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169.01 Commissioners, appointment, terms, quorum. The “State Athletic Commis-
sion of Wisconsin” is hereby created. The commission shall be composed of 5 members
appointed by the governor for terms of 5 years. Three members of the commission, and
the secretary, shall constitute a quorum. Each member of the commission except the see-
retary shall be paid $5 per day when actually and necessarily engaged in his duties, bub
the total paid to all shall not exceed $3 000 annually,

History: 1951 c. 319 s. 247,

169.02 Office; meetings; chairman; seal; rules. The commission shall designate the
place where it shall maintain a general office. The commission may hold meetings at any
other place when the convenience of the parties so requires. The commission shall elect
a member chairman, shall adopt a seal and shall make such rules and regulations for the
administration of the office, not inconsistent hervewith, as it deems expedient and may from
time to time amend or abrogate the same.

State atletic commission has power to to conduct bhoxing cards is in commission
promulgate rule regulating announcements and not in secretary. 39 Atty. Gen, 3
of boxing cards. Power to revoke licenses

169.03 Secretary, duties; subpoena witnesses, The commission shall appoint a see-
retary, who shall keep a full and true record of all the proceedings of the commission,
preserve at its general office all its hooks, documents and papers, prepare such notices
and other papers and perform such other duties as the commission preseribes; and he
may, under the direction of the eommission, issue subpoenas for the attendance of wit-
nesses before the commission, and may, under its direction, administer oaths and take
testimony, in all matters pertaining to his ofﬁce or connected with the administration of
the affairs of the commission.

169.04 Secretary, term, bond. The secretary shall hold office during the pleasure
of the commission and shall give a bond to the state of Wisconsin in the sum of $2,000,
with suveties to be approved by the commlssmn, for the faithful pelfmmance of hls
duties.

169.06 Boxing licenses, permits. The commission shall have the sole direction,
management and control of, and jurisdiction over, all boxing and sparring exhibi-
tions conducted within the state by any club; and no boxing or sparring exhibitions
shall he conducted within the state except pursuant to authority therefor granted by the
commission and in accordanee with this chapter and the rules and regulations of the com-
mission. The commission may issue, and for cause revoke, a license to conduct hoxing and
gparring exhibitions to any incorporated club formed as hereinafter provided. The com-
mission may limit the number of sparring or hoxing exhibitions given by any club in any
city. No hoxing or sparring exhibition shall be conducted by any licensed club without a
permit from the commission. Hvery license shall be subject to such rules and regulations
as the ecommission prescribes.

169.06 Report to legislature. Before each regular session of the legislature the
commission shall make to the legislature a full veport of its proceedings for the two years
ending the 30th day of June preceding. Said report shall state the names of clubs, the
gross receipts from each club, and such other information and comments in relation to
the work of the commission as the publie interest may require.
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169.07 Application for license, fee, bond. No hoxing or sparring exhibition shall
be conducted by any club except by license issued to it by the commission; and no club
shall be licensed unless it is incorporated under the laws of Wisconsin and the member-
ship limited to persons who have heen continuous residents in the state at least one year.
The application for a license shall be in writing, and shall be addressed to the commis-
. glon, and shall he verified by some officer of the club. Such application shall be accom-
panied by an annual fee of $25 in cities of not more than 50,000 inhahitants; of $50 in
cities of over 50,000 and not more than 150,000 inhabitants; and $300 in all cities of over
150,000 inhabitants when any admission is over $1, and $50 when the admission charge
is 81 or less. The application must show that the club has entered into a valid agreement
for the use of the building, amphitheater or stadium for athletic purposes, wherein such
contests are to be held. Before any license is granted the applicant must file a bond of
$1,000 of a good and sufficient surety with the state treasurer, eonchtloned for the pay ‘
ment of the tax herein imposed.

169.08 Club reports; tax on receipts. Bvery club which exereises any of the privi-
leges conferred by this chapter shall, within 24 hours after the determination of every
exhibition, furnish to the said commission a written veport, verified by one of its cfficers,
showing the number of tickets sold for such exhibition and the amount of gross proceeds
thereof, and such other matters as the commission prescribes; and shall within said
time pay to the eommission a tax of 5 per cent of its total gross receipts from the sale of
tickets of admission to the exhibition.

169.09 Amateur matches regulated; fee. Any club may conduet strictly amateur
boxing’and sparring exhibitions, on payment of an annual license fee of $10, throughout
the state upon compliance and in accordance with this chapter with respect to obtaining
a license and sanction from the commission and subject to all the rules and regulations
of the commission. Amateur exhibitions within the meaning of this section include only
exhibitions in which the participants are bona fide amateurs and receive no money, com-
pensation or reward for their participation in such exhibition, other than watches, medals,
articles of jewelry, silverware, trophies or ornaments suitably inscribed to show that they
are given for participation in an amateur boxing exhibition, but the value of any such
article given to any contestant must not exceed the sum of $35. No other prize or reward
shall be given or awarded to or accepted by any boxer unless authorized in writing by the
commission. No bout or matchin any such exhihition shall exceed 3 3-minute rounds with
one-minute intermission between each round or 5 2-minute rounds with one-minute inter-
mission between each round subject to the approval of the commission.. The commission
shall require membership in a recognized amateur athletie association as evidence of the
amateur standing of any contestant or club, and in ease of dispute, may determine upon
competent evidence the amateur status of any contestant or club.

169.10 Inspectors The commission shall appoint official “inspectors,” each of
whom shall receive a card authonzmg him to act as inspector wherever the commission
designates him to act. The commission may he, and at least one inspector shall he present
at all exhibitions and see that the rules ave strictly observed. An inspector shall also be
pleqent at the counting up of the gross receipts and shall immediately mail to the com-
mission the official hox-office statement 1ece1ved by him from the elub.

169.11 Sunday exhibitions forbldden. No boxing or sparring exhibition shall be
held on Sunday.

169.12 quu01 banned. No intoxicating liquor shall be gwen away, sold or offered
for sale in any building or part thereof, in which boxing or sparring exhibitions are bemg
conducted. ‘

169.13 Conduct of exhibitions regulated. (1) No hoxing or sparring exhibition
shall be for more than 10 rounds except that where a championship is to be determined,
the exhibition shall not be for more than 15 rounds, and no round shall last more than
3 minutes.

(2) There shall he one minute intermission betiween 1ounds

(3) Gloves weighing not less than 5 ounces shall be worn by contestants under 140
pounds, and not less than 6 ounces by other contestants.

(4) No person under the age of 18 years shall participate in any professional hoxing
or spanmg exhihition. Amateur contestants between 16 and 18 years of age may par-
ticipate ini amateur boxing or sparring exh1b1t1ons with the consent of their parvents or
guardians,

(5) No betting at any boxing or sparring exhibitions shall be permitted hefore, after,
or during any such contest, in the building where the contest is held.
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(6) Contestants shall break elean, and must not hold and hit. Butting with head or
shoulders, wrestling or illegal use of elbows shall not be allowed. There shall be no un-
sportsmanlike conduct on the part of the contestants. This includes the use of abusive
or insulting language. ‘

(7) The commission may allow or provide for decisions upon exhibitions held under
this echapter to be made by the referee or by the referee and 2 judges appointed by the
commission under regulations prescribed by the commission.

(8) The commission may permit a total of 40 rounds of professional boxing or spar-
ring at one time when requested by any licensed club.

169.15 Physician to examine contestants, Prior to entering the ring, each con-
testant must he examined by a physician who has been licensed to practice in Wisconsin
not less than 5 years and who is appointed by the commission and certifies in writing, over
his signature, as to the contestant’s physical and mental fitness to engage in such contest.

169.16 Licenses to matchmakers, referees, boxers, etc. The commission may grant
licenses upon application and the payment of the fees herein prescribed to matchmakers,
managers, referees, examining physicians, boxers and seconds and trainers.” The fees to
be paid per annum shall be as follows: Matchmakers in cities with a population of over
150,000, $25; matchmakers in other cities and in villages and fowns, $10; managers, $10;
referees, $15; examining physicians, $10; boxers, $5; seconds and trainers, $5. The com-
mission may revoke any such license upon such cause as it shall deem sufficient.

169.17 Referee to stop contest. The referee must stop the contest when either of
the contestants shows a marked superiority or is apparently outelassed.

169.18 Sham matches, license revoked. Any club which conducts, holds or gives or
participates in any sham or fake boxing or sparring match shall thereby forfeit its license

which license shall thereupon be revoked by the commission; and it shall not thereafter .

be entitled to another license; nor shall any license he issued to any elub, which has a
member who belonged to a club which had its license revoked.

169.19 Sham matches; contestants penalized; forfeitures; hearing, Any contestant
who participates in any sham or fake boxing or sparring exhibition or violates any rule
or regulation of the commission shall be penalized as follows: For the first offense he
_shall be restrained by order of the commission for not less than 2 months nor more than
one year, such period to begin immediately after the oceurrence of the offense, from par-
ticipation in such exhibition to be held or given hy any licensed club; for a second offense,
he shall be permanently disqualified from further admission or participation in any such
exhibition held or given by any licensed club and in addition thereto, for each such offense,
shall forfeit such amount, out: of the share or purse agreed to be paid him for such exhi-
bition as the commission determines, such forfeit to be paid into the general fund of the
state. The commission, upon determining the amount of such forfeit, may pay the same
out of any guarantee deposited with it for delivery to such contestant or may order the
same paid to the commission by the club employing such contestant out of the purse or
sharve agreed by it to be paid to him. The commission shall not determine such forfeit
until after due hearing thereon held upon reasonable notice duly served upon the con-
testant or his manager and upon the elub by whom he is employed ; and any member of the
commission or the secretary or any inspector of the commission may order the club to
hold the share or purse of such contestant in its possession pending the hearing and
determination of the commission. For failure to obey any order of the commission or the
seeretary or any inspector of the ecommission given under this section, the license of the
club may be suspended, canceled or revoked.

169.20 Reports; examination of books and officers; forfeitures on tax default.
Whenever any club fails to make a report of any contest at the time preseribed or when-
ever such report is unsatisfactory to the commission, the secretary may examine or cause
to be examined, the hooks and records of such club and may suhpoena and examine, under
oath, its officers and other witnesses to determine the total amount of its gross receipts for
any exhibition and the amount of tax due, which tax he may determine npon such exam-
ination. In case of a default in the payment of any tax so adjudged to be due (together
with the expenses of the examination) for a period of 20 days after notice to such
delinquent club of the amount, such club shall thereby forfeit its license and be disqualis
fied from receiving any license; and it shall in addition forfeit to the state the sum of
$1,000, which may be recovered by the attorney-general in the name of the state.

169.21 Violation when a misdemeanor. A violation of any provision of this chap-
ter, for which a penalty is not herein expressly preseribed, is a misdemeanor.

169.22 Organizations exempted. (1) This chapter does not apply to amateur box-
ing or sparring exhibitions held under the auspices and upon the premises of any uni-
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versity, college, state teachers college, high school, publie school, parochial school or of
any church or religious corporation of the state in intramural, interscholastic or inter-
collegiate or other competition if the participants therein are bhona fide members of such
church or religious corporation or students of their respective schools. All such boxing
or sparring exhibitions shall be by and with the consent of, and under the supervision of
the governing hody of such university, college, state teachers college, high school, public
school, parochial school or church or religious eorporation,

(2) This chapter does not apply to exhibitions condueted by the American Legion, the
Young Men’s Christian Association, United Spanish War Veterans, Veterans of Foreign
Wars or the Disabled American Veterans of the World War, for which no admission fee
is charged. Any contribution shall be considered an admission fee. No such boxing or
sparring exhihitions shall be conducted as a part of any program where an admission fee
is charged.

(3) This chapter does not apply fo amateur boxing or sparring exhibitions econducted
by or held under the auspices of any publie recreation department supported by town,
village, city, county, state or federal funds, in any intradepartmental or interdepartmental
exhibitions, provided: (a) that such exhibitions are between bona fide members of hoxing
classes conducted by such public recreation departments, (b) that such public recreation
departments are members of a recognized state association of public recreation depart-
ments, (e) and that each such amateur boxing or sparring exhibition is sanctioned by the
commission. The application for the sanction of each exhibition shall be made in writing
to the commission at least 2 weeks prior to the exhibition. A fee of $5 shall accompany
the application, said fee to cover the cost of sanction and expenses of an inspector, whose
duty it shall be to enforce all rules and regulations and to see that a competent referee,
timer, doctor and judges are employed. Sanction for such exhibitions may be denied
for cause upon competent evidence,




