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CHAPTER 973

~ SENTENCING

973.01 * Indeterminate sentence; Wisconsin state prisons. 973.09  Probation.
973.02  Place of imprisonment when none expressed. 973.10  Control and supervision of probationers.
973.03  Jail sentence. 97311 Probation in populous counties.
973.04  Credit for imprisonment under earlier sentence  973.12  Sentence of a repeater.

for the same crime 973.13  Excessive sentence, errors cured.
973.05 Fines. 973.14  Sentence to house of correction
973.06 Costs 973.15  Sentence, terms, escapes.
973.07  Failure to pay fine or costs 973.16 ~Time out
973.08  Records accompanying prisoner. 973.17 Judgment against a corporation.
973.01 Indeterminate sentence; Wiscon- fies to the court that it has adequate facilities at

sin state prisons. (1) (a) If imprisonment in
the Wisconsin state prisons for a term of years
is imposed, the court may fix a term less than
the prescribed maximum. The form of such sen-
tence shall be substantially as follows: “You are
hereby sentenced to the Wisconsin state prisons
for an indeterminate term of not more than ....
(the maximum as fixed by the court) years”.

(b) The sentence shall have the effect of a
sentence at hard labor. for the maximum term
fixed by the court, subject to the power of actual
release from confinement by parole by the de-
partment or by pardon as provided by law. If a
person is sentenced for a definite time for an
offense for which he may be sentenced under
this section, he is in legal effect sentenced as
required by this section, said definite time being
the maximum period. A defendant convicted of
a crime for which the minimum penalty is life
shall be sentenced for life.

(2) Upon the recommendation of the depart-
ment, the governor may, without the procedure
required by ch. 57, discharge absolutely, or upon
such conditions and restrictions and under such
limitation as he thinks proper, any inmate com-
mitted to the Wisconsin ‘state prisons after he
has served the minimum term of punishment
prescribed by law for the offense for which he
was sentenced, except that if the term was life
imprisonment, 5 years must elapse after parole
before such a recommendation can be made to
the governor. Such discharge shall have the ef-
fect of an absolute or conditional pardon, respec-
tively.

(3) Female persons convicted of a felony may
be committed to the Wisconsin home for
women.

(4) A female person over 18 years of age con-
victed of a misdemeanor for which the maxi-
mum penalty is imprisonment for 6 months or
more may be sentenced to a term not less than
6 months in the Wisconsin home for women
instead of the county jail if the department certi-

said home and is willing to accept such commit-
ment.

973.02 Place of imprisonment when none
expressed. When a statute authorizes impris-
onment for its violation but does not prescribe
the place of imprisonment, 1) a sentence of less
than one year shall be to the county jail, 2) a
sentence of more than one year shall be to the
Wisconsin state prisons and the minimum un-
der the indeterminate sentence law shall be one
year, and 3) a sentence of one year may be to
either the Wisconsin state prisons or the county

jail. But in any proper case sentence and com-

mitment may nevertheless be to the Wisconsin
home for women, the department or any house
of correction or other institution as provided by
law.

973.03 Jail sentence. (1) If at the time of
passing sentence upon a defendant who is to be
imprisoned in a county jail, there is no jail in
the county suitable for said defendant, the court
may sentence him to any suitable county jail in
the state. The expenses of supporting him there
shall be borne by the county in which the crime
was committed.

(2) A defendant sentenced to the Wisconsin
state prisons and to a county jail for separate
crimes shall serve all sentences whether concur-
rent or consecutive in the state prisons.

973.04 Credit for imprisonment under
earlier sentence for the same crime. When
a sentence is vacated and a new sentence is im-
posed upon the defendant for the same crime,
the department shall credit the defendant with
confinement theretofore served and good time,
if any, earned by the defendant pursuant to ss.
53.11 and 53.12 while so confined.

973.05 Fines. (1) When a defendant is sen-
tenced to pay a fine, the court may grant per-
mission for the payment to be made within a
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period not to exceed 60 days. If no such permis-
sion is embodied in the sentence, the fine shall
be payable forthwith. -

(2) When: a. defendant is sentenced to pay a
fine and is also placed on probation, the court
may make the payment of the fine a condltxon of
pr obatlon

973.06 Costs. (1) The costs taxable against
the defendant shall consist of the following
items and no. others: »

(a) The necessary disbursements and fees of
officers allowed by law and incurred in connec-
tion with:the arrest, preliminary examination
and trial of the defendant, including, in the dis-
cretion of the court, the fees and disbursements
of the agent appointed to return a defendant
from another state or country.

(b) Fees and travel allowance of witnesses for
the state at the preliminary examination and the
‘trial.

. (¢) Fees and disbursements allowed by the
court to-expert witnesses. Section 271.04 (2)
- shall not apply in criminal cases.

(d) Fees and travel allowance of witnesses for
the defense incurred by the county at the request
of the defendant, at the prellmlnary hearing and
the trial.

(e) Attorney fees payable to the defense attor-
ney by the county.

(2) The ¢ourt may remit the taxable costs, in
whole or in part.

973.07 Failure to pay fine or costs. When
a fine or the costs are not paid as required by
the sentence, the defendant may be committed
to the county jail until the fine and costs are
paid or discharged for a period fixed by the
court not to exceed 6 months.

973.08 Records accompanying prisoner.
When any- defendant is sentenced to.the Wis-
consin state.prisons; a copy of the judgment of
conviction shall be delivered by the officer exe-
cuting the judgment to the warden or superin-
tendent of -the institution when the prisoner is
delivered. The transcript of the testimony and
proceedings shall be filed pursuant to s. 256.27
(2) within 120 days from the -date sentence is
1mposed unless the penod is extended by the
court. .. 5

973.09 Probation.u(l) When a person is
convicted of a crime, the court may, by order,
withhold sentence or impose sentence and stay
its execution, and in. either case place him on
probation to.the department for a stated period,
stating -in. the order. the reasons therefor, .and
may impose -any conditions which appear to be
reasonable and appropriate. The period of pro-
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bation may be made consecutive to a sentence
on a different charge, whether imposed at the
same time or previously.

(2) The original term of probation shall be:

(a) For misdemeanors, not more than 2 years;

(b) For felonies, not less than one year nor
more than either the statutory maximum term of
1mpns0nment for the crime or 3 years, which-
ever is-greater.

(3) Prior to the expiration of any probation
period, the court may for cause by order extend
probation for a stated period or modify the terms
and conditions thereof.

(4) The court may also require as a condition
of probation that the probationer be confined in
the county jail between the hours or periods of
his employment during such portion of his term
of probation as the. court specifies, but not to
exceed one year and the court shall require him
to pay the cost of his board as provided in s.
56.08 (4).
~ (5) When the probationer has satisfied the
conditions of his pxobatlon, he shall be dis-
charged and the department shall issue him a
certificate of final discharge, a copy of which

shall be filed with the clerk.

Note: Chap. 255, laws of 1969, which created this sec-
tion, effective July 1, 1970, also repealed sections 57 01 to
57.04. Chap. 492, laws of 1969, amended 57.01 (6) by add-
ing: “While confined pursuant to this subsection he shall be
subject to all the rules of the jail and the discipline of the
sheriff.”

Chap. 492 also amended 57.04 (1) by inserting the follow-
ing after the 2nd sentence: “The court shall require him to
pay the full per capita maintenance and cost of his board
under s. 56.08 (4) - While confined pursuant to senténce he
shall be subject to all the rules-of the jail and the discipline
of the sheriff.”

973.10 Control and supervision of proba-
tioners.-(1) A sentence of probation shall have
the effect of placing the defendant in the cus-
tody of the department and shall subject him to
the control of the department ‘under conditions
set by the court and rules and regulations estab-
lished by the department.

" (2) If a probationer violates the conditions of
his probation, the department may order him
brought before the court for séntence which
shall then be imposed without further stay or if
he has already been sentenced, may order him to
prison; and the term of the sentence shall begin
on the date he enters the prison. A copy of the
order of the department shall be sufficient au-
thority for the officer executing it to take the
probationer to court or to prison.

(3) The department may upon request of any
court having jurisdiction under s. 973.11 receive
for supervision outside of any county to which
s: 973.11 is applicable, probationers convicted in
such county and shall have the same custody
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and control of the persons as it has over other
probationers in custody of the department.

973.11 Probation in populous countles.
6)) This section applies only to.counties having
a population of more than 500,000.

(2) The probation department of the criminal
branches of the circuit court and the misde-
meanor and traffic branches of the county court,
respectively, shall have custody of persons on
probation from each court.

(3) All courts in the county shall have all the
powers contained in ss. 973.09 and 973.10 with
respect to the imposition of probation and its
térms and conditions. Wherever in those ‘sec-
tions the term department is used it refers to the
probation department’ established pursuant to
this section.

' (4) The senior judge of the criminal branches
of thé circuit court shall appoint a chief proba-
tion officer. Such judge may appoint additional
probation officers who shall be subordinate to
the chief. He may “also appoint a deputy chief
probation ‘officer to petform the duties of the
chief during his absence or inability to perform
them. Except -as otherwise provided, probation
officers shall have power to arrest and shall exe-
cute the orders of the courts affecting their pro-
bationers.

(5) Probation violators whether sentenced or
not, shall be taken before the court for a hearing.

(6) Probation officers shall receive the salaries
and necessary. expenses as determined by the
county board. The county board shall provide
quartets and supplies for the adequate adminis-
tration of probation under this section. '

(7) Munjcipal and district court probation
officers having civil service status in such coun-
ties. on December 31, 1961, shall continue in
such status for the criminal branches of the cir-
cuit court and the misdemeanor traffic branches
of the county.court on and after January 1, 1962.

973,12 Sentence of a repeater. (1) When-
ever a person charged with a crime will be a
Iepeatet as defined in s. 939.62 if convicted, any
prior convictions may bé alleged in the com-
plaint, indictment or information or amend-
ments so0 alleging at any time before or at ar-
raignment, and before acceptance of any plea.
The court may, upon motion of the district at-
torney, grant a reasonablé time to investigate
possible prior ‘ convictions before accepting a
plea. If such prior convictions are admitted by
the defendant or proved by the state, he shall be
Subject to sentence under s. 939.62 unless he
establishes that he was pardoned on grounds of
inriocence for any crime necessary to constitute
him a repeater.’An official report of the F.B.I
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or-any other governmental agency of the United
States or of this“or any other state shall be
prima facie evidence of any conviction or sen-
tence therein reported. Any sentence: so. re- .
ported shall be deemed prima facie to have been
fully served in actual confinement or to have
been served for such period of time as is shown
or is consistent with the report. The court shall
take judicial notice of the statutes of the United
States and forelgn states in determining
whether the prior conviction was for a felony or
a misdemeanor. -

(2) In every case of sentence under s. 939.62,
the sentence shall be imposed for the present
conviction, but if the court indicates in passing
sentence how much’ thereof is imposed because
the defendant is a repeater, it shall not constitute
reversible error, but the combined terms shall be
construed as a smgle sentence for the present
conviction.

973.13 - Excessive sentence, errors cured.
In any case where the court imposes a maxi-
mum penalty in excess of that authorized by
law, such excess shall be void and the sentence

. shall be valid-only to the extent. of the maxi-

mum term authorized by statute and shall stand
commuted without further proceedings.

973.14 Sentence to house of correction.
(1) In addition to the authority in-ss. 53.18 and
56.18, prisoners senténced to a county jail may
be transferred by the sheriff to the house of cor-
rection without court approval except that pris-
oners to whom the privileges of s. 56.08 have
been granted may not be transferred without
court approval,

(2) Prisoners confined in the-house of correc-
tion may be transferred by the superintendent of
the house of correction to the county jail w1thout
court approval.

(3) A prisoner sentenced to a ccounty jail or the
house of correction being held in a county jail
awaiting trial on another charge shall be deemed
to be serving such county jail or house of correc-
tion sentence and shall be given credit on such
sentence as provided in s. 53.43 or 56.19.

973.15 Sentence, terms, escapes. (1) All
sentences to the Wisconsin state prisons shall be
for one year or more, except as provided in s.
973.01 (4). Except as otherwise provided in this
section; all sentences.commence at noon on the
day of sentence, but time which elapses after
sentence while the defendant is in the county

jail or is-at large on bail shall not be-computed

as any part of his term of imprisonment. The
court may impose as many sentences-as there
are convictions'and may provide that any such
sentencé be concurrent or that it shall com-
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mence at the expiration of any other sentence;’

and if the defendant is then serving a sentence,
the present sentence may provide that it shall
commence at the expiration of the previous sen-
tence. If a convict escapes, the time during
which he is unlawfully absent from the prison
after such escape shall not be computed as part
of his term. Courts may impose sentences to be
served in whole or in part concurrently with a
sentence being served in a federal institution or
an institution of another state.

@ ‘Whekn a court orders a sentence to the
Wisconsin state prisons to be served in whole or
in part. concurrently ‘with a sentence being
served in a federal institution or an institution of
another state, the trial and commitment records
required under s. 973.08 shall be delivered im-
mediately to the warden or superintendent of the
Wisconsin institution designated as the recep-
tion center to receive.the prisoner when he be-
comes available to Wisconsin authorities.

(3) Sections 53.11 and 57.06 are applicable to
an inmate serving a sentence to the Wisconsin
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state prisons but confined in a federal institution
or an institution in another state. Section 53.12
applies only during that portion of the sentence
served in actual residence in a Wisconsin institu-
tion.

973.16 Time out. If an order or judgment
releasing a prisoner on habeas corpus is re-
versed, the time during which he was at liberty
thereunder shall not be counted as part of his
term.

973.17 Judgment against a corporation.
(1) If a corporation fails to appear within the
time required by the summons, the default of
such corporation may be recorded and the
charge against it- taken as true, and judgment
shall be rendered accordingly.

(2) Upon default of the defendant corporation
or upon conviction, judgment for the amount of
the fine shall be entered.

(3) A judgment against a corporation shall be
collected in the same manner as.in civil actions.
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