; (b) Class C, 15 years;
(c) Class D, 10 years; (d) Class E, F, and G, 5 years;
(e) Class H, 3 years; and (f) Class I, 2 years.

Table 3 summarizes the maximum confinement
and extended supervision for the modified
bifurcated sentencing structure created under 2001
Act 109.

Table 3: Maximum Bifurcated Sentence for
Offenses Committed on or after February 1,
2003

Maximum Maximum Maximum

Felony Term of Extended Term of
Cases  Confinement Supervision Imprisonment

A Life Life

B 40 years 20 years 60 years

C 25 years 15 years 40 years

D 15 years 10 years 25 years

E 10 years 5 years 15 years

F 7.5 years 5 years 12.5 years

G 5 years 5 years 10 years

H 3 years 3 years 6 years

| 18 months 2 years 3.5 year

Maximum Fines. For crimes occurring prior to
February 1, 2003, the maximum fine for classified
felonies is $10,000. For unclassified felonies, the
range of fines varies by offense from $25 to
$1,000,000. Beginning February 1, 2003, the maxi-
mum fines that may imposed by the sentencing
court are also increased: (a) Classes C and D,
$100,000; (b) Class E, $50,000; (c) Classes F and G,
$25,000; and (d) Classes H and 1, $10,000.

Sentencing Guidelines, and Consideration of Aggra-
vating and Mitigating Factors. When making a sen-
tencing decision (a decision to impose a bifurcated
sentence or place a person on probation, and a de-

cision as to the length of a bifurcated sentence, in-
cluding the length of each component of the bifur-
cated sentence, the amount of a fine, and the length
of a term of probation) for an offense committed on
or after February 1, 2003, a court is required to con-
sider all of the following:

a. Felony sentencing guidelines adopted by
the Sentencing Commission or any applicable
temporary sentencing guideline adopted by the
Criminal Penalties Study Committee created under
1997 Wisconsin Act 283.

b. Protection of the public.
c. The gravity of the offense.
d. The rehabilitative needs of the defendant.

e. Any applicable mitigating factors and any
applicable aggravating factors.

Guidelines generally evaluate the severity of an
offense and the risk factors associated with an
offender, and then provide a range of sentence
lengths based on those factors. Courts are not
required to make a sentencing decision that is
within any range or consistent with a
recommendation specified in the guidelines.
Further, statutes specify that there is no right to
appeal a court’s sentencing decision based on the
court’s decision to depart in any way from any
guideline.

In a sentencing decision, a court is required to
consider all of the following as aggravating factors:

a. The fact that the person committed the
crime while his or her usual appearance was
concealed, disguised, or altered, with the intent to
make it less likely that he or she would be
identified with the crime.

b. The fact that the person committed the
crime using information that was disclosed to him
or her from the state’s sex offender registry.



c. The fact that the person committed the
crime for the benefit of, at the direction of, or in
association with any criminal gang, with the
specific intent to promote, further, or assist in any
criminal conduct by criminal gang members.

d. The fact that the person committed the
felony while wearing a vest or other garment
designed, redesigned, or adapted to prevent bullets
from penetrating the garment.

e. The fact that the person committed the
felony with the intent to influence the policy of a
governmental unit or to punish a governmental
unit for a prior policy decision, if any of the
following circumstances also applies to the felony
committed by the person: (1) the person caused
bodily harm, great bodily harm, or death to
another; (2) the person caused damage to the
property of another and the total property
damaged is reduced in value by $25,000 or more; or
(3) the person used force or violence or the threat of
force or violence. The provision would not apply to
conduct arising out of or in connection with a labor
dispute.

In addition to the general aggravating
circumstances courts are required to consider at
sentencing, 2001 Act 109 requires courts to consider
the following special aggravating circumstances for
serious sex crimes, crimes against the elderly, child
sexual assault, homicide or injury by intoxicated
use of motor vehicle, and controlled substances:

<  Serious Sex Crimes. Courts are required to
consider as an aggravating factor the fact that the
serious sex crime was committed under all of the
following circumstances:

a. At the time that he or she committed the
serious sex crime, the person convicted of
committing the serious sex crime had a sexually
transmitted disease or acquired immunodeficiency
syndrome or had had a positive test for the
presence of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV).

b. At the time that he or she committed the
serious sex crime, the person convicted of
committing the serious sex crime knew that he or
she had a sexually transmitted disease or acquired
immunodeficiency syndrome or that he or she had
had a positive test for the presence of HIV.

c. The victim of the serious sex crime was
significantly exposed to HIV or to the sexually
transmitted disease, by the acts constituting the
serious sex crime.

< Violent Felonies Committed Against an
Elderly Person (62 years of age or older). Courts are
required to consider as an aggravating factor the
fact that the victim of the violent felony was an
elderly person, even if the offender mistakenly
believed that the victim had not attained the age of
62 years.

e  Child Sexual Assault or Child Abuse. Courts
are required to consider as an aggravating factor
the fact that the person was a person responsible
for the welfare of the child who was the victim of
the violation.

<  Homicide or Injury by Intoxicated Use of a
Vehicle. Courts are required to consider as an
aggravating factor the fact that, at the time of the
violation, there was a minor passenger under 16
years of age or an unborn child in the person's
motor vehicle.

e  Controlled Substances Offenses. Courts are
required to consider as an aggravating factor the
fact that the violation involved delivering,
distributing, or possessing with intent to deliver or
distribute a controlled substance or controlled
substance analog to a prisoner within the precincts
of any prison, jail, or house of correction. Further,
when making a sentencing decision concerning a
person convicted of a controlled substance
delivering, distributing, or possessing with intent
to deliver or distribute offense, a court is required
to consider as an aggravating factor the fact that
the violation involved delivering, distributing, or



possessing with intent to deliver or distribute a
controlled substance included in schedule | or Il
(drugs with a high potential for abuse, no or
severely limited acceptable medical treatment or
which may lead to dependence) and that the
person knowingly used a public transit vehicle
during the violation.

Under the statutes, the aggravating factors are
not elements of a crime. A prosecutor is not
required to charge any aggravating factor or
otherwise allege the existence of an aggravating
factor in any pleading for a court to consider the
aggravating factor when making a sentencing
decision.

In making a sentencing decision, a court is
required to state the reasons for its sentencing
decision, and do so in open court and on the
record. However, if a court determines that it is not
in the interest of the defendant for it to state the
reasons for its sentencing decision in the
defendant’s presence, the court must state the
reasons for its sentencing decision in writing and
include the written statement in the record.

Application Order of Penalty Enhancers. For
offenses committed on or after February 1, 2003, if
more than one of the following penalty
enhancement statutes apply to a crime, a court is
required to apply them in the order listed in
calculating the maximum term of imprisonment for
the crime:

a. domestic abuse, violence in a school zone,
hate crimes, distribution or delivery of a controlled
substance to a person under 18 years of age, and
distribution of a controlled substance in or near
certain places.

b. use of a dangerous weapon.

c. habitual criminality or second or
subsequent controlled substances offenses.

Modification of Bifurcated Sentence. Under the

10

modified bifurcated sentence structure, beginning
February 1, 2003, there are two means by which a
bifurcated sentence may be modified. Under the
first method, an inmate, serving a sentence for a
crime other than a Class B felony, may seek
modification of the sentence if he or she meets one
of the following criteria:

1. The inmate is 65 years of age or older and
has served at least five years of the term of
confinement for the prison portion of the
bifurcated sentence;

2. The inmate is 60 years of age or older and
has served at least 10 years of the term of
confinement for the prison portion of the
bifurcated sentence; or

3. The inmate has a terminal condition. A
terminal condition is defined as an incurable
condition afflicting a person, caused by injury,
disease, or illness, as a result of which the person
has a medical prognosis that his or her life
expectancy is six months or less, even with
available life-sustaining treatment provided in
accordance with the prevailing standard of medical
care.

An inmate who meets one of the above criteria
may petition the program review committee of the
correctional institution requesting modification of a
bifurcated sentence. The program review
committee may deny the petition or may refer it to
the sentencing court if the committee determines
that public interest would be served by
modification of the sentence. If the petition is
referred, the sentencing court is required to
conduct a hearing, where the inmate has the
burden of proving by the greater weight of the
credible evidence that modification would serve
public interest. If the inmate meets the burden of
proof, the court is required to modify the inmate’s
sentence by releasing the inmate to extended
supervision within 30 days after the date of the
court issues its order. The term of extended
supervision is lengthened so that the total length of



the bifurcated sentence originally imposed does
not change. The state may appeal the court’s
decision to grant an inmate’s petition to the
appellate court. If the inmate’s petition is denied,
the inmate may appeal the decision. The appellate
court may reverse the decision only if it determines
that the sentencing court erroneously exercised its
discretion in granting or denying the petition.

Any petition that is denied by the program
review committee or court, may not be refiled
within one year. Inmates eligible to seek
modification have the right to be represented by
counsel, including representation by the State
Public Defender.

The second manner in which a bifurcated
sentence may be modified (s. 973.195) provides that
an inmate, serving a sentence for a crime other than
a Class B felony, may petition the sentencing court
to adjust the sentence if: (a) the inmate has served
at least 85% of the term of confinement for a Class
C to E felony; or (b) the inmate has served at least
75% of the term of confinement for a Class F, G, H,
or | felony. The inmate may submit only one
petition for each imposed sentence. Any one of the
following is ground for a petition:

1. The inmate’s conduct, efforts at and
progress in rehabilitation, or participation and
progress in education, treatment, or other
correctional programs since he or she was
sentenced;

2. There was a change in law or procedure,
effective after the inmate was sentenced, related to
sentencing that would have resulted in a shorter
term of confinement, if the change had been
applicable when the inmate was sentenced;

3. The inmate is subject to a sentence of
confinement in another state or the inmate is in the
United States illegally and may be deported; or

4. The sentence adjustment is otherwise in
the interests of justice.

A court may deny any petition it receives, or
hold the petition for further consideration. If the
court holds the petition for further consideration,
the court must notify the district attorney of the
inmate’s petition. If the district attorney objects to
adjustment of the sentence within 45 days of
receiving the court’s notification, the court must
deny the petition. If the sentence is for certain sex
offenses (second-degree sexual assault, third-
degree sexual assault, second-degree sexual assault
involving a person under 16 years of age, or
soliciting a child for prostitution) and the district
attorney does not object to the petition within 10
days of receiving notice, the district attorney is
required to notify the victim of the offense of the
inmate’s petition. If the victim objects to the
petition within 45 days of receiving notice, the
court must deny the petition.

If the sentencing court does not receive an
objection to the sentence adjustment, and the court
determines that adjustment is in the public interest,
the court may modify the sentence. If the sentence
is modified the court must reduce the term of
confinement by the amount of time remaining for
confinement, less up to 30 days, and increase the
term of extended supervision by the corresponding
amount. If the court adjusts a sentence based on a
change in law or procedure, and the total adjusted
sentence length is greater than the maximum total
sentence length that the inmate could have
received under the change in law or procedure, the
court may reduce the length of extended
supervision so that the total adjusted sentence
length does not exceed the maximum sentence
length provided under the new law or procedure.
If the adjusted term of extended supervision is
greater than the maximum term of extended
supervision the inmate could have received under
the change in law or procedure, the court may
reduce the term of extended supervision so that the
term does not exceed the maximum term.

Modification of Extended Supervision. Under 2001

Act 109, beginning February 1, 2003, an inmate or
the Department of Corrections may petition the
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sentencing court to modify any conditions of
extended supervision set by the court. The court
may conduct a hearing to consider the petition and
grant the petition in full or in part if it determines
that the modification would meet the needs of
Corrections and public and would be consistent
with the objective of the person’s sentence. The
offender or Corrections can appeal any such order,
and the appellate court can reverse the order only if
it determines that the sentencing court erroneously
exercised its discretion in granting or denying the
petition.

An inmate may not petition the court to modify
the conditions of extended supervision earlier than
one year before the inmate’s scheduled date of
release to extended supervision or more than once
before the inmate’s release. An inmate may not
petition the court to modify the conditions of
extended supervision within one year after his or
her release to extended supervision. If an offender
files a petition for modification after his or her
release to extended supervision, the offender may
not file another petition until one year after the date
of filing the former petition.

Sanctions for Violations of Extended Supervision
Conditions. Beginning February 1, 2003, if
Corrections alleges that a condition or rule of
extended supervision has been violated, Corrections
may take physical custody of the person for
investigation of the alleged violation. If the person
signs a statement admitting a violation of a
condition of extended supervision, the Department
may, as a sanction for the violation, confine the
person for up to 90 days in a regional detention
facility or, with the approval of the sheriff, in a
county jail. If a county jail were used, the
Department is required to reimburse the county for
its actual costs of confining the person.

Court Determination of Length of Revocation.
Under prior law, revocation of parole or extended
supervision and the length of time that an offender
is returned to prison was decided by Corrections if
the offender waived a hearing, or by an

12

administrative law judge (AL)J) if a hearing is held.
Under 2001 Act 109, beginning February 1, 2003,
Corrections or the ALJ continue to make the
revocation decision for a violation of extended
supervision; however, the sentencing court
determines the length of time the offender will be
returned to prison.

Sentencing Commission

Under 2001 Act 109, a 21-member Sentencing
Commission, attached to the Department of
Administration, was created, consisting of the
following members:

1. The Attorney General or his or her

designee.

2. The State Public Defender or his or her
designee.

3. Seven members, at least two of whom are
not employed by any unit of federal, state or local
government, appointed by the Governor.

4. One majority party member and one
minority party member from each house of the
Legislature, appointed in the same manner as the
members of standing committees in their respective
houses.

5. Two circuit judges,
Supreme Court.

appointed by the

6. One representative of crime victims and
one prosecutor, each appointed by the Attorney
General.

7. One attorney in private practice engaged
primarily in the practice of criminal defense,
appointed by the criminal law section of the State
Bar of Wisconsin.



8. The Secretary of Corrections or his or her
designee, as a nonvoting member.

9. The Chairperson of the Parole Commission
or his or her designee, as a nonvoting member.

10. The Director of State Courts or his or her
designee, as a nonvoting member.

The Sentencing Commission is required to do all
of the following:

1. Select an executive director having
appropriate training and experience to study

sentencing practices and prepare proposed
sentencing guidelines;
2. Monitor and compile data regarding

sentencing practices in the state;

3. Adopt advisory sentencing guidelines for
felonies committed on or after July 30, 2002, to
promote public safety, to reflect changes in
sentencing practices and to preserve the integrity of
the criminal justice and correctional systems;

4.  Provide information to the Legislature, state
agencies and the public regarding the costs to and
other needs of the Department of Corrections which
result from sentencing practices;

5. Provide information to judges and lawyers
about the sentencing guidelines;

6. Publish and distribute to all circuit judges
hearing criminal cases an annual report regarding
its work, which must include all sentencing
guidelines and all changes in existing sentencing
guidelines adopted during the preceding year;

7. Study whether race is a basis for imposing
sentences in criminal cases and submit a report and
recommendations on this issue to the Governor, to
each house of the Legislature, and to the Supreme
Court;

8. Assist the Legislature in assessing the cost
of enacting new or revising existing statutes
affecting criminal sentencing;

9. At least semiannually, submit reports to all
circuit judges, and to the chief clerk of each house of
the Legislature for distribution to appropriate
standing committees of the Legislature, that contain
statistics regarding criminal sentences. Each
semiannual report must have a different focus and
need not contain statistics regarding every crime.
Each report must contain information regarding
sentences imposed statewide and in each of the
following geographic areas: (a) Milwaukee County;
(b) Dane and Rock counties; (c) Brown, Outagamie,
Calumet and Winnebago counties; (d) Racine and
Kenosha counties; and (e) all other counties; and

10. Study how sentencing options affect
various types of offenders and offenses.

The Commission sunsets on December 31, 2007.
Budgeted funding for the Commission in 2002-03 is
$140,000 GPR and 6.0 GPR positions.

Indeterminate Sentence

For felony offenses occurring before December
31, 1999, offenders are sentenced under an
indeterminate sentencing structure. Under an
indeterminate sentence, judges may impose a
sentence for each charge resulting in a conviction.
The sentence is for a fixed amount of time equal to
or less than the statutory maximum. The sentence
length imposed by a judge includes both time in
prison and on parole. The maximum indeterminate
sentences for Wisconsin’s previous six classes of
felonies are identified in Table 4.

Under an indeterminate sentence, persons
sentenced to prison, other than those sentenced to
life, must serve a minimum of the greater of six
months or 25% of the court-imposed sentence
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Table 4: Maximum Total Sentence for Classified
Felonies Under Indeterminate Sentencing

Class A Life imprisonment.

Class B Imprisonment not to exceed 40 years for
offenses occurring after April 20, 1994, and
imprisonment not to exceed 20 years for
offenses that occurred prior to that date.

ClassBC Fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment
not to exceed 20 years for offenses occurring
after December 1, 1995.

ClassC  Fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment
not to exceed 10 years, or both.

ClassD  Fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment
not to exceed 5 years, or both.

ClassE Fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment

not to exceed 2 years, or both.

before becoming eligible for parole (commonly
referred to as the "parole eligibility date").
Convictions for some offenses (particularly drug
crimes) may require a longer minimum prison term
before a person reaches the parole eligibility date.
Inmates serving life sentences generally become
eligible for parole after serving 13 years and four
months. For crimes punishable by life
imprisonment, a judge may, however, set any
parole eligibility date that is later than the
statutorily-defined date or may impose a sentence
of life without the possibility of parole. Further,
judges may establish a parole eligibility date for
individuals convicted of serious felony offenses
(see Appendix IV under "parole eligibility") who
have previously been convicted of a serious felony
offense. The date established by the court cannot be
less than the parole eligibility date or more than
two-thirds of a sentence. If the court does not
establish a parole eligibility date, an individual is
eligible for parole after serving 25% of his or her
sentence.

The use of "good time credit" also affects the
length of time a felon is imprisoned under an
indeterminate sentence. Under this concept,
inmates receive credit against the time they are
sentenced to serve based on the inmate’s
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performance in the areas of prison duties, labor
and educational studies. Except as discussed
below, for crimes committed after May 31, 1984,
and prior to December 31, 1999, offenders
sentenced to prison are subject to mandatory
release upon serving two-thirds of the court-
imposed sentence. This release date may be
extended for infractions of regulations.

The decision to grant discretionary parole
(release from prison at any time between the parole
eligibility date and the mandatory release date) is
made by the Parole Commission. The Commission
consists of eight members: the chairperson,
appointed for a two-year term by the Governor,
with the advice and consent of the Senate; and
seven other members in the classified service
appointed by the chairperson. The Parole
Commission conducts interviews with parole-
eligible inmates and decides whether to grant a
discretionary  release.  Authority for final
discretionary parole decisions rests with the Parole
Commission chair. If discretionary parole is granted,
the parolee is placed under the supervision of the
Department of Corrections for a period not to
exceed the court-imposed sentence, less time
already served.

Persons who reach their mandatory release date
without being paroled by the Parole Commission
are, upon reaching that date, also placed under
parole supervision for a period not to exceed the
court-imposed sentence, less time already served. A
person sentenced to life imprisonment is not subject
to mandatory release provisions. The Department
may discharge a parolee from supervision on or
after his or her mandatory release date or after two
years of supervision. Individuals serving their entire
sentence in prison or completing their sentence in
prison are released directly from prison without
parole supervision.

For individuals convicted of certain serious
felony offenses (see Appendix IV under "mandatory
release™), the Parole Commission may decide not to
release an inmate on the mandatory release date, but



instead establish a later release date (commonly
referred to as "presumptive mandatory release™). If
the Commission does not deny an individual subject
to the presumptive mandatory release provisions
release at two-thirds of the court-imposed sentence,
the individual is released on parole supervision. If
release is denied, regular reviews of the inmate’s
case are required.

possibility of parole or extended supervision.
Appendix IV identifies the felonies that are included
under the "three strikes" and "two strikes" laws.

Intensive Sanctions

Serious Repeat Offenders

Under both determinate and indeterminate
sentencing, Wisconsin has a "three strikes" provision
for serious repeat offenders and a "two strikes"
provision for serious child sex offenders. These
provisions apply to both offenders sentenced under
bifurcated and indeterminate sentences. The "three
strikes" provision requires a court to sentence an
individual to life imprisonment without parole if the
person is convicted on three separate occasions for
any serious felony. Since creation of the "three
strikes" law in 1994, five offenders have been
sentenced to life imprisonment without parole
under the provision.

The "two strikes" provision, created in 1997 Act
326, requires the court to sentence an individual to
life imprisonment without parole if the person is
convicted on two separate occasions of: sexual
assault of a child, engaging in repeated acts of
sexual assault with the same child, sexual
exploitation of a child, causing a child to view or
listen to sexual activity, incest, child enticement,
soliciting a child for prostitution, sexual assault of a
student by a school instructional staff person,
abduction of a minor or kidnapping of a minor. As
of December, 2002, four offenders have been
convicted under the "two strikes" provision.

For both the "two strikes" and "three strikes"
provisions, prosecutors must allege and prove that
the offender had prior offenses before a court is
required to sentence a person to life without the

The Department of Corrections administers the
intensive sanctions program. The program is
designed to provide: (a) punishment that is less
costly than ordinary imprisonment and more
restrictive that ordinary probation or parole
supervision or extended supervision; (b) component
phases that are intensive and highly structured; and
(c) a series of component phases for each participant
that is based on public safety considerations and a
participant’s needs for punishment and treatment.
The component phases are required to include one
or more of the following sanctions: (a) confinement;
(b) intensive or other field supervision; (c) electronic
monitoring; (d) community service; (e) restitution;
and (f) other programs as prescribed by the
Department.

A person may be sentenced by the court to the
intensive sanctions program for a felony offense
occurring between August 15, 1991, and December
30, 1999. A person not sentenced under a bifurcated
sentence may, however, also enter the intensive
sanctions program if: (a) the person is a prisoner
serving a felony sentence not punishable by life
imprisonment and the Department of Corrections
directs the person to participate in the program; or
(b) the Parole Commission grants the person parole
and requires the person to participate in the
program as a condition of parole. Further, a person
may be placed in the program if the Department
and the person agree to his or her participation in
the program as an alternative to revocation of
probation, extended supervision or parole. Finally, a
person sentenced for a felony occurring on or after
December 31, 1999: (a) may not be sentenced to the
program; (b) is not eligible for the program while
serving the confinement portion of a bifurcated
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sentence; and (c) may be placed in the program as a
condition of extended supervision.

In  September, 1997, the Department of
Corrections administratively discontinued the use of
the intensive sanctions program. As a result, the
Department no longer administratively transfers
offenders to intensive sanctions or uses the program
as an alternative to the revocation of probation or
parole. In addition, offenders are no longer paroled
to the program.

Judges may, however, continue to sentence
persons to the intensive sanctions program for
felony offenses committees prior to December 31,
1999. Between September, 1997, and December 30,
1999, 192 offenders were sentenced to intensive
sanctions. The number of offenders in the program
has decreased from a high of 1,628 offenders in the
community on September 5, 1997, to seven offenders
onJuly 1, 2002.

Probation

If a person is convicted of a crime, a court may
grant probation, either by withholding a sentence or
by imposing a sentence and staying its execution.
The person is then placed on probation under the
supervision of the Department of Corrections. The
court may impose any conditions on the probationer
that appear to be reasonable and appropriate.
Corrections may also impose rules and regulations
on the offender. The period of probation may be
made consecutive to a sentence on a different
charge, whether imposed at the same time or
previously. The court may not, however, provide
consecutive probationary periods. No offender
convicted of any of the following offenses may be
placed on probation: (a) an offense punishable by
life imprisonment; (b) repeat serious sexual offenses;
(c) repeat serious violent crimes (felony murder and
second-degree intentional homicide); and (d)
operating a vehicle under the influence of an
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intoxicant or other drug for a first, second and third
offense.

Under the statutes, the lengths of terms of
probation are as follows:

1. For one misdemeanor at any one time, not
less than six months nor more than two years.

2. For not less than two nor more than four
misdemeanors at the same time, the maximum
original term of probation may be increased to three
years.

3. For five or more misdemeanors at the same
time, the maximum original term of probation may
be increased to four years.

4. For any felony, occurring on or after
February 1, 2003, not less than one year nor more
than the statutory maximum term of confinement in
prison for the crime or three years, whichever is
greater. For offenses occurring before February 1,
2003, not less than one year nor more than the
statutory maximum term of imprisonment for the
crime or three years, whichever is greater.

5. If the offender is convicted of two or more
crimes, including at least one felony, at the same
time, the maximum original term of probation may
be increased by one year for each felony conviction.

The court may require, as a condition of
probation, that a probationer be confined in a
county jail, Huber (work release) facility, work camp
or tribal jail for up to one year during the term of
probation. If an offender is convicted of an offense
that provides a mandatory or presumptive
minimum period of one year or less of
imprisonment, a court may place the person on
probation if the court requires, as a condition of
probation, that the person be confined in a county
jail, Huber facility, work camp or tribal jail for at
least that mandatory or presumptive minimum
period. An offender placed in a county jail as a
condition of probation is eligible to earn good time



credit of up to 25% of the period of confinement. In
addition, with the consent of the Department of
Corrections and when recommended in a
presentence investigation, a court may order a
felony offender confined to a facility in the City of
Milwaukee to allow the offender to complete an
alcohol and other drug abuse treatment program.

A court may require, as a condition of probation,
that the probationer perform community service
work for a public agency or a nonprofit charitable
organization. The number of hours of community
service may not exceed what would be reasonable
considering the seriousness of the offense.
Community service work may only be ordered if
agreed to by the probationer and the organization or
agency. A court is required to ensure that a
probationer is provided a written statement of the
terms of the community service order and that the
community service order is monitored. If the court
requires community service and confinement time, a
probationer reduces the period of confinement by
one day for each three, eight-hour days of work
performed.

When placing a person on probation, a court is
required to order a probationer to pay restitution,
unless the court finds there is substantial reason not
to order restitution as a condition of probation. If a
court does not require restitution to be paid to a
victim, the court is required to state its reason on the
record. If a court does require restitution, it is
required to notify the Department of Justice of its
decision if the victim is eligible for compensation
under state crime victim compensation program.

If a court places the person on probation, the
court may require the probationer to reimburse the
county or the state for any costs of legal
representation for the defense of the case. The court
may also require a probationer to make a
contribution to a crime prevention organization or a
law enforcement agency with a crime prevention
fund.

The Department of Corrections may initiate the

probation revocation process if a probationer
violates a condition of probation. Under this
process, the Department of Administration’s
Division of Hearings and Appeals or Corrections, if
a probationer waives a hearing, conducts an
administrative hearing and enters an order to either
revoke or not revoke an offender’s probation. If an
offender is revoked, the person is either: (a) ordered
to be brought before the court for sentencing, if
sentence had been withheld; or (b) ordered to prison
or jail if the probationer had already been sentenced
and the original sentence was stayed.

Prior to the expiration of any probation period, a
court, for cause and by order, may extend probation
for a specified period or modify the terms and
conditions. Any of the following situations
constitute a cause for the extension of probation: (a)
the probationer has not made a good faith effort to
discharge court-ordered payment obligations or to
pay the required probation and parole supervision
fees owed to the Department of Corrections; (b) the
probationer is not presently able to make required
restitution payments and the probationer and the
person to whom restitution is owed consent to the
performance of community service work in
satisfaction of restitution ordered for that person, for
which an extended period of probation is required;
or (c) the court finds that extension would serve the
purposes for which probation was imposed and the
probationer agrees to the extension. If a probationer
does not agree to an extension or modification of
probation, revocation proceedings may begin that
could result in the original stayed sentence being
imposed or result in the imposition of a sentence if
one had originally been withheld. If probation is not
extended and restitution or fees are still owed, a
civil judgment may be entered against a
probationer.

A probationer is discharged from probation
when the court-ordered period of probation has
expired and the probationer has satisfied the
conditions of his or her probation. Upon completion
of probation, Corrections is required to do all of the
following:
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1. If the probationer was placed on probation
for a felony, issue the probationer one of the
following: (a) a certificate of discharge from
probation for the felony for which he or she was
placed on probation if, at the time of discharge, the
probationer is on probation or parole for another
felony; or (b) a certificate of final discharge if, at the
time of discharge, the probationer is not on
probation or parole for another felony. A certificate
of final discharge lists the civil rights that have and
have not been restored to the probationer.

2. If the probationer was placed on probation
for a misdemeanor, notify the probationer that his
or her period of probation has expired.

3. Notify the court that placed the probationer
on probation that the period of probation has
expired.

Lifetime Supervision for Serious Sex Offenders

Under 1997 Act 275, a court may, in addition to
sentencing a person, placing a person on probation
or committing a person to a mental health facility,
place a person on lifetime supervision by
Corrections if a person is convicted of a serious sex
offense or found not guilty of a serious sex offense
by reason of mental disease or defect. A court must
determine that lifetime supervision is necessary to
protect the public and must notify the person that he
or she is being placed on lifetime supervision. A
person placed on lifetime supervision is subject to
the control of Corrections under conditions set by
the court and regulations of the Department that are
necessary to protect the public and promote the
rehabilitation of the person placed on lifetime
supervision.

"Serious sex offenses" for which a person may be
placed on lifetime supervision include: (a) the
commission of, or the solicitation, conspiracy or
attempt to commit, sexual exploitation by a
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therapist, first-, second- and third-degree sexual
assault, first- and second-degree sexual assault of a
child, engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault
with the same child, sexual exploitation of a child,
causing a child to view or listen to sexual activity,
incest with a child, child enticement, soliciting a
child for prostitution, exposing a child to harmful
materials or harmful descriptions or narratives,
possession of child pornography, using a computer
to facilitate a child sex crime, and child sex offender
working with children; or (b) a violation of, or the
solicitation, conspiracy or attempt to commit a
violation, under the statutes related to life and
bodily security, property crimes, crimes against
sexual morality or crimes against children, if a court
determines that one of the purposes for the conduct
constituting the violation was for a person’s sexual
arousal or gratification. If a prosecutor seeks lifetime
supervision for a person who is charged with
committing a serious sex offense under (b), a court is
required to find a special verdict as to whether the
conduct constituting the offense was for the
defendant’s sexual arousal or gratification.

Lifetime supervision begins: (a) if the person is
placed on probation for the serious sex offense,
upon his or her discharge from probation; (b) if the
person is sentenced to prison for the serious sex
offense, upon his or her discharge from parole or
extended supervision; (c) if the person is sentenced
to prison for the serious sex offense and is being
released from prison because he or she has reached
the expiration date of his or her sentence, upon his
or her release from prison; (d) if the person has been
committed to a mental health facility for the serious
sex offense, upon the termination of his or her
commitment or his or her discharge from the
commitment; or (e) if none of the previous situations
apply, upon the person being sentenced for a
serious sex offense.

A person placed on lifetime supervision is under
the control of Corrections. The Department may
temporarily take a person on lifetime supervision
into custody if it has reasonable grounds to believe
that the person has violated a condition or



regulation of lifetime supervision. Custody may,
however, last only as long as is reasonably necessary
to investigate whether the person violated a
condition or regulation of lifetime supervision and,
if warranted, refer the person to the appropriate
prosecuting agency for commencement of
prosecution. No person placed on lifetime
supervision may knowingly violate a condition or
regulation of lifetime supervision established by the
court or by Corrections. If any violation occurs, it
could be considered a Class A misdemeanor unless
the violation is a felony, in which case the person
could be charged with a Class E felony prior to
February 1, 2003, and a Class | felony on or after
February 1, 2003.

A person placed on lifetime supervision may file
a petition with the court requesting that lifetime
supervision be terminated if: (a) he or she has not
been convicted of a crime that was committed
during the period of lifetime supervision; and (b) he
or she has been on lifetime supervision for at least 15
years. The petition must be filed with the court that
ordered the lifetime supervision. If a person files a
petition requesting termination at any time earlier
than 15 years after the date on which the period of
lifetime supervision began, the court is required to
deny the petition without a hearing.

A request for supervision termination follows
the process outlined below.

1. Upon receiving a petition requesting
termination of lifetime supervision, the court is
required to send a copy of the petition to the district
attorney responsible for prosecuting the serious sex
offense that was the basis for the order of lifetime
supervision. Upon receiving a copy of a petition sent
to him or her, the district attorney must conduct a
criminal history record search to determine whether
the person has been convicted of a criminal offense
that was committed during the period of lifetime
supervision. No later than 30 days after the date on
which he or she receives the copy of the petition, the
district attorney must report the results of the
criminal history record search to the court and may

also provide a written response to the petition.

2. After reviewing the report of the district
attorney, the court is required to do whichever of
the following is applicable:

a. Ifthe report of the district attorney indicates
that the person has been convicted of a criminal
offense that was committed during the period of
lifetime supervision, the court must deny the
person’s petition without a hearing.

b. If the report of the district attorney indicates
that the person has not been convicted of a criminal
offense that was committed during the period of
lifetime supervision, the court is required to order
the person to be examined by a physician or psy-
chologist, to notify Corrections that it may submit a
report and schedule a hearing on the petition.

3. A person entitled to a hearing must be
examined by a person who is either a physician or a
psychologist and who is approved by the court. The
physician or psychologist who conducts an
examination is required to prepare a report of his or
her examination that includes his or her opinion of
whether the person petitioning for termination of
lifetime supervision is a danger to public. The
physician or psychologist must file the report of his
or her examination with the court within 60 days
after completing the examination, and the court is
required to provide copies of the report to the
person filing the petition and the district attorney.
The contents of the report are confidential until the
physician or psychologist testifies at a hearing. The
person petitioning for termination of lifetime
supervision must pay the cost of an examination.

4.  After it receives notification from the court,
Corrections may prepare and submit to the court a
report concerning the person. If Corrections
prepares and submits the report, the report must
include information concerning the person’s
conduct while on lifetime supervision and an
opinion as to whether lifetime supervision of the
person is still necessary to protect the public. The
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contents of the report must be revealed to the
attorney for the person who filed the petition and to
the district attorney.

5. A hearing on a petition may not be con-
ducted until the person filing the petition has been
examined and a report of the examination has been
filed. At the hearing, the court must take evidence it
considers relevant to determining whether lifetime
supervision should be continued because the person
who filed the petition is a danger to the public. The
person who filed the petition and the district attor-
ney who received the petition may offer evidence
relevant to the issue of the person’s dangerousness
and the continued need for lifetime supervision.

6. The court may grant a petition requesting
termination of lifetime supervision if it determines
after a hearing that lifetime supervision is no longer
necessary to protect the public.

7. If a petition requesting termination of
lifetime supervision is denied after a hearing, the
person may not file a subsequent petition requesting
termination of lifetime supervision until at least
three years have elapsed since the most recent
petition was denied.

8. If the court grants a petition requesting
termination of lifetime supervision and the person is
registered with Corrections as a sex offender, the
court may also order that the person is no longer
required to comply with the sex offender registry
reporting requirements. This provision does not,
however, apply to any person who is required by
the court to comply with the registration
requirements for life.

As of January, 2003, no offender had been placed
on lifetime supervision.
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Original Jurisdiction of Adult Court
for Juvenile Offenders

Adult criminal courts have original jurisdiction
over juveniles under the following conditions:

1. Ifajuvenile is alleged to have attempted or
committed first-degree intentional homicide or to
have committed first-degree reckless homicide or
second-degree intentional homicide on or after the
juvenile’s 10" birthday;

2. If a juvenile has been adjudicated
delinquent and is alleged to have committed battery
or assault while placed in a secured correctional
facility, a secure detention facility, a secured child
caring institution or a secured group home or
against an aftercare agent or a probation, extended
supervision and parole agent; or

3. Ifajuvenile is alleged to have violated any
state criminal law and has either been convicted of a
previous violation in adult court (following waiver
to adult court or under the original jurisdiction of
the adult court) or has criminal proceedings
pending in adult court (commonly referred to as
"once waived/always waived").

In addition, a juvenile specified in (1) or (2), who
is alleged to have attempted or committed a
violation of any state criminal law in addition to the
violation alleged under (1) or (2), is under the adult
court’s jurisdiction for all of the alleged violations if
the violations can be charged in the same complaint
("joined™).

If a preliminary examination (held for felony
charges only) is held regarding a juvenile who is
subject to the original jurisdiction of the adult court,
the court is required to determine whether there is
probable cause to believe that the juvenile has
committed the violation of which he or she is
accused. If the court does not make that finding, the
court is required to discharge the juvenile from



adult court; however, juvenile proceedings may still
be brought.

If the adult court finds probable cause, it is
required (except for certain 15- and 16-year-old
juveniles, as noted below) to determine whether to
retain jurisdiction or to transfer jurisdiction to the
juvenile court (referred to as "reverse waiver"). The
adult court must retain jurisdiction unless the
juvenile proves by a preponderance of the evidence
all of the following:

1. That, if convicted, the juvenile could not
receive adequate treatment in the criminal justice
system;

2. That transferring jurisdiction to the juvenile
court would not depreciate the seriousness of the
offense; and

3. That retaining jurisdiction is not necessary
to deter the juvenile or other juveniles from
committing such violations.

A juvenile who is alleged to have attempted or
committed first-degree intentional homicide or to
have committed first-degree reckless homicide or
second-degree intentional homicide on or after his
or her 15" birthday is not eligible for reverse waiver
from the adult court to a juvenile court.

In adult court, the juvenile is subject to criminal
court procedures and criminal penalties, except that
the adult court may impose a disposition under the
juvenile justice code under certain conditions. With
the exception of certain 15- and 16-year-old
juveniles, the adult court must impose a juvenile
disposition, in lieu of a criminal penalty, if either of
the following conditions apply:

1. The adult court finds that the juvenile
committed a lesser offense or a joined offense that is
not: (a) an attempt to commit first-degree intentional
homicide on or after the juvenile’s 10" birthday, but
before the juvenile’s 15" birthday; (b) first-degree
reckless homicide or second-degree intentional

homicide on or after the juvenile’s 10" birthday, but
before the juvenile’s 15" birthday; (c) battery or
assault while placed in a secured correctional
facility, a secure detention facility or a secured child
caring institution or against an aftercare agent or a
probation, extended supervision and parole agent;
or (d) an offense for which the juvenile court may
waive its jurisdiction over the juvenile; or

2. The adult court finds that the juvenile
committed a lesser offense that is an offense
specified in (a), (b), (c) or (d) in the above paragraph
and the court determines, based on certain criteria,
that the juvenile has proved by clear and convincing
evidence that it would be in the best interests of the
juvenile and of the public to impose a juvenile
disposition under the juvenile justice code. The
criteria used by the adult court in making this
determination are identical to those used by the
juvenile court in determining whether a juvenile
should be waived to adult court. These criteria are
described in the next section.

A separate statutory provision pertains to
juveniles alleged to have attempted or committed
first-degree intentional homicide or to have
committed first-degree reckless homicide or second-
degree intentional homicide on or after the juvenile’s
15" birthday (including any additional crimes joined
in the complaint). In these cases, if the juvenile is
found to have committed a lesser offense that is not
an offense specified in this paragraph, the court
must impose a juvenile disposition, in lieu of a
criminal penalty, if the court determines, after
considering the criteria for waiver to adult court,
that the juvenile has proved by clear and convincing
evidence that it would be in the best interests of the
juvenile and of the public to impose a juvenile
disposition.

Waiver To Adult Court

A district attorney or a juvenile may apply to the
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juvenile court to waive its jurisdiction in any of the
following situations:

1. If the juvenile is alleged to have committed
felony murder, second-degree reckless homicide,

first- or second-degree sexual assault, taking
hostages, kidnapping, armed robbery, armed
burglary or the manufacture, distribution or

delivery of a controlled substance on or after the
juvenile’s 14" birthday;

2. If the juvenile is alleged to have committed,
on or after the juvenile’s 14" birthday, a violation, at
the request of or for the benefit of a criminal gang,
that would constitute a felony if committed by an
adult; or

3. If the juvenile is alleged to have violated
any state criminal law on or after the juvenile’s 15"
birthday.

The judge may also initiate a petition for waiver
in any of these situations, if the judge disqualifies
himself or herself from any future proceedings on
the case.

The juvenile must be represented by counsel at
the waiver hearing and counsel must be provided
access to the social records and other reports
pertaining to the case. The juvenile has the right to
present testimony on his or her own behalf,
including expert testimony, and has the right to
cross-examine witnesses at the hearing. The juvenile
does not have the right to a jury at a waiver hearing.

If a petition for waiver of jurisdiction is
contested, the court hears testimony and considers
other relevant evidence. If uncontested, no
testimony need be taken if the court determines that
the decision not to contest the waiver of jurisdiction
is knowingly, intelligently and voluntarily made.
The court must base its decision whether to waive
jurisdiction on criteria relating to: (a) the personality
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and prior record of the juvenile; (b) the type and
seriousness of the offense; (¢) the adequacy and
suitability of facilities, services and procedures
available for treatment of the juvenile in the juvenile
justice system and the protection of the public; and
(d) the desirability of trial and disposition of the
entire offense in one court if the juvenile was
allegedly associated in the offense with persons who
will be charged with a crime in adult court.

After considering these criteria, the court must
state its finding with respect to the criteria on the
record. If the court determines that it is established
by clear and convincing evidence that it would be
contrary to the best interests of the juvenile or of the
public to hear the case, the court enters an order
waiving jurisdiction and referring the matter to the
district attorney for appropriate proceedings in
criminal court. If the waiver is granted, the DA may
charge the offense he or she deems is appropriate
and a court or jury may convict the juvenile in
regard to any offense. If the waived juvenile is being
held in secure custody, he or she is transferred to an
appropriate officer or adult facility and is eligible for
bail.

In a preliminary examination in adult court for a
waived juvenile, for a violation alleged to have
occurred prior to his or her 15" birthday (a 14-year-
old offender), the court may bind the juvenile over
for trial only if there is probable cause to believe that
felony murder, second-degree reckless homicide,
first- or second-degree sexual assault, taking
hostages, kidnapping, armed robbery, armed
burglary, or the manufacture, distribution or
delivery of a controlled substance has been
committed or that a crime that would constitute a
felony if committed by an adult has been committed
at the request of or for the benefit of a criminal gang.
If the court does not make that finding, the court is
required to discharge the juvenile from adult court;
however, juvenile proceedings may still be brought.



Correctional Placement of Juveniles
Convicted in Adult Court

If a juvenile who has not attained the age of 16
years is sentenced to a state prison, Corrections
must place the juvenile at a secured juvenile
correctional facility or a secured child caring
institution. While there are some inconsistencies in
current law regarding the age at which a juvenile
who has been convicted in adult court may be
transferred to an adult prison, it appears that for a
juvenile who has not attained the age of 16 years,
Corrections may determine that a prison placement

is appropriate based on: (a) the juvenile’s prior
record of adjustment in a correctional setting, if any;
(b) the juvenile’s present and potential vocational
and educational needs, interests and abilities; (c) the
adequacy and suitability of available facilities; (d)
the services and procedures available for treatment
of the juvenile within the various institutions; (e) the
protection of the public; and (f) any other
considerations promulgated by the Department by
rule. Current law does not preclude Corrections
from designating an adult correctional institution as
a reception center for the juvenile and subsequently
transferring the juvenile to a secured juvenile
correctional facility or a secured child caring
institution.
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APPENDIX I

Classified Felony Offenses, Prior to February 1, 2003
[Statutory Cite]

(Sentence Lengths for Each Classification are Identified in Table 1 on Page 7)

Class A Felonies

1.
2.
3.

© © N o o

First-degree intentional homicide [940.01]
Intentionally performing a partial-birth abortion [940.16]

Taking hostages, unless each hostage is released without bodily harm before the hostage taker’s arrest
[940.305]

Kidnapping with intent to cause another to transfer property to obtain the release of the victim, where the
victim is not released without permanent physical injury prior to the time the first witness is sworn at trial
[940.31]

Causing death to another by tampering with household products [941.327]
Causing death to another during a carjacking [943.23(1r)]

Treason [946.01]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class A felony [946.50]
Use of child to commit a Class A felony [948.36]

Class B Felonies
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10.

11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.

Conspiracy to commit a crime for which the penalty is life imprisonment [939.31]
Attempt to commit a crime for which the penalty is life imprisonment [939.32]
First-degree reckless homicide [940.02]

Second-degree intentional homicide [940.05]

Homicide by intoxicated use of a vehicle [940.09]

Mayhem [940.21]

First-degree sexual assault [940.225(1)]

Abuse of vulnerable adults under circumstances that cause death, except for employees of certain institu-
tions, facilities and programs [940.285(2)(b)1g]

Abuse or neglect by employees of certain institutions, facilities or programs of vulnerable persons under
circumstances that cause death [940.295(3)(b)1g]

Taking hostages when, before the time of the hostage taker’s arrest, each person who is held as a hostage is
released without bodily harm [940.305]

Kidnapping [940.31]

Arson of a building; damage of property by explosives [943.02]

Aggravated burglary [943.10(2)]

Carjacking [943.23(19)&(1m)]

Armed robbery [943.32(2)]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class B felony [946.50(2)]
First-degree sexual assault of a child [948.02(1)]

Repeated sexual assault of a child [948.025(1)]

Abduction of another’s child by force or threat of force [948.30(2)]

Solicitation of a child to commit a Class A felony [948.35(1)(b)]
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Class BC Felonies
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Second-degree sexual assault [940.225(2)]
Second-degree sexual assault of a child [948.02(2)]
Incest with a child [948.06]

Child enticement [948.07]

Soliciting a child for prostitution [948.08]

Class C Felonies

g w DN e

10.

11.

12.

13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.

21.

22.

23.
24,
25.
26.
27.
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Solicitation to commit a crime for which the penalty is life imprisonment [939.30(2)]
Second-degree reckless homicide [940.06]

Homicide resulting from negligent control of a vicious animal [940.07]

Mutilating a corpse [940.11]

Aggravated battery (causing great bodily harm to another by an act done with intent to cause either sub-
stantial bodily harm or great bodily harm) [940.19(5)]

Aggravated battery to an unborn child (causing great bodily harm to an unborn child by an act done with
intent to cause either substantial or great bodily harm) [940.195(5)]

Sexual exploitation by a therapist [940.22(2)]
First—degree reckless injury [940.23(1)]
Abuse of a vulnerable adult under circumstances that cause great bodily harm [940.285(2)(b)1m]

Abuse of a patient or resident under circumstances that cause great bodily harm to the person
[940.295(3)(b)1m]

Stalking (causing bodily harm, with a prior history of violence with the victim or using a dangerous
weapon) [940.32(3)]

Endangering safety by intentionally discharging a firearm from a vehicle while on a highway or public
parking lot [941.20(3)(a)]

Modifying a firearm to make it a machine gun [941.26(2)(b)]

Possession of explosives [941.31]

Administering a dangerous or stupefying drug with intent to facilitate commission of a crime [941.32]
Causing great bodily harm by tampering with household products [941.327(2)(b)3]

Contributing to the death of another by obstructing emergency or rescue personnel [941.37(4)]
Burglary [943.10(1)]

Theft (if the value of the property exceeds $2,500) [943.20(3)(c)]

Unlawful transfer of recorded sounds if involving at least 1,000 recordings or if the transferred sounds are
replayed by others from the Internet at least 1,000 times during a 180-day period or after the person has
been convicted of such unlawful transfer [943.207(3m)(c)]

Recording performance without consent of performance owner if involving at least 1,000 sound recordings
or 100 audiovisual recordings during a 180-day period or after the person has been convicted of such re-
cording [943.208(2)(c)]

Failure to disclose manufacturer of a recording if involving at least 100 recordings during a 180-day period
or after the person has been convicted of failure to disclose the manufacturer of a recording [943.209(2)(c)]
Loan sharking [943.28]

Robbery [943.32(1)]

Receiving stolen property (if the value of the property exceeds $2,500) [943.34(1)(c)]

Forgery of certain documents; uttering certain forged documents [943.38(1)&(2)]

Fraudulent use of financial transaction cards (if the value of the money, goods, services or property exceeds
$2,500) [943.41(8)(c)]



Class C Felonies (continued)

28.
29.
30.

3L

32.
33.
34,
35.
36.
37.
38.
39.
40.
41.
42,
43
44,

45.

46.

47.
48.
49,
50.
5L
52.

53.
54.
55.

Retail theft (if the value of the merchandise exceeds $2,500) [943.50(4)(c)]
Theft of library material (if the value of the library materials exceeds $2,500) [943.61(5)(c)]

Unlawful receipt of payments to obtain a loan for another (if the value of the payment exceeds $2,500)
[943.62(4)(c)]

Computer crimes (if the offense creates a substantial and unreasonable risk of death or great bodily harm to
another, or if it causes an interruption or impairment of governmental operations or public communication,
of transportation or of a supply of water, gas or other public service) [943.70(2)(b), 3g, 3r and 4 & (3)(b)4]

Unauthorized release of animals lawfully confined without consent [943.75(2m)]
Infecting animals with a contagious disease (intentional introduction) [943.76(2)]
Incest [944.06]

Pandering (if compensated from the earnings of prostitute) [944.33]

Sabotage [946.02]

Sedition [946.03]

Assault by prisoners [946.43(1m)]

Public officer or public employee assisting or permitting escape [946.44(19)]

Bringing a firearm into prison or jail; transferring a firearm to a prisoner [946.44(1m)]
Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class C felony [946.50(3)]
Engaging in racketeering activity [946.84]

Failure by a person responsible for the welfare of a child to prevent sexual assault of the child [948.02(3)]

Physical abuse of a child (intentionally causing great bodily harm; causing bodily harm by conduct creating
a high probability of great bodily harm) [948.03(2)]

Failure by a person responsible for the welfare of a child to prevent great bodily harm to a child
[948.03(4)(a)]

Causing mental harm to a child; failure by a person responsible for the welfare of a child to prevent mental
harm to the child [948.04]

Sexual exploitation of a child [948.05]

Causing a child under the age of 13 to view or listen to sexual activity [948.055(2)(a)]

Child sex offender working with children [948.13(2)]

Neglect of a child resulting in death [948.21]

Abduction of another’s child [948.30(1)]

Interference with custody of a child with intent to deprive the custodian of custody rights; concealing a
child [948.31(1)(b)&(3)]

Solicitation of a child to commit a Class B felony [948.35(1)(c)]

Contributing to the delinquency of a child if death is a consequence [948.40(4)(a)]

Receiving stolen property from a child (if the value of the property exceeds $2,500) [948.62(1)(c)]

Class D Felonies
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Solicitation to commit a felony (other than a Class A or Class E felony) [939.30(1)]
Homicide by negligent handling of a dangerous weapon, explosives or fire [940.08]
Homicide by intoxicated use of a firearm [940.09(19)]

Hiding a corpse [940.11(2)]

Assisting suicide [940.12]
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Class D Felonies (continued)

6.

10.
11.
12.

13.
14.
15.
16.

17.
18.
19.
20.
21.

22.

23.
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.
29.
30.
3L
32.

33.
34.
35.
36.
37.
38.
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Aggravated battery (causing substantial bodily harm to another by an act done with intent to cause substan-
tial bodily harm; causing great bodily harm to another by an act done with intent to cause bodily harm; or
causing bodily harm to another by conduct that creates a substantial risk of great bodily harm)
[940.19(3),(4)&(6)]

Aggravated battery to an unborn child (causing substantial bodily harm to an unborn child by an act done
with intent to cause bodily harm; causing great bodily harm to an unborn child by an act done with intent to
cause bodily harm; or causing bodily harm to an unborn child by conduct that creates a substantial risk of
great bodily harm) [940.195(3),(4)&(6)]

Battery by prisoners [940.20(1)]

Battery to law enforcement officers and fire fighters [940.20(2)]

Battery to probation and parole agents and aftercare agents [940.20(2m)]
Battery to jurors [940.20(3)]

Battery to an emergency department worker, an emergency medical technician, a first responder or an am-
bulance driver [940.20(7)(b)]

Battery or threat to witnesses [940.201]
Battery or threat to a judge [940.203]
Battery or threat to a Department of Revenue employee [940.205]

Battery or threat to a Department of Commerce or Department of Workforce Development employee
[940.207]

Third-degree sexual assault [940.225(3)]

Second-degree reckless injury [940.23(2)]

Injury by intoxicated use of a vehicle [940.25(1)]

Abuse of vulnerable adults under circumstances that are likely to cause great bodily harm [940.285(2)(b)1r]
Abuse and neglect of patients and residents under circumstances that cause or are likely to cause great bod-
ily harm [940.295(3)(b)1r]

Stalking (if the defendant intentionally gains access to certain records in order to facilitate the violation or if
the defendant has a prior stalking or harassment conviction)
[940.32(2m)]

Felony intimidation of a witness [940.43]

Felony intimidation of a victim [940.45]

Unsafe burning of buildings [941.11]

Using a tear gas device to cause bodily harm or bodily discomfort to a peace officer [941.26(2)(f)]
Using pepper spray device to cause bodily harm or bodily discomfort to a peace officer [941.26(4)(d)]
Unlawful possession of a firearm, second offense [941.29(2m)]

Possession of body armor, second or subsequent violation [941.291(3)(b)]

First-degree recklessly endangering safety [941.30(1)]

Unlawful delivery or distribution of nitrous oxide [941.315(3)]

Creating a high probability of great bodily harm to another by tampering with household products
[941.327(2)(b)2]

Damage to certain property [943.01(2)]

Damage or threat to damage property of a witness [943.011(2)]

Criminal damage to property of a judge [943.013(2)]

Criminal damage to property of a Department of Revenue employee [943.015]
Graffiti to certain property [943.017(2)]

Graffiti to property of a witness [943.017(2m)(b)]



Class D Felonies (continued)

39.
40.
41.
42,

43.

44,

45.
46.
47.
48.
49.

50.

51.

52.

53.

54.
55.
56.
57.

58.
59.
60.
61.
62.
63.
64.

65.
66.
67.
68.
69.
70.
71.
72.

Arson with intent to defraud [943.04]
Theft (under certain circumstances and if the value of the property does not exceed $2,500) [943.20(3)(d)]
Misappropriation of personal identifying information or personal identification documents [943.201(2)]

Unauthorized transfer of recorded sounds if fewer than 1,000 records during a 180-day period and the value
exceeds $2,500 [943.207(3m)(b)]

Recording performance without consent of performance owner if involving fewer than 1,000 sound re-
cordings or 100 audiovisual recordings during a 180-day period and the value exceeds $2,500 [943.208(2)(b)]

Failure to disclose manufacturer of recording if fewer than 100 recordings during a 180-day period and the
value exceeds $2,500 [943.209(2)(b)]
Taking and driving a motor vehicle without the owner’s consent [943.23(2)]

Threats to injure or accuse of a crime (extortion) [943.30]
Fraudulent writings [943.39]
Fraudulent destruction of certain writings [943.40]

Theft of telecommunications service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain as
a 2nd or subsequent offense) [943.45(3)(d)]

Theft of commercial mobile service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain as
a 2nd or subsequent offense) [943.455(4)(d)]

Theft of cable television service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain as a
2nd or subsequent offense) [943.46(4)(d)]

Theft of satellite cable programming (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain as
a 2nd or subsequent offense) [943.47(3)(d)]

Use of recording device in a movie theatre without written consent (2™ or subsequent offense)
[943.49(2)(b)2]

Criminal slander of title [943.60]

Theft of farm-raised fish (second or subsequent violation) [943.74]

Crime against computer system or computer (if storage is greater than $2,500) [943.70(3)(b)3]

Obscenity (if the person has two or more prior obscenity convictions or if the violation is for a wholesale
transfer or distribution of obscene material) [944.21(5)(c)&(e)]

Soliciting prostitutes [944.32]

Keeping a place of prostitution [944.34]

Bribery of a participant in a contest [945.08]
Bribery of public officers and employees [946.10]
Perjury [946.31]

False swearing [946.32(1)]

Obstructing an officer (by giving or providing information or evidence that results in the conviction of inno-
cent person) [946.41(2m)]

Felony escape [946.42(3)]

Felony failure to report to jail [946.425(1), (1m)(b)&(1r)(b)]

Assisting or permitting escape [946.44(1)]

False information regarding kidnapped or missing persons [946.48]

Felony bail jumping [946.49(1)(b)]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class D felony [946.50(4)]
Bribery of a witness [946.61]

Simulating legal process (if the act is meant to induce payment of a claim or simulates any criminal process)
[946.68(1r)(b)&(c)]
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Class D Felonies (continued)

73.

74.
75.

76.

77.
78.

79.
80.
81.
82.
83.
84.
85.

86.

87.
88.

89.
90.

Impersonating a peace officer with intent to commit a crime or aid and abet commission of a crime
[946.70(2)]

Tampering with public records [946.72(1)]

Aiding escape from mental institution (with intent to commit a crime against sexual morality with or upon
the inmate of the institution) [946.74(2)]

Harassment (if defendant has a prior conviction or intentionally gains access to certain records in order to
facilitate the violation) [947.013(1v)&(1x)]

Physical abuse of a child (intentionally causing bodily harm) [948.03(2)(b)]

Physical abuse of a child (recklessly causing great bodily harm or recklessly causing bodily harm to a child
by conduct which creates a high probability of great bodily harm) [948.03(3)(a)&(c)]

Failing to act to prevent bodily harm to a child [948.03(4)(b)]

Causing a child between the ages of 13 and 17 to view or listen to sexual activity [948.055(2)(b)]
Sexual assault of a student by a school instructional staff person [948.095]

Abandonment of a child [948.20]

Unauthorized placement for adoption [948.24]

Solicitation of a child to commit a Class C felony [948.35(1)(d)]

Contributing to the delinquency of a child (if the child’s act which is encouraged or contributed to is a viola-
tion of a criminal law punishable as a felony) [948.40(4)(b)]

Selling or giving a dangerous weapon to a person under 18 (if the person under 18 years of age discharges
the firearm and the discharge causes death of any person) [948.60(2)(c)]

Discharging or attempting to discharge a firearm in a school zone [948.605(3)(a)]

Receiving stolen property from a child (if the value of the property exceeds $500 but does not exceed $2,500)
[948.62(1)(b)]

Instigating fights between animals (2nd or subsequent violation) [951.18(2)]
Harassment of police or fire department animals (causing death to the animal) [951.18(2m)]

Class E Felonies
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10.
11.
12.
13.

14.
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Solicitation to commit a Class E felony [939.30(2)]

Violation of conditions of lifetime supervision (if the violation also constitutes a felony) [939.615(7)(b)2]
Homicide by negligent operation of a vehicle [940.10]

Abortion (various prohibitions) [940.15]

Aggravated battery (causing substantial bodily harm to another by an act done with intent to cause bodily
harm) [940.19(2)]

Aggravated battery to an unborn child (causing substantial bodily harm to an unborn child by an act done
with intent to cause bodily harm) [940.195(2)]

Battery by a person subject to certain injunctions [940.20(1m)]

Battery to public officers [940.20(4)]

Battery to a technical college district or school district officer or employee [940.20(5)]
Battery to a public transit vehicle operator or passenger [940.20(6)]

Injury by negligent handling of a dangerous weapon, explosives or fire [940.24]

Intentional abuse of vulnerable adults under circumstances that cause or are likely to cause bodily harm
[940.285(2)(b)2]

Reckless or negligent abuse of vulnerable adults under circumstances that cause or are likely to cause great
bodily harm [940.285(2)(b)3]

Abuse of residents of penal facilities [940.29]



Class E Felonies (continued)

15.

16.

17.
18.

19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24,
25.

26.
27.
28.
29.
30.

31.
32.
33.

34.
35.
36.
37.

38.
39.
40.
41.

42,
43.
44,
45,
46.
47.

48.
49.

Intentionally abusing or neglecting patients or residents of certain facilities under circumstances that cause
or are likely to cause bodily harm [940.295(3)(b)2]

Reckless or negligent abuse or neglect of patients or residents of certain facilities under circumstances that
cause or are likely to cause great bodily harm [940.295(3)(b)3]

False imprisonment [940.30]

Stalking (if the victim suffers fear of bodily injury or death or defendant has certain prior convictions
against same victim) [940.32(2)&(2e)]

Interfering with fire fighters or a fire alarm system [941.12(1)]

Endangering safety (by discharging firearm into a vehicle or building or setting a spring gun) [941.20(2)]
Criminal damage to plant research and development [943.01(2d)(b)]

Disarming a peace officer [941.21]

Selling, possessing, using or transporting a machine gun [941.26(2)(a)]

Sale or commercial transportation of a tear gas device [941.26(2)(e)]

Using or threatening to use a tear gas or pepper spray device during commission of a crime to cause bodily
harm or bodily discomfort to another [941.26(2)(g)&(4)(e)]

Selling, transporting or possessing a short-barreled shotgun or rifle [941.28]
Possession of a firearm by certain persons [941.29(2)]

Possession of body armor [943.291(3)(a)]

Selling, manufacturing or possessing an electric weapon [941.295]

Using or possessing a handgun with armor-piercing bullets during the commission of certain crimes
[941.296]

Selling, delivering or possessing a firearm silencer [941.298]
Second-degree recklessly endangering safety [941.30(2)]

Making, transferring, possessing or using an improvised explosive device or possessing materials or com-
ponents with intent to assemble an improvised explosive device [941.31(2)]

Placing foreign objects in edibles [941.325]
Tampering with household products [941.327(2)(b)1]
False information concerning an act that constitutes tampering with household products [941.327(3)]

Obstructing emergency or medical personnel with reasonable grounds to believe that the interference may
endanger another’s safety [941.37]

Soliciting a child to participate in criminal gang activity [941.38(2)]
Unlawful visual representations of nudity [942.09]
Criminal damage to plant research and development [943.01(2d)(b)]

Criminal damage to certain coin—-operated or card-operated machines with intent to commit theft
[943.01(29)]

Criminal damage to or graffiti on religious and other property [943.012]
Arson of property other than a building [943.03]

Possession, manufacture or transfer of a fire bomb [943.06]

Possession of burglarious tools [943.12]

Theft of trade secrets [943.205]

Fraud on a hotel or restaurant keeper or taxicab operator (if the value of the service exceeds $2,500)
[943.21(3)(b)]

Operating a vehicle without owner’s consent [943.23(3)]
Removing a major part of a vehicle without owner’s consent [943.23(5)]
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Class E Felonies (continued)

50.
51.
52.
53.
54.

55.
56.

57.

58.

59.

60.

61.
62.
63.
64.
65.

66.
67.
68.
69.
70.
71.
72.
73.
74.
75.
76.
77.
78.
79.
80.
81
82.
83.

84.
85.
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Issuing worthless checks for more than $2,500 [943.24(2)]
Transfer of encumbered property [943.25]

Possession of records of certain usurious loans [943.27]
Threats to communicate derogatory information [943.31]

Fraudulent insurance or employee benefit claim (if the value of the claim or benefit exceeds $2,500)
[943.395(2)(b)]

Certain financial transaction card crimes [943.41(8)(b)]

Theft of telecommunications service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain)
[943.45(3)(c)]

Theft of commercial mobile service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain)
[943.455(4)(c)]

Theft of cable television service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain)
[943.46(4)(c)]

Theft of satellite cable programming (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain)
[943.47(3)(c)]

Computer crime (if the offense is committed to defraud or to obtain property, or damage is valued at be-
tween $1,000 and $2,500) [943.70(2)(b)2 and 3 &(3)(b)2]

Unauthorized release of animals (3rd or subsequent violation) [943.75]
Bigamy [944.05]

Adultery [944.16]

Unlawful visual representations of nudity [944.205]

Commercial gambling except if violation involves five or less video gambling machines in a tavern
[945.03(1m)]

Dealing in gambling devices, except if the violation involves a video gambling machine [945.05(1)]
Permitting seditious assembly [946.03(2)]

Special privileges from public utilities [946.11]

Misconduct in public office [946.12]

Private interest in public contracts [946.13]

Purchasing claims at less than full value [946.14]

Public construction contracts at less than full rate [946.15(1)&(3)]

Failure to comply with an officer’s attempt to take person into custody [946.415]
Harboring or aiding felons [946.47]

Bail jumping by a witness [946.49(2)]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class E felony [946.50(5)]
Destruction of documents subject to subpoena [946.60]

Communicating with jurors [946.64]

Obstructing justice [946.65]

Simulating legal process [946.68(1r)(a)]

Falsely assuming to act as a public officer or employee [946.69]

Premature disclosure of search warrant [946.76]

Harassment (if the person had a prior conviction for harassing the same victim that occurred within the last
seven years) [947.013(1t)]
Bomb scares [947.015]

Physical abuse of a child (recklessly causing bodily harm) [948.03(3)(b)]



Class E Felonies (continued)

86.
87.
88.
89.
90.
9L
92.
93.
94.
95.
96.

97.
98.

Exposing a child to harmful material [948.11(2)(a)(intro)]

Exposing a child to harmful narratives or descriptions [948.11(2)(am)]

Possession of child pornography [948.12]

Failure to support (for 120 or more consecutive days) [948.22(2)]

Concealing death of child [948.23]

Interference with custody of a child [948.31(2)]

Hazing (if the act results in great bodily harm or death to another) [948.51(3)(b)]

Giving a dangerous weapon to a person under 18 years of age [948.60(2)(b)]

Possession of a dangerous weapon on school premises (2nd or subsequent conviction) [948.61(2)(b)]
Receiving stolen property from a child (if the value does not exceed $500) [948.62(1)(a)]

Mistreating an animal (if the mistreatment results in the mutilation, disfigurement or death of the animal or
if the animal is a police or fire department animal and the animal is injured) [951.18(1)]

Instigating fights between animals (1st offense) [951.18(2)]
Harassment of a police or fire department animal and causing injury to the animal [951.18(2m)]
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APPENDIX 11

Comparison of Felony Penalties
Under Bifurcated and Indeterminate Sentencing

Excluding Classified Felonies, Prior to February 1, 2003

Statute Offense Bifurcated Indeterminate
11.61(1)(a) and (b) Crimind violations of Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
campaign finance statutes imprisoned for not more than 4 imprisoned not more than 3 years
years and 6 months or both or both
12.60(2)(a) Crimina violations of Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
elections statutes imprisoned for not more than 4 imprisoned not more than 3 years
years and 6 months or both in the Wisconsin state prisons or
both
13.05 Logrolling by members of the | Fine not less than $500 nor more Fine not less than $500 nor more
Legidature prohibited than $1,000 or imprisoned for not | than $1,000 or imprisoned for not
lessthan one year nor morethan4 | lessthan one year nor more than 3
years and 6 months or both years or both
13.06 Granting of executive favor Fine not less than $500 nor more Fine not less than $500 nor more
by members of the than $1,000 or imprisoned for not | than $1,000 or imprisoned for not
Legidature prohibited lessthan one year nor morethan3 | less than one year nor more than 2
years or both years or both
13.69(6m) Criminal violations of lobby Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
law statutes imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
years and 6 months or both years or both
23.33(13)(cq) Causing death or injury by Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
interfering with all-terrain imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned for not more than 2
vehicleroute or trail Sign yearsor both if the violation years or both if the violation
standard causes the death or injury causes the death or injury
26.14(8) Intentionally setting firesto Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
land of another or amarsh imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
years and 6 months or both or both
29.971(1)(c) Possession of fishwitha Fine of not more than $10,000 or Fine of not more than $10,000 or
vaue exceeding $1,000in imprisonment for not morethan3 | imprisonment for not more than 2
violation of statutes yearsor both yearsor both
29.971(1m)(c) Possession of clamswith a Fine of not more than $10,000 or Fine of not more than $10,000 or
value exceeding $1,000 in imprisonment for not morethan3 | imprisonment for not more than 2
violation of statutes years or both years or both
29.971(11m)(a) Illegal shooting, shooting at, Fine of not more than $5,000 or Fine of not more than $5,000 or
killing, taking, catching or imprisonment for not morethan2  imprisonment for not more than
possessing a bear years or both for the second and one year or both for the second
any subsequent violation and any subsequent violation
29.971(11p)(a) Entering the den of a Fine of not more than $10,000 or Fine of not more than $10,000 or
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hibernating black bear and
harming the bear

imprisonment for not more than 2
years or both

imprisonment for not more than
one year or both




Statute Offense Bifurcated Indeterminate

30.80(2g)(b) Failureto render aidina Fine not less than $300 nor more Fine not less than $300 nor more
boating accident that involves | than $5,000 or imprisoned for not | than $5,000 or imprisoned not
injury to a person but not more than 2 years or both more than one year or both
great bodily harm

30.80(2g)(c) Failuretorender aidina Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
boating accident that involves | imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned not more than 2 years
injury to a person and the yearsor both or both
person suffers great bodily
harm

30.80(2g)(d) Failureto render aidina Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
boating accident that involves | imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
the death of a person years and 6 months or both or both

30.80(3m) Falsifying boat certificate or Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
title, or atering hull or engine | imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
serial numbers years and 6 months or both or both

36.25(6)(d) Improper release of mines Fine not less than $50 nor more Fine not less than $50 nor more
and explored mine land than $500 or imprisoned for not than $500, or imprisoned in the
information by employees of less than one month nor morethan | county jail for not less than one
the Geological and Natural 3years month nor more than 6 months, or
History Survey or imprisoned in the Wisconsin state
Department of Revenue prisons for not more than 2 years

47.03(3)(d) Illegal use of theterm "blind- = Fine not more than $1,000 or Fine not more than $1,000 or
made" imprisoned for not more than 2 imprisoned not more than one

years or both year or both

49.141(7)(a) Committing a fraudulent act Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
in connection with providing imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
items or services under W-2 years and 6 months or both yearsor both

49.141(7)(b) Committing other fraudulent Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
actsto obtain W-2 benefitsor | imprisoned for not more than 2 imprisoned for not more than one
payments years or both year or both

49.141(9)(a) Solicitation or receiving of a Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
kickback, bribe or rebate in imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
connection with providing years and 6 months or both years or both
items or services under W-2

49.141(9)(b) Offering or paying a Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
kickback, bribe or rebate in imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
connection with providing years and 6 months or both years or both
items or services under W-2

49.141(10)(b) Improper charging by a Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or

provider for W-2 services

imprisoned for not more than 7
years and 6 months or both

imprisoned for not more than 5
years or both
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Statute Offense Bifurcated Indeterminate

49.195(3n)(k) Removal, deposit or Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
concealment of property or imposed for not morethan4 years | imprisoned for not more than 3
aiding intheremoval, deposit | and 6 months or both years or both
or concealment of any
property with intent to evade
or defeat the assessment or
collection of any debt under
the Aid to Families with
Dependent Children and
Wisconsin Works programs
on or after October 29, 1999

49.49(1)(b)1. Committing a fraudulent act Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
in connection with providing imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
items or services under years and 6 months or both yearsor both
medical assistance

49.49(2)(a) Soliciting or receiving a Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
kickback, bribe or rebate in imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
connection with providing years and 6 months or both years or both
medical assistance

49.49(2)(b) Offering or paying a Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
kickback, bribe or rebate in imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
connection with providing years and 6 months or both years or both
medical assistance

49.49(3) Fraudulent certification of Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
qualified medical assistance imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
facilities years and 6 months or both or both

49.49(3m)(b) Improper charging by a Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
provider for medical imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
assistance services years and 6 months or both or both

49.49(4)(b) Improper charging by a Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
facility for medical assistance | imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
services years and 6 months or both or both

49.689(9)(b) Violation of arulerelatingto | Fine not more than $25,000, or Not applicable
prescription drug assistance imprisoned not more than 7 years
for elderly persons and 6 months or both

49.795(8)(a)2. Illegal use of food stamps Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
with avalue over $100, butis | imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
less than $5,000, first offense  yearsand 6 months or both or both

49.795(8)(b)2. Illegal use of food stamps Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
with avalue over $100, butis = imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
less than $5,00, second and years and 6 months or both or both
subsequent offenses

49.795(8)(c) Illegal use of food stamps Fine not more than $250,000 or Fine not more than $250,000 or
with avalue of $5,000 or imprisoned not more than 30 years | imprisoned not more than 20 years
more or both or both

49.95(1) Illegal intent to secure public | Fine not more than $500 or Fine not more than $500 or

assistanceif the value
exceeds $1,000 but does not
exceed $2,500

imprisoned for not more than 7
years and 6 months or both

imprisoned for not more than 5
years or both
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Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate
51.15(12) False statement related to Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
emergency mental health imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years,
detentions years or both or both
51.30(10)(bm) Intentional disclosure of Fine not more than $100,000 or Not applicable
confidential mental health imprisoned for not more than 3
recordsfor pecuniary gain, on | yearsand 6 months or both
or after May 6, 2000
55.06(11)(am) Fa se statement related to Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
protective services imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years,
placements years and 6 months or both or both
66.1207(1)(b) False statement related to Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
securing or assigting in the imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned for not more than 2
securing of housing for years or both years or both
persons of low incomein
order to receive at |least
$2,500 but not more than
$25,000
66.1207(1)(c) Fa se statement related to Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
securing or assigting in the imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
securing of housing for years and 6 months or both years or both
persons of low incomein
order to receive more than
$25,000
69.24(1)(intro) Fraudulent or destroyed vital Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
statistical record imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned not more than 2 years
yearsor both or both
70.47(18)(a) Tampering with records of Fine not more than $1,000 or Fine not more than $1,000 or
the Board of Review with imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned not more than 2 years
intent to injure or defraud yearsor both or both
71.83(2)(b)1. Faseincometax return; fraud | Fine not to exceed $10,000 or Fine not to exceed $10,000 or
imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not to exceed 5 years
and 6 months or both or both
71.83(2)(b)2. Officer of acorporation; false = Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not to exceed $10,000 or
franchise or incometax return | imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not to exceed 5 years
and 6 months or both, together or both, together with the cost of
with the cost of prosecution prosecution
71.83(2)(b)3. Income tax evasion Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
imprisoned not morethan 4 years | imprisoned not more than 3 years
and 6 months or both, together or both, together with the costs of
with the cost of prosecution prosecution
71.83(2)(b)4. Fraudulent claim for tax Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not to exceed $10,000 or
credit imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not to exceed 5 years
and 6 months or both, together or both, together with the cost of
with the cost of prosecution prosecution
86.192(4) Tampering with road signs if Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine up to $10,000 or imprisoned

the tampering resultsin the
death of aperson

imprisoned for not more than 3
years or both

not more than 2 years, or both
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Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate
97.43(4) Use of meat from dead or Fine not less than $500 nor more Fine not less than $500 nor more
diseased animals than $5,000 or imprisoned for not | than $5,000 or imprisoned for not
more than 7 years and 6 months more than 5 years or both
or both
97.45(2) Violation of horsemeat Fine not less than $500 nor more Fine not less than $500 nor more
labeling requirements than $5,000 or imprisoned for not | than $5,000 or imprisoned for not
more than 7 years and 6 months more than 5 years or both
or both
100.171(7)(b) Intentional violation of prize Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
notification laws imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned for not more than 3
years or both yearsor both
100.26(2) Violation of commission Fine not less than $50 nor more Fine not less than $50 nor more
merchant duties and than $3,000 or imprisoned for not | than $3,000, or by imprisonment
responsibilities lessthan 30 daysnor morethan4  for not lessthan 30 days nor more
years and 6 months or both than 3 years, or both
100.26(5) Violations of dairy license Fine not less than $100 nor more Fine not less than $100 nor more
requirements, DATCP orders | than $1,000 or imprisoned for not | than $1,000 or imprisoned for not
or regulations and fase more than 2 years or both more than one year or both
advertisng
100.26(7) Fraudulent drug advertising Fine not less than $500 nor more Fine not less than $500 nor more
than $5,000 or imprisoned for not | than $5,000 or imprisoned not
more than 2 years or both for each  more than one year or both for
offense each offense
101.10 Storage and handling of Fine not more than $10,000 or Not applicable
anhydrous ammonia imprisoned for not more than 3
years and 6 months or both
101.143(20)(b) Intentional destruction of a Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
PECFA record imprisoned for not more than 15 imprisoned for not more than 10
years or both yearsor both
101.9204(2) Knowingly making afalse Fine not more than $5,000 or Not applicable
statement in an application imprisoned for not more than 5
for acertificate of titlefor a years or both
mobile home, on or after July
1, 2000
101.94(8)(b) Intentional violation of Fine not more than $1,000 or Fine not more than $1,000 or
manufactured home lawsthat | imprisoned for not more than 2 imprisoned not more than one
threaten health and safety years or both year or both
102.835(11) Intent to evade collection of Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
uninsured employer levies imprisoned for not more than 4 imprisoned for not more than 3
under the worker’s years and 6 months or both, and years or both, and shall be liable
compensation law shall beliable to the state for the to the state for the cost of
cost of prosecution prosecution
102.835(18) Discharge or discrimination Fine not more than $1,000 or Fine not more than $1,000 or
by employer against imprisoned for not more than 2 imprisoned for not more than one
employee who has been the yearsor both year or both

38

subject of aworker's
compensation levy




Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate
102.85(3) Violation of anorder tocease  Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
operation because of alack of | imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned for not more than 2
worker’s compensation yearsor both years or both
insurance
108.225(11) Evading collection of Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
unemployment compensation | imprisoned for not more than 4 imprisoned for not more than 3
levies under employment years and 6 months or both yearsor both
compensation law
108.225(18) Discharge or discrimination Fine not more than $1,000 or Fine not more than $1,000 or
by employer against imprisoned for not more than 2 imprisoned for not more than one
employee who has been the yearsor both year or both
subject of an unemployment
compensation levy
114.20(18)(c) Fa se statement related to Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
aircraft registration imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
years and 6 months or both or both
125.075(2) Injury or death by providing Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
alcohol beveragesto aminor imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
years and 6 months or both years or both
125.085(3)(a)2. Receiving money or other Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
considerations for providing imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned for not more than 2
false proof of age yearsor both yearsor both
125.105(2)(b) I mpersonating an agent, Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
ingpector or employee of imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
DOR or DOJin commission years and 6 months or both years or both
of acrime
125.66(3) Sale and manufacturing of Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
liquor without permits imprisonment for not more than imprisonment for not more than
15 yearsor both 10 yearsor both
125.68(12)(b) Delivering alcohol from Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
denatured a cohal than $5,000 or imprisoned for not | than $5,000 or imprisoned not less
less than one year nor more than than one year nor more than 10
15 yearsor both years or both
125.68(12)(c) Sdle or disposal of denatured Imprisoned for not more than 15 Imprisoned for not more than 10
alcohol resulting in death years years
132.20(2) Trafficking in counterfeit Fine not more than $250,000 or Fine not more than $250,000 or
trademarks and other imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
commercial markswithintent  yearsand 6 monthsor both, or, if | yearsor both, or, if the personiis
to deceive the personisnot anindividual, be | not an individual, be fined not
fined not more than $1,000,000 more than $1,000,000
133.03(1) Unlawful contracts or Fine not more than $100,000 if a Fine not more than $100,000 if a

congpiraciesin restraint of
trade or commerce

corporation, or, if any other
person, may be fined not more
than $50,000 or imprisoned for
not more than 7 yearsand 6
months or both

corporation, or, if any other
person, $50,000, or be imprisoned
for not morethan 5 years, or both
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Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate
133.03(2) Monopolization of any part of = Fine not more than $100,000 if a Fine not more than $100,000 if a
trade or commerce corporation, or, if any other corporation, or, if any other
person, may be fined not more person, $50,000, or be imprisoned
than $50,000 or imprisoned for for not more than 5 years or both
not more than 7 yearsand 6
months or both
134.05(4) Bribery of an agent, employee = Fine of not lessthan $10 nor more | Fine of not less than $10 nor more
or servant than $500 or by such fine and by than $500, or by such fine and by
imprisonment for not morethan2  imprisonment for not more than
years one year
134.16 Fraudulently receiving Imprisoned in the Wisconsin state | Imprisoned in the Wisconsin state
deposits prisonsfor not less than one year prisons not more than 10 years nor
nor more than 15 years or fined less than one year or fined not
not more than $10,000 more than $10,000
134.20(2)(intro) Fraudulent issuance or use of Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
warehouse receipts or billsof | imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years,
lading years and 6 months or both or both
134.205(4) I ssuance of warehouse Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
receipts without entering item | imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years,
into register with intent to years and 6 months or both or both
defraud
134.58 Unauthorized use of armed Fine not more than $1,000 or Fine not more than $1,000 or
personsto protect persons or imprisoned for not less than one imprisoned not less than one year
property or to suppress strikes | year nor more than 4 yearsand 6 nor more than 3 years or both
months or both
139.44(1) Use or manufacturing of Imprisonment not |ess than one Imprisonment not less than one
counterfeit cigarette stamps year nor more than 15 years year nor more than 10 years
139.44(1m) Tampering with cigarette Imprisoned not less than one year Imprisoned not less than one year
meter nor more than 15 years nor more than 10 years
139.44(2) Fa se or fraudulent report or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
attempts to evade the than $5,000 or imprisoned not less | than $5,000, or imprisoned not
Cigarette tax than 90 days nor more than 2 less than 90 days nor more than
yearsor both oneyear, or both
139.44(8)(c) Unlawful possession of Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
cigarettes if the number imprisoned not morethan 3years | imprisoned not more than 2 years
exceeds 36,000 or both or both
139.95(2) Possessing a schedule | or 11 Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
controlled substance or imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years
ketamine or flunitrazepam not | and 6 months or both or both (does not apply to
bearing drug tax stamp ketamine or flunitrazepam)
139.95(3) False or fraudulent drug tax Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
stamp imprisoned not less than one year imprisoned not less than one year
nor more than 15 years or both nor more than 10 years or both
(does not apply to ketamine or
flunitrazepam)
146.345(3) Sale of human organs for Fine not more than $50,000 or Fine not more than $50,000 or
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trangplantation prohibited

imprisoned for not more than 7
years and 6 months or both

imprisoned for not more than 5
years or both




Statute Offense Bifurcated Indeterminate
146.35(5) Female genital mutilation Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
years and 6 months or both years or both
146.60(9)(am) Second violation of failingto | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
comply with notice of release | than $50,000 or imprisoned for than $50,000 or imprisoned for
of genetically engineered not more than 2 years or both not more than one year or both
organismsinto the
environment requirements
146.70(10)(a) Filing of false 911 report Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
years and 6 months or both for or both for any other offense
any other offense committed committed within 4 years after the
within 4 years after the first first offense
offense
146.84(2)(c) Intentional disclosure of Fine not more than $100,000 or Not applicable
confidential health care imprisoned for not more than 3
records for pecuniary gain, on | yearsand 6 months or both
or after May 6, 2000
154.15(2) Falsification or withholding Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
of information related to a imprisoned for not more than 15 imprisoned not more than 10 years
declaration to a physician yearsor both or both
154.29(2) Fasification or withholding Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
of information related toado-  imprisoned for not more than 15 imprisoned for not more than 10
not-resuscitate order years or both years or both
166.20(11)(b)1. Knowing and willful failure Fine not less than $100 nor more Fine not less than $100 nor more
to report release of a than $25,000 or imprisoned for than $25,000 or imprisoned for
hazardous substance, first not more than 3 years or both not more than 2 years or both
offense
166.20(11)(b)2. Knowing and willful failure Fine not less than $200 nor more Fine not less than $200 nor more
to report release of a than $50,000 or imprisoned for than $50,000 or imprisoned for
hazardous substance, second not more than 3 years or both not more than 2 years or both
and subsequent offenses
167.10(9)(g) Violation of fireworks Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
manufacturing licensure imprisoned for not more than 15 imprisoned not more than 10 years
requirement years or both or both
175.20(3) Violation of amusement place ~ Fine not less than $25 nor more Fine of not less than $25 and not
licensure requirements than $1,000 and may be more than $1,000, or by
imprisoned for not less than 30 imprisonment for not less than 30
days nor more than 2 years or daysin the county jail and not
both. more than one year in the state
prison, or by both such fine and
imprisonment
180.0129(2) Filing of afalse document Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
with DFI, business imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned for not more than 2
corporation yearsor both yearsor both
181.0129(2) Filing of afalse document Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or

with DFI, nonstock
corporations

imprisoned for not more than 3
years or both

imprisoned for not more than 2
years or both
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185.825 Filing of afalse document Fine not more than $1,000 or Fine not more than $1,000 or
with DFI, cooperatives imprisoned for not more than 4 imprisoned not more than 3 years
years and 6 months or both or both
201.09(2) Fraudulently obtaining or Fine nat less than $500 or Fine of not less than $500, or by
using acertificate of authority = imprisoned in the state prison for imprisonment in the state prison
to issue any security by a not less than one nor morethan 15 | not less than one or more than 10
public service corporation years or both years, or by both fine and
imprisonment
214.93 Filing of afalse document Imprisoned for not more than 30 Imprisoned for not more than 20
with the Division of Savings | years years
and Loans
215.02(6)(b) Illegal disclosure of Fine not less than $100 nor more Fine not less than $100 nor more
information by employees of than $1,000 or imprisoned for not | than $1,000, or imprisoned not
the Division of Savings and less than 6 months nor more than less than 6 months nor more than
Loans 3yearsor both 2 yearsor both
21512 Falsification of records and Imprisoned in the Wisconsin state | Imprisoned in the Wisconsin state
dishonest acts, savings and prisonsfor not more than 30 years | prisonsfor not to exceed 20 years
loans
215.21(21) Giving or accepting money Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not to exceed $10,000 or
for loans, savings and loans imprisoned inthe Wisconsinstate  imprisoned in the Wisconsin state
prisons for not more than 3 years prisons not to exceed 2 years or
or both both
218.21(7) False statement related to a Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
motor vehicle salvage dedler imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
license years and 6 months or both or both
220.06(2) Illegal disclosure of Fined not less than $100 nor more | Fine of not less than $100 nor
information by employees of than $1,000 or imprisoned for not more than $1,000, or
the Division of Banking less than 6 months nor more than imprisonment in the Wisconsin
3yearsor both state prisons not less than 6
months nor more than 2 years, or
both
221.0625(2) (intro) Illegal loans to government Imprisoned for not more than 15 Imprisoned for not more than 10
officids years years
221.0636(2) Theft by bank employee or Imprisoned for not more than 30 Imprisoned for not more than 20
officer years years
221.0637(2) Illegal commission to bank Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
office and employees imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned for not more than 2
years or both years or both
221.1004(2) False statements related to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
records, reports and legal than $5,000 or imprisoned for not | than $5,000, or imprisoned not
processes, state banks less than one year nor more than less than one year nor more than
15 yearsor both 10 years, or both
252.15(9) Intentional disclosure of Fine not more than $100,000 or Not applicable
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confidential blood test results
for pecuniary gain, on or after
May 6, 2000

imprisoned for not more than 3
years and 6 months or both




Statute Offense Bifurcated Indeterminate
253.06(4)(b) Violation of satutesrelatedto  Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
the Women, Infant and imprisoned not morethan 3years | imprisoned not more than 2 years,
Children Program or both for first offense, and fine or both for fist offense, and fine
not more than $10,000 or not more than $10,000 or
imprisoned 7 yearsand 6 months | imprisoned 5 years or both for
or both for second and subsequent | second and subsequent offense
offense
285.87(2)(b) Intentional violations of air Fine not more than $50,000 per Fine not more than $50,000 per
pollution statutes and rules, day of violation or imprisonment day of violation or imprisonment
second and subsequent for not more than 3 years or both for not more than 2 years or both
convictions
291.97(2)(b) (intro) 1. Trangportation of Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
hazardous waste to an than $100,000 or imprisoned not than $100,000 or imprisoned not
unlicensed facility or site more than 7 years and 6 months more than 5 years or both
2. Storage, treatment, or both
trangportation or disposal of
any hazardous waste without
alicense
291.97(2)(c)1. Second or subsequent Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
violation of hazardous waste than $50,000 or imprisoned not than $50,000 or imprisoned not
handling reporting more than 2 years or both more than one year in state prison
requirements or both
291.97(2)(c)2. Second or subsequent Fine not less than $5,000 nor more | Fine not less than $5,000 nor more
violation of hazardous waste than $150,000 or imprisoned not than $150,000 or imprisoned not
transportation, storage, more than 15 years or both more than 10 years or both
treatment or disposal
299.53(4)(c)2. False statement to DNR Fine not more than $50,000 or Fine not more than $50,000 or
related to used il facilities, imprisonment for not morethan3 | imprisonment for not more than 2
second or subsequent years or both years or both
violations
301.45(6)(a)2 Failure to comply with sex Fine not more than $10,000 or Not applicable
offender registration imprisoned for not more than 5
requirements, 2* or years or both
subsequent offenses, on or
after May 9, 2000
302.095(2) Illegal delivery of articlesto Imprisoned for not more than 3 Imprisoned for not more than 2
inmates by prison or jall years or fined not morethan $500 | years or fined not more than $500
employees
341.605(3) Unlawful transfer of license Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
plates, insert tag, decal or imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years
other evidence of registration | and 6 months, or both or both
or the transfer of counterfeit,
forged or fictitious license
plates, insert tag, decal or
other evidence of registration
342.06(2) False statement in an Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or

application for avehicletitle

imprisoned not more than 7 years
and 6 months, or both

imprisoned not more than 5 years,
or both
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342.065(4)(b) Failing to obtain title for Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
salvage vehicle, withintentto | imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years,
defraud and 6 months, or both or both
342.155(4)(b) Violation of mileage Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
disclosure requirements with imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years,
intent to defraud and 6 months or both or both
342.156(6)(b) Transfers of leased vehicles, Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
with intent to defraud imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years,
and 6 months, or both or both
342.30(3)(a) Alteration of vehicle Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
identification number imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years,
and 6 months, or both or both
342.32(3) Counterfeiting and unlawful Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
possession of certificate of imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years,
title and 6 months, or both or both
344.48(2) Forged proof of security for Fine not more than $1,000 or Fine not more than $1,000 or
past accidents imprisoned for not more than 2 imprisoned not more than one
years or both year or both
346.17(3)(a) Fleeing an officer Fine not less than $300 nor more Fine not less than $300 nor more
than $10,000 and may be than $10,000 and may be
imprisoned not morethan 3years | imprisoned not more than 2 years
346.17(3)(b) Fleeing an officer resultingin | Fine not less than $500 nor more Fine not less than $500 nor more
bodily harm, or damage to than $10,000 and may be than $10,000 and may be
property imprisoned not morethan 3years | imprisoned not more than 2 years
346.17(3)(c) Fleeing an officer resultingin | Fine not less than $600 nor more Fine not less than $600 nor more
great bodily harm than $10,000 and may be than $10,000 and may be
imprisoned not morethan 3years | imprisoned not more than 2 years
346.17(3)(d) Fleeing an officer resultingin | Fine not less than $500 nor more Fine not less than $600 nor more
death than $10,000 and may be than $10,000 and may be
imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years
and 6 months
346.65(2)(e) Operating amotor vehicle Fine not less than $600 nor more Fine not less than $600 nor more
under the influence of an than $2,000 and imprisoned for than $2,000 and imprisoned for
intoxicant or other drug, five not less than 6 months nor more not less than 6 months nor more
or more violations than 5 years than 5 years
346.65(5) Negligent use of avehicle Fine not less than $600 nor more Fine not less than $600 nor more
causing great bodily harm than $2,000 and may be than $2,000 and may be
imprisoned not less than 90 days imprisoned not less than 90 days
nor more than 2 yearsand 3 nor more than 18 months
months
346.74(5)(b) Striking a person or attended Fine not less than $300 nor more Fine not less than $300 nor more
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or occupied vehicle and not
remaining at the sceneif the
accident involvesinjury to a
person but the person does
not suffer great bodily harm

than $5,000 or imprisoned not less
than 10 days nor more than 2
years, or both

than $5,000 or imprisoned not less
than 10 days nor more than one
year or both
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346.74(5)(c) Striking a person or attended Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
or occupied vehicle and not imprisoned not morethan 3years, | imprisoned not more than 2 years
remaining at the sceneif the or both or both
accident involvesinjury to a
person and the person suffers
great bodily harm
346.74(5)(d) Striking a person or attended Fine no more than $10,000 or Fine no more than $10,000 or
or occupied vehicle and not imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years
remaining at the sceneif the and 6 months, or both or both
accident involves degth
350.11(2m) Causing death or injury by Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
interfering with snowmobile imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned for not more than 2
route or trail signor standard | yearsor both years or both
446.07 Violation of Chiropractic Fine not less than $100 nor more Fine not less than $100 nor more
Examining Board statutes than $500 or imprisoned for not than $500 or imprisoned not more
more than 2 years or both than one year or both
447.09 Violation of Dental Fine not more than $2,500 or Fine not more than $2,500 or
Examining Board statutes, imprisonment for not morethan3 | imprisonment for not more than 2
second or subsequent offenses | years or both for the 2 or years or both for the 2* or
subsequent conviction within 5 subsequent conviction within 5
years years
450.11(9)(b) Délivery or possession with Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
intent to manufacture or imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
deliver aprescription drug in years and 6 months or both or both
violation of the Pharmacy
Examining Board statutes
450.14(5) Illegal delivery of poisons Fine not less than $100 nor more Fine not less than $100 nor more
than $1,000 or imprisoned for not | than $1,000 or imprisoned not less
less than one year nor morethan 7 | than one year nor more than 5
years and 6 months or both yearsor both
450.15(2) Placing of prescription drugs. | Fine not less than $100 nor more Fine not less than $100 nor more
(a) in public place; or (b) than $1,000 or imprisoned for not | than $1,000 or imprisoned not less
upon private premiseswithout | lessthan one year nor morethan7 = than one year nor morethan 5
consent of owner or occupant | years and 6 months or both years or both
551.58(1) Willful violation of securities  Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
law imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
years and 6 months or both or both
552.19(1) Willful violation of corporate  Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
take-over laws imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
years and 6 months or both or both
553.52(1) Willful violation of fraudulent =~ Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
and practices statutes under imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
state franchise investment law = years and 6 months or both yearsor both
553.52(2) Fraud in connection with the Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or

offer or sale of any franchise

imprisoned for not more than 7
years and 6 months or both

imprisoned for not more than 5
years or both
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562.13(3) Facilitation of off-track Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
wagering and possession of imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned for not more than 2
fraudulent wagering tickets yearsor both years or both
with intent to defraud
562.13(4) Tampering with race animals, ~ Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
illegal killing of race dogs; imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
counterfeiting race tickets years and 6 months or both yearsor both
with intent to defraud; illegal
race activities
565.50(2) Forged or dtered lottery Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
ticket imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
years and 6 months or both yearsor both
565.50(3) Possession of forged or Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
altered lottery ticket imprisoned for not more than 3 imprisoned for not more than 2
years or both years or both
601.64(4) Intentional violation of any Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
insurance statute or rule imprisoned for not more than 4 imprisoned for not to exceed 3
years and 6 months or both yearsor both
641.19(4)(a) Willful violation or failureto  Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
comply with statutes or false imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
statements related to years and 6 months or both or both
employee welfare funds
641.19(4)(b) Willful and unlawful use of Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
employee welfare funds imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned not more than 5 years
years and 6 months or both
765.30(1)(intro) Marriage outside state to Fine not less than $200 nor more Fine not less than $200 nor more
circumvent state law than $1,000 or imprisoned for not | than $1,000, or imprisoned not
more than 2 years or both more than one year, or both
765.30(2)(intro) False marriage license Fine not less than $100 nor more Fine not less than $100 nor more
statement; unlawful issuance | than $1,000 or imprisoned for not | than $1,000, or imprisoned not
of marriage license; fase more than 2 years or both more than one year, or both
solemnization of marriage
767.242(8) Intentional violation of an Fine not more than $10,000 or Not gpplicable
injunction ordering a imprisoned for not more than 2
respondent to strictly comply | yearsor both
with ajudgment or order
related to aphysical
placement, on or after May 1,
2000
768.07 Violation of actionsabolished = Fine not less than $100 nor more Fine not less than $100 nor more
statutes than $1,000 or imprisoned for not | than $1,000 or imprisoned for not
more than 2 years or both more than one year, or both
783.07 Failure or neglect to respond Fine not more than $5,000 per Fine not more than $5,000 per
to awrit of mandamus officer or imprisonment for not officer or imprisonment for aterm
more than 7 years and 6 months not exceeding 5 years
940.04(1) Abortion ("feticide") by a Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
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person other than the
pregnant woman

imprisoned not more than three
yearsor both

imprisoned not more than three
years or both
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940.04(2) Abortion ("feticide") of an Imprisoned for not more than 15 Imprisoned for not more than 15
unborn quick child by a years years
person other than the
pregnant woman; causing the
death of the mother by an act
done to destroy her unborn
child
940.04(4) Abortion by a pregnant Imprisoned not more than two Imprisoned not more than two
woman years years
946.43(2m) Throwing or expelling blood, = Fine not more than $10,000 or Not applicable
semen, vomit, sdiva, urine, imprisoned for not more than 2
feces or other bodily yearsor both
substance at or toward an
officer, employee or visitor of
the prison or facility or
another prisoner of the prison
or facility by a prisoner under
certain circumstances, on or
after June 2, 2000
946.85(1) Engaging in a continuing Imprisoned for not less than 10 Imprisoned not lessthan 10 years
crimina enterprise years nor morethan 30 years,and | nor more than 20 years, and fined
fined not more than $10,000 not more than $10,000
961.41(1)(a) Manufacture, distribution or Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
delivery of anarcotic imprisoned not more than 22 years | imprisoned not more than 15 years
included in schedule | or I1 and 6 months or both or both
961.41(1)(b) Manufacture, distribution or Fine not more than $15,000 or Fine not more than $15,000 or
delivery of any other imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years
controlled substanceincluded | and 6 months or both or bath
inschedulel, Il or lll, or a
controlled substance analog
of any other controlled
substance included in
schedulel or |1
961.41(1)(cm)1. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not more than $500,000 and Fine not more than $500,000 and
ddivery of cocaine or cocaine | may beimprisoned not morethan | may be imprisoned not more than
base, five grams or less 15 years 10years
961.41(1)(cm)2. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not more than $500,000 and Fine not more than $500,000 and
delivery of cocaine or cocaine | imprisoned not less than one year imprisoned not less than one year
base, more than 5 grams, but nor more than 22 yearsand 6 nor more than 15 years
not more than 15 grams months
961.41(1)(cm)3. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not more than $500,000 and Fine not more than $500,000 and
delivery of cocaine or cocaine = imprisoned not lessthan 3 years imprisoned not less than 3 years
base, more than 15 grams, but |~ nor more than 30 years nor more than 20 years
not more than 40 grams
961.41(1)(cm)4. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not more than $500,000 and Fine not more than $500,000 and

delivery of cocaine or cocaine
base, more than 40 grams, but
not more than 100 grams

imprisoned not lessthan 5 years
nor more than 45 years

imprisoned not lessthan 5 years
nor more than 30 years
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961.41(1)(cm)5. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not more than $500,000 and Fine not more than $500,000 and
delivery of cocaine or cocaine | imprisoned not lessthan 10 years imprisoned not lessthan 10 years
base, more than 100 grams nor more than 45 years nor more than 30 years

961.41(1)(d)1. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of herain, three than $200,000 and may be than $200,000 and may be
gramsor less imprisoned not morethan 22 years | imprisoned not more than 15 years

and 6 months

961.41(1)(d)2. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of heroin, morethan | than $250,000 and imprisoned not | than $250,000 and imprisoned not
3 gramsbut not morethan 10 | less than 6 months nor more than less than 6 months nor more than
grams 22 yearsand 6 months 15 years

961.41(1)(d)3. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of heroin, morethan | than $500,000 and imprisoned not = than $500,000 and imprisoned not
10 grams but not more than less than one year nor more than less than one year nor more than
50 grams 22 yearsand 6 months 15years

961.41(1)(d)4. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of heroin, morethan | than $500,000 and imprisoned not = than $500,000 and imprisoned not
50 grams but not more than lessthan 3 yearsnor morethan 22 | lessthan 3 years nor more than 15
200 grams years and 6 months years

961.41(1)(d)5. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of heroin, morethan | than $500,000 and imprisoned not = than $500,000 and imprisoned not
200 grams but not more than lessthan 5 years nor morethan 22 | lessthan 5 years nor more than 15
400 grams years and 6 months years

961.41(1)(d)6. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of heroin, morethan  than $1,000,000 and imprisoned than $1,000,000 and imprisoned
400 grams not less than 10 years nor more not less than 10 years nor more

than 45 years than 30 years

961.41(1)(e)1. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of phencyclidine, than $200,000 and may be than $200,000 and may be
amphetamine, imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years
methamphetamine (before and 6 months
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, three grams
or less

961.41(1)(e)2. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of phencyclidine, than $250,000 and imprisoned not | than $250,000 and imprisoned not
amphetamine, less than 6 months nor more than less than 6 months nor more than
methamphetamine (before 7 years and 6 months 5years
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, more than
three grams but not more than
10 grams

961.41(1)(e)3. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more

48

delivery of phencyclidine,
amphetamine,
methamphetamine (before
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, more than 10
grams but not more than 50
grams

than $500,000 and imprisoned not
less than one year nor more than
22 years and 6 months

than $500,000 and imprisoned not
less than one year nor more than
15 years
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961.41(1)(e)4. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of phencyclidine, than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
amphetamine, lessthan 3 years nor morethan 22 | lessthan 3 years nor more than 15
methamphetamine (before years and 6 months years
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, more than 50
grams but not more than 200
grams
961.41(1)(e)5. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of phencyclidine, than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
amphetamine, lessthan 5 years nor morethan 22 | lessthan 5 years nor more than 15
methamphetamine (before years and 6 months years
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, more than
200 grams but not more than
400 grams
961.41(1)(e)6. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of phencyclidine, than $1,000,000 and imprisoned than $1,000,000 and imprisoned
amphetamine, not less than 10 years nor more not less than 10 years nor more
methamphetamine (before than 45 years than 30 years
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, more than
400 grams
961.41(1)(em)1. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
delivery of methamphetamine = than $200,000 and may be
(on or after April 26, 2000) imprisoned not more than 22 years
three gramsor less and 6 months
961.41(1)(em)2. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
delivery of methamphetamine | than $250,000 and imprisoned not
(on or after April 26, 2000) less than 6 months nor more than
more than three grams but 22 yearsand 6 months
not more than 10 grams
961.41(1)(em)3. Manufacture, distribution of Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
delivery of methamphetamine | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
(on or after April 26, 2000) less than one year nor more than
more than 10 grams but not 22 years and 6 months
more than 50 grams
961.41(1)(em)4. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not les than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
delivery of methamphetamine | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
(on or After April 26, 2000), less than 3 years nor more than 22
more than 50 grams but not years and 6 months
more than 200 grams
961.41(1)(em)5. Manufacture, distribution of Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
delivery of methamphetamine | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
(on or after April 26, 2000), lessthan 5 years nor more than 22
more than 200 grams but not years and 6 months
more than 400 grams
961.41(1)(em)6. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable

ddivery of methamphetamine
(on or after April 26, 2000),
more than 400 grams

than $1,000,000 and imprisoned
not less than 10 years nor more
than 45 years
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Statute Offense Bifurcated Indeterminate

961.41(1)(f)1. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of lysergic acid than $200,000 and may be than $200,000 and may be
diethylamide, one gram or imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years
less and 6 months

961.41(1)(f)2. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of lysergic acid than $250,000 and imprisoned not | than $250,000 and imprisoned not
diethylamide, more than one less than 6 months nor more than less than 6 months nor more than
gram but not more than 5 7 years and 6 months 5years
grams

961.41(1)(f)3. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of lysergic acid than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
diethylamide, more than 5 less than one year nor more than less than one year nor more than
grams 22 yearsand 6 months 15years

961.41(1)(g)1. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of psilocin or than $200,000 and may be than $200,000 and may be
psilocylin, one hundred grams | imprisoned not morethan 7 years  imprisoned not more than 5 years
or less and 6 months

961.41(1)(g)2. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of psilocin or than $250,000 and imprisoned not | than $250,000 and imprisoned not
psilocylin, more than 100 less than 6 months nor more than less than 6 months nor more than
grams but not more than 500 7 years and 6 months 5years
grams

961.41(1)(g)3. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of psilocin or than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
psilocylin, more than 500 less than one year nor more than less than one year nor more than
grams 22 yearsand 6 months 15years

961.41(1)(h)1. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $500 nor more Fine not less than $500 nor more
delivery of THC, five than $25,000 and may be than $25,000 and may be
hundred grams or less, or 10 imprisoned not morethan 4 years | imprisoned not more than 3 years
or fewer plants containing and 6 months
THC

961.41(1)(h)2. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
delivery of THC, more than than $50,000 and imprisoned not than $50,000 and imprisoned not
500 grams but not more than less than 3 months nor more than less than 3 months nor more than
2,500 grams, or morethan 10 | 7 years and 6 months 5years
plants containing THC but
not more than 50 plants
containing THC

961.41(1)(h)3. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
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ddivery of THC, more than
2,500 grams, or more than 50
plants containing THC

than $100,000 and imprisoned not
less than one year nor more than
15 years

than $100,000 and imprisoned not
less than one year nor more than
10 years




Statute
961.41(1)(hm)1.

Offense

Manufacture, distribution or
delivery of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymetham-
phetamine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthiocamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymetham-
phetamine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
three grams or less

Bifurcated

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $200,000 and may be
imprisoned for not more than 7
years and 6 months

Indeter minate

Not applicable

961.41(1)(hm)2.

Manufacture, distribution or
delivery of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-

methylenedioxymethampheta

mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-

methylenedioxymethampheta

mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthicamphetamine,
more than 3 grams but not
more than 10 grams

Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
than $250,000 and imprisoned for
not less than 6 months nor more
than 7 years and 6 months

Not applicable
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Statute
961.41(1)(hm)3.

961.41(1)(hm)4.
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Offense

Manufacture, distribution or
delivery of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymetham-
phetamine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthiocamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymetham-
phetamine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
more than 10 grams but not
more than 50 grams
Manufacture, distribution or
delivery of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymetham-
phetamine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthicamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymetham-
phetamine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
more than 50 grams but not
more than 200 grams

Bifurcated

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $500,000 and impris-
oned for not less than one year
nor more than 22 years and 6
months

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $500,000 and impris-
oned for not less than 3 years nor
more than 22 years and 6 months

Indeter minate

Not gpplicable

Not applicable




Statute

961.41(1)(hm)5.

961.41(1)(hm)s6.

Offense

Manufacture, distribution or
delivery of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymetham-
phetamine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthiocamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymetham-
phetamine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
more than 200 grams but not
more than 400 grams

Manufacture, distribution or
delivery of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymethampheta
mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthiocamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymethampheta
mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
more than 400 grams

Bifurcated

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $500,000 and shall be
imprisoned for not less than 5
years nor more than 22 years and
6 months

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $500,000 and impris-
oned for not less than 10 years
nor more than 45 years

Indeter minate

Not gpplicable

Not gpplicable

961.41(1)(i)

961.41(1)(im)

961.41(1)(im)1.

Manufacture, distribution or
ddivery of asubstance
included in schedule IV,
except flunitrazepam on or
before April 26, 2000

Manufacture, distribution or
delivery of flunitrazepam, on
or after April 26, 2000, and
before September 1, 2001

Manufacture, distribution or
delivery of flunitrazepam on
or after September 1, 2001,
three grams or less

Fine not more than $10,000 or
imprisoned not more than 4 years
and 6 months or both

Fine not more than $15,000 or
imprisoned not more than 7 years
and 6 months or both

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $200,000 and may be
imprisoned for not more than 7
years and 6 months

Fine not more than $10,000 or
imprisoned not more than 3 years
or both

Not applicable

Not gpplicable
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Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate
961.41(1)(im)2. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor Not applicable
delivery of flunitrazepam on more than $250,000 and
or after September 1, 2001, imprisoned for not less than 6
more than 3 grams but not months nor more than 7 years
more than 10 grams and 6 months
961.41(1)(im)3. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor Not applicable
ddivery of flunitrazepam on more than $500,000 and
or after September 1, 2001, imprisoned for not less than one
more than 10 grams but not year nor more than 22 years and
more than 50 grams 6 months
961.41(1)(im)4. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor Not applicable
ddivery of flunitrazepam on more than $500,000 and
or after September 1, 2001, imprisoned for not less than 3
more than 50 grams but not years nor more than 22 years and
more than 200 grams 6 months
961.41(1)(im)5. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor Not applicable
delivery of flunitrazepam on more than $500,000 and
or after September 1, 2001, imprisoned for not lessthan 5
more than 200 grams but not years nor more than 22 years and
more than 400 grams 6 months
961.41(1)(im)6. Manufacture, distribution or Fine not less than $1,000 nor more |~ Not applicable

ddivery of flunitrazepam on
or after September 1, 2001,

than $500,000 and imprisoned for
not less than 10 years nor more

more than 400 grams than 45 years

961.41(1)(j) Manufacture, distribution or Fine not more than $5,000 or Fine not more than $5,000 or
delivery of a substance imprisoned not morethan 2 years | imprisoned not more than one
included in schedule V or both year or both

961.41(1Im)(a) Possession with intent to Fine not more than $25,000 or Fine not more than $25,000 or
manufacture, distribute or imprisoned not more than 22 years | imprisoned not more than 15 years
deliver of anarcoticincluded | and 6 monthsor both or both
inschedule or Il

961.41(1m)(b) Possession with intent to Fine not more than $15,000 or Fine not more than $15,000 or
manufacture, distribute or imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years
deliver any other controlled and 6 months or both or both
substance included in
schedulel, Il or I11, or a
controlled substance analog
of acontrolled substance
included in schedule | or 11

961.41(1m)(cm)1. Possession with intent to Fine not more than $500,000 and Fine not more than $500,000 and
manufacture, distribute or may be imprisoned not morethan | may beimprisoned not more than
deliver cocaine or cocaine 15 years 10 years
base, five gramsor less

961.41(1m)(cm)2. Possession with intent to Fine not more than $500,000 and Fine not more than $500,000 and
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manufacture, distribute or
deliver cocaine or cocaine
base, more than 5 grams but
not more than 15 grams

imprisoned not less than one year
nor more than 22 yearsand 6
months

imprisoned not less than one year
nor more than 15 years




Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate

961.41(1m)(cm)3. Possession with intent to Fine not more than $500,000 and Fine not more than $500,000 and
manufacture, distribute or imprisoned not less than 3 years imprisoned not less than 3 years
deliver cocaine or cocaine nor more than 30 years nor more than 20 years
base, more than 15 grams but
not more than 40 grams

961.41(1m)(cmy4. Possession with intent to Fine not more than $500,000 and Fine not more than $500,000 and
manufacture, distribute or imprisoned not lessthan 5 years imprisoned not less than 5 years
deliver cocaine or cocaine nor more than 45 years nor more than 30 years
base, more than 40 grams but
not more than 100 grams

961.41(1m)(cm)5. Possession with intent to Fine not more than $500,000 and Fine not more than $500,000 and
manufacture, distribute or imprisoned not less than 10 years imprisoned not less than 10 years
deliver cocaine or cocaine nor more than 45 years nor more than 30 years
base, more than 100 grams

961.41(1m)(d)1. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $100,000 and may be than $100,000 and may be
deliver heroin, threegramsor | imprisoned not more than 22 years = imprisoned not more than 15 years
less and 6 months

961.41(1m)(d)2. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $200,000 and imprisoned not | than $200,000 and imprisoned not
deliver heroin, more than 3 less than 6 months nor more than less than 6 months nor more than
grams but not more than 10 22 years and 6 months 15 years
grams

961.41(1m)(d)3. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
deliver heroin, more than 10 less than one year nor more than less than one year nor more than
grams but not more than 50 22 yearsand 6 months 15years
grams

961.41(1m)(d)4. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
deliver heroin, more than 50 lessthan 3 yearsnor morethan 22 | lessthan 3 years nor more than 15
grams but not morethan 200  yearsand 6 months years
grams

961.41(1m)(d)5. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
deliver heroin, morethan 200 | lessthan 5 yearsnor morethan22 | lessthan 5 years nor more than 15
grams but not more than 400 years and 6 months years
grams

961.41(1m)(d)6. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more

manufacture, distribute or
deliver heroin, more than 400
grams

than $1,000,000 and imprisoned
not less than 10 years nor more
than 45 years

than $1,000,000 and imprisoned
not less than 10 years nor more
than 30 years
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Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate

961.41(1m)(e)1. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, than $100,000 and may be than $100,000 and may be
disgtribute or deliver imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years
phencyclidine, and 6 months
amphetamine,
methamphetamine (before
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, three grams
or less

961.41(1m)(e)2. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, than $200,000 and imprisoned not | than $200,000 and imprisoned not
distribute or deliver less than 6 months nor more than less than 6 months nor more than
phencyclidine, 7 years and 6 months 5years
amphetamine,
methamphetamine (before
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, more than
three grams but not more than
10 grams

961.41(1m)(e)3. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
distribute or deliver less than one year nor more than less than one year nor more than
phencyclidine, 22 yearsand 6 months 15years
amphetamine,
methamphetamine (before
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, more than 10
grams but not more than 50
grams

961.41(1m)(e)4. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
digtribute or deliver lessthan 3 yearsnor morethan22  lessthan 3 years nor more than 15
phencyclidine, years and 6 months years
amphetamine,
methamphetamine (before
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, more than 50
grams but not more than 200
grams

961.41(1m)(e)5. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
distribute or deliver lessthan 5 yearsnor morethan22  lessthan 5 years nor more than 15
phencyclidine, years and 6 months years
amphetamine,
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methamphetamine (before
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, more than
200 grams but not more than
400 grams




Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate
961.41(1m)(e)6. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, than $1,000,000 and imprisoned than $1,000,000 and imprisoned
distribute or deliver not less than 10 years nor more not less than 10 years nor more
phencyclidine, than 45 years than 30 years
amphetamine,
methamphetamine (before
April 26, 2000) or
methcathinone, more than
400 grams
961.41(1m)(em)1. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or than $200,000 and may be
deliver methamphetamine (on | imprisoned not more than 22 years
or after April 26, 2000), three | and 6 months
gramsor less
961.41(1m)(em)2. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or than $250,000 and imprisoned not
ddiver methamphetamine (on | lessthan 6 months nor more than
or after April 26, 2000), more = 22 years and 6 months
than three grams but not more
than 10 grams
961.41(1m)(em)3. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or than $500,000 and imprisoned not
ddiver methamphetamine (on | less than one year nor more than
or after April 26, 2000), more = 22 yearsand 6 months
than 10 grams but not more
than 50 grams
961.41(1m)(em)4. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or than $500,000 and imprisoned not
deliver methamphetamine (on | lessthan 3 years nor more than 22
or after April 26, 2000), more  years and 6 months
than 50 grams but not more
than 200 grams
961.41(1m)(em)5. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or than $500,000 and imprisoned not
deliver methamphetamine (on | lessthan 5 years nor more than 22
or after April 26, 2000), more  years and 6 months
than 200 grams but not more
than 400 grams
961.41(1m)(em)6. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or than $1,000,000 and imprisoned
ddiver methamphetamine (on | not lesthan 10 years nor more
or after April 26, 2000), more | than 45 years
than 400 grams
961.41(1m)(f)1. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more

manufacture, distribute or
deliver lysergic acid
diethylamide, one gram or
less

than $100,000 and may be
imprisoned not more than 7 years
and 6 months

than $100,000 and may be
imprisoned not more than 5 years
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Statute Offense Bifurcated Indeterminate

961.41(1m)(f)2. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $200,000 and imprisoned not | than $200,000 and imprisoned not
ddiver lysergic acid less than 6 months nor more than less than 6 months nor more than
diethylamide, more than one 7 years and 6 months 5years
gram but not more than 5
grams

961.41(1m)(f)3. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
ddiver lysergic acid less than one year nor more than less than one year nor more than
diethylamide, more than 5 22 years and 6 months 15 years
grams

961.41(1m)(g)1. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $100,000 and may be than $100,000 and may be
deliver psilocin or psilocylin, | imprisoned not morethan 7 years | imprisoned not more than 5 years
one hundred grams or less and 6 months

961.41(1m)(g)2. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $200,000 and imprisoned not | than $200,000 and imprisoned not
deliver psilocin or psilocylin, less than 6 months nor more than less than 6 months nor more than
more than 100 grams but not 7 years and 6 months 5years
more than 500 grams

961.41(1m)(g)3. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $500,000 and imprisoned not | than $500,000 and imprisoned not
ddiver psilocin or psilocylin, less than one year nor more than less than one year nor more than
more than 500 grams 22 yearsand 6 months 15years

961.41(1m)(h)1. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $500 nor more Fine not less than $500 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $25,000 and may be than $25,000 and may be
deliver THC, five hundred imprisoned not morethan 4 years | imprisoned not more than 3 years
gramsor less, or 10 or fewer and 6 months
plants containing THC

961.41(1m)(h)2. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more
manufacture, distribute or than $50,000 and imprisoned not than $50,000 and imprisoned not
ddliver THC, more than 500 less than 3 months nor more than less than 3 months nor more than
grams but not more than 7 years and 6 months 5years
2,500 grams, or more than 10
plants containing THC but
not more than 50 plants
containing THC

961.41(1m)(h)3. Possession with intent to Fine not less than $1,000 nor more | Fine not less than $1,000 nor more

manufacture, distribute or
deliver THC, more than 2,500
grams or more than 50 plants
containing THC

than $100,000 and imprisoned not
less than one year nor more than
15 years

than $100,000 and imprisoned not
less than one year nor more than
10years
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Statute
961.41(1m)(hm)1.

961.41(1m)(hm)2.

Offense

Possession with the intent to
manufacture, distribute or
deliver gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymetham-
phetamine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymetham-
phetamine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthiocamphetamine,
three grams or less

Possession with the intent to
manufacture, distribute or
deliver gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-

methylenedioxymethampheta

mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-

methylenedioxymethampheta

mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthicamphetamine,
more than 3 grams but not
more than 10 grams

Bifurcated

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $200,000 and may be
imprisoned for not more than 7
years and 6 months

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $250,000 and
imprisoned for not less than 6
months nor more than 7 years
and 6 months

Indeter minate

Not applicable

Not gpplicable
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Statute
961.41(1m)(hm)3.

Offense

Possession with the intent to
manufacture, distribute or
deliver gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymethampheta
mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymethampheta
mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthicamphetamine,
more than 10 grams but not
more than 50 grams

Bifurcated

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $500,000 and
imprisoned for not less than one
year nor more than 22 years and
6 months

Indeter minate

Not gpplicable

961.41(1m)(hm)4.
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Possession with the intent to
manufacture, distribute or
deliver gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymethampheta
mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthicamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-
methylenedioxymethampheta
mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
more than 50 grams but not
more than 200 grams

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $500,000 and
imprisoned for not less than 3
years nor more than 22 years and
6 months

Not applicable




Statute
961.41(1m)(hm)5.

Offense

Possession with the intent to
manufacture, distribute or
deliver gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-

methylenedioxymethampheta

mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-

methylenedioxymethampheta

mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthicamphetamine,5,
more than 200 grams but not
more than 400 grams

Bifurcated

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $500,000 and shall be
imprisoned for not lessthan 5
years nor more than 22 years and
6 months

Indeter minate

Not gpplicable

961.41(1m)(hm)s.

Possession with the intent to
manufacture, distribute or
deliver gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-

methylenedi oxymethampheta

mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, 4-
methylthicamphetamine,
ketamine, or a controlled
substance analog of gamma-
hydroxybutyric acid,
gamma-butyrolactone, 3,4-

methylenedioxymethampheta

mine, 4-bromo-2,5-
dimethoxy-beta-
phenylethylamine, or 4-
methylthioamphetamine,
more than 400 grams

Fine not less than $1,000 nor
more than $500,000 and
imprisoned for not less than 10
years nor more than 45 years

Not applicable

961.41(1m)(i)

Possession with intent to
manufacture, distribute or
deliver asubstance included
in schedule 1V, except
flunitrazepam on or after
April 26, 2000

May be fined not more than
$10,000 or imprisoned not more
than 4 years and 6 months or both

May be fined not more than
$10,000 or imprisoned not more
than 3 years or both

961.41(1m)(im)

Possession with intent to
manufacture, distribute or
deliver flunitrazepam, on or
after April 26, 2000, and
before September 1, 2001

Fine not more than $15,000 or
imprisoned not more than 7 years
and 6 months or both

Not applicable
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Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate
961.41(1m)(im)1. Possession with theintentto = Fine not less than $1,000 nor Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or more than $200,000 and may be
deliver flunitrazepam on or imprisoned for not more than 7
after September 1, 2001, years and 6 months
three gramsor less
961.41(1m)(im)2. Possession with theintent to | Fine not less than $1,000 nor Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or more than $250,000 and
deliver flunitrazepam on or imprisoned for not less than 6
after September 1, 2001, months nor more than 7 years
more than 3 grams but not and 6 months
more than 10 grams
961.41(1m)(im)3. Possession with theintent to | Fine not less than $1,000 nor Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or more than $500,000 and
deliver flunitrazepam on or imprisoned for not less than one
after September 1, 2001, year nor more than 22 years and
more than 10 grams but not 6 months
more than 50 grams
961.41(1m)(im)4. Possession with theintent to | Fine not less than $1,000 nor Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or more than $500,000 and
deliver flunitrazepam on or imprisoned for not lessthan 3
after September 1, 2001, years nor more than 22 years and
more than 50 grams but not 6 months
more than 200 grams
961.41(1m)(im)5. Possession with theintent to | Fine not less than $1,000 nor Not applicable
manufacture, distribute or more than $500,000 and
deliver flunitrazepam on or imprisoned for not lessthan 5
after September 1, 2001, years nor more than 22 years and
more than 200 gramsbut not =~ 6 months
more than 400 grams
961.41(1m)(im)6. Possession with theintentto = Fine not less than $1,000 nor Not gpplicable

manufacture, distribute or
deliver flunitrazepam on or
after September 1, 2001,
more than 400 grams

more than $500,000 and
imprisoned for not less than 10
years nor more than 45 years

961.42(1m)(j) Possession with intent to May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
manufacture, distribute or $5,000 or imprisoned not more $5,000 or imprisoned not more
deliver a substance included than 2 years or both than one year or both
in schedule V

961.41(1n)(c) Possession of any amount of May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
piperidine $250,000 or imprisoned not more | $250,000 or imprisoned not more

than 15 years or both than 10 years or both
961.41(2)(a) Manufacture, distribution or May be fined not more than May be fined not more than

ddivery of or intent to
manufacture, distribute or
deliver, acounterfeit
substance included in
schedulel or Il whichisa
narcotic drug

$25,000 or imprisoned not more
than 22 years and 6 months or
both

$25,000 or imprisoned not more
than 15 years or both

62




Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate
961.41(2)(b) Manufacture, distribution or May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
ddivery of or intent to $15,000 or imprisoned not more $15,000 or imprisoned not more
manufacture, distribute or than 7 yearsand 6 monthsor both | than 5 years or both
deliver, any other counterfeit
substance included in
schedulel, 11 or I11
961.41(2)(c) Manufacture, distribution or May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
deivery of or intent to $10,000 or imprisoned not more $10,000 or imprisoned not more
manufacture, distribute or than 4 yearsand 6 monthsor both | than 3 years or both
deliver, acounterfeit
substance included in
schedule IV, except
flunitrezepam on or after
April 26, 2000
961.41(2)(cm) Manufacture, distribution or May be fined not more than Not applicable
delivery of or intent to $10,000 or imprisoned not more
manufacture, distribute or than 7 years and 6 months or both
deliver, acounterfeit
substance which is
flunitrazepam, before
September 1, 2001
961.41(2)(cm) Manufacture, distribution or Same fine or imprisonment asis Not applicable
ddivery of anintent to applicable to the genuine
manufacture, distribute or substance under s. 961.41(1)(im)
ddiver a counterfeit and (Im)(im)
substance which is
flunitrazepam, on or after
September 1, 2001, and
before February 1, 2003
961.41(2)(d) Manufacture, distribution or May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
ddivery of or intent to $5,000 or imprisoned not more $5,000 or imprisoned not more
manufacture, distribute or than 2 years or both than one year or both
deliver, acounterfeit
substance included in
schedule V
961.41(3g)(a) 1. Possession of anarcotic Upon afirst conviction, not more Upon afirst conviction, not more
included in schedule | or 11 than $5,000 or imprisoned not than $5,000 or imprisoned not
more than 2 yearsor both. Second =~ more than one year or both.
or subsequent offense, fine not Second or subsequent offense, fine
more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more than $10,000 or
not more than 3 years or both imprisoned not more than 2 years
or both
961.41(3g)(a)2. Possession or attempted May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
possession of heroin $5,000 or imprisoned not more $5,000 or imprisoned not more
than 2 years or both than one year or both
961.41(3g)(dm) Possession or attempted May be fined not more than Not applicable

possession of
methamphetamine on or after
April 26, 2000

$5,000 or imprisoned not more
than 2 years or both
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Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate
961.41(3g)(f) Possession or attempted May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
possession of gamma- $5,000 or imprisoned for not more | $5,000 or imprisoned for not more
hydroxybutyric acid (GHB), than 2 years or both than 2 years or both
gamma-butyrolactone,
ketamine or flunitrazepam
961.41(4)(am)3. Distribution or delivery of May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
imitation controlled substance | $5,000 or imprisoned not more $5,000 or imprisoned not more
than 2 years or both than one year or both
961.42(2) Keeping of adrug house May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
$25,000 or imprisoned not more $25,000 or imprisoned not more
than two years or both than one year or both
961.43(2) Acquire or obtain acontrolled | May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
substance by $30,000 or imprisoned not more $30,000 or imprisoned not more
misrepresentation, fraud, than 6 years or both than 4 years or both
forgery, deception or
subterfuge
961.437 Possession or disposal of For first offense, may befined not | Not applicable
waste from manufacture of less than $1,000 nor more than
methamphetamine on or after | $100,000 or imprisoned for not
May 24, 2000 more than 7 years and 6 moths.
For second or subsequent offense,
may be fined not less than $5,000
nor more than $150,000 or
imprisoned for not more than 15
years or both
961.455(1) Use of apersonwhois 17 May be fined not more than May be fined not more than
years of age or under for the $50,000 or imprisoned not more $50,000 or imprisoned not more
purpose of the manufacture, than 15 years or both than 10 years or both
distribution or delivery of a
controlled substance
961.573(3) Use of, or possession with May be fined not more than Not applicable
primary intent to use, drug $10,000 or imprisoned not more
paraphernaliato manufacture, | than 5 yearsor both
compound, convert, produce,
process, prepare, test,
analyze, pack, repack or store
methamphetamine or an
analog of methamphetamine,
on or after May 24, 2000
961.574(3) Delivery, possession with May be fined not more than Not applicable
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intent to deliver, or
manufacture with intent to
ddiver drug paraphernalia
used to manufacture,
compound, convert, produce,
process, prepare, test,
analyze, pack repack or store
methamphetamine or an
analog of methamphetamine,
on or after May 24, 2000

$10,000 or imprisoned not more
than 5 years or both




Statute Offense Bifurcated I ndeter minate
961.575(3) Drug paraphernaliadelivery May be fined not more than Not applicable
or possession with intent to $50,000 or imprisoned not more
deliver, by any personage17 | than 10 yearsor both
or older, to any person 17
years or younger for useto
manufacture, compound,
convert, produce, process,
prepare, test, analyze, pack,
repack or store
methamphetamine or an
analog of methamphetamine,
on or after May 24, 2000
968.31(1)(intro) Illegal interception and Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
disclosure of wire, electronic | imprisoned for not more than 7 imprisoned for not more than 5
or ord communications years and 6 months or both years or both
968.34(3) I1legal use of pen register or Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or
trap and trace device imprisoned for not more than 2 imprisoned not more than one
years or both year or both
968.43(3) Violation of an oath by a Imprisoned for not more than 7 Imprisoned for not more than 5
stenographic reporter or years and 6 months years
typewriter operator in
connection with agrand jury
977.06(2)(b) False statement to qualify for | Fine not more than $10,000 or Fine not more than $10,000 or

assignment of aPublic
Defender

imprisoned for not more than 7
years and 6 months or both

imprisoned for not more than 5
years or both
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APPENDIX 1

Classified Felony Offenses, On or After February 1, 2003
[Statutory Cite]

(Sentence Lengths for Each Classification are Identified in Table 1 on Page 7)

Class A Felonies

1.

2
3.
4

First—-degree intentional homicide [940.01]

Intentionally performing a partial-birth abortion [940.16]

Treason [946.01]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class A felony [946.50]

Class B Felonies

ok whN PR

10.

Conspiracy to commit a crime for which the penalty is life imprisonment [939.31]

Attempt to commit a crime for which the penalty is life imprisonment [939.32]

First-degree reckless homicide [940.02]

Second—degree intentional homicide [940.05]

First-degree sexual assault [940.225(1)]

Taking hostages, unless each hostage is released without bodily harm before the hostage taker's arrest
[940.305]

Kidnapping with intent to cause another to transfer property to obtain the release of the victim, where
the victim is not released without permanent physical injury prior to the time the first witness is sworn
at trial [940.31]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class B felony [946.50(2)]

First-degree sexual assault of a child [948.02(1)]

Repeated first- or second-degree sexual assault of a child, if at least three of the offenses are first-degree
sexual assault of a child [948.025(1)]

Class C Felonies

1.
2.

B

10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
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First-degree reckless homicide, where drugs are provided or administered ("Len Bias" Law) [940.02]

Homicide by intoxicated use of a vehicle, one or more previous convictions, suspension or revocation
relating to certain operating under the influence offenses [940.09(1c)(b)]

Mayhem [940.21]

Second-degree sexual assault [940.225(2)]

Abuse of vulnerable adults under circumstances that cause death by intentional or reckless maltreat-
ment, except for employees of certain institutions, facilities and programs [940.285(2)(b)1g]

Abuse or neglect by employees of certain institutions, facilities or programs of vulnerable persons under
circumstances that cause death by intentional or reckless abuse or neglect [940.295(3)(b)190]

Taking hostages when, before the time of the hostage taker's arrest, each person who is held as a hos-
tage is released without bodily harm [940.305]

Kidnapping [940.31]

Causing death to another by tampering with household products [941.327]

Arson of a building; damage of property by explosives [943.02]

Carjacking [943.23(1g)]

Armed robbery [943.32(2)]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class C felony [946.50(3)]

Second-degree sexual assault of a child [948.02(2)]

Repeated first- or second-degree sexual assault of a child, if fewer than three of the offenses are first-
degree sexual assault of a child [948.025(1)]



Class C Felonies (continued)

16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.

22.
23.

24,

25.

26.

27.

Incest with a child [948.06]

Abduction of another’s child by force or threat of force [948.30(2)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of cocaine or cocaine base, more than 40 grams [961.41(1)(cm)4.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of heroin, more than 50 grams [961.41(1)(d)4.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of phencyclidine, amphetamine, methamphetamine or meth-
cathinone, more than 50 grams [961.41(1)(e)4.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of certain other schedule | controlled substances or ketamine,
more than 50 grams [961.41(1)(hm)4.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of flunitrozepam more than 50 grams [961.41(1)(im)4.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver cocaine or cocaine base, more than 40 grams
[961.41(1m)(cm)4.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver heroin, more than 50 grams
[961.41(1m)(d)4.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver phencyclidine, amphetamine, metham-
phetamine or methcathinone, more than 50 grams [961.41(1m)(e)4.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or delivery of certain other schedule | controlled sub-
stances or ketamine, more than 50 grams [961.41(1m)(hm)4.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or delivery of flunitrazepam more than 50 grams
[961.41(1m)(im)4.]

Class D Felonies

1.

2.
3.
4

10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

Second-degree reckless homicide [940.06]

Homicide by intoxicated use of a vehicle [940.09(1c)(a)]

Homicide by intoxicated use of a firearm [940.09(1g)]

Aggravated battery (causing great bodily harm to another by an act done with intent to cause great bod-
ily harm) [940.19(5)]

Aggravated battery to an unborn child (causing great bodily harm to an unborn child by an act done
with intent to cause great bodily harm) [940.195(5)]

First—degree reckless injury [940.23(1)]

Abuse of vulnerable adults under circumstances that cause death by negligent maltreatment, except for
employees of certain institutions, facilities and programs [940.285(2)(b)(1g)]

Abuse or neglect by employees of certain institutions, facilities or programs of vulnerable persons under
circumstances that cause death by negligent abuse or neglect [940.295(3)(b)g]

Possession of body armor, second or subsequent violation [941.291(3)(b)]

Theft of farm raised fish (second or subsequent violation) [943.74]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class D felony [946.50(4)]

Child enticement [948.07]

Using a computer to facilitate a child sex crime [948.075]

Soliciting a child for prostitution [948.08]

Neglect of a child resulting in death [948.21]

Contributing to the delinquency of a child if death is a consequence [948.40(4)(a)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of cocaine or cocaine base, more than 15 grams, but not more than
40 grams [961.41(1)(cm)3.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of heroin, more than 10 grams but not more than 50 grams
[961.41(1)(d)3.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of phencyclidine, amphetamine, methamphetamine or meth-
cathinone, more than 10 grams but not more than 50 grams [961.41(1)(e)3.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of certain other schedule | controlled substances or ketamine,
more than 10 grams but not more than 50 grams [961.41(1)(hm)3.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of flunitrazepam more than 10 grams but not more than 50 grams
[961.41(1)(im)3.]
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Class D Felonies (continued)

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver cocaine or cocaine base, more than 15 grams
but not more than 40 grams [961.41(1m)(cm)3.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver heroin, more than 10 grams but not more
than 50 grams [961.41(1m)(d)3.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver phencyclidine, amphetamine, metham-
phetamine or methcathinone, more than 10 grams but not more than 50 grams [961.41(1m)(e)3.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or delivery of certain other schedule I controlled sub-
stances or ketamine, more than 10 grams but not more than 50 grams [961.41(1m)(hm)3.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or delivery of flunitrazepam more than 10 grams but
not more than 50 grams [961.41(1m)(im)3.]

Class E Felonies

1
2.

16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24,

25.

26.
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Sale or disposal of denatured alcohol resulting in death [125.68(12)(c)]

Fleeing an officer resulting in death [346.17(3)(d)]

Abortion ("feticide™) of an unborn quick child by a person other than the pregnant woman; causing the
death of the mother by an act done to destroy her unborn child [940.04(2)]

Abuse of a patient or resident under circumstances that cause great bodily harm to the person
[940.295(3)(b)1m]

Possession of body armor [941.291(3)(a)]

Contributing to the death of another by obstructing emergency or rescue personnel [941.37(4)]

Aggravated burglary [943.10(2)]

Robbery [943.32(1)]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class E felony [946.50(5)]

Engaging in racketeering activity [946.84]

Engaging in a continuing criminal enterprise [946.85(1)]

Physical abuse of a child (intentionally causing great bodily harm) [948.03(2)(a)]

Abduction of another’s child [948.30(1)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of a narcotic included in schedule 1 or 11 [961.41(1)(a)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of cocaine or cocaine base, more than 5 grams, but not more than
15 grams [961.41(1)(cm)2.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of heroin, more than 3 grams but not more than 10 grams
[961.41(1)(d)2.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of phencyclidine, amphetamine, methamphetamine or meth-
cathinone, more than three grams but not more than 10 grams [961.41(1)(e)2.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of lysergic acid diethylamide, more than 5 grams [961.41(1)(f)3.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of psilocin or psilocylin, more than 500 grams [961.41(1)(g)3.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of THC more than 10,000 grams or more than 200 plants contain-
ing THC [961.41(1)(h)5.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of certain other schedule | controlled substances or ketamine,
more than three grams but less than 10 grams [961.41(1)(hm)2.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of flunitrazepam more than three grams but not more than 10
grams [961.41(1)(im)2.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver of a narcotic included in schedule | or I
[961.41(1m)(a)]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver cocaine or cocaine base, more than 5 grams
but not more than 15 grams [961.41(1m)(cm)2.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver heroin, more than 3 grams but not more
than 10 grams [961.41(1m)(d)2.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver phencyclidine, amphetamine, metham-
phetamine or methcathinone, more than three grams but not more than 10 grams [961.41(1m)(e)2.]



Class E Felonies (continued)

217.

28.

29.

30.

31

32.

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver lysergic acid diethylamide, more than 5
grams [961.41(1m)(f)3.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver psilocin or psilocylin, more than 500 grams
[961.41(1m)(g)3.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or delivery THC, more than 10,000 grams or more
than 200 plans containing THC [961.41(1m)(h)5.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or delivery of certain other schedule I controlled sub-
stances or ketamine, more than three grams but less than 10 grams [961.41(1m)(hm)2.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or delivery of flunitrazepam more than three grams
but not more than 10 grams [961.41(1m)(im)2.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of or intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver, a counterfeit
substance included in schedule I or 1l which is a narcotic drug [961.41(2)(a)]

Class F Felonies

© oo NSO WDNE
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12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.

20.

21.

22.
23.
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.
29.

Sale and manufacturing of liquor without permits [125.66(3)]

Delivering alcohol from denatured alcohol [125.68(12)(b)]

Fraudulently receiving deposits [134.16]

False or fraudulent drug tax stamp [139.95(3)]

Falsification or withholding of information related to a declaration to a physician [154.15(2)]

Falsification or withholding of information related to a do-not-resuscitate order [154.29(2)]

Filing of a false document with the Division of Savings and Loans [214.93]

Falsification of records and dishonest acts, savings and loans [215.12]

Illegal loans to government officials [221.0625(2) (intro)]

False statements related to records, reports and legal processes, state banks [221.1004(2)]

Second or subsequent violation of hazardous waste transportation, storage, treatment or disposal
[291.97(2)(c)2.]

Fleeing an officer resulting in great bodily harm [346.17(3)(c)]

Solicitation to commit a crime for which the penalty is life imprisonment [939.30(2)]

Mutilating a corpse [940.11]

Sexual exploitation by a therapist [940.22(2)]

Second—degree reckless injury [940.23(2)]

Injury by intoxicated use of a vehicle [940.25(1)]

Abuse of a vulnerable adult under circumstances that cause great bodily harm [940.285(2)(b)1m]

Abuse and neglect of patients and residents (intentional abuse or neglect that causes great bodily harm)
[940.295(3)(b)1r]

Stalking (causing bodily harm, with a prior history of violence with the victim or using a dangerous
weapon) [940.32(3)]

Endangering safety by intentionally discharging a firearm from a vehicle while on a highway or public
parking lot [941.20(3)(a)]

Modifying a firearm to make it a machine gun [941.26(2)(b)]

First-degree recklessly endangering safety [941.30(1)]

Possession of explosives [941.31]

Administering a dangerous or stupefying drug with intent to facilitate commission of a crime [941.32]

Causing great bodily harm by tampering with household products [941.327(2)(b)3]

Burglary [943.10(1)]

Loan sharking [943.28]

Unlawful receipt of payments to obtain a loan for another (if the value of the payment exceeds $2,500)
[943.62(4)(c)]
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Class F Felonies (continued)

30.

3L
32.
33.
34.
35.
36.
37.
38.
39.
40.

41.
42.

43.
44,
45.
46.
47.
48.

49.
50.

51.

52.

53.

54.

55.
56.

57.
58.

59.

60.

61.

70

Computer crimes (if the offense creates a substantial and unreasonable risk of death or great bodily
harm to another, causes damage valued at more than $2,500, or causes an interruption or impairment
of governmental operations, public communications, transportation or the supply of gas, water or
other public services) [943.70(2)(b) 3g, 3r and 4 & (3)(b) 4]

Infecting animals with a contagious disease (intentional introduction) [943.76(2)]

Incest [944.06]

Pandering (if compensated from the earnings of prostitute) [944.33]

Sabotage [946.02]

Sedition [946.03]

Assault by prisoners [946.43(1m)]

Public officer or public employee assisting or permitting escape [946.44(19)]

Bringing a firearm into prison or jail; transferring a firearm to a prisoner [946.44(1m)]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class F felony [946.50(5d)]

Physical abuse of a child (causing bodily harm by conduct creating a high probability of great bodily
harm) [948.02(2)(c)]

Failure by a person responsible for the welfare of a child to prevent sexual assault of the child [948.02(3)]

Failure by a person responsible for the welfare of a child to prevent great bodily harm to a child
[948.03(4)(a)]

Causing mental harm to a child; failure by a person responsible for the welfare of a child to prevent
mental harm to the child [948.04]

Sexual exploitation of a child [948.05]

Causing a child under the age of 13 to view or listen to sexual activity [948.055(2)(a)]

Child sex offender working with children [948.13(2)]

Interference with custody of a child with intent to deprive the custodian of custody rights; concealing a
child [948.31(1)(b)&(3)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of cocaine or cocaine base, more than one gram but less than five
grams [961.41(1)(cm)1r.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of heroin, three grams or less [961.41(1)(d)1.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of phencyclidine, amphetamine, methamphetamine or meth-
cathinone, three grams or less [961.41(1)(e)1.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of lysergic acid diethylamide, more than one gram but not more
than 5 grams [961.41(1)(f)2.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of psilocin or psilocylin, more than 100 grams but not more than
500 grams [961.41(1)(g)2.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of THC, more than 2,500 grams but not more than 10,000 grams,
or more than 50 plants containing THC but not more than 200 plants containing THC [961.41(1)(h)4.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of certain other schedule I controlled substances or ketamine,
three grams or less [961.41(1)(hm)1.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of flunitrazepam three grams or less [961.41(1)(im)1.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver cocaine or cocaine base, more than one
gram but not more than five grams [961.41(1m)(cm)1r.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver heroin, three grams or less [961.41(1m)(d)1.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver phencyclidine, amphetamine, metham-
phetamine or methcathinone, three grams or less [961.41(1m)(e)1.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver lysergic acid diethylamide, more than one
gram but not more than 5 grams [961.41(1m)(f)2.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver psilocin or psilocylin, more than 100 grams
but not more than 500 grams [961.41(1m)(g)2.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or delivery THC, more than 2,500 grams but not more
than 10,000 grams, or more than 50 plants containing THC but less than 200 plants containing THC
[961.41(1m)(h)4.]



Class F Felonies (continued)

62.

63.

64.
65.

66.

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or delivery of certain other schedule I controlled sub-
stances or ketamine, three grams or less [961.41(1m)(hm)1.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver flunitrazepam, three grams or less
[961.41(1m)(im)1.]

Possession of any amount of piperidine [961.41(1n)(c)]

Possession or disposal of waste from manufacture of methamphetamine, second or subsequent offense
[961.437(4)(b)]

Use of a person who is 17 years of age or under for the purpose of the manufacture, distribution or de-
livery of a controlled substance [961.455(1)]

Class G Felonies
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16.

17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
25.

26.
27.
28.
29.
30.
31
32.
33.
34.
35.

Illegal use of food stamps with a value of $5,000 or more [49.795(8)(c)]

lllegal intent to secure public assistance if the value exceeds $10,000 [49.95(1)(f)]

Intentional destruction of a PECFA record [101.143(10)(b)]

Death by providing alcoholic beverages to a minor [125.075(2)(b)]

Use or manufacturing of counterfeit cigarette stamps [139.44(1)]

Tampering with cigarette meter [139.44(1m)]

Violation of fireworks manufacturing licensure requirement [167.10(9)(g)]

Willful violation of fraudulent and practices statutes under state franchise investment law [553.52(1)]

Fraud in connection with the offer or sale of any franchise [553.52(2)]

Homicide resulting from negligent control of a vicious animal [940.07]

Homicide by negligent handling of a dangerous weapon, explosives or fire [940.08]

Homicide by negligent operation of a vehicle [940.10]

Hiding a corpse [940.11(2)]

Third-degree sexual assault [940.225(3)]

Abuse of vulnerable adults (intentional maltreatment under circumstances that are likely to cause great
bodily harm) [940.285(2)(b)1r]

Abuse and neglect of patients and residents (intentional abuse or neglect that is likely to cause great
bodily harm) [940.295(3)(b)1r]

Felony intimidation of a witness [940.43]

Felony intimidation of a victim [940.45]

Endangering safety (by discharging firearm into a vehicle or building or setting a spring gun) [941.20(2)]

Possession of a firearm by certain persons [941.29(2)]

Second-degree recklessly endangering safety [941.30(2)]

Theft (if the value of the property exceeds $10,000) [943.20(3)(c)]

Theft from the person of another or a corpse [943.20(3)(e)]

Receiving stolen property (if the value of the property exceeds $10,000) [943.34(1)(c)]

Fraudulent use of financial transaction cards (if the value of the money, goods, services, or property ex-
ceeds $10,000 within a period not exceeding six months) [943.41(8)(c)]

Retail theft (if the value of the merchandise exceeds $10,000) [943.50(4)(c)]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class G felony [946.50(5h)]

Physical abuse of a child (recklessly causing great bodily harm) [948.03(3)(a)]

Abandonment of a child [948.20]

Hazing (if the act results in the death of another) [948.51(3)(c)]

Discharging or attempting to discharge a firearm in a school zone [948.605(3)(a)]

Receiving stolen property from a child (if the value of the property exceeds $5,000) [948.62(1)(c)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of cocaine or cocaine base one gram or less [961.41(1)(cm)1g.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of lysergic acid diethylamide, one gram or less [961.41(1)(f)1.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of psilocin or psilocylin, one hundred grams or less
[961.41(1)(g)1.]
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Class G Felonies (continued)

36.

37.

38.

39.

40.

41.

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of THC, more than 1,000 grams but not more than 2,500 grams, or
more than 20 plants containing THC but not more than 50 plants containing THC [961.41(1)(h)3.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver cocaine or cocaine base, one gram or less
[961.41(1m)(cm)1g.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver lysergic acid diethylamide, one gram or less
[961.41(1m)(F)1.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver psilocin or psilocylin, one hundred grams or
less [961.41(1m)(g)1.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver THC, more than 1,000 grams but not more
than 2,500 grams or more than 20 plants containing THC but not more than 50 plants containing THC
[961.41(1m)(h)3.]

Drug paraphernalia delivery or possession with intent to deliver, by any person age 17 or older, to any
person 17 years or younger for use to manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare,
test, analyze, pack, repack or store methamphetamine or an analog of methamphetamine [961.575(3)]

Class H Felonies
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.
15.
16.
17.
18.

19.

20.
21.
22.

23.
24,
25.
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Criminal violations of lobby law statutes [13.69(6m)]

Causing death or injury by interfering with all-terrain vehicle route or trail sign standard [23.33(13)(cg)]

Intentionally setting fires to land of another or a marsh [26.14(8)]

Failure to render aid in a boating accident that involves the death of a person [30.80(2g)(d)]

Falsifying boat certificate or title, or altering hull or engine serial numbers [30.80(3m)]

Committing a fraudulent act in connection with providing items or services under W-2 [49.141(7)(a)]

Solicitation or receiving of a kickback, bribe or rebate in connection with providing items or services
under W-2 [49.141(9)(a)]

Offering or paying a kickback, bribe or rebate in connection with providing items or services under W-2
[49.141(9)(b)]

Improper charging by a provider for W-2 services [49.141(10)(b)]

Removal, deposit or concealment of property or aiding in the removal, deposit or concealment of any
property with intent to evade or defeat the assessment or collection of any debt under the Aid to Fami-
lies with Dependent Children and Wisconsin Works programs [49.195(3n)(K)]

Committing a fraudulent act in connection with providing items or services under medical assistance
[49.49(1)(b)1.]

Soliciting or receiving a kickback, bribe or rebate in connection with providing medical assistance
[49.49(2)(a)]

Offering or paying a kickback, bribe or rebate in connection with providing medical assistance
[49.49(2)(b)]

Fraudulent certification of qualified medical assistance facilities [49.49(3)]

Improper charging by a provider for medical assistance services [49.49(3m)(b)]

Improper charging by a facility for medical assistance services [49.49(4)(b)]

Violation of a rule relating to prescription drug assistance for elderly persons [49.688(9)(b)]

lllegal use of food stamps with a value over $100, but is less than $5,000, second and subsequent of-
fenses [49.795(8)(b)2.]

lllegal intent to secure public assistance if the value exceeds $5,000 but does not exceed $10,000
[49.95(1)(e)]

False statement related to emergency mental health detentions [51.15(12)]

False statement related to protective services placements [55.06(11)(am)]

False statement related to securing or assisting in the securing of housing for persons of low income in
order to receive more than $25,000 [66.1207(1)(c)]

False income tax return; fraud [71.83(2)(b)1.]

Officer of a corporation; false franchise or income tax return [71.83(2)(b)2.]

Fraudulent claim for tax credit [71.83(2)(b)4.]



Class H Felonies (continued)

26.
217.
28.
29.

30.
31
32.
33.
34.
35.
36.
37.
38.

39.
40.
41.
42.
43.
44,

45,

46.

47.

48.
49.
50.
51.
52.
53.
54.
55.

56.

57.
58.

59.
60.

61.
62.
63.

Tampering with road signs if the tampering results in the death of a person [86.192(4)]

Use of meat from dead or diseased animals [97.43(4)]

Violation of horsemeat labeling requirements [97.45(2)]

Knowingly making a false statement in an application for a certificate of title for a mobile home
[101.9204(2)]

False statement related to aircraft registration [114.20(18)(c)]

Injury by providing alcohol beverages to a minor [125.075(2)(a)]

Impersonating an agent, inspector or employee of DOR or DOJ in commission of a crime [125.105(2)(b)]

Trafficking in counterfeit trademarks and other commercial marks with intent to deceive [132.20(2)]

Unlawful contracts or conspiracies in restraint of trade or commerce [133.03(1)]

Monopolization of any part of trade or commerce [133.03(2)]

Fraudulent issuance or use of warehouse receipts or bills of lading [134.20(1)(intro)]

Issuance of warehouse receipts without entering item into register with intent to defraud [134.205(4)]

Possessing a schedule | or Il controlled substance or ketamine or flunitrazepam not bearing drug tax
stamp [139.95(2)]

Sale of human organs for transplantation prohibited [146.345(3)]

Female genital mutilation [146.35(5)]

Filing of false 911 report [146.70(10)(a)]

False statement related to a motor vehicle salvage dealer license [218.21(7)]

Theft by bank employee or officer [221.0636(2)]

Violation of statutes related to the Women, Infant and Children program, second or subsequent viola-
tion [253.06(4)(b)]

Transportation of hazardous waste to an unlicensed facility or site, and storage, treatment, transporta-
tion or disposal of any hazardous waste without a license [291.97(2)(b) (intro)]

Failure to comply with sex offender registration requirements, 2nd or subsequent offenses
[301.45(6)(a)2]

Unlawful transfer of license plates, insert tag, decal or other evidence of registration or the transfer of
counterfeit, forged or fictitious license plates, insert tag, decal or other evidence of registration.
[341.605(3)]

False statement in an application for a vehicle title [342.06(2)]

Failing to obtain title for salvage vehicle, with intent to defraud [342.065(4)(b)]

Violation of mileage disclosure requirements with intent to defraud [342.155(4)(b)]

Transfers of leased vehicles, with intent to defraud [342.156(6)(b)]

Alteration of vehicle identification number [342.30(3)(a)]

Counterfeiting and unlawful possession of certificate of title [342.32(3)]

Fleeing an officer resulting in bodily harm, or damage to property [346.17(3)(b)]

Operating a motor vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug, five or more violations
[346.65(2)(e)]

Striking a person or attended or occupied vehicle and not remaining at the scene if the accident involves
death [346.74(5)(d)]

Causing death or injury by interfering with snowmobile route or trail sign or standard [350.11(2m)]

Delivery or possession with intent to manufacture or deliver a prescription drug in violation of the
Pharmacy Examining Board statutes [450.11(9)(b)]

lllegal delivery of poisons [450.14(5)]

Placing of prescription drugs: (a) in public place; or (b) upon private premises without consent of owner
or occupant [450.15(2)]

Willful violation of securities law [551.58(1)]

Willful violation of corporate take-over laws [552.19(1)]

Tampering with race animals; illegal killing of race dogs; counterfeiting race tickets with intent to de-
fraud; illegal race activities [562.13(4)]
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Class H Felonies (continued)

64.

65.
66.
67.
68.
69.
70.

71.

72.
73.
74.
75.
76.

7.
78.
79.
80.

81.
82.

83.

84.
85.

86.
87.
88.
89.
90.
91

92.
93.
94.
95.

96.
97.

98.
99.

100.
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Willful violation or failure to comply with statutes or false statements related to employee welfare funds
[641.19(4)(a)]

Willful and unlawful use of employee welfare funds [641.19(4)(b)]

Failure or neglect to respond to a writ of mandamus [783.07]

Solicitation to commit a felony (other than a Class A or Class E felony) [939.30(1)]

Abortion ("feticide") by a person other than the pregnant woman [940.04(1)]

Assisting suicide [940.12]

Aggravated battery (causing great bodily harm to another by an act done with intent to cause bodily
harm; or causing bodily harm to another by conduct that creates a substantial risk of great bodily
harm) [940.19(4)&(6)]

Aggravated battery to an unborn child (causing great bodily harm to an unborn child by an act done
with intent to cause bodily harm; or causing bodily harm to an unborn child by conduct that creates a
substantial risk of great bodily harm) [940.195 (4)&(6)]

Battery by prisoners [940.20(1)]

Battery to law enforcement officers and fire fighters [940.20(2)]

Battery to probation and parole agents and aftercare agents [940.20(2m)]

Battery to jurors [940.20(3)]

Battery to an emergency department worker, an emergency medical technician, a first responder or an
ambulance driver [940.20(7)(b)]

Battery or threat to witnesses [940.201]

Battery or threat to a judge [940.203]

Battery or threat to a Department of Revenue employee [940.205]

Battery or threat to a Department of Commerce or Department of Workforce Development employee
[940.207]

Intentional abuse of vulnerable adults under circumstances that cause bodily harm [940.285(2)(b)2]

Intentionally abusing or neglecting patients or residents of certain facilities under circumstances that
cause bodily harm [940.295(3)(b)2]

Reckless or negligent abuse or neglect of patients or residents of certain facilities under circumstances
that cause great bodily harm [940.295(3)(b)3]

False imprisonment [940.30]

Stalking (if the defendant intentionally gains access to certain records in order to facilitate the violation
or if the defendant has a prior stalking or harassment conviction) [940.32(2m)]

Unsafe burning of buildings [941.11]

Disarming a peace officer [941.21]

Selling, possessing, using or transporting a machine gun [941.26(2)(a)]

Sale or commercial transportation of a tear gas device [941.26(2)(e)]

Using a tear gas device to cause bodily harm or bodily discomfort to a peace officer [941.26(2)(f)]

Using or threatening to use a tear gas or pepper spray device during commission of a crime to cause
bodily harm or bodily discomfort to another [941.26(2)(g)&(4)(e)]

Using pepper spray device to cause bodily harm or bodily discomfort to a peace officer [941.26(4)(d)]

Selling, transporting or possessing a short-barreled shotgun or rifle [941.28]

Selling, manufacturing or possessing an electric weapon [941.295]

Using or possessing a handgun with armor-piercing bullets during the commission of certain crimes
[941.296]

Selling, delivering or possessing a firearm silencer [941.298]

Making, transferring, possessing or using an improvised explosive device or possessing materials or
components with intent to assemble an improvised explosive device [941.31(2)]

Unlawful delivery or distribution of nitrous oxide [941.315(3)]

Creating a high probability of great bodily harm to another by tampering with household products
[941.327(2)(b)2]

Arson with intent to defraud [943.04]



Class H Felonies (continued)

101.
102.
103.
104.
105.

106.

107.

108.
109.
110.
111.
112.
113.
114.

115.
116.
117.
118.

119.
120.
121.

122.
123.
124.
125.
126.
127.
128.

129.
130.
131
132.
133.
134.
135.
136.

137.

138.

Possession, manufacture or transfer of a fire bomb [943.06]

Theft (if the value of the property exceeds $5,000 but does not exceed $10,000) [943.20(3)(bm)]

Theft (under certain circumstances) [943.20(3)(d)]

Misappropriation of personal identifying information or personal identification documents [943.201(2)]

Unlawful transfer of recorded sounds if involving at least 1,000 recordings or if the transferred sounds
are replayed by others from the Internet at least 1,000 times during a 180-day period or after the person
has been convicted of such unlawful transfer [943.207(3m)(c)]

Recording performance without consent of performance owner if involving at least 1,000 sound re-
cordings or 100 audiovisual recordings during a 180-day period or after the person has been convicted
of such recording [943.208(2)(c)]

Failure to disclose manufacturer of a recording if involving at least 100 recordings during a 180-day pe-
riod or after the person has been convicted of failure to disclose the manufacturer of a recording
[943.209(2)(c)]

Taking and driving a motor vehicle without the owner’s consent [943.23(2)]

Threats to injure or accuse of a crime (extortion) [943.30]

Receiving stolen property (if the value exceeds $5,000 but does not exceed $10,000) [943.34(1)(bm)]

Forgery of certain documents; uttering certain forged documents [943.38(1)&(2)]

Fraudulent writings [943.39]

Fraudulent destruction of certain writings [943.40]

Fraudulent use of financial transaction cards (if the value of the money, goods, services, or property ex-
ceeds $5,000 but does not exceed $10,000 within a period not exceeding six months) [943.41(8)(c)]

Retail theft (if the value of the merchandise exceeds $5,000 but does not exceed $10,000) [943.50(4)(bm)]

Criminal slander of title [943.60]

Theft of library material (if the value of the library materials exceeds $2,500) [943.61(5)(c)]

Crime against computers (if the damage is greater than $2,500 to the computer, computer system com-
puter network, equipment or supplies) [943.70(3)(b)3]

Unauthorized release of animals lawfully confined without consent [943.75(2m)]

Infecting animals with a contagious disease (threat) [943.76(4)]

Obscene material or performance (if the person has two or more prior obscenity convictions or if the
violation is for a wholesale transfer or distribution of obscene material) [944.21(5)(c)&(e)]

Soliciting prostitutes [944.32]

Keeping a place of prostitution [944.34]

Bribery of a participant in a contest [945.08]

Bribery of public officers and employees [946.10]

Perjury [946.31]

False swearing [946.32(1)]

Obstructing an officer (by giving or providing information or evidence that results in the conviction of
innocent person) [946.41(2m)]

Felony escape [946.42(3)]

Felony failure to report to jail [946.425(1), (1m)(b)&(1r)(b)]

Assisting or permitting escape [946.44(1)]

False information regarding kidnapped or missing persons [946.48]

Felony bail jumping [946.49(1)(b)]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class H felony [946.50(5p)]

Bribery of a witness [946.61]

Simulating legal process (if the act is meant to induce payment of a claim or simulates any criminal
process) [946.68(1r)(b)&(c)]

Impersonating a peace officer with intent to commit a crime or aid and abet commission of a crime
[946.70(2)]

Tampering with public records [946.72(1)]
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Class H Felonies (continued)

139.

140.

141.
142.

143.
144.
145.
146.
147.
148.
149.
150.
151.
152.
153.
154.
155.

156.

157.

158.

159.

160.

161.

162.

163.

164.

165.
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Aiding escape from mental institution (with intent to commit a crime against sexual morality with or
upon the inmate of the institution) [946.74(2)]

Harassment (if defendant has a prior conviction for certain offenses or intentionally gains access to cer-
tain records in order to facilitate the violation) [947.013(1v)&(1x)]

Physical abuse of a child (intentionally causing bodily harm) [948.03(2)(b)]

Physical abuse of a child (recklessly causing bodily harm to a child by conduct which creates a high
probability of great bodily harm) [948.03(3)(c)]

Failing to act to prevent bodily harm to a child [948.03(4)(b)]

Causing a child between the ages of 13 and 17 to view or listen to sexual activity [948.055(2)(b)]

Sexual assault of a student by a school instructional staff person [948.095]

Unauthorized placement for adoption [948.24]

Contributing to the delinquency of a child (if the child’s act which is encouraged or contributed to is a
violation of a criminal law punishable as a felony) [948.40(4)(b)]

Hazing (if the act results in great bodily harm) [948.51(3)(b)]

Selling or giving a dangerous weapon to a person under 18 (if the person under 18 years of age dis-
charges the firearm and the discharge causes death of any person) [948.60(2)(c)]

Receiving stolen property from a child (if the value of the property exceeds $2,500 but does not exceed
$5,000) [948.62(1)(bm)]

Instigating fights between animals (2nd or subsequent violation) [951.18(2)]

Harassment of police or fire department animals (causing death to the animal) [951.18(2m)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of any other controlled substance included in schedule I, 1l or IlI,
or a controlled substance analog of any other controlled substance included in schedule 1 or Il
[961.41(1)(b)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of THC, more than 200 grams but not more than 1,000 grams, or
more than four plants containing THC but not more than 20 plants containing THC [961.41(1)(h)2.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of a substance included in schedule 1V, except flunitrazepam
[961.42(2)(i)]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver any other controlled substance included in
schedule I, 11 or 11, or a controlled substance analog of a controlled substance included in schedule I or
11 [961.41(1m)(b)]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver THC, more than 200 grams but not more
than 1,000 grams, or more than four plants containing THC but not more than 20 plants containing
THC [961.41(1m)(h)2.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver a substance included in schedule 1V, except
flunitrazepam [961.41(1m)(i)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of or intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver, any other coun-
terfeit substance included in schedule I, II, 111 or 1V [961.41(2)(b)]

Possession or attempted possession of gamma-hydroxybutyric acid (GHB), gamma-butyrolactone, keta-
mine or flunitrazepam [961.41(3g)(f)]

Acquire or obtain a controlled substance by misrepresentation, fraud, forgery, deception or subterfuge
[961.43(2)]

Possession or disposal of waste from manufacture of methamphetamine, first offense [961.437(4)(a)]

Use of, or possession with primary intent to use, drug paraphernalia to manufacture, compound, con-
vert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack or store methamphetamine or an analog of
methamphetamine [961.573(3)]

Delivery, possession with intent to deliver, or manufacture with intent to deliver drug paraphernalia
used to manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack repack or store
methamphetamine or an analog of methamphetamine [961.574(3)]

Illegal interception and disclosure of wire, electronic or oral communications [968.31(1)(intro)]



Class H Felonies (continued)

166.

Violation of an oath by a stenographic reporter or typewriter operator in connection with a grand jury
[968.43(3)]

Class | Felonies

No okowbdE

10.
11.

12.

13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.

20.

21.

22.
23.
24.
25.
26.

27.
28.
29.
30.

31
32.
33.
34.
35.
36.

Criminal violations of campaign finance statutes [11.61(1)(a) and (b)]

Criminal violations of elections statutes [12.60(1)(a)]

Logrolling by members of the Legislature prohibited [13.05]

Granting of executive favor by members of the Legislature prohibited [13.06]

Possession of fish with a value exceeding $1,000 in violation of statutes [29.971(1)(c)]

Possession of clams with a value exceeding $1,000 in violation of statutes [29.971(1m)(c)]

Failure to render aid in a boating accident that involves injury to a person and the person suffers great
bodily harm [30.80(2g)(c)]

Improper release of mines and explored mine land information by employees of the Geological and
Natural History Survey or Department of Revenue [36.25(6)(d)]

Employment discrimination against an individual to a levy associated with aids to families with de-
pendent children or Wisconsin Works programs. [49.195(3n)(r)]

lllegal use of food stamps with a value over $100, but is less than $5,000, first offense [49.795(8)(a)2.]

lllegal intent to secure public assistance if the value exceeds $2,000 but does not exceed $5,000
[49.95(1)(d)]

False statement related to securing or assisting in the securing of housing for persons of low income in
order to receive at least $2,500 but not more than $25,000 [66.1207(1)(b)]

Fraudulent or destroyed vital statistical record [69.24(1)(intro)]

Tampering with records of the Board of Review with intent to injure or defraud [70.47(18)(a)]

Income tax evasion [71.83(2)(b)3.]

Intentional violation of prize notification laws [100.171(7)(b)]

Violation of commission merchant duties and responsibilities [100.26(2)]

Illegal handling and storage of anhydrous ammonia [101.10(4)(b)]

Intent to evade collection of uninsured employer levies under the worker’s compensation law
[102.835(11)]

Violation of an order to cease operation because of a lack of worker’s compensation insurance
[102.85(3)]

Evading collection of unemployment compensation levies under employment compensation law
[108.225(11)]

Receiving money or other considerations for providing false proof of age [125.085(3)(a)2.]

Unauthorized use of armed persons to protect persons or property or to suppress strikes [134.58]

Unlawful possession of cigarettes if the number exceeds 36,000 [139.44(8)(c)]

Knowing and willful failure to report release of a hazardous substance, first offense [166.20(11)(b)1.]

Knowing and willful failure to report release of a hazardous substance, second and subsequent offenses
[166.20(11)(b)2.]

Filing of a false document with DFI, business corporation [180.0129(2)]

Filing of a false document with DFI, nonstock corporations [181.0129(2)]

Filing of a false document with DFI, cooperatives [185.825]

Fraudulently obtaining or using a certificate of authority to issue any security by a public service corpo-
ration [201.09(2)]

Illegal disclosure of information by employees of the Division of Savings and Loans [215.02(6)(b)]

Giving or accepting money for loans, savings and loans [215.21(21)]

lllegal disclosure of information by employees of the Division of Banking [220.06(2)]

Illegal commission to bank office and employees [221.0637(2)]

Violation of statutes related to the Women, Infant and Children Program, first violation [253.06(4)(b)]

Intentional violations of air pollution statutes and rules, second and subsequent convictions
[285.87(2)(b)]
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Class I Felonies (continued)

37.
38.
39.
40.
41.
42.

43.
44,

45,
46.
47.

48.
49.
50.
51.
52.

53.

54.
55.
56.
57.
58.
59.

60.

61.
62.

63.

64.

65.
66.
67.
68.
69.

70.
71.
72.
73.
74.

75.
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Second or subsequent violation of hazardous waste handling reporting requirements [291.97(2)(c)1.]

False statement to DNR related to used oil facilities, second or subsequent violations [299.53(4)(c)2.]

Illegal delivery of articles to inmates by prison or jail employees [302.095(2)]

Fleeing an officer [346.17(3)(a)]

Negligent use of a vehicle causing great bodily harm [346.65(5)]

Striking a person or attended or occupied vehicle and not remaining at the scene if the accident involves
injury to a person and the person suffers great bodily harm [346.74(5)(c)]

Violation of Dental Examining Board statutes, second or subsequent offenses [447.09]

Facilitation of off-track wagering and possession of fraudulent wagering tickets with intent to defraud
[562.13(3)]

Forged or altered lottery ticket [565.50(2)]

Intentional violation of any insurance statute or rule [601.64(4)]

Intentional violation of an injunction ordering a respondent to strictly comply with a judgment or order
related to a physical placement [767.242(8)]

Solicitation to commit a Class | felony [939.30(2)]

Violation of conditions of lifetime supervision (if the violation also constitutes a felony) [939.615(7)(b)2]

Abortion by a pregnant woman [940.04(4)]

Abortion (various prohibitions) [940.15]

Aggravated battery (causing substantial bodily harm to another by an act done with intent to cause bod-
ily harm) [940.19(2)]

Aggravated battery to an unborn child (causing substantial bodily harm to an unborn child by an act
done with intent to cause bodily harm) [940.195(2)]

Battery by a person subject to certain injunctions [940.20(1m)]

Battery to public officers [940.20(4)]

Battery to a technical college district or school district officer or employee [940.20(5)]

Battery to a public transit vehicle operator or passenger [940.20(6)]

Injury by negligent handling of a dangerous weapon, explosives or fire [940.24]

Abuse of vulnerable adults (reckless or negligent maltreatment under circumstances that are likely to
cause great bodily harm) [940.285(2)(b)1r]

Intentional abuse of vulnerable adults under circumstances that are likely to cause bodily harm
[940.285(2)(b)2]

Abuse of residents of penal facilities [940.29]

Intentionally abusing or neglecting patients or residents of certain facilities under circumstances that are
likely to cause bodily harm [940.295(3)(b)2]

Reckless or negligent abuse or neglect of patients or residents of certain facilities under circumstance
that are likely to cause great bodily harm [940.295(3)(b)3]

Stalking (if the victim suffers fear of bodily injury or death, or defendant has certain prior convictions
against same victim) [940.32(2)&(2e)]

Interfering with fire fighters or a fire alarm system [941.12(1)]

Placing foreign objects in edibles [941.325]

Tampering with household products [941.327(2)(b)1]

False information concerning an act that constitutes tampering with household products [941.327(3)]

Obstructing emergency or medical personnel with reasonable grounds to believe that the interference
may endanger another’s safety [941.37]

Soliciting a child to participate in criminal gang activity [941.38(2)]

Unlawful visual representations of nudity [942.09]

Damage to certain property [943.01(2)]

Criminal damage to plant research and development [943.01(2d)]

Criminal damage to certain coin—-operated or card-operated machines with intent to commit theft
[943.01(29)]

Damage or threat to damage property of a witness [943.011(2)]



Class I Felonies (continued)

76.
7.
78.
79.
80.
81.
82.
83.
84.
85.

86.

87.

88.

89.
90.
91.
92.
93.

94.
95.
96.
97.

98.
99.

100.
101.
102.
103.
104.
105.
106.
107.
108.
109.
110.

111.
112.

Criminal damage to or graffiti on religious and other property [943.012]

Criminal damage to property of a judge [943.013(2)]

Criminal damage to property of a Department of Revenue employee [943.015]

Graffiti to certain property [943.017(2)]

Graffiti to property of a witness [943.017(2m)(b)]

Arson of property other than a building [943.03]

Possession of burglarious tools [943.12]

Theft (if the value of the property exceeds $2,500 but does not exceed $5,000) [943.20(3)(bf)]

Theft of trade secrets [943.205]

Unauthorized transfer of recorded sounds if fewer than 1,000 records during a 180-day period and the
value exceeds $2,500 [943.207(3m)(b)]

Recording performance without consent of performance owner if involving fewer than 1,000 sound re-
cordings or 100 audiovisual recordings during a 180-day period and the value exceeds $2,500
[943.208(2)(b)]

Failure to disclose manufacturer of recording if fewer than 100 recordings during a 180-day period and
the value exceeds $2,500 [943.209(2)(b)]

Fraud on a hotel or restaurant keeper or taxicab operator (if the value of the service exceeds $2,500)
[943.21(3)(b)]

Operating a vehicle without owner’s consent [943.23(3)]

Removing a major part of a vehicle without owner’s consent [943.23(5)]

Issuing worthless checks for more than $2,500 [943.24(2)]

Transfer of encumbered property [943.25]

Removing or damaging encumbered real property (if the security is impaired by more than $1,000)
[943.26(2)]

Possession of records of certain usurious loans [943.27]

Threats to communicate derogatory information [943.31]

Receiving stolen property (if the value exceeds $2,500 but does not exceed $5,000) [943.34(1)(bf)]

Fraudulent insurance or employee benefit claim (if the value of the claim or benefit exceeds $2,500)
[943.395(2)(b)]

Certain financial transaction card crimes [943.41(8)(b)]

Fraudulent use of financial transaction cards (if the value of the money, goods, services or property ex-
ceeds $2,500 but does not exceed $5,000 within a period not exceeding six months) [943.41(8)(c)]

Theft of telecommunications service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial
gain as a 2nd or subsequent offense) [943.45(3)(d)]

Theft of commercial mobile service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain
as a 2nd or subsequent offense) [943.455(4)(d)]

Theft of cable television service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain as
a 2nd or subsequent offense) [943.46(4)(d)]

Theft of satellite cable programming (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial
gain as a 2nd or subsequent offense) [943.47(3)(d)]

Use of recording device in a movie theatre without written consent (2nd or subsequent offense)
[943.49(2)(b)2]

Retail theft (if the value of the merchandise exceeds $2,500 but does not exceed $5,000) [943.50(4)(bf)]

Computer crime (if the offense is committed to defraud or to obtain property) [943.70(2)(b)2 &(3)(b)2]

Unauthorized release of animals (3rd or subsequent violation) [943.75]

Bigamy [944.05]

Adultery [944.16]

Commercial gambling except if violation involves five or less video gambling machines in a tavern
[945.03(1m)]

Dealing in gambling devices, except if the violation involves a video gambling machine [945.05(1)]

Permitting seditious assembly [946.03(2)]
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Class I Felonies (continued)

113.
114.
115.
116.
117.
118.
119.

120.
121.
122.
123.
124.
125.
126.
127.
128.
129.

130.
131.
132.
133.
134.
135.
136.
137.
138.
139.
140.
141.
142.

143.
144.
145.

146.
147.

148.

149.

150.
151.

152.

153.
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Special privileges from public utilities [946.11]

Misconduct in public office [946.12]

Private interest in public contracts [946.13]

Purchasing claims at less than full value [946.14]

Public construction contracts at less than full rate [946.15(1)&(3)]

Failure to comply with an officer’s attempt to take person into custody [946.415]

Throwing or expelling blood, semen, vomit, saliva, urine, feces or other bodily substance at or toward
an officer, employee or visitor of the prison or facility or another prisoner of the prison or facility by a
prisoner under certain circumstances [946.43(2m)]

Harboring or aiding felons [946.47]

Bail jumping by a witness [946.49(2)]

Absconding after being adjudicated delinquent for a Class | felony [946.50(5t)]

Destruction of documents subject to subpoena [946.60]

Communicating with jurors [946.64]

Obstructing justice [946.65]

Simulating legal process [946.68(1r)(a)]

Falsely assuming to act as a public officer or employee [946.69]

Premature disclosure of search warrant [946.76]

Harassment (if the person had a prior conviction for harassing the same victim that occurred within the
last seven years) [947.013(1t)]

Bomb scares [947.015]

Physical abuse of a child (recklessly causing bodily harm) [948.03(3)(b)]

Exposing a child to harmful material [948.11(2)(a)]

Exposing a child to harmful narratives or descriptions [948.11(2)(am)]

Possession of child pornography [948.12]

Failure to support (for 120 or more consecutive days) [948.22(2)]

Concealing death of child [948.23]

Interference with custody of a child [948.31(2)]

Giving a dangerous weapon to a person under 18 years of age [948.60(2)(b)]

Possession of a gun in a gun free school zone [948.605(2)]

Possession of a dangerous weapon on school premises (2nd or subsequent conviction) [948.61(2)(b)]

Receiving stolen property from a child (if the value exceeds $500 but is less than $2,500) [948.62(1)(b)]

Mistreating an animal (if the mistreatment results in the mutilation, disfigurement or death of the ani-
mal or if the animal is a police or fire department animal and the animal is injured) [951.18(1)]

Instigating fights between animals (1st offense) [951.18(2)]

Harassment of a police or fire department animal and causing injury to the animal [951.18(2m)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of THC, two hundred grams or less, or four or fewer plants
containing THC [961.41(1)(h)1.]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of a substance included in schedule V [961.41(1)(j)]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver THC, two hundred grams or less, or four or
fewer plants containing THC [961.41(1m)(h)1.]

Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver a substance included in schedule V
[961.41(1m)(j)]

Manufacture, distribution or delivery of or intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver, a counterfeit
substance included in schedule V [961.41(2)(d)]

Possession of a narcotic included in schedule I or 11 [961.41(3g)(am)]

Possession or attempted possession of cocaine or cocaine base, second or subsequent offense
[961.41(39)(c)]

Possession or attempted possession of lysergic acid diethylaminde, phencyclidine, amphetamine,
methamphetamine, methcathinone, psilocin or psilocylin, second or subsequent offense [961.41(3g)(d)]

Possession or attempted possession of THC, second or subsequent offense [961.41(3g)(e)]



Class I Felonies (continued)

154.  Distribution or delivery of imitation controlled substance [961.41(4)(am)3.]
155.  Keeping of a drug house [961.42(2)]

156. False statement to qualify for assignment of a Public Defender [977.06(2)(b)]

Unclassified Felonies

1 Intentional disclosure of confidential mental health records for pecuniary gain [51.30(10)(bm)]

2. Intentional disclosure of confidential health care records for pecuniary gain, on or after May 6, 2000
[146.84(2)(c)]

3. Intentional disclosure of confidential blood test results for pecuniary gain, on or after May 6, 2000
[252.15(9)]
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APPENDIX IV

Offenses Included Under "Three Strikes" Law, "Two Strikes" Law,
Parole Eligibility and Mandatory Release

"Three Parole Mandatory
OFFENSE Strikes" "Two Strikes" Eligibility Release
939.62(2m)(b)1 | 939.62(2m)(b)2 973.0135 302.11(1g)
First-degree intentional homicide X X
First-degree reckless homicide X X X
Felony murder (20 yrs in addition) X X X
Second-degree intentional homicide X X X
Homicide by intoxicated use of a vehicle X X X
Partial birth abortion X X
Great bodily harm with intent to cause great bodily harm X X X
(Battery-Aggravated)
Battery to an unborn child causing great bodily harm to an
unborn child with intent to cause great bodily harm X X %
Mayhem X X X
First-degree sexual assault X X X
Second-degree sexual assault X X X
Hostage taking X X
Hostage taking with hostages released without bodily harm X X X
Kidnapping (except not subject to mandatory release if a X X X X
Class A felony)
Product tampering with intent to Kill, injure or endanger
safety or health, or injure or damage business which results X X
in death
Arson of building X X X
Damage of property by explosives X X X
Armed burglary X X X
Carjacking X X X
Carjacking with great bodily harm X X X
Carjacking with death X X
Armed robbery X X X
Assaults by prisoners X X X
First-degree sexual assault of a child (under 13 yrs. old) X X X X
Second-degree sexual assault of a child (13-16 years old) X X X X
Failure to act to prevent sexual assault of a child X
Engaging in repeated sexual assault of the same child X X X X
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"Three Parole Mandatory
OFFENSE Strikes" "Two Strikes" Eligibility Release
939.62(2m)(b)1 | 939.62(2m)(b)2 973.0135 302.11(19g)
Bodily harm to a child
= Great bodily harm X X X
= Bodily harm by conduct with high probability of great
bodily harm X X X
Sexual exploitation of a child X X X X
Causing a child to view or listen to sexual activity X
Incest with a child X X X X
Child enticement X X X X
Using a computer to facilitate a child sex crime X X
Soliciting a child for prostitution X X X X
Sexual assault of a student by a school instructional staff X
person
Abduction of another's child by force X X X X
Abduction of another's child without force X
Solicitation of a child to commit a Class A felony X X X
Solicitation of a child to commit a Class B felony X X X
Use of a child to commit a Class A felony X X X
Solicitation, conspiracy or attempt to commit Class A felony X X X
Manufacturing or delivery of a controlled substance that is a
Class A, B, or C felony or, if the felony was committed X X X
before February 1, 2003, that is or was punishable by a
maximum prison term of 30 or more years
Possession with intent to manufacture or deliver a
controlled substance that is a Class A, B, or C felony or, if
the felony was committed before February 1, 2003, that is or X X X
was punishable by a maximum prison term of 30 or more
years
Conspiracy to manufacture or deliver, or conspiracy to
possess with intent to manufacture or deliver a controlled
substance that is a Class A, B, or C felony or, if the felony X X X
was committed before February 1, 2003, that is or was
punishable by a maximum prison term of 30 or more years
Crime under federal law or the law of another state that is
substantially similar X X X
Prior Wisconsin law that is comparable to current law X X X
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