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245.01 A civil contract. Marriage, so far as its validity in law is concerned, is a 
civil contract, to which the consent of the parties capable in law of contracting is essential. 

A marriage contract differs from ordi- continues until changed by law OT by the 
nary contracts in that it cannot be modified death of one of the parties. Estate of Camp­
or abrogated by the parties themselves and, bell, 260 W 625, 51 NW (2d) 709. 
once entered into, a valid marriage contract 

245.02 Who may contract. Every male person who shall have attained the full age 
of 18 years or who has obtained the permission of the county judge as provided in s. 
245.16 and every female who shall have attained the full age of 15 years shall be capable 
in law of contracting marriage if otherwise competent. 

HlstOl'Y: 1953 c. 8. 

245.03 Who shall not marry; divorced persons. (1) No marriage shan be con­
tracted while either of the parties has a husband or wife living, nor between persons who 
are nearer of kin -than second cousins, excepting that marriage may be contracted between 
first cousins where the female has attained the age of 50 years. Relationship under this 
section shall be computed by the rule of the civil law, whether the parties to the marriage 
are of the half or of the whole blood. No insane, imbecile or feeble-minded person or idiot 
shall be capable of contracting marriage. 

(2) It shall not be lawful for any person, who is a party to an action for divorce from 
the bonds of matrimony, in any court in this state, to marry again until one year after judg­
ment of divorce is granted, and the marriage of any such person solemnized before the ex­
piration of one year from the date of the granting of judgment of divorce shall be null and 
void. 

History: 1953 c. 63. 

245.035 Validity of· marriages of epileptics. All marriages, otherwise valid and 
legal, contracted prior to April 24, 1953, to which either party was an epileptic person 
are hereby validated andleg·alized.in all respects as though such marriages had been duly 
and legally contracted in the first instance. 

Histo.ry: 1953 c. 470. 

245.04' Marriage abroad to circumvent the laws. (1) If any person residing and 
intending to continue to reside in this state who is disabled or prohibited from contract­
ing man'iage under the laws of this state shall go into another state or country and there 
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contract a marriage prohibited and declared void by the laws of this state, such marriage 
shall be null and void for all purposes in this state with the same effect as though such pro­
hibited marriage had been entered into in this state. 

(2) No marriage shall be contracted in this state by a party residing and intending to 
continue to reside in another state or jurisdiction, if such marriage would be void if con­
tracted in such other state or jurisdiction and every marriage celebrated in this state in 
violation of this provision shall be null and void. 

Even though a man and woman, while 
residents of Wisconsin, may have established 
a common-law marriage in Texas, such mar­
riage was void for all purpDses in Wiscon­
sin; the woman was not the wife of such 
man and was not entitled to any rights as 
widow and heir in his estate on his death. 
Estate of Van Schaick, 256 VV 214, 40 NW 
(2d) 588. 

The evidence was insufficient to show 
that either of the parties was disabled or 
prohibited from' being married under the 
laws of Wisconsin, or 'that the marriage in 
Illinois was for the purpose of evading any 

provision of the Wisconsin statutes. The 
fact that a question in the application for a 
marriage license in Illinois, asking whether 
the applicant was prohibited from intermar­
rying by thll laws of the jurisdiction where 
he resided, was unanswered did not estab­
lish that the parties, residents of vVisconsin, 
went to Illinois for the purpose of evading 
the marriage laws of Wisconsin nor over­
come the presumption of regularity which 
the issuance of the marriage license carried 
with it. Estate of Campbell, 260 W 625, 51 
NW (2d) 709. ' 

245.05 Who may solemnize. Marriages may be solemnized by any justice of the 
peace, police justice, municipal judge or court commissioner in the county in which he is 
elected or appointed, and throughout the state by any judge of a court of recol'd, and by 
any ordained minister 01' priest in regular communion with any religious society and who 
continues to be such minister 01' priest. 

245.06 Licentiate may perform ceremony, In addition to the persons named in sec­
tion245.05, it shall be lawful for any licentiate of a denominational body 01' an appointee 
of any 'bishop, while serving as the regular minister or priest of any church of the denomi­
nation to which he belongs, to solemnize marriages; provided, he be not restrained from so 
doing by the discipline of his denomination, 

245.07 Credentials to be filed with clerk of circuit court. Before any person named 
in section 245.06 shall be authorized to solemnize a marriage, he shall file credentials of 
license or appointment with the clerk of Circuit court of the county in which is located the 
church under his ministry, who shall record the same and give a certificate thereof; and 
the place where such credentials are recorded shall be indorsed upon each certificate of mar­
riagegranted by any such licentiate or appointee and recorded with the same, 

245.08 Proof of authority to solemnize to be filed, Ministers or priests, before they 
shall be authorized to solemnize a marriage, shall file a copy of their credentials of ordina­
tion or other proof of such official character ,vith the clerk of the circuit court of some 
county in this state, who shall record the same and give a certificate thereof; and the place 
where such credentials are recorded shall be indorsed upon each certificate of marriage 
granted by any minister or priest and recorded with the same. 

Certificate cf Lutheran minister's authority entitled to be filed and recorded. 39 Atty. 
Gen. 485. 

245.10 Antenuptial physical examination and Wassermann test, (1) All male per­
sons making application for license to marry shall at any time within fifteen days prior 
to such application, be examined as to the existence or nonexistence in such person of any 
venereal disease, and it shall be unlawful for the county clerk of any county to issue Ii. 
license, to marry to any person, who fails to present and file with such county clerk a 
certificate setting forth that such person is free from venereal diseases so nearly as min 
be ~letermined by a thorough examination and by the application of the recognized Clinical 
and laboratory tests of scientific search, when in the discretion of the examining physician 
such elinical and laboratory tests are necessary, vVhen a micl'Oscopial examination for 
gonoccocci is required such examination shall upon the request of any physician in the state 
be made by the state lalJoratory of hygiene free of charge. Such certificate shall be made 
by a physician, licensed to practice in this state or in the state in which such male person 
resides,shall be filed with the application for license to marry, and shall read as follows, 
to wit: 

I, "" ,.,. (name of physician), being a physician, legally licensed to practice in the 
state of .' .. " my credentials being filed in thc office of .. ,. ,in the city of ..• ,' county 
of .,' •. , state of .. , ., do certify that I have this, , " day of .... , 19 .. , made a thorough 
examination of .. ,' ,. ", (name of person), and believe him to be free from all venereal 
diseases. 

, '" "., (Signature of physician). 
,(2) Such examiners shall be physicians duly licensed to practice in this state, 01' in the 

state in which such male person resides. The fee for such examination, to be paid by the 
applicant for examination before the certificate shall be granted, shall not exceed two dol-
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lars. The county or asylum physician of any county, shall, upon request, make the neces­
sary examination arid issue such certificate, if the same can be properly issued, without 
charge to applicant, if said applicant be indigent. . . . 

(3) Any county clerk who shall unlawfully issue a license to marry to any person 
who fails to present and file any certificate provided by subsectiops (1) and (5) of fhi;; 
section, or any party or parties having knowledge of any matter relating 01' pertaining 
to the examination of any applicant for license to marry or Wassermann test taken by 
any. party. to a proposed marriage, who shall disclose the same, or any portion thereof,· 
except as may be required.by law, shall upon proof thereof be punished by a fine of not 
more than one hundred dollars 01' by imprisonmont not more than six months. 

(4) Any physician who shall knowingly and wilfully make any false statement in 
any certificate provided for in subsections (1) and (5) of this section shall be punished 
by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars 01' by imprisonment not more than .six 
months. . . . . 

. (5) In addition to the requirements of sub. (1) both parties to a Pl'oposedmarriage 
shall, within 15 days prior to making application .for a license to marry, submitto:and be 
given the Wassermann or other standard blood test for syphilis, either i)1 this state 01' in 
the state where such .person to be examined resides: In this state such. blood shall be 
examiiled in a laboratory approved by the state board of health as competent to. make 
such exarirination and at the request of any physician in this state it shal~ be made at the 
state laboratory of hygiene free of charge. ",Vhen such test is made without the state, the 
Ol'iginal certificate from the laboratory making such test shall accompany the physician's 
certificate witlla statement from the health officer of such state oi' his qualified repreSenta­
tive, stating that he believes such laboratory competent to make such test. If the test for 
any such party shallrcsultin a negative finding he shall be given a certificate in the fol-
lowing form: . 

I, ........ (name of physician), being a physician, legally licensed to practice medi~ 
cine and surgery in the state of .... , my credentials being file.d in the office of '. ; ; . in the; 
city of ., .. , county of .... , state of .... , do certify that .... · .... (name of.pei'son) 
was given the Wassermann or other standard blood test for syphillis at .... (name of 
laboratory) from blood taken by .••• on the ...• day of .... , 19 .. and that the result 
of such test was negative. 

• ••••••• (Signature of physician maklng' laborat~i'y test). 
Such certificatE!. of nega.tive finding as to each of the parties to a proposed marriage 

shall be filed with the COU]lty clei-k at the time app1icatiqn for a license to marry is made, 
ann,it shall be unlaw:eul for any connty clerk to issue a license to ~arrJT if sqoh certificates 
of negative finding as to both parties to the proposed mal'riage are not so filed, except as 
provided in sub. (4) of s. 245.11. ., 

(6) (a,) When the examination as to existence 01' nonexistence of a venereal disease 
is of a person serving in the military forces of .the United States, and the cei'tificate 
prescl%ed in subsection. (1). sh~ll so show, such examination and ceI'tificate maybe made 
by any physician serving as such in the military forces of the United' states: When so' 
made the certificate shall state at the foot thereof the milital'y l'ank and station· of the 
physician. .. . ... '.. . . 

(b) When a person submitting to a Wassermann test under llubsection (5) is in the 
military service of the United States, such test may be inadein any United States military 
laboratory and the certificate of negative finding pl;escrihe(l by subsection (5) may be. 
subscrilJed by any physician serving as such in the military forces of the United States. 
When subscribed by such physician the certificate shall show that the person given the 
test is in the military service of the United States and the military rank and station of 
the subscribing physician. A certificate made pul.'suant to this sllbsection need not in any 
case be accompanied by a statement. of a state health officer as to competency of the labOl;~' 
atory l11aking the test. .. • . . . . . ,. 

(c) The provisions of this subsection shall supersede any provision in' subsections 
(1) to (5) in conflict therewith. 

History: 1953c. 54. 

245.1'1 Marriage of person having had venereal disease. (1) No person who has 
ever .been afflicted wit4 gQnorrhea or sypllilis shall be granted a marriage license in this 
state until such person shall furnish to the county clerk issuing the license a certificate 
from the director of the state laboratory of hygiene, or from the. state board of health 
branch labol'atory, or from one of 'the state co-operative laboratories controlled by the state 
board of health, setting forth the fact that the necessary microscopical examination has 
been made and that the individual named in the certificate is not in the infective 01' com­
municable state of gonorrhea, or a. certificate from the director of the state laboratory of 
hygiene setting forth the fact that the necessary blood test for the vVasserlllann reaction 
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has been made and that the person named in the certificate is not in the infective 01' com­
municable state of syphilis. In all cases where the individual has been afflicted with both 
gonorrhea and syphilis, both such certificates shall be furnished before such license is 
granted. 
. (2) Such a certificate 01' certificates shall be furnished to any citizen of this state by 

the director of any of the laboratories mentioned, without cha.rge. 
(3) The necessary smears for gonorrhea examinations and the blood·for determining 

the presence of syphilis shall be collected alid forwarded to the laboratory by physicians 
designated by the state board of health or the state health officer, for which a fee not to ex­
ceed two dollars may be charged. 

(4) In the case of·an individual whose laboratory test iorsyphilisresults in a positive 
finding, when in the opinion of his attending physician the individual no longer has syphi­
lis in an infective or communicable stage, the state board of health may review the findings 
and clinical evidence through a deputy state health officer and thereafter the state health 
officer is empowered to grant a certificate to the county clerk that the indiVidual is not 
in the infective or communicable stage of syphilis if such be his best judgment. 

(5) Any person who shaH obtain any such license contrary to the provisions of this sec­
tion shall, upon conViction thereof, be punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dol­
lars or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than three months, or by both such 
fine and imprisonment. . . 

History: 1953 c. 54. 

245.12 Marriage contract; how made, Marriage may be validly contracted in this 
state only after a license has been issued therefor, in the manner following: 

(1) Before any person authorized by the laws of this state to celebrate marriages (and 
hereinafter designated as the officiating person), by declaring in the presence of at least two 
competent witnesses other than such officiating person, that.they take each other as husband 
and wife; or, 

(2) In accordance with the customs, rules and regulations of any religious society, de­
nomination or sect to which either of the parties may belong, by declaring in the presence 
of at least two competent witnesses, that they take each other as husband and wife. 

245.13 Marriage license; by whom issued. No persons shall be joined in mar~ 
riage within this state until a license shall have been obtained for that purpose from 
the county clerk of the county in which one of the parties resides; provided that if 
both parties be nonresidents of the state, such license may be obtained from the county 
clerk of the county where the marriage ceremony is to be performed; and provided 
fUl'therthat if one of such persons be a nonresident that his part of the application 
may be completed before the county clerk in the state in which he resided. . 

245.14 Application for license. Application for a marriage license shall be made 
at. least 5 days be:l:ore a license shall be issued; provided, that, upon application of 
either of the parties to a proposed marriage, any judge of a court of record, 01' a 
judge. of municipal court, may, upon satisfactory evidence bein~ presented to him 
that either of the parties to the proposed marriage is dangerously ill, such illness being 
likely to result in death, 01' that the female is pregnant with child, or upon the request 
of the parent or parents or guardian, if any, of the female, or if in the opinion 0:1: the 
judge of said court that the .circumstances warrant special dispensation, by order author­
ize the license to be issued at any time before the expiration of said 5 days. The person 
applying for such order or dispensation shall have been a resident of the state for· at 
least 30 days prior to making such application. Such order shall be delivered to the 
person issuing the license and by him retained as prima facie evidence of his authority 
to so issue the marriage license. The judge or court making such order shall not receive 
any compensation therefor from the county, but may charge the person applying for 
such order a sum not to exceed $2, which sum shall be paid into the county treasury for 
the use of the county. . 

245.15 Identification of parties; statement of qualifications. No marriage . license 
shall issue unless the application therefor is subscribed by the parties intending to inter­
marry and is filed with the clerk who issues the license. Each party shall be identified 
and shall swear to the application before the clerk who is to issue the license or the clerk 
of the county where the party resides. The application shall contain a statement under 
oath that the contemplated marriage will be lawful, and giving the date the marriage is 
intended to take place, the names of the parties, their relationship, age, nationality, color, 
residence and occupation, the names of their parents and guardians, any prior marriage 
of either party and the manner of the dissolution thereof. If there be no legal objection 
th~reto the county clerk shall issue a marriage license. 
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245.16 Consent of parent or guardian. No license shall be issued if either of the 
contracting parties be under the marriageable age of consent as established by s. 245.02, 
except that a male under the age of 18 may lawfully contract to marry and obta.in a 
marriage license if he fiTst obtains· the written permission of the county judge of his 
county, who shall grant such permission only if he finds that the marriage will prevent a 
child fathered by applicant from being bol'll out of wedlock. If either of the contracting 
parties be between the age of 18 years and 21 years if a male, and between the age of 
15 years and 18 years if a female, no license shall be issued without the consent of his or 
her parents or guardian, or of the parent having the actilal care, custody and control of 
said party or parties, given before the county clerk under oath, or certified under the 
h.and of such parents or guardian as aforesaid, and properly verified by affida,vit before a 
notaTY public or other official authorized by law to take affidavits, which certificate shall 
be filed of record in the office of said county clerk and entered by him on the marriage 
license docket before issuing said license ; provided, that if there be no guardian or parent 
having the actual care, custody and control of said party or parties, then the judge of 
the court having probate jlU'isdiction in the county where the application is pending may, 
after hearing, upon proper cause shown, make an order allowing the marriage of said 
party or parties. 

HistOI'Y' 1953 c. 8. 

245.17 Objections to marriage. (1) Immediately upon entering an application for 
a license, the county clerk shall post in his office a notice giving the names and residences 
of the parties applying therefor, and the date of the application. Any parent, grand­
parent, brother, sister or guardian or either of the applicants for a license or the district 
attol'lley, believing that the statements of the application are false or insufficient, or that 
the applicants or either of them are incompetent to marry, may file with the court having 
probate jurisdiction in the county in which the license is applied for, a petition under 
oatIl, setting forth the grounds of objection to the marriage and asking for a rule upon 
the parties making such application to show cause why the license should not be refused. 
Whereupon, said court, if satisfied that the grounds of objection are prima facie valid, 
shall issue an order to show cause as aforesaid, returnable as the court may direct, but 
not more than fourteen days from and after the date of said rule, which order shall be 
served forthwith upon the applicants for such license residing in the state, and upon the 
derk before whom such application shall have been made, and shall operate as a stay 
upon the issuance of the license until further ordered; if either 01' both of said applicants 
are nonresidents of the state said order shall be served upon said nonresident 01' nonresi­
dents by publication one time in a newspaper published in the county wherein said 
application is pending, and by mailing a copy thereof to said nonresident or nonresidents 
at the address contained in the application. 

(2) If, upon hearing, the court shall find that the statements in the application are wil­
fully false or insufficient, or that either or both of said parties are not competent in law to 
marry, the court shall make an order refusing the license. If, however, said falseness or 
insufficiency is due merely to inadvertence, then the court shall permit the parties to amend 
the application so as to make the statements therein· true and sufficient, and upon applica­
tion being so amended, the license shall issue. In case any party is unable to supply any 
of the information required in the application, the court may, if satisfied that such inability 
is not due to wilfulness or negligence, order the license to issue notwithstanding such 
insufficiency .. The costs of the proceedings under this section shall rest in the discretion 
of the court. 

245.18 Penalty for false statement.· Any person who shall, in any affidavit or 
statement required or provided for by sections 245.15, 245.16 or 245.17, wilfully and falsely 
swear, or who shall procure another to swear falsely in regard to any material fact relating 
to the competencey of either or both of the parties applying for a marriage license, or as 
to the ages of such parties, if minors, or who shall falsely pretend to be the parent or 
guardian having authority to give consent to the marriage of such minor, shall be guilty 
of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof, be punished by a fine of not less than one 
hundred dollars nor more than five hundred dollars, or by imprisonment in the county jail 
for not more than one year, 01' by both such fine and imprisonment. 

245.19' Penalty for unlawful issue of license. Any county clerk who shall know­
ingly issue a marriage license contrary to, or in violation of the provisions of sections 
245.12 to 245.38, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof be pun­
ished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars 01' more than five hundred dollars or 
by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year, or by both such fine ~nd 
imprisonment. 

245.20 Records and blaI~ks.. The state registrar of vital statistics shall prescribe 
model forms for blank apphcatlOTIS, statement, consent of parents, affidavits, licenses, 
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and marriage certificates and other such forms as shall be necessary to comply with the 
provisions of this chapter. The county clerk shall keep in his office among his records, 
a suitable book to be called the marriage license docket and enter therein a complete record 
of the applications for, and the issuing of all marriage licenses, and of all other matters 
which he is required by this chapter to ascertain relative t.o the rights of any person to 
obtain a license. Said marriage license docket shall be open for public inspection orcx­
aminatio,n at all times during office hours. 

245.21 Contents of license. ' The license shall authorize the marriage ceremony to 
be performed in any county of this state, excepting that where both parties are nonresi­
dents of the state, the ce'remony shall be performed only in the county in which the license 
is issued. The license shall be directed "to any person authorized by the law of this state 
to solemnize marriage," and shall authorize him to solemnize ma1'l'iage between the parties • 
therein 'named, at any time not more than thirty days from and after the date thereof. If 
the marriage is to 1Je solemnized by the parties without the presence of an officiating person, 
as pi'ovided by subsection (2) of section 245.12, the license shall bc directed to the parties 
to the marriage; If either of the parties be not of the age of legal majority, then his 01' 

her age shall be stated; and the fact of the consent of his or her parents or guardian shall ; 
likewise be stated; and if either of said parties shall have been theretofore married, then 
the number of times he or she shall have been previously married, and themamier in.which 
thepl'ior marriage or marriages was or were dissohred, shall be stated. The officiating 
person shall satisfy himself that the parties presenting ~hemselves to be married by him 
are the parties named in the license; and if he knows of any legal impediment to such mar­
riage. he shalll'eflise to perform the ceremony. The issue of a license shall not be deemed 
to l;emove or dispense with any legal disability, impediment or prohibition rendering mar­
riage between the parties illegal, and the license shall contain a statement to that effect. 

245.22' Form of license. Said license shall be in form substantially as follows: 
STATE OFWISCONSIN,t SS 

County of . " . f . No. " .. 
To any person authoril';ed by the laws of this state to solemnize marriage: 

You 'are hereby authorized at any time not more than thiI·ty days from and after the 
date 11(jreof,within the state of ,Visconsin (not knowing any legal impediment thereto), to 
join togethei' in marriage in accordance with the laws of this state, A .... B .... , aged 
..•. , and never hel'etofore married (or marl'ied on the .... day of .... , A. D ..... , to 
E .... F .. '" said E"" F" .. having- died on the " " day of . " ., A. D ..... ; or, said 
A, .. '. B .... , having- been divorced from said E.... F.... by the court of the .... 
of .... , state of .... , on the .... day of .... , A. D ..... ), and C .... D .... , aged ..•. , 
and never heretofore married (or married on the .... day of .... , A. D ..... , to G ... . 
H .•.. , said G .... H .... having' died on the .... day of .... , A. D ....• ; or said C ... . 
D .•.. , having been divorced from said G. . .. H.... by the court of .... of the ; ... of 
.. ; ; ,state of .... , on the .... day of .; .. , A. D ..... ), the consent of ...• . ... , the 
" .. of the said A" dB " .. , and of "" ."., the " " of the said C. " . D .... , having 
been duly given. The issue of this license shall not be deemed to remove or dispense with 
any legal disa.bility, impediment or prohibition rendering- marriage between the parties 
illeg-al. 

Given under my hand and seal at .•.• , state of Wisconsin, this •••• day of •••• , Anno 
Domini, one thousand nine hundred and •••• 
(Seal) ......... , 

County Clerk. 

245.23 :Form when solemnized by parties. If the marriage is to be solemnized by 
the parties without an officiating person, as provided by subsection (2) of section 245.12, 
the license shall be in form substantially as follows: 
STATE OF WISCONSIN, }ss 

County of •... • 
To A .... Boo '" aged .. '" and Coo .. D .. '" aged .. ,,": 

This is to certify that, legal evidence having- been furnished to me as required by law, 
and the consent of .... •... the .... of said A. . .. B .... , and of .••• .... the .... 
o£ the said C .... D .... having been duly given, I am satisfied there is. no legal impedi-
ment to your joining yourselves in marriage in accordance with the customs, rules andregu­
lations of any religious society, denomination or sect to which you, or either of you, may 
belong, at any time not more than thirty days from and after the date hereof, within the 
state of Wisconsin. 

The issue of this license shall not be deemed to remove or dispense with any legal c1isa­
bility, impediment or prohibition rendering marriage between you illeg'al. 
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Given under the hand and seal of the county clerk of county, at .... , state of 
Wisconsin, this •••• day of •••. , Anno Domini, one thousand nine hundred and, ... . 
(Seal) ........ , 

Marriage License Clerk. 

245.24 Marriage certificate; form. (1) The license 3hall have appended to it three 
certificates, numbered to correspond with the license (one marked Horiginal," one marked 
"duplicate," and one marked "triplicate"), which shall be in form substantially as follows: 

MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE. 

I, ..•. • .•. , hereby certify that on the .... day of .... , Anno Domini, one thonsand 
nine hundred and .... , at .... in the .... of .... , state of Wisconsin, A .... B, ... of 
.•.. , state of .... and C. • .. D .... , of .... , state of .... , were by me united in Inar-
l'iage as authQrized by a marriage license issued for that ptlrpose by the county clerk of 
.. .. county and state of Wisconsin, numbered .... , and dated the .... day 'of ..... , 
A. D. 19. .. Signed .'... . .. . 

( Official designa tion) ...• 
We, the undersigned, were present at the marriage of A .... B .... and C .... D .... , 

as set forth in the foregoing certificate, at their request, and heard their declarations that 
they took each other for husband and wife. E. . . . . F ...• 

G .... · H .... 
(2) But, if, as provided by section 245.23, the license has been issued to the parties 

themselves, then the certificate (in triplicate) shall be in form substantially as follows : 

MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE. 

We hereby certify that on the .... day of .... , Anno Domini, one thousand nine hUll­
dred and ..... , we united. ourselves in marriage in accordance with the customs, rules and 
regulations of the .... at .... , in the .... of .... and state of Wisconsin, having first 
obtained from the county clerk of the county of .... , state of Wisconsin, a marriage license 
numbered ..•. and dated the .... day of .... , A. D. 19 .. , certifying that he was satis-
fied there was no legal impediment to our so doing. A .... · B ... . 

C.... D .. .. 
We, the undersigned, were present at the marriage of A ..•. B .•.. and C .... D .... , 

as set forth in the foregoing certificate, at their request, and heard their declarations that 
they took each other as husband and wife. E. . . . F ... . 

G.... H .. .. 
(3) The blank form for the certificate in each case shall also provide space for the entry 

of the following items: Information concerning which it shall be the duty of the county 
clel'k to acquire and enter in its propel' place on the certificate at the time when the license 
is issued, the full name, age, color, place of residence, place of birth, occupation, and,if 
known, the father's name, and mother's name of each of the parties married; the number 
of times either of the parties may have been preViously married and condition of each, 
whether single, widowed, or divorced; the bride's maiden name, in case she is a widow; to­
gether with such other' statistical items as may, from time to time, be prescribed by .the 
registrar of vital statistics. The original certificate in each case shall contain the follow­
iJig words. "N. B. This original certificate, legibly and completely filled out with un­
fading' ink, must be returned to the local registrar of vital statistics within three days from 
the date of marriage. Maximum penalty for noncompliance, $200." 

245.25 Delivery and filing of certificates. (1) The marriage cel'tific~tes mal'ked 
"duplicate" and "tl'iplicate," duly signcd, shall be givcn by the officiating person to the 
pel'sons married by ~im i and the certificate mal'ked "orig~la~," legibly and .completely 
filled out with unfadmg mk, shall be returned by such offiClatmg person, or, m the case 
of a marriage ceremony pel'fol'med without an officiating pel'son, then by the parties to 
the marriage contract, 01' eithel' of them, to the l'egister of deeds of the county in which 
said marriage was performed, or if performed in a city, then to the city health officer' 
within3 days after the date of said marriage. The marriage license shall be l'etained by 
the person who solemnizes the marriage, or in case of a marriage perfol'med without an 
officiating person, by the pal'ties to the marriage contract, 01' either of them, to be prima 
facie evidence of authority to perforln the ma1'l'iage ceremony. 

(2) When a mal'riage is entel'ed iJltO outside of this state and either of the parties 
resides in Wisconsin, they may file their cel'tificate of marriage with the l'egister of deeds 
01' city health officel', and thel'eafter that certificate shall be filed, forwal'ded and recorded 
as' though the mal_Tiage had occurred in this state. 

245.26 Penalty for unlawful solemnization of marriage. If any officiatingpel'son 
shaH solemnize a mal'riag'e unless the contracting parties shall first have obtained a propel' 
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license as hereinbefore provided; or unless the parties to such marriage declare that they 
take each other as husband and wife; 01' without the presence of two competent witnesses; 
or, in the case of parties within the age limits prescribed in section 245.16, unless the con­
sent, as hereinbefore provided, of the parent or guardian of such parties be stated in such 
license; 01' shall solemnize a marriage knowing of any legal impediment thereto; 01' shall 
solemnize a marriage more than thirty days from and after the date of the license; or shall 
falsely certify to the date of a marriage solemnized by him; 01' shall solemnize a marriage 
in a county other than the county prescribed in section 245.21, he shall be guilty of a mis­
demeanor, and, on conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than one hun­
dred dollars nor more than five hundred dollars, 01' by imprisonment in the county jail for 
not more than one year, 01' by both such fine and imprisonment. 

245.27 Penalty for unlawful solemnization by parties. Where a marriage is sol­
emnized without the presence of an officiating person, then, and in that case, if the parties' 
to such marriage shall solemnize the same more than thirty days from and after the date 
of the license; or shall falsely certify to the date of such marriage; or shall solemnize the 
same in a county other than the county prescribed in section 245.21, they or either of them 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and on conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of 
not less than one hundred dollars nor more than five hundred dollars, 01' by imprisonment 
in the county jail for not more than one year, or by both such fine and imprisonment. 

245.28 Penalty for false solemnization of marriage. If any person, not being duly 
authorized by the laws of this state, shall wilfully or knowingly undertake to solemnize a 
marriage in this state, or if any person shall participate in 01' in any way aid or abet any 
false 01' fictitious marriage, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction thereof, 
shall be punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars nor more than one thousand 
dollars, 01' by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year, or by both such 
fine and imprisonment. 

245.29 Penalty for failure to file certificate. Every officiating person, or persons 
marrying without the presence of an officiating person, as provided by section 245.12 
(2), who shall neglect or refuse to transmit the original certificate of any marriage solem­
nized by him 01' them, to the register of deeds of the county or the city health officer as pro­
vided in section 69.09 three days after the date of such marriage, shall be fined the sum of 
not to exceed $200. 

245.30 Penalty for violations relating to records. Any county clerk who shall refuse 
or neglect to enter upon the marriage license docket a complete record of each application, 
and of each marriage license issued from his office, immediately after the same shall have 
been made or issued, as the case may be, or shall fail to keep such marriage license docket 
open for inspection or examination by the public during office hours, or shall prohibit or 
prevent any person from making a copy or abstract of the entries in the marriage license 
docket, shall for each such illegal act, omission or denial, be fined the sum of not to exceed 
fifty dollars. 

245.31 Action of debt to recover penalties. Any fine or forfeiture accruing under 
tIle provisions of sections 245.12 to 245.38 may be recovered by an action of debt, in the 
same manner as other debts are recovered by law, with the usual costs, in any COUlt of rec­
ord in any county in this state in which the defendant or defendants may be found. 

245.32 Unlawful marriages void; validation. All marriages hereafter contracted 
in violation of any of the requirements of section 245.12 shall be null and void (except as 
provided in sections 245.33 and 245.34) ; provided, that the parties to any such void mar­
riage may, at any time, validate such marriage by complying with the requirements of sec­
tions 245.12 to 245.38. 

245.33 Immaterial irregularities as to authority of person officiating. No marriage 
hereafter contracted shall be void by reason of want of authority or jurisdiction in the offi­
ciating person solemnizing such marriage, if the marriage is in other l'espects lawful, and 
is consummated with the full belief on the part of the persons so married, 01' either of them, 
that they have been lawfully joined in marriage. 

245.34 Immaterial irregularities otherwise. No marriage hereafter contracted shall 
be void either by reason of the license having been issued without the consent of the par­
ents 01' guardian as provided in section 245.16, OJ' by a county clerk not having jurisdiction 
to issue the same, or by reason of any omission, informality 01' irregularity of form in the 
application for the license or in the license itself, or by reason of the incompetency of the 
witnesses to such marriage, 01' because the marriage may have been solemnized in a county 
other than the county prescribed in section 245.21, 01' more than thirty days after the date 
~f the license, if the marriage is in other respects lawful and is consummated with the full 
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belief on the part of the pe1'sons so married, 01' either of them, that they have been lawfully 
joined in marriag·e. 'Where a marriage has been celebrated in one of the forms provided foJ' 
in section 245.12, and the parties thereto have immediately thereafter assumed the habit and 
repute of husband and wife, and having continued the same uninterruptedly thereafter foJ' 
the period of one year, 01' until the death of either of them, it shall be deemed that a license 
has been issued as required by sections 245.12 to 245.38. 

245.35 Removal of impediments to subsequent marriage. If a person during the 
lifetime of a husband 01' wife with whom the marriage is in force, enters into a subsequent 
marriage contract in accordance with the provisions of section 245.12, and. the parties 
thereto live together thereafter as husband and wife, and such subsequent mal'l'iage contract 
was entered into by one of the parties in good faith, in the full belief that the former hus­
band or wife was dead, or that the former marriage had been annulled, or dissolved by a 
divorce, or without knowledge of such former marriage, they shall, after the impediment to 
their marriage has been removed by the death or divorce of the other party to such former 
marriage, if they continue to live together as husband and wife in good faith on the part of 
one of them, be held to have been legally married from and after the removal of such im­
pediment, and the issue of such subsequent marriage shall be considered as the legitimate 
issue of both parents. 

245.36 Legitimation of children. In any and every case where the father and 
mother of an illegitimate child or children shall lawfully intermarry, except where· the 
parental rights of the mother were terminated prior thereto, such child or children shall 
thereby become legitimated and enjoy all the rights and privileges of legitimacy as if they 
had been born during the wedlock of their parents; and this section shall be taken to apply 
to all cases prior to its date, as well as those subsequent thereto; provided, that no estate 
already vested shall be divested by section 237.06 and sections 245.12 to 245.38. The issue 
of all malTiages declared null in law shall, nevertheless, be legitimate. 

History: 1951 c. 471. 

245.37 Interpretation of marriage law. Sections 245.12 to 245.38 shall be so in­
terpreted and construed as to effectuate their general purpose to make uniform the law 
of those states which enact them. 

245.38 Pee to county clerk. Each county clerk shall receive as a fee for each license 
granted the sum of one dollar, which shall become a part of the funds of the county, plus 
a notary fee which may be retained by county clerks operatinl:(' on a fee or part fee basis. 




