## No. 18.

AN ACT to district the territory of Wisconsin into electoral districts and to apportion the representation of each.

Be it enacted by the council and house of Districts. Section 1. representatives of the territory of Wisconsin, That the county of Brown and the counties thereunto attached for judcial purposes, shall form the first electoral district and shall be entitled to elect two members of the house of representatives; the county of Crawford shall form the second electoral district and be entitled to elect one member of the house of representatives; the county of Iowa shall form the third electoral district and shall be entitled to elect two members of the house of representatives; the counties of Milwaukee and Washington shall form the fourth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect two members of the house of representatives; the county of Racine shall form the fifth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect one member of the house of representatives; the county of Grant shall form the sixth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect two members of the house of representatives; the counties of Green, Rock, Jefferson, Dane and Dodge shall form the seventh electoral district and shall be entitled to elect one member of the house of representatives; the county of Walworth shall form the eighth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect one member of the house of representatives; the counties of Clayton, La Fayette, Dubuque, Delaware, Buchanan, Jones, Linn and Benton and the territory thereunto attached shall form the ninth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect two members of the house of representatives; the counties of Jackson and Clinton shall form the tenth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect one member of the house of representatives; the counties of Scott and Cedar shall form the eleventh electoral district and shall be entitled to elect one member of the house of representatives; the counties of Muscatine, Johnson and Keokuk shall form the twelfth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect one member of the house of representatives; the counties of Louisa and Slaughter shall form the thirteenth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect one member of the

house of representatives; the county of Des Moines shall form the fourteenth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect two members of the house of representatives; the county of Henry shall form the fifteenth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect two members of the house of representatives; the county of Van Buren shall form the sixteenth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect two members of the house of representatives; the county of Lee shall form the seventeenth electoral district and shall be entitled to elect two members of the house of representatives.

Regulations for unorganized countles.

Section 2. In case any unorganized county or counties should be attached as a part of an election district to a county to which they are not attached for judicial and county purposes, the returns of the election for the officer or officers to be elected from said district, shall be made by the judges thereof to the clerk of the board of county commissioners of the oldest organized county comprised in the election district who shall certify the result; and in case any unorganized county should form an election district by itself, the returns of the election shall be made by the judges to the clerk of the board of county commissioners of the county to which said unorganized county is attached for judicial and county purposes; and in case two or more unorganized counties should form an election district by themselves, returns shall be made by the judges thereof to the clerk of the board of county commissioners of the oldest organized county to which either of the said unorganized counties may be attached for judicial and county purposes; but if there be no difference in the age of any of the said organized counties to which returns are hereby requirto be made the returns shall be made to the clerk of the board of county commissioners of the county included in the district having the greatest number of inhabitants according to the last census who shall certify the result.

When governor to make apportionment. SECTION 3. If any act of congress which has passed, or may hereafter pass, to take effect previous to the day of the next general election, shall in any wise curtail or diminish the present boundaries of this territory and thereby lessen the number of electoral districts, then and in that case the apportionment made by this

act shall not have force or effect; but it shall be the duty of the governor of the territory to apportion the members of the house of representatives for that portion of the territory which may remain and not be stricken off among the several counties thereof, according to the last census taken and filed in the office of

the secretary of the territory.

Section 4. Should any vacancies in the council be occasioned by such act of congress as is referred to, in the foregoing section, then in that case the governor of the territory shall apportion the vacancies so occasioned among the several counties of the territory, which may belong to the territory of Wisconsin, after the passage and taking effect of any such act of congress according to population, as ascertained by the said recited census, having reference however in making such apportionment to the present representation in the council which may not be vacated, so as to give the thirteen members of the council among that portion of the territory which may be left as aforesaid, as nearly as may be according to the population. the members of the council so to be elected, shall hold their office for a term sufficient to make up the term of four years for which the members whose seats are thus vacated were originally elected.

SECTION 5. The governor of the territory shall pro-Notice, by whom claim the apportionment so to be made and the sheriffs given. of the different counties shall give notices of said elec-

tions accordingly.

SECTION 6. And be it further enacted, That the election in each of the aforesaid districts shall be conducted in all respects in conformity to the general election law, passed at the last session of this legislative assembly.

Approved June 23, 1838.

## No. 19.

AN ACT supplementary to an act to locate and establish a territorial road from the town of White Oak Springs, in Iowa county, to the Blue Mounds in Dane county.

SECTION 1. Be it enacted by the council and house of Postponement representatives of Wisconsin territory, That so much of of the time of the second section of the act to which this is supple-