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GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

344.01 Words and phrases defined. (1) Words and phrases defined in ss. 340.01 
and 343.01 a:re used in the same sense in this chapter unless a different 'definition is spe­
cifically provided. 

(2) In this chapter the following words and phrases have the designated meanings: 
(a.) "Judgment" means a judgment for damages rendered by a comt of competent 

jurisdiction of any state or of the United States upon a cause of action arising out of the 
ownership, maintenance or use of any motOl' vehicle, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bo'dily injury to or death of any person and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof, which judg­
ment has become final by expiration without appeal of the time within which an appeal 
might have been perfected or by final affirmation on appeal. "Judgment" also includes a 
judgment rendered by a comt of competent jmisdiction upon a cause of action on an 
agreement of settlement for damages of the type specified in this paragraph, which judg­
ment has become final within the meaning of this paJ.'agraph. 

(b) "MotOl' vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle and also includes trailers and 
semitrailers designed for use 1vith such vehicles, except that "motor vehicle" 'does not 
include farm tractors, well drillers or road machinery. 

(0) "Operator" means a person who is in actual or constructive physical control of a 
motor vehicle. It includes a person who has paJ.·ked a motor vehicle. It includes the driver 
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of a vehicle being pushed 01' towed and, in case there is no person actuany doing the driv­
ing, the person who is doing the pushing or towing. 

(d) "Proof of financial responsibility" or "proof of financial responsibility for the 
future" means proof of ability to respond in damages for liability on account of acci­
dents occID'ring subsequent to the effective date of such proof, arising out of the owner­
ship, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle in the amount of $10,000 because of bodily 
injID'Y to 01' death of one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one 
person, in the amount of $20,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more per­
sons in anyone accident and in the amount of $5,000 because of injury to or destruction 
of property of others in anyone accident. 

(e) "Registration" means, in the case of a person whose vehicle is registered lmder 
eh. 341, the registration so issue'd; in the case of a person whose vehicle is not so regis­
tered, it means the privilege to register a vehicle in Wisconsin and the reciprocal privi­
lege granted a n011l'esident to operate in Wisconsin a vehicle not registered in Wisconsin. 

(f) "State" means any state, territory or possession of the United States, the District 
of Columbia, 01' any province of the Dominion of Canada. 

(g) "Vehicle" means every device in, upon or by which any person or property is or 
may be transported 01' drawn upon a highway, except vehicles used exclusively upon sta­
tiona,ry rails or tracks or vehicles propelled by use of electricity obtained from overhead 
trolley struetID'es. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.02 Administration of responsibility law. The commISSIOner shall administer 
and enforce this chapter and may, in his discretion, appoint any employe in the depa;rt­
ment as his representative to affix his signature, including any facsimile signature adopted 
by him, to the administrative letters, notices and orders to enforce this chapter. 

History I 1957 c. 260. 

344.03 Judicial review of commissioner's action. Any person aggrieved by any 
order or act of the commissioner pursuant to this chapter may, 1vithin 10 days after notice 
thereof, file a petition in the circuit comi of Dane county for a review thereof in the man­
ner provided in ch. 227 for review of administrative decisions. The comt shan summlU".ily 
hear the petition and may make any appropriate order or decree. 

HistorYI 1957 c. 260. 

344.04 Power of court to st,ay suspension of registration of vehicles. (1) Not­
withstanding any other provision of this chapter, the conmllssioner shan not revoke 01' 
suspend the registration of a vehicle when ordered not to do so by the court wherein the 
judgment for damages was had or, in a case not involving a judgment, when ordered not 
to do so by a court pmsuant to petition of the registrant in accordance with sub. (2). 

(2) Upon receiving inf0l1llation, other than of a judgment for damages in a court of 
this state, that would be cause for revocation 01' suspension of registration, the commis­
sion81' shall notify the registrant of his intention to revoke or suspend such registration. 
The registrant may thereupon petition any court of record in his county for an order 
enjoining the commissioner's contemplated action, whereupon the judge of such court 
shall grant an, order restraining the commissioner in the matter until the petition is finally 
deteI1llined by the court. If such petition and ord81' lU'e served upon the commissioner 
within 10 days after the date of the commissioner's notice or in any event before the 
commissioner has revoke'd or suspended the registration, the commissioner shall await 
the final determination of the court. The commissioner shall be given notice of the heal".ing. 
Upon a showing' that it would result in Imdue hardship upon the pet.itioner to have any 
such registration revoked or suspended, the court shall issue an order restraining the 
commissioner from revoking 01' suspending the registration. 

(3) This section does not authorize a court to stay suspension or revocation of an 
operator's license. 

HistorYI 1957 c. 260, 

344.05 Courts to report nonpayment of certain judgments. (1) Whenever any 
judgment in excess of $100 for damages arising out of a motor vehicle accident is not 
satisfied within 30 days after its having become final by expiration without appeal of the 
time within which an appeal might have been perfected or by final aifu1llation on appeal, 
the clerk of the court in which such judgment was rendered, 01' the ju'dge if the COlU't has 
no clerk, shall forthwith forwlU'd to the commissioner a certified copy of such judgment. 

(2) If the defendant named in any certified copy of a judgment repOlied to the com­
missioner is a nonresident, the commissioner shall transmit a certified copy of the judg-
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ment to the official in charge of the issuance of licenses and registration certificates of the 
state of which the defendant is a resident. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.06 Oommissioner to furnish operating record. The commlSSlOller shall upon 
request furnish any person a certified abstract of the operating record of any person 
subject to the provisions of this chapter. If there is no record that such person has been 
convicted of violating any law relating to the operation of a. motor vehicle or of any 
injury or damage caused by such person, the commissioner shall so certify in the abstract. 
The abstract of the operating record also shall fully designate the motor vehicles, if any, 
registered in the name of such person. Such abstract is not admissible in evidence in any 
action for damages or criminal proceeding arising out of a motor vehicle accident. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.07 Responsibility law not to prevent other process. Nothing' in this chapter 
shall be construed as preventing' the plaintiff in any action at law from relying for relief 
upon the other processes provided by law. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.08 Suspension for failure to report accident. (1) The commissioner may sus­
pend the operating privilege or registration of any person who fails to report an acci­
dent as required by s. 346.70 or to give correctly the information requested by the com­
missioner in connection with such report unless, in the judg11lent of the commissioner, 
there was excusable cause for such failm'e or unless the accident did not result in injury 
or damage to the person or property of anyone other than the person so required to report. 

(2) .Any operating privilege suspended pursuant to this section, or suspended pursu­
ant to any other section for failure to report an accident, shall be reinstated in acltord­
ance with s. 344.09 at the end of 13 months following the accident if, during such 13-
month perio'd, no notice of action instituted within one year from the date of the ac{)ident 
has been filed with the department in the manner specified in s. 344.18 (1) (d). 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.09 Reinstatement of suspended operating privilege and registration. (1) 
Whenever the commissioner is satisfied that the reason for suspension of an operating 
privilege under this chapter has been removed, including satisfaction of any of the re­
quirements of s. 344.18, he shall forthwith order reinstatement of such operating privilege 
and shall give notice of such reinstatement to the person whose operating' plivilege has 
been suspended. Such reinstatement order has the same effect as an automatic reinstate­
ment under s. 343.39. 

(2) Whenever an operating privilege suspended or revoked pursuant to this chapter 
is reinstate'd, any registration which was suspended 01' revoked along with the operating 
privilege is automaticaHy reinstated and the department shall return any sm'l'endered and 
unexpired registration plate in its possession. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 
SEGURTTY FOR PAST AOOIDENTS. 

344.12 Applicability ofl provisions relating to deposit of security for past accidents. 
Subject to the exceptions containp.d in s. 344.14, the provisions of this chapter requiring' 
deposit of security and requiring suspension for failure to deposit secmity apply to the 
operator and owner of every motor vehicle which is in anymannCl' involved in an acci­
dent in this state which has resulted in bodily injury to or death of any person 01' dam­
age to property of anyone person in excess of $100. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.13 Oommissioner to determine amount of security required following accident 
and to give notice thereof. (1) The commissioner after receipt of a report of an acci­
dent of the type specified in s. 344.12 shall determine, with respect to such accident, the 
amount of security which is sufficient in his judgment to satisfy any judgment for damages 
resulting from such accident which may be recovered against each operator and owner 
of the vehicles involved in such accident. Such determination shall be based upon the 
total property damage suffered by other persons whose property was involved in the acci­
dent, not including the vehicle a person was operat.ing when such operation was with the 
owner's permission, and on the extent of personal injuries, including deaths, involving 
other padies to the accident. The determination as to the amount of security required 
shall be made without regard to the fault of the persons involved but shall not he made 
with respect to operators or owners who are exempt from the requirements of security and 
suspension under s. 344.14 (2). 

(2) The commissioner shall determine the amolmt of security required to he deposited 
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by each person on the basis of the accident reports or other information submitted. In 
addition to the accident reports required by law, the commissioner may request from any 
of the persons, including passengers and pedestrians, involve'd in such accident such 
further information, sworn statements or other evidence relating to property damage, 
personal injury or death in motor vehicle accidents as he deems necessary to aid in de­
termining the amount to be deposited as security under s. 344.14. Failure of a person 
to comply with such request is grounds for suspending such person's operating privilege 
but no suspension shall be made on such grounds until one follow-up request has been 
made and at least 20 'days have elapsed since the mailing of the first request. 

(3) The commissioner, after receipt of a report of an accident of the type specified 
in s. 344.12 and upon determining the amount of security to be required of any person 
involved in such accident 01' to be required of the owner of any vehicle involved in such 
accident, shall give at least 10 days W11.tten notice to every such person of the amount of 
SeCUl1.t.y required to be deposited hy him. The notice also shall state that an order of 
suspension will be made as provide'd in s. 344.14 upon the expiration of 60 days following 
the receipt of the report of the accident, unless within such time security is deposited as 
required by the notice. The order of suspension may be made a part of the notice, with 
a provision that it will take effect on the date specified in this subsection unless security 
is deposited pl1.0r to that date. 

History; 1957 c. 260. 

344.14 Suspension for failure to deposit security; exceptions. (1) If a person 
who was given notice pursuant to s. 344.13 (3) fails to deposit security in the amount and 
by the time specified in the notice, the commissioner shall forthwith suspend his operating 
privilege if he was the operator of a motor vehicle involved in the accident and all his 
registrations if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in the accident unless he 
fUl'llishes proof satisfactory to the commissioner that he comes within one of the exceptions 
set forth in sub. (2). If the owner and operator are separate persons, only one of them 
need deposit security 01' the 2 persons may co-operate in depositing security. Upon request 
of the OW11el' or operat01' in question, the commissioner may postpone the effective date of 
a suspension under this section not to exceed 20 days. 

(2) The requirements as to SeCUl1.ty and suspension stated in sub. (1) do not apply: 
(a) To the owner of a motor vehicle involved in an accident if the owner had in effect 

at the time of t.he accident an automobile liability policy or bOn'd with respect to sllch 
motor vehicle, which policy 01' bond complies with the requirements of s. 344.15. 

(b) To the operator who is not the owner of the vehicle involved in the accident if 
either the owner had in effect an automobile liability policy or bond applying' to the oper­
ator's operation of the motor vehicle at the time of the accident or there was in effect at the 
time of the accident an automobile liability policy or bond with respect to the operator's 
Ol)eration of motor vehicles not owned ,by him, which policy 01' bond meets the require­
ments of s. 344.15. 

( e) To the operator or owne1' whose liability for damages resulting from the accident 
is, in the judgment of the commissioner, covered by any other form of liability insmance 
policy or bond meeting the requirements of s. 344.15. 

(d) To any person qualifying as a self-insmer under s. 344.16 or to any person oper­
ating a vehicle for such self-insurel'. 

( e) To the operator or owner of a vehicle involved in an accident wherein no injury 
was caused to the person of anyone other than such operator or owner and wherein dam­
age to property of anyone person other than such operator 01' owner did not exceed $100. 

(f) To the operator or owner of a vehicle legally parked at the time of the accident, 
provided that the opera.tors of the other vehicles involved admit that such vehicle was 
legally parked 01' other proof establishing such fact to the commissioner's satisfaction is 
filed. 

(g) To the owner of a vehicle if, at the time of the accident, the vehicle was heing 
operated without his permission, express or implied, 01' was pm:ked by a person who ha'd 
been operating such vehicle without such permission. 

(h) To any person who would otherwise have to deposit SeClU1.ty if, Pl1.01'to the date 
the commissioner would otherwise suspend such person's operating privilege and registra­
tions under sub. (1), there is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that 
such person has been released from liability or has been finally adjudicated not to be liable 
01' has executed a wa~LTant for confession of judgment payable when and in such instal­
ments as the parties have agreed to or has executed a duly a.cknowledgecl Wl1.tten agree­
ment providing' for the payment of an agTeed amount in instalments with respect to all 
claims for injuries 01' damage resulting from the accident. The commissioner may accept 
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a release from liability executed by a parent as natural guardian on behalf of a minor 
child with respect to property damage or personal injuries sustained by such minor, pro­
vided that the total 'damages, including the cost of medical cru:e, does not exceed $200 and 
that, in the case of personal injury, the doctor's certificate of injUl'y filed with the depart­
ment certifies that such minor received no permanent injury. 

(i) To the owner of a vehicle insured as required by s, 40,57, 194.41 or 194.42 or to 
the operator of such vehicle if operating with the owner's permission at the time. of the 
accident. 

(j) To the owner of a vehicle involved in an accident if at the time of the accident 
such vehicle was owned by or leased to the United States, this state or any county or mu­
nicipality of this state, or to the operator of such vehicle if operating such vehicle with 
permission. 

History; 1957 c. 260, 545. 

344.15 Requirements as to policy or bond. (1) No policy or bond is effective under 
s. 344.14 unless issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do 
business in this state, except as otherwise provided in sub. (2), nor unless such policy or 
bond is subject, if the accident has resulted in bodily injury or death, to a limit, exclu­
sive of interest and costs, of not less than $10,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 
one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one person, to a limit of not 
less than $20,000 because of bo'dily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in anyone 
accident and, if the accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a 
limit of not less than $5,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in 
anyone accident. 

(2) A policy or bond with respect to a vehicle which was not registered in this state 
or was registered elsewhere at the time of the effective date of the policy or bond or the 
most recent renewal thereof may be effective under s. 344.14 even though not issued by an 
insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this state if the 
following conditions are complied with: 

(a) The policy or bond either meets the liability limits specified in sub. (1) or meets 
the liability limits of the equivalent la.w of the state in which issued and such limits are, 
in the judgment of the commissioner, adequate to covel' any damage or injury involved 
in the accident in question. 

(b) The company which issued the policy or bond executes a power of attorney au­
thorizing the commissioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any ac­
tion upon such policy or bond a~l'ising out of such accident. 

(3) Where service of process is made on the commissioner under a. power of attorney 
filed in accordance with sub. (2), the commissioner shall forthwith mail by registered mail 
a copy of the process papers to the company at the address given in the filell power of 
attorney. In all cases of such service, there shall be served the original, one copy for the 
commissioner's record of service and such additional number of copies as there are de­
fendants so served in the action. The original shall be returned ,vith proper certificate of 
service attached for filing in court as proof of service of the copies by having mailed them 
by registered mail to the defendants name therein. The service fee shall be $2 for each 
defendant so served. 

(4) After receipt of the report of an accident of the type specified in s. 344.12, the 
commissioner shall forward to the insurance company or slU'ety company named therein, 
that portion of the report which pertains to an automobile liability policy or bond. The 
co=issioner shall assume that an automobile liability policy or bond as described in this 
section was in effect and applied to both the owner and operator with respect to the acci­
dent unless the insurance company or surety company notifies the commissioner otherwise 
within 30 days from the mailing to the company of that portion of the report pertaining­
to the automobile liahility policy or bond. Upon receipt of notice from the company that 
an automobile liability policy or bond was in effect as to the owner only, the operator only 
or was not in effect as to either of them, the commissioner shall ,vithin the remainder of 
the 60-day period specified in s. 344.13 (3) require the owner or operator or both, which­
ever is applicable, to deposit seeurity pursuant to this chapter. As respects permission to 
operate the vehiele, the company may correct the report only if it files ,vith the commis­
sioner within the 30-day perio'd specified in this subsection an affidavit signed by the 
owner stating that the operator did not have the owner's permission to operate the vehi­
cle. Where the company's failure to notify the commissioner within 30 days of a correction 
in that portion of the rcport pertaining to an automobile liability policy 01' bond is caused 
by fraud, the company shall notify the commissioner of the correction within 30 days of 
the time the fraud is discovered. 
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(5) Nothing' in this chapter shall be construed to impose any obligation not otherwise 
assumed by the insurance company or surety company in its automobile liability policy or 
bond except that jf no correction is made in the report within 30 days after it is mailed to 
the insurance company 01' surety company, the company, except in case of fraud, when­
ever such fraud may OCClli', is estoppe'a from using as a defense to its liability the in­
sured's failure to give permission to the operator or a violation of the purposes of use 
specified in the automobile liability policy or bond or the use of the vehicle beyond agreed 
geographical limits. 

Revisor's Note: Chapter 545, which created 344.15 (4) and (5), states that it was to be 
effective on the effective date of ch. 260, but ch. 545 was published August 20, 1957. 

(6) Until July 1, 1958, the commissioner may accept for filing either the form of 
notice of insurance in use prior to the enactment of ch. 545, laws of 1957 (Form SR-21) 
or the form of notice of insurance specified in ch. 545, laws of 1957. In eithel' event, the 
substantive provisions of ch. 545, laws of 1957, shall apply. 

History: 1957 c. 260, 545, 674. 

344.16 R.equirements as to self-insurers. (1) Any person in whose name more 
than 25 motor vehicles are registered may qualify as a self-insurer by obtaining a certifi­
cate of self-insurance issued by the commissioner as provided in sub. (2). 

(2) The commissioner may, in his discretion, upon the application of such a person, 
issue a certificate of self-insurance when he is satisfied that such person is possessed and 
will continue to be possesse'd of ability to pay judgments obtained against such person. 

(3) Upon not less than 5 days' notice and a hearing pursuant to such notice, the com­
missioner may upon reasonable grounds cancel a certificate of self-insurance. Failure to 
pay any judgment within 30 days after such judgment has become final constitutes a rea­
bonable g'l'ound for cancellation of a certificate of self-insurance. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.17 Requirements as to form and amount of security. (1) The secm·ity required 
under s. 344.14 shall be in such form and in such amount as the commissioner may require 
but in no case in excess of the limits specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference to the ac­
ceptable limits of a policy or bond. The person depositing secmity shall specify in writing 
the person or persons on whose behalf the deposit is made and, at any time while such 
deposit is in the custody of the commissioner or state treasurer, the person 'depositing it 
may, in writing, amend the specification of the persons on whose behalf the deposit is made 
to include an additional person or persons, subject to the limitation that a single deposit 
of security shan be applicable only on behalf of persons required to furnish secmity be­
cause of the same accident. 

(2) The commissioner may reduce the amount of security ordered in any case if, in 
his judgment, from evidence submitted, the amount ordered is excessive or has become 
excessive by filed release on part of the liability or by adjudication reducing the extent 
of the liability. In case the secmity Oliginally ordered had been deposited at the time 
the reduced amount is ordered, the excess over the reduced amount shall be returned to the 
depositor or his personal representative forthwith, notwithstanding the provisions of s. 
344.20. 

(3) In all cases where the commissioner accepts secm-ity in the form of a lien on real 
estate, the pa.rty owning' such real estate shall prepare the proper instrument to effect 
such lien, payable to the state and an persons entitled thereto under ch. 344, and shall 
record such instrument in the office of the register of deeds in the county where the real 
estate is situated. The commissioner may require the party to fm'nish the commissioner 
an abstract of merchantable title showing the lien to be a first lien on the premises. A 
certified copy of the recorded instrument and abstract, when required, shall be deposited 
by the commissioner with the state treasurer. In all cases where a judgment has heen 
entered against a person involved in a motor vehicle accident and such judgment remains 
unsatisfied 60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may for his own use 
and benefit and at his sole expense bring an action to foreclose such lien in the name of 
the state for his use and benefit under this section. The costs of such foreclosure may be 
estimated hy the commissioner an'd added to the amount required to he posted. In the 
foreclosure of such lien, the provisions of ch. 278 on forecloslU'e of real esta,te mortgages 
shall apply as far as possible. 

(4) In all cases where the commissioner accepts secUl-ity in the forlll of lien on per­
sonal property, the party owning such personal property shan prepare the proper instru­
ment to effect such lien payable to the state and all persons entitled thereto under eh. 
344 and shall file such instrument in the office of the register of deeds in the county where 
such property is kept. He shall furnish the commissioner a certified copy of the filed in­
strument and, if required by the commissioner, a chattel abstract from the register of 
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deeds showing the lien to be a first lien on such property. The certified copy and abstract 
shall be deposited by the commissioner with the state treasurer. In all cases where a 
ju'dg'ment has been entered against a person involved in a motol' vehicle accident and it 
remains unsatisfied 60 days after it has become final, the judgl118nt creditor may, for his 
own use' and benefit and at his sale expense, bring-an action to foreclose such liehin the 
name of the state for his use and benefit under ch. 344. The costs of such foreclosure shall 
be estimated by the commissioner and added to the amount required to be posted. In fore­
closure of such lien the provisions of s. 241.13 on foreclosure of chattel mortgages shall 
apply as far as possible. 

(5) In all cases where the commissioner has accepted security in the form of a lien on 
real estate or personal property the state treasurer shall satisfy such lien of record on 
order of the commissioner to return the security upon the pa~l'ty's compliance with eh. 
344. The state treasurer shall execute a satisfaction in legal form in the name of the 
state by state treasurer, custodian security "Motor Vehicle Responsibility Act." The 
treasurer shall note- on the satisfaction that the commissioner has issued such order, and 
such notation shall be prima facie evidence of such issuance. The treasurer shall record 
or file such satisfaction with the proper registel' of deeds. 

H'istory: 1957 c. 260. 

344.18 Dure,tion of suspension for failure to deposit security. (1) Any operating 
privilege or registration suspended as provided in s.' 344.14 shall remain suspended and 
shall not be renewed or reinstated until one of the following requirements has been met: 

(a) There is deposited on beha.lf of the person whose operating privilege or registra­
tiem was suspended the security required under s. 344.14. 

(b) There is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that the pel'son 
whose- operating privilege or registration was suspende'd has been released from liability 
or has been finally adjudicated not to be liable. The commissioner may accept a release 
executed by a pal'ent on behalf of a minor child only if the release satisfies the require­
ments specified in s. 344.14 (2) (h). 

(c) There is filed with the commissioner evide-nce satisfactory to him that the person 
whose operating privilege or registration was suspended has executed a warrant for con­
fession of judgment or duly acknowledged written agreement in accordance with s. 344.14 
(2) (h), subject however to the provisions of subs. (2) and (3) of this section. 

(d) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date of the accident and, during such 
period, no notice has been filed with the cOlmnissioner by any claimant that an action was 
instituted by a pa,rty in interest by actual service of summons and complaint within the 
one-year period following the date of the accident or by service of cOlmter-claim or cross­
complaint within the 20-day answer period. If the action was commenced in a com1; of 
record, the notice required by this paragraph shall include a certified copy of the sum­
mons and complaint 01' counterclaim or cross-complaint and proof of service filed therein. 
If the action was commenced before a justice of the peace, the notice require'd by this 
section shall include a certificate from such justice establishing the fact that the action 
was so commenced. 

(2) If there is any default in the payment of any instalment 1m del' any confession of 
judg111ent, the commissioner, upon notice of such default given within the terms of the 
instalment agree-ment or in no event later than 30 days after the time for the final instal­
ment, shall forthwith suspend the operating privilege and registrations of the defaulting 
person, which suspension shall remain in effect until the entire- amount provided for in 
the confession of judg1llent has been paid.· 

(3) If there is any default i11 the payment of any instalment under a duly acknowl­
edged written agTeement, the commissioner, upon notice of such default, shall forthwith 
suspend the operating privilege and registrations of the defaulting person, which suspen­
sions shall remain in effect until one of the following requirements has been met: 

(a) There- is deposited on behalf of such person the security requiredlmdel' s. 344.14. 
(b) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date when the security was required and 

during such peliod, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any claimant that a~ 
action was instituted by a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint 
within the one-year period following the date when such security was required or by serv­
ice of counterclaim or cross-complaint within the 20-day answer period. The notice re­
quired by this paragraph shall comply 1vith the provisions of sub. (1) (d). 

(4) The- commissioner shall not suspend, as required by suh. (2) or (3), if the de­
faulting person has made payments to the extent specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference 
to the acceptable limits of a policy or bond. 

History I 1957 c. 260. 
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344.19 Applicability to nonresidents, unlicensed drivers, unregistered motor vehi­
cles and accidents in other states. (1) If the operator or the owner of a motor vehicle 
involved in an accident within this state has no license or registration, whether because he 
is a nonresident or because he is a resident who has failed or neglected to obtain a license 
or registration in this state, he shall not be allowed a license or registration until he has 
complie'd with the requirements of this chapter to the same extent as would be necessUJ.-y 
if, at the time of the accident, he had held a license and registration in this state. 

(2) If the operating privilege or registration of a nomesident is suspended pursu­
ant to s. 344.14, the commissioner shall transmit a certified copy of the recorc1 of such 
action to the motor vehicle commissioner or equivalent official of the state in which that 
person resides if the law of the state in which that person resic1es provic1es for similar 
action by the commissioner or equivalent official of that state in the event that a resic1ent 
of this state has his nomesic1ent's operatDlg privilege or 1'egistrat.ion in t.hat state sus­
penc1ed or revoked for failure to comply with the safety responsibility law of that state. 

(3) Upon receipt of such certification f1'om another state to the effect that the oper­
ating p1'ivilege 01' registration of a resident of this state has been suspende'd or revoked 
in such other state pursuant to a law p1'ovic1illg for its suspension or 1'evocation for failUl'e 
to deposit secu1'ity for payment of judgments arising out of a motor vehicle accident, 
under ci1'cumstances which would requiTe the commissioner to suspend a nonresic1ent's 
operating privilege or registration had the accident occlU'Ted in this state, the commissioner 
shall suspend the license of such resident if he was the operator and all of his 1'egistra­
tions if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department 
may accept a certification which is in the fOlm of a combine'el notice of requirec1 se(lUl'ity 
and suspension or revocation order, but shall not suspenc1 a resident's operating privilege 
01' registration on the basis of such o1'c1er until at least 30 days have elapsed since the 
time for depositing secUl'ity in the other state expirec1. A suspension unc1er this section 
shall contDme until such resident furnishes evidence of his compliUJlCe with the law of the 
other state relating to the deposit of security. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.2G Custody, disposition and return of security. (1) Security deposited in com­
pliance with this chapter shall be placec1 by the commissioner in the custoc1y of the state 
treaslU'er anc1 shall be appliec1 only as provic1ec1 in this section. When placing security in 
the custo'ely of the state treasurer, the commissioner shall also file with the state t.reasurer 
a memorandum specifying the respective portions of such c1eposit required because of 
property damage or personal injuries, incluc1ing deaths, suffered by each person who will 
be entitled to a portion of such deposit in the event of a judgment against the person 01' 

persons on whose behalf the c1eposit is made. 
(2) The state treaslU'er shaH apply the security only to the payment of jUdgments 

anel assignments and only as provided in this subsection: 
(a) The security may he applied to the payment of judgments for c1amages a~l'ising 

out of the accident in question rendered against the person or persons on whose behalf 
the deposit was ma'de in an action at law begun not later than one year after the c1ate of 
the accident 01' not later than one year after the date of deposit of any security under s. 
344.18 (2). Any party to such action in favor of whom a juc1gment was renc1ered may 
move to have the COlU't order the state treasurer to transmit to the COlU't for application 
to the payment of the juc1gment the money or securities available for such purpose, anc1 
the court may so order. A certified copy of the order shall be served upon the state treas­
urer, which service shall he by mail only. Upon being' so served, the state treasurer shall 
transmit to the clerk of the court the money or securities in the amount authorized by 
pa.r. (c) or in the amount specified in the court Ol'del' if less than the mnount so author­
ized. Securities transmitted shall be valued at the same amollUt as when received from the 
department. The state treasurer shall have no further responsibility for the amolmt 
of the deposit so transmittec1 anc1 the court shall determine and c1irect the application 
thereof. Any excess shall be retlU'nec1 by the court to the state treasurer to be held by him 
subject to the provisions of this chapter. 

(b) Subject to the restlictions imposed by par. (c), the security may be applied to 
the payment of it duly acknowledged assignment by the person on whose behalf the deposit 
was made, providec1 the assignment is accompanied by an instrument signed by the as­
signee anc1 releasing the assignor from all liability to the assignee on account of c1amages 
arising out of the accident in question. 

(c ) No amount in excess of the portion designated Dl the commissioner's filec1 security 
memorandum as having been c1eposited on account of damages sufferec1 by the assignee 
or judgment creditor or person representing either of them shall be paid out on behalf 
of such person unless the depositor has been releasec1 from liability by all other parties 
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in interest. In the latter event, the deposit may be applie!1 to the payment of the judg. 
ment or assignment in question without reg'ard to the designations in the security memo· 
randum. 

(3) The deposit of security or any balance thereof shall be returned to the depositor 
or his personal representative when evidence satisfactory to the commissioner has been 
filed with him that one of the contingencies specified in s. 344.18 (1) (b), (c) 01' (d) or 
(3) (b) has occurred. 

IDstory: 1957 c. 260. 

344.21 Matters not to be evidence in civil suits. Neither the report required fol­
lowing an accident, the action taken by the commissioner pursuant to this chapter, the 
findings, if any, upon which such action is based nor the security filed as provi'ded in this 
chapter shall be referred to in any way or be any evidence of the negligence 01' due care 
of either party at the trial of any action at law to recover damages, but this shall not be 
construed to exclude a notice of insurance filed pursuant to s. 344.15 (4) from being 
admissible in evidence where it would otherwise be material and admissible under the rules 
of evidence. 

IDstory: 1957 c. 260. 

344.22 Short title. Sections 344.12 to 344.22 and the general provisions appli­
cable thereto may be cited as the safety responsibility law. 

IDstory: 1957 c. 260. 

PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE FUTURE. 

344.24 Applicability of sections relating to proof of financial responsibility for the 
future. Sections 344.29 to 344.41 are applicable in all cases in which a person is re­
quired to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the future, including those cases 
in which a person is required to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the future 
under ss. 344.25 to 344.27 and those cases in which the deposit of proof of financial re­
sponsibility for the future is a condition precedent to reinstatement of an operating privi­
lege revoked pursuant to ch. 343. 

IDstory: 1957 c. 260. 

344.25 Revocation of license and registration for nonpayment of judgment; excep­
tions. Upon the receipt, pursuant to s. 344.05, of a certified copy of a judgment for 
damages in excess of $100 arising out of a motor vehicle accident, the commissioner 
shaH forthwith revoke the operating privilege and all registrations of the person against 
whom such judgment was rendered, subject to the following exceptions: 

(1) If the judgment arose out of an accident caused by the ownership 01' operation, 
,vith permission, of a vehicle owned by 01' leased to the United States, this state or any 
county 01' municipality of this state 01' a vehicle subject to the requirements of ss. 40.57, 
194.41 or 194.42, the commissioner shall not revoke such license or registration. 

(2) If the judgment cre'ditor consents in writing in such f01m as the commissioner 
may prescribe that the judgment debtor be allowed to retain 01' reinstate his operating 
privilege and registrations, the same may be allowed by the commi,>sioner, in his discretion, 
for 6 months from the date of such consent and thereafter until such consent is revoked 
in writing, notwithstanding default in the payment of such judgment or of any instal­
ments thereof as prescribed in s. 344.27, provided the judgment debtor fUl'llishes proof of 
financial responsibility for the futlll'e and maintains such proof at all times when such 
license an'd registrations are in effect during a period of 3 years follo'wing the entry of the 
judgment. 

(3) The commissioner shall not revoke such license 01' registra,tions, if the judgment 
debtor obtains a court order for instalment payments and fm'llishes proof of financial 
responsibility as provided in s. 344.27. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.26 Revocation to continue until judgment paid and proof of financial responsi­
bility given. (1) Subject to the exceptions stated in ss. 344.25 (2) and 344.27 (2), 
any operating privilege or registration revoked pursuant to s. 344.25 shall remain revoked 
until every judgment mentioned in s. 344.25 is stayed, satisfied or discharged and, unless 
3 years have elapsed since the date of entry of the judgment which was the cause for 
revocation, until the person whose operating privilege an'd registration was rcvoked fur­
nishes proof of financial responsibility for the future and maintains such proof at all 
times during such 3-year period when the operating privilege or registration is in effect. 

(2) A discharge in bankruptcy following the rendming of any such judgment does 
not relieve the judgment debtor from any of the, requirements of this seetion. 
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(3) Judgments in excess of the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d) shall, for the 
purpose of this section only, be deemed satisfied when payments in the amounts so speci­
fied have been credited thereon. Payments made in settlement of any claims because of 
bodily injury, death 01' property damage arising' from a motor vehicle accident shall be 
credited in reduction of the respective 8..In.0lmts so specified. 

IDstory: 1957 c. 260. 

344.27 Instalment payment of judgments; revocation upon default. (1).A. judg­
ment debtor upon due notice to the judgment creditor ma,y apply to the court in which 
such ju'dgment was rendered for the privilege of paying such judgment in instalments and 
the court) in its discretion and without prejudice to any other legal remedies which the 
judgment creditor may have, may so order and :fix the amounts and times of payment of 
the instalments. 

(2) The commissioner shall not revoke the operating privilege 01' registration and 
shall restore any operating privilege or registration revoked following nonpayment of a 
judgment when the judgment debtor obtains such order permitting the payment of the 
judgment in instalments and, unless 3 years have elapsed since the entry of judgment, 
furnishes au'd maintains proof of financial responsibility for the future. 

(3) If the judgment debtor fails to pay any instalment as specified by such order, the 
commissioner, upon notice of such default, shall forthwith revoke the operating privilege 
and registrations of the judgment debtor until such judgment is satisfied as provided in s. 
344.26. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.29 Proof of financial responsibility required for each registered vehicle. Proof 
of financial responsibility for the future shall be furnished for each motor vehicle regis­
tered by any person required to give such proof. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.30 Alternate methods of giving proof of financial responsibility. Whenever the 
owneJ.' or operator of a motor vehicle is required lmder chs. 343 or 344 to give proof of 
financial responsibility for the future, such proof may be given by filing: 

(1) A certificate of insurance as provided in s. 344.31 or 344.32; or 
(2) A bon'd as provided in s. 344.36; or 
(3) A certificate of deposit of money 01' securities as provided in s. 344.37; or 
(4) A certificate of self-insurance as provided in s. 344.16, supplemented by an agree­

ment by the self-insurer that, with respect to accidents OCCUlTing while the certificate is 
in fQorce, he will pay the same amounts that an insurer would have been obligated to pay 
under an owner's motor vehicle liability policy if it had issued such a policy to such self­
insUl'er. ' 

IDstoryl 1957 c. 260. 

344.31 Certificate of insurance as proof. (1) Pl'oof of financial responsibility for 
the futU1'e may be furnished by filing with the commissioner the written certificate of any 
insU1'ance caJ.'rier duly authorized to do business in this state certifying that there is in 
effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the benefit of the person l'equired to furnish 
proof of financial responsibility. Such certificate shall give the effective date of such 
motor vehicle liability policy, which date shall be the same as the effective 'date of the 
certificate and shall designate by explicit description or by approPliate reference all 
motor vehicles covered thereby, lmless the policy is issued to a person who is not the 
owner of a motor vehicle. 

(2) No motor vehicle shall be or continue to be registered in the name of any person 
required to file proof of financial responsibility unless such motor vehicle is so designated 
in such a certificate. 

Hlsto1')T1 1957 c. 260. 

344.32 Certificate furnished by nOlll'esidents as proof. (1) The nonresident owner 
of a motor vehicle not registered in this state may give proof of financial responsibility 
by filing with the commissioner a written certificate of an insU1'ance caJ.'1ier authorized to 
transact business in the state in which the motor vehicle desclibed in such certificate is 
registered or, if such nonresident does not own a motor vehicle, then in the state in which 
the insured resides, provided such certificate otherwise conforms to the provisions of this 
chapter. The commissioner shall accept the certificate only upon condition that such in­
SU1'ance carrier complies with the following provisions with respect to the policies so 
certifie'd : 

(a) Such insU1'ance calTier shall execute a power of attorney authorizing the com-
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missioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any action arising out of 
a motor vehicle accident in this state. 

(b) Such insurance ca1'reir shall agree in writing that such policies shall be deemed 
to conform with the laws of this state relating to the terms of motor vehicle liability 
policies issued herein. 

(2) If any insurance carrier not a,uthorized to transact business in this state, which 
has qualified to furnish proof of financial responsibility, defaults in any such undertak­
ings 01' agreements, the commissioner shall not thereafter accept as proof any certificate 
of such carrier whether theretofore filed or thereafter tendered as proof, so long as such 
default continues. 

IDstory: 1957 c. 260. 

344.33 "Motor vehicle liability policy" defined. (1) CERTIFICATION. A "motor 
vehicle liability policy" as that term is used in this chapter means an owner's policy or 
an. operator's policy of liability insurance, certified as provided in s. 344.31 01' 344.32 as 
proof of financial responsibility for the future, and issued, except as otherwise provided 
in s. 344.32, by an insurance cal'l'ie1' duly authorized to transact business in this state to 
or for the benefit of the person named therein as insured. 

(2) OWNER'S POLIOY. An owner's policy of liability insurance: 
(a) ShaH designate by explicit description 01' by appropriate reference all motor ve­

hicles with respect to which coverage' is thereby to be gTanted; and 
(b) Shall insure the person named therein and any other person, as insured, using any 

such motor vehicle or motor vehicles with the express or implied permission of such named 
insured, against loss from the liability imposed by law for damages arising' out of the 
ownership, maintenance or llEe of such motor vehicle or motor vehicles within the United 
States of America 01' the Dominion of Canada, subject to limits exclusive of interest and 
costs, with respect, to each such motor vehicle, as follows: $10,000 because of bodily injury 
to or death of one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one person, 
$20,000 because of bodily injlll'Y to or death of 2 01' more persons in anyone accident, 
and $5,000 because of injury to 01' destruction of property of others in anyone accident. 

(3) OPERATOR'S POLIOY. An operator's policy of liability insurance shall insUl'e the 
person named as inslll'ed therein against loss from the liability imposed upon him by law 
for damages arising out of the use by him of any motor vehicle not owned by him, 
within the same territoriallinuis and subject to the same limits of liability as are set forth 
in sub. (2) with respect to an owner's policy of liability insurance. 

(4) REQUIRED STATEMENTS IN POLICY. Such motor vehicle liability policy shall state 
the name and address of the named insured, the coverage afforded by the policy, the 
premium charged therefor, the policy period and the limits of liability, and shall contain 
an agreement 01' be endorsed that insurance is provided thereunder in accordance with the 
coverage defined in this chapter with respect to bodily injury and death 01' property 
damage, or both, and is subject to all the provisions of this chapter. 

(5) CERTAIN TYPES OF COVERAGE EXCLUDED. Such motor vehicle liability policy shall 
not insure any liability under any workmen's compensation law as provided in ch. 102 
nor anyJiability on account of bodily injury to or death of any employe of the insured 
while engaged in the employment, other than domestic, of the insured, or while engaged in 
the operation, maintenance or repair of any such motOl' vehicle 01' any liability for dam­
age to property owned by, rented to, in charge of 01' transported by the insured. 

(6) PROVISIONS INCORPORATED IN POLIOY BY LAWS. Every motor vehicle liability 
policy shall be subject to the following provisions which need not be contained therein: 

(a) The policy may not be canceled or annulled as to such liability by any agTeement 
between the inslU'ance carrier and the inslU'ed after the OCClUTence of any injury 01' dam­
age covered by such motor vehicle liability policy. 

(b) The satisfaction by the insured of a judgment for such injury or damage shall 
not be a condition precedent to the right or duty of the insurance carrier to make payment 
on· accOlUlt of such injury 01' damage. 

(c) The insurance carrier shall have the right to settle any claim covered by the policy, 
and if such settlement is made in good faith, the amount thereof shall be deductible from 
the limits of liability specified in sub. (2) (b). 

(d) The policy, the written application therefor, if any, and any rider 01' endorse­
ment which does not conflict with the provisions of this chapter constitutes the entire 
'contract between the parties. 

(7) EXCESS OR ADDITIONAL COVERAGE. Any policy which grants the coverage required 
for a motor vehicle liability policy may also grant any lawful coverage in excess of 01' in 
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addition to the coverage specified for a motor vehicle liability policy and such excess or 
additional coverage is not subject to the provisions of this chapter. With respect to a 
policy which g'l'ants such excess or additional coverage the term "motor vehicle liability 
policy" applies only to that part of the coverage which is required by this section. 

(8) REIMBURSEMENT PROVISION PNRMITTED. Any motor vehicle liability policy may 
provide that the insured shall reimburse the insmance carrier for any payment the in­
surance carrier would not have been obligated to make under the terms of the policy except 
for the provisions of this section. 

(9) PRORATION OF INSURANOE PERMITTED. Any motor vehicle liability policy may 
provide for the prorating of the insurance therelmdel' with other valid and collectible 
insurance. 

(10) MULTIPLEl POLICIES. The requirements for a motor vehicle liability policy may 
be fulfilled by the policies of one or more insurance carriers which policies. together meet 
such requirements. . 

(11) BINDERS. Any binder issued pending the issuance of a motor vehicle liability 
policy shall be deemed to fulfill the requirements for such a policy. . 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.34 Notice of cancellation or termination of certified policy. When an insur­
ance carrier has certified a motor vehicle liability policy under s. 344.31 or a policy under 
s. 344.32, the insurance so certified shall not be canceled or terminated until at least 10 
days after a notice of cancellation 01' termination of the insmance so certified has been 
filed in the office of the commissioner, except that such a policy subsequently procured 
and certified shall, on the effective date of its certification, terminate the insurance previ­
ously certified with respect to any motor vehicle designated in both certificates. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.35 ';I'his cha,pter not to affect other policies. (1) This chapter does not apply 
to 01' affect policies of automobile insurance against liability which may now or hereafter 
be required by any other law of this state. If such policies contain an agreement 01' are 
endorsed to confOrrtl to the requirements of this chapter, they may be certified as proof 
of financialresponsibi'lity under this chapter. 

(2) This chapter does not apply to or affect policies insuring solely the insured named 
in the policy against liability resulting from the maintenance or use by persons in the 

. insured's employ or on his behalf of motor vehicles not owned by the insured. C 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.36 Bond as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility may be evidenced by 
the bond of a smety company duly authorized to transact business within this state or a 
bond ,vith at least 2 individual sureties each owning' real estate within this state and to­
gether having equities equal in value to at least twice the amolmt of the bond, which real 
estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a judge of a comt of record. Such bond 
shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d). The 
band shall be filed with the commissioner and shall not be cancellable except. after 10 days' 
written notice to the commissioner. 

(2) The bond constitutes a lien in favor of the statB upon any surety's real estate 
which is scheduled in the bond and which is not exempt by law from execution. Such lien 
is effective as of the time when the commissionel' records the bond in the office of the 
register of deeds of the county wherein sueh real estate is located, as provided in s. 
235.45. Sueh lien exists in favor of any hoIc1er of a final judgment against the person 
who filed such bond, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use or oper­
ation of a motor vehicle after such bond was recorded, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bodily injury to or death of any person and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof. 

(3) If the judgment rendered against the prineipal on the bond is not satisfied ,vithin 
60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may, for his own use and benefit 
and at his sole expense, bring an action in the name of the state against the company or 
persons exeeuting the bond, including an action 01' proceeding to foreclose any lien that 
may exist upon the real estate of a person who has executed such bond. In the foreclosure 
of sueh lien, ch. 278 on the foreclosure of real estate mortgages shall apply as far as 
possible. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.37 Money or securities as proof. (1) Proof of finaneial responsibility for the 
future may be evidenced by the certificate of the state treasurer that the person named 
therein has deposited with him $25,000 in cash, 01' in securities such as may legally be 
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purchased by savings banks or for trust flUIds of a ma~'ket value of $25,000. The state 
treasm'er shall not accept any such deposit and issue a certificate therefor and the com­
missioner shall not accept such certificate lUlless accompanied by evidence that there a~'e no 
unsatisfied judgments of any character against the depositor in the COlUlty where the 
depositor resides. 

(2) Deposits made under this section shall he held by the state treasurer to satisfy, 
in accordance with this chapter, any execution on a judgment issued against the person 
making the deposit, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use or opera­
tion of a motor vehicle after such deposit was made, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bodily injury to or death of any person and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof. Money 
or securities so deposited are not subject to attachment or execution lIDless such attach­
ment or execution arises out of a suit fOl' damages as set forth in this section. 

ffistory: 1957 c. 260. 

344.38 Owner may give proof for others. Whenever any person required to give 
proof of financial responsibility for the futID'e lUlder this chapter is or later becomes an 
operator in the employ of any owner, or is or later becomes a member of the immediate 
family or household of the owner, the commissioner shall accept proof given by such 
owner in lieu of proof by such other person. When proof has been given as provided in 
this section, the person on whose behalf such owner gave proof may be granted a license, 
but only to operate those vehicles for which proof was so given. The department shall 
note such restriction on the person's license, including a designation of each vehicle for 
which proof was given. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.39 Substitution of proof. The commissioner shall consent to the cancellation 
of any bond or certificate of insurance or the commissioner shall direct and the state 
treasurer shall return any money or securities to the person entitled thereto upon the sub­
stitution and accepta.nce of other adequate proof of financial responsibility pursuant to 
this chapter. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.40 Suspension for failure to maintain proof; other proof may be required. (1) 
Whenever any person who has fID'nished proof of financial responsibility fails to maintain 
such proof at any time during the period when proof of financial responsibility is required, 
the conmlissioner shall revoke such person's operating privilege and registration for a 
period of time running from the date of revocation until such time as either satisfactory 
proof of financial responsibility is again furnished or the period during which proof was 
required to be furnished has expired. 

(2) Whenever any proof of financial responsibility filed under this chapter no longer 
fulfills the pm'poses for which required, the commissioncr shall require other proof meet­
ing the requirements of this chapter and shall suspend the operating privilege and regis­
tration pending the filing of such other proof. 

History: 1957 c. 260, 674. 

344.41 Duration of proof; when proof may be canceled or returned. (1) Subject 
to the exceptions set forth in sub. (2), the commissioner shall, upon request, consent to 
the immediate cancellation of any bond or certificate of insurance, shall direct the state 
treasurer to return to the person entitled thereto any money or securities deposited pur­
suant to this chapter as proof of financial responsibility (with wlJich directive the state 
treaSlU'er shall comply) and shall waive any requirement of the filing of proof of financial 
responsibility whenever any of the following' events has occurred: 

(a) The period during which proof of financial responsibility is required has expired; 
or 

(b) The person on whose behalf such proof was filed has died or has become perma­
nently incapacitated to operate a motor vehicle; or 

(c) The person who has given proof surrenders his license and registration to the 
commissioner. 

(2) The commissioner shall not consent to the cancellation of any bond or the return 
of any money or securities if any action for damages upon a liability covered by such 
proof is then pending or any judgment upon any such liability is then unsatisfied, or if 
the person who filed the bond or deposited the money or seclU'ities has, within one yea~' 
immediately preceding the request for cancellation of the bond 01' return of the money 01' 

securities, been involved as an operator or owner in any motor vehicle accident resulting 
in injury 01' damage to the person or property of others. An affidavit of the applicant as 
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to the nonexistence of such facts, or that he has been released from all of his liability, 01' 

has been finally adjudicated not to be liable for such injmy or damages is sufficient evidence 
thereof in the absence of evidence to the contrary in the records of the commissioner. 

(3) Whenever any person whose proof has been canceled 01' returned under sub. (1) 
«(J) desires reinstatement of his license or registration prior to the expiration of the 
period during which proof of financial responsibility is required, he shall again fmnish 
proof of financial responsibility. Thereupon his license is automatically reinstated as 
provided in s. 343.39 and the department shall retmn his registration plates, if not ex­
pired. 

History: 1957 c. 260, 674. 

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS OF OHAPTER. 

·344.45 Surrender of license, and registration upon suspension. (1) Whenever a 
person's operating privilege or registration is revoked or suspended pursuant to this 
chapter, the commissioner shall also order such person to surrender to the department his 
license and the registration plates and certificates of registration of the vehicles for which 
registration was revoked or suspended. If such person fails forthwith to return such 
license, registration plates or certificates of registration to the department, the commis­
sio;ner shall direct a traffic officer to take possession thereof and retmn them to the de­
partment. 

(2) Any person who intentionally fails or refuses to return a license, registration 
plate 01' certificate of registration as required by this section may be fined not more than 
$100 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

3440.46 'fransfer of vehicle ownership to defeat purpose of chapter. (1) No owner 
of a motor vehicle involved in an accident in this state which is reportable under s. 346.70 
shall transfer the ownership or registration of such vehicle lmtil this chapter has been 
complied with or until the commissioner is satisfied that such transfer is proposed in good 
faith and not for the purpose or with the effect of defeating the pmposes of this chapter. 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $200 or imprisoned 
not more than 6 months or both. 

(3) This section does not apply to or affect the registration of any vehicle sold by a 
person who, pursuant to the terms or conditions of any written instrument giving a right 
of repossession, has exercised such right and has repossessed such vehicle from a person 
whose registration has been suspended pursuant to this chapter. 

History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.47 Operating vehicle after suspension or revocation. (1) No person whose 
registration has been revoked or suspended pursuant to this chapter shall, during such 
revocation or suspension, operate or knowingly permit the operation of any motor vehicle 
owned by him, except as permitted under this chapter. 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not less than $50 nor more than 
$200 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both. 

History. 1957 c. 260, 292. 

344.48 Forged proof. (1) No person shall: 
(a) Forge or, without authority, sign any notice provided for in s. 344.15 (4) to the 

effect that a policy or bond is in effect or, knowing or having reason to believe that such 
notice has been forged or signed1vithout authOlity, file or offer such notice for filing; or 

(b) Forge or, without authority, sign any evidence of proof of financial responsibility 
01', knowing or having reason to believe that such evidence has been forged or signed with­
out authority, file or offer such evidence for filing. 

(c) Sign or file the affidavit mentioned in s. 344.15 (4), knowing that it contains a 
false statement. 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned 
not more than one year or both. 

History: 1957 c. 260, 545. 

FINANOIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR RENTED VEHWLES. 

344.51 Financial responsibility for domestic rent-a-cars. (1) No person shall for 
compensation rent any motor vehicle to be operated by or with the consent of the person 
renting such vehicle unless there is filed with the department a good and sufficient bond 
or policy of inSlU'ance or certificate issued by a company or exchange organized under the 
laws of this state or duly authOlized to transact business in this state. Such bond, policy, 
or certificate shall provide that the company or exchange which issued it will be liable for 
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damages caused by the negligent operation of such motor vehicle in the amounts set forth 
in s. 344.0::J. (2) (d). 

(2) Any person failing to comply with this section is directly liable for all damages 
caused by the negligence of the person operating such rented vehicle to the extent that 
such liability could have been established if this section had been complied with. 

(3) Any person violating this section may be fined not mOl'e than $200 o~ imprisoned 
not more than 6 months or both. 

(4) In this section, /lmotor vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle. 
History: 1957 c. 260. 

344.52 Financial responsibility for foreign l'ent-a-cars. (1) Whenever any motor 
vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is operated in this state, the lessor of 
such motor vehicle is directly liable for all damages to persons 01' property caused by the 
negligent operation of such rented vehicle unless, at. the t.ime when such damage or injmj' 
OCClU'S, the operation of the vehicle is effectively covered by a policy of insurance which 
provides coverage at least in the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d) for property dam­
age, personal injlU'y or death suffered by any person on account of the negligent opera­
tion of such vehicle. The amount of liability imposed upon the lessor by this section in 
the absence of inslU'ance coverage shall not exceed the limits set forth in s. 344.01 (2) (d) 
with respect to the acceptable limits of liability when furnishing proof of financialrespon­
sibility. The fact that the rented vehicle is operated in this state contralj' to any under­
standing or agreement with the lessor is not a defense to any liahility imposed by this 
section. 

(2) If a motor vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is operated in this 
state, the lessor of such vehicle is deemed to have irrevocably appointed the commissioner 
as his agent 01' attorney upon whom legal process and the notice of injury required by s. 
330.19 (5) may be served in any action or proceeding against such lessor or his executor, 
administrator, personal representative, successors or assigns, growing out of the opera­
tion of such rented motor vehicle in this state. Such appointment, is binding upon the 
lessor's executor, administrator, personal representative, successors or assigns. The oper­
ation of such rented motor vehicle in this state is a signification of the lesl';o1"s agreement 
that such legal process or notice may be served upon him or his executor, administrator, 
personal representative, successors or assigns and that process 01' notice so served has the 
same leg'al force as if pel'sonally served upon him or them in this state. Service of such 
process or notice shall be made in the manner provided in s. 345.09. This section does not 
affect the right to serve process or notice on the nonresident operator of the rented motor 
vehicle as provided in s. 345.09. 

(3) In this section, "motor vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle. 
History: 1957 c. 260. 
Revisor's Note: 330.19 (5) was substantially amended by chs. 260 and 435, Laws 1957. 

See that section for old and new provision. 




