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CHAPTER 151.
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151.07 Dangerous drugs,

151.01 Board. (1) The state board of pharmacy consists of 5 resident pharmacists,
at the time of appointment actually engaged in practice, appointed by the governor, one
each year for a term of 5 years. Each member of the board, except the secretary, shall:
be paid $20 per day when actunally and hnecessarily engaged in the performance of his
duties. The secretary of the board shall be paid an annual salary to be fixed by the board.
If the secretary is a member of the board, such salary shall be in lieu of per diem.

(2) Annnal meeting shall be held in April, at which president and secretary-treasurer
shall be elected for terms of one year. Meetings for examination shall be held at least
semiannually. Time and place of meetings shall be fixed by president and secretary.
Thirty days’ public notice shall be given of examinations.

(3) The secretary-treasurer need not be a memher. He shall keep a record of the
proceedings and a register of the names and places of business of persons registered under
this chapter, and the books, registers and records of the board as made and kept by’ the
secretary or under his supervision, subject to the direction of the hoard, shall be prima
facie evidence of the matters therein recorded. He shall give such bond and receive such
salary as the board determines. Members and officers shall receive their actual and neces-
sary expenses. The board shall have the right to employ inspectors, special investigators,
chemists, agents and clerical help for the purpose of carrying on the work of the board
and shall have authority to employ an attorney when it deems necessary, The board shall
have a seal, and the president and secretary may issue subpoenas and administer oaths.
The board may pay out of its own funds witness fees and such other expenses as may
be necessary and incidental to the earrying out of its functions.

(4) The board may adopt by-laws, rules and regulations, and shall cause prosecution
of violations of this chapter. It shall report annually, to the governor and the Wiseonsin
pharmaceutical association, its proceedings, registrations, and receipts and dishursements.

History: 1951 c. 319 s, 246; 1953 c. 173,

151,02 Registration. (1) All candidates for entrance to examination for registra-
tion as pharmacists must file application with the seeretary of the board and pay the re-’
quired fee of $35, at least 15 days before the date of examination. The fee for all subse-
quent examinations shall be $20. All candidates must be at least 21 years of age; must be
of good moral character and temperate in habits; and if not citizens of the United States
must have filed and proven their intentions of hecoming citizens; and must be graduates
of a standard, recognized high school, or must have aequired the equivalent of a high
school edueation in some other institution of equal rank or standing, or must have passed
an examination for the equivalent of high school given by a state university or by a state
department or bureau of education, issuing a qualifying certificate for the necessary high
school units recognized by the University of Wisconsin, or any other equivalent of a high
school education recognized by the University of Wisconsin.

(2) Every such applicant for examination and registration as pharmacist must, in
addition, file with the secretary proof satisfactory to the board, of having had at least
48 months of pharmaceutical training consisting of:

(a) Graduation from a school or college of pharmacy or a department of pharmacy of
a nniversity, which is recognized by the hoard and which requirves for graduation at least’
a 4-year course. Credit for actual time of attendance at the school, college or department
of pharmaey of a university shall be given on the required 48 months of pharmaceutical
training; the remainder of the 48 months must be practice and experience in a retail phar-
magy or drug store under the dirvection and supervision of a registered pharmacist, which
practice and experience shall he predominantly work directly related to the selling of
drugs, preparing and compounding of pharmaceutical preparations and physicians’ pre-
seriptions, and keeping of records and making of reports required under state and federal
statutes. The said practice and experience shall include an aggregate of 12 calendar
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months commenecing not earlier than the close of the sophomore college year. Credit for
such periods of practice and experience shall be allowed in the discretion of the board in
accordance with such regulations as it may from time to time adopt. There shall be a fee
of $1 for registration of apprentices under this subsection. The board may upon satis-
faetory proof recognize and accept evidence of said practice and experience performed
in whole or in part in any other state provided the same is approved and verified by the
state board of pharmacy or equivalent agency of such other state.

(b) Any candidate who shall have heen rvegistered as an assistant pharmacist prior
to the date of his application for examination, and continuously during the 4 years imme-
diately prior thereto shall have been employed in a licensed drug store or drug stores on
a full-time basis, or personally operated a drug store on a full-time basis, shall he eligible
to take the examination for registered pharmacist. In computing such continuous 4-year
period, service of the candidate in the armed forees of the United States shall not he
deemed to have interrupted the required continuous drug store employment or operation.

(3) Applicants filing proofs, satisfactory to the board, of qualifications and training
as outlined in sub. (2) shall, after having passed examination by the board, and wpon pay-
ment of a $5 certificate fee, be granted certificates as registered pharmacists. Proof satis-
factory to the board covering experience, preliminary education, college of pharmacy
graduation and character herein requived shall be filed with the secretary of the hoard.
Every registered pharmacist may continue to be such by annually, at such time as the
board may determine, renewing his certificate upon paying the fee of $10. Failure to
obtaine such renewal for 60 days after the secretary of such hoard has given a second notice
of the expiration of his registration, shall terminate the right of any person to be a regis-
tered pharmacist within the meaning of this seetion, and such right can only be acquired
by compliance with the provisions concerning original registration, again applying for
and passing an examination satisfactory to the board.

(5) Every registered assistant pharmacist may continue to be such by annually, at
such time as the board of pharmacy may determine, making application thereto for the
renewal of his certificate and paying the preseribed fee of $4. Failure to obtain such
renewal for 60 days after the secretary of such board shall have given a second notice of
the expiration of his registration, shall terminate the right of any person to be a regis-
tered assistant pharmacist within the meaning of this section, and such right can only he
acquired by compliance with the provisions concerning original registration, again apply-
ing for and passing an examination satisfactory to the board. The issuance of either of
the certificates provided for in this section shall entitle the person to whom if is issued
to be registered in the proper class.

(6) The board may in its discretion register as a pharmacist without examination, any
person who is duly registered in some other state; provided, that the said person shall
produce satisfactory evidence of having had the required secondary and professional edu-
cation and training and is possessed of good character and habits demanded of applicants
for registration as pharmacists under the laws of this state, and upon payment of $50
excepting that persons of good tharacter and habits who have become registered as phar-
macists in some other state prior to July 31, 1927, shall he required to meet only the re-
quirements which existed in this state at the time when they became registered in such
other state, and provided also that. the state from which the applicant applies shall, under
like conditiond, grant reciprocal registration as a pharmacist without examination to phar-.
thacists duly registered in this stafe.

(7) The board, upon notice and hearing, may suspend or revoke the registration of
one guilty of felony or gross immorality, or who is addicted to aleoholie lignors or nareotic
drugs, or addicted to the use of barbiturates to an extent affecting his fitness as a pharma-
cist, or whose registration was secured by frand or mistake or who has been guilty of a
violation of this ehapter or of violations of any of the rules or regulations of the hoard,
or who has been guilty of acts of unprofessional conduect as herein defined. No such revo-
cation shall become effective until 20 days after notice of the decision of the hoard has
been served upon the person accused. Decisions of the hoard under this section shall be
subject to review as provided in ch. 227 and in case the provisions thereof are invoked by
the aceused within such 20-day period, such order of revocation shall become effective only
at such time as may be ordered by the court. Unprofessional conduet means:

(a) Sale of adulterated drugs as defined in s. 97.25,

(b) . Compounding and dispensing a preseription by using substances not prescribed
or called for, or by omitting substances preseribed or called for. This does not apply
to the addition of emulsifiers, wetting agents, solvents or like items intended for proper
pharmaceutical technique.

(8) No person shall use the title “pharmacist” or “assistant pharmacist” unless duly
registered as such under the provisions of this chapter, nor shall ayy person, firm or
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corporation use or display the title “drug store,” “pharmacy,” “apothecary,” or any other
title, symbol, insignia (including without limitation because of enumeration, mortar and
pestle, colored show globes, the sign Rx and the like) having the same or similar meaning
for such place of business unless such place of business be one where drugs are sold in
accordance with the provisions of section 151.04.

(9) No drug store, pharmacy, apothecary shop, or any similar place of business, shall
be opened or kept open for the transaction of business until it has heen registered with
and a permit therefor has been issued by the state board of pharmacy. This section shall
not be construed to apply to any store or stores opened for the sale of proprietary or so-
called patent medicines which conform to state and federal laws. Every pharmacy and
store conducted under the supervision of a registered pharmacist shall be annually regis-
tered on June 1 with the state board of pharmaecy, on application forms provided for that
purpose by the board, on request, and the hoard shall thereupon issue a suitable certificate
of registration to such persons which permit shall he conspienously displayed in a front
window or door of such place of business, Applications for registration as a pharmaey ox
drug store shall include information regarding the names of all pharmacists, assistant
pharmacists and registered apprentices who are employed therein. Only places in charge
of a registered pharmacist and holding a permit as a pharmacy may use the title “phar-
macy,” “pharmacist,” “apothecary” or “drug store,” or use customary titles, symbols or
insignia and each must be under the separate management of a registered pharmaecist, who
shall not engage to manage or supervise more than one such place, but nothing contained
in this section shall prevent a person from owning and conducting more than one phar-
macy; provided, each be under the separate supervision of a registered pharmaecist. For
the registration of every new drug store or any drug store upon a change of ownership
herein required to he registered, there shall he paid an inspection fee of $15 together with
a registration fee of $20. Upon annual renewal of registration all places shall pay a fee
of $20, payable on June 1 of each year. Any person failing to register his place of busi-
ness as hervein required, failing to have in charge of each pharmacy a registered pharma-
cist, who does not manage or supervise more than one pharmacy, or who otherwise fails
to eomply with this section, may, upon convietion, be fined not less than $25 nor more than
$50 for each separate offense, Each day’s violation is deemed a separate offense,

(10) Every pharmacy shall be equipped with proper pharmaceutical utensils so that
compounding of preseriptions and dispensing of medicaments ecan be properly performed.
The Wisconsin hoard of pharmacy, with the advice and consent of the faculty of the uni-
vertisy of Wisconsin school of pharmacy, shall preseribe the minimum standards of such
professional and technical equipment, which shall inelude copies of the latest revisions of
the United States Pharmacopoeia and the National Formulary and any supplement to
either of them. No permit shall be issued or continued for the conduet of a pharmacy
unless the provisions of this subsection have heen complied with. Failure to maintain a
pharmacy equipped with proper sanitary appliances or in a elean and orderly manner
constitute grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of a pharmacy permit. There
shall be kept in every pharmacy a suitable book or file, in which every prescription eom-
pounded or dispensed shall be preserved for a period of not less than 5 years.

History: 1951 c. 62, 122, 727; 1953 c. 172, 173; 1955 ¢, 115; 1957 ¢, 81, 701,

Pharmaceutical training obtained in a
licensed retail pharmacy or drug store oper-
ated by a hospital under the direction and
supervision of a registered pharmacist must
be accepted by the state board of pharmacy
as a part of the training course required of
applicants for registration as pharmacists.
40 Atty. Gen. 244,

Drug store permits under (9) are to be
issued to applicants whose premises and
equipment qualify under the provisions of
(10), if the drug business is at all times
under the separate management of a regis-
tered pharmacist. The ownership of the
store is immaterial, as is the fact that other
lines of business are conducted in connec~
tion therewith by non-pharmacists. 40 Atty,
Gen. 290.

Under (9), when a druggist moves his
drug store from one location to another the
new store must he inspected and registered
and the proper fees paid therefor regard-
less of the distance from the old location to

151,03 Permit. In rural distriets with

the new location and regardless of the fact
that the druggist has just renewed his an-
nual registration of the old store. 44 Atty.
Gen, 179

Licensed pharmacist who operates a drug
store in leased premises, located in a fac-
tory, should apply for drug store registra-
tion and permit under (9). If the owner of
the property, however, proposes to hire the
pharmacist and control the operations he
should apply for the permit rather than the
pharmacist employe. The fact that the fac-
tory owner proposes to furnish the drugs
free of charge to employes is not grounds
for denying a drug store permit, 44 Atty.
Gen, 214.

Person desiring to engage in training
for registration as a pharmacist must first
register as_an apprentice with the Wiscon-
sin_state hoard of pharmacy. Apprentice
training must be supervised by a pharma-
cist registered by the Wisconsin board. 46
Atty., Gen, 108,

no registered pharmacist or assistant phar-

macist within 3 miles, the board may issue to merehants permit to sell for one year drugs
and medicines specified therein, upon payment of the fee fixed by the hoard, not exceed-
ing $10. An applicant for a permit for a new rural store or for a permit upon change
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of ownership of an existing rural store shall pay an inspection fee of $15 in addition to
the annual permit fee of $10.

History: 1953 c, 173,

21 Atty. Gen. 25, to the effect that rural corporated city or village, is withdrawn. 39
permit to sell drugs and medicines may not Atty. Gen, 283,
be issued to a person who is a resident of in-

161,04 Practice. (1) Certificates of registration, renewals, and permits shall be
conspicuously exposed to public view in the place of husiness.

(2) No person shall sell, give away, barter, compound or dispense drugs, medicines or
poisons, nor permit it, in a town, village or city having a population of 500 or more unless
he be a registered pharmacist, nor institute nor eonduet a place therefor without a regis-
tered pharmacist in charge, except that a registered assistant pharmacist may do so under
the personal supervision of a registered pharmacist, and may have charge during the phar-
macist’s necessary absence, not to exceed 10 days. If the population is less than 500, only
a registered assistant pharmaecist is required and in such case a registered assistant phar-
macist, if otherwise qualified, may continue to operate his diug store, until death or retire-
ment, even though the population increase beyond 500.

(3) This shall not interfere with the dispensing of drugs, medicines or other articles
by physiciang, nor with the sale of proprietary medicines in sealed packages, labeled to
comply with the federal and state pure food and drug law, with directions for using, and
the name and location of the manufacturer, nor with the sale of economic poisons for use
in industrial arts, nor with the sale of economie poisons which comply with sections 94.67
to 94.71, nor with the sale of alum, ammonia, borax, bay rum, hicarbonate of soda, eream
of tartar, concentrated lye, olive oil, sal ammoniac, sal soda, sulphur, copperas, epsom
salts, glauber salts, castor oil, glycerine, senna leaves, indigo, blue vitriol, turpentine, wood
aleohol and denatured aleohol, .

(4) No person, firm or corporation shall manufacture, produce, package, pack or
prepare within this state any drugs or medicines except under the personal and immediate
supervision of a registered pharmacist or such other person as may be approved by the
board after an investigation and a determination that such other person or persons arve
qualified by seientific training and education to perform such duties of supervision in a
manner adequate to proteet the public health and safety. No person, firm or corporation
shall manufaecture, produce, package, pack or prepare any drugs or medicines within this
state without first obtaining a permit from the Wisconsin hoard of pharmaey. The issu-
ance of such permit shall be subject to such rules and regulations as the board may from
time to time adopt for the protection of the public health and safety.

(5) No person, firm or corporation shall engage in the sale or distribution at whole-
gale of any of the drugs defined in s. 151.07 (1) (a) to any of the classes of persons enn-
merated in s. 151.07 (8) without first obtaining a license for such purpose from the state
board of pharmacy. The fee for such license shall be $10 per annum and a license shall
expire one year after the date of issuance. Such license or renewals thereof shall be issued
in the discretion of the hoard to responsible applicants of good reputation.

(6) No person shall wilfully make a false statement in any preseription, order, report
or record, required by this chapter, nor make or utter any false or forged prescription or
written order.

History: 1953 ¢, 172; 1955 ¢, 115; 1957 ¢. 68.

Aspirin, milk of magnesia, and camphor- tient in.course of professional treatment is
ated oil are not “proprietary medicines” exempt from provisions of ch. 151, and no
within the meaning of 151.04¢ (3), excepting vioclation of 151.04 (2) or 151.07 (3) is in-
the sale of proprietary medicines from the volved where the particular prescription is
provisions in (2) prohibiting the sale of delivered to the patient by the office girl
drugs by persons other than registered who has been directed by the physician to
pharmacists or assistants. State v, Wakeen, select certain tablets from a designated
263 W 401, 57 NW (24) 364, container and package the same under the

See note to 95.64, citing 40 Atty. Gen. 841. general supervision of the physician, 41

Dispensing of drugs by physician to pa- Atty. Gen. 23.

151.06 Penalty. (1) Anyone who violates s. 151.04 (1) shall forfeit $10 for each
failure, and anyone who wilfully makes a false representation to procure registration or
permit for himself or another, or who violates this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a
misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $50 nor move than $100, or imprisoned in the
county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days, or both.

(2) Each member and officer of the bhoard shall investigate and institute actions for
violations of this chapter and eh, 161 and the district atforney shall promptly prosecute
upon notice from any source,

History: 1955 c. 10.

151.06 Definition of drug. The term “drug”, as used in this chapter, means:
(1) Articles recognized in the official United States Pharmacopoeia, official Homeo-
pathic Pharmacopoeia of the United States, or official National Formulary, or any supple-
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ment to any of them, intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or
prevention of disease in man or other animals; and

(2) All other articles intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or
prevention of disease in man or other animals; and

(8) Axticles (other than food) intended to affect the structure or any function of the
body of man or other animals; and

(4) Articles intended for use as a component of any articles specified in subsections
(1), (2) or (3); but does not include surgical, dental or laboratory instruments, gases,
oxygen therapy equipment, X-ray apparatus, or therapeutic lamps, their components,
‘parts or accessories; or equipment, instruments, apparatus, or confrivances used to render
such articles effective in medical, surgical or dental treatment; or articles intended for
use or consumption in or for mechanieal, industrial, manufacturing, or scientific applica-

tions or purposes.

151.06 (1) defining the term “drug” as
used in ch. 151, to mean articles recognized
in the official United States Pharmacopoeia,
official Homeopathic Pharmacoboeia of the
United States, or official National Formu-
lary, “or any supplement to any of them,”
intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, miti-
gation, treatment or prevention of disease,
does not violate the constitution as being
an ' unlawful delegation of legislative au-
thority to the private organizations located

lications referred +to therein. State v.
Wakeen, 263 W 401, 57 NW (2d4) 364.

151.06 (1) to (4), defining the term “drug”
as used in ch. 151, is not unconstitutional as
being vague and indefinite, and arbitrary
and discriminatory, and thereby depriving
persons, prohibited by 151.04 (2) from sell-
ing drugs, of property without due process
of law and denying to them the equal pro-
tection of the laws. State v. Wakeen, 263
W 401, 57 NW (2d) 364.

outside of the state which compile the pub-

© 151.07 Dangerous drugs,
requires :

(a) “Dangerous drug” means any drug unsafe for self-medication and shall be
limited at the time of the effective date of this act [July 26, 1947] to include:

1. Barbiturates, the salts and derivatives of barbiturie acid, also known as malony-
lurea, having hypnotic or somnifacient action, and compounds, preparations and mix-
tures thereof.

2. Sulfonamides or derivatives, compounds or mixtures thereof,

. Thyroid and its contained or derived active compounds or mixtures thereof.

. Cinchophen, neocinehophen, or compounds or mixtures thereof,

. Aminopyrine, or compounds or mixtures thereof.

. Amphetamine, desoxyephedrine, or compounds or mixtures thereof, except prep-
arations for use in the nose and unfit for internal use.

7. Diethyl-stilbestrol, or compounds or mixtures thereof.

8. Ergot, cotton root or their contained or derived active compounds or mixtures
thereof.

9. No compound, mixture or preparation shall be deemed a dangerous drug, if, in the
case of barbiturates, it contains a sufficient quantity of another drug or drugs in addition
to the salts or derivatives to cause it to produce an action other than its hypnotic or som-
nifacient action, or if it is intended for use as a spray or gargle or for external applica-
tion and, contains, in addition to snch salts or derivatives, some other drug or drugs ren-
dering it unfit for internal administration. No eompound, mixture or preparation shall
be deemed a dangerous drug if it is designed for the purpose of treating amimals or poul-
try and so laheled.

(b) “Delivery” means selling, dispensing, giving away or supplying in any other
manner, '

(e) “Patient” means the individual for whom dangerous drugs arve prescribed or to
whom dangerous drugs are administered.

(d) “Person” includes an individual, corporation, partnership or association.

(e) “Practitioner” means a person licensed by law to prescribe and administer dan-
gerous drugs.

(£) “Pharmacist” means a person duly registered with the state board of pharmacy
as a compounder, dispenser and supplier of drngs.

(g) “Prescription” means a written order (or an oral order later reduced to writing)
by a practitioner for a dangerous drug for a particular patient, which specifies the date
of its issue, the name and address of such practitioner, the name and address of the patient,
the name and quantity of the dangerous drug presecribed, dirvections for use of such drug
and in case of a written order the signature of such practitioner.

(h) “Manufacturer” means persons other than pharmacists who manufacture dan-
gerous drugs, and ineludes persons who prepare such drugs in dosage forms by mixing,
compounding, encapsulating, entableting, or other process.

(i) “Wholesaler” means persons engaged in the business of distributing dangerous
drugs to persons included in any of the classes named in subsection (8).

(1) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise

O OV o
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(3) “Warehouseman” meansg persons who store dangerous drugs for others and who
have no control over the disposition of such dangerous drugs except for the purpose of
such storage.

(2) No person except a practitioner ghall deliver any dangerous drug except upon the
prescription of a practifioner, An oral preseription, by telephone or otherwise, shall be
promptly reduced to writing and filed by the pharmacist.

(8) No person, except a registered pharmacist or a praectitioner shall prepare, com-
pound, dispense or prepare for delivery for a patient any dangerous drug.

(4) No dangerouns drug shall be delivered unless there is affixed to the immediate con-
tainer a label disclosing:

(a) The name and address of the owner of the establishment from which such drug
was delivered.

(b) The date on which the prescription for such drug was filled.

(e) The number of such preseription as filed in the preseription file of the pharmacist
who filled such preseription,

(d) The name of the praetitioner who preseribed such drug.

(e) The name and address of the patient.

(£) Directions for use of the drug as contained in the prescription. L

(5) No prescription for a dangerous drug shall be refilled except as designated on
such prescription, and unless accurate record of such refilling is entered on such preserip-
tion showing the date and amount thereof. No oral or written prescription shall be
refilled unless the provisions of 151.07 (2) have been first complied with and unless either
written or oral authority has been given by the prescriber.

(7) It shall be unlawful for any person o have any dangerous drug in his possession
nnless such drug was obtained in compliance with the provisions hereof.

(8) The provisions of subsections (2), (3), (4) and (7) shall not be applicable to the
wholesale delivery of dangerous drugs to persons included in any of the classes herein-
after named ; nor to the agents or employes of such persons for use in the usual course of
their business or practice or in the performance of their official duties, as the ease may be;
nor to the possession of dangerous drugs by such persons or their agents or employes
for such use:

(a) Pharmadists.

(b) Practitioners.

(e) Persons who procure dangerous drugs for the purpose of lawful research, teach-
ing or testing and not for resale,

(d) Hospitals and other institutions which proenre dangerous drugs for lawful ad-
ministration by practitioners.

(e) Officers or employes of the federal government or state or local governments.

(f) Manufacturers and wholesalers.

(9) The state hoard of pharmacy is hereby authorized to promulgate necessary regu-
lations for administration and enforcement of this section.

(10) Any person who violates any provision of this seetion shall be imprisoned not
more than one year or fined not more than $500, or both; but if a further violation is
committed after a convietion of such person under this section has become final, such
person shall be imprisoned not more than 2 years or fined not more than $1,000, or both.

History: 1951 c. 261 s, 10; 1953 c. 391,

See mnote to 269.56, citing Wisconsin See note to 151.04, citing 41 Atty, Gen. 23.
Pharmaceutical Asso. v, Lee, 264 W 325, 58
NW (2d) 700,

151.10 Poisons, dispensing regulated. (1) No person shall sell or deliver any of
the peisonous salts or compounds of antimony, arsenie, chromiwm, lead, mercury, silver,
tin or zine, the concentrated mineral acids; oxalie, carbolic or hydroeyanic acids or their
salts, formaldehyde, yellow phosphorus, the essential oils of almonds, pennyroyal, rue,
savin or tansy; eroton oil, creosote, chloroform, cantharides, aconite, belladonna, bitter
almonds, colchicum, cotton root, Cannabis indiea, digitalis, ergot, hyoseyamus, lobelia, nux
vomica, physostigma, strophanthus, stramonrium, veratrum viride, or any of the poisonous
alkaloids or glucosides derived from the foregoing or in any other virulent poison, unless
it be upon the preseription of authorized practitioners of medicine, dentistry or veterinary
mediecine, except as follows:

(a) The dispenser shall ascertain that the applicant is aware of the poisonous charac-
ter and desires it for a lawful purpose.

(b) He shall plainly label the container with the name of the substanee, the word
“Poison,” and the name and address of the dispenser.

(e) Before delivery he shall record in a hook kept for that purpose the name of the
article, the quantity, the purpose, the date, the name and address of the person for whom
procured, and the name of the individual personally dispensing the same; and said hock
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shall be preserved by the owner thereof for af least 3 years after the date of the last entry
therein, and shall be open to inspection by authorized officers,

(d) If the applicant be under 14 years of age, he must have the written order of an
adult person.

(2) This section does not apply to manufacturers and wholesalers selling at wholesale,
nor to economic poisons which comply with ss. 94.67 to 94.71, but containers other than
for economic poisons shall be labeled with the name of the substance, the word “Poison,”
and the name and address of the manufacturer or wholesaler.

(3) A “Poison” labhel is not required when a single container or when one-half ounce
fluid or avoirdupois does not contain more than an adult medicinal dose nor in the case of
liniments, ointments or other external preparations sold in good faith as such, and plainly
labeled “for external use only,” nor in the case of pills, tablets or lozenges, when the dose
recommended does not contain more than one-quarter of an adult medicinal dose.

History: 1951 c. 516; 1956 ¢, 10,

151.11 Placing drugs forbidden. Except as authorized by law, no person shall put
any drug, medicine or chemical, or any compound or combination thereof in any public
iplace, or; without the consent of the owner or oceupant upon any private premises, nor
cause it to be done.

History: 1955 ¢, 10,

151,12 Penalties, Any person who chall violate any of the provisions of s, 151.10
or 151.11 shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $1,000, or imprisoued not less
than one year nor more than 5 years.

History: 1953 c. 200; 1955 ¢, 10.

151.156 Advertising or display of indecent arficles, sale in certain cases prohibited.
(1) As used in this chapter, the term “indecent articles” means any drug, medicine, mix-
ture, preparation, instrument, article or device of whatsoever nature used or intended or
represented to be nsed to procure a miscarriage or prevent pregnaney.

(2) No person, firm or corporation shall publish, distribute or cireulate any circular,
card, advertisement or notice of any kind offering or advertising any indecent article for
sale, nor shall exhibit or display any indecent article to the publie.

(3) No person, firm or eorporation shall manufacture, purchase, or rent, or have in
his or its possession or under hig or its control, any slot machine, or other mechanism or
means so designed and constructed as to contain and hold indecent articles and to release
the same upon the deposit therein of a coin or other thing of value. ,

(4) No person, firm or corporation shall sell or dispose of or attempt or offer to sell
or dispose of any indecent articles to or for any unmarried person; and no sale in any
case of any indecent articles shall be made except by a pharmacist registered under
the provisions of ch. 151 or a physician or surgeon duly licensed under the laws of this
state.

(5) Any person, firm or corporation violating any provision of this seetion shall be
deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon convietion thereof shall be punished by a fine
of not less than $100 nor more than $5600 or by imprisonment in the county jail for not
to exceed 6 months, or by hoth such fine and imprisonment.

History: 1955 c. 696 s, 291,






