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245.01 A civil contract. Marriage, so far as its validity in law is concerned, is a 
civil contract, to which the consent of the parties capable in law of contracting is essential. 

A marriage contract differs from ordi­
nary contracts in that it cannot be modified 
or abrogated by the parties themselves and, 
once entered into, a valid marriage contract 

continues until changed by law or by the 
death of one of the parties. Estate of Camp­
bell, 260 W 625, 51 NW (2d) 709. 

245.02 Who may contract. Every male person who shall have attained the full age 
of 18 years 01' who has obtained the permission of the county judge as provided in s. 
245.16 and every female who shall have attained the full age of 15 years shall be capable 
in law of contracting marriage if otherwise competent. 

History: 1953 c. 8. 

245.03 Who shall not marry; divorced persons. (1) No marriage shall be con­
tracted while either of the parties has a husband 01' wife living, nor between persons who 
are nearer of kin than second cousins, excepting that marriag'e may be contracted between 
first cousins where the female has attained the age of 50 years. Relationship under this 
section shall be computed by the rule of the civil law, whether the parties to the marriage 
are of the half 01' of the whole blood. No insane, imbecile or feeble-minded person or idiot 
shall be capable of contracting marriage. 

(2) It shall not be lawful for any person, who is a party to an action for divorce from 
the honds of matrimony, in any court in this state, to marry again until one year after judg­
ment of divorce is granted, and the marriage of any such person solemnized he fore the ex­
piration of one year from the date of the granting of judgment of divorce shall be null and 
void. 

History: 1953 c. 63. 

245.035 Validity of marriages of epileptics. All marriages, otherwise valid and 
legal, contracted prior to April 24, 1953, to which either party was an epileptic person 
are hereby validated and legalized in all respects as though such maniages had been duly 
and legaliy contracted in the first instance. 

History: 1953 c. 470. 

245.04' Marriage abroad to circumvent the laws. (1) If any person residing and 
intending to continue to reside in this state who is disabled or prohihited from contract­
ing marriage under the laws of this state shall go into another state 01' country and there 
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contract a marriage prohibited and declared void by the laws of this state, such marriage 
shall be null and void for all purposes in this state with the same effect as though such pro· 
hibited marriage had been entered into in this state. 

(2) No marriage shall be contracted in this state by a party residing and intending to 
continue to reside in another state or jurisdiction, if such marriage would be void if con· 
tracted in such other state or jurisdiction and every marriage celebrated in this state in 
violation of this provision shall be null and void. 

Even though a man and woman, while 
residents of Wisconsin, may have established 
a COlllnOl1-la"r nlarriage in Texas, such nlar­
riage was void for all purposes in ,Viscon­
sin; the woman was not the wife of such 
man and was not entitled to any rights as 
widow and heir in his estate on his death. 
Estate of Van Schaick, 256 W 214, 40 NW 
(2d) 588. 

The evidence was insufficient to show 
that either of the parties was disabled or 
prohibited from being married under the 
laws of Wisconsin, or that the marriage in 
Illinois was for the purpose of evading any 

provision of the Wisconsin statutes. The 
fact that a question in the application for a 
marriage license in Illinois, asking whether 
the applicant was prohibited from intermar­
rying by the laws of the jurisdiction where 
he resided, was unanswered did not estab­
lishthat the parties, residents of Wisconsin, 
went to Illinois for the purpose of evading 
the marriage la-ws of Wisconsin nor over­
come the presumption of regularity which 
the issuance of the marriage license carried 
with it. Estate of Campbell, 260 W 625, 51 
NW (2d) 709. 

245.05 Who may solemnize. Marriages may be solemnized by any justice of the 
peace, police justice, municipal judge or court commissioner in the county in which he is 
elected or appointed, and throughout the state by any judge of a court of record, and by 
any ordained minister or priest in regular communion with any religious society and who 
continues to be such minister or priest. 

245.06 Licentiate may perform ceremony. In addition to the persons named in sec­
tion 245.05, it shall be lawful for any licentiate of a denominational body 01' an appointee 
of any bishop, while serving as the regular minister 01' priest of any church of the denomi­
nation to which he belongs, to solemnize marriages; provided, he be not restrained from so 
doing' by the discipline of his denomination. 

245.07 Credentials to be filed with clerk of circuit court. Before any person named 
in section 245.06 shall be authorized to solemnize a marriage, he shall file credentials of 
license or appointment with the clerk of circuit court of the county in which is located the 
church under his ministry, who shall record the same and give a certificate thereof; and 
the place where such credentials are recorded shall be indorsed upon each certificate of mar­
riage granted by any such licentiate 01' appointee andl'ecorded with the same. 

245.08 Proof of authority to solemnize to be filed. Ministers 01' priests, before they 
shall be authorized to solemnize a marriage, shall file a copy of their credentials of ordina­
tion or other proof of such official character with the clerk of the circuit court of some 
county in this state, who shall record the same and give a certificate thereof; and the place 
where such credentials are recorded shall be indorsed upon each certificate of marriage 
granted by any minister 01' priest and recorded with the same. 

Certificate of Lutheran minister's authority entitled to be filed and recorded. 39 Atty. 
Gen. 485. 

245.10 Antenuptial physical examination and Wassermann test. (1) All male per­
sons making application for license to marry shall at any time within fifteen days prior 
to such application, be examined as to the existence or nonexistence in such person of any 
venereal disease, and it shall be unlawful for the county clerk of any county to issue a 
license to marry to any person who fails to present and file with such county clerk a 
certificate setting' forth that such person is free from venereal diseases so nearly as can 
be determined by a thorough examination and by the application of the recognized clinical 
and laboratory tests of scientific search, when in the discretion of the examining physician 
such elinical and laboratory tests are necessary. When a microscopial examination for 
gonoccocci is required snch examination shall upon the request of any physician in the state 
be made by the state laboratory of hygiene free of charge. Such certificate shall be made 
by a physician, licensed to practice in this state 01' in the state in which such male perSOll 
resides, shall be filed with the application for license to marry, and shall read as follows, 
to wit: 

I, ........ (name of physician), being a physician, legally licensed to practice in the 
state of .... , my credentials being filed in the office of .... , in the city of .... , county 
of .... , state of .... , do certify that I have this . . .. day of .... , 19 .. , made a thorough 
examination of ........ (name of person), and believe him to be free from all venereal 
diseases. 

. . •• •... (Signature of physician). 
(2) Such examiners shall be physicians duly licem;ed to practice in this state, or in the 

state in which such male person resides. The fee for such examination, to be paid by the 
applicant for examination before the certificate shall be granted, shall not exceed two dol-
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lars. The county or asylum physician of any county, shall, upon request, make the neces­
saTY examination and i~sue such ceTtificate, if the same can be properly issued, without 
charge to applicant, if said applicant be indigent. 

(3) Any county clerk who shall unlawfully issue a license to marry to any person 
who fails to present and file any certificate provided by subsections (1) and (5) of thi~ 
section, or any party or parties having knowledge of any matter relating or pertaining 
to the examination of any applicant for license to marry or Wassermann test taken by 
any party to a proposed marriage, who shall disclose the same, or any portion thereof, 
except as may be required by law, shall upon proof thereof be punished by a fine of not 
more than one hundred dollars or by imprisonment not mOTe than six months. 

(4) Any physician who shall knowingly and wilfully make any false statement in 
any certificate provided for in subsections (1) and (5) of this section shall be punished 
by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars or by imprisonment not more than six 
months. 

(5) In addition to the requirements of sub. (1) both parties to a proposed marriage 
shall, within 15 days prior to making application for a license to marry, submit to and be 
given the Wassermann or other standard blood test for syphilis, either in this state or in 
the state where such person to be examined Tcsides. In this state such blood shall be 
examined in a laboratory approved by the state board of health as competent to make 
such examination and at the request of any physician in this state it shall be made at the 
state laboratory of hygiene free of charge. When such test is made without the state, the 
original certificate from the laboratory making such test shall accompany the physician'S 
certificate with a statement from the health officer of such state or his qualified representa­
tive, stating that he believes such labOl'atory competent to make such test. If the test for 
any such party shall result in a negative finding he shall be given a certificate in the fol­
lowing form: 

I, ........ (name of physician), being a physician, legany licensed to practice medi-
cine and surgery in the state of .... , my credentials being filed in the office of .... in the 
city .... , county of .... , state of .... , do certify that ........ (name of person) was 
given the 'Nassermann or other standard blood test for syphilis at .... (name of 
laboratory) from blood taken by •••• on the . . .. day of .... , 19.. and that the result 
of such test was negative. 

. •...... (Signature of physician). 
Such certificate of negative finding as to each of the parties to a proposed marriage 

shall be filed with the county clerk at the time application for a license to marry is made, 
and it shall be unlawful for any county clerk to issue a license to marry if such certificates 
of negative finding as to both parties to the proposed marriage are not so filed, except as 
provided in sub. (4) of s. 245.11. 

(6) (a) -When the examination as to existence or nonexistence of a venereal disease 
is of a. person serving in the military' forces of the United States, and the certifieate 
prescribed in subsection (1) shall so show, such examination and certificate may be made 
by any physician serving as such in the military forces of the United States. -When so 
made the certificate shall state at the foot thereof the military rank and station of the 
physician. 

(b) When a person submitting to a Wassermann test under subsect.ion (5) is in the 
military service of the United States, such test may be made in any United States military 
laboratory and the certificate of negative finding prescribed by subsection (5) may be 
subscribed by any physician serving as such in the military forces of the United States. 
When subscribed by bach physician the certificate shall show that the person given the 
test is in the military service of the United States and the military rank and station of 
the subscribing physician. A certificate made pursuant to this subsection need not in any 
case be accompanied by a statement of a state health officer as to competency of the labor­
atory making the test. 

(c) The provisions of this subsection shall supersede any provision in subsections 
(1) to (5) in conflict therewith. 

History. 1953 c. 54; 1955 c, 366. 

245.11 Marriage of person having had venereal disease. (1) No person wIlD has 
ever been afflicted with gonorrhea or syphilis shall be g'l'aI~ted a marriage license in this 
state until such person shall flU'nish to the county clerk issuing the license a certificate 
from the director of the state laboratory of hygiene, 01' from the state board of health 
branch laboratory, or from one of the state co-operative laboratOlies controlled by the stat-e 
board of health, setting forth the fact that the necessal'y microscopical examination has 
been made and that the individual named in the certificate is not in the infective or com­
mlmicable state of gonorrhea, 01' a certificate from the director of the state laboratory of 
hygiene setting forth the fact that the necessary blood test for the Wassermanll reaction 
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has been made and that the person named in the certificate is not in the infective or com­
municable state of syphilis. In all cases where the individual has been afflicted with both 
gonorrhea and syphilis, both such certificates shall be furnished before such license is 
granted. 

(2) Such a certificate or certificates shall be furnished to any citizen of this state by 
the director of ally of the laboratories mentioned, without charge. 

(3) The necessary smears for gonorrhea examinations and the blood for determining 
the presence of syphilis shan be collected and forwarded to the laboratory by physicians 
designated by the state board of health 01' the state health officer, for which a fee not to ex­
ceed two dollars may be charged. 

(4) In the case of an individual whose laboratory test ior syphilis results in a positive 
finding, when in the opinion of his attending physician the individual no longer has syphi­
lis in an infective or communicable stag'e, the state board of health may review the findings 
and clinical evidence through a deputy state health officer and thereafter the state health 
officer is empowered to grant a certificate to the county clerk that the individual is not 
in the infective or communicable stage of syphilis if such be his best judgment. 

(5) Any peI'son who shall obtain any such license contrary to the provisions of this sec­
tion shall, upon conviction thereof, be punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dol­
lars or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than three months, or by both such 
fine and imprisonment. 

History: 1953 c. 54. 

245.12 Marriage contract; how made. Marriage may be validly contracted in this 
state only after a license has been issued therefor, in the manner following: 

(1) Before any person authol'ized by the laws of this state to celebrate mal'l'iages (and 
hereinaftel' designated as the officiating person), by declaring in the presence of at least two 
competent witnesses other than such officiating person, that they take eaeh other as husband 
and wife; 01', 

(2) In accOl·dance with the customs, rules andl'egulations of any religious society, de­
nomination or sect to which either of the parties may belong, by declaring' in the presence 
of at least two competent witnesses, that they take each other as husband and wife. 

245.13 Marriage license; by whom issued. No persons shall be joined in mar­
riage within this state until a license shall have been obtained for that pUl'pose from 
the county clerk of the county in which one of the parties resides; provided that if 
both parties be nOl1l'esidents of the state, such license may be obtained from the county 
clerk of the county where the marriage ceremony is to be perfol'med; and provided 
further that if one of such pel'sons be a nonresident that his part of the application 
may be completed before the county clerk in the state in which he resided. 

245.14 Application for license. Application for a marriage license shall be made 
at least 5 days before a license shall be issued; provided, that, upon application of 
either of the parties to a pl'oposed marriage, any judge of a court of l'ecord, or a 
judge of municipal court, may, upon satisfactory evidence being presented to him 
that either of the parties to the proposed marriage is dangerously ill, snch illness being 
likely to result in death, or that the female is pregnant with child, or upon the request 
of the parent or parents or guardian, if any, of the female, or if in the opinion of the 
,judge of said court that the circumstances warrant special dispensation, by order author­
ize the license to be issued at any time before the expiration of said 5 days. The person 
applying for such order or dispensation shall have been a resident of the state for at 
least 30 days prior to making such application. Such ol'cler shall be delivered to the 
person issuing the license and by him retained as prima facie evidence of his authority 
to so issue the marriage license. The judge or court making such ol'Clel' shall not receive 
any compensation thel'efor from the county, but may charge the person applying for 
such order a sum not to exceec1 $2, which sum shall be paid into the county treasury for 
the use of the county. 

245.15 Identification of parties; statement of qualifications. No marriage license 
shall issue unless the application therefor is subscribec1 by the parties intending to inter­
marry and is filed with the clerk who issues the license. Each party shall be identified 
and shall swear to the application before the clerk who is to issue the license or the clerk 
of the county where the party resides. The application shall contain a statement under 
oath that the contemplated maTl'iage will b~ lawful, anc1 giving the date the marriage is 
intended to take place, the names of the parties, their relationship, age, nationality, color, 
residence and occupation, the names of their parents anc1 guardians, any prior marriage 
of either party and the manner of the dissolution thereof. If there be no legal objection 
thereto the COlmty clel:k shall issue a man-iage license. 
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245.16 Consent of parent or guardian. No license shall be issued if either of the 
contracting parties be under the marriageable age of consent as established by s. 245.02, 
except that a male under the age of 18 may lawfully contract to marry and obtain a 
malTiage license if he first obtains the written permission of the county judge of his 
county, who shall grant such permission only if he finds that the marriage will prevent a 
child fathered by applicant from being born out of wedlock. If either of the contracting 
parties be between the age of 18 years and 21 years if a male, and between the age of 
15 years and 18 years if a female, no license shall be issued without the consent of his or 
her parents or gual'dian, or of the parent having the actual care, custody and control of 
said party or parties, given before the county clerk under oath, or certified under the 
hand of such parents or guardian as aforesaid, and properly verified by affidavit before a 
notary public or other official authorized by law to take affidavits, which certificate shall 
be filed of record in the office of said county clerk and entered by him on the marriage 
license docket before issuing said license; provided, that if there be no g11ardian or parent 
having the actual carc, custody and control of said party or parties, then the judge of 
the court having probate jurisdiction in the county where the application is pending' may, 
after hearing, upon propel' cause shown, make an order allowing the marriage of said 
party or parties. 

History. 1953 c. 8. 

245.17 Objections to marriage. (1) Immediately upon entering an application for 
a license, the county clerk shall post in his office a notice giving the names and residences 
of the parties applying therefor, and the clate of the application. Any parent, grand­
parent, brother, sister or guardian or either of the applicants for a license or the district 
attorney, believing that the statements of the application are false or insufficient, or that 
the applicants or either of them are incompetent to marry, may file with the court having 
probate jurisdiction in the county in which the license is applied for, a petition under 
oath, setting forth the grounds of objection to the marriage and asking for a rule upon 
the parties making such application to show cause why the license should not be refused. 
Whereupon, said court, if satisfied that the grounds of objection are prima. facie valid, 
shall issue an order to show cause as aforesaid, returnable as the court may direct, but 
not more than fourteen days from and after the date of said rule, which order sllall be 
served forthwith upon the applicants for such license residing' in the state, and upon the 
clerk before whom such application shall have been made, and shall operate as a stay 
upon the issuance of the license until further oTClered; if either or hoth of said applicants 
are nonresidents of the state said order shall be served upon said nonresident or nonresi­
dents by publication one time in a newspaper published in the county wherein said 
application is pending', and by mailing a copy thereof to said nonrf'sident or n01ll'esidents 
at the address contained in the application. 

(2) If, upon hearing, the court shall find that the statements in the application are wil­
fully false or insufficient, or that either or both of said parties are not competent in law to 
marry, the court shall make an order refusing the license. If, however, said falseness or 
insufficiency is due merely to inadvertence, then the court shall permit the parties to amend 
the application so as to make the statements therein true and sufficient, and upon applica­
tion being so amended, the license shall issue. In case any party is unable to supply any 
of the information required in the application, the court may, if satisfied that such inability 
is not clne to wilfulness or negligence, order the license to issue notwithstanding' such 
insufficiency. The costs of the proceedings under this section shall rest in the discretion 
of the court. 

245.18 Penalty for false statement. Any person who shall, in any affidavit or 
statement required or provided for by sections 245.15, 245.16 or 245.17, wilfully and falsely 
swear, or who shall procure another to swear falsely in regard to any material fact relating 
to the competencey of either or both of the parties applying for a marriage license, or as 
to the ages of such parties, if minors, or who shall falsely pretend to he the pa:l!'ent or 
guardian having authority to give consent to the marriage of such minor, shall be guilty 
of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof, be punished by a fine of not less than one 
hundred dollars nor more than five hunched dollars, or by imprisonment in the county jail 
for not 1110re than one year, 01' by both such fine and imprisonment. 

~45.19' Penalty for unlawful issue of license. Any county clerk who shall know­
ingly issue a marriage license contrary to, or in violation of the provisions of sections 
245.12 to 245.38, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof, be pun­
ished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars or more than five hundred dollars, or 
by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year, or by both such fine and 
imprisonment. 

245.20 Records and blanks. The state registrar of vital statistics shall prescribe 
model for111s for blank applicatio12s, statement, consent of parents, affidavits, licenses, 
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and marriage certificates and other such forms as shall be necessary to comply with the 
provisions of this chapter. The county clerk shall keep in his office among his records, 
a suitable book to be called the marriage license docket and enter therein a complete record 
of the applications for, and the issuing of all malTiage licenses, and of all other matters 
which he is reqnired by this chapter to ascertain relative t.o the rights of any person to 
obtain a license. Said marriage license docket shall be open for public inspection 01' ex­
amination at all times during office hours. 

245.21 Contents of license. The license shall authorize the marriage ceremony to 
be performed in any county of this state, excepting that where both parties are nonresi­
dents of the state, the ceremony shall be performed only in the county in which the license 
is issued. The license shall be directed "to any person authorized by the law of this state 
to solemnize marriage," and shall authorize him to solemnize malTiage between the parties 
therein named, at any time not more than thirty days from and after the date thereof. If 
the marriage is to be solemnized by the parties without the presence of an officiating person, 
as provided by subsection (2) of section 245.1~, the license shall be directed to the parties 
to the marriage. If either of the parties be not of the age of legal majority, then his 01' 

her age shall be stated; and the fact of the consent of his or her parents or guardian shall 
likewise be stated; and if either of said parties shall have been theretofore married, then 
the number of times he 01' she shall have been previously married, and the manner in which 
the prior marriage or marriages was 01' were dissolved, shall be stated. The officiating 
person shall satisfy himself that the parties presenting' themselves to be married by him 
are the parties named in the license; and if he knows of any legal impediment to such mar­
riage. he shall refuse to perform the ceremony. The issue of a license shall not be deemed 
to remove 01' dispense with any legal disability, impediment or prohibition rendering mar­
riage between the parties illegal, and the license shall contain a statement to that effect. 

245.22 Form of license. Said licensc shall be in form substantially as follows: 
STATE OF WISCONSIN, L SS 

County of . . . . r . No .•••• 
To any person authorized by the laws of this state to solemnize marriage: 

You are hereby authorized at any time not more than thirty days from and after the 
date hereof, within the state of Wisconsin (not knowing any legal impediment thereto), to 
join together in marriage in accordance with the laws of this state, A .... B .... , aged 
· ... , and never heretofore married (01' married on the .... day of .... , A. D. . ... , to 
E .... F .... , said E .... F .... having died on the .... day of .... , A. D ..... ; or, said 
A. . .. B .... , having been divorced from said E.... F.... by the court of the ... , 
of .".,stateof "",onthe "" day of .".,A.D ..... ),andC" .. D" .. ,aged " .. , 
and never heretofore married (or manied on the .... day of .... , A. D ..... , to G ... . 
H .... , said G .... H .... having died on the .... day of .... , A. D ..... ; or said C ... . 
D .... , having been divorced from said G. . .. H.... by the court of .... of the . . .. of 
· ... , state of .... , on the .... day of .... , A. D ..... ), the consent of .... . ... , the 
· ... of the said A .... B .... , and of . . .. . ... , the .... of the said C .... D .... , having 
been duly given. The issue of this license shall not be deemed to remove or dispense with 
any legal disability, impediment or prohibition rendering marriage between the parties 
illegal. 

Given under my hand and seal at .... , state of Wisconsin, this .... day of .... , Anno 
Domini, one thousand nine hunch'ed and 
(Seal) .... .... , 

County Clerk. 

245.23 Form when solemnized by parties. If the marriage is to be solemnized by 
the parties without an officiating person, as provided by subsection (2) of section 245,12, 
the license shall be in form substantially as follows: 
STATE OF WISCONSIN, }ss 

County of .. . . . 
To A .... B .... , aged .... , and C .... D .... , aged . . . . . , 

This is to certify that, legal evidence having been furnished to me as required by law, 
and the consent of ........ the .... of saiel A .. " B .... , and of ........ the" .. 
of the said C .... D .... having been duly given, I am satisfied there is no legal impedi. 
ment to your joining yourselves in marriage in accordance with the customs, rules and regu­
lations of any religious society, denomination or sect to which you, or either of you, may 
belong, at any time not more than thirty days from and after the date hereof, within the 
state of Wisconsin. 

The issue of this license shall not be deemed to remove or dispense with any legal disa­
bility, impediment or prohibition rendering' malTiage between you illegal. 
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Given under the hand and seal of the county clerk of county, at .... , state of 
Wisconsin, this .... day of .... , Anno Domini, one thousand nine hundred and ... . 
(Seal) ........ , 

Marriage License Clerk. 

245.24 Marriage certificate; form. (1) The license .;hall have appended to it three 
certificates, numbered to correspond with the license (one marked "original," one marked 
"duplicate," and one marked "triplicate"), which shall be in form substantially as follows: 

MARRIAGE CER~IFIOATE. 

I, .... . ... , hereby certify that on the .... day of .... , Anno Domini, one thousand 
nine hundred and .... , at .... in the .... of .... , state of Wisconsin, A .... B .... of 
.... , state of .... and C .... D .... , of .... , state of .... , were by me united in mar-
riage as authorized by a marriage license issued for that purpose by the county clerk of 
... , county and state of Wisconsin, numbered .... , and dated the .... day of .... , 
A. D. 19. .. Signed .... . .. . 

(Official designation) ...• 
We, the undersigned, were present at the marriage of A .... B .... and C .... D .... , 

as set forth in the foreg'oing certificate, at their request, and heard their declarations that 
they took each other for husband and wife. E. . . • F ... . 

G.... R .. .. 
(2) But, if, as provided by section 245.23, the license has been issued to the parties 

themselves, then the certificate (in triplicate) shall be in form substantially as follows: 

MARRIAGE CERTIFIOATE. 

We hereby certify that on the .... day of .... , Anno Domini, one thousand nine hUIl­

dred and .... , we united oUl'selves in marriage in accordance with the customs, rules and 
regulations of the .... at .... , in the .... of .... and state of Wisconsin, having first 
obtained from the county clerk of the county of .... , state of Wisconsin, a marriage license 
numbered .... and dated the .... day of .... , A. D. 19 .. : certifying that he was satis-
fied there was no legal impediment to our so doing. A. . . . B ... . 

C.... D .. .. 
We, the undersigned, were present at the marriage of A .... B .... and C .... D .... , 

as set forth in the foregoing certificate, at their request, and heard their de clara tions that 
they took each other as husband and wife. E. . . . F ... . 

G.... R .. .. 
(3) The blank form for the certificate in each case shall also provide space for the entry 

of the following items: Information concerning which it shall be the duty of the county 
clerk to acquire and enter in its proper place on the certificate at thc time when the license 
is issued, the full name, age, color, place of residence, place of biTth, occupatiOli, and, if 
known, the father's name, and mother's name of each of the parties married; the number 
of times either of the pal-ties may have been previously married and condition of each, 
whether single, widowed, 01' divorced; the bride's maiden name, in case she is a wielow; to­
gether with such other statistical items as may, from time to time, be prescribed by the 
registrar of vital statistics. The original certificate in each case shall contain the follow­
ing words. "N. B. This original certificate, legibly and completely filled out with un­
fading ink, must be returned to the local registrar of vital statistics within three days from 
the date of marriage. Maximum penalty for noncompliance, $200." 

245.25 Delivery and filing of certificates. (1) The mal'l'iag'e certificates marked 
"duplicate" and "triplicate," duly signed, shall be given by the officiating person to the 
persons married by him; and the certificate marked "original," legibly and completely 
filled out with unfading ink, shall be returned by such officiating person, or, in the case 
of a marriage ceremony performed without an officiating person, then by the parties to 
the marriage contract, 01' either of them, to the register of deeds of tHe county in which 
said marriage was performed, or if performed in a city, then to the city health offirer 
within 3 days after the date of said marriage. The marriage license shall be retained by 
the person who solemnizes the marriage, or in case of a marriage performed without an 
officia ting person, by the parties to the marriage contract, or either of them, to be prima 
facie evidence of authority to perform the marriage ceremony. 

(2) When a marriage is entered into outside of this state and either of the parties 
resides in Wisconsin, they may file their certificate of marriage with the register of deeds 
or city health officer, and thereafter that certificate shall be filed, forwarded and recorded 
as though the marriage had occurred in this state. 

245.26 Penalty for unlawful solemnization of marriage. If any officiating person 
shall solemnize a marriage unless the contracting' parties shall in-st have obtained a proper 
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license as hereinbefore provided; or unless the parties to such marriage declare that they 
take each other as husband and wife; 01' without the presence of two competent witnesses; 
or, in the case of parties within the age limits prescribed in section 245.16, unless the con­
sent, as hereinbefore provided, of the parent 01' guardian of such parties be stated in such 
license; 01' shall solemnize a marriage knowing of any legal impediment thereto; or shall 
solemnize a marriage more than thirty days from and after the date of the license; or shall 
falsely certify to the date of a marriage solemnized by him; or shall solemnize a marriage 
in a county other than the county prescribed in section 245.21, he shall be guilty of a mis­
demeanor, and, on conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than one hun­
dred dollars nor more than five hundred dollars, or by imprisonment in the county jail for 
not more than one year, or by both such fine and imprisonment. 

245.27 Penalty for unlawful solemnization by parties. Where a marriage is sol­
emnized without the presence of an officiating person, then, and in that case, if the parties 
to such marriage shall solemnize the same more than thirty days from and after the date 
of the license; or shall falsely certify to the date of such marriage; or shall solemnize the 
same in a county other than the county prescribed in section 245.21, they or either of them 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and on conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of 
not less than one hundred dollars nor more than five hundred dollars, 01' by imprisonment 
in the county jail for not more than one year, or by both such fine and imprisonment. 

245.28 Penalty for false solemnization of marriage. If any person, not being duly 
authorized by the laws of this state, shall wilfully or knowingly umlertake to solemnize a 
marriage in this state, 01' if any person shall participate in or in any way aid 01' abet any 
false or fictitious marriage, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction thereof, 
shall be punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars nor more than one thousand 
dollars, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year, or by both such 
fine and imprisonment. 

245.29 Penalty for failure to file certificate. Every officiating person, or persons 
marrying without the presence of an officiating person, as provided by section 245.12 
(2), who shall neglect or refuse to transmit the original certificate of any marriage solem­
nized by him or them, to the register of deeds of the county or the city health officer as pro­
vided in section 69.09 three days after the date of such marriage, shall be fined the sum of 
not to exceed $200. 

245.30 Penalty for violations relating to records. Any county clerk who shall refuse 
or neglect to enter upon the marriage license docket a complete record of each application, 
and of each marriage license issued from his office, immediately after the same shall have 
been made or issued, as the case may be, or shall fail to keep snch marriage license docket 
open for inspection or examination by the public during office hours, or shall prohibit or 
prevent any person from making a copy 01' abstract of the entries in the marriage license 
docket, slutll for each such illegal act, omission or denial, be fined the sum of not to exceed 
fifty dollal-,s. 

245.31 Action of debt to recover penalties. Any fine 01' forfeiture accruing under 
the provisions of sections 245.12 to 245.38 may be recovered by an action of debt, in the 
same manner as other debts are recovered by law, with the usual costs, in any COUl't of rec­
ord in any county in this state in which the defendant or defendants may be found. 

245.32 Unlawful marriages void; validation, All marriages hereafter contracted 
in violation of any of the requirements of section 245.12 shall be null and void (except as 
provided in sections 245.33 and 245.34) ; provided, that the parties to any such void mal'­
riage may, at any time, validate such marriage by complying with the requirements of sec­
tions 245.12 to 245.38. 

245.33 Immaterial irregularities as to authority of person officiating. No marriag'e 
hereafter contracted shall be void by I'eason of want of authority 01' jurisdiction in the offi­
ciating person solemnizing such marriage, if the marriage is in other respects lawful, and 
is consummated with the full belief on the part of the persons so married, or either of them, 
that they have been lawfully joined in marriage. 

245.34 Immaterial irregularities otherwise. No marriage hereafter contracted shall 
be void either by reason of the license having been issued without the consent of the par­
ents 01' guardian as proyided in section 245.16, or by a county clerk not having' jurisdiction 
to issue the same, 01' by reason of any omission, informality or irregularity of form in the 
application for the license or in the license itself, or by reason of the incompetency of the 
witnesses to such marriage, or because the marriage may have been solemnized in a county 
other than the county prescribed in flection 245.21, or more than thirty days after the date 
of the license, if the marriage is in other respects lawful and is consummated with the full 
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belief on the part of the persons so married, or either of them, that they have been lawfully 
joined in marriag'e. Where a marriage has been celebrated in one of the forms provided for 
in section 245.12, and the parties thereto have immediately thereafter assumed the habit and 
repute of husband and wife, and having continued the same uninterruptedly thereafter for 
the period of one year, or until the death of either of them, it shall be deemed that a license 
has been issued as required by sections 245.12 to 245.38. 

245.35 Removal of impediments to subsequent marriage. If a person during the 
lifetime of a husband or wife with whom the marriage is in force, enters into a subsequent 
mal'l'iage contract in accOl'dance with the provisions of section 245.12, and the parties 
thereto live together thereafter as husband and wife, and such subsequent mUl'l'iage contract 
was entered into by one of the parties in good faith, in the full belief that the former hus­
band or wife was dead, or that the former marriage had been annulled, or dissolved by a 
divorce, or witho,ut knowledge of such former marriage, they shall, after the impediment to 
their marriage has been removed by the death or divorce of the other party to such former 
ma1'l'iage, if they continue to live together as husband and wife in good faith on the part of 
one of them, be held to have been legally married from and after the removal of such im­
pediment, and the issue of such subsequent ma1'l'iage shall be considered as the legitimate 
issue of both parents. 

245.36 Legitimation of children. In any and every case where the father and 
mother of an illegitimate child or children shall lawfully intermarry, except where the 
parental rights of the mother were terminated prior thereto, such child or children shl111 
thereby become legitimated and enjoy all the rights and privileges of legitimacy as if they 
had been born during the wedlock of their parents; and this section shall be taken to apply 
to all cases prior to its date, as well as those subsequent thereto; provided, that no estate 
already vested shall @e divested by section 237.06 and seations 245.12 to 245.38. The issue 
of all marriages declal'ednull in law shall, nevertheless, be legitimate. 

History: 1951 c. 471. 

A marriage to one not the father occur- mization of the child by the second mar­
ring before the marriage of mother and riage. Estate of Cogan, 267 ,V 20, 64 NW 
natural father does not prevent the legiti- (2d) 454. 

245.37 Interpretation of marriage law. Sections 245.12 to 245.38 shall be so in­
terpreted and construed as to effectuate their general purpose to make uniforlll the law 
of those states which enact them. 

245.38 Fee to county clerk. Each county clerk shall receive as a fee for each license 
granted the sum of one dollar, which shall become a part of the funds of the county, plus 
a notary fee which may be retained by county clerks operating' on a fee 01' part fee ,basis. 




