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RULES OF THE BOARD OF BAR EXAMINERS

CLE 6.01

CHAPTER SCR 31 APPENDIX
RULES OF THE BOARD OF BAR EXAMINERS

Note: SCR Chapter 31 Appendix was adopted December 12, 1986, by the Board
of Attorneys Professional Competence; amended July 8, 1988; December 9, 1988;
March 23, 1990; September 21, 1990; March 22, 1991; December 12, 1991; May 14,
1992; May 3, 1994; August 25, 1994; August 17, 2004; December 3, 2008; May 1,
2009; September 23, 2011; September 20, 2013.

DEFINITIONS

CLE 1.01 The year of an attorney’s admission to the State Bar of
Wisconsin shall be the year carried on the computer records of the
State Bar unless the lawyer notifies the Board in writing prior to
the end of his or her first reporting period that the State Bar data

is incorrect and attaches supporting documentation.
History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated 2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

CLE 1.02 Except for repeated on—demand programs, the mini-
mum number of persons attending a course shall be two attendees
and one moderator. Fewer than that number, and the course shall
be deemed to be self—study and shall not be approved for CLE
credit.

History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, eff. 8—17-04, 274 Wis. 2d xiii; Sup. Ct.
Order No. 08-04, 2008 WI 127, filed and eff. 12-3-08; Bd. of Bar Examiners Order,
dated 2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

CLE 3.01 The classification of State Bar of Wisconsin member-
ship on the February 1 immediately following the end of the law-
yer’s reporting period will govern whether a report will be
required. The Board will grant lawyers who change to inactive
status after February 1 according to State Bar records a deferment
of the 30 hours then due on receipt of a written request that is
accompanied by the late fee then due and the written statement of
the State Bar that the lawyer has in fact already converted his or
her membership to inactive status. A request will be considered
timely if received at the Board office by the close of business on
the date that the lawyer’s suspension is to go into effect pursuant
to SCR 31.10 (1); that is, the filing date established by that rule.

History: Sup. Ct. Order, 187 Wis. 2d xv (1994); Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated
2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

CLE 3.015 (1) Lawyers who have been in inactive status for less
than 2 years, or have been voluntarily resigned from the State Bar
for less than 2 years, must complete 30 hours of CLE (including
3 ethics hours) prior to resuming active status.

(2) Lawyers who have been in inactive status for more than 2
years, or have been voluntarily resigned from the State Bar for
more than 2 years, must complete 60 hours of CLE (including 3
ethics hours) prior to resuming active status.

(8) Lawyers may satisfy the requirements of the above subsec-
tions if they demonstrate to the board that, during the entire time
they were in inactive status, (i) they were admitted to the practice
of law in another jurisdiction that had mandatory continuing legal
education requirements, and (ii) they were current in meeting
those requirements.

(4) Lawyers who resume active status must also satisfy the
requirements of SCR 31.02 for the reporting period in which they
are reactivated.

(5) CLE requirements under this section shall not be greater
than they would have been if the lawyer had not been in inactive
status.

History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated 2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

CLE 3.02 (1) No late fee will be assessed against lawyers who
complete their reporting and attendance requirements by the Feb-
ruary 1 following the end of their reporting period.

(2) Lawyers who have been served with the notice of noncom-
pliance set out in SCR 31.10 (1) may avoid the automatic suspen-
sion therein described if, within 60 days after service, they (a)
complete their reporting and attendance requirements and (b) pay

the late fee.
History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated 2—27-09, eff. 5—1-09.

CLE 3.03 Where CLE Form 1 appears in SCR Chapter 31, it shall
also include written amendments of a CLE Form 1 previously
filed for the same reporting period. Such amendments are subject
to the same deadlines as the CLE Form 1.

History: Sup. Ct. Order, 187 Wis. 2d xv (1994).

EXEMPTIONS

CLE 4.01 Although a lawyer is exempt from attendance or
reporting in the calendar year during which his or her admission
falls, the lawyer may report on the CLE Form 1 due at the end of
the first full two—year reporting period any approved hours up to
a maximum of 15 that were attended between the date of admis-
sion and the end of the calendar year in which his or her admission
to the practice of law occurred. Hours carried in under this provi-
sion may not be used to satisfy the legal ethics and professional
responsibility requirement in accordance with SCR 31.05 (2) (c).
History: Sup. Ct. Order, 187 Wis. 2d xv (1994).

APPROVED HOURS

CLE 5.01 Sponsors must provide a method for lawyers who have
taken on-line on—demand programs to submit questions, and
must provide answers supplied by instructors who are qualified by
practical or academic experience within fifteen business days, at

no additional cost.
History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated 2-27-09, eff. 5—-1-09.

CLE 5.02 (1) Applications for approval of on—line on—demand
programs must be accompanied by

(a) A copy of the on—line on—demand program on DVD;

(b) A statement of the manner in which the sponsor intends to
comply with CLE 5.01.

(2) Sponsors with general program approval under SCR 31.08

(3) need not comply with the requirements of sub. (1).
History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated 2-27-09, eff. 5—-1-09.

CLE 5.03 Grading the essay portion of the Wisconsin bar exam
may be used to satisfy the requirements of SCR 31.02, up to a max-
imum of six (6) credits per examination administration. No legal
ethics and professional responsibility credits shall be awarded for

grading the essay portion of the Wisconsin bar exam.
History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated and eff. 9-23-11.

ATTENDANCE AND REPORTING REQUIREMENT FOR
PERSONS UPON REACTIVATION OR REINSTATEMENT

CLE 6.01 Compliance with CLE make—up requirements shall be
a prerequisite to reactivation of membership in the State Bar of
Wisconsin.

History: Sup. Ct. Order No. 08—04, 2008 WI 127, filed and eff. 12-3-08.
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CLE 6.01

STANDARDS FOR APPROVAL OF CONTINUING LEGAL
EDUCATION ACTIVITIES

CLE 7.005 Except for repeated on—demand programs as defined
in SCR 31.01 (6m), self—study courses as defined in CLE 1.02,
and courses explicitly disapproved in Wisconsin, courses
approved for CLE credit by, and attended in, any other state or ter-
ritory or the District of Columbia are deemed approved for the
same number of hours and for the same purposes in Wisconsin.
To take advantage of this section, lawyers must document the out—

of—state approval in connection with filing their CLE Form 1.
History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated 2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

CLE 7.01 The following portions of the program may not be
counted for credit: breaks, business meetings, and similar non—

academic activities.
History: Sup. Ct. Order, 187 Wis. 2d xv (1994); Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated
2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

CLE 7.02 Credit hours shall be rounded down to the nearest
whole or half hour. Hours of credit shall be determined by the fol-
lowing formula: Total minutes minus nonacademic portions
(breaks, business meetings) divided by 50 minutes equal the hours

of CLE credit.
History: Sup. Ct. Order, 187 Wis. 2d xv (1994); Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated
2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

CLE 7.03 Approved hours merely reflect a maximum that may
be earned through attendance. Only actual attendance by the law-
yer may be used to satisfy the Wisconsin requirement.

CLE 7.04 Credit will not be allowed for any program which in its

entirety lasts less than 50 minutes.
History: Sup. Ct. Order, 187 Wis. 2d xv (1994).

CLE 7.06 (1) A published legal writing is defined as material that
satisfies all of the following criteria:

(a) It has been published, in print or electronically, in the form
of an article, chapter, book, or significant revision;

(b) It was written in whole or in substantial part by the lawyer
submitting the request for approval; and

(c) It satisfies the criteria set forth in SCR 31.07(2) (a) and (b)
in that its objective is to increase the reader’s professional compe-
tence as a lawyer, and in that its content must deal primarily with
matters related to the practice of law, professional responsibility
or ethical obligations of lawyers.

(2) Published legal writings specifically exclude the follow-
ing:

(a) Compiling or editing materials written by others;

(b) Contributions to blogs or brief current—awareness entries
in newsletters or magazines;

(c) Material that is produced on behalf of or in support of a cli-
ent, including submissions to a court of law or to an administrative
agency;

(d) Authorship of published decisions;

(e) Material appearing in any media, whether print or elec-
tronic the published content of which is controlled by the appli-
cant or by the applicant’s firm or employer or that is published by
the applicant;

(f) Material appearing in a publication for general circulation
or in a publication directed to a non—lawyer audience; and

(g) Materials that are developed and distributed at CLE activi-

ties in accordance with SCR 31.07 (2) (e).
History: Sup. Ct. Order, 187 Wis. 2d xv (1994); Sup. Ct. Order No. 08-04, 2008
‘WI 127, filed and eff. 12-3-08; Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated and eff. 9-20—13.
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CLE 7.07 In order to request approval for a published legal writ-
ing, a CLE Form 4 and a copy of the published legal writing must

be submitted by its author to the Board.
History: Sup. Ct. Order, 187 Wis. 2d xv (1994).

CLE 7.08 A lawyer may claim his or her actual preparation time
up to a maximum of 15 hours for any approved published legal
writing.

CLE 7.09 A lawyer may not claim in excess of 15 hours for all
approved published legal writings in any one reporting period.

CLE 7.10 The only reporting period in which hours for an
approved published legal writing may be claimed is that in which
the writing was published.

PROCEDURE FOR APPROVAL OF CONTINUING LEGAL
EDUCATION ACTIVITIES

CLE 8.01 Approval may be refused to a sponsor for any course
which has previously been falsely advertised as approved by the
Board of Bar Examiners.

CLE 8.02 General program sponsorship does not extend to activ-
ities in which the sponsor acts as the co—sponsor of an activity.
Approval shall be sought by letter from the general program spon-
sor to the Board.

CLE 8.03 Any sponsor holding general program approval that
fails to cooperate with the administrative requirements developed
by the Board may have its general program approval revoked by
the Board.

History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated 2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

CLE 8.04 CLE Form 2 shall be submitted to the Board to initiate
a request for course approval. The Board will accept a uniform
national course approval request form at the discretion of its

Board.
History: Sup. Ct. Order, 187 Wis. 2d xv (1994); Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated
2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

CLE 8.05 CLE Form 5, or CLE Form 2, shall be submitted to ini-
tiate a request for legal ethics and professional responsibility
approval. The Board will accept a uniform national course

approval request form at the discretion of its Board.
History: Sup. Ct. Order, 187 Wis. 2d xv (1994); Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated
2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

CLE 8.06 Program sponsors shall maintain a list of lawyers in
attendance for a minimum of four (4) years. Attendance lists may

be kept in hardcopy or stored in a retrievable electronic format.
History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated and eff. 9-23-11.

REINSTATEMENT AFTER SUSPENSION PURSUANT TO
SCR 31.11

CLE 11.02 Petitions for reinstatement pursuant to SCR 31.11 (1)
(a) must be executed under oath or affirmation.

CLE 11.03 The number of hours required of a lawyer seeking
reinstatement is 30 per previous reporting period up to a maxi-
mum of 60; in addition, the lawyer will be required to meet the
requirement for the reporting period in which his or her reinstate-
ment falls.

History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated 2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

CLE 11.04 The Board will accept the election of the SCR 31.04
(2) exemption, if appropriate, in satisfaction of its requirement for
reinstatement only for the reporting period from which the sus-
pension arose; that is, the exemption may not be used toward rein-
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statement for any reporting period subsequent to the reporting
period from which the suspension arose.

EXTENSIONS AND WAIVERS

CLE 12.01 The Board will consider extensions for completion
of attendance and reporting requirements only upon written

request.
History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated 2-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.

SERVICE; FILING

CLE 13.01 The Board will not accept facsimile transmissions in
satisfaction of its filing requirements.

RULES OF THE BOARD OF BAR EXAMINERS CLE 14.01

BOARD MEETINGS

CLE 14.01 As an agency of the Supreme Court, the Board is not
subject to Subchapter V of Chapter 19 of the Wisconsin Statutes,
relating to open meetings of governmental bodies. However, the
Board posts the dates, locations and agendas of its meetings on its
Internet web site and invites the public to attend its meetings.
Members of the public are not allowed to attend meetings or parts
of meetings that involve confidential matters. Examples of confi-
dential matters include (i) individuals’ applications for admission
to the Wisconsin bar, (ii) hearings on admission applications and

(iii) bar examination questions.
History: Bd. of Bar Examiners Order, dated 2—-27-09, eff. 5-1-09.
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