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Alcohol and Tobacco Taxes 
 
 
 
 
 The state imposes a number of excise and 
occupational taxes on the sale of specific products 
in Wisconsin. An excise tax is a tax on the 
consumer, rather than the seller, while an 
occupational tax is imposed on the privilege of 
engaging in a particular business. State general 
fund excise or occupational taxes are currently 
levied on cigarettes, tobacco products, fermented 
malt beverages (beer), and liquor. Information is 
presented in this paper on the taxes imposed on 
each of these products. In addition, a summary of 
the excise tax rates imposed on alcohol and tobacco 
products by the federal government and other 
states is included in the final sections of the paper. 
[The excise taxes charged on motor vehicle and 
alternate fuel, which are deposited in the 
transportation fund, are described in Legislative 
Fiscal Bureau's informational paper entitled, 
"Motor Vehicle Fuel and Alternate Fuel Tax."] 
   

Taxes on Alcohol and Tobacco In Wisconsin 

Cigarette Tax 
 
  The state imposes an excise tax on the sale of 
cigarettes. The tax rate is generally $1.77 per pack, 
or 88.5 mills per cigarette, although for larger 
cigarettes (weighing more than three pounds per 
thousand) the tax rate is 177 mills per cigarette.  
 
 The tax is paid through the purchase of tax 
stamps from the Department of Revenue (DOR), 
generally by a manufacturer or distributor. The tax 
stamp must be affixed to each pack of cigarettes 
prior to its first sale in the state. Manufacturers and 
distributors receive a 0.7% discount on stamp 
purchases (or tax payments) as compensation for 
their administrative costs. 

 The tax on cigarettes was converted from an 
occupational tax to an excise tax in 1983. This 
change allowed the state to impose the tax on sales 
of cigarettes made by Native Americans to non-
Native Americans on reservations. Currently, the 
state has agreements with most Native American 
tribes through which Native American retailers 
purchase and sell only stamped (taxed) cigarettes. 
The state then provides a refund to the tribes of 
70% of the tax paid on sales to non-Native 
Americans and 100% of the tax paid on sales to 
Native Americans (federal law prohibits states 
from imposing a cigarette tax on sales by Native 
Americans to Native Americans on reservations). 
The refund provision was enacted to encourage 
Native American retailers to sell only stamped 
cigarettes. Previously, unstamped cigarettes were 
sold on reservations, which raised concern 
regarding competition and the administration and 
collection of taxes for sales to non-Native 
Americans. The refund provision was enacted as 
part of the 1983-85 biennial budget (1983 Act 27). 
 
 Since 1980 when the cigarette tax was generally 
16¢ per pack, the cigarette tax rate has been raised 
eight times to its current rate of $1.77 per pack; 
established in 2007 Act 20 (the 2007-09 biennial 
budget act), effective January 1, 2008. Changes in 
the cigarette tax rate since the early 1980s are 
outlined below:     
 
 Aug. 1, 1981 - April 30, 1982 20¢ 
 May 1, 1982 - Aug. 31, 1987 25¢ 
 Sept. 1, 1987 - April 30, 1992 30¢ 
 May 1, 1992 - Aug. 31, 1995 38¢  
 Sept. 1, 1995 - Oct. 31, 1997 44¢ 
 Nov. 1, 1997 - Sept. 30, 2001 59¢ 
 Oct. 1, 2001 - Dec. 31, 2007 77¢ 
 Jan. 1, 2008 - Present $1.77 

 
 Table 1 presents a summary of cigarette tax 
collections since 1997-98. Revenue "spikes" from 



 

 
 
2 

the cigarette excise tax have been due to tax 
increases, rather than increased volume of sales. 
The 53.9% increase in revenues from the cigarette 
tax realized in state fiscal year 2007-08, for 
example, followed a $1.00 increase in the tax rate 
that took effect on January 1, 2008. In contrast, the 
number of packs of cigarettes for which tax stamps 
were purchased in that year dropped by over 9% 
from 2006-07. The same pattern holds for the 
revenue increases that were realized in fiscal years 
1997-98 and 2001-02 -- while cigarette tax revenues 
increased, following a tax increase, cigarette 
consumption declined.  

 
 In years in which there has been no tax increase, 
there have been either moderate increases or de-
creases in cigarette tax revenues. In fiscal years 
2005-06 and 2006-07, tax revenues increased by 
2.4% and decreased by 1.8%, respectively, over the 
previous year. On a national level, according to the 
U.S. Department of Agriculture's Economic Re-
search Service, cigarette consumption is estimated 
to have declined by an average of 2.6% annually 
since 1997. 
 
 Tobacco manufacturers raised cigarette prices 
significantly following massive legal settlements 
with state governments, including a multi-state 
settlement in November, 1998. These price 
increases, along with federal tax increases of 10¢ 
per pack on January 1, 2000, and 5¢ per pack on 
January 1, 2002, contributed to reduced cigarette 

consumption in the state. (The last increase 
brought the federal cigarette excise tax to 39¢ per 
pack.)   
 
 1997 Act 27 reduced the discount on stamp pur-
chases for manufacturers and distributors from 2% 
to 1.6%. The discount was further reduced by 2007 
Act 20 from 1.6% to 0.7%. As mentioned, the dis-
count is provided to manufacturers and distribu-
tors as compensation for their administrative costs 
associated with the tax. The decrease in the rate of 
the discount was enacted to keep the total discount 
at approximately the same level it was prior to 
these increases in the cigarette tax rate. 
 
 2005 Act 25 authorized direct marketing of 
cigarettes to consumers in this state if a direct 
marketer meets certain requirements. Under prior 
law, direct marketing of cigarettes to Wisconsin 
consumers was prohibited unless the seller had a 
valid municipal retail permit for the municipality 
into which each sale was made. Act 25 authorized 
direct marketing for a direct marketer that registers 
with DOR and certifies that the direct marketer will 
sell only stamped cigarettes. In addition, the direct 
marketer must verify consumer names, addresses, 
and ages, and comply with certain other 
administrative requirements, including certain 
provisions that also apply to licensed cigarette 
distributors. The provisions took effect July 27, 
2005. To date, there have been no direct marketers 
requesting to register under these provisions. 
 

Tobacco Products Tax 
 

 The state imposes an excise tax on the sale of all 
tobacco products except cigarettes. The tax rate is 
charged at $1.31 per ounce of moist snuff and 50% 
of the manufacturer's list price for all other tobacco 
products, paid by distributors. The general tax rate 
was raised to its current level from 25% of the 
manufacturer's list price on January 1, 2008 
pursuant to 2007 Act 20. Act 20 also created the 
separate tax rate for moist snuff. The tax is paid on 
the basis of monthly returns filed with the 
Department of Revenue. Table 2 shows tobacco 
products tax collections since 1997-98.  

 

   Table 1:  Cigarette Tax Collections ($ in Millions) 
 
  Percent Percent of 
    Fiscal  Change From General Fund 
     Year Amount Prior Year Tax Collections 
 
   1997-98 $247.74 21.1% 2.60% 
   1998-99 257.42 3.9 2.59 
   1999-00 247.59 -3.8 2.26 
   2000-01 243.51 -1.6 2.42 
   2001-02 288.77 18.6 2.88 
   2002-03 293.70 1.7 2.88 
   2003-04 291.32 -0.8 2.71 
   2004-05 294.30 1.0 2.58 
   2005-06 301.49 2.4 2.51 
   2006-07 296.13 -1.8 2.35 
   2007-08 455.72 53.9 3.49 
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   Table 2:  Tobacco Products Tax Collections   
   ($ in Millions) 
  Percent Percent of 
   Fiscal  Change From General Fund 
   Year Amount Prior Year Tax Collections 
 
   1997-98 $9.35 6.5% 0.10% 
   1998-99 9.40 0.5 0.09 
   1999-00 10.31 9.7 0.09 
   2000-01 11.36 10.2 0.11 
   2001-02 13.93 22.7 0.14  
   2002-03 15.51 11.3 0.15 
   2003-04 16.10 3.8 0.15 
   2004-05 15.84 -1.6 0.14 
   2005-06 16.42 3.7 0.14 
   2006-07 17.52 6.7 0.14 
   2007-08 29.75 69.8 0.23 
 

 
 The tax on tobacco products was converted 
from an occupational tax to an excise tax under 
1999 Act 9 (the 1999-01 biennial budget act). Prior 
to Act 9, it was common for distributors to sell 
untaxed tobacco products to Native American 
retailers and to claim exemptions from the tax for 
such sales when filing tax returns with DOR. Act 9 
specified that all tobacco products were subject to 
the tax unless specifically exempted, and imposed 
penalties on distributors who failed to collect and 
remit the appropriate tax. These changes meant 
that tribal retailers would no longer be able to 
purchase untaxed tobacco products. However, Act 
9 authorized the Department to enter into 
agreements with the tribes to refund 100% of 
tobacco products taxes paid on sales to tribal 
members on reservations and 50% of such taxes 
paid on sales to non-tribal members. Although the 
refund rates for sales to non-tribal members differ, 
the provisions for tobacco products tax refunds are 
comparable to those for cigarette tax refunds to the 
tribes. 

 
 The tax on tobacco products was established at 
20% of the manufacturer's list price in Chapter 20, 
Laws of 1981, effective October 1, 1981. The tax rate 
was increased under 2001 Act 16 to 25% of the 
manufacturer's list price effective October 1, 2001. 
Between 1997-98 and 2007-08, collections ranged 
from $9.4 million to $29.8 million. Unlike the other 
state excise and occupational taxes which are 
imposed as a fixed amount per unit of product, the 

tobacco products tax was levied as a percentage of 
price. Therefore, collections of the tobacco products 
tax increased over time as prices rose. The 
conversion of moist snuff to a unit tax should 
mitigate some of this higher annual increase in 
collections as compared to other state occupational 
and excise tax revenues. The largest annual 
increases in revenues from the tax over this period, 
22.7% in 2001-02 and 69.8% in 2007-08, reflect 
implementation of the higher 25% rate over the last 
nine months of 2001-02 and the higher 50% rate on 
tobacco products and the $1.31 tax per ounce of 
moist snuff over the last six months of 2007-08. 
 
Liquor, Wine, and Cider Taxes 
 
 The state imposes occupational taxes on the sale 
of liquor, wine, and fermented cider. As shown in 
Table 3, the tax rates for liquor, wine, and cider are 
as follows: (a) liquor -- 85.86¢ per liter; (b) wine 
containing up to 14% alcohol by volume -- 6.605¢ 
per liter; (c) wine containing more than 14% but not 
in excess of 21% alcohol by volume -- 11.89¢ per 
liter; and (d) cider containing between 0.5% and 
7.0% alcohol-- 1.71¢ per liter. Table 3 summarizes 
the statutory rates per liter as well as the equivalent 
per gallon rates. 

 In addition to the tax on liquor described above, 
an administrative fee of 11¢/gallon is also 
imposed. The administrative fee was increased 
from 3¢ per gallon under 2005 Act 25, effective 
August 15, 2005. The fee, which is paid by 
distributors along with liquor taxes, is deposited to 

 
   Table 3:  Liquor, Wine and Cider Tax Rates 
 
 Tax Rate Tax Rate 
    Beverage Per Liter Per Gallon 
 
    Liquor* 85.86¢ $3.25 
    Wine 
      Up to 14% Alcohol 6.605 0.25 
      14% to 21% Alcohol 11.89 0.45 
 
    Cider 1.71 0.06 
 
   *Excludes administrative fee of 11¢/gallon that is levied by the 
Department of Revenue.  
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a program revenue appropriation and used for 
computer, audit, and enforcement costs incurred 
by the Department in administering the state liquor 
tax and enforcing the three-tier system for alcohol 
beverage production, distribution, and sale.  
 
 Liquor, wine, and cider taxes are collected 
through monthly payments by distributors and 
out-of-state direct shippers, based on the actual tax 
liability for the previous month. The tax payments 
and a tax return are due on the 15th day of each 
month.  
 
 The tax on hard cider was established under 
1997 Act 136, effective July 1, 1998. For the purpose 
of the tax, "cider" means an alcoholic beverage 
made from fermented apple juice that contains 
0.5% to 7.0% alcohol by volume. Cider containing a 
greater amount of alcohol is taxed as wine.  
 
 Other than the tax on cider, the occupational tax 
on liquor and wine has not been modified since 
Chapter 20, Laws of 1981, effective August 1, 1981. 
A summary of liquor and wine tax revenues since 
1997-98 is presented in Table 4.  
 
   Table 4:  Liquor and Wine Tax Collections 
   ($ in Millions) 
  Percent Percent of 
   Fiscal  Change From General Fund 
   Year Amount Prior Year Tax Collections 
   
   1997-98 $32.73 4.4% 0.34% 
   1998-99 32.94 0.6 0.33 
   1999-00 34.56 4.9 0.32 
   2000-01 35.54 2.8 0.35 
   2001-02 35.98 1.2 0.36 
   2002-03 36.04 0.2 0.35 
   2003-04 38.47 6.7 0.36 
   2004-05 39.53 2.8 0.35 
   2005-06 41.02 3.8 0.34 
   2006-07 42.67 4.0 0.34 
   2007-08 45.17 5.8 0.35 
 
Beer Tax 
 
 An occupational tax is imposed by the state on 
the sale of beer. The tax rate is $2 per barrel of 31 
gallons, or approximately 6.5¢ per gallon. A 50% 
tax credit on the first 50,000 barrels produced is 
available to brewers who produce less than 300,000 

barrels per year. The tax is paid by brewers, 
bottlers, and wholesalers on a monthly basis. 
 
 The tax on beer was established at its current $2 
per barrel level in Chapter 185, Laws of 1969. A 
summary of recent collection amounts is presented 
in Table 5. 
 
   Table 5:  Beer Tax Collections ($ in Millions) 
 
  Percent Percent of  
    Fiscal  Change From General Fund  
     Year Amount Prior Year Tax Collections 
 
   1997-98 $9.26 0.6% 0.10% 
   1998-99 9.16 -1.1 0.09 
   1999-00 9.39 2.5 0.09 
   2000-01 9.36 -0.3 0.09 
   2001-02 9.60 2.5 0.10 
   2002-03 9.52 -0.8 0.09 
   2003-04 9.60 0.9 0.09 
   2004-05 9.77 1.8 0.09 
   2005-06 9.76 -0.1 0.08 
   2006-07 9.53 -2.4 0.08 
   2007-08 9.62 1.0 0.07 
 

 

Federal Taxes on Alcohol and Tobacco 

 
 The federal excise tax on cigarettes is currently 
39¢ per pack. This rate took effect on January 1, 
2002. Previous per-pack federal excise tax rates, 
and the periods in which those rates were in effect, 
are as follows:     
 

 Prior to Jan. 1, 1991 16¢ 
 Jan. 1, 1991 - Dec. 31, 1992 20¢ 
 Jan. 1, 1993 - Dec. 31, 1999 24¢  
 Jan. 1, 2000  - Dec. 31, 2001 34¢ 
 
 The current federal taxes on tobacco products 
are as follows: 
 

Snuff 58.5¢ per pound 
Chewing Tobacco 19.5¢ per pound 
Pipe Tobacco $1.0969 per pound 
Roll-Your-Own 
   Tobacco $1.0969 per pound 
Small Cigars $1.828 per 1,000 
Large Cigars 20.719% of wholesale price 

but not more than $48.75 per 
1,000 
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 These rates took effect January 1, 2002, and are 
higher than the previous tax rates. 

 The federal liquor tax is $13.50 per proof gallon 
(one gallon of 100 proof liquor). For example, a 
gallon of 80 proof alcohol is taxed at $10.80 (80% of 
$13.50). The Wisconsin liquor tax, in contrast, is 
based on the volume of the beverage in liters and 
does not consider the alcohol content.  
 
 Federal law provides five separate rates for the 
taxation of wine, as outlined below. These taxes are 
based on wine gallons (128 fluid ounces) rather 
than proof gallons. 
 
Less than 14% alcohol $1.07 per gallon  
14% to 21% alcohol  1.57 per gallon 
21% to 24% alcohol  3.15 per gallon 
Artificially carbonated wine  3.30 per gallon 
Naturally sparkling champagne  3.40 per gallon 

 In addition, a separate rate of 22.6¢/gallon is 
specified for hard cider from apples containing at 
least 0.5% and less than 7% alcohol. A credit of 90¢ 
per gallon of wine or 5.6¢ per gallon of cider may 
be available for the first 100,000 gallons sold by a 
small winery producing not more than 150,000 
gallons per year. Naturally sparkling champagne is 
excluded from this federal tax credit. 
 
 The federal beer tax is $18 per barrel of 31 gal-
lons (approximately 58¢ per gallon). A reduced 
rate of $7 per barrel for the first 60,000 barrels of 
beer annually is provided for brewers who pro-
duce not more than two million barrels in a calen-
dar year.  
 
 

Taxes on Alcohol and Tobacco in Other States 

 
 Information on the excise taxes imposed by 
other states on cigarettes, tobacco products, liquor, 
and beer is summarized in the following tables. 
These tables reflect state tax law changes in other 
states as of January, 2009.  

 Table 6 identifies the cigarette tax rates in effect 
in other states. These rates apply to packages of 20 
cigarettes. Some states impose a higher tax rate on 
cigarettes weighing more than three pounds per 
thousand. In such cases, the rates shown in Table 6 
are for packages of cigarettes weighing not more 
than three pounds per thousand, which is the most 
common type of package sold. 
 

 Table 7 presents a summary of excise tax rates 
on tobacco products for those states that impose a 
tax, including the District of Columbia. Table 8 
summarizes the excise tax rates imposed on liquor 
for the 32 states (plus the District of Columbia) that 
license the sale of liquor by private individuals. 
[Tax rates for the 18 states that maintain a complete 
or partial government monopoly on the sale of liq-
uor are not provided. Such states generate revenue 
from a variety of taxes, fees, and net liquor profits.] 
Many states have separate rates for wine, cham-
pagne, and other alcoholic beverages. In some 
cases, the tax imposed on liquor depends on the 
percentage of alcohol content by volume. In addi-
tion, a number of states impose an additional tax 
based on: (a) a percentage of the wholesale price; 
(b) a percentage of the retail price for on-premise 
and/or off-premise consumption; and (c) a charge 
per bottle or per volume sold. In all cases where 
such variation exists, Table 8 provides only the 
primary liquor tax rate. 
 

 Table 9 presents a summary of the excise tax 
rates levied in other states on the sale of beer. In 
addition to the rates shown, some states offer a re-
duced tax rate for beer sold by smaller breweries. 
In a number of states, the tax rate depends on the 
alcohol content of the beer. Also, some states im-
pose an additional tax based on the wholesale or 
retail price or on a per unit basis, sometimes in 
connection with the location of the sale. Table 9 
provides only the primary tax rate on beer, both by 
the gallon and by the barrel. In cases where the rate 
per barrel varies with the barrel size and when, for 
purposes of this table, a state's tax per barrel was 
calculated from the state's tax per gallon, the per 
barrel rate shown in Table 9 is for a 31-gallon bar-
rel. 
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   Table 6:  Cigarette Tax Rates by State as of January, 2009 
 

 
 

State Tax Per Pack  State Tax Per Pack 
 

New York $2.750 
New Jersey 2.575 
Massachusetts 2.510 
Rhode Island 2.460 
Washington 2.025 
Alaska 2.000 
Arizona 2.000 
Connecticut 2.000 
District of Columbia 2.000 
Hawaiia 2.000 
Maine 2.000 
Maryland 2.000 
Michigan 2.000 
Vermont 1.990 
WISCONSIN 1.770 
Montana 1.700 
South Dakota 1.530 
Minnesotab 1.504 
Texas 1.410 
Iowa 1.360 
Pennsylvania 1.350 
New Hampshire 1.330 
Ohio 1.250 
Oregon 1.180 
Delaware 1.150 
Oklahoma 1.030 

 
 

Indiana $0.995 
Illinois 0.980 
New Mexico 0.910 
California 0.870 
Colorado 0.840 
Nevada 0.800 
Kansas 0.790 
Utah 0.695 
Nebraska 0.640 
Tennessee 0.620 
Wyoming 0.600 
Arkansas 0.590 
Idaho 0.570 
West Virginia 0.550 
North Dakota 0.440 
Alabama 0.425 
Georgia 0.370 
Louisiana 0.360 
North Carolina 0.350 
Florida 0.339 
Virginia 0.300 
Kentucky 0.300 
Mississippi 0.180 
Missouri 0.170 
South Carolina 0.070 

aRate increase of $0.20 will occur each year on September 20, through 2011. Tax rate shown is in effect through September 19, 2009.  
bRate includes $0.274 per pack sales tax added to the wholesale price of a tax stamp. 
 
Sources:  Commerce Clearing House and State Tax Publications. 
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Table 7:  Tobacco Products Tax Rates by State as of January, 2009 

States That Impose Tax as a Percentage of the Price 
 

State Tax State Tax 
 

Alaska 75.0% of wholesale price 
Arkansas 32.0% of manuf. selling price 
California 45.13% of wholesale value 
Colorado 40.0% of manuf. list price 
District of Columbia 12.0% of retail gross receipts 
Florida 25.0% of wholesale price 
Hawaii 40.0% of wholesale price 
Idaho 40.0% of wholesale price   
Illinois 18.0% of wholesale price 
Indiana 24.0% of wholesale price 
Kansas 10.0% of wholesale price 
Maryland 15.0% of wholesale price 
Michigan 32.0% of wholesale price 
Minnesota 70.0% of wholesale price 
Mississippi 15.0% of manuf. list price  

Missouri 10.0% of manuf. price 
Nebraska 20.0% of manuf. selling price  
Nevada 30.0% of wholesale price  
New Hampshire 19.0% of wholesale price 
New Mexico 25.0% of wholesale product value 
North Carolina 10.0% of initial wholesale cost 
Ohio 17.0% of wholesale price 
Oregon 65.0% of wholesale price 
South Carolina 5.0% of manuf. price 
South Dakota 35.0% of wholesale price 
Tennessee 6.6% of wholesale price 
Virginia 10.0% of manuf. selling price 
Washington 75.0% of taxable sales price 
West Virginia 7.0% of wholesale price 
Wyoming 20.0% of wholesale price 

             

States That Impose Tax That Differs by Product 
 
 

State/Product Range of Tax Rates State/Product Range of Tax Rates 
  

Alabama  
Cigars $3.00/1,000 to $40.50/1,000 
Little Cigars 4¢ per 10  
Smoking Tobacco Up to 6¢ per ounce  
Chewing Tobacco 1.5¢ per ounce 
Snuff Up to 12¢ per ounce 
 

Arizona 
Cigars 21.8¢ for 3 to 21.8¢ each  
Little Cigars 44.10¢ per 20 
Smoking Tobacco 22.3¢ per ounce 
Chewing Tobacco 22.3¢ per ounce 
Plug Tobacco 5.50¢ per ounce 
 

Connecticut 
Snuff 40¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 20% of wholesale price 
 

Delaware 
Moist Snuff 54¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 15%  of wholesale price 
 

Georgia 
Cigars 23% of wholesale price    
Little Cigars 2.5 mills each 
Loose/Smokeless  
  Tobacco 10% of wholesale price 
 

Iowa  
Little Cigars 6.8¢ per cigar 
All other Tobacco 22.0% of wholesale price 
 

Kentucky 
Snuff 9.5¢ per unit 
All Other Tobacco 7.5% of wholesale price 
   

Louisiana  
Cigars 8% to 20% of manuf. invoice price 
Smoking Tobacco 33% of invoice price 
Smokeless Tobacco 20% of invoice price 
 

Maine   
Chewing Tobacco 78% of wholesale price  
Snuff 78% of wholesale price  
Cigars 20% of wholesale price    
Smoking Tobacco 20% of wholesale price 
  

Massachusetts 
Cigars 30% of wholesale price 
Little Cigars 100.5 mills per cigar 
Loose Tobacco 30% of wholesale price 
Smokeless Tobacco 90% of wholesale price 
 

Sources:  Commerce Clearing House and State Tax Publications. 

 

Montana 
Moist Snuff 85¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 50% of wholesale price 
 

New Jersey 
Moist Snuff 75¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 30.0% of wholesale price 
 

New York 
Snuff 96¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 37% of wholesale price 
 

North Dakota 
Cigars 28% of wholesale price 
Pipe Tobacco 28% of wholesale price 
Tobacco Products 28% of wholesale price 
Snuff 60¢ per ounce 
Chewing Tobacco 16¢ per ounce 
 

Oklahoma 
Cigars 3.6¢ to 12¢ per cigar 
Smoking Tobacco 80% of factory list price 
Chewing Tobacco 60% of factory list price 
Smokeless Tobacco 60% of factory list price 
Snuff 60% of factory list price 
 

Rhode Island 
Snuff $1.00 per ounce 
Little Cigars 123 mills per cigar 
All Other Tobacco 40% of wholesale cost 
 

Texas 
Little Cigars 1¢ per each 10 cigars 
Cigars $7.50/1,000 to $15/1,000 
Smoking Tobacco 40% of factory list price 
Chewing Tobacco 40% of factory list price 
Snuff 40% of factory list price 
 

Utah 
Moist Snuff 75¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 35% of manuf. sales price 
 

Vermont 
Snuff $1.66 per ounce 
Little Cigars 99.5 mills per cigar 
Roll-Your-Own Tobacco $6.63 per 6 ounces 
All Other Tobacco 41% of wholesale price 
 

WISCONSIN 
Moist Snuff $1.31 per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 50% of manuf. sales price 
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    Table 8:   Liquor Tax Rates for License States as of January, 2009 
 
  Tax  Tax  Tax 
 State   Per Gallon   State   Per Gallon   State   Per Gallon  
 

 Alaska $12.80 Illinois $4.50  New Jersey $4.40 
 Arizona 3.00 Indiana 2.68  New Mexico 6.06 
 Arkansas 2.50 Kansas 2.50  New York 6.44 
 California 3.30 Kentucky 1.92  North Dakota 2.50 
 Colorado 2.28 Louisiana 2.50  Oklahoma 5.56 
 Connecticut 4.50 Maryland 1.50  Rhode Island 3.75 
 Delaware 5.46 Massachusetts 4.05  South Carolina 2.72 
 District of Columbia 1.50 Minnesota 5.03  South Dakota 3.93 
 Florida 6.50 Missouri 2.00  Tennessee 4.40 
 Georgia 3.79 Nebraska 3.75  Texas 2.40 
 Hawaii 5.98 Nevada 3.60  WISCONSIN 3.25 
    

 Sources:  Commerce Clearing House and State Tax Publications. 

Table 9:  Beer Tax Rates by State as of January, 2009 
 
   Tax in ¢  Tax in $    Tax in ¢  Tax in $ 
State  Per Gallon  Per Barrel State  Per Gallon  Per Barrel 

Alabama 53.3¢ $16.52 Missouri  6.0¢ $1.86 
Alaska 107.0 33.17 Montana 13.9 4.30 
Arizona 16.0 4.96 Nebraska 31.0 9.61 
Arkansas1 23.4 7.27 Nevada 16.0 4.96 
California 20.0 6.20 New Hampshire 30.0 9.30 
 

Colorado 8.0 2.48 New Jersey 12.0 3.72 
Connecticut 20.0 6.00 New Mexico 41.0 12.71 
Delaware 15.6 4.85 New York 11.0 3.41 
District of Columbia 9.0 2.79 North Carolina 53.1 16.47 
Florida 48.0 14.88 North Dakota 8.0 2.48 
 

Georgia 32.3 10.00 Ohio 18.0 5.58 
Hawaii 93.0 28.83 Oklahoma 40.3 12.50 
Idaho 15.0 4.65 Oregon 8.4 2.60 
Illinois 18.5 5.74 Pennsylvania 8.0 2.48 
Indiana 11.5 3.57 Rhode Island 9.7 3.00 
 

Iowa 19.0 5.89 South Carolina 76.8 23.81 
Kansas 18.0 5.58 South Dakota 27.4 8.50 
Kentucky 8.1 2.50 Tennessee 13.8 4.29 
Louisiana 32.3 10.00 Texas 19.4 6.00 
Maine 35.0 10.85 Utah 41.3 12.80 
 

Maryland 9.0 2.79 Vermont 26.5 8.22 
Massachusetts 10.6 3.30 Virginia 25.7 7.95 
Michigan 20.3 6.30 Washington 26.1 8.08 
Minnesota 14.8 4.60 West Virginia 17.7 5.50 
Mississippi 42.7 13.23 WISCONSIN 6.5 2.00 
 
   Wyoming 1.9 0.59 
1 Arkansas also imposes a 1% retail beer tax   
 
 Sources: Commerce Clearing House and State Tax Publications. 


