No. 632, S.]

[Published June 6, 1953.

CHAPTER 242

AN ACT to reenact s. 4.01 of the statutes, as amended by chapter 728, laws of 1951 and to amend s. 4.02 of the statutes of 1951, as amended by Section 2 of chapter 728, laws of 1951, relating to the apportionment of assemblymen and senators.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. 4.01 of the statutes, as amended by chapter 728, laws of 1951, is reenacted to take effect January 1, 1954, and the wards of the city of Milwaukee referred to therein are the wards as described in chapter 669, laws of 1951.

Section 2. 4.02 of the statutes, as amended by Section 2 of chapter 728, laws of 1951, is amended to read:

4.02 SENATE DISTRICTS. Until there shall be a new apportionment, the senatorial districts of the state shall be constituted as follows:

(1) The counties of Manitowoc, Kewaunee and Door shall constitute the first district.

- (2) The * * * counties of Brown and Oconto shall constitute the second district.
 (3) The eleventh, twelfth and fourteenth wards of the city of Milwaukee and the cities of Cudahy, St. Francis and South Milwaukee and the town of Lake shall constitute
- (4) The first, thirteenth and eighteenth wards of the city of Milwaukee, the city of Glendale, the towns of Milwaukee and Granville and the villages of Bayside, Fox Point, River Hills, Shorewood and Whitefish Bay shall constitute the fourth district.

 (5) The fifth, ninth * * * *, fifteenth and sixteenth wards of the city of Milwaukee

shall constitute the fifth district.

- (6) The fourth, seventh, eighth and tenth * * * wards of the city of Milwaukee shall constitute the sixth district.
- (7) The second, third, sixth and seventeenth * * wards of the city of Milwaue, * * shall constitute the seventh district.
- (8) The cities of West Allis and Wauwatosa, the * * * villages of Greendale, Hales Corners and West Milwaukee, and the * * * towns of Oak Creek, Franklin, Greenfield and Wauwatosa shall constitute the eighth district.

counties of Ashland, Iron, Vilas and Oneida shall constitute the ninth district.

- (10) The counties of Buffalo, * * * Pepin, Pierce and St. Croix shall constitute
- the tenth district.

 (11) The * * * counties of Douglas, Washburn and Burnett shall constitute the eleventh district.
- (12) The counties of * * * Price, * * * Rusk, Sawyer and Bayfield shall constitute the twelfth district.
 - (13) The counties of Dodge and Washington shall constitute the thirteenth district. (14) The counties of Outagamie and * * * Shawano shall constitute the four-
- Shawano shall constitute the fourteenth district.
 - (15) The county of Rock shall constitute the fifteenth district.
- * counties of Grant, Crawford and Vernon shall constitute the sixteenth district.
- (17) The counties of * * * Iowa, Lafayette and Green shall constitute the seventeenth district.
- (18) The counties of Fond du Lac, Waushara and Green Lake shall constitute the
 - (19) The counties of Calumet and Winnebago shall constitute the nineteenth district.
 - (20) The counties of Ozaukee and Sheboygan shall constitute the twentieth district. (21) The county of Racine shall constitute the twenty-first district.
- (22) The counties of Kenosha and Walworth shall constitute the twenty-second district.
- (23) The counties of * * * Portage and Waupaca shall constitute the twentythird district. (24) The counties of Clark, * * * Taylor and Wood shall constitute the twenty-
- fourth district.
- (25) The counties of * * * Lincoln and Marathon shall constitute the twentyfifth district.
- (26) The * * * county of Dane shall constitute the twenty-sixth district.
 (27) The counties of Columbia, * * * Richland and Sauk shall constitute the twenty-seventh district.

- (28) The counties of Chippewa and Eau Claire shall constitute the twenty-eighth district.
- (29) The counties of * * * Barron, Dunn and Polk shall constitute the twenty-ninth district.
- (30) The counties of Florence, Forest, Langlade * * * and Marinette * * * shall constitute the thirtieth district.
- (31) The counties of Adams, Juneau, Monroe * * * and Marquette * * shall constitute the thirty-first district.
- (32) The counties of Jackson, La Crosse and Trempealeau shall constitute the thirty-second district.
- (33) The counties of Jefferson and Waukesha shall constitute the thirty-third district. Section 3. The legislature hereby finds as a fact that the people of the state of Wisconsin by the amendment to article IV, sections 3, 4 and 5 of the constitution adopted April 7, 1953 intended that dry land area should be considered; the legislature finds further that the last available accurate measurement of dry land area is that prepared in connection with the census of 1940 and set forth in the report of the bureau of the census titled "Area of the United States, 1940" published in 1942, and declares that such measurement was used in preparing this act.

Section 4. This act shall take effect January 1, 1954.

Approved June 3, 1953.