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No. 369, S.] : [Published June 20, 1943.

CHAPTER 338.

AN ACT to amend 110.01 (3) of the statutes, relating to direc-
tors of the motor vehicle department.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and
assembly, do enact as follows:

110.01.(3) of the statutes is amended to read:

110.01 (3) Each such division shall be in charge of a director
who shall * * * be paid an annual salary of * * * -$4 500,
The present directors shall be given a ciwil service status without
examinalion, provided they file an application and a history of
thewr employment with the personnel board within 2 months after
the effective date of this amendment.

Deposited without signature of Acting Governor, June 18,
1943. -

No. 99, A.] [Published June 21, 1943.

CHAPTER 339.

AN ACT to create 76.55 of the statutes, relating to the transpor-
tation or sale of natural gas and taxation of the use of natural
gas for the purpose of reimbursing the state and its political
subdivisions for losses of revenue, both direct and indirect,
which would be incurred by reason of a substitution of the use
of natural gas for artificial gas or other fuels, and providing
a penalty.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and
assembly, do enact as follows:

76.55 of the statutes is created to read:

76.55 TAX ON USE OF NATURAL @¢AS. (1) Except when the con-
text clearly indicates a different meaning the words, terms and
phrases used in this section shall be construed for the purposes
thereof as follows:

(a) ““Natural Gas’’ means either natural gas unmixed, or any
mixture of natural and artificial gas, which is transported in
gaseous form by means of pipeline to the place of distribution
or sale.
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(b) ¢“Cubic foot of natural gas’” means that quantity of nat-
ural gas which measured at a temperature of 60 degrees Fahren-
heit and at an'absolute pressure of 30 inches of mercury (32
degrees Fahrenheit) occupies a space having the fixed capacity
of one cubie foot.

(¢) ““Use’” means the consumption, whether beneficial or other-
wise, of natural gas through the destruction of its substance by
changes in its physical or chemical properties.

(d) ““User’’ means any person who uses natural gas as said
use is defined in this section.

(e) ‘““Distributor’” means a person who has natural gas -on
hand or in his possession for the purpose of supplying it for use
in this state.

(f) “Person’’ means and includes any individual, firm, co-
partnership, joint adventure, association, corporation, estate,
trust, receiver, assignee, syndicate, or any other group or com-
bination acting as a unit, and the plural as well as the singular
number.

(2) (a) An excise tax of 7 cents for each 1,000 cubic feet, or
fraction thereof, is imposed on the use or other consumption in
this state of natural gas, except as herein otherwise provided.

(b) In the event that gas supplied by any distributor for use
in this state is a mixture of natural and other gases, the tax im-
posed shall apply only to the use of the natural gas included in
such mixture..

(¢) The tax imposed by this section shall be collected by dis-
tributors from users, who shall pay the amount thereof to dis-
tributors, (except no distributor shall collect the tax from any
user who is also a distributor), and shall be paid to the state
treasurer as hereinafter provided. Each distributor shall be
responsible for the collection of all taxes on the use of all natural
gas distributed for use in this state by such distributor (except
natural gas distributed to users who are also distributors) and
shall be liable for the payment of all such taxes to the state
treasurer. ]

(d) Users of natural gas shall be directly liable for the pay-
ment of all taxes due on their use of natural gas which are not
so collected by a distributor, and such taxes shall be collectible
in the same manner as provided in this section for the collection
of taxes from distributors.
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(8) The tax imposed by this section shall not apply to the
following : ’

(a) The use or consumption of natural gas in public buildings
or institutions by this state or any of its political subdivisions
or agencies.

(b) The use or consumption of natural gas by the United
States of America, or any of its agencies.

{¢) Any use or consumption of natural gas which may not,
under the constitution and -statutes of the United States, be
made the subject of taxation by this state.

(4) (a) For the purpose of determining the amount of its
liability to the state for the tax herein imposed, and for the pur-
pose of supplying information to the state treasurer, each dis-
tributor shall, not later than the twentieth day of each calendar
month, file with the state treasurer, on forms preseribed by him,
sworn monthly reports which shall include a statement of the
number of thousands of cubic feet and fractions thereof of all
natural gas supplied by such distributor to users in the state, or
supplied to other distributors, during the next preceding calen-
dar month, the amounts used by the distributor itself, and such
other information as the state treasurer may require.

(b) Each distributor, at the time of making every monthly
return, shall compute and pay to the state treasurer in lawful
money of the United States the full amount of all taxes which
such distributor is required by paragraph (¢) of subsection (2)
to colleet for the unexempt use of natural gas in the next pre-
ceding calendar month, and all taxes due upon the use of natural
gas during the preceding calendar month by such distributor
itself.

(5) In the case the tax imposed by this section is not paid by
a distributor when due, a penalty of 10 per cent thereof shall
immediately accrue. If such tax remains delinquent and unpaid
for a period of one month from the date due, the state treasurer
shall add interest at the rate of 2 per cent for each month or
fraction thereof that such tax remains delinquent and unpaid.
The amount so added shall become a part of the tax and shall be
collected from the distributor at the same time and in the same
manner as such delinquent taxes by action in the name of the
state of Wisconsin, and the attorney general or proper distriet
attorney is authorized and directed to institute suits therefor in
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any court of competent jurisdiction. In the event such suit is
instituted, the court may, on application by the attorney general
or distriet attorney, issue a writ of injunction enjoining the
defendant from distributing or using natural gas until any judg-
ment with costs recovered in said suit has been paid.

(6) If any distributor shall fail, neglect, or refuse to make
any report or return, or shall make and file any false or fraudu-
lent report or return for any calendar month as required by this
section, the state treasurer shall estimate the number of thou-
sands of cubic feet of gas supplied for use or used by said dis-
tributor during said calendar months, shall make and file such
report or return on behalf of said distributor, based upon such
information as is readily available, and shall determine the
amount of taxes due from said distributor, including a penalty
and interest as provided in subsection (5). The state treasurer
shall send to such distributor by registered mail, a notification
of the amount of taxes so determined, and if such distributor
shall not file true and correct statements for the period covered
by the state treasurer’s estimates, and pay all taxes due within
20 days after the mailing of such notice, the tax determined by
the state treasurer shall become due and payable, including pen-
alty and interest, and shall be collected as provided in subsection
{5) above.

(7) No suit shall be maintained in any court to restrain or
delay the collection by or payment to the state treasurer of the
tax herein imposed upon any ground whatsoever, but the ag-
grieved distributor shall pay all taxes when due, and if paid
under protest the distributor may at any time within 90 days
from the date of such payment, sue the state in the ecireuit court
of any county in which said distributor conduets his business, in
an action at law to recover the tax so paid with legal interest
thereon from the date of payment. If it is finally determined
that said tax, or any part thereof, was wrongfully collected for
any reason, it shall be the duty of the state treasurer then in
office, to pay the amount of such tax adjudged to have been
" wrongfully collected, together with interest thereon as herein
provided, out of the general fund of the state to the distributor
entitled thereto. Recovery may be had in any one suit for as
many payments as may have been made prior to the entry of
judgment, which are not barred by the limitation herein im-
posed.
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(8) The state treasurer or his duly authorized representatives,
are authorized to examine at all reasonable times, the books and
records of every distributor and user, which pertain to natural
gas.

(9) All tax moneys collected pursuant to the provisions of this
section shall become part of the general fund and be apportioned
in the manner provided by section 76.28 (1) upon the basis of
the consumption in each city, village and town.

(10) Nothing herein contained shall be deemed to revoke any
of the provisions of the statutes of Wisconsin heretofore in force
and effect with respect to gas companies and utilities, except and
to the extent that the same, or any of thém, be repugnant to the
provisions of this section.

(11) If any subsection or paragraph of this section or its
application to any person or circumstance shall be held uncon-
stitutional, such decision shall not affect the constitutionality of
any other subsection or paragraph, or its application to other
persons or eircumstances.

Approved June 18, 1943.

No. 133, 8.] ' [Published June 22, 1943,

CHAPTER 340.

AN ACT to create 76.54 (17) (e) of the statutes, relating to
munieipal taxation of motor carriers.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and
assembly, do enact as follows:

76.54 (17) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

76.54 (17) (e) For busses operated in local passenger service
over a regular route which extends from ome city into one or
more adjoining or successive cities or villages in one county and
the traversed territory intervening between any such municipal-
ity and the next such municipality served does not exceed 6,000
feet, the license fee to be paid to each such city or village for the
operation of busses over such route shall be that portion of the
regular license fee for each such bus fixed under the limitations
of paragraphs (a) and (b) represented by the proportion which
the number of bus miles operated in such city or village bears





