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CHAPTER 150. 

VETERINARY MEDICINE. 
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150.01 Title. This chapter shan be known and may be cited as the "Wisconsin 
Veterinary Practice Law". 

History: 1961 c. 294. 

150.02 Definitions. As used in this chapter, unless the context requires otherwise: 
(1) "Board" means the Wisconsin board of veterinary examiners. 
(2) "Veterinarian" Jlleans a pmctitioner of veterinary medicine who is duly licensed 

by the board. . 
(3) "Animal" means any animal except a human being. 
(4) "Compensation" includes any gift, reward, bonus, fee, money, credit or other 

thing of value, and any promise thereof. 
(5) "License" means a license to practice veterinary medicine issued by the board. 
(6) To "practice veterinary medicine" means to examine into the fact or cause of 

animal health, disease 01' physical condition, 01' to treat, operate, prescribe or advise for 
the same, 01' to undertake, offer, advertise, announce, or hold out in any manner to do 
any of said acts, for compensation, direct 01' indirect, 01' in the expectation thereof. 

·History: 1961 c. 294. 

150.03 Board of veteTinary examiners. (1) A board of veterinary examiners is 
created, The board shall consist of 5 members who are licensed and actually engaged in 
the practice of veterinary medicine, appointed by the governor upon recommendations 
from the board. Members of the board shall hold office for 5 years and until their suc­
cessors are qualified and appointed. The members of the board appointed under s. 
95.515, 1959 statutes, shall continue to hold office under this chapter until the expiration 
of their present terms and new members shall be appointed under this section upon the 
expiration of such terms. No member of the board shall in any way be financially in­
terested in any school having a veterinary department. 

(2) Ailllual meetings shall be held in April at which time a president and secretary­
trea'surer shall be elected for terms of one year. The secretary-treasurer need not be a 
member of the board. He shall keep a record of all meetings and business transactions. 
The president shall preside at all meetings of the board, but in his absence a temporary 
chairman shall be elected and preside at the meeting. Three members of the board shall 
constitute a quorum. Upon reasonable .notice meetings may be, held at anyplace within 
the state. . 

(3) Each member of the board shall receive $25 for each day spent in the performance 
of his . official duties, together with a reasonable amount for travel and other expenses 
necessarily incurred. 

History: 1961 c. 294. 

150.04 Board; duties. The board shall: 
(1) Administer and enforce this chapter. 
(2) Employ such personnel and obtain such office space, equipment and supplies as 

shall be reasonably necessary to carry out this chapter. 
(3) Adopt rules prescribing license qualifications for applicants, fixing fees as au­

thorized herein, and defining and prohibiting unprofessional and dishonorable conduct by 
veterinarians. 

(4) The president of the board shall institute actions for violations of this chapter. 
The district attorney of the county in which the offense is committed shall promptly 
prosecute any such violation upon being informed thereof, from any source. 

(5) The president and secretary-treasurer shall on 01' about January 1 of each year 
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report its proceedings to the governor, including an account of moneys received and 
disbursed. 

History: 1961 c. 294. 

150.05 Practice; penalties. (1) No person shall practice veterinary medicine 
without a license from the board. 

(2) No license shall be required for castrating, except for horses and dogs, or de­
horning animals; for students at a veterinary college approved by the board, while 
working under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian; for employes of the state or 
federal government while engaged in their official duties; or for employes of an educa­
tional or research institution while engaged in teaching or research. 

(3) Any person violating' this section shall for the first offense be fined not less than 
$25· nor more than $200, and for any second offense within 3 years be fined not less 
than $500 nor more than $1,000. 

(4 ) No person is prohibited by this section from castrating domestic animals, except 
horses and mules, from dehorning cattle, from treating sprains, cuts or other ordinary 
minor injuries; nor shall this section be construed to prohibit any person from treating 
diseases of domestic animals for compensation at any place which shall be 20 or more 
miles distant from the office or place of business of a practicing veterinarian. 

History: 1961 c. 294, 622. 

150.06 Examination; license. (1) Licenses shall be issued only to persons who 
successfully pass an examination conducted by the board at such time and place as it 
shall fix. At least one examInation shall be held annually. Examination fees as fixed by 
the board shall not exceed $50, payable in advance and not returnalJle. An applicant 
for a new license shall be at least 21 years of age and a graduate of a veterinary college 
which has been approved by the board. Persons who qualify for examination may be 
granted temporary permits to engage in the practice of veterinary medicine until the 
next examination conducted by the board. Veterinarians holding an existing license shall 
not be required to take any examination for renewal of their license. The board may 
issue a license, without any examination, to any person who holds a veterinarian's license 
issued by another state or country, if the license requirements in such state or country 
are substantially equivalent to those in this state and if such state or country recognizes 
licenses issued under this chapter. In case of failure at any examination, the applicant 
shall have the privilege of taking subsequent examinations upon the payment of another 
fee ·for each examination at any meeting of the board. 

(2) Licenses shall expire on December 31 of each year but may be renewed annually. 
The board shall charge a fee, not to exceed $25, for each license 01' renewal thel'eof. 

History: 1961 c. 294. 

150.07 Deny, suspend or revoke licenses. The board may by order deny, suspend 
or revoke any license if the applicant 01' licensee is not qualified, has violated anyprovi­
sion of this chapter 01' rule of the board, or has misrepresented or intentionally failed 
to disclose a material fact in making any application or report to the board. The board 
shall serve written notice of any such action by pei'sonal delivery or mailing to the ap­
plicant 01' licensee. The applicant 01' licensee may file a written demand for hearing by 
the. board within 20 days after service of the board's notice; thereupon the action of the 
board shall be stayed pending hearing and service of its decision. The board or any of its 
authorized agents lilay issue subpoenas, administer oaths and take testimony for the 
purposes of such hearing. After hearing and decision by the board the applicant or 
licensee may seek judicial review under ch. 227. 

History: 1961 c. 294. 

150.08 Injunction. In addition to any other remedies, the several district attor­
neys· are authorized to bring action in the name of the state to enjoin violations of this 
chapter 01' the rules of the board. 

History. 1961 c. 294. 

150.10 Transitional clause. (1) This chapter shall take effect on July 1, 1961. 
(2) Veterinary 'licenses issued under s. 95.52, 1959 statutes, shall be valid as licenses 

under this chapter subject to renewal as herein provided. 
(3) All rules and orders of the board under s. 95.54 in force prior to July 1, 1961, 

shall remain in force under this chapter until modified .or rescinded. 
(4) All matters pending before the board under the former chapter shall be com­

pleted by the board under .this chapter. 
History: 1961 c. 294. 




