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359.02 Oertificate of conviction. ,Yhen a defendant is sentenced to imprisonment 
01' to pay a fine, the clerk of the court shall make a certificate of conviction and sentence 
citing the statute which he violated and the st!)tute under which he was sentenced and 
showing his name, the crime which he committed, the date of conviction and a copy of the 
sentence and deliver such certificate to the sheriff to be retained by him if the defendant 
is sente~ced to the county jail or workhouse or to be transmitted with the defendant in 
case of sentence to some other prison. 

359.03 Form of certificate of conviction. TIle certificate of conviction mentioned 
in section 359.02 may be substantially in the following form: 

CERTIFICATE OF CONVICTIO~ 

} STATE OF WISCONSIN, 
. . . . County, . . .. Court. 
The State of Wisconsin, 

v. 
Name of defendant. 
As the clerk of said court, I hereby certify that at a term of said court, held at the 

courthouse in the city of .... , on the .... day of .... , 19 .. , :... .... was convicted 
of the crime of (here give a brief description of the crime) in violation of section .... 
of the statutes, and upon said conviction the court did, on the .... day of .... ,19 .. , 
~entence him under section .... of the statutes as follows: (here give the sentence in 
full, as pronounced by the court). 

Given under my hand and the seal of said court, this day of .... , 19 .. . 
[Seal] . . .... . ... , Clerk 

359.04 Orimes, how stated in certificate. It shall be sufficient in describing the 
crime in the certificate of conviction to set it out in the language of the statute. 

359.045 Sentence and commitment. (1) Male persons not less than 16 nor more 
than 30 years of age may be sentenced to the Wisconsin state reformatory if convicted of 
a felony (other than murder in the first or second degree) or a misdemeanor punishable 
by imprisonment in the county jailor house of correction for one year or more. 

(2) All commitments to the Wisconsin home for women shall be for one year or more. 
(3) Female persons over 16 and not yet 18 years of age shall be committed either to 

the Wisconsin school for girls or the ,Yisconsin home for women. Female persons over 
18 years of age shall be committed to the Wisconsin home for women. 

359.05 Indeterminate sentence, state prison. Except persons convicted of a crime 
for which the minimum imprisonment is life 01' 20 years 01' more, if imprisonment in the 
state prison is imposed, the court may fix a term less than the prescribed maximum and 
the form of such sentence shall be substantially as follows: 

"You are hereby sentenced to the state prison at hard labor for. an indeterminate term 
of not less than .... (the minimum fixed by statute) years and not more than .... (the 
maximum as fixed by the court) years." 

The sentence shall have the effect of a sentence for the maximum tel'lll fixed by the 
court, subject to the power of actual release from confinement by parole by the state de­
partment of public welfare or by pardon by the governor. If a. person is sentenced for 
a definite time for an offense for which he may be sentenced under this section, he is in 
leg-al effect sentenced as required by this section, said definite time being- the maximum 
period. A defendant convicted of a crime for which the minimum penalty is life or 20 
years or more shall be sen tenced for a. fixed term. 
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359.051 Indeterminate sentence, reformatory and home for women. (1) Except 
persons convicted of a crime for which the minimum imprisonment is life or 20 years or 
more, if imprisonment in the Wisconsin state reformatory or the "Wisconsin home for 
women is imposec1, the court may fix a tenn less than the prescribed maximum. The form 
of such sentence shall be substantially as follows: 

"You are hereby sentenced to the Wisconsin state reformatory (01' to the Wisconsin 
home for women) for an inc1eterminate term of not less than .... (the minimum fixed by 
statute) years, and not more than .... ' (the maximum as fixed by the court) years." 

Such sentence shall have the force and effect of a sentence for the maximum term 
subject to the power of actual release from confinement by parole by the state department 
of public welfare or by pardon as provided by law. If, through mistake or otherwise, any 
person shall be sentenced for a definite period of time for any offense for which he may 
be sentenced under the provisions of this section, such sentence shall not be' void, but the 
prisoner shall be deemed to be sentenced nevertheless as provided and required by the 
terms of this section. 

(2) Upon the recommendation of the state department of public welfare, the governor 
may, without the procedure required by chapter 57 of 'these statutes, discharge absolutely, 
01' upon such conditions and restrictions, ahd under such limitations as he may think 
proper, any inmate of the reformatory after he shall have served the minimum term of 
punishment prescribed by law for the offense for which he was sentenced. Such discharge 
shall have the force and effect of an absolute or conditional pardon, respectively. 

(3) In lieu of the penalty provided by statute, unc1er which a female offender is tried, 
the court may commit such person except one convicted of murder in the first or second 
degree to the home for women for an indetel1uinate term, which term shall not exceed 5 
years in any case, subject to the power of release' from actual confinement, by parole or 
absolute discharge by the state department of public welfare or by pardon, as provided 
by law. 

(4) All courts of record having criminal jurisdiction, regardless of their jurisdictions 
as otherwise defined by statute, shall have the power to commit as, provided in subsection 
(3) . 

359.052 Trial and commitment records; execution. (1) When any offender is sen­
tenced to the state prison or to the reformatory or to the home for women, the commit­
ment papers shall consist of the certificate of conviction, and certified copies of the in­
formation, indictment or complaint, the plea of the accused, the verdict and the judgment 
and sentence, which copies shall be delivered with the certificate of conviction to the 
officer executing it, and by him to the superintendent of the institution when the convict 
is delivered. The copy of the transcript of testimony when filed at the institution shall 
become a part of the commitment papers. 

(2) In case no testimony is taken, a statement of the prosecuting attorney, giving 
the facts in the case, and the statement of the defendant in court, shall be delivered in 
lieu thereof. 

(3) The clerk's fees for furnishing such copies shall be fixed by the trial judge, and 
shall be paid by the county in which trial is had as part of the court expenses. 

(4) -Whenever any woman is sentenced to the home for women the sheriff shall assign 
a woman deputy to execute the commitment. She shall receive the same fee as is provided 
for the sheriff. 

(5) When any person is sentenced to the reformatory the court shall immediately 
notify the superintendent thereof. If the institution be filled to capacity, the convict 
shall be retained in the county jail until he can be received into the reformatory; but, if 
convicted of a felony, the court may commit' him temporarily to the state prison to be 
thence transferred as soon as may be. Notice of such temporary commitment shall be 
given to the superintendent, and the commitment papers shall be delivered with the con­
vict to the warden of the prison) who shall deliver them to said superintendent when the 
convict is transfelTed. 

History: 1951 c. 557. 

[359.053 Stats. 1947 j'enumbe1'ecl section 359.045 by 1949 c. 631] 

359.06 Jail sentence. If at the time of passing' sentence upon a defendant who is 
to be imprisoned in a county jail there is no jail in the county suitable for said defendant, 
the court may sentence him to any suitable cOlUlty jaiL The expenses of supporting him 
there shall be borne by the county in which the crime was committed. 

Sentence to county jail does liot run concurrently with later sentence to state prison. 
38 Atty. Gen. 544, 

359.07 Sentence, terms, escapes. All sentences to 'the state prison shall be for on~ 
year' or more. Except as otherwise provided ill this section, all sentences commence at 
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noon on the day of sentence, but time which elapses after sentence while the defendant is 
in the county jailor is at large on bail shall not be computed as any part of his term of 
imprisonment. The court may impose as many sentences as there are convictions and may 
provide that any such sentence shall commence at the expiration of any other sentence; 
and if the defendant is then serving a sentence, the present sentence may provide that 
it shall commence at the expiration of the previous sentence. If a convict escapes, the 
time during' which he is unlawfully absent from the prison after such escape shall not be 
computed as part of his tenn. 

359.08 Time out. If an order or judgment releasing a prisoner on habeas corpus is 
reversed, the time during which he was at liberty thereunder shall not be reckoned as parD 
of his term. 

359.09 Sentence to state prison. If a male defendant is convicted of a felony and 
it is established at the trial that he had previously _been convicted of a felony and the 
sentence is for more than one year, he shall be sentenced to the Wisconsin state prison. 

359.10 Judgment against corporation. If a c0l1)oration fails to appeal' within 20 
days after an indictment or information is served by leaving a copy thereof with the 
persons upon whom a circuit court summons in a civil action against the corporation may 
be served, the default of such corporation may be recorded and the charges against it 
taken as true, and judgment shall be rendered accordingly. 

359.11 Collection of judgment against corporation. The judgment against a cor­
poration shall be collected in the same manner as jUdgments in civil actions against it. 

359.12 Sentence of repeater. (1) DEFINITIONS. As used in this section, unless 
context or subject matter otherwise requires: 

(a) "Repeater" means a person convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment, 
(except escapes under section 346.40 or 346.45 (2)), who, within 5 years prior to commis­
sion thereof, had been convicted of a felony or on 3 separate occasions during such 5-year 
period had been convicted of misdemeanors by any criminal court or courts of this state 
01' of the United States or of any other state or territory of the United States, which con­
viction or convictions remain of record and unreversed, whether pardoned therefor or not 
(except on grounds of innocence) and whether or not sentence on such conviction was 
stayed, suspended 01' withheld. No time during which such person was .in actual confine­
ment serving a criminal sentence shall be included in such 5-year period. 

(b) As to crimes committed in Wisconsin, "felony" and "misdemeanor" have the 
meaning given in section 353.31; otherwise "felony" is any crime under the laws of the 
United States 01' any other state 01' territory which carries a possible penalty of imprison­
ment for one year or more in a state prison 01' penitentiary or a federal penitentiary; and 
"misdemeanor" is any crime under the laws of the United States or any othel' state or 
territory which does not carry a possible penalty sufficient to constitute it a felony, and 
includes crimes punishable only by a fine. Motor vehicle offenses under chapter 85, fish 
and g'ame law offenses in violation of chapter 23 01'29 01' offenses against equivalent laws 
of other states are not to be considenid crimes for purposes of this seetion. 

(c) In determining whether a crime is a felony 01' misdemeanor "possible penalty" 
means the maximum penalty provided by law for the crime, notwithstanding that because 
of age or any other reason the defendant could not be sentenced to such maximum pen­
alty; but juvenile court proceedings under chapter 48 or equivalent proceeding's under 
the law of the United States or any other state or territory shall not 1J8 considered in de­
termining whethel' the defenc1ant is a repeater. 

(2) How PRIOR CONVICTION CHARGED AND DETERJlIINE.D. Whenever a person charged 
with a crime will be a 1'epeater if convicted, his l)l'ior conviction or convictions may be 
alleged in the complaint, inclictment 01' information 01' otherwise brought to the at­
tention of the court at any time 1Jefo1'e execution of sentence has commencecl, ancl if such 
prior conviction 01' convictions be admitted by the defendant or proved by the state he 
shall be subject to be sentencecl uncleI' this section unless he shall. establish that he was 
parcloned on g'l'ounds of innocence for any crime necessary to constitute him a repeater. 
If the defenc1ant he alleged to be a repeater after conviction, the charge shall be reduced 
to writing {mless it be admitted in open court, and the defendant may have a jury trial ?n 
that issue if it be demandec1, otherwise the issue shall be tried by the court. An offiClal 
report of the federal bureau of investigation 01' of allY other governmental agency of t?e 
Unitec1 States 01' of this 01' any other state shall be prima facie evidence of any conVIC­
tion or sentence therein report~d. Any sentence so reported shall be deemed prima fa,cie 
to have been fully served in actual confinement 01' to have been so served f~r s~l~h per~od 
of time as is shown by or is consistent with the report. The court shall take JuchClal notIce 
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of United States and foreign statutes in determining whether the prior conviction was for 
a felony or a misdemeanor. If sentence has already been passed but execution thereof 
has not commenced before the court is informed that the defendant is a repeater, the 
court may set aside such sentence and resentence the defendant under this section. 

(3) SENTENOE. The court may sentence repeaters as follows: 
(a,) If the present conviction be for a crime punishable by imprisonment only in the 

county jail, the sentence may be to imprisonment in the county jail not less than the 
minimum provided by law for the crime nor more than one year or to the state prison not 
less than one nor 'more than 3 years. 

(b) If the present conviction be for a crime punishable by imprisonment in either the 
county jailor the state prison, and the prior convictions were for misdemeanors, the 
sentence may be to the state prison for a maximum term of not more than 2 years in 
excess of the maximum provided by law for the crime or, if ,a prior conviction was for a 
felony, not more than 3 years in excess of such maximum. 

(c) If the present conviction be for a crime punishable only by imprisonment in the 
state prison and the prior convictions were for misdemeanors, the sentence may be for a 
maximum term of not more than 2 years in excess of the maximum provided by law for 
the crime, or if a prior conviction was for a felony, not more than 15 years in excess of 
such maximum. 

(4) FORM OF SENTENOE; EHRORS OURED. In every such case the sentence shall be im­
posed for the present conviction, but if the court indicates in passing sentence how 
much thereof is imposed because the defendant is a repeater, it shall not constitute re­
verEible er1'or but the combined terms shall be construed as a single sentence for the 
present conviction; and if in any case the court shall impose a maximum penalty in excess 
of that authorized by this section, such excess shall be void and the sentence shall be valid 
only to the extent authorized by this section and shall stand automatically commuted to 
that extent without any further proceedings. 

Where a defendant had been convicted of fendant had talcen the stand, was propel'. If 
the prior offense of robbery by means of fire- former convictions are alleged and admitted, 
arms and was convicted in the instant prose- then they are proved within the meaning of 
cHtion of violations of'the game laws, he ' the repeater statute and no evidence of the 
could be sentenced either under the general former convictions should thereafter be re­
repeater statute or under the game-law pen- ceived nor comment to the jury be permitted. 
alty statute, at the election of the court hav- Statev. Meyer, 258 W 326,46 NW (2d) 341. 
ing jurisdiction. State v. Meyer, 258 W 326, Following the defendant's plea of not 
46 NW (2d) 341. guilty to an information charging incest and 

In a prosecution for violations of the alleging 2 prior convictions for larceny, the 
gaIns la,vs, 1vhere a prior conviction for rob- district attorney's introduction in evidence 
b"ry by means of firearms was alleged in the of the record of such prior convictions was 
information, and the defendant waived the proper. State v. Raether, 259 W 391, 48 NW 
reading of the information but did not admit (2d) 483.· . 
any of the allegations thereof, permitting Court which has criminal ,juriSdiction 
the state to produce evidence of the prior only of offenses not punishable in the state 
conviction, in the presence of the jury, short- prison cannot impose repeater sentence un­
ly after the trial began, and before the de- del' (3) (a). 39 Atty. Gen. 340. 

[359.13 to 359.15Stats. 1949 1'enmnbe1'ecl section 359.12 by 1949 c. 631] 
[359.16 Stats. 1947 1'epealed by 1949 c. 631] 

359.17 Masking aggravat.es crime. If the defendant committed the crime while 
masked, he may, in addition to the maximum plmishment fixed for such crime, ill case 
of conviction for a misdemeanor, be imprisoned not to exceed Ol1e year in the county jail, 
and in case of a felony not to exceed 5 years in the state pl'ison. 




