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136,01 Definitions. Terms as used in this chapteér are defined as follows:

(1) “Board’” means the Wisconsin Real Estate Brokers’ Board.

(2) “Real estate broker” means any person, firm or corporation, not exeluded by sub-
section (3) of this seetion, who:

(a) For another, and for commission money or other thing of value, sells, exchanges,
buys or rents, or offers or attempts to negotiate a sale, exchange, purchase or rental of an
interest or estate in real estate; or, : .

(b) Who is engaged wholly or in part in the business of selling real estate, whether ox
not such real estate is owned by such person, firm or corporation.

(e) Negotiates, or offers or attempts to negotiate a loan, secured, or to be secured, by
mortgage or other transfer of or incumbrance on real estate. .

(3) The term “real estate broker” does not include:

(a) Receivers, trustees, administrators, executors, guardians, or other persons ap-
pointed by or acting under the judgment or order of any court; or,

(b) Public officers while performing their official duties; or,

(e} Any bank, trust company, building and loan association, or any land mortgage ox
farm loan association organized under the laws of this state or of the United States, when
engaged in the transaction of business within the scope of its corporate powers as pro-
vided by law; or, :

(d) Employes of persons, companies or associations enumerated in paragraphs (a),
(b) and (c) of this subsection, when engaged in the speeific performance of their duties as
such employes.

(4) “Real estate salesman” means one who is employed by a real estate hroker to per-
form any act anthorized by this chapter to be performed by a real estate broker.

136.02 Brokers licensed. No person, firm or ecorporation shall engage in or follow
the business or oecupation of, or advertise or hold himself or itself out as or shall act
temporarily or otherwise as a real estate broker or real estate salesman in this state, with-
out first procuring a license therefor as provided in this chapter. Licenses shall be
granted only to persons who are trustworthy and competent to transact the business of a
real estate broker or real estate salesman in such manner as to safeguard the interests of
the public, and only after satisfactory proof thereof has heen presented to the board.

136.03 Brokers’ board created. There is created the “Wisconsin Real Estate
Brokers’ Board.” By July 29, 1929, the governor, by and with the advice and consent of
the senate, shall appoint 3 persons, at least 2 of whom shall be real estate brokers in this
state, to be members of said hoard. One of said members shall be appointed for a term of
2 years ; one for a term of 4 years; and one for a term of 6 years. Thereafter the terms of
members of said board shall be 6 years and until their successors are appointed and
qualify. Fach membher of the board shall, before entering upon his duties, take and file
the official oath. '
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136.04 Brokers’ board. (1) Oreanizamox, qQuoruar. The board, immediately fol-
lowing the qualification of the member appointed in any year, shall organize by appoint-
ing a seeretary and by selecting from its number a president, vice plemdent and a treas-
urer, and may promulgate rules and regulations for carrying into effect the provisions of
this chapter and for the performance of its duties and funections. A majority of the
board shall constitute a quorum for the exercise of the powers or authority conferred on it
In case of a vacancy, the remaining two members of the board shall exercise all the powers
and authority of the board until such vacaney is filled.

(2) Dumies. The hoard shall receive applications for, and issue licenses fo real es-
tate brokers and real estate salesmen as plomded in this chaptel and shall administer the
provisions of this chapter.

(3) MzETiNgs, HEARINGS. The board may hold meetings, hearings or investigations
anywhere in the state and any such hearings or investigations may bhe conducted by any
menther of the hoard, the secretary or by any duly authorized employe of the board.

(4) Orprcian BoND. The seeretary and treasurer of the board shall cach give a hond
in the sum of five thousand dollars with sureties to he approved by the secretary of state,
conditioned for the faithful performance of the duties of his office. Such bonds shall be
filed in the office of the seeretary of state.

(6) PEr piEM., Each member of the board shall be paid $10 per day when actually
and necessarily engaged in his duties.

History: 1951 c. 319 s. 243,

136.05- Application for license, contents. (1) Any person desiring to act as a
real estate broker or real estate salesman in this state shall file with the board an appli-
cation for a license therefor. Said application shall be in such form as shall be pre-
geribed by the board, and shall set forth: :

(a) The kind of license desirved;

(b) The name and address of the applicant; if the applicant be a firm, the name and

 address of each member thereof; if the applicant be a corporation, the name and address
of each of its officers;

(¢) The place or places, including the town, village or city, street number and county
where the business is to be conducted, and the manner in which such place of business is
designated ;

(d) The business or occupation theretofore engaged in by the applicant, or, if a
firm, by each member thereof, or if a corporation, by each officer thercof, for a period
of ‘at least two years immediately preceding the date of such application;

(e) Such further information as the board may reasonably require to enable it fo
determine the trustworthiness of each applicant, including each member of the firm, or
each officer of the corporation, and his or their competency to transact the husiness of a
real estate broker or salesman in such manner as to safeguard the interests of the publie.

(2) In determining competency, the hoard shall require proof that the applicant for
a broker’s license has a fair knowledge of the English language, a fair inderstanding of
the general purposes and general legal effect of deeds, mortgages, land contracts of sale,
and leases, a general and fair understanding of the obligations hetween principal and
agent, as well as of the provisions of this chapter.

136,06 Applications, verification, fees, exemptions, (1) Such application shall he
verified by the applicant; if made by a firm it shall be verified by at least two members
thereof ; if made by a corporation it shall he verificd by the president and secretary
thereof, Application for license as real estate broker shall he accompanied by the affi-
davit of two persons who are citizens and real estate owners in the county in which the
applicant resides or has his place of business, certifying that the applicant is trustworthy
and competent. Application for license as real estate salesman shall be accompanied
by the affidavit of his employer, if employed, certifying that the applicant is trustworthy
and competent.

(2) Each application f01 a real estate bloke1 s license shall be accompanied by a li-
cense fee of ten dollars and for a real estate salesman’s license by a fee of five dollars for
.the calendar year ending on the thirty-first day of December thereafter. Unless the ap-
plication be withdrawn in writing before the hoard shall have made auy investigation
thereon, neither said fee, nor any palt thereof, shall be returned to the applicant.

{3) In the case of applications for renewals of licenses the hoard may dispense with
such of the matters contained in paragraphs (a), (b), (¢), (d), or (e) of subsection (1)
of section 136.05 as it deems unnecessary in view of prior applications.

(5) (a) Any licensed real estate salesman may at any time during the calendar vear
for which he has been licensed make application upon a form provided by the hoard for
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transfer to the employment of another licensed broker. The fee for such transfer shall
be fifty cents payable at the time the application therefor is filed.

(b) The suspension or revoeation of a license issued to a broker shall automatically
suspend the license of every salesman employed by such hroker at the time of the suspen-
sion or revocation of such broker’s license. Such salesman shall have the right to apply
for transfer to some other licensed broker by complying with the provisions of this chap-
ter, provided such salesman is not a pavty to the proceeding bringing about the suspen-
sion or revocation of the license of his hroker.

136.07 Licenses. (1) ExpirarioN. A license issued by the board shall entitle the
holder thereof fo act as a real estate broker, or if the application is for a real estate sales-
man’s license, to act as a real estate salesman in this state up to and ineluding the thirty-
first day of December following issuance of such license.

(2) CorporATE LIcENsEE. (a) If the licensee is a corporation, the license issued to it
shall entitle the president thereof or such other officer as may be designated by such cor-
poration, to act as a real estate broker. For each other officer who desires to act as a real
estate broker in behalf of such corporation, an additional license shall be applied for and
issned, the annual fee for which shall he one dollar for a veal estate hroker’s license. No
hcense as a veal estate salesman shall be issued to any officer of a corporation nor to a
member of a copartnership to whom a license was issued as a real estate broker. If the
licensee is a copartnership, the license issued to it shall entitle one member thereof to act
as a veal estate hroker, and for each other member of the copartnership who desires to
act as a real estate broker an additional license shall be applied for and issued, the annual
fee for which shall be one dollar for a real estate hroker’s license. .

(3) BROKERS’ LIABILITY FOR ACTS OF SALESMEN. Hach real estate broker shall be re-
sponsible for the acts of any and all of his or its salesmen while acting as his or its
agents,.

(4) Rostrr or BROKERS. The board shall from time to time prepare and publish in
convenient form the names of all real estate hrokers and salesmen licensed under this
chapter. There shall also be included in such publication the names of all real estate hro-
kers and salesmen whose licenses have been revoked at any time within one year prior to
the issue thereof.

136.08 Investigations, revocation of license, (1) The board may on its own motion
make investigations and eonduct hearings in regard to the action of any real estate hroker
or real estate salesman, or any person, firm, or corporation who it has reason to believe is
acting or has acted in either such capacity within this state, and may make findings, after
a hearing held on ten days’ notice, whether such person, firm, or cmporatlon has acted as
a real estate broker or salesman, which findings shall be subject to review as provided in
section 136.15. In such review any additional evidence which may be presented and
which is material may be considered. The board may also on its own motion, or upon
complaint in writing, duly signed and verified by the complainant, and upon not less than
ten days’ notice to the real estate broker or salesman, suspend any real estate broker’s or
galesman’s license if it has reason to helieve, and may revoke such license in the manner
provided hereafter, if it finds that the holder of such license has:

(a) Made a matenal misstatement in the application for such license;

(b) Made any substantial misrepresentation with reference to a transaction injurious
to a seller or purchaser wherein he acts as agent;

(¢) Made any false promises of a character such as to mﬂuenee, persuade or induce
the seller or purchaser to their injury or damage;

(d) Pursued a continued and flagrant course of misrepresentation or made false
promises through agents or salesmen or advertising;

(e) Acted for more than one party in a transaction without the knowledge of all

parties for whom he acts;

(£) Accepted a commission or valuable consideration as a real estate salesman for
the performance of any of the acts speclﬁed in this chapter, from any person except his
employer;

(g) Represented or attempted to 1epresent a real estate broker other than the em-
ployer, without the express knowledge and consent of the employer;

(h) Failed, within a reasonable time, to account for or remit any moneys coming into’
his possession whleh helong to another person;

(1) Demonstrated untmstwmthmess or 1ncompetency to act as a real estate broker or
salesman in such manner as to safeguard the interests of the public;

(N Paid or offered to pay a commission or valuable consideration to any person for
acts or services in violation of the provisions of this chapter;

(k) Been guilty of any other conduet, whether of the same or a different character
from that specified herein, which constltutes improper, fraudulent or dishonest dealing; or




1995 REAL ESTATE: BROKERS 136.12

(1) Violated any provision of this chapter. ‘

(2) If a broker is a company it shall be sufficient cause for the suspension or revoca-
tion of a broker’s license that any officer, dirvestor or trustee of thé company, or any mem-
ber in ease of a partnership, has been guilty of any act or omission which would be eause
for refusing a broker’s license to such person as an individual.

: (3) A copy of the complaint, together with notice of suspension of the license, if or-
dered by the board, shall forthwith he served upon the real estate broker or salesman
complained against by personal service or by mailing same to his last known business ad-
dress, and in case the complaint is against a salesman a copy of the complaint and notice
shall also be served upon the broker for whom he is acting. The person so served shall
file his answer thereto with the board within ten days after such service and also serve a
copy of such answer on the complainant. The hoard shall thereupon set the matter for
hearing as promptly as possible and within thirty days after the date of filing of the
complaint., Either party may appear at such hearing in person or by attorney or agent.

136.09 Denial or revocation of license, procedure. (1) No order denying or re-
voking a license shall be made until after a public hearing or hearings.held before the
board, or before any member thereof, or bhefore any duly authorized employe whose re-
port the hoard shall have adopted. Such hearing or hearings shall be held in the county
wherein the applicant for a license or the real estate broker complained of or whose sales-
man is complained of has his place of business. In the event that said broker or sales-
man is a nonresident, such hearing shall be held at such place as may be designated by
the board.

(2) At least ten days prior to the date of hearing, the board shall send written notice
of the time and place of such hearing to the applicant for a license or to the complainant
and to the party complained against and to their respective attorneys or agents of record
by mailing same to the last known address of sueh persons. The testimony presented
and proceedings had at such hearing shall be taken in shorthand and preserved as the
records of the board. The board shall as soon thereafter as possible, and within ninety
days after the date of filing of a complaint, make its findings and determination thereon
and shall send a copy thereof to each interested party.

136.10 Fee-splitting, No licensed broker shall pay a commission or any part
thereof for performing any of the acts specified in this chapter to any person who is not
a licensed broker or a licensed salesman under the provisions of this chapter or who is
not regularly engaged in the real estate brokerage business in another state.

136.11 Limitation on actions for commissions. No person, firm or corporation
éngaged in the business or acting in the capacity of a real estate broker or real estate
salesman within this state shall bring or maintain an action in the courts of this state for
the collection of a commission or compensation for the performance of any of the acts
mentioned in this ehapter without alleging and proving that such person, firm or corpora-
tion was a duly licensed real estate broker or real estate salesman at the time the alleged
cause of action arose.

Tllinois broker not licensed in Wisconsin Since Wisconsin court would not entertain
sued Wisconsin resident for commission for action, Federal court will dismiss. Reed v.
sale of defendant’s Wisconsin property. Xelly, 177 ¥ (2d4) 473.

136.12 'Nonresident brokers. (1) A nonresident of this state may become a real
estate broker or a real estate salesman by conforming to all of the provisions of this
chapter, except that such nonresident broker shall maintain an active place of business
in the state in which he holds a license. . }

(2) The board may reeognize in lien of the affidavit required to accompany an ap-
plication for license, the license issued to a nonresident broker or salesman in such other
state, nupon payment of a license fee and the filing by the applicant with the hoard of a
certified copy of the appliecant’s license issued by such other state,

(3) HEvery nonresident applicant shall file an irrevocable consent that suits and actions
may be eommenced against such applicant in the proper court of any county of the
state in which a cause of action may arvise or in which the plaintiff resides, by the service
of any process or pleading autherized by the laws of this state, on the board, any member
thereof or any duly authorized employe, said consent stipulating and agreeing that such
service of such process or pleading shall be taken and held in all éourts to be as valid and
binding' as if due service had been made upon said applicant in this state. Said consent
shall be duly acknowledged, and if made by a corporation, shall be aunthenticated by the
seal of such corporation,

(4) In case any process or pleadings are served upon the hoard or its duly authorized
employe, it shall be by duplicate copies, one of which shall be filed in the office of the
board and the other immediately forwarded by registered mail to the main office of the
applicant against which said process or pleadings ave directed, and no default in any
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such proceeding or action shall be taken except when it appears by affidavit of the sec-
retary of the board or any duly authorized employe that a copy of the process or plead-
ing was mailed to the defendant as herein required, and no judgment by default shall he
taken in any such action or proceeding within twenty days after the date of mailing of
such process or pleading to the nonresident defendant.

136.13 Evidence, power to obtain, (1) The hoard may subpena and compel the
attendance and testimony of witnesses within this state, and the production of hooks,
papers and documents, and each member of the board and its duly authorized . repre-
sentative may administer oaths fo witnesses.

(3) The hoard may also take depositions in the manner deseribed by law for the
taking of ‘depositions in actions pending in eireuit court.

(4) BEach witness who appears hefore the board pursuant to its subpemna, order or
request, shall be paid the fees and mileage provided by law for witnesses in courts of
record. Ounly witnesses appearing for and on hehalf of the board shall be paid from the
funds deposited pursuant to section 20.575, upon vouchers approved by the president and
secretary of the board, and fees and mileage of all other witnesses shall be paid by the
party demanding their attendance. :

136.14 Ineligibility. No license shall be issued to any person, firm or eorporation
whose license shall have been previously revoked, until the expiration of a period of not
to exceed two years from the date such revocation becomes finally effective, such period
to be determined in each ease by the board.

136,15 Court review. Orders of the hoard shall he subject to review in the man-
ner provided in chapter 227.
History: 1951 c. 261 s, 10,

136.16 Penalties. Any person, firm, or corporation who shall engage in or follow
the business or occupation of, or advertise or hold himself or itself out as or act tempo-
rarily or otherwise as a real estate broker or real estate salesman in this state without first
" having obtained a license therefor as required and provided by this chapter, or who other-
wise violates any provisions of this chapter, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on
conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than twenty-five nor more than
five thousand dollars or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than ten days nor
more than 6 months or by hoth such fine and imprisonment.

136.17 Compensation presumed. In any prosecution for violation of this chapter
proof of facts otherwise established that a person, firm or corporation acted as a broker
or agent or salesman shall be prima facie proof that compensation therefor was received or
promised.

136.18 Certifications ag evidence. (1) Copies of all documents, orders, resolutions
and certificates made, executed or issued by the board, and of all papers filed in.its office,
when certified by the secretary or assistant secretary of the hoard, under its official seal,
shall be received in evidence in all cases in like manner and with the same effect as the
originals.

{2) The certificate of the secretary or assistant seeretary of the board to the effect
that a specified individual, copartnership or eorporation is not or was not on a specified
date the holder of a mortgage broker’s license, real estate broker’s license or real estate
salesman’s license, or that a specified license was not in effect on a date specified, and the
certificate of the secretary or assistant secretary of the board as to the issuance, suspen-
sion, or revoeation of any such license, or as to the filing or withdrawal of any applica-
tion therefor, or as to the existence or nonexistence thereof, shall be prima facie evidence
of the facts therein stated for all purposes in any action or proeceeding in the courts of
this state.

136.19 Business opportunity brokers; definitions, TUnless the context otherwise
requires, as used in sections 136.19 to 136.36:

(1) “Board” means the Wisconsin real estate brokers’ hoard.

(2) “Business opportunity broker” means any person, firm or corporation, not ex-
cluded by subsection (3):

(a) Who for another, and for commission, money or other thing of value, sells, ex-
changes, buys or rents, or offers or attempts to negotiate a sale, exchange, purchase or
rental of any business, its good will, inventory, fixtures or an interest therein; or

(b) Who is engaged wholly or in part in the business of selling husiness opportuni-
ties or good will of an existing business or who is engaged wholly or in part in the busi.
ness of buying and selling, exchanging or renting of any business, its good will, inven-
tory, fixtures or an interest therein. .
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(8) The term “business opportunity broker” does nof include:

(a) Receivers, trustees, administrators, executors, guardians or other persons, ap-
pointed by or acting under the judgment or order of any court; or

(b) Publie oﬂieels while pelfonmng their official duties; or

(e} Any bank, trust company, savings and loan aaSOCIRt]OH, or any land mortgage
or farm loan assoclatwn organized under the laws of this state or of the United States,
when. engaged in the transaction of business within the scope of its corporate powers
as provided by law; or real estate brokers holding a license issued by the Wisconsin real
estate brokers’ boald or :

(d) Employes of persons, companies or associations enumerated in paragraphs (a),
(b) and (e) when engaged in the specific performance of their duties as such employes.

(4) “Business opportunity salesman” means anyone who is employed by a business
opportunity broker to perform any act authorized by sections 136,19 to 136.36 to be per-
formed by a business opportunity broker.

One who is licensed only as a business estate as part of a business. 39 Atty. Gen.
opportunity broker is not authorized to act 475, .
as broker in connection with the sale of real

136.20 Brokers licensed. No person, firm or corporation shall engage in or follow
the business or occupation of, or advertise or hold himself or itself out as or shall act
temporarily or otherwise as a business opportunity hroker or business opportunity sales-
man in this state, without first procuring a license therefor as provided in sections 136.19
to 136.36, Licenses shall be granted only to persons who are trustworthy and competent
to transact the husiness of a business opportunity hroker or business opportunity sales-
man in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the publie, and -only after satls-
factory proof thereof has been presented to the hoard.

136.21 Brokers’ board; duties, meetings, hearings. (1) The hoard shall receive
applications for, and issue licenses to business opportunity hrokers and business op-
portunity salesmen as provided in sections 136.19 to 136.36 and shall administer the
provisions of said sections.

(2) The board may hold meetings, hedrings or investigations anywhere in the state
and any such hearings or investigations may be conducted by any member of the hoard,
the secretary or by any duly authorized employe of the board.

136.22 Application for license. (1) Any person desiring to aet as a business
opportunity broker or business opportunity salesman in this state shall file with the
board an application for a license therefor. The form of the application shall be pre-
seribed by the board, and shall set forth:

(a) The kind of license desired;

(b) The name and address of the applicant; if the applicant is a firm, the name and
address of each member thereof; if the apphcant is a eorporation, the name and address
of each of its officers;

(e) The place or places, including the town, village or city, street number and county
where the bisiness is to be conducted, and the manner in which such place of husiness is
designated ;

(d) The business or occupation theretofore engaged in by the applicant, or, if a firm,
by each member thereof, or if a corporation, by each officer thereof, for a period of at
least 2 years immediately precéding the date of such applieation;

(e) Such further information as the hoard may reasonably require to -enalle it to
determine whether an applicant, including each member of the firm, or each officer of
the corporation, is competent and trustworthy to transaet the business of a business op-
portunity broker or salesman in such manner as to safegnard the interests of the publie.

(2) In deteummng competency, the board shall require proof that the applicant for
a business opportunity broker’s license or a business opportunity salesman’s license has a
fair knowledge of the English language, a fair understanding of the general purposes
and general legal effects of hills of sale, chattel mortgages, conditional sales contracts,
the provisions of the bulk sales law, leases, and a general and fair understanding of the
obhl%%tmns between principal and agent as well as of the provisions of seetlons 136.19
to 36

136,23 Applications, verifications, fees, exemptions, (1) The application shall be
verified by the applicant; if made by a firm it shall be verified by at least 2 members
thereof; if made by a corporation 1t shall he verified by the president and seerefary
thereof. Application for license as business opportunity broker shall be accompanied
by the affidavit of 2 persons who are citizens and real estate owners in the county in
which the applicant resides or has his place of husiness, certifying that the applicant is
trustworthy and competent. Application for license as business opportunity salesman
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shall be accompanied by the affidavit of his employer, if employed, ecertifying that the
applicant is trustworthy and competent.

(2) Bach application for a business opportunity broker’s license shall be accom-
panied by a license fee of $10 and for a business opportunity salesman’s license by a
fee of $5 for the calendar year ending on the June 30 thereafter. Unless the application
is withdrawn before the board has made any investigation thereon, nelthe1 the fee, nor
any part theveof, shall be returned to the applicant.

(3) In the case of applications for renewals of licenses the hoard may dlspense with
such of the matters contained in section 136.22 (1) as it deems unnecessary in view of
prior applications.

(4) (a) Any licensed business opportunity salesman may at any time during the
calendar year for which he has been licensed make application upon a form provided
by the board for transfer to the employment of another licensed hroker. The fee for such
transfer shall be $1 payable at the time the application therefor is filed.

(b) The suspension or revocation of a license issued to a broker shall automatically
suspend the license of every salesman employed by such broker at the time of the sus-
pension or revoecation of such broker’s license. Such salesman may apply for transfer
to some other licensed broker by complying with the provisions of sections 136,19 to
136.36, provided such salesman is not a party to the act1v1t1es causing the suspension or
revocation of the license of hig broker.

136.24 License; expiration, broker’s liability, roster of brokers. (1) A license
issued by the board shall entitle the holder thereof to act as a business opportunity broker,
or if the application is for a business opportunity salesman’s license, to act as a business
opportunity salesman in this state up to and including June 30 following issuance of such
license.

(2) If the licensee is a corporation, the license issued to it shall entitle the president
thereof or such other officer as may be designated by such corporation, to act as a busi-
ness opportunity broker. For each other officer who desires to act as a husiness oppor-
tunity broker in hehalf of such corporation, an, additional license shall be applied for and
issued, for which the annual fee is $10 for a business opportunity broker’s license. No
hcense as a business opportunity salesman shall be issued to any officer of a corporation
nor to a member of a copartnership to whom a license was issued as a business oppor-
tunity broker. If the licensee is a copartnership, the license issued to it shall entitle one
member thereof to act as a husiness opportunity broker, and for each other member of
the copartnership who desires to act as a business opportunity broker an additional
license shall be applied for and issued, for which the annual fee is $10 for a business
opportunity broker’s license.

(3) Each business opportunity broker is respounsible for the acts of any of his or its
salesmen while acting as his or its agents.

(4) The board shall from time to time prepare and publish in convenient form the
names of all business opportunity brokers and salesmen licensed under seetions 136.19
to 136.36. It shall inelude in such publication the names of all business oppmtuni‘cy
brokers and salesmen whose licenses have heen revoked at any time within one year prior
to the issue thereof.

136.25 Investigations, revocation of license, (1) The board may on its own mo-
tion make investigations and conduct hearings in regard to the action of any business
opportunity broker or business opportunity salesman, or any person, firm or corporation
who it has reason to believe is acting or has acted in either such eapacity within this state,
and may make findings, after a hearing held on 10 days’ notice, whether such person, firm
or eorporation has acted as a husiness opportunity broker or salesman. The ﬁndmgs
are subject to review as provided in section 136.32.

(2) The board, on its own motion, or upon a written eomplaint duly signed and,veu-
fied by the complainant, may suspend the license of a business opportunity bhroker or
salesman in the manner and for the causes hereinafter provided. -The business oppor-
tunity broker or salesman so charged shall be given at least 10 days’ notice of such pro-
ceedings. The board may rvevoke the license of a husiness opportunity broker or sales-
man if he has: )

(a) Made a material misstatement in the application for such license;

(b) Made any substantial misrepresentation with reference to a transaction injurious
to a seller or purchaser wherein he acts as agent;

(¢) Made any false plonnses of a ehalactel such as to 1nﬁuenee, persuade or induce
the seller or purchaser to their injury or damage;

(d) Pursued a continued and flagrant course of misrepresentation or made false
promises through agents or salesmen or advertising;
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(e) Acted for more than one party in a transaction without the knowledge of all
parties for whom he acts;

(f) Accepted a commission or valuable consideration as a business opportunity sales-

man for the performance of any of the acts specified in this chapter, from any person
except his employer;

(g) Represented or attempted to represent a business opportunity broker other
than the employer, without the express knowledge and consent of the employer;

(h) Failed, within a reasonable time, to acecount for or remit any moneys conuno
into his posséssion which helong to another person;

(1) Demonstrated untrustworthiness or incompeteney to act as a business oppor-
tunity broker or salesman in such manner as to safegunard the interests of the public;

(j) Paid or offered to pay a ecommission or valuable consideration to any person for
acts or services in violation of the provisions of sections 136.19 to 136.36;

(k) Been guilty of any other conduect, whether of the same or a different charactexr
from that specified hevein, which constitutes improper, fraudulent or dishonest dealing;
or :

(1) Violated any provision of sections 136.19 to 136.36.

(3) If a broker is a company it is sufficient cause for the suspension or revoeation
of a broker’s license that any officer, director or trustee of the company, or in the case
of a partnership, if any member thereof, or anyone who has finaneial interest in or is in
any way connected with the operation of a business brokerage business, has been guilty
of any act or omission which would be cause for refusing a blOkel s license to such per-
son as an individual.

(4) A copy of the complaint, together with notice of suspension of the hcense, if
ordered by the board, shall forthwith be served upon the business opportunity broker
or salesman complained against. Such service may be by personal service or by mailing
same to his last known business address. If the complaint is against a salesman a copy of
the complaint and notice shall also be served upon the broker for whom he is acting.
The person so served shall file his answer thereto with the board within 10 days after such
service and also serve a copy of such answer on the complainant. The bhoard shall there-
upon set the matter for hearing as promptly as possible and within 30 days after the date
of filing of the complaint. Either party may appear at sueh hearing in person or by at-
torney or agent.

136.26 Denial or revocation of license, procedure. (1) No order denying or revok-
ing a license shall be made until after a public hearing or hearings held before the board,
or before any member thereof, or hefore any duly authorized employe whose report has
been adopted by the hoard. Such hearing or hearings shall be held in the county wherein
. the applicant for a license resides or wherein the business opportunity broker eomplained
of or whose salesman complained of has his place of business. In the event that the
broker or salesman is a nonresident, the hearing shall be held at such place as the board
designates. -

(2) At least 10 days prior to the date of hearing, the board shall send written notice
of the time and place of such hearing to the applicant for a license or to the complainant
and to the party complained against and to their respective attoimeys or agents of record
by mailing same to the last known address of such persons. The testimony presented and
the ploceedings at such hearing shall be taken in shorthand and preserved as the records
of the board. As soon thereafter as possible, and within 90 days afterithe date of filing
a eomplaint, the hoard shall make its findings and determination thereon and shall send
a copy thereof to each interested party.

136.27 Fee-splitting. No licensed broker shall pay a commission or any part there-
of for performing any of the acts specified in sections 13619 to 136.36 to any person
who is not a licensed hroker or a licensed salesman under the provisions of this chapter
or who is not regnlarly engaged in the business opportunity brokerage husiness in an-
other state.

136.28 Limitation on actions for commissions. No person, firm or corporation
engaged in the business or acting in the capacity of a business opportunity broker or
business opportunity salesman within this state shall bring or maintain an action in the
courts of this state for the collection of a commission or conipensation for the perform-
anee of any of the acts mentioned in this chapter without alleging and proving that such
person, fixm or corporation was a duly licensed business opportunity broker or busmess
opportunity salesman at the time the alleged cause of action arose.

.136.29 Nonresident brokers. (1) A nonrvesident of this state may become a busi-
ness opportunity broker or a business opportunity salesman by conforming to all of the
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provisions of sections 136.19 to 136.36, Such nonresident broker shall maintain an active
place of business in this state.

(2) The hoard may recognize in lien of the affidavit required to accompany an ap-
plication for license, the license issued to a nonresident broker or salesman in such other
state, upon payment of a license fee and the filing by the applicant with the hoard of a
certified copy of the applicant’s license issued by such other state.

(8) Every nonresident applicant shall file an irrevocable consent that suits and
actions may be commenced against such applicant in the proper court of any county of
the state in which a canse of action may arise or in which the plaintiff resides, by the
service of any process or pleading authorized by the laws of this state, on the board, any
member thereof, or any duly authorized employe. Such consent shall stipulate and agree
that such service of such process or pleading is valid and binding as due service upon said
applicant in all eourts in this state, Said eonsent shall be duly acknowledged, and if made
by a corporation, shall be authenticated by the seal of such corporation.

(4) Duplicate copies of any process or pleadings shall be served upon the board or
its duly authorized employe. One copy shall be filed in the office of the board and the
other immediately forwarded by registered mail to the main office of the applicant against
whom said process or pleadings are directed. No default in any such proceeding or action
shall he taken except when it appears by affidavit of the secretary of the board or any
duly authorized employe that a copy of the process or pleading was mailed to the de-
fendant as herein required. No judgment by default shall be taken in any action or pro-
ceeding within 20 days after the date of mailing of such process or pleading to the non-
resident defendant. »

136.30 Evidence, power to obtain, (1) The hoard may subpoena and compel the
attendance and testimony of witnesses within this state, and the production of books,
papers and documents. Each member of the board and its duly authorized representa-
tives may administer oaths to witnesses.

(2) If any person refuses to comply with any subpoena issued hereunder or to testify
to any matter regarding which he may lawfully be interrogated, the cireunit court of any
ecounty or the judge thereof, on application of any member of the hoard, shall issue an
order requiring such person to comply with such subpoena and to festify, or either. Any
failure to obey such order of the court may be punished by the court as a contempt
thereof.

(3) The board may also take depositions in the manner for the taking of depositions
in actions pending in circuit court.

(4) Bach witness who appears hefore the board pursnant to its subpoena, order or
request, shall be paid the fees and mileage provided by law for witnesses in courts of
record. Only witnesses appearing for and on hehalf of the hoard shall be paid from the
funds deposited pursuant to section 20.575, upon vouchers approved by the president
and secretary of the board. The fees and mileage of all other witnesses shall be paid by
the party demanding their attendance.

136.31 1Ineligibility., When the license of a person, firm or corporation has bheen
revoked, the board may refuse to consider the application of such person, firm or cor-
poration for a new license for 2 years after the date of such revoeation, After 2 years
from the date of such revocation, the board shall rule on such application for a new
license.

136.32 Judicial review. The action of the board in refusing or in revoking a license
under sections 136.22 to 136.25 shall be subject to review as provided in section 136.15.
History: 1951 c. 261 s, 10,

136.33 Penalties, Any person, firm or corporation who engages in or follows the
business or oceupation of, or advertises or holds himself or itself out as or acts tem-
porarily or otherwise ag a business opportunity hroker or business opportunity salesman
in this state without first having obtained a license therefor as required and provided
by this chapter, or who otherwise violates any provisions of sections 136.19 to 136.36,
is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25 nor more
than $200 or by imprisonment in the ¢ounty jail for not less than 10 days nor more than
6 months or hy both such fine and imprisonment.

136,34 Compensation presumed. In any prosecution for violation of sections 136.19
to 136.36 proof of facts otherwise established that a person, firm or corporation acted as
a husiness opportunity hroker or business opporfunity agent or business opportunity
salesman is prima facie proof that compensation therefor was received or promised

136.36 Certifications as evidence, (1) Copies of all documents, orders, resolutions
and certificates made, executed or issued by the board, and of all papers filed in its office,
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when certified by the secretary or assistant secretary of the bhoard, under its official seal,
shall be received in evidence m all cases in like manner and with the same effect as the
originals.

(2) The certificate of the secretary or assistant secretary of the board to the effect
that a specified individual, ecopartnership or corporation is not or was not on a specified
date the holder of a husiness opportunity broker’s license or business opportunity sales-
man’s license, or that a specified license was not in effect on a date specified, and the
certificate of the secretary or assistant secretary of the hoard as to the issuance, sus-
pension or revocation of any such license, or as fo the filing or withdrawal of any appli-
cation therefor, or as to the existence or nonexistence thereof, is prima facie evidence of
the facts therein stated for all purposes in any action or proceeding in the courts of this
state.

136.36 Disposition of money collected. All money collected as license fees under
the provisions of sections 136.19 to 136.35 shall be paid within one week after receipt
into the general fund and used to carry out the provisions of sections 13619 to 136.36
as provided in seetion 20.575.






