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Committee on Education.

AN ACT to repeal 118.60 (4) (bg) 1., 2. and 5. and 119.23 (4) (bg) 1., 2. and 5.; to
renumber and amend 118.60 (4) (bg) 3. and 119.23 (4) (bg) 3.; to amend
118.60 (4) (bg) 4. (intro.), a. and b. and 119.23 (4) (bg) 4. (intro.), a. and b.; and
to create 118.60 (4) (bg) 3. b. and 119.23 (4) (bg) 3. b. of the statutes; relating
to: per pupil payments to private schools participating in parental choice

programs.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill changes the calculation of the per pupil amount the Department of
Public Instruction pays to participating private schools in the Milwaukee Parental
Choice Program, the Racine Parental Choice Program, and the statewide parental
choice program, known as the Wisconsin Parental Choice Program (collectively,
parental choice programs).

Under current law, for each pupil attending a private school under a parental
choice program, DPI pays the participating private school an amount set by law. In
the 2020-21 school year, the per pupil payment amount for a pupil in grades
kindergarten to eight is $8,300 and the per pupil payment amount for a pupil in
grades nine to twelve is $8,946. Current law provides an alternative calculation for
a pupil attending a private school participating in a parental choice program that
enrolls pupils in grades kindergarten to eight and grades nine to twelve.

Under the bill, for each pupil attending a private school under a parental choice
program, DPI must pay the private school participating in the parental choice
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program the lesser of the per pupil amount under current law or the amount the
private school charges a pupil who is not attending the private school under a
parental choice program for tuition and fees.

For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SEcTION 1. 118.60 (4) (bg) 1., 2. and 5. of the statutes are repealed.

SECTION 2. 118.60 (4) (bg) 3. of the statutes is renumbered 118.60 (4) (bg) 3.
(intro.) and amended to read:

118.60 (4) (bg) 3. (intro.) In the 2015-16 2022-23 school year and in each school
year thereafter, upon receipt from the pupil’s parent or guardian of proof of the pupil’s
enrollment in the private school during a school term, except as provided in subd. 5-
4., the state superintendent shall pay to the private school in which the pupil is
enrolled on behalf of the pupil’s parent or guardian, from the appropriation under s.

20.255 (2) (fr), the lesser of the amount the private school charges a pupil in the

pupil’s grade who is not participating in the program under this section for tuition

and fees or an amount equal to one of the following:

a. For a pupil enrolled in grades kindergarten to 8, an amount equal to the sum

of the maximum amount per pupil the state superintendent paid a private school

under this section in the previous school year for the grade-in-which the pupilis

enrolled a pupil enrolled in grades kindergarten to 8; the amount of the per pupil

revenue adjustment under s. 121.91 (2m) for the current school year, if positive; and
the change in the amount of statewide categorical aid per pupil between the previous
school year and the current school year, as determined under s. 118.40 (2r) (e) 2p.,

if positive.
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SECTION 3. 118.60 (4) (bg) 3. b. of the statutes is created to read:

118.60 (4) (bg) 3. b. For a pupil enrolled in grades 9 to 12, an amount equal to
the sum of the maximum amount per pupil the state superintendent paid a private
school under this section in the previous school year for a pupil enrolled in grades 9
to 12; the amount of the per pupil revenue adjustment under s. 121.91 (2m) for the
current school year, if positive; and the change in the amount of statewide categorical
aid per pupil between the previous school year and the current school year, as
determined under s. 118.40 (2r) (e) 2p., if positive.

SECTION 4. 118.60 (4) (bg) 4. (intro.), a. and b. of the statutes are amended to
read:

118.60 (4) (bg) 4. (intro.) If the pupil described in subd. -2- 3. is enrolled in a
private school that enrolls pupils under the program in any grade between
kindergarten to 8 and also in any grade between 9 to 12, the state superintendent

shall pay to the private school in which the pupil is enrolled on behalf of the pupil’s

parent or guardian, from the appropriation under s. 20.255 (2) (fr), the lesser of an

amount the private school charges a pupil in the pupil’s grade who is not

participating in the program under this section for tuition and fees or an amount

determined as follows:
a. Multiply the number of pupils participating in the program under this

section who are enrolled in the private school in any grade between kindergarten to

8 by $7,210 the amount calculated under subd. 3. a.
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b. Multiply the number of pupils participating in the program under this
section who are enrolled in the private school in any grade between 9 to 12 by -$7,856

the amount calculated under subd. 3. b.

SECTION 5. 119.23 (4) (bg) 1., 2. and 5. of the statutes are repealed.

SECTION 6. 119.23 (4) (bg) 3. of the statutes is renumbered 119.23 (4) (bg) 3.
(intro.) and amended to read:

119.23 (4) (bg) 3. (intro.) In the 2015-16 2022-23 school year and in each school
year thereafter, upon receipt from the pupil’s parent or guardian of proof of the pupil’s
enrollment in the private school during a school term, except as provided in subd. 5-
4., the state superintendent shall pay to the private school in which the pupil is
enrolled on behalf of the pupil’s parent or guardian, from the appropriation under s.

20.255 (2) (fu), the lesser of the amount the private school charges a pupil in the

pupil’s grade who is not participating in the program under this section for tuition

and fees or an amount equal to one of the following:

a. For a pupil enrolled in grades kindergarten to 8, an amount equal to the sum

of the maximum amount per pupil the state superintendent paid a private school

under this section in the previous school year for the grade-in-which the pupil-is

enrolled a pupil enrolled in grades kindergarten to 8; the amount of the per pupil

revenue adjustment under s. 121.91 (2m) for the current school year, if positive; and
the change in the amount of statewide categorical aid per pupil between the previous
school year and the current school year, as determined under s. 118.40 (2r) (e) 2p.,
if positive.

SECTION 7. 119.23 (4) (bg) 3. b. of the statutes is created to read:

119.23 (4) (bg) 3. b. For a pupil enrolled in grades 9 to 12, an amount equal to

the sum of the maximum amount per pupil the state superintendent paid a private
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school under this section in the previous school year for a pupil enrolled in grades 9
to 12; the amount of the per pupil revenue adjustment under s. 121.91 (2m) for the
current school year, if positive; and the change in the amount of statewide categorical
aid per pupil between the previous school year and the current school year, as
determined under s. 118.40 (2r) (e) 2p., if positive.

SECTION 8. 119.23 (4) (bg) 4. (intro.), a. and b. of the statutes are amended to
read:

119.23 (4) (bg) 4. (intro.) If the pupil described in subd. -2: 3. is enrolled in a
private school that enrolls pupils under the program in any grade between
kindergarten to 8 and also in any grade between 9 to 12, the state superintendent
shall pay to the private school in which the pupil is enrolled on behalf of the pupil’s

parent or guardian, from the appropriation under s. 20.255 (2) (fu), the lesser of an

amount the private school charges a pupil in the pupil’s grade who is not

participating in the program under this section for tuition and fees or an amount

determined as follows:
a. Multiply the number of pupils participating in the program under this
section who are enrolled in the private school in any grade between kindergarten to

8 by $7,210 the amount calculated under subd. 3. a.

b. Multiply the number of pupils participating in the program under this
section who are enrolled in the private school in any grade between 9 to 12 by $7,856

the amount calculated under subd. 3. b.

(END)



