Development of policies that restrict access to tobacco products and reduce exposure to environmental tobacco smoke.
To the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System for advancing the work of the tobacco research and intervention center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in developing new educational programs to discourage tobacco use, determining the most effective strategies for preventing tobacco use, and expanding smoking cessation programs throughout the state.
From the appropriation account under s. 20.435 (1) (fm)
, the department shall distribute $96,000 annually for programs to discourage use of smokeless tobacco.
No recipient of moneys distributed under par. (b)
may expend more than 10 percent of those moneys for administrative costs.
Not later than April 15, 2002, and annually thereafter, the department shall submit to the governor and to the chief clerk of each house of the legislature for distribution under s. 13.172 (2)
a report that evaluates the success of the grant program under sub. (3)
. The report shall specify the number of grants awarded during the immediately preceding fiscal year and the purpose for which each grant was made. The report shall also specify donations and grants accepted by the department under sub. (5)
The department may accept for any of the purposes under this section any donations and grants of money, equipment, supplies, materials and services from any person. The department shall include in the report under sub. (4)
any donation or grant accepted by the department under this subsection, including the nature, amount and conditions, if any, of the donation or grant and the identity of the donor.
See also ch. DHS 199
, Wis. adm. code.
INJURY PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Duties of the department.
The department shall do all of the following:
Maintain an injury prevention program that includes data collection, surveillance, education and the promotion of intervention.
Assist local health departments and community agencies by serving as a focal point for injury prevention expertise and guidance and by providing the leadership for effective local program development and evaluation.
Enter into memoranda of understanding with other state agencies to reduce intentional and unintentional injuries.
History: 1993 a. 27
Safety eye protective goggles. 255.30(1)(1)
Every student and teacher in schools, colleges, universities and other educational institutions participating in or observing any of the following courses is required to wear appropriate industrial quality eye protective goggles at all times while participating in or observing such courses or laboratories:
Vocational, technical or industrial arts shops, chemical or chemical-physical laboratories involving exposure to:
Milling, sawing, turning, shaping, cutting, grinding or stamping of any solid materials.
Heat treatment, tempering or kiln firing of any metal or other materials.
Gas or electric arc welding or other forms of welding processes.
Chemical, physical or combined chemical-physical laboratories involving caustic or explosive materials, hot liquids or solids, injurious radiations or other hazards not enumerated.
Eye protective goggles may be furnished for all students and teachers by the institution, purchased and sold at cost to students and teachers or made available for a moderate rental fee and shall be furnished for all visitors.
In this section, “industrial quality eye protective goggles" means devices meeting the standards of the American National Standard Practice for Occupational and Educational Eye and Face Protection, Z87.1 — 1968, and subsequent revisions thereof, approved by the American National Standards Institute, Inc.
The state superintendent of public instruction shall prepare and circulate to each public and private educational institution and to each tribal school, as defined in s. 115.001 (15m)
, in this state instructions and recommendations for implementing the eye safety provisions of this section.
Statewide poison control system. 255.35(1m)(a)
“Appropriate health-oriented background" means one of the following:
Licensure as an emergency medical technician, advanced emergency medical technician, emergency medical technician — intermediate, or paramedic under s. 256.15 (5) (a)
Completion of a training program directed by a physician specializing in toxicology and, as determined by the medical director of a poison control center, background sufficient to understand and interpret standard poison information resources and to transmit that information understandably to both health professionals and the public under the direct supervision of a staff member specified under sub. (3m) (b) 1.
or the medical director.
“On-line staff member" means a member of the staff of a poison control center who personally responds to telephone inquiries received by the poison control center.
“Poison control services" means poison prevention education, and rapid and accurate poison interpretation, poison intervention and management information.
“School of pharmacy" means a school of pharmacy that is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.
The department shall implement a statewide poison control system, which shall provide poison control services that are available statewide, on a 24-hour per day and 365-day per year basis and shall provide poison information and education to health care professionals and the public. From the appropriation account under s. 20.435 (1) (ds)
, the department shall, if the requirement under par. (b)
is met, distribute total funding of not more than $425,000 in each fiscal year to supplement the operation of the system and to provide for the statewide collection and reporting of poison control data. The department may, but need not, distribute all of the funds in each fiscal year to a single poison control center.
No poison control center may receive funds under par. (a)
unless the poison control center provides a matching contribution of at least 50 percent of the state funding for the center. Private funds and in-kind contributions may be used to meet this requirement.
The department may use moneys expended from the appropriation under s. 20.435 (1) (ds)
for the poison control system under this section as the state share for purposes of obtaining federal matching funds under 42 USC 1397aa
to 42 USC 1397mm
, if those moneys are eligible for a federal funding match.
(3m) Requirements of poison control centers. 255.35(3m)(a)(a)
A poison control center shall maintain telephone services capable of providing rapid, accurate and complete poison information that is accessible throughout the state and that is free to users through a statewide toll-free hotline.
An on-line staff member who interprets poison exposure data and provides poison intervention and management information shall be one of the following:
A person who is certified by or eligible for certification by the American Association of Poison Control Centers as a specialist in poison information.
A school of pharmacy graduate who is in residency training.
A school of pharmacy enrollee who has completed the 2nd professional practice year.
A person who was employed as an on-line staff member on May 1, 1994, who has worked in that capacity at the poison control center for at least 3 years and who annually receives at least 16 documented hours of continuing education in interpreting poison exposure data and providing poison intervention and management information.
A person who is designated as a poison information provider, annually receives at least 16 documented hours of job-relevant continuing education and has an appropriate health-oriented background.
A person who obtained relevant education, training, instruction, or other experience in connection with military service, as defined in s. 111.32 (12g)
, if the person or the poison control center demonstrates to the satisfaction of the department that the education, training, instruction, or other experience that the person obtained in connection with his or her military service is substantially equivalent to the education, training, instruction, or other experience that is required to interpret poison exposure data and provide poison intervention and management information for a poison control center.
(4) Rule making.
The department shall promulgate rules that specify the information that shall be reported to the department under the statewide poison control program.
See also ch. DHS 167
, Wis. adm. code.
Reporting of wounds and burn injuries. 255.40(2)(a)(a)
Any person licensed, certified or registered by the state under ch. 441
who treats a patient suffering from any of the following shall report in accordance with par. (b)
Any wound other than a gunshot wound if the person has reasonable cause to believe that the wound occurred as a result of a crime.
Second-degree or 3rd-degree burns to at least 5 percent of the patient's body or, due to the inhalation of superheated air, swelling of the patient's larynx or a burn to the patient's upper respiratory tract, if the person has reasonable cause to believe that the burn occurred as a result of a crime.
For any mandatory report under par. (a)
, the person shall report the patient's name and the type of wound or burn injury involved as soon as reasonably possible to the local police department or county sheriff's office for the area where the treatment is rendered.
Any such person who intentionally fails to report as required under this subsection may be required to forfeit not more than $500.
Any person reporting in good faith under sub. (2)
, and any inpatient health care facility that employs the person who reports, are immune from all civil and criminal liability that may result because of the report. In any proceeding, the good faith of any person reporting under this section shall be presumed.
The reporting requirement under sub. (2)
does not apply under any of the following circumstances:
The patient is accompanied by a law enforcement officer at the time treatment is rendered.
The patient's name and type of wound or burn injury have been previously reported under sub. (2)
The wound is a gunshot wound and appears to have occurred at least 30 days prior to the time of treatment.
History: 1987 a. 233
; 1991 a. 39
; 1993 a. 27
; 2007 a. 130
; Stats. 2007 s. 255.40.