## CHAPTER 48

[Published April 4, 1872.]

AN ACT to apportion the state of Wisconsin into congressional districts.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

Congressional apportionment.

SECTION 1. Until otherwise provided by law, the state of Wisconsin shall be divided into eight (8) congressional districts, each of which shall be entitled to elect one representative in the congress of the United States.

First district.

The first district shall consist of the counties of Rock, Racine, Kenosha, Walworth and Waukesha, and shall elect one representative.

Second district.

The second district shall consist of the counties of Jefferson, Dane, Sauk and Columbia, and shall elect one representative.

Third district.

The third district shall consist of the counties of Grant, Iowa, La Fayette, Green, Richland and Crawford, and shall elect one representative.

Fourth district.

The fourth district shall consist of the counties of Milwaukee, Ozaukee and Washington, and shall elect one representative.

Fifth district.

The fifth district shall consist of the counties of Dodge, Fond du Lac, Sheboygan and Manitowoc, and shall elect one representative.

Sixth district.

The sixth district shall consist of the counties of Green Lake, Waushara, Waupaca, Outagamie, Winnebago, Calumet, Brown, Kewaunee and Door, and shall elect one representative.

Seventh district.

The seventh district shall consist of the counties of Vernon, La Crosse, Monroe, Jackson, Trempealeau, Buffalo, Pepin, Pierce, St. Croix, Eau Claire and Clark; and shall elect one representative.

Eighth district.

The eighth district shall consist of the counties of Oconto, Shawano, Portage, Wood, Juneau, Adams, Marquette, Marathon, Dunn, Chippewa, Barron, Polk, Burnett, Bayfield, Douglas and Ashland, and shall elect one representative.

SECTION 2. This act shall take effect from and after

its passage.

Approved March 9, 1872.