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359.02 Certificate of conviction. When a defendant is sentenced to imprisonment 
or to pay a fine, the clerk of the court shall make a certificate of conviction and sentence 
citing the statute which he violated and the statute lmder which he mis- sentenced and 
showing' his name, the crime which he committed, the date of conviction and a copy of the 
sentence, and deliver such certificate to the sheriff to be retained by him if the defendant 
is sentenced to the county jail or workhouse 01' to be transmitted with the defendant in 
case of sentence to some other prison. 

359.03 Form of certificate of conviction. The certificate of conviction mentioned 
in section 359.02 may be substantially in the following form: 

STATE OF WISOONSIN, 
• . •. County, .... Court. 
The State of Wisconsin, 

v. 
Name of defendant. 

CERTIFICATE OF CONVICTION 

} 
.J 

As the clerk of said court, I hereby certify that at a, term of said court, held at the 
courthouse in the city of .... , on the .... day of .... , 19 .. , .... .... was convicted 
of the crime of (here give a brief description of the crime) in violation of section .... 
of the statutes, and upon said conviction the court did, on the .... day of .... , 19 .. , 
!Sentence him under section .... of the statutes as follows: (here give the sentence in 
full, as pronounced by the court). 

Given under my hand and the seal of said court, this .... daJ' of •••• , 19 ... 
[Seal] .... .. .. , Clerk 

359.04 Crimes, how stated in certificate. It shall be sufficient in describing the 
crime in the certificate of conviction to set it out in the language of the statute. 

359.045 Sentence and commitment. (1) Male persons not less than 16 nor more 
than 30 years of age may be sentenced to the Wisconsin state reformatory if convicted of 
a felony (other than murder in the first or second degree) 01' a misdemeanor punishable 
by imprisonment in the county jailor house of correction for one year or more. 

(2) All commitments to the Wisconsin home for women shall be for one year Ql' more. 
(3) Female persons over 16 and not yet 18 years of age shall be committed eithel' to 

the Wisconsin school fOl' girls or the Wisconsin home for women. Female persons over 
18 years of age shall be committed to the Wisconsin home for women. 

359.05 Indeterminate sentence, state prison. Except persons convicted of a crime 
for which the minimum imprisonment is life or 20 years or more, if imprisonment in the 
state prison is imposed, the court may fix a term less than the prescribed maximulll and 
the form of such sentence shall be substantially as follows: 

"You are hereby sentenced to the state prison at hard labor for an indeterminate term 
of not less than .... (the minimum fixed by statute) years and not more than .••. (the 
maximum as fixed by the court) years." 

The sentence shall have the effeot of a sentence for the maximum term fixed by the 
court, subject to the power of actnal release from confinement by parole by the state de­
partment of pubiio welfare or by pardon by the governor. If a person is sentenced for 
a definite time for an offense for which he may be sentenced un del' this section, he is in 
legal effect sentenced as requirec1 by this section, said definite time being the maximum 
period. A defendant convicted of a crime for which the minimum penalty is life or 20 
years 01' more shall be sentenced for a fixed term. 
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359.051 Indeterminate sentence, reformatory and home for women. (1) Except 
persons convicted of a crime for which the minimum imprisonment is life or 20 years or 
more, if imprisonment in the vViscOlisin state reformatory or the 'Wisconsin home for 
women is imposed, the court may fix a term less than the prescribed maximum. The form 
of such sentence shall be substantially as follows: 

"You are hereby sentenced to the Wisconsin state reformatory (or to the Wisconsin 
home for women) for an indeterminate term of not less than .... (the minimum fixed by 
statute) years, and not more than .... (the maximum as fixed by the court) years." 

Such sentence shall have the force and effect of a sentence for the maximum term 
subject to the power of actual release from confinement by parole by the state departnient 
of public welfare or by pardon as provided by law. If, through mistake or otherwise, any 
person shall be sentenced for a definite period of time for any offense for which he may 
be sentenced under the provisions of this section, such sentence shall not be void, but the 
prisoner'shall be deemed to be sentenced nevertheless as provided and required by the 
terms of this section. 

(2) Upon the recommendation of the state department of public welfare, the governor 
may, without the procedure required by chapter 57 of these statutes, discharge absolutely, 
or upon such conditions and restrictions, and under such limitations as he may, think 
propel', any inmate of the reformatory after he shall have served the, minimum term. of 
punishment prescribed by law for the offense for which he was sentenced. Such discharge 
shall have the force and effect of an absolute or conditional pardon, respectively. 

'(2a) Upon the reconunendation of the state department of public welfare, the gov­
ernor may, without the procedure required by ch. 57, discharge absolutely, or upon such 
conditions and restrictions, and under such limitations as he may think proper, any in­
mate of the homB for women who at the time of commitment was under 30 years of ag'e 
and who is serving a first felony conviction and who is not serving a life sentence after 
she shall have served the minimum term of punishment prescribed by law for the offense 
for which she was sentenced. Such discharge shall have the force and effect of an absolute 
or conditional pardon, respectively. 

(3) In lieu of the penalty provided by statute, under which a female offender is tried, 
the comt may commit such person except one convicted of murder in the first or second 
degree to the home for women for an indeterminate term, which term shall not exceed 5 
years in any case, subject to the power of release from actual confinement, by parole or 
absolute discharge by the state department of public welfare or by pardon, as provided 
bylaw. 

(4) All courts of record having criminal jurisdiction, regardless of their jurisdictions 
as otherwise defined by statute, shall have the power to commit as provided in subsection 
(3). 

(5) The court may impose as many sentences as there are convictions and may pro­
vide that any such sentence shall commence at the expiration of any other sentence; and 
if the defendant is then serving a sentence, the present sentence may provide that it shall 
commenoo at the expiration of a previous sentence. If the defendant is sentenced to a 
state prison and to a jail on separate counts, both sentences shall be served concurrently 
at a state prison unless otherwise ordered by the comt. 

History: 1953 c. 43, 97. 

359.052 Trial and commitment records; execution. (1) When any offender is sen­
tenced to the state prison or to the reformatory or to the home for women, the commit­
ment papers shall consist of the certificate of conviction, and certified copies of the in­
formation, indictment or complaint, the plea of the accused, the verdict and the judgment 
and sentence, which copies shall be delivered ,vith the certificate of conviction to the 
officel' executing it, and by him to the superintendent of the institution when the convict 
is delivered. The copy of the transcript of testimony when filed at the institution shall 
become a pa.rt of the commitment papers. 

(2) In ease no testimony is taken, a statement of the prosecuting attorney, giving 
the facts in the case, and the statement of the defendant in court, shall be delivered in 
lieu thereof. 

(3) The clerk's fees for furnishing such copies shall be fixed by the trial judge, and 
shall be paid by the county in which trial is had as part of the CQurt expenses. 

(4) Whenever any woman is sentenced to the home for women the sheriff shall assign 
a woman deputy to execute the commitment. She shall receive the same fee as is .provided 
for the sheriff. . 

(5) When any person is sentenced to the reformatory the court shall immediately 
notify the sllpel-intendent thereof. If the institution be filleel to capacity, the convict 
shall be retained in the county jail until he can be received into the reformatory;' but, if 
convicted of a felony, the court may commit him temporarily to the state prison to be 
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thence transferred as soon as may be. Notice of such tempora1'Y commitment. shall be 
given to the superintendent, and the commitment papers shall be delivered with the con­
vict to the warden of the prison, who shall deliver them to said superintendent when the 
convict is transfelTed. 

History: 1951 c. 557. 

359.06 Jail sentence. If at the time of passing. sentence upon a defendant who is 
to be imprisoned in a county jail there is no jail in the county suitable for said defendant, 
the court may sentence him to any suitable cOlmty jaiL The expenses of supporting him 
there shall be borne by the county in which the crime was committed. 

Sentence to county jail does not run concurrently with later sentence to state prison. 
38 Atty. Gen. 544. . 

359.07 Sentence, terms, escapes. All sentences to the state prison shall be for one 
year 01' more. Except as otherwise provided in this section, all sentences commence at 
noon on the day of sentence, but time which elapses after sentence while the defendant is 
in the county jail or is at large on bail shall not be computed as any part of his term of 
imprisonment. The court may impose as many sentences as there are convictions and may 
provide that any such sentence shall comlllence at the expiration of any other sentence; 
and if the defendant is then serving a sentence, the present sentence may provide that it 
shall commence at the expiration of the previous sentence. If a convict escapes, the time 
during which he is unlawfully absent from the prison after such esca.pe shall not be com­
puted as part of his term. If the defendant is sentenced to a state prison and to a. county 
jail on separate counts, both sentences shall be served conculTently at a state prison unless 
otherwise ordered by the court. 

History: 1953 c. 97. 

359.08 Time out. If an order 01' judgment releasing a prisoner on habeas corpus is 
reversed, the time during which he was at liberty thereunder shall not be reckoned as part 
of his term. 

359.09 Sentence to state prison. If a male defendant is convicted of a felony and 
it is established at the trial that he had previously been convicted of a. felony and the 
sentence is for more than one year, he shall be sentenced to the W'isconsin state prison. 

Second offender may not be sentenced state department of public welfare pur­
to Wisconsin state reformatory, although if suant to 53.18 (2) unless convicted of first­
sentenced to Wisconsin state prison he may 01' second-degree murder. 40 Atty. Gen. 107. 
be transferred to the reformatory by the 

359.10 Judgment against corporation. If a corporation fails to appear within 20 
days after an indictment or information is served by leaving a. copy thereof with the 
persons upon whom a circuit court summons in a civil action against the corporation may 
be served, the default of such corporation may be recorded and the charges against it 
taken as true, and judgment shall be rendered accordingly. 

359.11 Collection of judgment against corporation. The judgment against a cor­
poration shall be collected in the same manner as judgments in civil actions against it. 

359.12 Sentence of repeater. (1) DEFINITIONS. As used in this section, unless 
context or subject matter otherwise requires: 

(a) "Repeater" means a person convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment, 
(except escapes under section 346.40 01' 346.45 (2)), who, within 5 years prior to commis­
sion thereof, had been convicted of a felony or on 3 separate occasions during such 5cyear 
period had been convicted .of misdemeanors by any criminal court or courts of this state 
or of the United States or of any oLher state 01' territory of the United States, which con­
viction or convictions remain of record and unreversed, whether pardoned therefor or not 
(except on grounds of innocence) and whether or not sentence on such conviction was 
stayed, suspended 01' withheld. No time during which such person was in actual confine­
ment serving a criminal sentence shall be included in such 5-year period. 

(b) As to crimes committed in 'Wisconsin, "falony" and "misdemeanor" have the 
meaning given in section 353.31; otherwise "felony" is any crime under the laws or the 
United States or any other state or territOl'Y which calTies a possible penalty of imprison­
ment for one year or more in a state prison or penitentiary or a federal penitentiary; and 
"misdemeanor" is any crime uncleI' the laws of the United States or any other state or 
territOl'Y which does not canoy a possible penalty sufficient to constitute it a felony, and 
includes crimes punishable only by a fine. Motor vehicle offenses under chapter 85, fish 
and game law offenses in violation of chapter 23 or 29 01' offenses against equivalent laws 
of other states are not to be considered crimes for purposes of this section. 

(c) In determining whether a crime is a falony or misdemeanor "possible penalty" 
means the maximum penalty provided by law for the crime, notwithstanding that because 
of age 01' any other reason the defendant could not be sentenced to such maximum pen-
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alty; but juvenile court proceedings lmder chapter 48 or equivalent proceedings under 
the law of the United States or any other state or territory shall not be considered in de­
termining whether the defendant is a repeater. 

(2) How PRIOR CONVICTION CHARGED AND DETERMINED. Whenever a pel'son charged 
with a crime will be a, repeater if convicted, his prior conviction or convictions may be 
alleged in the complaint, indictment or information or otherwise brought to the at­
tention of the court at any time before execution of sentence has commenced, and if such 
prior conviction or convictions be admitted by the defendant or proved by the state he 
shall be subject to be sentenced under this section unless' he shall establish that he was 
pardoned on grounds of innocence for any crime necessary to constitute him a repeater. 
If the defendant be alleged to be a repeater after conviction, the charge shall be reduced 
to writing unless it be admitted in open court, and the defendant may have a jury trial on 
that issue if it be demanded, otherwise the issue shall be tried by the court. An official 
report of the federal bureau of investigation or of any other governmental agency of the 
United States 01' of this or any other state shall be prima facie evidence of any convic­
tion or sentence therein reported. Any sentence so reported shall be deemed prima facie 
to have been fully served in actual confinement or to have been so served for such period 
~f time as is shown by or is consistent with the report. The court shall take judicial notice 
of United States and foreign statutes in determining whether the prior conviction was for 
a felony or a misdemeanor. If sentence has already been passed but execution thereof 
has not commenced before the court is informed that the defendant is a repeater, the 
court may set aside such sentence and resentence the defendant under this section. 

(3) SENTENCE. The court may sentence repeaters as follows: 
(a) If the present conviction be for a crime punishable by imprisonment only in the 

county jail, the sentence may be to imprisonment in the county jail not iess than the 
minimum provided by law for the crime nor more than one year or to the state prison not 
less than one nor more than 3 years. 

, (b) If the present cOll'viction be for a crime punishable by imprisonment in either the 
county jailor the state prison, and the prior convictions were for misdemeanors, the 
sentence may be to the state prison for a maximum term of not more than 2 years in 
excess of the maximum provided by law for the crime 01', if a prior conviction was for a 
felony, riot more than 3 years in excess of such maximum. 

(c) If the present conviction be for a, crime punishable only by imprisonment in the 
state prison and the prior convictions were for misdemeanors, the sentence may be for a 
maximum term of not more than 2 years in excess of the maximum provided by law for 
the crime, or if a prior conviction was for a felony, not more than 15 years in excess of 
such maximum. 

(4) FORM OF SENTENCE; ERRORS CURED. In every such case the sentence shall be im­
posed for the present conviction, but if the court indicates in passing sentence liow 
much thereof is imposed because the defendant is a repeater, it shall not constitute re­
versible error but the combined terms shall be constmed as a single sentence for the 
present conviction; and if in any case the court shall impose a maximum penalty in excess 
of that authorized by this section, such excess shall be void and the sentence shall be valid 
only to the extent authorized by this section and shall stand automatically commuted to 
that extent without any further proceedings. 

Where a defendant had been convicted of fendant had taken the stand, was proper. If 
the prior .offense of robbery by means of fire- former convictions are alleged and admitted, 
arms and was convicted in the instant prose- then they are proved within the meaning of 
cution of violations of the game laws, he the repeater statute and no evidence of the 
could be sentenced either under the general former convictions shOUld thereafter be re­
repeater statute or under the game-law pen- ceived nor comment to the jury be permitted. 
alty statute, at the election of the court hav- State v. Meyer, 258 W 326, 46 NW (2d) 341. 
ing· jurisdiction. State v. Meyer, 258 W 326, Following the defendant's plea of not 
46 NyV (2d) 341. guilty to an information charging incest and 

In a prosecution for violations of the alleging 2 prior convictions fer larceny, the 
game laws, where a prior conviction for rob- district attorney's introduction in evidence 
berv by means of firearms was alleged in the of the record of such prior convictions was 
informatien, and the defendant waived the proper. State v. Raether, 259 W 391, 48 NW 
reading .of the information but did not admit (2d) 483. 
any of the allegations thereof, permitting Court which has criminal jurisdiction 
the state to produce evidence of the prior only of offenses not punishable in the state 
conviction, in the presence of the jury, shert- prison cannot impose repeater sentence un­
ly after the trial began, and before the de- del' (3) (a). 39 Atty. Gen. 340. 

359.17 Masking aggravates crime. If the defendant committed the crime while 
masked, he may, in addition to the maximum punishment fixed for such crime; in case 
of conviction for a misdemeanor, be imprisoned not to exceed one year in the county jail, 
and in C!lse 0;1; a. felony not to exceed 5 ;years in the state prison. 




