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2015  WISCONSIN  ACT  28

AN ACT to create 36.65 (5) of the statutes; relating to: University of Wisconsin System reports regarding remedial

courses in English and mathematics.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in

senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1.  36.65 (5) of the statutes is created to read:

36.65 (5) REMEDIAL COURSE REPORTS.  (a)  In this sub-

section:

1.  “High school” means a school in this state in which

the high school grades are taught, including a school clas-

sified as a senior high school under s. 115.01 (2).

2.  “Placement test” means an English or mathematics

placement test that is required upon a student’s admission

to the system.

3.  “School” means a public school, including a char-

ter school, as defined in s. 115.001 (1), and a private

school, as defined in s. 115.001 (3r).

4.  “Student” means a student who is admitted to the

system immediately following high school graduation.

(b)  By September 1 of each year, the system adminis-

tration shall do all of the following:

1.  Determine the high schools with more than 6 stu-

dents who, based on their performance on placement tests

in the preceding 12 months, are required to take remedial

courses in English or mathematics.

2.  Submit a report to the appropriate standing com-

mittees of the legislature under s. 13.172 (3) and state

superintendent of public instruction that identifies the

high schools determined under subd. 1. and, for each high

school so identified, the number of students who, based

on their performance on placement tests in the preceding

12 months, are required to take remedial courses in Eng-

lish or mathematics.  The system administration may not

disclose in the report the identity of any student who is

required to take a remedial course.

(c)  Upon receipt of a report submitted under par. (b)

2., the state superintendent of public instruction shall pro-

vide a copy of the report to each school board.

SECTION 2.0Effective date.

(1)  This act takes effect on the first day of the 7th

month beginning after publication.

*  Section 991.11,  WISCONSIN STATUTES:   Effective date of acts.  “Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor’s
partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication.”


