341.15(1)(b) (b) For any other vehicle for which only one plate is issued, to the rear, except that a plate issued to or for a municipality under s. 341.26 (2m) may be attached to the front of the vehicle if the design or use of the vehicle is such as to make a plate attached to the rear difficult to see and read.
341.15(1m) (1m)
341.15(1m)(a)(a) Except as provided in par. (b), any registration decal or tag issued by the department shall be placed on the rear registration plate of the vehicle in the manner directed by the department.
341.15(1m)(b) (b) Any registration decal or tag issued by the department for a truck tractor, road tractor or motor truck under sub. (1) (a) or for any other vehicle which may bear a registration plate attached to the front as provided in sub. (1) (b) shall be placed on the front registration plate of the vehicle in the manner directed by the department.
341.15(2) (2) Registration plates shall be attached firmly and rigidly in a horizontal position and conspicuous place. The plates shall at all times be maintained in a legible condition and shall be so displayed that they can be readily and distinctly seen and read. Any peace officer may require the operator of any vehicle on which plates are not properly displayed to display such plates as required by this section.
341.15(3) (3) Any of the following may be required to forfeit not more than $200:
341.15(3)(a) (a) A person who operates a vehicle for which a current registration plate, insert tag, decal or other evidence of registration has been issued without such plate, tag, decal or other evidence of registration being attached to the vehicle, except when such vehicle is being operated pursuant to a temporary operation permit or plate or displays a historical plate under s. 341.265 (1m) or 341.266 (2) (dm);
341.15(3)(b) (b) A person who operates a vehicle with a registration plate attached in a non-rigid or non-horizontal manner or in an inconspicuous place so as to make it difficult to see and read the plate;
341.15(3)(c) (c) A person who operates a vehicle with a registration plate in an illegible condition due to the accumulation of dirt or other foreign matter.
341.15 Annotation The language referencing a single plate in s. 341.40 (1) (a) is the first of a list of criteria that vehicles registered in a jurisdiction other than Wisconsin must meet in order to be exempt from the registration laws of this state. Having been issued at least one plate is a condition precedent for exemption, not a display requirement. Since s. 341.40 (1) (a) does not address how nonresidents are to display license plates, there is no conflict with sub. (1). Given the legislature's use of the word "whenever," sub. (1) unambiguously applies to all vehicles operated in Wisconsin, not just those that are also registered in Wisconsin. State v. Boyd, 2012 WI App 39, 340 Wis. 2d 168, 811 N.W.2d 853, 11-1056.
341.15 AnnotationThis section is applicable to temporary plates under s. 341.09. U.S. v. Dexter, 165 F.3d 1120 (1999).
341.16 341.16 Issuance of replacement plate.
341.16(1) (1)
341.16(1)(a)(a) Whenever a current registration plate is lost or destroyed, the owner of the vehicle to which the plate was attached shall immediately apply to the department for replacement. Except as provided in par. (b) and sub. (2m), upon satisfactory proof of the loss or destruction of the plate and upon payment of a fee of $2 for each plate, the department shall issue a replacement.
341.16(1)(b) (b) Upon satisfactory proof of the loss or destruction of a special plate issued under s. 341.14 (6m) (a), (6r) (b), or (6w) or a special personalized plate issued under s. 341.145 (1) (b), (c), or (f) and upon payment of a fee of $5 for each plate or, if the plate is for a special group specified under s. 341.14 (6r) (f) 35. to 47. or 53., $6 for each plate, the department shall issue a replacement.
341.16(2) (2) Whenever a current registration plate becomes illegible, the owner of the vehicle to which the plate is attached shall apply to the department for a replacement. Except as provided in sub. (2m), upon receipt of satisfactory proof of illegibility, and upon payment of a fee of $2 for each plate, the department shall issue a replacement. Upon receipt of a replacement plate, the applicant shall destroy the illegible plate.
341.16(2e) (2e) The owner of a vehicle to which special group plates under s. 341.14 (6r) (f) 33. or 48. are attached may apply to the department for replacement special group plates under s. 341.14 (6r) (f) 33m. or 48m., respectively. Upon receipt of the application and payment of a fee of $40, the department shall issue the replacement special group plates. Upon receipt of replacement plates, the applicant shall destroy the replaced plates.
341.16(2m) (2m) Upon request therefor and payment of a fee of $10, the department may issue an applicant for replacement plates for an automobile registered pursuant to the registration system under s. 341.27 registration plates of the design specified in s. 341.13 for the plate issuance cycle next succeeding the cycle under which the original plates were issued. The department may limit the receipt of requests under this subsection to applicants for a renewal registration of a motor vehicle.
341.16(3) (3) When issuing a replacement plate, the department may assign a new number and issue a new plate rather than a duplicate of the original if in its judgment that is in the best interests of economy or prevention of fraud. Upon receipt of a replacement plate, the applicant shall destroy all plates replaced.
341.16(4) (4) Any person issued replacement plates who fails to destroy the original plates as required by sub. (2), (2e), or (3) may be required to forfeit not more than $200.
341.16(5) (5) This section does not apply to plates issued pursuant to the law pertaining to the registration of dealers, distributors, manufacturers or transporters.
341.17 341.17 Department to compile registration lists.
341.17(1) (1) At intervals selected by the department, the department shall compile a list of registrations made during that interval pursuant to the system of registering automobiles under s. 341.27. The list shall give the name and address of each registrant, the registration number assigned, and other identifying information as the department deems necessary.
341.17(2) (2) The department shall compile a list by counties of new automobile and motor truck registrations. Registrations for other new vehicles may be included if deemed necessary by the department. Such lists shall be compiled at such intervals during the month as is deemed necessary by the department but the final list compiled each month shall include the listing of the last day of the month. Such list shall contain only those vehicles being registered for the first time after sale by a dealer. Such list shall contain the name and address of the owner, the make, body type, identification number of the vehicle, the dealer license number, if such dealer is registered in this state, and the date of sale.
341.17(4) (4) Upon request, the department shall distribute free of charge registration lists compiled under this section as follows:
341.17(4)(a) (a) To each county clerk, one copy of each automobile registration list under sub. (1).
341.17(4)(c) (c) To the sheriff of each county, one copy of each automobile registration list under sub. (1).
341.17(4)(d) (d) To each chief of police, one copy of each automobile registration list under sub. (1).
341.17(4)(e) (e) To each village clerk, one copy of each automobile registration list under sub. (1).
341.17(4)(g) (g) To the department of revenue, the number of copies of each automobile registration list under sub. (1) as requested.
341.17(4)(h) (h) To the commission, one copy of each automobile registration list under sub. (1).
341.17(5) (5) Except as provided in sub. (9) (e), public officers and agencies receiving free copies of registration lists under sub. (4) shall keep such lists current and open to public inspection.
341.17(6) (6) The department shall sell subscriptions to the registration lists compiled under this section and may sell other registration information. In computing the charge to be made for subscriptions to the registration lists and for other registration information, the department shall determine the costs of compiling the lists and other information and shall fairly apportion the major share of those costs among the subscribers and other purchasers.
341.17(7) (7) The department may suspend the compilation and distribution of the registration lists during a period of national war emergency and while new registration numbers are not being issued annually, but shall continue to transmit from time to time to the persons under sub. (4) who request free copies of the lists any additions to or changes in the lists issued during the year preceding suspension which are caused by the registration of vehicles not previously registered in the state or by the issuance of new registration numbers for vehicles previously registered.
341.17(8) (8) The department shall charge a fee of not less than $2 for conducting a file search of vehicle registration records.
341.17(9) (9)
341.17(9)(a)(a) In this subsection:
341.17(9)(a)1. 1. "Agent" means an authorized person who acts on behalf of or at the direction of another person.
341.17(9)(a)2. 2. "Insurer" has the meaning given in s. 600.03 (27).
341.17(9)(a)3. 3. "Personal identifier" has the meaning given in s. 85.103 (1) and includes a birth date submitted under s. 341.08.
341.17(9)(a)4. 4. "State authority" has the meaning given in s. 19.62 (8).
341.17(9)(b) (b) In providing copies under this section or s. 19.35 (1) (a) of any written information collected or prepared under this chapter or ch. 342 which consists in whole or in part of the personal identifiers of 10 or more persons, the department may not disclose a personal identifier of any person who has made a designation under s. 85.103 (2) or (3).
341.17(9)(c) (c) Paragraph (b) does not apply to any of the following:
341.17(9)(c)1. 1. A person receiving a registration list under sub. (4) to perform a legally authorized function.
341.17(9)(c)2. 2. A law enforcement agency, a state authority, a federal governmental agency, or the commission to perform a legally authorized function.
341.17(9)(c)3. 3. An insurer authorized to write property and casualty or life, disability or long-term care insurance in this state or an agent of the insurer, if the insurer or agent uses the personal identifiers designated for nondisclosure under s. 85.103 (2) or (3) for purposes of issuing or renewing a policy and related underwriting, billing or processing or paying a claim. Notwithstanding par. (e), no insurer, or agent of an insurer, may disclose to another person for marketing purposes any personal identifier received under this subdivision.
341.17(9)(c)4. 4. A person obtaining registration or title information for use in the conduct of a vehicle recall by the manufacturer of the vehicle or an agent of the manufacturer, if the person uses the personal identifiers designated for nondisclosure under s. 85.103 (2) or (3) for vehicle recalls. Notwithstanding par. (e), no person receiving a personal identifier under this subdivision may disclose the personal identifier to another person for marketing purposes.
341.17(9)(c)5. 5. An association, as defined in s. 895.449 (1), obtaining registration information for use in providing information under s. 895.449, if the association uses the personal identifiers designated for nondisclosure under s. 85.103 (2) or (3) for this purpose. Notwithstanding par. (e), no person receiving a personal identifier under this subdivision may disclose the personal identifier to another person for marketing purposes.
341.17(9)(e) (e) Any person who has received under par. (c) a personal identifier of any person who has made a designation under s. 85.103 (2) or (3) shall keep the personal identifier confidential and may not disclose it except for a purpose applicable to that person under par. (c).
341.17(9)(f)1. 1. Any person who discloses a personal identifier in violation of this subsection may be required to forfeit not more than $500 for each violation.
341.17(9)(f)2. 2. Any person who requests or obtains a personal identifier from the department under this subsection under false pretenses may be required to forfeit not more than $500 for each violation.
341.17(9)(f)3. 3. Subdivisions 1. and 2. do not apply to a legal custodian under s. 19.33 of the department.
341.17 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also ch. Trans 195, Wis. adm. code.
341.18 341.18 Evidence of registration to be displayed on vehicles registered under quarterly or consecutive monthly systems; operation without display of registration prohibited.
341.18(1)(1) A vehicle registered under s. 341.30 or 341.305 may not be operated on the highway without evidence of registration in the form required by the department displayed on or in the vehicle as required by the department, unless the vehicle has been authorized to operate under s. 341.19.
341.18(2) (2) If a person claims as a defense to a citation for failure to display evidence of registration that the person has made application for annual registration as provided in s. 341.04 (1) (intro.) and no such application was submitted to the department and the person is convicted of operating the vehicle without registration, the person shall be required to pay the full annual fee upon registration of the vehicle, notwithstanding the eligibility of the vehicle for registration under s. 341.30 or 341.305. The court or the department shall order the annual registration under s. 341.04 (3) (c).
341.18 History History: 1983 a. 469.
341.185 341.185 Application for quarterly or consecutive monthly registration.
341.185(1) (1) Renewal application.
341.185(1)(a)(a) Application for renewal of quarterly or consecutive monthly registration shall be made to the department upon forms prescribed by the department and shall be accompanied by the required fee. An applicant may obtain evidence of registration before the beginning of the registration period for which application is made by submitting for receipt by the department on or before the 15th day of the month preceding the registration period a complete application accompanied by the required fee.
341.185(1)(b) (b) If the applicant complies with par. (a) and does not receive evidence of registration before the beginning of the registration period, the applicant may, before the beginning of the registration period, utilize the telephone authorization procedure in s. 341.19 without charge.
341.185(1)(c) (c) If the application for renewal of a quarterly or consecutive monthly registration is submitted after the 15th day of the month preceding the beginning of the registration period, and evidence of registration is not received before the beginning of the registration period, the applicant may not operate the vehicle on a highway unless the applicant utilizes the telephone authorization procedure in s. 341.19.
341.185(2) (2)Original application. An applicant for original registration of a vehicle under the quarterly or consecutive monthly registration system may not operate the vehicle on a highway without evidence of registration as determined by the department or a permit under s. 341.09 (6) displayed in or on the vehicle, unless the applicant obtains authorization to operate the vehicle as provided in s. 341.19.
341.185 History History: 1983 a. 469; 1987 a. 369.
341.19 341.19 Telephone authorization for quarterly and consecutive monthly registration.
341.19(1) (1) The department shall establish a telephone call-in procedure to authorize the operation of vehicles under the quarterly registration system in s. 341.30 or consecutive monthly registration system in s. 341.305. In addition to the registration fee required under s. 341.30 or 341.305, for authorizing the operation of a vehicle under this section, a fee shall be paid to the department of the lesser of $10 per vehicle or the actual cost of the telephone authorization per vehicle as determined by the department.
341.19(2) (2)
341.19(2)(a)(a) The department may require that cancellation of telephone authorization be made by telephone.
341.19(2)(c) (c) Telephone authorization to operate a vehicle may be canceled by the applicant within 36 hours after making the request for telephone authorization, and the applicant shall not be required to pay the registration fee. The applicant shall pay to the department the authorization fee under sub. (1) and may be charged a cancellation fee established by the department.
341.19(3) (3) The department may refuse telephone authorization to an applicant who does not comply with this section or whose registration has been suspended under s. 341.195.
341.19(4) (4) The department shall promulgate rules to implement this section.
341.19 History History: 1983 a. 469; 1999 a. 9; 2013 a. 363.
341.19 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also ch. Trans 132, Wis. adm. code.
341.195 341.195 Suspension for failure to pay fees for telephone authorization. The department may suspend any or all registrations of a person who obtains authorization to operate under s. 341.19 and fails to pay the required authorization and registration fees within the time period established by the department under s. 341.19. A registration suspended under this section shall remain suspended until the fees required in s. 341.19 are paid.
341.195 History History: 1983 a. 469.
341.195 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also ch. Trans 132, Wis. adm. code.
341.20 341.20 Alternative vehicle registration and title pilot projects. The department may conduct one or more pilot projects to test and evaluate the effectiveness of alternative methods of processing and distributing vehicle registration renewals under this chapter or certificates of title under ch. 342. In implementing any pilot project under this section, the department may exempt certain persons from one or more of the mandatory requirements of this chapter or ch. 342 to establish a test group in order to compare this group with a group of persons not exempted from any of the mandatory requirements of this chapter or ch. 342. The department may contract for services relating to pilot projects under this section. The department shall submit an evaluation of any pilot project implemented under this section to the secretary who shall include them in the report required under s. 15.04 (1) (d).
341.20 History History: 1993 a. 16.
341.21 341.21 Registration and title transactions by contractors.
341.21(1m)(1m) In this section, "contractor" means a person who has contracted with the department to provide services under this section.
341.21(2) (2) The department may contract with any person for services relating to the processing or distribution of original or renewal registrations under this chapter or certificates of title under ch. 342. The department may not compensate a contractor for services provided under this section. A contract under this section shall contain the following provisions:
341.21(2)(a) (a) The amount of fees, if any, that the contractor may charge a person for services relating to the processing or distribution of an original or renewal registration or a certificate of title.
341.21(2)(b) (b) Within 7 business days after the completion of an application, the contractor shall process the application and submit any required fees and other documentation to the department.
341.21(2)(c) (c) The contractor shall retain all records related to an application for original or renewal registration or a certificate of title for at least 5 years.
341.21(2)(d) (d) The department or its representative may, without any prior notice, conduct random inspections and audits of the contractor.
Loading...
Loading...
2011-12 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2013 Wis. Act 380 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before Sept. 3, 2014. Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after Sept. 3, 2014 are designated by NOTES. (Published 9-3-14)