No. 421, S.]

[Published May 8, 1901.

CHAPTER 309.

AN ACT to apportion and district anew the state of Wisconsin into senate districts.

The people of the state of Wisconsin represented in senate and assembly do enact as follows:

Senatorial districts. Section 1. Until there shall be a new apportionment the senatorial districts of this state shall be constituted as follows: The counties of Door, Kewaunce and Marinette shall constitute the first district. counties of Brown and Oconto shall constitute the second district. The counties of Kenosha and Racine shall constitute the third district. The first, thirteenth, eightcenth and twenty-first wards of the city of Milwaukee, the towns of Granville and Milwaukee, and the villages of North Milwaukee, East Milwaukee and Whitefish Bay shall constitute the fourth district. The second, third, fourth, sixth, seventh, fifteenth and sixteenth wards of the city of Milwaukee shall constitute the fifth district. The ninth, tenth, nineteenth, twentieth and twenty-second wards of the city of Milwaukce shall constitute the sixth district. The fourteenth and seventeenth wards of the city of Milwaukee, the towns of Oak Creek, Lake, Franklin, Greenfield and Wauwatosa, the village of Cudahy, and the cities of South Milwaukee and Wauwatosa shall constitute the seventh district. The fifth, eighth, eleventh, twelfth and twenty-third wards of the city of Milwaukee shall constitute the eighth district. The counties of Adams, Marquette, Wood and Waushara shall constitute the ninth district. The counties of Pierce and St. Croix shall constitute the tenth district. counties of Burnett, Douglas and Polk shall constitute the eleventh district. The counties of Ashland, Bayfield, Sawyer, Washburn, Price and Taylor shall constitute the twelfth district. The county of Dodge shall constitute the thirteenth district. The counties of Outagamie and Shawano shall constitute the fourteenth district. The counties of Calumet and Manitowoc shall constitute the fifteenth district. The counties of Grant and Crawford shall constitute the sixteenth district. The counties of Green, Lafayette and Iowa shall constitute the seventeenth district. The counties of Fond du Lac and Green Lake shall constitute the eighteenth district. The county of Winne-

bago shall constitute the nineteenth district. The counties of Ozankee and Sheboygan shall constitute the twentieth district The counties of Portage and Waupaca shall constitute the twenty-first district. The county of Rock shall constitute the twenty-second district. The counties of Walworth and Jefferson shall constitute the twenty-third district. The counties of Eau Claire and Chippewa shall constitute the twenty-fourth district. The counties of Clark and Marathon shall constitute the twenty-fifth district. The county of Dane shall constitute the twenty-sixth district. The counties of Columbia and Sauk shall constitute the twenty-seventh district. The counties of Richland and Vernon shall constitute the twenty-eighth district. The counties of Dunn, Barron, Pepin, Buffalo, shall constitute the twenty-ninth district. The counties of Florence, Forest, Langlade, Lincoln, Oncida, Vilas and Iron shall constitute the thirtieth district. The counties of Jackson, Juneau and Monroe shall constitute the thirty-first district. The counties of La Crosse and Trempealeau shall constitute the thirty-second district. The counties of Washington and Waukesha shall constitute the thirty-third district.

Section 2. This act shall take effect and be in force, from and after its passage and publication.

Approved May 6, 1901.

No. 291, S.]

[Published May 10, 1901.

CHAPTER 310.

AN ACT relating to public libraries, adding section 931a to the statutes of 1898 and amending section 933 of said statutes.

The people of the state of Wisconsin represented in senate and assembly do enact as follows:

Annual tax for library in case of gift. Section 1. A new section is hereby added to the statutes of 1898, to be numbered and to read as follows: Section 931a. If a gift be offered to any city, village or town for a public library or a library building, in consideration thereof such city, village or town may obligate itself, by an ordinance, to levy and collect an annual tax for