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Alcohol and Tobacco Taxes 
 
 
 
 
 The state imposes a number of excise and occu-
pational taxes on the sale of specific products in 
Wisconsin. An excise tax is a tax on the consumer, 
rather than the seller, while an occupational tax is 
imposed on the privilege of engaging in a particu-
lar business. State general fund excise or occupa-
tional taxes are currently levied on cigarettes, to-
bacco products, fermented malt beverages (beer), 
and intoxicating liquor (including wine, hard cider, 
and liquor). Information is presented in this paper 
on the taxes imposed on each of these products. In 
addition, a summary of the excise tax rates im-
posed on alcohol and tobacco products by the fed-
eral government and other states is included in the 
final sections of the paper. [The excise taxes 
charged on motor vehicle and alternate fuel, which 
are deposited in the transportation fund, are de-
scribed in Legislative Fiscal Bureau's informational 
paper entitled, "Motor Vehicle Fuel and Alternate 
Fuel Tax."] 
   

Taxes on Alcohol and Tobacco In Wisconsin 

Cigarette Tax 
 
  The state imposes an excise tax on the sale of 
cigarettes. The tax rate is generally $2.52 per pack, 
or 126 mills per cigarette, although for larger 
cigarettes (weighing more than three pounds per 
thousand) the tax rate is 252 mills per cigarette.  
 
 The tax is paid through the purchase of tax 
stamps from the Department of Revenue (DOR), 
generally by a manufacturer or distributor. The tax  
stamp must be affixed to each pack of cigarettes 
prior to its first sale in the state. Manufacturers and 
 

distributors receive a 0.7% discount on stamp 
purchases (or tax payments) as compensation for 
their administrative costs. 

 The tax on cigarettes was converted from an 
occupational tax to an excise tax in 1983. This 
change allowed the state to impose the tax on sales 
of cigarettes made by Native Americans to non-
Native Americans on reservations. Currently, the 
state has agreements with all 11 Native American 
tribes in Wisconsin through which Native Ameri-
can retailers purchase and sell only stamped 
(taxed) cigarettes to non-Native American pur-
chasers. The state then provides a refund to the 
tribes of 70% of the tax paid on sales to non-Native 
Americans and 100% of the tax paid on sales to eli-
gible Native American tribal members (federal law 
prohibits states from imposing a cigarette tax on 
sales by Native Americans to Native Americans on 
reservations). Eligible tribal members must reside 
on the reservation or trust land of the tribe where 
the sale took place and be an enrolled member of 
that tribe. The refund provision was enacted to en-
courage Native American retailers to sell only 
stamped cigarettes. Previously, unstamped ciga-
rettes were sold on reservations, which raised con-
cern regarding competition and the administration 
and collection of taxes for sales to non-Native 
Americans. The refund provision was enacted as 
part of the 1983-85 biennial budget (1983 Act 27). 

 
 Since the cigarette tax was first imposed in 
1939, at a general tax rate of 2¢ per pack, the 
cigarette tax rate has been raised 17 times to its 
current rate of $2.52 per pack. The current rate was 
established in 2009 Act 28 (the 2009-11 biennial 
budget act), and became effective September 1, 
2009. Changes in the cigarette tax rate are outlined 
in Table 1 below:     
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Table 1: Cigarette Tax Rates Per Pack 
 
 Effective Date Tax Rate 
 
 September 20, 1939 $0.02 
 July 21, 1949 0.03 
 July 1, 1955 0.04 
 July 1, 1957 0.05 
 September 1, 1961 0.06 
 
 August 15, 1963 0.08 
 August 1, 1965 0.10 
 September 1, 1969 0.14 
 November 5, 1971 0.16 
 August 1, 1981 0.20 
 
 May 1, 1982 0.25 
 September 1, 1987 0.30 
 May 1, 1992 0.38  
 September 1, 1995 0.44 
 November 1, 1997 0.59 
 
 October 1, 2001 0.77 
 January 1, 2008 1.77 
 September 1, 2009 2.52 

 
 Table 2 presents a summary of cigarette tax 
collections since 1999-00. Revenue "spikes" from 
the cigarette excise tax have been due to tax 
increases, rather than increased volume of sales. 
The 53.9% increase in revenues from the cigarette 
tax realized in state fiscal year 2007-08, for 
example, followed a $1.00 increase in the tax rate 
that took effect on January 1, 2008. In contrast, the 
number of packs of cigarettes for which tax stamps 
were purchased in that year dropped by over 9% 

from 2006-07. The same pattern holds for the 
revenue increases that were realized in fiscal years 
2001-02, 2008-09, and 2009-10 -- while cigarette tax 
revenues increased, following a tax increase, 
taxable sales of cigarettes declined.  

 
 In years in which there has been no tax increase, 
there have been either moderate increases or de-
creases in cigarette tax revenues. In fiscal years 
2005-06 and 2006-07, tax revenues increased by 
2.4% and decreased by 1.8%, respectively, from the 
previous year. On a national level, according to 
data collected by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and 
Trade Bureau, domestic cigarette consumption is 
estimated to have declined annually by an average 
of 3.1% since 2000. 
 
 Tobacco manufacturers raised cigarette prices 
significantly following massive legal settlements 
with state governments, including a multi-state 
settlement in November, 1998. These price in-
creases, along with federal tax increases of 10¢ per 
pack on January 1, 2000, 5¢ per pack on January 1, 
2002, and 62¢ per pack on April 1, 2009, contrib-
uted to reduced cigarette consumption in the state. 
(The last increase brought the federal cigarette ex-
cise tax to $50.33 per thousand, or $1.0066 per 
pack.)   
 
 1997 Act 27 reduced the discount on stamp pur-
chases for manufacturers and distributors from 2% 
to 1.6%. The discount was further reduced by 2007 
Act 20 from 1.6% to 0.7%. As mentioned, the dis-
count is provided to manufacturers and distribu-
tors as compensation for their administrative costs 
associated with the tax. The decrease in the rate of 
the discount was enacted to keep the total discount 
at approximately the same level it was prior to 
these increases in the cigarette tax rate. No reduc-
tion to the discount rate was included with the 
2009 Act 28 cigarette tax increase. 
 
 2005 Act 25 authorized direct marketing of ciga-
rettes to consumers in this state if a direct marketer 
meets certain requirements. Under prior law, direct 
marketing of cigarettes to Wisconsin consumers 

 

   Table 2:  Cigarette Tax Collections ($ in Millions) 
 
  Percent Percent of 
    Fiscal  Change From General Fund 
     Year Amount Prior Year Tax Collections 
 
   1999-00 $247.59 -3.8% 2.26% 
   2000-01 243.51 -1.6 2.42 
   2001-02 288.77 18.6 2.88 
   2002-03 293.70 1.7 2.88 
   2003-04 291.32 -0.8 2.71 
   2004-05 294.30 1.0 2.58 
   2005-06 301.49 2.4 2.51 
   2006-07 296.13 -1.8 2.35 
   2007-08 455.72 53.9 3.49 
   2008-09 551.34 21.0 4.55 
   2009-10 644.27 16.9 5.31 
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was prohibited unless the seller had a valid mu-
nicipal retail permit for the municipality into which 
each sale was made. Act 25 authorized direct mar-
keting for a direct marketer that registers with 
DOR and certifies that the direct marketer will sell 
only stamped cigarettes. In addition, the direct 
marketer must verify consumer names, addresses, 
and ages, and comply with certain other adminis-
trative requirements, including certain provisions 
that also apply to licensed cigarette distributors. 
The provisions took effect July 27, 2005. As of No-
vember 18, 2010, no direct marketers have regis-
tered under these provisions. 
 
Tobacco Products Tax 

 The state imposes an excise tax on the sale of all 
tobacco products except cigarettes. The tobacco 
products tax is paid by distributors at rates of 100% 
of the manufacturer's list price for moist snuff and 
71% of the manufacturer's list price for all other 
tobacco products, with a maximum tax of 50¢ per 
cigar. The tax rates were raised to their current 
levels on September 1, 2009, pursuant to 2009 Act 
28. Act 28 also converted the tax on moist snuff 
from a weight-based tax to a price-based tax. The 
tax is paid on the basis of monthly returns filed 
with the Department of Revenue. Table 3 shows 
tobacco products tax collections since 1999-00.  

 The tax on tobacco products was converted 
from an occupational tax to an excise tax under 
1999 Act 9 (the 1999-01 biennial budget act). Prior 
to Act 9, it was common for distributors to sell un-
taxed tobacco products to Native American retail-
ers and to claim exemptions from the tax for such 
sales when filing tax returns with DOR. Act 9 
specified that all tobacco products were subject to 
the tax unless specifically exempted, and imposed 
penalties on distributors who failed to collect and 
remit the appropriate tax. These changes meant 
that tribal retailers would no longer be able to pur-
chase untaxed tobacco products. However, Act 9 
authorized the Department to enter into agree-
ments with the tribes to refund 100% of tobacco 
 

products taxes paid on sales to eligible tribal mem-
bers on reservations and 50% of such taxes paid on 
sales to non-tribal members. The Department has 
entered into such agreements with eight out of the 
eleven Wisconsin tribes. Although the refund rates 
for sales to non-tribal members differ, the provi-
sions for tobacco products tax refunds are compa-
rable to those for cigarette tax refunds to the tribes. 

 The tax on tobacco products was established at 
20% of the manufacturer's list price for all tobacco 
products in Chapter 20, Laws of 1981, effective Oc-
tober 1, 1981. Table 4 shows the historical increases 
to the tobacco products tax rates. Prior to 2007 Act 
20, all tobacco products other than cigarettes were 
subject to the same tax rates. Act 20 created a sepa-
rate tax rate for moist snuff and established a 
maximum tax per cigar. Between 1999-00 and 2009-
10, collections ranged from $10.3 million to $59.9 
million. Unlike other state excise and occupational 
taxes which are imposed as a fixed amount per unit 
of product, the tobacco products tax is levied as a 
percentage of price (except for sales of moist snuff 
from January 1, 2008, through September 1, 2009). 
Therefore, collections of the tobacco products tax 
increase over time as prices rise. The largest annual 
increases in revenues from the tax over this period, 
22.7% in 2001-02, 69.8% in 2007-08, 42.0% in 2008-
09, and 41.8% in 2009-10, reflect implementation of 
higher tax rates. 
 

   Table 3:  Tobacco Products Tax Collections   
   ($ in Millions) 
  Percent Percent of 
   Fiscal  Change From General Fund 
   Year Amount Prior Year Tax Collections 
 
   1999-00 $10.31 9.7% 0.09% 
   2000-01 11.36 10.2 0.11 
   2001-02 13.93 22.7 0.14 
   2002-03 15.51 11.3 0.15 
   2003-04 16.10 3.8 0.15 
   2004-05 15.84 -1.6 0.14 
   2005-06 16.42 3.7 0.14 
   2006-07 17.52 6.7 0.14 
   2007-08 29.75 69.8 0.23 
   2008-09 42.24 42.0 0.35 
   2009-10 59.89 41.8 0.49 
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Liquor, Wine, and Cider Taxes 
 
 The state imposes occupational taxes on the sale 
of liquor, wine, and fermented cider. As shown in 
Table 5, the tax rates for liquor, wine, and cider are 
as follows: (a) liquor -- 85.86¢ per liter; (b) wine 
containing up to 14% alcohol by volume -- 6.605¢ 
per liter; (c) wine containing more than 14% but not 
in excess of 21% alcohol by volume -- 11.89¢ per 
liter; and (d) cider containing between 0.5% and 
7.0% alcohol-- 1.71¢ per liter. Table 5 summarizes 
the statutory rates per liter as well as the equivalent 
per gallon rates. 
 

 In addition to the tax on liquor described above, 
an administrative fee of 11¢/gallon is also  
 

imposed. The administrative fee was increased 
from 3¢ per gallon under 2005 Act 25, effective 
August 15, 2005. The fee, which is paid by 
distributors along with liquor taxes, is deposited to 
a program revenue appropriation and used for 
computer, audit, and enforcement costs incurred 
by the Department in administering the state liquor 
tax and enforcing the three-tier system for alcohol 
beverage production, distribution, and sale.  

 Liquor, wine, and cider taxes are collected 
through monthly payments by distributors and 
out-of-state direct shippers, based on the actual tax 
liability for the previous month. The tax payments 
and a tax return are due on the 15th day of each 
month.  
 
 The tax on hard cider was established under 
1997 Act 136, effective July 1, 1998. For the purpose 
of the tax, "cider" means an alcoholic beverage 
made from fermented apple juice that contains 
0.5% to 7.0% alcohol by volume. Cider containing a 
greater amount of alcohol is taxed as wine.  
 

 Other than the tax on cider, the occupational tax 
on liquor and wine has not been modified since 
Chapter 20, Laws of 1981, effective August 1, 1981. 
A summary of liquor and wine tax revenues since 
1999-00 is presented in Table 6.  

Table 4:  Tobacco Products Tax Rates 
 
 Moist Snuff Other Tobacco  
Effective Date Tax Rate Products Tax Rate Cigar Tax Rate 
 
October 1, 1981 20% of the manuf. list price 20% of the manuf. list price 20% of the manuf. list price 
 
October 1, 2001 25% of the manuf. list price 25% of the manuf. list price 25% of the manuf. list price 
 
January 1, 2008 $1.31 per ounce 50% of the manuf. list price 50% of the manuf. list price, 
   but not more than  50¢ per cigar 
 
September 1, 2009 100% of the manuf. list price 71% of the manuf. list price  71% of the manuf. list price 
   but not more than 50¢ per cigar 

   Table 5:  Liquor, Wine and Cider Tax Rates 
 
 Tax Rate Tax Rate 
    Beverage Per Liter Per Gallon 
 
    Liquor* 85.86¢ $3.25 
    Wine 
      Up to 14% Alcohol 6.605 0.25 
      14% to 21% Alcohol 11.89 0.45 
 
    Cider 1.71 0.06 
 
   *Excludes administrative fee of 11¢/gallon that is levied by the 
Department of Revenue.  
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   Table 6:  Liquor and Wine Tax Collections 
   ($ in Millions) 
  Percent Percent of 
   Fiscal  Change From General Fund 
   Year Amount Prior Year Tax Collections 
   
   1999-00 $34.56 4.9% 0.32% 
   2000-01 35.54 2.8 0.35 
   2001-02 35.98 1.2 0.36 
   2002-03 36.04 0.2 0.35 
   2003-04 38.47 6.7 0.36 
   2004-05 39.53 2.8 0.35 
   2005-06 41.02 3.8 0.34 
   2006-07 42.67 4.0 0.34 
   2007-08 45.17 5.8 0.35 
   2008-09 44.13 -2.3 0.36  
   2009-10 44.18 0.1 0.36 
 
 
Beer Tax 
 

 An occupational tax is imposed by the state on 
the sale of beer. The tax rate is $2 per barrel of 31 
gallons, or approximately 6.5¢ per gallon. A 50% 
tax credit on the first 50,000 barrels produced is 
available to brewers who produce less than 300,000 
barrels per year. The tax is paid by brewers, 
bottlers, and wholesalers on a monthly basis. 
 
 The tax on beer was established at its current $2 
per barrel level in Chapter 185, Laws of 1969. A 
summary of recent collection amounts is presented 
in Table 7. 

 
   Table 7:  Beer Tax Collections ($ in Millions) 
 
  Percent Percent of  
    Fiscal  Change From General Fund  
     Year Amount Prior Year Tax Collections 
 
   1999-00 $9.39 2.5% 0.09% 
   2000-01 9.36 -0.3 0.09 
   2001-02 9.60 2.5 0.10 
   2002-03 9.52 -0.8 0.09 
   2003-04 9.60 0.9 0.09 
   2004-05 9.77 1.8 0.09 
   2005-06 9.76 -0.1 0.08 
   2006-07 9.53 -2.4 0.08 
   2007-08 9.62 1.0 0.07 
   2008-09 9.91 3.0 0.08 
   2009-10 9.61 -3.0 0.08 
 

 

Federal Taxes on Alcohol and Tobacco 

 
 The federal excise tax on cigarettes is currently 
$1.0066 per pack. This rate took effect on April 1, 
2009. Previous per-pack federal excise tax rates, 
and the periods during which those rates were in 
effect, are shown in Table 8.    
 

Table 8:  Federal Cigarette Tax Rates Since 1940 
 
 Effective Date Tax Rate 
 

 July 1, 1940 $0.065 
 November 1, 1942 0.07 
 November 1, 1951 0.08 
 January 1, 1983 0.16 
 January 1, 1991 0.20 
 January 1, 1993 0.24  
 January 1, 2000 0.34 
 January 1, 2002 0.39 
 April 1, 2009 1.0066 
 

 The current federal taxes on tobacco products 
are as follows: 
 

Snuff $1.51 per pound 
Chewing Tobacco 50.33¢ per pound 
Pipe Tobacco $2.8311 per pound 
Roll-Your-Own 
   Tobacco $24.78 per pound 
Cigarette Papers 3.15¢ for 50 papers 
Cigarette Tubes 6.30¢ for 50 tubes 
Small Cigars $50.33 per 1,000 
Large Cigars 52.75% of the manufacturer's or 

importer's sales price, but not 
more than 40.26¢ per cigar 

 These rates took effect April 1, 2009, and are 
higher than the previous tax rates. 

 The federal liquor tax is $13.50 per proof gallon 
(one gallon of 100 proof liquor). For example, a 
gallon of 80 proof alcohol is taxed at $10.80 (80% of 
$13.50). The Wisconsin liquor tax, in contrast, is 
based on the volume of the beverage in liters and 
does not consider the alcohol content.  
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 Federal law provides five separate rates for the 
taxation of wine, as outlined below. These taxes are 
based on wine gallons (128 fluid ounces) rather 
than proof gallons. 

 
Less than 14% alcohol $1.07 per gallon  
14% to 21% alcohol  1.57 per gallon 
21% to 24% alcohol  3.15 per gallon 
Artificially carbonated wine  3.30 per gallon 
Naturally sparkling champagne  3.40 per gallon 

 In addition, a separate rate of 22.6¢/gallon is 
specified for hard cider from apples containing at 
least 0.5% and less than 7% alcohol. A credit of 90¢ 
per gallon of wine or 5.6¢ per gallon of hard cider 
may be available for the first 100,000 gallons sold 
by a small winery producing not more than 150,000 
gallons per year. Naturally sparkling champagne is 
excluded from this federal tax credit. 
 
 The federal beer tax is $18 per barrel of 31 
gallons (approximately 58¢ per gallon). A reduced 
rate of $7 per barrel for the first 60,000 barrels of  
 

beer annually is provided for brewers who 
produce not more than two million barrels in a 
calendar year.  

Taxes on Alcohol and Tobacco in Other States 

 
 Information on the excise taxes imposed by 
other states on cigarettes, tobacco products, liquor, 
and beer is summarized in the following tables. 
These tables reflect state tax law changes in other 
states as of December, 2010. 
 
 Table 9 identifies the cigarette tax rates in effect 
in other states. These rates apply to packages of 20 
cigarettes. Some states impose a higher tax rate on 
cigarettes weighing more than three pounds per 
thousand. In such cases, the rates shown in Table 9 
are for packages of cigarettes weighing not more 
than three pounds per thousand, which is the most 
common type of package sold. 

   Table 9:  Cigarette Tax Rates by State as of December, 2010 
 

 
 

State Tax Per Pack  State Tax Per Pack  State Tax Per Pack 
 

 

New York $4.350 
Rhode Island 3.460 
Washington 3.025 
Connecticut 3.000 
Hawaii* 3.000 
New Jersey 2.700 
 
WISCONSIN 2.520 
Massachusetts 2.510 
District of Columbia 2.500 
Vermont 2.240 
Alaska 2.000 
Arizona 2.000 
 
Maine 2.000 
Maryland 2.000 
Michigan 2.000 
New Hampshire 1.780 
Montana 1.700 
Utah 1.700 
 

New Mexico $1.660 
Pennsylvania 1.600 
Delaware 1.600 
Minnesota** 1.576 
South Dakota 1.530 
Texas 1.410 
 
Iowa 1.360 
Florida 1.339 
Ohio 1.250 
Oregon 1.180 
Arkansas 1.150 
Oklahoma 1.030 
 
Indiana 0.995 
Illinois 0.980 
California 0.870 
Colorado 0.840 
Nevada 0.800 
Kansas 0.790 

Mississippi $0.680 
Nebraska 0.640 
Tennessee 0.620 
Wyoming 0.600 
Kentucky 0.600 
Idaho 0.570 
 
South Carolina 0.570 
West Virginia 0.550 
North Carolina 0.450 
North Dakota 0.440 
Alabama 0.425 
Georgia 0.370 
 
Louisiana 0.360 
Virginia 0.300 
Missouri 0.170 
 
 

 
  * Rate increase of $0.20 will occur on July 1, 2011. Tax rate shown is in effect through June 30, 2011.  
** Rate includes $0.346 per pack sales tax added to the wholesale price of a tax stamp. 
 
Sources:  Commerce Clearing House and state tax publications.
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 Table 10 presents a summary of excise tax rates 
on tobacco products in other states, including the 
District of Columbia. As noted, Wisconsin caps its 
tax on cigars at 50¢ each. Other states also have 
caps on their cigar taxes, but these are not shown in 
Table 10. Table 11 summarizes the excise tax rates 
imposed on liquor for the 32 states (plus the Dis-
trict of Columbia) that license the sale of liquor by 
private individuals. [Tax rates for the 18 states that 
maintain a complete or partial government mo-
nopoly on the sale of liquor are not provided. Such 
states generate revenue from a variety of taxes, 
fees, and net liquor profits.] Many states have 
separate rates for wine, champagne, and other al-
coholic beverages. In some cases, the tax imposed 
on liquor depends on the percentage of alcohol 
content by volume. In addition, a number of states 
impose an additional tax based on: (a) a percentage 
of the wholesale price; (b) a percentage of the retail 
price for on-premise and/or off-premise consump-

tion; and (c) a charge per bottle or per volume sold. 
In all cases where such variation exists, Table 11 
provides only the primary liquor tax rate. 
 
 Table 12 presents a summary of the excise tax 
rates levied in other states on the sale of beer. In 
addition to the rates shown, some states offer a re-
duced tax rate for beer sold by smaller breweries. 
In a number of states, the tax rate depends on the 
alcohol content of the beer. Also, some states im-
pose an additional tax based on the wholesale or 
retail price or on a per unit basis, sometimes in 
connection with the location of the sale. Table 12 
provides only the primary tax rate on beer, both by 
the gallon and by the barrel. In cases where the rate 
per barrel varies with the barrel size and when, for 
purposes of this table, a state's tax per barrel was 
calculated from the state's tax per gallon, the per 
barrel rate shown in Table 12 is for a 31-gallon bar-
rel. 

 
 
 
Table 10:  Tobacco Products Tax Rates by State as of December, 2010 
 

States That Impose Tax as a Percentage of the Price 
 

 
State Tax State Tax 
 

Alaska 75.0% of wholesale price 
California 33.02% of wholesale value 
Colorado 40.0% of manuf. list price 
Florida 85.0% of wholesale price 
 
Idaho 40.0% of wholesale price   
Illinois 18.0% of wholesale price 
Kansas 10.0% of wholesale price 
Maryland 15.0% of wholesale price 
 
Michigan 32.0% of wholesale price 
Minnesota 70.0% of wholesale price 
Mississippi 15.0% of manuf. list price  
Missouri 10.0% of manuf. invoice price 
 

Nevada 30.0% of wholesale price  
New Hampshire 65.03% of wholesale price 
New Mexico 25.0% of wholesale product value 
North Carolina 12.8% of cost price 
 
Ohio 17.0% of wholesale price 
South Carolina 5.0% of manuf. price 
South Dakota 35.0% of wholesale price 
Tennessee 6.6% of wholesale price 
 
Virginia 10.0% of manuf. selling price 
West Virginia 7.0% of wholesale price 
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Table 10:  Tobacco Products Tax Rates by State as of December, 2010 (continued) 
 

States That Impose Tax That Differs by Product 
 

 
 

State/Product Range of Tax Rates State/Product Range of Tax Rates 
  

Alabama  
Cigars $3.00/1,000 to $40.50/1,000 
Little Cigars 4¢ per 10  
Smoking Tobacco Up to 6¢ per ounce  
Chewing Tobacco 1.5¢ per ounce 
Snuff Up to 12¢ per ounce 
 

Arizona 
Cigars 21.8¢ for 3 to 21.8¢ each  
Little Cigars 44.10¢ per 20 
Plug Tobacco 5.50¢ per ounce 
Other Tobacco 22.3¢ per ounce 
 

Arkansas 
Cigarette Papers 25¢ per 32 sheets 
Other Tobacco 68% of manuf. selling price 
 

Connecticut 
Snuff 55¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 27.5% of wholesale price 
 

Delaware 
Moist Snuff 54¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 15% of wholesale price 
 

District of Columbia  
Little Cigars 12.5¢ per cigar 
Moist Snuff 30¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 12.0% of retail gross receipts 
 

Georgia 
Cigars 23% of wholesale price    
Little Cigars 2.5 mills each 
Loose/Smokeless  
  Tobacco 10% of wholesale price 
 

Hawaii 
Little Cigars 15¢ per cigar    
Cigars 50% of wholesale price 
Other Tobacco 70% of wholesale price 
 

Indiana 
Cigarette Tubes 1¢ per 50 tubes 
Cigarette Papers 0.5¢ per 100 papers 
Other Tobacco 24% of wholesale price 
 

Iowa  
Little Cigars 6.8¢ per cigar 
Snuff $1.19 per ounce 
All other Tobacco 50.0% of wholesale price 
 

Kentucky 
Snuff 19¢ per 1.5 ounces 
All Other Tobacco 15% of wholesale price 
   

Louisiana  
Cigars 8% to 20% of manuf. invoice price 
Smoking Tobacco 33% of invoice price 
Smokeless Tobacco 20% of invoice price 
 

Maine   
Smokeless Tobacco $2.02 per ounce  
Smoking Tobacco 20% of wholesale sales price 
  

Massachusetts 
Little Cigars 100.5 mills per cigar 
Smoking Tobacco 30% of wholesale price 
Smokeless Tobacco 90% of wholesale price 
 

Montana 
Moist Snuff 85¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 50% of wholesale price 
 

Nebraska  
Snuff 44¢ per ounce 
Other Tobacco 20.0% of manuf. selling price 
 

New Jersey 
Moist Snuff 75¢ per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 30.0% of wholesale price 
 

New York 
Snuff $2.00 per ounce 
Little Cigars $4.35 per pack of 20 
All Other Tobacco 75% of wholesale price 
 

North Dakota 
Cigars & Pipe Tobacco 28% of wholesale price 
Snuff  60¢ per ounce  
Chewing Tobacco 16¢ per ounce 
 

Oklahoma 
Cigars 3.6¢ to 12¢ per cigar 
Smoking Tobacco 80% of factory list price 
Snuff; Chewing and  
  Smokeless Tobacco 60% of factory list price 
Oregon 
Moist Snuff $1.78 per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 65.0% of wholesale price 
 

Pennsylvania 
Little Cigars 8¢ per cigar 
 

Rhode Island 
Snuff $1.00 per ounce 
Little Cigars 17.3¢ per cigar 
All Other Tobacco 80% of wholesale cost 
 

Texas 
Little Cigars 1¢ per each 10 cigars 
Cigars $7.50/1,000 to $15/1,000 
Smokeless Tobacco $1.13 per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 40% of manuf. list price 
 

Utah 
Moist Snuff $1.83 per ounce 
All Other Tobacco 86% of manuf. sales price 
 

Vermont 
Snuff $1.66 per ounce 
Other Smokeless Tobacco $1.87 per ounce 
Little Cigars 11.2¢ per cigar 
Cigars $2 per cigar if >$1.08, $4 per cigar if >$10 
All Other Tobacco 92% of wholesale price 
 

Washington 
Moist Snuff $2.526 per unit of 1.2 ounces 
Little Cigars 15.125¢ per cigar 
All Other Tobacco 95% of taxable sales price 
   

WISCONSIN 
Moist Snuff 100% of manuf. sales price 
All Other Tobacco 71% of manuf. sales price 
   

Wyoming 
Moist Snuff 60¢ per cigar 
All Other Tobacco 20.0% of wholesale price 

 
 
Sources:  Commerce Clearing House, state tax publications, and state revenue websites. 
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    Table 11:   Liquor Tax Rates for License States as of December, 2010 
 
  Tax  Tax  Tax 
 State   Per Gallon   State   Per Gallon   State   Per Gallon  
 

Alaska $12.80  Tennessee $4.40 Indiana $2.68 
Illinois 8.55  Massachusetts 4.05 Arkansas 2.50 
Florida 6.50 South Dakota 3.93 Kansas 2.50 
New York 6.44 Georgia 3.79 Louisiana 2.50 
New Mexico 6.06 Nebraska 3.75 North Dakota 2.50 
Hawaii 5.98 Rhode Island 3.75 Texas 2.40 
Oklahoma 5.56 Nevada 3.60 Colorado 2.28 
New Jersey 5.50  California 3.30 Missouri 2.00 
Delaware 5.46 WISCONSIN 3.25 Kentucky 1.92 
Minnesota 5.03 Arizona 3.00 District of Columbia 1.50 
Connecticut 4.50 South Carolina 2.72 Maryland 1.50 

 
 Sources:  Commerce Clearing House and state tax publications. 
 

Table 12:  Beer Tax Rates by State as of December, 2010 
 
   Tax in ¢  Tax in $    Tax in ¢  Tax in $ 
State  Per Gallon  Per Barrel State  Per Gallon  Per Barrel 

Alaska 107.0¢ $33.17 Iowa 19.0¢ $5.89 
Hawaii 93.0 28.83 Ohio 18.0 5.58 
South Carolina 76.8 23.81 Kansas 18.0 5.58 
North Carolina 61.7 19.13 West Virginia 17.7 5.50 
Alabama 53.3 16.52  Nevada 16.0 4.96 
 
Florida 48.0 14.88 Arizona 16.0 4.96 
Mississippi 42.7 13.23 Delaware 15.6 4.85 
Utah 41.3 12.80 Idaho 15.0 4.65 
New Mexico 41.0 12.71 Minnesota 14.8 4.60 
Oklahoma 40.3 12.50 New York 14.0 4.34 
 
Maine 35.0 10.85 Montana 13.9 4.30 
Louisiana 32.3 10.00 Tennessee 13.8 4.29 
Georgia 32.3 10.00 New Jersey 12.0 3.72 
Nebraska 31.0 9.61 Indiana 11.5 3.57 
New Hampshire 30.0 9.30 Massachusetts 10.6 3.30 
 
South Dakota 27.4 8.50 Rhode Island 9.7 3.00 
Vermont 26.5 8.22 Maryland 9.0 2.79 
Washington 26.1 8.08 District of Columbia 9.0 2.79 
Virginia 25.7 7.95 Oregon 8.4 2.60 
Arkansas 23.4 7.27 Kentucky 8.1 2.50 
 
Illinois 23.1 7.16 Pennsylvania 8.0 2.48 
Michigan 20.3 6.30 North Dakota 8.0 2.48 
California 20.0 6.20 Colorado 8.0 2.48 
Connecticut 20.0 6.00 WISCONSIN 6.5 2.00 
Texas 19.4 6.00 Missouri  6.0 1.86  
 
      Wyoming 1.9 0.59 
 
 Sources: Commerce Clearing House and state tax publications. 




