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GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

344.01 Words and phrases defined. (1) Words and phrases defined in ss. 340.01 
and 343.01 are used in the same sense in this chapter unless a different 'definition is spe­
cifically provided. 

(2) In this chapter the following words and phrases have the designated meanings: 
(a) "Judgment" means a judgment for damages rendered by a court of competent 

jm'.isdiction of any state or of the United States upon a cause of action arising out of the 
ownership, maintenance or use of any motor vehicle, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bo'dily injury to 01' death of any person and damaO'es because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof, ;hich judg­
ment has become final by expiration without appeal of the time within which an appeal 
might have been perfected 01' by final affirmation on appeal. "Judgment" also includes a 
judgment rendered by a COUl't of competent jurisdiction upon a cause of action on an 
agreement of settlement for damages of the type specified in this paragraph, which judg­
ment has become final within the meaning of this paragraph. 

(b) "Motor vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle and also includes trailers and 
semitrailers designed for use with such vehicles, except that "motor vehicle" 'does !lot 
include fa.rm tractors, well dl'.illers or road machinery. . 

(c) "qperatOl:" means a person who is in actual or constructive physical control of ll: 
motor vehIcle. It mcludes a person who has parked a motor vehicle, It includes the driver 
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of a vehicle being pushed 01' towed and, in case there ill no person actually doing the driv­
ing, the person who is doing the pushing or towing. 

(d) "Proof of financial responsibility" or "proof of financial responsibility for the 
future" means proof of ability to respond in damages for liability on account of acci­
dents occurring subsequent to the effective date of such proof, arising out of the owner­
ship, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle in the amount of $10,000 because of bodily 
injlU'y to or death of one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one 
person, in the amount of $20,000 because of bodily injlU'y to or death of 2 or more per­
sons in anyone accident and in the amount of $5,000 because of injury to or destruction 
of property of others in anyone accident. 

(e) "Registration" means, in the case of a person whose vehicle is registered under 
eh. 341, the registration so issue'cl; in the case of a person whose vehicle is not so regis­
tered, it means the privilege to register a vehicle in Wisconsin and the reciprocal plivi­
lege granted a nonresident to operate in Wisconsin a vehicle not registered in Wisconsin. 

(f) "State" means any state, territory or possession of the United States, the District 
of Columbia, or any province of the Dominion of Canada. 

(g) "Vehicle" means every device in, upon or by which any person or property is or 
may be transported or drawn upon a highway, except vehicles used exclusively upon sta­
tionary rails or tracks or vehicles propclled by use of electlicity obtained from overhead 
trolley structlU'es. 

344.02 Administration of responsibility law. The commissioner shall administer 
and enforce this chapter and may, in his discretion, appoint any employe in the depart­
ment as his representative to affix his signature, including any facsimile signature adopted 
by him, to the administrative letters, notices and orders to enforce this chapter. 

344.03 Judicial review of commissioner's action. Any person aggrieved by any 
order or act of the commissioner pursuant to this chapter may, within 10 days after notice 
thereof, file a petition in the circuit court of Dane county for a review thereof in the man­
ner provided in ch. 227 for review of administrative decisions. The court shall summalily 
hear the petition and may make any appropriate order or decree. 

344.04 Power of court to stay suspension of registration of vehicles. (1) N ot-
1vithstanding' any other provision of this chapter, the commissioner shall not I'evoke or 
suspend the registration of a vehicle when ordered not to do so hy the court wherein the 
judgment for damages was had or, in a case not involVing a judgment, when orc1ered not 
to do so hy a cOlU't pursuant to petition of the registrant in accordance with sub. (2). 

(2) Upon receiving information, other than of a judgment for damages in a court of 
this state, that would be cause for revocation or suspension of registration, the commis­
sioner shall notify the registrant of his intention to revoke or suspend such registration. 
The registrant may thereupon petition any court of record in his county for an order 
enjoining the commissioner's contemplated action, whereupon the judge of such court 
shall grant an order restraining' the commissioner in the matter until the petition is finally 
determined by the court. If such petition and order are served upon the conmlissioner 
within 10 days after the date of the commissioner's notice or in any event before the 
commissioner has revoke\l or suspended the registration, the commissioner sha11 await 
the final determination of the COlU't. The commissioner shall be given notice of the hearing. 
Upon a showing' that it would result in undue hardship upon the petitioner to have any 
such registration revoked or suspended, the court shall issue an order restraining the 
commissioner from revoking or suspending the registration. 

(3) This section does not authOlize a, court to stay suspension 01' revocation of an 
operator's license. 

344.05 Courts to report nonpayment of certain judgments. (1) Whenever any 
judgment in excess of $100 for damages arising out of a motor vehicle accident is not 
satisfied within 30 days after its having' become final by expiration without appeal of the 
time within which an a.ppeal might have been perfected or by final affirmation on appeal, 
the clerk of the court in which such judgment was rendered, or the jU'dge if the court has 
no clerk, shall forthwith forward to the commissioner a certified copy of such judgment. 

(2) If the defendant named in any certified copy of a judgment reported to the com­
missioner is a nonresident, the commissioner shall transmit a certified copy of the judg­
ment to the official in charge of the issuance of licenses and registration cert.ificates of the 
state of which the defendant is a resident. 

344.06 Commissioner to furnish operating record. The commissioner shall upon 
request flU'nish a.ny person a certified abstract of the operating record of any person 
subject to the provisions of this chapter. If there is no record that such person has been 
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convicted of violating any law relating to the operation of a motor vehicle or of any 
injury 01' damage caused by such person, the commissioner shall so certify in the abstract. 
The abstract of the operating record also shall fully designate the motor vehicles, if any, 
regil1tered in the name of such person. Such abstract is not admissible in evidence in any 
action for damages 01' criminal proceeding arising out of a motor vehicle accident. 

344.07 Responsibility law not to prevent other process. Nothing in this chapter 
shall be construed as preventing the plaintiff in any action at law from relying for relief 
upon the other processes provided by law. 

344.08 Suspension for failure to report accident. (1) The commissioner may sus­
pend the operating' privilege 01' registration of any person who fails to report an acci­
dent as required by s. 346.70 or to give con-ectly the information requested by the com­
missioner in connection with such report unless, in the judgment of the commissioner, 
there was excusable cause for such failure or unless the accident did not result in injury 
or damage to the person 01' property of anyone other than the person so required to report. 

(2) Any operating' privilege suspended pursuant to this section, or suspended pill'SU­
ant to any other section for failure to report an accident, shall be reinstated in aceord­
ance with s. 344.09 at the end of 13 months following the accident if, during such 13-
month perio'd, no notice of action instituted within one yem' from the date of the accident 
has been filed with the department in the mllnner specified in s. 344.18 (1) (d). 

344.09 Reinstatement of suspended operating privilege and registration. (1) 
Whenever the commissioner is satisfied that the reason for suspension of an operating 
privilege under this chapter has been removed, including satisfaction of any of the re­
quirements of s. 344.18, he shall forthwith order reinstatement of such opemting privilege 
and shall give notice of such reinstatement to the person whose operating plivilege has 
been suspended. Such reinstatement order has the same effect as an automatic reinstate­
ment lmder s. 343.39. 

(2) Whenever an operating privilege suspended or revoked pursuant to this chapter 
is reinstated, any registration which was suspended 01' revoked along with the operating 
privilege is automatically reinstated and the department shall return any sun-endered and 
unexpired registration plate in its possession. 

SECURITY FOR PAST ACOIDENTS. 

344.12 Applicability of provisions relating to deposit of security for past acci­
dents. Subject to the exceptions contained in s. 344.14, the provisions of this chapter 
requiring deposit of security and requiring suspension for failure to deposit security 
apply to the operator and owner of every motor vehicle which is in any manner involved 
in an accident in this state which has resulted in bodily injury to 01' death of any person 
01' damage to property of any other person in excess of $100. 

344.13 Commissioner to determine amount of security required following accident 
and to give notice thereof. (1) The commissioner after receipt of a report of an acci­
dent of the type specified in s. 344.12 shall determine, with respect to such accident, the 
amolmt of secUlity which is sufficient in his judgment to satisfy any judgment for damages 
resulting from such accident which may be recovered against each operator and owner 
of the vehicles involved in such accident. Such determination shall be based upon the 
total property damage suffered by other persons whose property was involved in the acci­
dent, not including the vehicle a person was operating when such operation was ,vith the 
owner's permission, and on the extent of personal injuries, including deaths, involving 
other parties to the accident. The determination as to the amount of security required 
shall be made without regard to the fault of the persons involved but shall not be made 
with respect to operators or owners who are exempt from the requirements of security and 
suspension under s. 344.14 (2). 

(2) The conmlissioner shall determine the amount of security required to be deposited 
by each person on the lJasis of the accident reports 01' other information submitted. In 
addition to the accident reports required by law, the commissioner may request from any 
of the persons, including passengers and pedestrians, involve'd in such accident such 
further information, sworn statements or other evidence relating to property damage, 
personal injury 01' death in motor. vehicle acci~ents as he deems necess.al·Y to aid in de­
termining the amount to be depOSIted as secUl'lty under s. 344.14. Frulure of a person 
to comply with such request is grounds for suspending such person's operating privilege 
but no suspension shall be made on suM grounds until one follow-up request has been 
made and at least 20 'days have elapsed since the mailing of the first request. 

(3) The commissioner within 60 days after receipt of a report of an accident of the 
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type specified in s. 344.12 and upon determining the amount of security to be required of 
any person involved in such accident or to be required of the owner of any vehicle involved 
in such accident, shall give at least 10 days' written notice to every such person of the 
amount of security required to be deposited by him. The notice also shall state that an 
order of suspension will be made as provided in s. 344.14, unless within such time security 
is deposited as required by the notice. The order of suspension may be made a part of the 
notice, with a provision that it will take effect on the date specified in this subsection unless 
security is deposited prior to that date. 

344.14 Suspension for failure to deposit security; exceptions. (1) If a person 
who was given notice pUl'suant to s. 344.13 (3) fails to deposit security in the amount and 
by the time specified in the notice, the commissioner shall forthwith suspend his operating 
privilege if he was the operator of a motor vehicle involved in the accident and all his 
registrations if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in the accident unless he 
furnishes proof satisfactory to the commissioner that he comes within one of the exceptions 
set forth in sub. (2). If the owner and operator are separate persons, only one of them 
need deposit security or the 2 persons may co-operate in depositing secUl'ity. Upon request 
of the owner or operator in question, the commissioner may postpone the effective date of 
a suspension under this section not to exceed 20 days. 

(2) The requirements as to security and suspension stated in sub. (1) do not apply: 
(a.) To the owner of a motor vehicle involved in an accident if the owner had in effect 

at the time of the accident an automobile liability policy or bon'd with respect to such 
motor vehicle, which policy or bond complies ,vith the requirements of s. 344.15. 

(b) To the operator who is not the owner of the vehicle involved in the accident if 
either the owner had in effect an automobile liability policy or bond applying to the oper­
atOl"s operation of the motor vehicle at the time of the accident or there was in effect at the 
time of the accident an automobile liability policy or bond with respect to the operator's 
operation of motor vehicles not owned by him, which policy or bond meets the require­
ments of s. 344.15. 

( c) To the operator 01' ownCl' whose liability for damages resulting from the accident 
is, in the judgment of the commissioner, covered by any other form of liability inSUl'ance 
policy or bond meeting the requirements of s. 344.15. 

(d) To any person qualifying as a self-inSUl'er under s. 344.16 or to any person oper­
ating a vehicle for such self-insurer. 

( e) To the operator or owner of a vehicle involved in an accident wherein no injury 
was caused to the person of anyone other than snch operator or owner and wherein dam­
age to property of anyone person other than such operator or owner did not exceed $100. 

(f) To the operator or owner of a vehicle legally pal·ked at the time of the accident, 
provided that the operators of the other vehicles involved admit that such vehicle was 
legally parked or other proof establishing snch fact to the commissioner's satisfaction is 
filed. 

(g') To the owner of a. vehicle if, at the time of the accident, the vehicle was being 
operated without his permission, express or implied, or was parked by a person who ha'd 
been operating snch vehicle without such permission. 

(h) To any person who would otherwise have to deposit security if, prior to the date 
the cOlllll1issioner would otherwise suspend such person's operating privilege and registra­
tions under sub. (1), there is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that 
such person has been released from liability or has been finally adjudicated not to be liable 
or has execllted a warrant for confession of judgment payable when and in such instal­
ments as the parties have agreed to or has executed a duly acknowledged written agree­
ment providing for the payment of an agreed amount in instalments with respect to all 
claims for injuries or damage resulting from the accident. The commissioner may accept 
a release from liability executed by a parent as natural guardian on behalf of a minor 
child ,vith respect to property damage or personal injuries sustained by such minor, pro­
vided that the total 'damages, including the cost of medical care, does not exceed $200 and 
that, in the case of personal injury, the doctor's certificate of injmy filed with the depart­
ment certifies that such minor received no permanent injUl'Y. 

. (i) To the owner of a vehicle insured as required by s. 40.57, 194.41 or 194.42 or to 
the operator of such vehicle if operating with the owner's permission at the time of the 
accident. 

(j) To the owner of a vehicle involved in an accident if at the time of the accident 
s~lCh vehicle was owned by or leased to the United States, this state or any county or mu­
nicipality of this state, 01' to the operator of snch vehicle if operating such vehicle with 
permission. 

. (3) A suspension for failing to deposit security under sub. (1) shall suspend only 
the operator's license and operating privileges thereunder and shall not suspend a person's 
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chauffeUJ"s license or his operating privilege thereunder when operating a vehicle subject 
to the requirements of s. 194.41 01' 194.42 or a vehicle owned by or leased to the United 
States, this state 01' any county 01' nllmicipality of this state. 

344.15 Requirements as to policy or bond. (1) No policy 01' bond is effective under 
s. 344.14 unless issued by an insurance company 01' surety company authorized to do 
Qusiness in this state, except as otherwise provided in sub. (2), nor unless such policy or 
bond is subject, if the accident has resulted in bodily injUJ'y or death, to a limit, exclu­
sive of interest and costs, of not less than $10,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 
one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one person, to a limit ,of not 
less than $20,000 because of bo'dily injury to or death of 2 or more person~, in, anyone 
accident and, if the accident has resulted in injury to 01' destruction of property, to a 
limit of not less than $5,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in 
anyone accident. . 

(2) A policy or bond with respect to a vehicle which was not registered in this state 
or was registered elsewhere at the time of the effective date of the policy or bond or the 
most recent renewal thereof may be effective under s. 344.14 even though not issued by an 
insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this state if the 
following conditions are complied with: 

(a) The policy or bond either meets the liability limits specified in sub. (1) or meets 
the liability limits of the equivalent law of the state in which issued and snch limits are, 
in the judgment of the commissioner, adequate to COVel' any damage or injury involved 
in the accident in question. 

(b) The company which issued the policy or bond executes a power of attorney au­
thorizing the commissioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any ac­
tion upon such policy or bond arising out of such accident. 

(3) Where service of process is made on the commissioner lmdel' a power of attorney 
filed in accordance with sub. (2), the commissioner shall forthwith mail by registered mail 
a copy of the process papers to the company at the address given in the file<l power of 
attorney. In all cases of such service, there shall be served the original, one copy for the 
commissioner's record of service and such additional munber of copies as there are de­
fendants so served in the action. The original shall be returned with proper certificate of 
service attached for filing in court as proof of service of the copies by having mailed them 
by registered mail to the defendants name therein. The service fee shall be $2 for each 
defendant so served. 

(4) After receipt of the report of an accident of the type specified in s. 344.12, the 
commissioner shall forward to the insurance company or sUJ'ety company named therein, 
that portion of the report which pertains to an automobile liability policy or bond. The 
commissioner shall assume that an automobile liability policy 01' bond as described in this 
section was in effect and applied to both the owner and operator with respect to the acci­
dent unless the insurance company or surety company notifies the commissioner otherwise 
within 30 days from the mailing t{) the company of that portion of the report pertaining 
to the automobile liability policy or bond. Upon receipt of notice from the company that 
an automobile liability policy or bond was in effect as to the owner only, the operator only 
01' was not in effect as to either of them, the commissioner shall within the remainder of 
the 60-day period specified in s. 344.13 (3) require the owner or operator or both, which­
ever is applicable, to deposit security pursuant to this chapter. As respects permission to 
operate the vehicle, the company may con-ect the report only if it files with the commis­
sioner within the 3D-day perio'c1 specified in this subsection an affidavit signed by the 
owner stating that the operator did not have the owner's permission to operate the vehi­
cle. Where the company's failure to notify the commissioner within 30 days of a cOlTection 
in that portion of the report pertaining to an automobile liability policy 01' bond is caused 
by fraud, the company shall notify the commissioner of the colTection within 30 days of 
the time the fraud is discovered. 

(5) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to impose any obligation not otherwise 
assumed by the insurance company 01' surety company in its automobile liability policy 01' 

bond except that if no correction is made in the report within 30 days after it is mailed t{) 
the insurance company or Sm'ety company, the company, except in case of fraud, when­
e,ver such fraud may occur, is estoppe'd from using as a defense" to its liability the in­
Sm'ed's failm'e to give permission to the operator or a violation of the purposes of use 
specified in the automobile liability policy 01' bond or the use of the vehicle beyond agreed 
geogTaphical limits. 

(6) Until July 1, 1958, the commissioner may accept for filing either the forlll of 
notice of insurance in use prior to the enactment of ch. 545, laws of 1957 (Form SR-21) 
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or the form of notice of inslU'ance specified in ch. 545, laws of 1957. In either event, the 
substantive provisions of ch. 545, laws of 1957, shall apply. 

344.16 Requirements as to self-insurers. (1) Any person in whose name more 
than 25 motor vehicles are registered may qualify as a self-inslU'er by obtaining a c€l·tifi­
cate of self-insurance issued by the commissioner as provided in sub. (2). 

(2) The commissioner may, in his discretion, upon the application of such a person, 
issue a cel,tificate of self-inslU'ance when he is satisfied that such person is possessed and 
will continue to be possesse'd of ability to pay judgments obtained against such person. 

(3) Upon not less than 5 days' notice and a hearing plU'suant to such notice, the com­
missioner may upon reasonable grOlmds cancel a certificate of self-inslU'ance. Faihu'e to 
pay any judgment within 30 days after sueh judgment has become final eonstitutes a 1'ea­
bonable ground for cancellation of a certificate of self-insurance. 

344.17 Requirements as to form and amount of security. (1) The seclU'ity required 
under s. 344.14 shall be in such form and in such amount as the commissioner may require 
but in no case in excess of the limits specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference to the ac­
ceptable limits of a policy or bond. The person depositing secm'ity shall specify in writing 
the person or persons on whose behalf the deposit is made and, a.t any time while such 
deposit is in the custody of the commissioner or state treasurer, the person 'depositing it 
may, in writing, amend the specification of the pel'sons on whose behalf the deposit is made 
to include an additional person or persons, subjeet to the limitation that a sing'le deposit 
of seem'ity shall lJe applicable only on behalf of persons required to flU'nish secm'ity be­
cause of the same aceident. 

(2) The co=issioner may reduce the amount of seeurity ordered in any case if, in 
his judgment, from evidence submitted, the amount ordered is excessive or has become 
excessive by filed release on part of the liability oi' by adjudication reducing the extent 
of the liability. In ease the seclU'ity Ol'iginally ordered had been deposited at the time 
the reduced amount is ordered, the excess over the reduced amolmt shall be returned to the 
depositor 01' his personal representative forthwith, notwithstanding the provisions of s. 
344,20. 

(3) In all cases where the commissioner accepts security in the form of a lien on real 
estate, the pa.rty owning' such real estate shall prepare the proper instrument to effect 
such lien, payable to the sta.te and all persons entitled thereto lmder ch. 344, and shall 
record such instrument in the office of the register of deeds in the county where the real 
estate is situated, The commissioner may require the party to furnish the commissioner 
an abstract of merchantable title sho,ving the lien to be a fhst lien on the premises. A 
certified copy of the recorded instrument and abstraet, when required, shall be deposited 
by the c01lllnissioner with the state treasurer. In all cases where a judgment has been 
entered against a person involved in a motor vehicle accident and such judgment remains 
unsatisfied 60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may for his own use 
and benefit and at his sole expense bring an action to foreclose such lien in the name of 
the state for his use and bene.fit under this section. The costs of such foreclosUi.'e may be 
estimated by the commissioner and added to the amOlmt required to be posted. In the 
foreclosure of such lien, the provisions of ch. 278 on forecloslU'e of real estate mortgages 
shall apply as far as possible. 

(4) In all cases where the commissioner accepts security in the fOlm of lien on per­
sonal property, the party owning sueh personal property shall prepare the proper instru­
ment to effect such lien payable to the state and all persons entitled thereto under eh. 
344 and shall file such instrlUnent in the office of the register of deeds in the cOlmty where 
such property is kept. He shall furnish the commissioner a certified copy of the filed in­
strument and, if required by the commissioner, a chattel abstract from the register of 
deeds shmving' the lien to be a first lien on such property. The certified copy and abstract 
shall be. deposited by the commissioner with the state treasurer. In all cases where a 
jU:dgment has been entered against a person involved in ~ motor vehicle accident and it 
remains u.nsatisfied 60 days after it has become final, the. Judgment creditor may, for his 
own use and benefit and at his sole expense, lJl'ing an action to foreclose such lien in the 
name of the state for his use and benefit under ch. 344. The costs of such foreclosure shall 
be estimated by the co=issioner and added to the amount required to be posted. In fore­
closlU'e of such lien the provisions of s. 241.13 on foreclosure of chattel mortgages shall 
apply as far as possible. 

(5) In all cases where the commissioner has accepted secUl'ity in the form of a lien on 
real estate or personal property the state treasurer shall satisfy such lien of record on 
order of the commissioner to l'etlU'n the secUlity upon the party's compliance with eh. 
344 •• The state treaslU'er shall execute a satisfaction in legal form in the name of t.he 



344.18 FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 3522 

state by state treasmer, custodian security "Motor Vehicle Responsibility Act." The 
treasurer shall note on the satisfaction that the connnissioner has issued such order, and 
such notation shall be prima facie evidence of such issuance. The treasurer shall record 
or file such satisfaction with the proper l'eg'istel' of deeds. 

344.18 Duration of suspension for failure to deposit security. (1) Any operating 
privilege or registration suspended as provided in s. 344.14 shall remain suspended an'd 
shall not be renewed or reinstated until one of the following requirements has been met: 

(a) There is deposited on behalf of the person whose operating privilege or registra­
tion was suspended the security required under s. 344.14. 

(b) There is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that the person 
whose operating privilege or 'registration was suspended has been released from liability 
or has been finally adjudicated not to be liable. The commissioner may accept a release 
executed by a parent on behalf of a minor child only if the release satisfies the require­
ments specified in s. 344.14 (2) (h). 

(c) There is filed with the connnissioner evidence satisfactory to him that the person 
whose operating privilege or registration was suspended has executed a warrant for con­
fession of judgment or duly acknowledged written agreement in accordance with s. 344.14 
(2) (h), subject however to the provisions of subs. (2) and (3) of this section. 

(d) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date of the accident and, during such 
period, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any claimant that an action was 
instituted by a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint within the 
one-year period following the date of the accident or by service of counter-claim or cross­
complaint within the 20-day answer period. If the action was commenced in a court of 
record, the notice required by this pal'agTaph shall include a certified copy of the sum­
mons and complaint or counterclaim or cross-complaint and proof of service filed therein. 
If the action was commenced before a justice of the peace, the notice require'd by this 
section shall include a certificate from such justice establishing the fact that the action 
was so commenced. 

(2) If there is any default in the payment of any instalment under any confession of 
judgment, the commissioner, upon notice of such default given within the terms of the 
instalment agreement or in no event later than 30 days after the time for the final instal­
ment, shall forthwith suspend the operating privilege and registrations of the defaulting 
person, which suspension shall remain in effect lmtil the entire amount provided for in 
the confession of judgment. has been paid. 

(3) If there is any default in the payment of any instalment under a duly acknowl­
edged written agreement, the commissioner, upon notice of such default, shall forthwith 
suspend the operating privilege and registrations of the defaulting person, which suspen­
sions shall remain in effect until one of the following requirements has been met: 

(a) There is deposited on behalf of such person the security required under s. 344.14. 
(b) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date when the security was required and, 

during such period, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any claimant that ari 
action was instituted by a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint 
within the one-year period following the date when such security was required 01' by serv­
ice of counterclaim or cross-complaint within the 20-day answer period. The notice re­
quired by this paragraph shall comply with the provisions of sub. (1) (d). 

(4) The commissioner shall not suspend, as required by sub. (2) or (3), if the de­
faulting person has made payments to the extent specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference 
to the acceptable limits of a policy or bond. 

344.19 Applicability to nonresidents, unlicensed drivers, unregisterecl motor vehi­
cles and accidents in other states. (1) If the operator or the owner of a motor vehicle 
involved in an accident within this state has no license or registration, whether because he 
is a nonresident or because he is a resident who has failed or neglected to obtain a license 
or registration in this state, he shall not be allowed a license or registration until he has 
complie'd with the requirements of this chapter to the same extent as would be necess!\J.'y 
if, at the time of the accident, he had held a license and registration in this state. 

(2) If the operating privilege or registration of a nonresident is suspended pursu­
ant to s. 344.14, the commissioner shall transmit a certified copy of the record of such 
action to the motor vehicle commissioner or equivalent official of the state in which that 
person resides if the law of the state in which that person resides provides for similar 
action by the commissioner or equivalent official of that state in the event that a resident 
of this state has his nonresident's operating' privilege or registration in that state sus­
pended or revoked for failure to comply with the safety responsibility law of that state. 

(3) Upon receipt of such certification from another state to the effect that the oper-
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ating privilege or registration of a resident of this state has been suspende'd or revoked 
in such other state pursuant to a law providing for its suspension or revocation for failure 
to deposit security for payment of judgments arising out of a motor vehicle accident, 
under circumstances which would require the commissioner to suspend a nonresident's 
operating privilege or registration had the accident occurred in this state, the commissioner 
shall suspend the license of such resident if he was the operator and all of his registra­
tions if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department 
may accept a certification which is in the form of a combined notice of required security 
and suspension or revocation order, but shall not suspend a resident's operating privilege 
or registration on the basis of such order until at least 30 days have elapsed since the 
time for depositing security in the other state expired. A suspension under this section 
shall continue until such resident furnishes evidence of his compliance with the law of the 
other state relating to the deposit of security. 

344.20 Oustody, disposition and return of security. (1) Security deposited in com­
pliance with this chapter shall be placed by the commissioner in the custody of the state 
treasurer and shall be applied only as provided in this section. When placing security in 
the custo'dy of the state treasurer, the commissioner shall also file with the state treasurer 
a memorandum specifying the respective portions of such deposit required because of 
property damage 01' personal injuries, including deaths, suffered by each person who will 
be entitled to a portion of such deposit in the event of a judgment against the person or 
persons on whose behalf the deposit is made. 

(2) The state treasurer shall apply the security only to the payment of judgments 
and assignments and only as provided in this subsection: 

(a) The security may be applied to the payment of judgments for damages arising 
out of the accident in question rendered against the person or persons on whose behalf 
the deposit was ma'de in an action at law begun not later than one year after the date of 
the accident 01' not later than one year after the date of deposit of any security lmder s. 
344.18 (2). Any party to such action in favor of whom a judgment was rendered may 
move to have the court order the state treasurer to transmit to the court for application 
to the payment of the judgment the money 01' securities available for such purpose, and 
the court may so order. A certified copy of the order shall be served upon the state treas­
urer, which service shall he by mail only. Upon being so served, the state treasurer shall 
transmit to the clerk of the court the money or secUTities in the amount authorized by 
par. (c) or in the amount specified in the court Gl'der if less than the amount so author­
ized. Securities transmitted shall be valued at the same amolmt as when received from the 
department. The state treasurer shall have no further responsibility for the amOlmt 
of the deposit so transmitted and the court shall determine and direct the application 
thereof. Any excess shall be returned by the COlU't to the state treasurer to be held by him 
subject to the provisions of this chapter. 

(b) Subject to the restrictions imposed by pal'. (c), the security may he applied to 
the payment of a duly acknowledged assignment by the person on whose behalf the deposit 
was made, provided the assignment is accompanied by an instrument signed by the as­
signee and releasing the assignor from all liability to the assignee on account of damages 
a~rising out of the accident in question. 

(c) No amolUlt in excess of the portion designated in the commissioner's filed security 
memorandum as having been deposited on account of damages suffered ,by the assignee 
01' judgment creditor 01' person representing either of them shall be paid out on behalf 
of such person unless the depositor has been released from liability by all other parties 
in interest. In the latter event, the deposit may be applied to the payment of the judg­
ment or assignment in question without regard to the designations in the security memo­
randum. 

(3) The deposit of security 01' any balance thereof shall be returned to the depositor 
or his personal representative when evidence satisfactory to the commissioner has been 
filed with him that one of the contingencies specified in s.344.18 (1) (b), (c) or (d) 01' 

(3) (b) has occurred. 

344.21 Matters not to be evidence in civil suits. Neither the report required fol­
lowing an accident, the action taken by the commissioner pursuant to this chapter, the 
findings, if any, upon which such action is based nor the sec1ll'ity filed as pl'ovi'ded in this 
chapter shall be referred to in any way or be any evidence of the negligence or due care 
of either party at the trial of any action at law to recover damages, but this shall not be 
construed to exclude a notice of insurance filed pursuant to s. 344.15 (4) from being 
admissible in evidence where it would otherwise be material and admissible under the rules 
of evidence. 
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344.22 Short title. Sections 344.12 to 344.22 and the general provisions appli, 
cable thereto may be cited as the safety responsibility law. 

PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE FUTURE. 

344.24 Applicability of sections relating to proof of financial responsibility for the 
future. Sections 344.29 to 344.41 are applicable in all cases in which a person is re­
quired to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the future, including those cases 
in which a person is required to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the future 
under ss. 344.25 to 344.27 and those cases in which the deposit of proof of financial re­
sponsibility for the future is a. condition precedent to reinstatement of an operating' privi­
lege revoked pursuant to ch. 343. 

344.25 Revocation of license and registration for nonpayment of judgment; excep­
tions. Upon the receipt, pursuant to s. 344.05, of a certified copy of a judgment for 
damages in excess of $100 arising out of a motor vehicle accident, the commissioner 
shall forthwith revoke the operating privilege and all registrations of the person against 
whom such judgment was rendered, subject to the following exceptions: 

(1) If the judgment arose out of an accident caused by the ownership or operation, 
with pClmission, of a vehicle owned by or leased to the United States, this state or any 
county or municipality of this state 01' a vehicle subject to the requirements of ss. 40.57, 
194.41 or 194.42, the commissioner shall not revoke such license or registration. 

(2) If the judgment creditor consents in writing in such fOlm as the commissioner 
may prescribe that the judgment debtor be allowed to retain 01' reinstate his operating 
privilege and registrations, the same may be allowed by the commissioner, in his discretion, 
for 6 months from the date of such consent and thereafter until such consent is revoked 
in writing, notwithstanding default in the payment of such judgment 01' of any instal­
ments thereof as prescribed in s. 344.27, provided the judgment debtor furnishes proof of 
financial responsibility for the future and maintains such proof at all times whe,n such 
license an'd registrations are in effect during a period of 3 yem:s following the entry of the 
judgment. 

(3) The cOlmnissionel' shall not revoke such license or registrations if the judgment 
debtor obtains a court order for instalment payments and furnishes proof of financial 
responsibility as provided in s. 344.27. 

(4) The commissioner shall not revoke the chauffeur's license of a debtor, his oper­
ating plivilege thereunder or his registration with respect thereto when the debtor is 
operating a vehicle subject to the requirements of s. 194.41 or 194.42 or a vehicle owned 
by or leased to the United States, this state 01' any county 01' municipality of this state. 

344.26 Revocation to continue until judgment paid and proof of fina.ncial responsi­
bility given. (1) Subject to the exceptions stated in ss. 344.25 (2) and 344.27 (2), 
any operating privilege or registration revoked pursuant to s. 344.25 shall remain revoked 
until every judgment mentioned in s. 344.25 is stayed, satisfied 01' discharged and, unless 
3 years have elapsed since the date of entry of the judgment which was the cause for 
revocation, until the person whose operating privilege an'd registration was revoked fur­
nishes proof of financial responsihility for the future and maintains such proof at all 
times during such 3-yeru.· period when the operating privilege or registration is in effect. 

(2) A discharge in bankruptcy following the rendelwg of any such judgment does 
not relieve the judgment dehtor from any of the requirements of this section. 

(3) Judgments in excess of the amOlmts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d) shall,for the 
purpose of this section only, be deemed satisfied when payments in the amounts so speci­
fied have been credited thereon. Payments made in settlement of any claims because of 
bodily injUl'Y, death 01' property damage arising from a motor vehicle accident shall be 
credited in reduction of the respective amounts so specified. 

344.27 Instalment payment of judgments; revocation upon default. (1) A judg­
ment debtor upon due notice to the judgment creditor may apply to the court in which 
such ju'dgment was rendered for the privilege of paying such judgment in instalments and 
the court, in its discretion and without prejUdice to any other legal remedies which the 
judgment creditor may have, may so order and fix the amounts and times of payment of 
the instalments. 

(2) The commissioner shall not revoke the operating privilege or registration and 
shall restore any operating privilege or registration revoked foll01ving nonpayment of a 
judgment when the judgment debtor obtains such order pClmitting the payment of the 
judgment in instalments and, unless 3 years have elapsed since the entry of judgment, 
£u1'11i8hes an'd maintains proof of financial responsibility fol' the future.} 
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(3) If the judgment debtor fails to pay any instalment as specified by such order, the 
coinmissioner, upon notice of such default, shall forthwith revoke the operating privilege 
alid registrations of the judgment debtor until such judgment is satisfied as provided in s. 
344.26. 

344.29 Proof, of financial responsibility required for each registered vehicle. Proof 
of financial responsibility for the future shall be furnished for each motor vehicle regis­
tered by any person required to give such proof. 

344.30 Alternate methods of giving proof of financilJ,l responsibility. Whenever the 
owner or operator of a motor vehicle is required under chs. 343 01' 344 to give proof of 
financial responsibility for the future, such proof may be given by filing: 

(1) A certificate of insurance as provided in s. 344.31 or 344.32; or 
(2) A bon'd as provided in s. 344.36; or 
(3) A certificate of deposit of money or secm·:ities as provided in s. 344.37; or 
(4) A certificate of self-insurance as provided in s. 344.16, supplemented by an agree­

ment by the self-insurer that, with respect to accidents occmring while the certificate is 
in £ot'ce, he will pay the same amounts that an insmer would have been obligated to pay 
under an owner's motor vehicle liability policy if it had issued such a policy to such self­
insurer. 

344.31 Certificate of insurance as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility for 
the futme may be furnished by filing with the commissioner the Wlitten certificate of any 
insurance ClUTier duly authOlized to do business in this state certifying that there is in 
effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the benefit of the person required to fmnish 
proof of financial responsibility. Such certificate shall give the effective date of such 
motor vehicle liability policy, which date shall be the same as the effective 'date of the 
certificate and shall designate by explicit description 01' by approPliate reference all 
motor vehicles covered thereby, unless the policy is issued to a person who is not the 
owner of a motor vehicle. 
, (2) No motor vehicle shall be 01' continue to be registered in the name of any person 

required to file proof of financial responsibility unless such motor vehicle is so designated 
in such a certificate. 

344.32 Certificate furnished by nonresidents as proof. (1) The nOll'esident owner 
of a motor vehicle not registered in this state may give proof of financial responsibility 
by filing with the commissioner a written certificate of an insmance can1.eI' authorized to 
transact business in the state in which the motor vehicle desClibed in such certificate is 
registered 01', if such nonresident does not own a motor vehicle, then in the state in which 
the insured resides, provided such certificate otherwise conforms to the provisions of this 
chapter. The commissioner shall accept the certificate only upon condition that such in­
surance caxrier complies with the following provisions with respect to the policies so 
certifie'd : 

(a) Such insurance ClU1.>ier shall execute a power of attorney authorizing the com­
missioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any action arising' out of 
a motor vehicle accident in this state. 

(b) Such insurance canier shall agree in Wl1.ting that such policies shall be deemed 
to conform with the laws of this state relating to the terms of motor vehicle liability 
policies issued herein. 

(2) If any insurance ClU1.1.er not authOlized to transact business in this state, which 
has qualified to furnish proof of financial responsibility, defaults in any such undertak­
ings or agreements, the commissioner shall not thereafter accept as proof any certificate 
of such clUTier whether theretofore filed 01' thereafter tendered as proof, so long as such 
default continues. . 

344.33 "Motor vehicle liability policy" defined. (1) CERTIFICATION. A "motor 
vehicle liability policy" as that term is used in this chapter means an owner's policy 01' 

an operator's policy of liability insurance, certified as provided in s. 344.31 01' 344.32 as 
proof of financial responsibility for the future, and issued, except as othCl"vise provided 
in s. 344.32, by an insmance ClU1.>ier duly authorized to transact business in this state to 
or for the benefit of the person named therein as insured. 

(2) OWNER'S POLICY. An owner's policy of liability insm'ance: 
(a) Shall designate by explicit description or ,by appropriate reference all mowr ve­

hicles with respect to which coverage is thereby to be granted; and 
(b) Shall insm'e the person named therein and any other person, as insured, using' any 

such motor vehicle or motor vehicles with the express or implied permission of such named 
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insured, against loss from the liability imposed by law for damages arising out of the 
ownership, maintenance 01' use of such motor vehicle 01' motor vehicles within the United 
States of America 01' the Dominion of Canada, subject to limits exclusive of interest and 
costs, with respect to each such motor vehicle, as follows: $10,000 because of bodily injury 
to or death of one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one person, 
$20,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in anyone accident, 
and $5,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in anyone accident. 

(3) OPERATOR'S POLICY. An operator's policy of liability insurance shall insure the 
person named as insured therein against loss from the liability imposed upon him by law 
for damages arising out of the use by him of any motor vehicle not owned by him, 
within the same territorial limits and subject to the same limits of liability as are set forth 
in sub. (2) with respect to an owner's policy of liability insurance. 

(4) REQUIRED STATEMENTS IN POLICY. Such motor vehicle liability policy shall state 
the name and address of the named insured, the coverage afforded by the policy, the 
premium charged therefor, the policy period and the limits of liability, and shall contain 
an agreement 01' be endorsed that insurance is provided thereunder in accordance with the 
coverage defined in this chapter with respect to bodily injury and death or property 
damage, 01' both, and is subject to all the provisions of this chapter. 

(5) CERTAIN TYPES OF OOVERAGE EXCLUDED. Such motor vehicle liability policy shall 
not insure any liability under any workmen's compensation law as provided in ch. 102 
nor any liability on account of bodily injury to 01' death of any employe of the insured 
while engaged in the employment, other than domestic, of the insured, or while engaged in 
the operation, maintenance or repair of any such motor vehicle or any liability for dam­
age to property owned by, rented to, in charge of or transported by the insured. 

(6) PROVISIONS INOORPORATED IN POLICY BY LAWS. Every motor vehicle liability 
policy shall be subject to the following provisions which need not be contained therein: 

(a) The policy may not be canceled or annulled as to such liability by any agreement 
between the insurance carrier and the insured after the OCCUlTence of any injury or dam­
age covered by such motor vehicle liability policy. 

(b) The satisfaction by the insured of a judgment for such injury or damage shall 
not be a condition precedent to the right or duty of the insurance ca;rrier to make payment 
on account of such injury 01' damage. 

(c) The insurance carrier shall have the right to settle, any claim covered by the policy, 
and if such settlement is made in good faith, the amount thereof shall be deductible from 
the limits of liability specified in sub. (2) (b). 

(d) The policy, the written application therefor, if any, and any rider 01' endorse­
ment which does not conflict with the provisions of this chapter constitutes the entire 
contract between the parties. 

(7) EXOESS OR ADDITIONAL OOVERAGE. Any policy which grants the coverage required 
for a motor vehicle liability policy may also grant any lawful coverage in excess of or in 
addition to the coverage specified for a motor vehicle liability policy and such excess 01' 
additional coverage is not subject to the provisions of this chapter. With respect to a 
policy which grants such excess or additional coverage the term "motor vehicle liability 
policy" applies only to that part of the coverage which is required by this section. 

(8) REIMBURSEMENT PROVISION PERMITTED. Any motor vehicle liability policy may 
provide that the insured shall reimburse the insurance carrier for any payment the in­
surance carrier would not have been obligated to make under the terms of the policy except 
for the provisions of this section. 

(9) PRORATION OF INSURANCE PERMITTED. Any motor vehicle liability policy may 
provide for the prorating of the insurance thereunder with other valid and collectible 
insurance. 

(10) MULTIPLE POLICIES. The requirements for a motor vehicle liability policy may 
be fulfilled by the policies of one 01' more insurance carriers which policies together meet 
such requirements. 

(11) BINDERS. Any binder issued pending the issuance of a motor vehicle liability 
policy shall be deemed to fulfill the requirements for such a policy. 

344.34 Notice of cancellation or termination of certified policy. When an insur­
ance calTier has certified a, motor vehicle liability policy under s. 344.31 01' a policy under 
s. 344.32 the inslU'ance so certified shall not be canceled 01' terminated until at least 10 
days aft~r a notice of cancellation or termination of the insurance so certified has been 
fil~d in the office of the commi.ssioner, exc~pt th~t su~h a poli?y subseq!1ently procured 
and certified shaH, on the effective date of Its certIficatIOn, termmate the 1l1surance previ­
ously certified with respect to any motor vehicle designated in both certificates. 
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344.35 This chapter not to affect othel' policies. (1) This chapter does not apply 
to or affect, policies of automobile insurance against liability which may now or hereafter 
be required by any other law of this state. If such policies contain an agreement or are 
endorsed to conform to the requirements of this chapter, they may be certified as proof 
of financial responsibility under this chapter. 

(2) This chapter does not apply to or affect policies insuring solely the insured named 
in the policy against liability resulting from the maintenance or use by persons in the 
insured's employ or on his behalf of motor vehicles not owned by the insured. 

344.36 Bond as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility may be evidenced by 
the bond of a surety company duly authorized to transact business within this state or a 
bond with at least 2 individual sureties each owning real estate within this state and to­
gether having equities equal in value to at least twice the amount of the bond, which real 
estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a judge of a court of record. Such bond 
shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d). The 
band shall be filed with the commissioner and shall not be cancellable except after 10 days' 
written notice to the commissioner. 

(2) The bond constitutes a lien in favor of the state upon any surety's real estate 
which is scheduled in the bond and which is not exempt by law from execution. Such lien 
is effective as of the time when the commissioner records the bond in the office of the 
register of deeds of the county wherein such real estate is located, as provided in s. 
235.45. Such lien exists in favor of any holder of a final judgment against the person 
who filed such bond, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use or oper­
ation of a motor vehicle after such bond was recorded, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bodily injury to 01' death of any person and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof. 

(3) If the judgment rendered against the principal on the bond is not satisfied within 
60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may, for his own use and benefit 
and at his sale expense, bring an action in the name of the state against the company or 
persons executing the bond, including an action or proceeding to foreclose any lien that 
may exist upon the real estate of a person who has executed such bond. In the foreclosm'e 
of such lien, ch. 278 on the foreclosure of real estate mortgages shall apply as far as 
possible. 

344.37 Money or securities as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility for the 
future may be evidenced by the certificate of the state treasurer that the person named 
therein has deposited with him $25,000 in cash, 01' in securities such as may legally be 
purchased by savings banks 01' for trust flmds of a mm.'ket value of $25,000. The state 
treasurer shall not accept any such deposit and issue a certificate therefor and the com­
missioner shall not accept such certificate unless accompanied by evidence that there arB no 
unsatisfiea. judgments of any character against the depositor in the cOlmty where the 
depositor resides. 

(2) Deposits made under this section shall be held by the state treasurer to satisfy, 
in accordance ,vith this chapter, any execution on a judgment issued agalllst the person 
making the deposit, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use 01' opera­
tion of a motor vehicle after such deposit was made, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bodily injury to or death of any person and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof. Money 
or secm·ities so deposited at'e not subject to attachment 01' execution unless such attach­
ment 01' execution arises out of a suit for damages as set forth in this section. 

344.38 Owner may give proof for others. Whenever any person required to give 
proof of financial responsibility for the futm'e under this chapter is or later becomes an 
operator in the employ of any owner, or is or.la~er becomes a membel' of t~e immediate 
family 01' household of the owner, the commISSIOner shall accept proof gIven by such 
owner in lieu of proof by such other person. When proof has been given as provided in 
this section, the person on whose behalf such owner gave proof may be granted a license, 
but only to oper~te those vehicles for. which 'proof. was so g:iven .. The departme~t shaH 
note such restrictIon on the person's hcense, mcludmg a desIgnatlOn of each vehicle .1'01' 

which proof was given. 

344.39 Substitution of proof. The commissioner shall consent to the cancellation 
of any bond or certificate of insurance or the commissioner shall direct and the state 
treasurer shall return any money or securities to the person entitled thereto upon the sub­
stitution and acceptance of other adequate proof of financial responsibility pursuant to 
this chapter. 
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344.40 Suspension for failure to maintain proof; other proof may be required. (1) 
Whenever any person who has furnished proof of financial responsibility fails to maintain 
such proof at any time during the period when proof of financial responsibility is required, 
the commissioner shall revoke such person's operating privilege and registration for a 
period of time running from the date of revocation until such time as either satisfactory 
proof of financial responsibility is again furnished or the period during which proof was 
required to be furnished has expired. 

(2) Whenever any proof of financial responsibility filed under this chapter no longer 
fulfills the purposes for which required, the commissioner shall require other proof meet­
ing the requirements of this chapter and shall suspend the operating privilege and regis­
tration pending the filing of such other proof. 

344.41 Duration of proof; when proof may be canceled or returned. (1) Subject 
to the exceptions set forth in suh. (2), the commissioner shall, upon request, consent to 
the immediate cancellation of any bond or certificate of insurance, shall direct. the state 
treasurer to return to the person entitled thereto any money 01' securities deposited pur­
SUallt to this chapter as proof of financial l'esponsibility (with which directive the state 
treasurer shall comply) and shall waive any requirement of the filing of proof of financial 
responsibility whenever any of the following events has occurred: 

(a) The period during which proof of financial responsibility is required has expired; 
or 

(b) The person on whose behalf such proof was fileel has dieel 01' has become perma­
nently incapacitateel to operate a motor vehicle; or 

( c) The person who has given proof sUl'l'enelers his license and registration to the 
commissioner. 

(2) The commissioner shall not consent to the cancellation of any bond 01' the return 
of any money or securities if any action for damages upon a liability covered by such 
proof is then pending' 01' any judgment upon any such liability is then unsatisfied, or if 
the person 'who fileel the bond or deposited the money or securities has, within one year 
i=ediately preceding the request for cancellation of the bond or retul'll of the money or 
securities, been involved as an operator or owner in any motor vehicle accident resulting 
in injury or damage to the person or property of others. An affidavit of the applicant as 
to the nonexistence of such facts, or that he has been released from all of his liability, or 
has been finally adjudicated not to be liable for such injury 01' damages is sufficient evidence 
thereof in the absence of evidence to the contrary in the records ,of the co=issioner. 

(3) Whenever any person whose proof has been canceleel or returned under sub. (1) 
(c) desires reinstatement of his license or registration prior to the expiration of the 
period during which proof of financial responsibility is required, he shall again furnish 
proof of financial responsibility. Thereupon his license is automatically reinstated as 
provided in s. 343.39 and the department shall retlU'n his registration plates, if not ex-
pired. ' 

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS OF OHAPTER. 

344.45 Surrender of license, and registration upon suspension. (1) Whenever a 
person's operating privilege or registration is revoked or suspendeel pursuant to this 
chapter, the commissioner shall also order such person to surrender to the department his 
license and the registration plates and certificates of registration of the vehicles for which 
registration was revokeel or suspendeel. If such person fails forthwith to retul'll such 
license, registration plates or certificates of registration to the department, the commis­
sioner shall direct a traffic officer to take possession thereof and return them to the de-
partment. . 

(2) Any person who intentionally fails or refuses to return a license, registration 
plate 01' certificate of registTation as required by this section may be fined not more than 
$100 01' imprisoned not more than 6 months 01' hoth. 

344.46 Transfer of vehicle ownership to defeat purpose of chapter. (1) No owner 
of a motor vehicle involveel in an accident in this state which is reportable under s. 346.70 
shall transfer the ownership or registration of such vehicle until this chapter has been 
complieel with 01' until the commissioner is satisfied that such transfer is proposed in good 
faith anel not for the purpose or with the effect of defeating the pmposes of this chapter. 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fineel not more than $200 01' imprisoned 
not more than 6 months or both. 

(3) This section does not apply to 01' affect the registration of any vehicle sold by a 
person who, pursuant to the terms 01' conditions of any written instrument giving a right 
of repossession, has exercised such right and has repossessed such vehicle from a person 
whose registration has been suspended pmsuant to this chapter. . ' 
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344.47 Operating vehicle after suspension or revocation. (1) No person whose 
registration has been revoked 01' suspended pursuant to this chapter shall, during such 
revocation or suspension, operate or knowingly permit the operation of any motor vehicle 
owned by him, except as permitted under this chapter. 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not less than $50 nor more than 
$200 or imprisoned not more than 6 months 01' both. 

344.48 Porged proof. (1) No person shall: 
(a) Forge or, without authority, sign any notice provided for in s. 344.15 (4) to the 

effect that a policy 01' bond is in effect or, knowing or having reason to believe that such 
notice has been forged or signed 1vithout authority, file 01' offer such notice for filing; 01' 

(b) Forge 01', without authority, sign any evidence of proof of financial responsibility 
. or, knowing or having reason to believe that such evidence has been forged or signed with­
out authority, file or offer such evidence for filing. 

(c) Sign 01' file the affidavit mentioned in s. 344.15 (4), knowing that it contains a 
false statement. 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned 
not more than one year or both. 

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR RENTED VEHICLES. 

344.51 Pinancial responsibility for domestic rent-a-cars. (1) No person shall for 
compensation rent any motor vehicle to be operated by 01' with the consent of the person 
renting such vehicle unless there is filed with the department a good and sufficient bond 
01' polioy of insurance or certificate issued by a company 01' exchange organized under the 
laws of this state or duly authorized to transact business in this state. Such bond, policy, 
01' certificate shall prOVIde that the company 01' exchange which issued it will be liable for 
damages caused by the negligent operation of such motor vehicle in the amounts set forth 
in s. 344.01 (2) (d). 

(2) Any person failing to comply with this section is directly liable for all damages 
caused by the negligence of the person operating such rented vehicle to the extent that 
such liability could have been established if this section had been complied with. 

(3) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $200 or imprisoned 
not more than 6 months or both. 

(4) In this section, "motor vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle. 

344.52 Financial responsibility for foreign rent-a-cars. (1) Whenever any motor 
vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is operated in this state, the lessor of 
such motor vehicle is directly liable for all damages to persons or property caused by the 
negligent operation of such rented vehicle unless, at the time when such damage or injury 
occurs, the operation of the vehicle is effectively covered by a policy of insurance which 
provides coverage at least in the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d) for property dam­
age, personal injury 01' death suffered by any person on accollnt of the negligent opera­
tion of such vehicle. The amount of liability imposed upon the lessor by this section in 
the absence of insurance coverage shall not exceed the limits set forth in s. 344.01 (2) (d) 
with respect to the acceptable limits of liability when fmnishing proof of financial respon­
sibility. The fact that the rented vehicle is operated in this state contrary to any under­
standing 01' agreement with the lessor is not a defense to any liability imposed by this 
section. 

(2) If a motor vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is operated in this 
state, the lessor of such vehicle is deemed to have i1'l'evocably appointed the commissioner 
as his agent 01' attorney upon whom legal process may be served in any action or pro­
ceeding against such lessor or his executor, administrator, personal representative, suc­
cessors 01' assigns, growing out of the operation of such rented motor vehicle in this state. 
Such appointment is binding upon the lessor's executor, administrator, personal repre­
sentative, successors 01' assigns. The operation of such rented motor vehicle in this state is 
a signification of the lessor's agreement that such legal process or notice may be served 
upon him 01' his executor, administrator, personal representative, successors or assigns 
and that process 01' notice so served has the same legal force as if pel'sonally served upon 
him or them in this state. Service of such process or notice shall be made as provided in 
s. 345.09. This section does not affect the right to serve process or notice on the non­
resident operator of the rented motor vehicle as provided in s. 345.09. 

(3) In this section, "motor vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle. 




