AN ACT to authorize Rosepha Ann Tripp to cause to be made a re-survey and a new plat of the village of Whitewater.

The people of the State of Wisconsin, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Rosepha Ann Tripp is hereby authorized and empowered to cause to be made a re-survey of the village of Whitewater in the county of Walworth and a true and certified map or plat of said village when so surveyed to be made and recorded in the office of the register of deeds in said county of Walworth.

SEC. 2. Said record when made pursuant to the preceding section shall be for all purposes a legal varid plat; and said record or a certified copy thereof shall be received in all courts as evidence to establish the lines or boundaries of lots blocks streets and alleys in said village.

N. E. WHITESIDE, Speaker of the Assembly. JOHN E. HOLMES,

Lieut. Governor and President of the Senate.

Approved August 18, 1848.

NELSON DEWEY.

AN ACT to establish the times of holding Circuit Courts.

The people of the State of Wisconsin, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. That the state be divided into five judicial circuits to be composed as follows: The first circuit shall comprise the counties of Racine Walworth Rock and Green. The second circuit the counties of Mil-

waukee Waukesha Jesterson and Dane. The third circuit the counties of Washington Dodge Co'umbia Marquette Sauk and Portage. The fourth circuit the counties of Sheboygan Manitouwoc Brown Winnebago Ca'umet and Fond du Lac. The fifth circuit shall comprise the counties of Iowa La Fayette Grant Crawford and St. Croix, and the county of Richl nd shall be attached to the county of Iowa, the county of Chippewa to the county of Crawford and the counties of St. Croix and La Pointe to the county of Crawford the county of Calumet to the county of Fond du Lac and the county of Adams to the county of Sauk for judicial purposes until otherwise provided by the egis ature.

Size. 2. The first circuit court of the state of Wisconsin shal be ho'den at the times and places following, to wit:

In the county of Racine on the third Monday in April and third Monday in October of each year.

In the county of Wa worth on the first Monday in April and first Monday in October of each year.

In the county of Rock on the third Monday in March and third Monday in September in each year.

In the county of Greene on the first Monday in March and first Monday in September of each year.

S.c. 3. The second circuit court of the state of Wisconsin shall be holden at the times and places following to wit:

In the county of Milwaukee on the first Monday in May and fourth Monday in November of e ch year.

In the county of Waukeska on the fourth Monday in March and second Monday in November of each year.

In the county of Jesserson on the second Monday in Apri; and second Monday in October of each year.

In the county of Dane on the second Monday in March and fourth Monday in September of each year.

SEC. 4 The third circuit court of the state of Wisconsin shall be holden at the times and places following to wit:

In the county of Washington on the fourth Monday in May and fourth Monday in October.

In the county of Dodge on the second Monday in May and third Monday in November. In the county of Co'umbia on the second Monday in April and first Monday in October.

In the county of Marquette on the first Monday in April and fourth Monday in September.

In the county of Sauk on the fourth Monday in March and second Monday in September.

In the county of Portage on the second Monday in March and last Monday in August.

SEC. 5. The fourth circuit court of the state of Wisconsin shall be holden at the times and places following, to wit:

In the county of Shebbygan on the first Monday in March and second Monday in September of each year.

In the county of Manitouwoc on the third Monday in March and fourth Monday in September of each year.

In the county of Brown on the fourth Monday in March and first Monday in October of each year.

In the county of Winnebago on the second Monday in April and third Monday in October of each year.

In the county of Fond du Lac on the third Monday in April and fourth Monday in October of each year.

SEC. P. The fifth circuit court of the state of Wisconsin shal be holden at the times and places following, to wit:

In the county of Iowa on the first Monday in April and third Monday in October of each year.

In the county of Grant on the third Monday in March and first Monday in October of each year.

In the county of La Fayette on the first Monday in March and third Monday in September of each year.

In the county of Crawford on the first Monday in May and the second. Monday in November of each year.

SEC 7. All writs, summons, process, indictments, recognizances and other proceedings made returnable at the terms of the district courts of the territory of Wisconsin, and all writs issued and tested in the name of the state of Wisconsin shall be deemed and considered as returnable at the terms of the circuit courts fixed by this legislature and all adjournments, appearances, continuances, motions and notices of any proceedings in said district courts which are made or taken to any subsequent term of said

rourts shall be he'd to be made and taken for the terms of the circuit courts fixed by this legislature.

SEC. 8. The clerks of the several district courts now in office, shall continue to act as clerks of the circuit courts until superseded by clerks elected in pursuance of the constitution of this state and all acts done and performed by such clerks shall be as valid and effectual as if the said clerks were elected.

N. E. WIIITESIDE, Speaker of the Assembly. JOHN E. HOLMES,

Lieut. Governor and President of the Senate.

Approved, August 19, 1848.

NELSON DEWEY.

AN ACT to authorize the discontinuance or alteration of certain territorial roads.

į

The people of the state of Wisconsin represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. George N. Doo ittle, David R. Hyer and John Twining are hereby appointed commissioners to alter or discontinue a territorial road from Clinton to Waterloo or such portion of said road as said commissioners shall think proper to alter or discontinue.

SEC. 2. Thomas Lannon, Garret M. Fitzgerald and Anson H. Taylor are hereby appointed commissioners to vacate or alter so much of a territorial road leading from Racine to Prairieville as runs through the town of Franklin Milwaukee county and the town of Muskego Waukesha county or any part thereof as said commissioners shall think proper.

SEC. 3. J. E. Arneld, John Peter Rose and Harmon Gruby are hereby appointed commissioners to alter or discontinue so much of a territorial