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STATE OF WISCONSIN : IN SUPREME COURT

State of Wisconsin,

Plaintiff-Respondent, FILED

v. FEB 14, 2020

Charles L. Neill, IV, Sheila T. Reiff

Clerk of Supreme Court

Defendant-Appellant-Petitioner.

REBECCA GRASSL BRADLEY, J., delivered the majority opinion for a
unanimous Court.

REVIEW of a decision of the Court of Appeals. Reversed and

cause remanded.

q1 REBECCA GRASSL BRADLEY, J. Charles L. Neill, IV seeks
review of the court of appeals decision! affirming the judgment

and order upholding his sentence for third-offense OWI.Z2 This

I State wv. Neill, 2019 WI App 4, 385 Wis. 2d 471, 922
N.W.2d 861l.

2 The Honorable Dennis R. Cimpl of the Milwaukee County
Circuit Court presided.



No. 2018AP75-CR

appeal involves only the $4,800 fine Neill was ordered to pay.
The issue presented requires the interpretation of the penalty
enhancers in Wisconsin's OWI statutes. Specifically, we consider
how the penalty enhancers' provisions requiring "doubling" and
"quadrupling" of the fine for a third-offense OWI should be
determined when multiple penalty enhancers apply. Neill faced two
penalty enhancers: (1) having a minor passenger in his car, which
requires doubling of the fine, and (2) driving with a high blood
alcohol concentration, which requires quadrupling of his fine.

92 The court of appeals decided that the first penalty
enhancer changes the T"applicable minimum" fine Wis. Stat.
§ 346.65(2) (am) 3 sets for third-offense OWI, and as a result, when
applying the second penalty enhancer, a court must use this
already-enhanced applicable minimum instead of the specific
applicable minimum for third-offense OWI contained in
§ 346.65(2) (am) 3.

93 We reject this interpretation. The statute's text
requires that each penalty enhancer use the specific "applicable
minimum" contained in Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (am)3, which for
third-offense OWI is $600. Accordingly, the court of appeals erred
when it affirmed the $4,800 fine imposed by the circuit court.
Because the text of § 346.65(2) (am)3 sets the minimum applicable
fine at $600, both penalty enhancers must be calculated using $600

as the applicable minimum.

"OWI" 1is the commonly-used acronym for operating a motor
vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug.
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94 Neill's first penalty enhancer for OWI with a minor
passenger, Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (f)2, requires "the applicable
fine" be doubled. Accordingly, the circuit court should have
started with $600 and multiplied it by two for an enhanced fine of
$1,200. Neill's second penalty enhancer for OWI with a high BAC,
Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (g)3, requires "the applicable fine" in
§ 346.65(2) (am) 3 be quadrupled. Consequently, the circuit court
should have started with $600 and multiplied it by four for an
enhanced fine of $2,400. These two fines total $3,600, not $4,800.
We reverse the decision of the court of appeals and remand with
directions to amend the judgment to require Neill to pay a fine of
$3,600.

I. BACKGROUND

IS} In July 2016, Neill was arrested for OWI. At the time,
he had his one-year-old child in the car and had a blood alcohol
concentration of .353 percent. The State charged Neill with third-
offense OWI, based on his prior convictions from 2005 and 2008.
The Complaint and the Information listed the charge as: third-
offense OWI "with a minor child in the wvehicle." These documents
then listed the .353 percent blood alcohol concentration under
"penalty enhancer."

96 Neill pled guilty to third-offense OWI and the circuit
court imposed and stayed a sentence of 15 months initial
confinement followed by 9 months of extended supervision. The
circuit court placed Neill on probation for 3 years with 6 months
jail time as a condition of probation. The circuit court imposed

a fine of $4,800.
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q7 During sentencing, defense counsel objected to the

$4,800 fine:

[DEFENSE COUNSEL] : Your Honor . . . our position
is that the minimum fine would be four times the regular
minimum fine of $600.

I know the State is of the position it should be
multiplied by eight Dbecause of the two possible
enhancers. I don't see anything in the statutes or case
law that direct us whether those multipliers -- the one
for having the child in the car and one for the high BAC
-- should be multiplied together, 1if the Court's
following me, so because --

THE COURT: The minimum fine is $1,200. It must be
multiplied by four because of his BAC.

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: What is the Court citing?
THE COURT: I'm looking at the complaint.
[DEFENSE COUNSEL] : And the--

THE COURT: The complaint says that the minimum
fine for a third offense under 343.307 (1) since January
1st, 1989 be fined not less than $1,200, nor more than
$4,000.

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: I'm--

THE COURT: . . . [Blecause the BAC -- the penalty
enhancer for the BAC, he had an alcohol concentration of
.25 or above, the applicable minimum and maximum fines
are quadrupled, so that's why it's $4,800.

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: . . . Where I'm getting my
information from is 346.65, which is the penalty section
for OWIs --

THE COURT: Yep.

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: -- (2) (3), which is penalties
for third offense. The minimum fine is $600.
THE COURT: . . . It's not a third offense. It's

this offense.
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[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: And--

THE COURT: And the minimum fine for this offense,
operating while intoxicated third offense with a minor
child . . . in the wvehicle is §1,200. And by law
. because of his BAC, it has to be quadrupled. I
don't have any choice. I don't like it, but that's what
the law says.

[DEFENSE COUNSEL] : And I--
THE COURT: So his fine 1is $4,800.

[DEFENSE COUNSEL] : Judge, I Jjust want to make a
record.

THE COURT: Go ahead.

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: Make my objection in case Mr.
Neill wants to appeal what the minimum fine is. What we
have is -- 1is two penalty enhancers, and we don't have

any direction from the statutes or case law from what I
can tell that tell us whether they should both be applied
together, you know, minimum fine of six hundred times
two and the times four because it's -- there's no statute
covering that situation.

The way we get to [$]1,200 is because of (f) (2) of
that same section that doubles the minimum fine if
there's a child in the car. And then we have the section
on the BAC, which is (g) (3), which says that if the BAC
is .25 or above the minimum fines are quadrupled. But
there's nothing to say they should be multiplied
together four and the times two. So our position 1is
that since it's ambiguous, the rule of leniency means
that only one of those should apply, and it should be
the quadrupled.

THE COURT: I don't see any ambiguity at all. The
minimum fine is $1,200 for this crime, and by law, this
crime's minimum has to be quadrupled to [$]4,800. I
don't like it. That's what the statute says, so the
fine is $4,800.

q8 The circuit court entered judgment imposing a fine of
$4,800. In October 2017, Neill filed a postconviction motion
asking the circuit court to decrease the $4,800 fine. The motion

5
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alleged the circuit court failed to use the $600 applicable minimum
from the statute in assessing the fine and instead incorrectly
used the $1,200 applicable minimum alleged in the Complaint. As
noted, the Complaint listed the crime as "Operating a motor vehicle
while intoxicated - Third Offense, with a minor child in the
vehicle" and listed a single penalty enhancer for high BAC. The
Complaint listed the minimum fine as $1,200. Neill's motion
asserted that having a minor child in the car 1s a penalty
enhancer—that the offense itself is OWI-third, and as a result of
the misstatement in the Complaint, the circuit court incorrectly
used $1,200 as the minimum fine instead of $600. Neill's
postconviction motion argued that only the greater penalty
enhancer should apply because the lesser penalty enhancer should
be subsumed within the greater. In other words, because the
doubled penalty enhancer resulted in a $1,200 fine and the
quadrupled penalty enhancer resulted in a $2,400 fine, Neill argued
he should have to pay only the greater of the two—$2,400.

919 The circuit court acknowledged that 1t incorrectly
relied on the Complaint instead of the OWI statutes in computing

the fine:

Viewing the complaint in 1isolation, it appears that
operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated - third
offense, with minor child in wvehicle 1is a criminal
offense in and of itself, but upon a review of the
statutes, it becomes clear that the crime is operating
a motor vehicle [while] intoxicated (3rd offense) and
that "with minor in vehicle" is a penalty enhancer, which
not only doubles the minimum and maximum penalties but
also converts the offense from a misdemeanor to a felony.
Although the State did not charge the "with minor child
in vehicle" provision as a penalty enhancer, presumably
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for purposes of prosecuting this case in felony court,
that 1is essentially what it is, and therefore, the
complaint does not control the outcome of [the fine in]
this case.

10 Nonetheless, the circuit court disagreed with Neill's
position that the lesser fine is simply subsumed within the greater
fine. The circuit court said both penalty enhancers should be

applied wunder State v. Beasley, 2004 WI App 42, (14, 271

Wis. 2d 469, 678 N.W.2d 600 (recognizing multiple penalty
enhancers may be applied), and refused to adopt Neill's position
because doing so would give effect to only one of the penalty
enhancers. Without further explanation, the circuit court found
the proper fine to be $4,800.

11 Neill appealed the circuit court's decision to the court

of appeals, which affirmed in a 2-1 decision. State v. Neill,

2019 WI App 4, 385 Wis. 2d 471, 922 N.W.2d 861. The majority of
the court of appeals held that application of the first penalty
enhancer "altered" the applicable minimum fine starting point.
Id., 923. In other words, once the first penalty enhancer has
been applied, a court uses the enhanced number instead of the $600
when it applies the second penalty enhancer. Because the first
penalty enhancer doubled the $600 to $1,200, the court of appeals
concluded the $1,200 must be used as the starting number when
applying the second penalty enhancer. Quadrupling the $1,200

resulted in an aggregate enhanced fine of $4,800.
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12 Presiding Judge Joan F. Kessler, dissented.? Judge
Kessler "disagree[d] that the application of multiple penalty

enhancers changes the minimum base fine." Id., 925. The dissent

asserted that the plain text of the statute does not allow the

calculation described by the court of appeals majority:

The statute does not state that penalty enhancers
are to be multiplied by each other, which is what the
trial court did here. The Majority states that the
statute does not preclude a trial court from changing a
base fine by multiplying penalty enhancers together, but
the statute does not specifically instruct a court to
apply the second or subsequent multiplier to an already
multiplied fine. We may not add words to the statute's
text. Words excluded from a statutory text must be
presumed to have been excluded for a purpose.

The statute plainly states that the "base fine" for
a third OWI offense is $600. Nothing in the statute
instructs us to apply sequential enhancers to any figure
other than the base fine set out in the statute.

Each penalty enhancer must be separately applied.
See Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2). Applying the enhancer for
having a minor in the car ($1200) and the enhancer for
a prohibited BAC ($2400) results in a total fine of $3600
when the plain language the legislature chose 1is
applied.

Neill, 385 Wis. 2d 471, 9927-29 (citations omitted).
13 Neill petitioned this court for review, which we

granted.

3 Judge Joan F. Kessler presided over District I Court of
Appeals at the time of Neill's decision.
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ITI. STANDARD OF REVIEW

14 This case involves the interpretation of statutes, which
presents "a question of law we review independently[.]" State v.
Hinkle, 2019 WI 96, 914, 389 Wis. 2d 1, 935 N.W.2d 271.

ITIT. STATUTES

15 Wisconsin Stat. § 346.63(l) prohibits any person from
operating a motor vehicle while under the influence.? Wisconsin
Stat. § 346.65 sets forth the penalties for violating § 346.63(1).
Three of the OWI penalty statutes are at issue in this case.

16 The first 1is the general penalty statute for third-

offense OWI, Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (am)3, which provides:
Any person violating s. 346.63 (1):

Except as provided in pars. (cm), (f), and (g), shall be
fined not 1less than $600 nor more than $2,000 and
imprisoned for not less than 45 days nor more than one
year 1in the county jail if the number of convictions
under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person's lifetime,
plus the total number of suspensions, revocations, and

4 Wisconsin Stat. § 346.63(1) provides as pertinent:
No person may drive or operate a motor vehicle while:

(a) Under the influence of an intoxicant, a controlled
substance, a controlled substance analog or any
combination of an intoxicant, a controlled substance and
a controlled substance analog, under the influence of
any other drug to a degree which renders him or her
incapable of safely driving, or under the combined
influence of an intoxicant and any other drug to a degree
which renders him or her incapable of safely driving; or

(b) The person has a prohibited alcohol concentration.
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other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1), equals
3, except that suspensions, revocations, or convictions
arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be
counted as one.

(Emphasis added.)
17 The second is the penalty enhancer for third-offense OWI
with a minor in the car, Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (f)2, which

provides:

If there was a minor passenger under 16 years of age in
the motor vehicle at the time of the violation that gave
rise to the conviction wunder s. 346.63 (1), the
applicable minimum and maximum fines and imprisonment
under par. (am) 2. to 7. for the conviction are doubled.
An offense under s. 346.63 (1) that subjects a person to
a penalty under par. (am) 3., 4., 5., 6., or 7. when
there is a minor passenger under 16 years of age in the
motor vehicle is a felony and the place of imprisonment
shall be determined under s. 973.02.

(Emphasis added.)
18 The third is the penalty enhancer for having a high BAC

in an OWI-third, Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (g)3, which provides:

If a person convicted had an alcohol concentration of
0.25 or above, the applicable minimum and maximum fines
under par. (am) 3. to 5. are gquadrupled.

(Emphasis added.)

19 Resolving the issue presented in this case depends on
construing the emphasized text in  these three statutes
collectively.

IV. DISCUSSION

20 The parties proffer three interpretations of the
statutory text:

(1) Neill proposes that quadrupling the applicable

minimum fine pursuant to one penalty enhancer subsumes the

10
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doubling of the fine under the other penalty enhancer; because
the quadrupled fine of $2,400 is higher than $1,200, Neill
argues he should be required to pay only the $2,400;

(2) The circuit court, the majority of the court of
appeals, and the State would start with the minimum fine of
$600, then double it to $1,200 to get a new applicable fine,
and then use $1,200 as the new minimum to be quadrupled under
the other penalty enhancer, resulting in a fine of $4,800;
and

(3) In the alternative, Neill advances Judge Kessler's
interpretation, which would double and guadruple the $600 and
then add those amounts.

We hold the text of these statutes supports only Judge Kessler's
interpretation.
A. Rules of Statutory Interpretation
21 When interpreting statutes, we start with the language
of the statutes, and if the meaning of the text is plain, we go no

further. State ex rel. Kalal v. Circuit Court, 2004 WI 58, 945,

271 Wis. 2d 633, 681 N.W.2d 110. "Statutory language is given its
common, ordinary, and accepted meaning, except that technical or
specially-defined words or phrases are given their technical or
special definitional meaning." Id. In determining the meaning of
the text, context and the statute's structure are important so
that the words are not viewed in isolation, but are considered
together with "closely-related" statutes. Id., 946. The goal 1is
to interpret the statute in a reasonable way, which avoids "absurd
or unreasonable results." Id.

11



No. 2018AP75-CR

22 We also attempt "to give reasonable effect to every word,
in order to avoid surplusage," id., and apply the fundamental canon
of statutory construction that "[n]othing is to be added to what
the text states or reasonably implies[.]" Id.; Antonin Scalia &

Bryan A. Garner, Reading Law: The Interpretation of Legal Texts 93

(2012) . "A matter not covered 1is to be treated as not covered."

Lopez-Quintero v. Dittmann, 2019 WI 58, 18, 387 Wis. 2d 50, 928

N.W.2d 480 (quoting Scalia & Garner, Reading Law 93).

23 "One of the maxims of statutory construction is that
courts should not add words to a statute to give it a certain

meaning." Fond Du Lac Cty. v. Town of Rosendale, 149 Wis. 2d 326,

334, 440 N.W.2d 818 (Ct. App. 1989) (citation omitted); see also

Dawson v. Town of Jackson, 2011 WI 77, 942, 336 Wis. 2d 318, 801

N.W.2d 316 ("We decline to read 1into the statute words the

legislature did not see fit to write." (citation omitted)); State

v. Wiedmeyer, 2016 WI App 46, {13, 370 Wis. 2d 187, 881 N.w.2d 805

("It is not up to the courts to rewrite the plain words of
statutes[.]"). "[R]ather, we interpret the words the legislature

actually enacted into law." State v. Fitzgerald, 2019 WI 69, {30,

387 Wis. 2d 384, 929 N.W.2d 165.
B. Application

24 We start, then, with the language of the pertinent
statutes to see whether the meaning of the text is plain. We
conclude that it is and that Judge Kessler's interpretation of
these statutes is correct.

25 The text of the statute setting the fine for third-
offense OWI plainly says that anyone who violates the OWI statute

12
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a third time "shall be fined not less than $600." Wis. Stat.
§ 346.65(2) (am)3. This language establishes a minimum fine for a
third-offense OWI of $600. Section 346.65(2) (am)3 does have an
"except" clause that refers to "pars. (cm), (f), and (g)." None
of the referenced paragraphs changes the $600 starting point.
Paragraph (cm) applies only when a county "opts to offer a reduced
minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a
probation period that includes alcohol and other drug treatment"
and 1s not applicable here. Paragraphs (f) and (g) contain the
penalty enhancers applicable in this case.

26 Paragraph (f) is the penalty enhancer for OWIs when minor

passengers are 1in the car. See Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (f).
Paragraph (g) 1is the penalty enhancer for high BACs. See Wis.
Stat. § 346.65(2) (g). The text of each penalty enhancer refers us

to the "applicable minimum" in § 346.65(2) (am)3, which is $600.

See § 346.65(2) (f)2 (referencing "the applicable
minimum . . . under [Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2)] par. (am) 2. to 7.");
§ 346.65(2) (g) (referencing "the applicable minimum . . . under

[Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2)] par. (am) 3. to 5.").

27 The term "applicable™ is used because of the overall
structure of the OWI statute—the applicable minimum (and also the
maximum fine and imprisonment time)—varies depending upon which
number OWI is involved. Paragraph (f) covers second offense OWIs
through tenth (or more) OWIs. See Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (f)2 ("the
applicable minimum and maximum fines and imprisonment under par.
(am) 2. to 7. [referencing statutes for second through tenth or

more OWIs] for the conviction are doubled"). Paragraph (g) covers

13
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only third, fourth, and fifth or sixth OWIs. Wis. Stat.
§ 346.65(2) (g)3 ("the applicable minimum and maximum fines under
par. (am) 3. to 5. [referencing statutes for third, fourth, and
fifth or sixth OWIs] are quadrupled"). The minimum fine for each
OWI varies depending on which number offense it is. See Wis. Stat.
§ 346.65(2) (am) .

28 For a third-OWI conviction, the "applicable minimum" is
$600. Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (am)3. The text of paragraph (f)
instructs a court to "double" the $600. The text of paragraph (9g)
instructs a court to "quadruple" the $600. There is nothing in
the text suggesting that application of the first penalty enhancer
"alters" or "increases" or sets a higher minimum fine for third-
OWI when the second penalty enhancer also applies. The text does
not direct a court to start with the already "doubled" fine or the
already "quadrupled" fine when applying a second penalty enhancer.
Rather, it plainly instructs a court to use the "applicable
minimum" for third-OWI contained in § 346.65(2) (am)3. Adopting
the construction espoused in the majority opinion of the court of
appeals would require rewriting the statute or adding words to
make the "applicable minimum" vary based not on the number of OWIs
of which an offender has been convicted, but on what penalty
enhancers apply. A court's job is not to rewrite a statute. See

Segregated Account v. Countrywide Home Loans, Inc., 2017 WI 71,

15, 376 Wis. 2d 528, 898 N.w.2d 70. Alteration of the minimum
applicable fine when multiple penalty enhancers apply lies with

the legislature, not this court.

14
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29 Similarly, the text of the statute does not support
Neill's position that when both penalty enhancers apply, the lesser
penalty enhancer is subsumed by the greater enhancer. Nothing in
the text of the statute suggests giving effect to the greater
enhancer alone when multiple penalty enhancers apply. We must
apply the text as written, which requires a fine for both driving
drunk with a minor passenger and a fine for driving with a high
BAC. "Penalty enhancers . . . authorize specified increases to
separate specified penalties for underlying crimes. Thus, the
underlying crime has a penalty, and the enhancer adds an additional
penalty." Beasley, 271 Wis. 2d 469, 914. 1In order to give effect
to both penalty enhancers, the fine associated with each must be
paid.

30 We interpret the text of the OWI statutes to mean what
it says. The text of these statutes is plain. Wisconsin Stat.
§ 346.65(2) (am)3 says the minimum fine for third-OWI is $600.
Wisconsin Stat. § 346.65(2) (f)2 requires doubling the $600 fine.
Wisconsin Stat. § 346.65(2) (g)3 requires quadrupling the $600
fine. The statute requires Neill be fined $1,200 as a result of

the first penalty enhancer and $2,400 for the second penalty

15
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enhancer for a total fine of $3,600. This interpretation applies
both penalty enhancers and follows the text as it is written.>
V. CONCLUSION

31 We conclude the plain text of the statute requires a
court sentencing a defendant convicted of a third-offense OWI with
penalty enhancers for having a minor in the car and a high BAC to
impose a fine reflecting both penalty enhancers. The minimum fine
for third-offense OWI is $600 under Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (am)3.
Wisconsin Stat. § 346.65(2) (f)2 requires the "applicable minimum"
in paragraph (am)3 to be doubled for having a minor in the car,
resulting in a minimum fine of $1,200 for that penalty enhancer.
Wisconsin Stat. § 346.65(2) (g)3 requires the "applicable minimum"
in paragraph (am)3 to be quadrupled for having a high BAC,
resulting in a minimum fine of $2,400 for that penalty enhancer.
Applying the enhanced fines in Neill's case requires him to pay
$1,200 for having a minor passenger plus $2,400 for having a high
BAC. These two fines total $3,600, not $4,800. The court of
appeals erred when it affirmed the $4,800 fine imposed by the

circuit court. We reverse the decision of the court of appeals

> Although ambiguity was raised in the lower court, no one
asserts ambiguity before this court. We see no ambiguity in these

statutes. "A statute is not ambiguous simply because the parties
disagree as to its meaning. Rather, a statute is ambigquous if
reasonable people can understand it in more than one way." Preston

v. Meriter Hosp., Inc., 2005 WI 122, 920, 284 Wis. 2d 264, 700
N.W.2d 158. That is not the case here.

16
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and remand with directions to amend the judgment to require Neill
pay a fine of $3,600.°

By the Court.—The decision of the court of appeals 1is
reversed, and the cause is remanded to the circuit court for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

6 The court ordered supplemental briefs in this case after
the State informed the court that it thought a recently decided
unpublished court of appeals case, State v. Culver, No. 2018AP799-
CR, unpublished slip op. (Wis. Ct. App. July 25, 2019), would
impact our decision in Neill's case. The State interprets Culver
to say that when the application of a penalty enhancer makes the
OWI a felony instead of a misdemeanor, the penalty enhancer is no
longer a penalty enhancer; instead, third-offense OWI with a minor
in the car is its own crime carrying a minimum fine of $1,200.
This, the State contends, means that Neill's minimum fine is $1,200
and when the high-BAC penalty enhancer requiring quadrupling of
the minimum fine is applied, the resulting fine is $4,800. We
reject the State's contention.

Culver involved a dispute over how to calculate the extended
supervision portion of a sentence and whether a fifth- offense OWI
with a minor passenger was a classified or unclassified offense.
Culver, No. 2018AP799-CR, unpublished slip op., 991-3, 13. The
court of appeals in Culver did not conduct a statutory analysis to
resolve this issue. 1Instead, it relied entirely on a footnote in
State wv. Jackson, 2004 WI 29, 937 n.8, 270 Wis. 2d 113, 676
N.W.2d 872, referencing 2004 OWI law, which has since been amended
by the legislature. See Wis. Stat. § 346.65(2) (am)4m (2011-12).
Neither party to the Culver case petitioned this court for review
and this court is not bound by Culver, an unpublished court of
appeals decision.

Regardless, it is not necessary for us to analyze the Culver
case because, as we have already explained, the plain text of the
statutes controls the disposition of the issue presented in Neill's
petition for review.

17
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