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152.01 Board: (1) The state board of dental examiners consists of 5 practicing 
dentists, at least 3 of whom shall be members of the -Wisconsin state dental society, ap­
pointeel by the g'overnor, one each year for terms of 5 years, and who may be selected 
from nominees by the Wisconsin state dental society. No person shall be a member who 
is in any way connected with or interested in a dental school or dental department thereof. 
Each member shall take and file the official oath. Each member of the board shall be 
paiel $15 per day when actually and necessarily engaged in his duties. The secretary of 
the board shall be paid an annual salary to be fixed by the board. 

(2) A meeting shall be held in June or July each year at a place fixed by the board, 
for examinations and other business. Other meetings may be called by the board. 

(3) 'rhe board shall elect a president, and a seea.'etary-treasurer, in manne~ and for 
terms provided by by-law. The secretal'Y shall give such bond as the board requires. His 
records shall be open to public inspection at reasonable hours. 

(4) The board shall report to the governor, November thirtieth each year, its proceed­
ings, including an account of moneys received and disbursed. 

(5) The board shall have a seal and may hold hearings and may require the attend­
ance of persons and the production of papers and may take testimony and hire investi­
gators. The president and secretary may issue subpamas and administer oaths. The 
board may payout of its own funds witness fees and such other expenses as may be nec­
essary 01' incidental to the carrying out of its functions. 

(6) The attorney-general shall advise and assist the board or any member, but bhe 
board may employ with its own funds an attorney for consultation or to assist in legal 
proceedings. 

(7) The board shaU make such reasonable rules, by-laws and regulations as it may 
deem necessary for the proper and better guidance, government, discipline and regulations 
of the board and of licensed dentists and dental hygienists or persons acting as such per­
taining to immoral or unprofessional conduct and unprofessional advertising as herein­
after defined in subsections (5) and (6) of section 152.06; and such by-laws, regulations 
and rules shall be published for two successive weeks in the official state paper and shall 
not take effect tmtil so published. -

History: 1951 c. 319 s. 246a: 1953 c. 134. 

152.02 Practice. (1) One who was engaged in the lawful practice of dentistry 
in this state on January 1, 1939, may continue if he has annually registered. No other 
person shall practice dentistry in this state, unless he is licensed and mmually registered 
in the state of Wisconsin. AnY'person shall be said to be practicing dentistry within the 
meaning of this chapter who uses or permits to be used, directly or indirectly, for a pro-fit 
or otherwise for himself or for any other person, the title "doctor", "Dr.", "Doctor of 
Dental Surgery", or "D. D. S.", or any othm' letters, titles, terms or descriptive matter, 
personal or not, which directly 01' indirectly represent him to be engaged in the practice 
of dentistry; 01' who owns, leases, maintains, operates or controls, directly or indirectly, 
in whole or in part, au office or auy other place where dental operations are performed, 
or who directly 01' indirectly is manager, propriet01' or conductor of the same, except that 
the owners or lessees of real estate may lease the premises, or any part thereof, to dentists 
or dental surgeons or physicians who are qualified to practice dentistry or dental surgery, 
within the meaning of this act; 01' who informs the public directly or indirectly in auy 
language, orally, in writing 01' printing, or by drawings, demonstrations, signs or pic­
tures, that he can perform or will attempt to perform dental operations of any kind, or 
who undertakes to practice dentistry by any means 01' methods, as defined in this chapter, 
gratuitously, or for a salary, fee, money or other reward paid directly or indirectly to 
himself 01' to any other person; to diagnose 01' profess to diagnose or trell,t or profess to 
treat 01' prescribe or profess to prescribe for any of the lesions, diseases, disorders or 
deficiencies of the human O1'al cavity, teeth, investing tissues, maxilla or mandible, 01' ad-
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jacEllt associated structures; or who extracts human teeth, corrects malposition thereof; 
or who, except on written prescription of a licensed dentist, and by use of impressions 
taken by a duly licensed and practiclllg dentist, shall directly or indirectly by mail, car­
rier, person or any other method furnish, supply, construct, reproduce or repair pros­
thetic dentures, bridges, appliances or other structures to be used 01' WOlll as substitutes 
for natural human teeth; Olr who shall place such substitutes in the mouth directly or 
indil'ectly or adjust the same; or who shall take or make 01' give advice or assistance or 
provide facilities for the taking or making of any impression, bite, cast or design pre­
pam tory to, or for the purpose of, or with a view to the making, pl'oducing, reproducing, 
constructing, fitting, fumishing, supplying, altering or repairing of any such prosthetic 
dentul'e, bridge 01' appliance; 01' who shall administer anesthetics, either general 01' local, 
within the meaning of this chapter; or who engages in any of the practices included in 
the cUl'ricula of recognized dental schools or colleges. Except, that a physician or surgeon 
licensed in this state may extract teeth 01' opel'ate upon the palate 01' maxillal'Y bones and 
investing tissues and administer anesthetics, either general or local, within the meaning 
of this chapter; and that a bona fide student, in l'egular attendance at a dental school or 
college may practice under direct supervision of a teacher in such dental school or col­
lege or infirmary 01' clinic connected with such dental school 01' college. A legal prac­
titioner of another state may demonstrate before a recognized incorporated dental society 
or school of instruction. AmlY, navy and United States public health and veterans' 
bureau dentists may practice only while operating under the jurisdiction of such depart­
ments, unless they are duly licensed in this state. A dental laboratory or dental laboratory 
technician may construct appliances or restorations for licensed dentists in a, dental 
office or mechanical dental laboratory, only provided such appliances 01' restorations are 
constructed for a licensed dentist upon receipt of impressions 01' measurements supplied 
with directions and prescription from such licensed dentist, provided, that such appliances 
01' restorations 01' the services rendered in the construction, repail' or altel'a tions thel'eof 
shall not be advertised, sold or delivered, directly or indirectly, to the public by the dental 
laboratory or dental laboratory technician as principal or agent. 

(2) It shall be unlawful for any person or persons to practice or offel' to practice den­
tistry or dental sUl'gery, under the name of a company, association, 01' corporation, and any 
person or persons practicing or offering to practice dentistry or dental surgery shall do so 
under his name only; any person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section 
shall be punished as provided in subsection (2) of section 152.08, and in addition tllereto his 
license may be revoked as provided in paragraph (c) of subsection (3) of section 152.06. 

(3) No person shall circulate or advertise fraudulent 01' misleading statements as to 
the skill of the operator, the quality of the materials, drugs or medicines used or methods 
practiced. 

(4) Nothing in this chapter shall prevent the establishment of dental clinics by boards 
of education of public or private schools, county boards, boards of health or public 01' 

charitable institutions. 

152.03 Education; titles; fee. (1) No degree which shall entitle one to practice 
dentistry in this state shall be conferred by any dental school 01' college in this state, except 
doctor of dental surgery, and that only upon one who has satisfactorily completed a 
course of at least three years of eight months each III such recognized dental school or 
college. Advanced degrees ill dentistry may be conferred by such recognized dental school 
or college. Possession of such degree shall ent.itle one licensed under this chapter to 
use the title "doctor", or append to his name the words or letters, "doctor", "Dr.", "Doctor 
of Dental Surgery", or "D. D. S." On and after January 1, 1941, the degree of ,"Doctor 
of Dental Surgery" shall be conferred only upon one who has satisfactorily completed 
a curriculum of at least foul' years of thirty-two weeks each in a dental school 01' college 
recognized by the Wisconsin state board of dental examiners. No dental school 01' college 
within this state shall emoll anyone not filing with the board of dental examiners proof 
satisfactory to the board that he has an education equivalent to graduation from a hig'h 
school 01' academy in 'Wisconsin offering a four-year curriculum beyond the eighth grade, 
and the completion of a two-year period of college preparation satisfactory to the board. 
On and after January 1, 1941 this board shall approve for admission to the licensing 
examination only graduates of dental schools or colleges that require for admission a mini­
mum of two years' college preparation leading to a baccalaureate degree and including 
English and the sciences, physics, biology and chemistry, 01' who have graduated in 1940 
01' in any previous year, provided the minimum scholastic and statutory requirements of 
the Wisconsin state board of dental examiners for such years have been met. 

(2) No person shall be examined by the board unless he files proof satisfactory to the 
board that he has the preliminary education described in subsection (1) and is a graduate 
of al'ecognized dental school or college approved by the Wisconsin state board of dental 
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examiners, and that he has his first citizenship papers, or that he holds a license to 
practice (lE,mtistry in some other state of the United States of America as provided in 
subsection (2) of section 152.05 and that a remittance of twenty-five dollars accompany 
his application for examination, returnable to him only if from sickness or other good 
cause he is unable to complete the examination. 

(3) The boaJ.'d may, in its discretion, permit dental students who have successfully 
completed at least two years' work of eight months each in a recognized dental school 
and who files proof satisfactory to the board that he has the preliminary education de­
scribed in subsection (1) to take writ.ten examination and credit, satisfactory grades to· 
ward final examination. The board may require a fee of ten dollars for such examination. 

152.04 Examination. An applicant who has complied with section 152.03 and 
who, in the case of one applying for a license after July 1, 1952, holds a certificate of 
registration in the basic sciences, as provided in chapter 147, shall be examined in writing 
in such of those subjects usually taught in reputable dental colleges as the board deems. 
necessary. In addition, an applicant shall submit to such practical examination in oper­
ative and mechanical dentistry as may be prescribed by the board. 

History: 1951 c. 369. 

152.05 License. (1) If the board finds the applicant for a license qualified, it 
shall issue a license to practice dentistry, signed by the members and attested by the 
president and secretary. . 

(2) The board may license without written examination a person holding a license 
to practice dentistry in another state who presents to the board satisfactory proof that 
he has reputably engaged in practice therein for 5 years next preceding his application, 
if in such state the requirements imposed are equivalent to those of this state, upon pres­
entation of the license and a diploma from a reputable professional college approved and 
recognized by the board, provided that such other state extends a similar privilege to 
dentists licensed to practice in ·Wisconsin. The fee for such license shall be fixed by the 
board at not less than the reciprocity fee in the state whose license the applicant presents, 
but in no event less than $50. The applicant shall pass a practical demonstration in 
operative and mechanical dentistry as may be prescribed by the board. 

(3) Whoever engages in the practice of dentistry shall keep his license conspicuously 
displayed in the place of practice so as to be easily seen and read. 

(4) Dentists shall annually register and pay a fee to be fixed each yea.r by the state 
board of dcntal examiners, which fee shall not exceed $4. This fee shall be due .and pay­
able to the secretary of the board on or before September 30 of each year. The board shall 
publish and mail an annual report and list of names and places of practice of all licensed 
dentists to each licensed dentist at his last known address. The secretary of the board 
shall also cause to be mailed a copy of such published list to the secretary of state, the 
district attorney of each county, each local board of health, and to any other public official 
who may request or have need thereof. Any registrant who, subsequent to registering, 
shall change the address or place of his residence or professional office, or who shall open 
an additional office, shall, within 30 days thereafter, notify the board in writing of such 
change and furnish his new residence or professional address. 

(5) A licensed dentist of g'ood moral character changing his residence to another state 
shall, upon payment of five dollars, receive a certificate signed by the president and sec· 
retary and bearing the board's seal, attesting' his license and character. A licensed dentist 
removing to and practicing in another state, shall retain license in this state upon payment 
of the annual registration fee. 

(6) Upon proof of loss of the original and payment of five dollars, a duplicate license 
shall be issued. 

(7) No person shall practice dentistry in this state under any other Christian 01' 

given name 01' any other surname than that under which he was originally licensed or 
registered to practice dentistry in this 01' any other state, in any instance in which the 
state board of dental examiners shall, after a hearing, find that pmcticing under such 
changed name operates to unfairly compete with another practitioner or to mislead 
the public as to identity or to otherwise result in detriment to the profession or the public. 
This subsection does not apply to a change of name resulting from marriage or divorce. 

152.06 Revocation. (1) The board may without further process revoke the license 
of one who for 60 days after notice in writing, by registered mail, mailed to his last 
known add;ress, fails to annually register and pay the fee. His license may be reinstated, 
in the discretion of the boa.rel, by the payment of $25 within one year from revocation. If 
application for reinstatement is not made within a period of one year from revocation he 
may be required to demonstrate that he is still qualified to practice by taking an examina-
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tion in sueh dental subjects as may be required by the board. The fee for such examina­
tion and reinstatement of license shall be $25. 

(2) The board may revoke or suspend. the license of one convicted of a crime involv­
ing moral turpitude, of which the record of conviction, or a copy certified by the clerk 
01' judge of the court, shall be conclusive evidence. 

(3) The board may on its own motion make investigations and conduct hearings in 
regard to the action of any licensed dentist and dental hygienist or any person who it has 
reason to believe is acting or has acted in such capacity within the state, and may, on its 
own motion or upon complaint in writing, duly signed and verified by the complainant and 
upon not less than ten days' notice to the licensed dentist and dental hygienist or persan 
acting as such, suspend or revoke such license in the manner hereinafter provided if it fincis 
that the holder of such license has: (a) been g'uilty of immoral or unprofessional conduct; 
(b) been guilty of having procured his license by fraud or perjury or through error; (c) 
been guilty of a violation of subsection (2) of section 152,02; (d) been guilty of a violation 
of the rules and regulations adopted by the board . 

. (4) A copy of the complaint shall forthwith be served upon the licensed dentist, or 
person acting as such, complained against by personal service or by mailing of the same 
to his last known business address. The person so served shall file his answer thereto 
with the board within 10 days after such service and shall also serve a copy of such an­
swer on the complainant. The board shall thereupon set the matter for hearing as promptly 
as possible and within 30 days I;lfter the date of filing of the complaint. Either party 
may appeal' at such hearing in person or by attorney or agent and present such testimony 
as may be pertinent to the controversy before the board. The action of the board shall be 
subject to review in the manner provided in chapter 227. 

(5) "Immoral or unprofessional conduct" means: Employing what is known as "cap­
pers" or "streeters" to obtain business; 01' resorting to unprofessional advertising, as de­
fined in subsection (6); obtaining fee by fraud or deceit; wilfully betraying professional 
secrets; employing directly 01' indirectly a student or suspended or unlicensed dentist to 
perform operations, diagnoses or treat lesions of the human teeth or jaws, or correct mal­
posed formations thereof, except that an unlicensed person may perform merely mechani­
cal work upon inert matter in a dental office or laboratory; the advertisement of dental 
business 01' treatment of devices in which untruthful or impossible statcments are made; 
habitual intemperance, or gross immorality. 

(6) "Unprofessional advertising" as this term is used in subsection (5) shall include: 
(a) Any advertising statements of a character tending to deceive or mislead the public; 
(b) Advertising' professional superiority or the performance of professional services 

in a superior manner; 
(c) Advertising definite, fixed prices when the nature of the professional service ren­

dered and the lllaterials required must be variable; 
(d) Advertising by means of large display, glaring, illuminated or flickering light 

signs, 01' containing as a part thereof the representation of a tooth, teeth, bridge work 01' 

any portion of the human head; 
(e) Employing or making use of advertising solicitors 01' free publicity press agents; 
(f) Advertising- either by sign or in any manner under the name of a corporation, 

company, association, parlor or trade name. No dentist or dentists shall display any sign 
or advertise in any manner concerning- his 01' their work by the use of any name except 
the name or names under which he or they are licensed to practice dentistry in this state, 
1101' shall he or they use any parlor 01' trade name in connection with such name or names, 
01' display any sign or advertise in any manner under any parlor or trade or assumed name 
under which his or their business was formerly conducted. 

(g-) The use of any office sign larger than six hundred square inches in size over all 
01' eontaining letters over six inches in size. Such office signs may contain only the name 
or names of the duly licensed dentists practicing therein, their titles, office hours and purely 
educational matter not in conflict with law. 

(h) Any printed advertisement larger than twenty square inches in size. Such printed 
advertisement may contain only the name or names of the duly licensed dentists, ·their 
titles, office hours, location, telephone number or numbers and purely eclucational matter 
not in conflict with law. 

(7) The board may suspend the license or certificate and registration of any person 
licen::;ed, certified or registered under this ehapter who is a patient in a hospital for 
mental diseases in this state or elsewhere, A certified copy of commitment or admission 
papers shall be conclusive, evidence of the incapacity of such person to continue in the 
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene, as the case may be. A person who has been re­
leased from a hospital for mental diseases may request the board in writing for rein­
statement of his license or certificate or registration in dentistry or in dental hyg-iene, as 
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the case may be. Following receipt of such request the board shall hold a hearing as soon 
as practicable to determine the capacity of the applicant to re-engage in practice. At 
such hearing medical or other testimony on the issue of the applicant's capacity and on 
the degree of his recovery may be offered on behalf of the applicant or the board. The 
boarel may also, in its discretion, examine such applicant so as to be satisfied that he is 
then qualified to resume his practice. Any decision made following such hearing shall be 
reviewable in the manner provided in chapter 227. 

(6) (d) prohibits the display of any por- The use of a picture of a dental office or 
tion of the human head in dental advertis- part thereof in dental advertising is not 
ing, whether by television or otherwise. prohibited. 41 Atty. Gen. 234. 

152.07 Dental hygienists. (1) No person shall engage in practice as a dental 
hygienist without a certificate from the state board of de~tal examiners. The certificate 
authorizes the holder to remove calcareous deposits, accretions and stains from the sur­
faces of teeth, and apply ordinary washes of a soothing character, but not to operate 
otherwise on the teeth or other tissues of the oral cavity. 

(2) (a) An applicant shall file proof satisfactory to the board that he is a citizen 
of the United States of America and has a general education equivalent to graduation 
from a high school or academy in ,Visconsin offering a 4-year curriculum beyond the 
eighth grade and that he is a graduate of a training' school for dental hygienists, approved 
and recognized by the board having a course of not less than 2 years of 8 months each. 
A remittance of $10 shall accompany his application, returnable to the applicant only if 
from sickness or other good cause he is unable to complete the examination. Applicants 
who have graduated prior to July 1, 1941, shall file proof satisfactory to the board that 
their educational requirements at the time of their graduation equaled those then required 
by the Wisconsin state board of dental examiners. 

(b) Applicants who qualify under paragraph (a) shall be examined in writing in 
such of those subjects usually taught in reputable schools for the training of dental 
hygienists as the board deems necessary. In addition, the applicants shall submit to such 
practical examination as may be prescribed by the board. 

(3) One to whom a certificate is issued shall register with the secretary and pay a fee 
of not more than $2, on or before the next s'ucceeding September 1, and annually there­
after. 

(4) Certified dental hygienists may be employed by boards of education of public 
or private schools, county boards, boards of health, or public or charitable institutions, 
operating only under the direct supervision of one or more licensed dentists as provided 
in subsection (8) of this section and may be employed in any dental office only under 
the direct supervision of one or more licensed dentists, and not exceeding the number of 
licensed dentists operating therein and subject to the regulations of the board of dental 
examiners in enforcing this section and ll1ay under the direction and supervision of 
licensed dentists, act as assistant instructors in a school for the training of dental hygien­
ists. They shall not otherwise engage in the practice of deutal hyg·iene. 

(5) The state board of dental examiners may revoke or suspend the certificate of 
a dental hygienist for violation of this chapter. The license of a dentist who shall permit 
a dental hygienist operating under his supervision to violate this chapter, shall be revoked 
or suspended under the provisions of this chapter. 

(6) The board may certify without written examination one certified to practice 
dental hygiene in another state who presents to the board satisfactory proof that he has 
reputably engaged in practice therein for 5 years next preceding his application, if in 
such state the requirements imposed are equivalent to those of this state, upon presenta­
tion of a certificate from such other state and evidence of completion of a course in a 
reputable training school for dental hygienists approved and recognized by the board, 
provided that such other state extends a similar provision to dental hygienists certified to 
practice in Wisconsin. The fee for such certificate shall be fixed by the board at not less 
than the reciprocity fee in the state whose certificate the applicant presents, in no event 
to be less than $15. The applicant shall pass a practical demonstration in dental hygiene 
to the satisfaction of the board. 

(7) The board may wiLhout further process revoke the license of a dental hygienist 
who for 60 days after notice in writing, by registered mail, mailed to his last known ad­
dress fails to annually register and pay the fee prescribed. He may be reinstated, in the 
discr~tion of the board, upon the payment of $5 within one year from revocation. If 
application for reinstatement is not made within a peliod of one year from revocation 
he may be required to demonstrate that he is still qualified to practice by taking an ex­
amination in such subjects relating to dental hygiene as may be required by the boarcl. 
The fee for such examination and reinstatement of certificate shall be $10. 

(8) (a) The term public health dental hygienists shall include all derital hygienists, 
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licensed in this state, employed by official agencies such as school boards, local boards, 
departments of health 01' county boards, in any public health or educatiol1al capacity. 

(b) The qualifications of all public health dental hygienists 01' instructors in dental 
hygiene hereafter entering such employment shall be determined by a committee of 3 
examiners, one selected by the state board of health, who is a dental employe of that 
board, one member of the state board of dental examiners to be named by that board 
and Ol1e selected by the state superintendent of public instruction who is an employe 
of that department. 

(c) Candidates recommended by the committee of examiners shall be certified by 
the state board of health to the local appointing body upon request and appointment 
shall be made from the certified list. 

( d) Public health dental hygienists 01' instructors shall make a written report monthly 
in triplicate, one copy to the employing board, one to the local directing committee or 
officer, and one to the state board of health, showing the work done. The state board 
of health, through its department of dental education, shall examine the report and 
make recommendations for the improvement and the development of the dental hygiene 
service. 

(e) The state board of health shall prescribe forms and equipment and notify the 
public dental hygienists where they can be purchased. 

(f) This subsection shall not apply to cities of the first class. 
(g) Any violation of this subsection shall constitute a misdemeal10r and shall be pun­

ishable by a fine of not less than $10 nor more than $100. 
Unlicensed persons' may take dental X-' to diagnose or treat dental disorders by the 

ray pictures provided they make no attempt use of X-ray or otherwise. 41 Atty. Gen. 234. 

152.08 Penalties. (1) Any licensed dentist, dental hygienist, or person holding 
himself out a,s such who shall employ what are known as "cappers" or "streetel's" to ob­
tain business; 01' who shall obtain a fee by fraud or deceit; or who shall wilfully betray 
professional secrets; or who shall employ directly 01' indirectly a student or suspended or 
unlicensed dentist, dental hygienist or person holding himself as such, to perfOrIll opera­
tions, to diagnose and treat lesions of the human teeth, or jaws, 01' correct malposed for­
mations thereof, except that an unlicensed person may perform merely mechanical work 
upon inert material in a dental office or laboratory; or who shall be guilty of "unpro­
fessional advertising" as defined in subsection (6) of section 152.06; shall upon a :first 
conviction be fined not less than twenty-:five nor more than one hundred dollars and costs, 
and upon a second or subsequent conviction shall be fined not less than one hundred nor 
more than :five hundred dollars, 01' be punished by imprisonment not less than sixty days 
nor more than one year, or by both such :fine and imprisonment. 

(2) Anyone who shall unlawfully engage in the practice of dentistry shall be fined 
not less than one hundred nor more than one thousand dollars, or shall be imprisoned not 
less than 60 days nor more than one year, or both, for each person treated. 

152.09 Legislative intent. This entire chapter shall be deemecl to be passed in the 
interests of the public health, safety and welfare and its provisions shall be liberally COll­
strued to carry out its objects and purposes. 

History I 1951 c. 261 s. 10. 




