CHAPTER 238.

[Published April 17, 1861.]

AN ACT to provide for appertioning the State into Congressional Districts.

The People of the State of Wisconsin, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Until otherwise provided by law, the Congressional state shall be divided into six congressional districts, each of which shall be entitled to elect one representative in the congress of the United States.

SECTION 2. The counties of Milwaukee, Waukesha, First. Walworth, Racine and Kenosha, shall constitute the first congressional district, and shall elect one repre-

sentative.

SECTION 3. The counties of Rock, Jefferson, Dane Second. and Columbia, shall constitute the second congressional district, and shall elect one representative.

SECTION 4. The counties of Green, La Fayette, Third. Iowa, Grant, Crawford, Richland and Sauk, shall constitute the third congressional district, and shall elect

one representative.

SECTION 5. The counties of Ozaukee, Washington, Fourth-Dodge, Fond du Lac and Sheboygan, shall constitute the fourth congressional district, and shall elect one representative.

SECTION 6. The counties of Manitowoc, Calumet, Fifth. Winnebago, Green Lake, Marquette, Waushara, Waupacca, Outagamie, Brown, Kewaunee, Door, Oconto and Shawanaw, shall constitute the fifth congressional

district, and shall elect one representative.

SECTION 7. The counties of Bad Ax, La Crosse, Sixth. Monroe, Juneau, Adams, Portage, Wood, Jackson, Trempealeau, Buffalo, Pepia, Pierce, St. Croix, Dunn, Eau Claire, Clark, Marathon, Chippewa, Dallas, Polk, Burnette, Douglas, La Pointe and Ashland, shall constitute the sixth congressional district, and shall elect one representative.

Approved April 13, 1861.