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GENE,RAL PROVISIONS. 

344.01 Words and phrases defined. (1) Words and phrases defined in ss. 340.01 
and 343.01 are used in the same sense in this chapter unless a different definition is spe­
cifically provided. 

(2) In this chapter the following words and phrases have the designated meanings: 
(a) "Judg'ment" means a judgment for damages rendered by a court of competent 

jmisdiction of any state or of the United States upon a cause of action arising out of the 
ownership, maintenance or use of any motor vehicle, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bodily injury to or death of any person and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof, which judg­
ment has become final by expiration without appeal of the time within which an appeal 
might have been perfected or by final affirmation on appeal. iiJudgment" also includes a 
judgment rendered by a court of competent jlU'isdiction upon a cause of action on an 
agTeement of settlement fo1' damages of the type specified in this paragraph, which judg­
ment has become final within the meaning of this paragraph. 

(b) "Motor yehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle and also includes trailers and 
semitrailers designed for use with such vehicles, except that "motor yehicle" does not 
include farm tractors, well drillers or road machinery. 

(c) "Operator" means a person who is in actual or constructive physical control of a 
motor vehicle. It includes a person who has parked a motor vehicle. It includes the driver 
of a vehicle being pushed or towed and, in case there is no person aCt\lally doing the driv­
ing, the person who is doing the pushing or towing. 
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(d) "Proof of financial responsibility" or "proof of financial responsibility for the 
future" meallS proof of ability to respond in damages for liability on account of acci­
dents occurring subsequent to the effective date of such proof, arising out of the owner­
ship, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle in the amount of $10,000 because of bodily 
injury to or death of one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one 
person, in the amount of $20,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more per­
sons in anyone accident and in the amount of $5,000 because of injury to or destruction 
of property of others in anyone accident. 

(e) "Registration" means, in the case of a. person whose vehicle is registered under 
ch. 341, the registration so issued; in the case of a person whose vehicle is not so regis­
tered, it means the privilege to register a vehicle in Wisconsin and the reciprocal privi­
lege grahted a nonresident to operate in Wisconsin a vehicle not registered in Wisconsin. 

(f) IIState" means any state, territory or possession of the United States, the District 
of Columbia, or any province of the Dominion of Canada. . 

(g) "Vehicle" means every device in, upon or by which any person or property is or 
may be transported or drawn upon a hig'hway, except vehicles used exclusively upon sta­
tionary rails or tracks or vehicles propelled by use of electricity obtained from overhead 
troll~y structures. 

344.02 Administration of responsibility law. The commissioner shall .administer 
and enforce this chapter and may, in his discretion, appoint any employe in the depart­
ment as his representative to affix his signature, including any facsimile signature adopted 
by him, to the administrative letters, notices and orders to enforce this chapter. 

344.03 Judicial review of commissioner's action. Any person aggTieved by any 
action of the commissioner pursuant to this chapter may, within 10 days after notice 
thereof, or in any event before the .commissioner has revoked or suspended the operating 
pl'ivilege or registration by specific order if preceded by notice mailed at least 10 days 
prior to said revocation or suspension, file a petition in the circuit court of Dane county 
for a review thcreof as provided in s. 227.16. Thecol1l't shall summarily hear the peti­
tion and may make any appropriate order or decree within the scope of s. 227.20. 

History. 1961 c. 662. 

344.04 Power of court w stay suspension of registration of vehicles. (1) N ot­
withstanding any other provision of tlri:>; chapter, the commissioner shall not revoke or 
suspend the registration of a vehicle whcn ordered not to do so by the court wherein the 
judgment for damages was had or, in a case not involving a judgment, when ordered not 
to do so by a court pursuant to petition of the registrant in accordance with sub. (2). 

(2) Upon receiving information, other than of a judgment for damages in a court of 
this state, that would be cause for revocation 01' suspension of registration, the commis­
sioner shall notify the registrant of his intention to revoke or suspend such registration. 
The registrant may thereupon petition a:t;ly court of record in his county for an order 
enjoining' the 'colllmissipner's contemplated action, whereupon the judge of such court 
shall grant an order restraining the commissioner in the matter until the petition is finally 
determined by the court. If such petition and order al'e served upon the commissioner 
within 10 days after the date of the comll?issioner's notice 01' in any event before the 
comlllissionei' has revoke'd 01' suspended the reg'istration, the commissioner shall await 
the final determination of the court. The commissioner shall be given notice of the hearing. 
Upon a showing that it would result in lmdue hardship upon the petitioner to have any 
such registration revoked 01' suspended, the court shall issue an order restraining the 
commissioner from revoking 01' suspending the registration. 

(3) This section does not authoiizea court to stay suspension or revocation of all 
operator's license. 

344~05 Courts to report nonpayment of certain judgments. (1) Whenever I;tny 
judgment in excess of $100 for damages arising out of a Plotor vehicle accident is not 
t;atisfied within 30 days after its having become final by exi)iration without appeal of the 
time within which an appeal might have been perfected or by final affirmation on appefil, 
the clerk of the court in which such judgment WfiS rendered, 01' the judg'e if the court has 
no clerk, shall forthwith forward to the commissioner a certified copy of such judgment. 

(2) If the defendant' named in any certified copy of a judgment reported to the com­
missioner is a nonresidmit, the commissioner shall transmit a certified copy of the judg­
ment to the official in charge of the issuance of licenses and registration certificates of the 
state' of which the defendant is a resident. 

344.06 Commissione'r to furnish operating record. The. commissioner shall upon 
request furnish any person a certified abstract of the operating rec()r~ of anY person 
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subject to the provisions of this chapter. 1£ there is no record that such person has been 
convicted of violating any law relating to the operation of a motor vehicle or of any 
injury or damage caused by such person, the commissioner shall so certify in the abstract. 
The abstract of the operating record also shall fully designate the motor vehicles, if any, 
registered in the name of such person. Such abstract is not admissible in evidence in any 
action for damages or criminal proceeding arising out of a motor vehicle accident. 

344.07 Responsibility law not to prevent other process. Nothing in this chapter 
shall be construed as preventing the plaintiff in any action at law from relsing for relief 
upon the other processes provided by law. 

344.08 Suspension for failure to report accident. (1) The commissioner may sus­
pend the operating privilege or registration of any person who fails to report an acci­
dent as required by s. 346.70 or to give correctly the information requested by the com­
missioner in connection with such report lmless, in the judgment of the commissioner, 
there was excusablf) cause -for such failure or unless the accident did not result in injury 
or damage to the person or property of anyone other than the person so required to report. 

(2) Any operating privilege suspended pursuant to this section, or suspended pursu­
ant to any other section for failure to report an accident, shall be reinstated inac~ord­
ance with s. 344.09 at the end of 13 months following the accident if, during such 13-
month period, 1).0 notice of action instituted within one year from the date of the accident 
has been filed with the department in the manner specified in s. 344.18 (1) (d). 

344.09 Reinstatement of suspended operating privilege and registration. (1) 
"Whenever the commissioner is satisfied that the reason for suspension of an operating 
privilege under this chapter has been removed, including satisfaction of any of the re­
quirements of s. 344.18, he shall forthwith order reinstatement of such operating privilege 
and shall give notice of such niinstatement to the person whose operating privilege has 
beeil suspended. Such reinstatement order has the same effect as an automatic reinstate­
ment under s. 343.39. 

(2) Whenever an operating plivilege suspended or revoked pursuant to this chapter 
is reinstated, any reg'istration which was suspended or revoked along with the operating 
privilege is automatically l'einstated and the department shall retul'll any surrendered and 
lmexpired registration plate in its possession. 

SECURITY FOR PAST ACOIDENTS. 

344.12 Applicability of provisions relating to deposit of security for past acci­
dents. Shbject to the exceptions contained in s. 344.14, the provisions of this cha.pter 
requiring deposit of secui'ity and requiring suspension for friilme to deposit seci.lrity 
apply to the operator and owner of every motor vehicle which is in any manner involved 
in an accident in this state which has resulted in bodily injury to or death of any person 
01' damage to property of any other person in excess of $100. 

344.13 Commissioner to determine amount of security required following accident 
and to give notice thereof. (1) The commissioner after receipt of a report of anac-· 
cident of the type specified in s. 344.12 shall determine, with respect to such accident, the 
amount of security which is sufficient in his judgment to satisfy any judgment for dam­
ages resulting from such accident which may be recovered against either operator or 
owner of the vehicles involved in such accident. Such determination shall be based upon 
the total property damage suffered by other persons whose property was involved in the 
accident, not including the vehicle a person was operating when such operation was with 
the owner's permission, and on the extent of personal injuries, including deaths, involving 
other parties to the accident. The determination as to the amount of security required 
shall be made without regard to the· fault of the persons involved but shall not be made 
with respect to operators' or owners who m'e exempt from the requirements of security 
and suspension under s. 344.14 (2). 

(2) The cOll1lllissioner shall determine the amount of security required to be deposited 
by each pei'son on the basis of the accident reports or other information submitted. In 
addition to the accident reports required by law, the commissioner may request fr.oril any 
of the persons, including passengers and pedeshians, illvolve'c1 in sltch accident such 
further information, sworn statements or other evidence relating to property damage, 
personal injury or death in motor vehicle accidents as he deems necessary to aid in de­
termining the amount to be deposited as security under s. 344.14. Failure of a person 
to comply with such request is grounds for Sllspending such person's operating privilege 
but no suspension shall be made on such gTolmds until one follow-up request has been 
made and at least 20 'days have elapsed since the mailing of the first request. -

(3) The commissioner within 60 days after recei1Jt of a report of an accident 'Of the 
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type specified in s. 344.12 and upon determining' the amount of security to be requiTed of 
any person involved in such accident or to be required of the owner of any vehicle involved 
in such accident, shall give at least 10 days' written notice to every such person of the 
amount of security required to be deposited by him. The notice also shall state that an 
order of suspension will be made as provided in s. 344.14, unless within such time security 
is deposited as required by the notice. The order of suspension may be, made a part of the 
notice, with a provision that it will take effect on the date specified in this subsection unless 
security is deposited prior to that date. 

History, 1961 c, 662. 

344.14 Suspension for failure to deposit security; exceptions. (1) If a person 
who was given notice pursuant to s. 344.13 (3) fails to deposit secmity in the amount and 
by the time specified in the notice, the conmlissioner shall forthwith suspend his operating 
plivilege if he was the operator of a motor vehicle involved in the accident and all his 
registrations if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in the accident unless he 
furnishes proof satisfactory to the commissioner that he comes within one of the exceptions 
set forth in sub. (2). If the owner and operator are separate persons, only one of them 
need deposit security or the 2 persons may co-operate in depositing security, Upon request 
of the owner or operator in question, the commissioner may postpone the effective date of 
a suspension under this section not to exceed 20 days, 

(2) The requirements as to security and suspension stated in sub. (1) do not apply: 
(a) To the owner of a motor vehicle involved in an accident if the owner had in effect 

at the time of the accident an automobile liability policy or bon'd with respect. to such 
motor vehicle, which policy or bond complies with the requirements of s, 344.15. 

(b) To the operator who is not the owner of the vehicle involved in the accident if 
either the owner had in effect. an automobile liability policy or bond applying to the oper­
ator's operation of the motor vehicle at the time of the accident or there was in effect at the 
time of the accident an automobile liability policy or bond with respect to the operator's 
operation of motor vehicles not owned by him, which policy or bond meets the require­
ments of s, 344.15, 

(c) To the operator or owner whose liability for damages resulting from the accident 
is, in the judgment of the commissioner, covered by any other form of liability insurance 
policy or bond meeting' the requirements of s. 344.15, 

(d) To any person qualifying as a self-insurer under s. 344.16 or to any person oper­
ating a vehicle for such self-insurer. 

(e) To the operator or owner of a vehicle involved in an accident wherein no injury 
was caused to the person of anyone other than such operator or owner and wherein dam­
age to property of anyone person other than such operator or owner did not exceed $100. 

(f) To the operator or owner of a vehicle legally parked at the time of the accident, 
provided that the operators of the other vehicles involved admit that such vehicle was 
legally pal'ked or other proof establishing such fact to the commissioner's satisfaction is 
filed. 

(g) To the owner of a vehicle if, at the time of the accident, the vehicle was being 
operated without his permission, express or implied, or was parked by a person who ha'd 
been operating such vehicle without such permission. 

(h) To any person who would otherwise have to deposit security if, prior to the date 
the COll1lnissioner would otherwise suspend such person's operating privilege and registra­
tions under sub. (1), there is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that 
such person has been released from liability or has been finally adjudicated not to be liable 
or has executed a warrant for confession of judgment payable when and in such instal­
ments as the parties have agreed to or has executed a duly acknowledged wlitten agree­
ment providing for the payment of an ag'l'eed amount in instalments with respect to all 
claims for injuries or damage resulting from the accident. The commissioner may accept 
a release from liability executed by a parent as natural guardian on behalf of a minor 
child with respect to property damage or personal injuries sustained by such minor, pro­
vided that the total 'damag'es, including the cost of medical care, does not exceed $200 and 
that, in the case of personal injury, the doctor's certificate of injury filed with the depart­
ment certifies that such minor received no pel'manent injury. 

(i) To the owner of a vehicle insured as required by s. 40.57, 194.41 or 194.42 or to 
the operator of such vehicle if operating with the owner's permission at the time of the 
accident. 

(j) To the owner of a vehicle involved in an accident if at the time of the accident 
such vehicle was owned by or leased to the United States, this state or any county or mu­
nicipality of this state, or to the operator of such vehicle if operating' such vehicle with 
permission. 

(3) A suspension for failing to deposit security under sub. (1) shall suspend only 
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the operator's license and operating privileges thereunder and shall not suspend a person's 
chauffeur's license or his operating privilege thereunder when operating a vehicle subject 
to the requirements of s. 194.41 or 194.42 or a vehicle owned by or leased to the United 
States, this state or any county or municipality of this state. 

344.15 Requirements as to policy or bond. (1 ) No policy or bond is effective under 
s. 344.14 unless issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do 
business in this state, except as otherwise provided in sub. (2), nor unless such policy or 
bond is subject, if the accident has resulted in bodily injury or death, to a limit, exclu­
sive of interest and costs, of not less than $10,000 bec<luse of bodily injury to or death of 
one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one person, to a limit of not 
less than $20,000 because. of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in anyone 
accident and, if the accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a 
limit of not less than $5,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in 
anyone accident. . 

(2) A policy or bond with respect to a vehicle which was not registered in this state 
or was registered elsewhere at the time of the effective date of the policy or bond or the 
most recent renewal thereof may be effective lUlder s. 344.14 even though not issued by an 
insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this state if the 
following .conditions are complied IIrith: 

(a) The policy or bond either meets the liability limits specified in sub. (1) or meets 
the liability limits of the equivalent law of the state in which issued and such limits are, 
in the judgment of the commissioner, adequate to cover any damage or injury involved 
in the accident in question. . 

(b) The company which issued the policy or bond executes a power of attorney au­
thorizing the commissioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any ac­
tion upon such policy or bond arising out of such accident. 

(3) Where senrice of process is made on the commissioner under a power of attorney 
filed in accordance with sub. (2), the commissioner shall forthwith mail by registered mail 
a copy of the process papers to the company at the address given in the filed power of 
attorney. In all cases of such service, there shall be served the original, one copy for the 
commissioner's record of service and such additional mnnber of copies as there are de­
fendants so served in the action. The original shall be returned with propel' certificate of 
service attached for filing in court as proof of service of the copies by having mailed them 
by registered mail to the defendants name therein. The service fee shall be $2 for each 
defendant so served. 

(4) After receipt of the report of an accident of the type specified in s. 344.12, the 
commissioner shaH forward to the insurance company or surety company named therein, 
that portion of the report which pertains to an automobile liability policy or bond. The 
commissioner shall assume that an automobile liability policy or bond as described in this 
section was in effect and applied to both the owner and operator with respect to the acci­
dent unless the insurance company or surety company notifies the commissioner otherwise 
within 30 days from the mailing to the company of that portion of the report pertaining 
to the automobile liability policy or bond. Upon receipt of notice from the company that 
an automobile liability policy or bond was in effect as to the owner only, the operator only 
or was not in effect as to either of them,. the commissioner shall ~\rithin the remainder of 
the 60-day period specified in s. 344.13 (3) require the owner or operator or both, which­
ever is applicable, to deposit security pursuant to this chapter. As respects permission to 
operate the vehicle, the company may correct the report only if it files with the commis­
sioner "rithin the 30-day period specified in this subsection an affidavit signed by the 
owner stating that. the operator did not have the owner's permission to operate the vehi­
cle. Where the company's failure to notify the commissioner within 30 days of a correction 
in that portion of the report pertaining to an automobile liability policy 01' bond is caused 
by fraud, the company shall notify the commissioner of the correction ~nthin 30 days of 
the time the fraud is discovered. 

(5) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to impose any obligation not otherwise 
assumed by the insurance company or surety company in its automobile liability policy or 
bond except that if no correction is made in the report ~\rithin 30 d,ays after it is mailed to 
the insurance company or surety company, the company, except 111 case of fraud, when­
e,ver such fraud may occur, is estoppe'a from using as a defense to its liability the in­
sured's failure to give permission to the operator or a violation of the purposes of use 
specified in the automobile liability policy or bond or the use of the vehicle beyond agreed 
geographical limits. 

(6) Until July 1, 1958, the commissione~' may accept for filing either the form of 
Dotice of insurance in use prior to the enactment of ch. 545, laws of 1957 (Form SR-21) 
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or tpe form of notice of insurance specified in ch. 545, laws of 1957. In either event, the 
s.ubstantive provisions of ch. 545, laws of 1957, shall apply. 
· (5) does not require an automobile lia- sion without. notifying the commissioner of 

bility insurer, in case of accident, to notify its intention to do so. Bean v. Kovacik, 10 
the state motor vehicle commissioner of an W (2d) 646, 103 NyV (2d) 899. . 
exclusion clause contained in its policy, and SR-21 filings discussed. 1959 WLR 552, 
IJerl?its the insurer to rely on such exclu-

:·344.16 Requirements as to self"insurers. (1) Any person in whose name more 
than 25 motor vehicles are registered may qualify as a self-insurer by obtaining a ceI·tifi­
cate of self-insurance issued by the cOlumissioner as provided in sub. (2). 
· (2) The commissioner may, in his discretion, upon the application of such a person, 

iS8tie a certificate of self-insurance when he is satisfied that such person is possessed and 
will continue to be possessed of ability to pay judgments obtained against such person. 
· . (3) Upon not less than 5 days' notice and a hearing pursuant to such notice, the com­

lliissi<mer may upon reasonable grounds cancel a: cel;tificate of self-insurance. Failure to 
pay any judgment within 30 days after such judgment has become final constitutes a rea­
s'ohable gromidfor cancellation of a certificate of self-insurance. 

344.17 Requirements as to form and amount of security. (1) The security required 
undel's. 344.14 shall be in such form and in such amount as the commissioner may require 
but in no case in excess of the limits specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference to the ac­
ceptable limits of a policy or bond. The person depositing secm-ity shall specify in writing 
the per&on or. persons on whose behalf the deposit is made and, at any time while such 
d,epositis in the custody of the cOlllmissioner 01' state treasurer, the person depositing it 
may, in writing, amend the specification of the persons on whose behalf the deposit is made 
to include an additional person or persons, subject to the limitation thata.single deposit 
of secm-ity shall be applicable only on behalf of persons required to furnish security be­
cause of the same accident . 

. (2) The commissioner may reduce the amount of security ordered in any case if, in 
h~s judgment, from evidence submitted, the. amount ordered is excessive or has become 
excessive by filed release on part of the liability or by adjudication reducing the extent 
of. the liability. In case the secm-ity Ol-iginally ordered had been deposited at the tiine 
the reduced amount is ordered, the excess over the reduced amount shall be returned to the 
depositor or his personal representative forthwith, notwithstanding the provisions of s. 
344.20. 

(3) In all cases where the commissioner accepts security. in the form of a lien on real 
estate, the party owning such real estate shall prepare the proper instrument to effect 
such lien, payable to the state and all persons entitled thereto under ch. 344, and shall 
record such instrument in the office of the register of deeds in the county where the real 
es~ate is situated. The commissioner may require the party to fm'nish the commissioner 
an abstract of merchantable title showing the lien to be a first lien on the premises. A 
certified copy of the recorded instrument and abstract, when required, shall be deposited 
by the commissioner with the state treasurer. In all cases where a judg'ment has been 
entered against a person involved ina motor vehicle accident and such judgmentremains 
unsatisfied 60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may for his own use 
an.d benefit and at his sole expense bring an action to foreclose such lien in the name of 
the state for his use and benefit under this section. The costs of such foreclosure may be 
estimated by the commissioner. an't'[ added to the amount required to lJe posted. In the 
foreclosure of such lien, the provisions of c11.. 278 on foreelosure of real estate mortgages 
shall apply as far as possible. 

(4) In all cases where the commissioner accepts secm-ity in the form of ,lien on per­
sonal property, the party owning such personal property shall prepare the proper instru­
ment to effect such lien payable to the state and all persons entitled thereto under ch. 
344 and shall file such instrument in the office of the register of deeds in the county where 
such property is: kept. He shall furnish the conunissioner a certified copy of the filed in­
strument and, if required by the commissioner, a chattel abstract from the register of 
deeds showing the lien to be a first lien on such property. The certified copy and abstract 
shall be deposited by the commissioner with the state tre:;lsurer. In all cases where a 
ju'dgment has been. entered against a person involved in a motor vehicle accident and. it 
remains unsatisfied 60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may, fOI;his 
own use and benefit and at his sole expense, bl-ing an action to foreclose s]1ch lien in the 
name of the state for his use and benefit under ch. 344. The costs of such'for'eclosure shall 
be estimated by the commissioner and added to the amount required to be posted. In fore­
closure of such lien the provisions of s. 241.13 on foreclosure of chattel mortgages shall 
apply as far as possible. . 

(5) In all cases where the commissioner lias accepted security in the form of a lien on 
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real e~tate or perso~al pl;operty the state treasurer shall satisfy such lien of record on 
order of the commissioner to return the security upon the party's compliance with eh. 
344. The state treasurer shall execute a satisfaction in legal form in the name of the 
state by state treasurer, custodian security "Motor Vehicle Responsibility Act." The 

. treaslirer shall note on' the satisfaction that the commissioner has issued such order, and 
such notation shall be prima facie evidence of such issuance. The treasurer shall record 

, or file such satisfaction with the propel' register of deeds. 

344.18 Duration of suspension for failure to deposit security. (1) Any operating 
privilege or registration suspended as provided in s. 344.14 shall remain suspended and 
shall not be renewed or reinstated until one of the following requirements has been met: 

(a) The person whose operating privilege or registration was suspended deposits the 
security required l!nder s. 344.14. . 

(b) There is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that the. person 
whose operating privilege or registration ~yas suspende'd has been released from liability 
or has b-een finally adjudicated not to be liable. The commissioner may accept a release 
executed by a, parent on behalf of a, minor child only if the release satisfies the requii'e­
ments specified in. s. 344.14 (2) (h). 

(c) There is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him' that the person 
whose operating privilege or registration was suspended has executed a wal'l'ant for con­
fession of judgment or duly acknowledged written agreement in accordance with s. 344.14 
(2) (h), slibject however to the provisions of subs. (2). and (3) of this. section. 

(d) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date of the accident and, during such 
period, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any clainlant that an action 
was instituted by a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint within 
the one-year period following the date of the accident or by service of counterclaim or 
cross-complaint within the 20-day answer period. If the action was commenced. in a 
court of record, the notice required by this paragraph shall include a certified copy of the 
summons and complaint or counterclaim or cross-complaint and proof of service filed 
therein. If the action was comlnenced before a justice of the peace, the notice required 
by this section shall include a certificate from such justice establishing the fact that the 
action was so commenced. In all cases of service under s. 345.09 (nonresident service), 
an· additional notice and service must be made under ch. 344 to avail o)leself of the pro­
visions of said chapter. 

(2) If there is any default in the payment of, any instalment under any confession of 
judgment, the commissioner, upon notice of such default given within the terms of the 
instalment agreement or in no event later than 30 days after the time for the final instal­
mellt; shall forthwith suspend the operating privilege and registrations. of the defaulting 
person, which suspension shall remain in effect until the entire amount provided for in 
the confession of judgment has been paid. 

(3) If there is any default in the payment of any instalment under a duly ackliowl­
edged written agreement, the commissioner, upon notice of such default given in no 
event later than 30 days after the time for final instalment, shall forthwith suspend the 
operating privilege and registrations of the defaulting person, which suspension shall 
reinainin effect until one of the following requirements has been met: 

(a) Such person deposits the security required under s. 344.14. 
(b) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date when the security was required, and, 

during such period, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any claimant that an 
action was instituted bY'a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint 
within the one-year period following' the date when such security was required or by serv­
ice of counterclaim or cross-complaint within the 20-day answer period. The noticere­
quired by this paragraph shall comply ,vith the provisions of sub. (1) (d): 

(4) The commissioner shall not suspend,as required by sub. (2) or (3), if the de­
faultirig-person has made payments to the extellt specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference 
to the acceptable limits of a, policyor bond. 

History. 1961 c. 662. 

344.19 Applicability to nonresidents, unlicensed drivers, unregistered motor vehi­
cles and accidents in other states. (1) If the operator 01' the owner of a motor vehicle 
involved in an accident within this state has no license 01' registration, whether because he 
is a nonresident or because he is a resident who has failed or neglected to obtain a license 
or regi~tl'ation in this state, he shall not be allowed a license or registration untilhe has 
complied with the requirements of this chapter to the same extent as would be necessary 
if, at the time of the accident, he had held a license and registration in this state. 

(2) If the operating privilege 01' registration of a noID.'esident is suspended pursu­
ant to s. 344.14,the commissioner shall transmit a certified copy of the tecord of such 
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action to the motor vehicle commissioner or equivalent official of the state in which that 
person resides if the law of the state in which that person resides provides for similal' 
action by the commissioner or equivalent official of that state in the event that a resident 
of this state has his nonresident's operating privilege or registration in that state sus­
pended or revoked for failure to comply with the safety responsibility law of that state. 

(3) Upon receipt of such certification from another state to the effect that the oper­
ating privilege or registration of a resident of this state has been suspended or revoked 
in such other. state pursuant to a law providing for its suspension or revocation for failure 
to deposit security for payment of judgments arising out of a motor vehicle accident, 
under circumstances which would require the commissioner to suspend a nonresident's 
operating privilege or registration had the accident occUl'red in this state, the commissioner 
shall suspend the license of such resident if he was the operator and all of his registra­
tions if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department 
may accept a certification which is in the form of a combine'd notice of required security 
and suspension or revocation order, but shall not suspend a resident's operating privilege 
or registration on the basis of such order until at least 30 days have elapsed since the 
time for depositing security in the other state expired. A suspension under this section 
shall continue until such resident furnishes evidence of his compliance with the law of the 
·other state relating to the deposit of security. 

344.20 Oustody, disposition and return of security. (1) Security deposited in 
compliance with this chapter shall be placed by the commissioner in the custody of the 
state treasurer and shall be applied only as provided in this section. IVhenplacing 
security in the custody of the state treasurer, the commissioner shall also file with the 
state treasurer a memorandum specifying the respective portions of such deposit required 
because of property damage 01' personal injuries, including deaths, suffered by each 
person who 1vill be entitled to a portion of such deposit in the event of a judgment 
against either operator 01' owner for the damages resulting from such accident. 

(2) The state treasurer shall apply the security only to the payment of judgments 
and assignments and only as provided in this subsection: 

(a) The security may be applied to the payment of judgments for damages arising' 
out of the accident in question rendered against either operator or owner for the dam­
ages resulting' from such accident in an action at law begun not later than one year 
after the date of the accident 01' not later than one year after the date of deposit of any 
security under s. 344.18 (2). Any party to such action in favor of whom a judgment 
was rendered may move to have the court order the state treasurer to transmit to the 
court for application to the payment of the judgment the money 01' securities available 
for such pm'pose, and the court may so order. A certified copy of the order shall be 
·served upon the state treasurer, which service shall be by mail only. Upon being so 
served, the state treasurer shall transmit to the clerk of the court the money or securities 
in the amount authorized by par. (c) or in the amolmt specified in the court order if less 
than the alllount so authorized. Securities transmitted shall be valued at the same amount 
as when received from the department. The state treasurer shall have no further responsi­
bility for the alllount of the deposit so transmitted and the court shall determine and 
direct the application thereof. Any excess"shall be returned by the court to the state 
treasurer to be held by him subject to the provisions of this chapter. 

(b) Subject to the restrictions imposed by par. (c), the security may be applied to 
the payment of a duly acknowledged assignment by the person who made the deposit, 
provided the assignment is accompanied by releases signed by all parties in interest and 
releasing the assignor from all liability to such parties on account of damages arising 
out of the accident in q)lestion. 

(c ) No ambunt in excess of the portion designated in the commissioner's filed security 
memorandum as having been deposited on account of damages suffered by the assigne~ 
or jndgment creditor or person representing either of them shall be paid out on behalf 
of such person unless the depositor has been released from liability by all other parties 
in interest. In the latter event, the deposit may be applied to the payment of the judg. 
ment or assignment in question without regard to the designations in the security memo-
randum. . 
, (3) The deposit of secui'ity or any balance thereof shall pe returned to the depositor 
or his pers~nal representative when evidence satisfactory to the commissioner has been 
filed with him that one of the contingencies specified in s. 344 . .18 (1) (b), (0) or (d) or 
(3) (b) has occurred. 

History. 1961 c. 662. 

344.21 Matters not to be evidence in civil suits. Neither the report required fol­
lmving an accident, the action taken by the commissioner pursuant to this chapter, the 
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findings, if any, upon which such action is based nor the security filed as provi'ded in this 
chapter shall he refelTed to in any way or be any evidence of the negligence or due care 
of either party at the trial of any action at law to recover damages, but this shall not be 
construed to exclude a notice of insurance filed pursuant to s. 344.15 (4) from being 
admissible in evidence where it would otherwise be material and admissible undeI; the rules 
of evidence. 

344.22 Short title. Sections 344.12 to 344.22 and the general provisions appli­
cable thereto may be cited as the safety responsibility law. 

PROOF OF FINANOIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE FUTURE • . 
344.24 Applicability of sections relating to proof of financial responsibility for the 

future .. Sections 344.29 to 344.41 are applicable in all cases in which a person is re­
quired to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the fut~re, including those cases 
ih which a person is required to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the future 
under ss. 344.25 to 344.27 and those cases in which the deposit 6f proof of financial re­
sponsibility for the future is a condition precedent to reinstatement of an operating privi­
lege revoked pursuant to ch. 343. 

344.25 Revocation of license and registration for nonpayment of judgment; excep­
tions. Upon the receipt, pursuant to s. 344.05, of a certified copy of a judgment for 
damages in excess of $100 arising out of a motor vehicle accident, the commissioner 
shall forthwith revoke the operating privilege and all registrations of the person against 
whom such judgment was rendered, subject to the following exceptions: 

(1) If the judgment arose out of an accident caused by the ownership 01' operation, 
with permission, Of a vehicle owned by 01' leased to the United States, this state or any 
county or municipality of this state 01' a vehicle subject to the requirements of ss. 40.57, 
194.41 or 194.42, the commissioner shall not revoke such license or registration. 

(2) If the judgment creditor consents in writing in such form as the commIssioner 
may prescribe that the judgment debtor be allowed to retain or reinstate his operating 
privilege and registrations, the same may he allowed by the commissioner, in his discretion, 
for 6 months from the date of such consent and thereafter until such consent is revoked 
in writing, notwithstanding default in the payment of such judgment or of any instal­
ments thereof as prescribed in s. 344.27, provided the judgment debtor furnislies proof of 
financial responsibility for the future and maintains such proof at all times when such 
licensean'd registrations are in effect during a period of 3 years following the entry of the 
judgment. 

(3) The commissioner shall not revoke such license or registrations if the judgment 
debtor obtains a court order for. instalment payments and furnishes proof of financial 
responsibility as provided in s. 344.27. 

(4) The commissioner shall not revoke the chauffeur's license of a debtor, his oper­
ating privilege thereunder or his registration with respect thereto when' the debtor is 
operating a vehicle subject to the requirements of s. 194.41 01' 194.42 or a. vehicle 01vned 
by or leased to the United States, this state 01' any county or municipality of this state. 

(5) When the commissioner receives certification of the entry of a damage judgment 
in accordance with s. 344.05 against a resident of this state which has been entered by a 
court in another jurisdiction, he shall give notice to such person that he has received 
such certification of judgment. If satisfaction of such judgment is not made and copy 
of such satisfaction filed with the commissioner within 30 days from the date such notice 
was given, the commissioner shall revoke the license and registrations of such judgment 
debtor. . 

History: 1961 c. 662. . . 

344.26 Revocation to continue until judgment paid and proof of financial resP911s1-
bilitygiven. (1) Subject to the exceptions stated in ss. 344.25 (2) and. 344.27 (2), 
any operati1).g privilege 01' registration revoked pursuant to s. 344.25 shall remain revoked 
until every judgment mentioned in s. 344.25 is stayed, satisfied or discharged and, unless 
3 years have elapsed since the date of entry of the judgment which was the cause for 
revocation, until the person whose operating privilege an'dregistration was revoked fur­
nishes proof of financial responsibility for the future and maintains such proof at all 
times during such 3~year period when the operating privilege or regi.stration is in effect. 

(2) A discharge in bankruptcy following the rendering of any such judgment does 
not relieve the judgment debtor from any of the requirements of this section . 

.. (3) Judgments in excess of the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d) shall,for the 
purpose'of this section only, be deemed satisfied when payments in the ·amounts so speci­
fied have been credited thereon. Payments made in settlement of any claims because of 
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bodily injury, death or property damage arising from a motoi· vehicle accident shaH' be 
· credited in reduction of the respective amounts so. specified; . 

344.27 Instalment payment~f judgments; revocation upon defaUlt. ,Cl) A judg­
ment debtor upon due notice. to the judgment creditor may apply to the court in which 
such ju'dgment was rendered for the privilege of paying such judgment in instalments and 
the court, in its discretion and without prejudice to any other legal r!)medies yhich the 
judgment creditor: may have, may so order and fix the am,ounts and times of payment of 
the instalments. .' '., '..' 

(2) The commissioner shall not revoke .the operating privilege or registration and 
shalll'estQreany operating privilege 01' registration revoked following noppaYDlent of a 
judgnicnt when the judgment debtor obtains such order permitting the payment of the 
judgment in instalments and, unless 3 J'ears have' elapsed' since the entry 6f judg'lnellt, 
furnishe(:l fin'd lllaintains'proof of financial responsibility for the future. .' ....: 

(3)I£ the judg:mellt debtor fails to pay any instalment as specified by such order; tIle 
coriunissioner, upon notice of such defllrult, shall forthwith revoke the operating' privijege 
and registrations 6f the judgment debtor until such judgment.is satisfied as provided in $. 
344.26. .. .' . ' . . . 

· '.' ~44~29.Proof 'o.f nnanciai responsi~ilityiequired for ~~ch register~~ vehicle. Proof 
of financial responsibility for the future shall lie furnished for. each motor vehlclerei'is-
'tered by: any person required to give ~ueli ;pr~o1;' '. " .... ' 

344.30 Alternate methods of giving proof of financial responsibility. Whenever the 
· owner or operator of a motor vehicle is required under cbs. 343 or 344 to give proof of 
financial responsibility for the ,future, such proof may be given by filing: . 

(1) A certificate of insurance as provided in'$. 344.3101'344.32;01' 
(2) A bon'dasprovided in s. 344.36; or ,. 
(3) Acertiflcate of deposit of money. or securities as provided in 8.344.37; or 
(4). A certificate of selfci.nsurance as provided in s. 344.16, supplemented bY!luagl'e~ 

· ment by the sel£-insllrer that, with respect. to accidents occuning while. the certifiGa~ ~ 
in ;[orce, he will pay the same amounts, that an~nsurer would have been obligated to pay 
llnder an owner's motor vehicle liability policy if it had isslled such a .policy to such se1£-
in~urer. . 

344.31 Oe:l.'tificate of insurance as proof. (1) Proof Of financial responsibility for 
the future may be furnished by filing with the commissioner the written certificate' of any 
insurance carrier duly· authorized to do business in this state certifying that there is in 
effect·a motor vehide liability policy for the benefit of the person required .to furnish 
proof of financial responsibility. Such certificate shall give the effective '.date of such 
motor vehicle liability policy, Which date shall' be the same as the effective 'date of the 
certificate and shall designate by explicit description 01' by approPl'iate reference all 
motor vehicles covered 'thereby, unless the. policy is issued to a person who is not the 
OWIler of a motor vehicle. 

,(2) No motor vehicle shall be or continue to be l'egistered in the name of any 'person 
required to file proof: offiIlancial responsibility unless such motor vehiele is so designated 
in such a certificate. ' 

. . 34U2 Oe).'tificate furnishe4by nonresid~ritsa:$ p~~lOf .. '{l),'rhe 'n~I).resid~nt o,vner 
o'(a niotor vehicle 'not registered in this state may MW· proof, of :f).nancialrespo~sibilit:y 
b'yfiling with the comlmssioner it writtell certificate of an insul'ance cID'l'ier authori~ed to 
transact business in the state in which the motor vehicle described in such certificaie is 
registered or, if such nonresident does not own a motor vehicle, 'then in the state. ih which 
the insui'ed residEis, pl'ovided such 'Certificate otherwise conforms'to the prcivisioil,scif this 
chapter. The commissioner shall accept the certificate only upon condition that such' in­
surance carrier complies with the following provisions ,,,ith 'i'espect· to the' policies.' so 
ce:i'tifie'd : '. , ' , ' 

.. (a) SucH insurance 'carrier shall execute a 'power df attorney authorizing: the com­
missioner't6 accept service on 'its behalf of notice or process in any action arising out of 
amotor'vehicleaccident in this state. " , . 

(b) Such insurance carl'iei· shall agTee in writing th1J,t"sucli policies shall be deenied 
to conforllt, with ,the laws of this state relating to the terms ,of motor vehicle liability 
policies issued herein. . 

(2) If, anyillsurance CalTIernot authorized to transact business, in this: state, which 
· has qualified to furnish proof of financial responsibility,defaults in any such unde;r.tak­
ings or agreements,the .commissioner shall not thereafter accept as proo~ anF certificate 
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of suchcal'l'ier whether theretofore filed 01' thereaftel' tendered· as proof, so long as' such 
default <}Ontinues. 

344.33 "Motor vehicle liability policy" defined. (1) CERTIFICATION. A "motor 
vehiCle . liability policy" as that term is used in this chapter means an owner's policy or 
an operator's policy of liability insurance, certified as provided in s~ 344.31 or 344.32 as 
proof of fin,ancial responsibility for the future, and issued, except as otherwise provided 
in. s. 344:32, . by ~n. insurance ~arrier . duly authorized ,to h'allsact busines!l in this state. to 
<?~~ f?l' the benefit of the person :t;tame4 therein as insured. 

(2) OWNJ!:R'.S. POLIOY., .An owner's policy of liability insurance: 
,(a) Shall designate by explicit descriptioll or by appropriate reference all motor,ve­

hicles withl'espect to which coverage.is thereby to be granted; and 
(b) Shall insur~ .the .person named therein and any other person, as insured, using any' 

such motor vehicle or motor vehicles with the express or implied permission of such named 
insured, against loss 'fi'om the :liability iniposedbylaw for damages arising out of the 
ownership, maintenance or use 'of such motor vehicle or motor vehicles within the United 
States of America or the Dominion of Canada, Sllbjoot to limits exclusive of interest and' 
costs, with respect to each such motorv~hicle, as follows: $10,000 because of bodily injury 
to or death of one person in anyone accident' and, subject to such limit for one person, 
$20,OOObecau$eofhbdilyinjury tOOl' death of 2 or more persons in anyone accident, 
and $.5,000· because of injury to or, destruction of property of others in anyone accident. 

(3) OPERATOR'SPOLIOY. An'oljel'atoi"s :policy of liability insurance shall insure'the 
perspnna~ed as.insured tperein against loss fro,m the liability imposed upon hil;n. by law 
for. damages,arisillgbut'of th~,lise bY.him of. any motorve4i!Jle not owned by him, 
witmn thesanleterritoriallimits and subject to the samelimits of liability as are set forth 
ip~lib. :,(2) ivi.t~ ;resp:ec;~toan owner'spcilicy 9f liabili~y inS]lra~we. " . '.. . 
.. (4):REQuIRl!;p STA:rE1.iEl'lTS ,~N POLIOy,SlIC4 motor vehicle liability policy shall state 

th,~ ; name, and address of the named jp.sured, the co:vel~age afforded by the policy, the 
premill111 .\lhal:gedt)wrefordhe policy ,p!j~'iod ~~d the.limitsofliability, and shall contain 
an agreement or be endorsed that insurance is provided thereunder in accordance with the· 
coverag!=l defined in this chapter. with ,respect t.o jJodily injury and death. or property 
damage;pr' both,andls subject toa,lIthe provisions of this ch~pter. . .. '.' 

,(5),CERTArN:TYPEf1 o;n' CO~RAGE ;EXCL:U,DED; ,Such mo~or velllcle liability policy:shall 
not insure any)iability.under any workmen's compensation law as provided in ch. 102, 
l\o~'any liability on accpUlit of bodilyinju~'Y, to or.cle!1th of any employe of the insur.ed 
while eng-aged II). t4e emplpyment, ot4er, thlln .domestic, of the insm'ed, 01' while el~gaged in, 
the6p~ration, maintenance ol'repair .of any such motor vehicle or any liability ~or dam-, 
agetopropel:ty o~l'lle:a by, rentedto"inchal'g!j ~f or transported by the, insured . 

. (6)PROVISIONS INCqRPORATEDIN J;'OLIOY BYLAWS., Every motor vehicle liability 
po~icy shal~ be subject ~o the follpwing pmvisio~s ,which need not be. contained therein: 
. '(a) The. policy may 'not oe cancel~d, 01: I;Innulled, as to Such lillbility. by any agreement 

be~we!)n ,the insiv·a~ce. carriel' B;nd t~e i.n~ured\ ~fter. the occuii'ence of any injUTyor Aam:. 
age ,covered by such motor vehicle lIability policy.. .... '. . " .' 

(b) The 'sa.tis£actio~by the insured of a judgrnent for such injlll'Y· ()l' daD,lage sliall 
not be a condition precedent to the right o:j duty 6f the,insurance c.arrierto make :payment. 
on' account of such injury or damage: - - . ., ,! .' 

(c) The insurance carrier shall have the right to settle any claim covered by thep.olicy, 
and,if·Slwh;settlement.is made in good faith, the a1l10illltthereof shall be deductible from 
the limits of liability specified in'srib. (2) (b)... . . " .. 

'f (d) The policy, the written' application therefdr,-if any, and !lny iider or endprse~ 
ment which does' not conflict with the provisions of this chapter 'constitutes the entiI'll 
contract-between the partiesi . , ..' . 

. (7) EXCESsb~.ADbITIONAicoVERA(jE.Any' policy which .grants the cove~'age :requir~d . 
for 'aniotor vehicle liability policy nia:y also grant any lawful Coverage in excess of or in 
additioido the coverage specified for a motor vehicle liability policy and s)wh excess 01' 
additibnalcoverage is not subject to the provisions of this ehapter. With respect 'to a 
policy which grants such excess or additional coverage'the term "motoi' vehicle liability 
policy" applies only to that part of the coverage which is required bythissecti.on) . 

(8) REIMBURSEMENT PROVISiON J;'ElR:M:I'rTED.' Any motor v~hicle liability policy may. 
p'ro·vide !t4at' the insured' shall teimhurse themsurance 'Clinier for any paynient the. in­
suran.ce cl!lner'would not have been obli(Sated to make under the terriis .of the policy except 
for·tlie provisions of this section. ., . ,. . .' •. . , 

(9) PRORATION' OF INSURANcE PERMITTED. Any motor vehicle liability pollcy ;hay 
provid,e for th~, proratiug of theip.l:lllrancethereundetwith other valid and collectible 
ilI8jlran,ce. .' . 
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(10) MULTIPLE POLICIES. The requirements for a motor vehicle liability policy may 
be fulfilled by the policies of one or more insurance carriers which policies together meet 
such requirements. 

(11) BINDERS, Any binder issued pending the issuance of a motor vehicle liability 
policy shall be deemed to fulfill the requirements for such a policy. 

344.34 Notice of cancellation or termination of certified policy. When an insur­
ance caiTier has certified a motor vehicle liability policy under s. 344.31 or a policy under 
s. 344.32, the insurance so certified shall not be canceled or terminated until at least 10 
days after a notice of cancellation or termination of the insurance so certified has been 
filed iIi the office of the commissioner, except that such a policy subsequently procured 
and certified shall, on the effective date of its certification, terminate the insurance previ­
ously certified with respect to any motor vehicle designated in both certificates . 

.344.35 This chapter not to. affect other policies. (1) This chapter does not apply 
to or. affect policies of automobile insurance against liability which may now or hereafter 
be required by any other law of this state. If such policies contain an agreement or are 
endorsed to conform to the requirements of this chapter, they may be certified as proof 
of financial responsibility under this chapter. 

(2). This chapter does not apply to or affect policies insuring solely the insured named 
in the policy against liability resulting from the maintenance or use by persons in the 
insured's employ or on his behalf of motor vehicles not owned by the insured. 

344.36 Bond as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility .may be. evidenced by' 
the bond of a snrety company duly authorized to transact business within this state ora 
bond with at least 2 individual sureties each owning real estate within this state and to­
gether having equities equal in value to at least twice the amolmt of the bond, which real 
estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a judge of a court of record. Such bond 
shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d). TIle 
band shall be flIed with the commissioner and shan not be cancellable except. after 10 days' 
written notice to the commissioner. 

(2) The bond constitlttes a lien in favor of the state upon any surety's real estate 
which is scheduled in the bond and which is not exempt by law £rom execution. Such lien 
is effective as of the time when the commissioner records the bond in the office of the 
register of deeds of the county wherein such real estate is located, as provided in s. 
235.45. Such lien exists in favor of any holder of a final judgment against the person 
who filed such bond, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use or oper­
ationof a motor vehicle after such bond was recorded, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bodily injury to or death of any persoil and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof. . 

(3) If the judgment rendered against the principal on the bond is not satisfied within 
60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may, for his own use and benefit 
and at his sole expense, bring an action in the name of the state agaiI).st the company or 
persons executing the bond, includi)1g an action or proceeding to f01;eclose any lien that 
may exist upon the real estate of a person who has executed such bond. In the foreclosure 
of su:ch lien, ch. 278 on the foreclosure of real estate mortgages shall apply as far as 
possible. 

844.37 Money or securities as proof. (1) Pl'oof of financial responsibility . for the 
future may be evidenced by the certificate of the state treasurer that the person named 
therein has. deposited with him $25,000 in cash, or in securities such as may legally be 
purchased by savings .banks or for trust funds of a ma:t'ket vallIe of $25,000. The state 
treasurer shall not accept any such deposit and issue a certificate therefor and the com­
missioner shall not accept such certifica~e unless accompanied by evidence that there are no 
unsatisfied judgments of any character against the depositor in the county where the 
depositor resides. 

(2)])eposits made under this section shall be held by the state treasurer to satisfy, 
in accordance with this chapter, any execution on a judgment issued against the person 
making the deposit, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use or opera­
tion of a motor vehicle after such deposit was made, including daI)1ages for care and for 
loss of services because of bodily injury to or death of any person and damages because 
of injury. to or destruction of property and the cOllsequent loss of use thereof. Money 
or securities so deposited are not subject to attachment or execution unless such attach­
ment or execution arises out of a suit for damages as set forth in this section. 

, - ", ~. . 
844.38 Owner may give proof for' others. Whenever any person required to give 

proof of financial responsibility for the future under this chapter is or later becomes ~ 
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operator in the employ' of any owner, 01' is 01' later becomes a member of the immediate 
family 01' household of the owner, the commissioner shall accept proof given by such 
owner iIi lien of proof by such other person. When proof has been given as provided in 
this section, the person on whose behalf such' owner gave proof may be granted a license, 
but only to operate those vehicles for which proof was so g·iven. The department shall 
note such restriction on the person's license, including a, designation of each vehicle fOl' 
which proof was given. 

344.39 Substitution of proof. The commissioner shall consent to the cancellation 
of .any .bond 01' certificate of insurance or the commissioner shall direct and the state 
treasure)' shall return any money 01' securities to the person entitled thereto upon the sub­
stitutionand acceptance of other adeqriate proof of financial responsibility pursuant to 
t.his chapter. 

'344.40 Suspension for failure to maintain proof; other proof may be required. (1) 
Whenever any person who has furnished proof of financial responsibility fails to maintain 
suchpi'oof at any time during the period when proof of financial responsibility is required, 
the cOIillnissioner shall revoke such person's operating privilege and registration for a 
period'of time running from the date of revocation until such time as either satisfactory 
proof of financial responsibility is again furnished or the period during which proof was 
required, ,to be furnished has. expired. 

, (2) .Whenever any proof of financial responsibility filed under this chapter ,no longer 
fulfills the purposes for which required, the commissioner shall require other proof meet­
ing the requirements of this chapter and shall suspend the operating privilege and regis­
tration peJ;lding .the filing of such other Proof .. " 

344.41 Duration of proof; when proof may be canceled or returned. (1) Subject 
to the exceptions lIet forth in sub. (2), the commissioncr shall, upon request, cO.nsent to 
the immediate cancellation of any bond 01.'. certificate of insurance,shall direct the state 
treasurer to return to the person entitled thereto any money or securities q.eposited pur­
suant to this chapter as proof of financial respom;;ibility (with which directive the state 
treasurer shall comply) and shall waive any requirement of the filing of proof of financial 
responsibility whenever any of the following events has occW'l'ed: 

(a) The period during which proof of financial responsibility is. required has expired; 
or 

(b) The person on whose behalf such proof was filed has died or has become perma-
nently incapacitated to operate a motor vehicle; or . . 

(c) The person wlio has given proof surrenders his license and registration to the 
commissioner. ' 

(d) If a person required .to furnish proof of financial respoilSibility has more than 
one motor vehicle registered in his name and does not intend to use all of the vehicles he 
has registel.'ed, he may sllrrendel' the valid registration plates for the vehicle or ve4icles 
not being' used and, continue his filing of proof of finan~i\l-l responsibility only on the 
vehicle on which registration plates arel'etained by him. 

(2) Thecommissioller shall not consent to the .cancellation of any bond or the return 
of any I money or securities if any action for damages upon a liability covered by snch. 
proof is then pending or any j1,ldgment upon any such liability is then unsatisfied, or if 
the person who filed the bond or deposited the money or securities has, within one year 
immediately preceding the request for: cancellation of the bond or return of the money or 
securities, been involved as an operator 01' owner in any motor vehicle accident l'esulting 
hi injury Ol~ llamage to the person or property of others. An affidavit of the applicant as 
to the nonexistellce of such facts, or that he has been released from all of his liability, or 
has been finally a.djudicated not to be liable for such injury or damages is sufficient evidence 
thereof in the absence of evidence to the contrary in the records of the commissioner. 

(3) Whenever any person whose proof has been canceled or returned under 'sub. (1) 
(c) desires reinstatement of his license or registration prior to the expiration of the 
period during wliich proof of financial responsibility is required, he shall again furnish 
proof. of fina·:ncial respon~ibilj.ty. Thereupon. his license is automatically reinstated as 
provid\ld in s. 343.39 ,and the department shall return! his registration plates, if not ex-
ph·ed. . 

History: 19~1 o •. Q62. 
PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS OF OHAPTER. 

344.45 Surrender of license, and registration upon suspension. (1) Whenever a 
person's operating privilege or registration is revoked or slfspended pursuant to th~s 
chapter, the commissioner shall also order such person to surrender to the department his 
liCense and the registration plates and certificates of registration of the vehicles for which 
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registration was revoked or suspended. If such person fails forthwith to return such 
license, registration plates or certificates of registration to the department, the. commis­
sioner shall direct a traffic officer to take possession thereof and return them to the de­
partment. 
. (2) Any person who intentionally fails or refuses to return a license, registration 
plate or certificate of reg1sh'ation as required by this section may be fined not more than 
$100 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both. 

344.46 Transfer of vehicle ownership to defeat purpose of chapter. (1) No owner 
of a motor vehicle involved in an accident in this state which is reportable under s. 346.70 
shall transfer the ownership or registration of such vehicle until this .chapter has been 
complied with or until the oommissioner is satisfied, that such transfer is proposed in' good 
faith and not for the purpose or with the effect of defeating the purposes of this chapter, 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than. $200 or imprisoned 
riot more than 6 months or both. 

. . (3) This section does not apply to 01' affect the registratio~ of any vehicle sold by a 
pel'SOn who, pursuant to the terms or conditions of any written instrument giving a right 
of repossession, h1)s exercised such rig:ht and has repossessed such vehicle from a person 
whose. registration has .been suspended pllrsuant to this chapter. 

I . . . 

344.47 Operating vehicle after suspension or revocation. (1) No persoIj. whose 
registration has been revoked or suspended pursuant to this chapter shaU, during' such 
revocation or suspension, operate or knowingly permit the operation of any motor vehicle 
oWlled by him; except as permitted under this chapter" ' . 

(2) Any person violating this section may be finedribt less than $50 nor more than 
$200,01' im:p:,-,isoned not more than 6 months or both. 

344.48 Forged proof. (1) No person shall: . 
(a) FOl'geor; without authority, sign any notice provided for. in s. 344.15 (4) to the. 

effect that a policy' 01' bond is in effect or, knowing or having reason to believe that such 
notice 'has been forged or signed with6utahthority, file or offer such notice f01' filing; or 
, (b) Fol'geor, withimtalith0l1ty, sign any evidence of proof of financial i'esponsibility 

or, knowing or having reason to believe that such evidence has been forged or signed with-
out authority,file or offer such evidence for filing. . 

(c) Sign or file the affidavit ,mentioned in s. 344.15 (4), knowing that it contains a 
false statement. 
.(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $1,000 or imprison~d 

not more than one year or both, 

. FINANOIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR RENTED vEHICLES • 

.344.51 Financial responsibility for domestic rent"a-cars. (1) No person shall for 
comp'ensation rent any motor vehicle to be operated by or With the consent of the person 
renting' such vehicle unless there is. filed with the department a good and sufficient. bond 
or policy of insurance or certificate issued by a company or exchange organized under the 
laws of this state or duly authorized to transact business in this state. Such bond; policy, 
or certificate shall provide that the company or exchange which issued it will be liable for' 
damages caused by the negligent operation of such motor vehicle in the amounts set forth 
in s. 344.01 (2) (d). .' . " . 

. (2) Any person failing to comply kith this section is directly lhible for all damages 
caused by the negligence of the person operating such rented vehicle to the extent that 
such liability could have been established if this section had been complied. with. . 

(3) Any person violating this section may be fined no~ more, than $200 or imprisoned 
not more,than 6 months or both. •. . . '. . 

(4) In this section, "motor vehicle" means a self-pl'opelled .vehicle. 

344.52 Financial responsibility for foreign rent-a-cars. (1) Whenever any motor' 
vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is opeli ated iii this state, the lessor of 
such motor vehicle is directly liable for aU dam:ages to persons or pl'operty caused hy the 
negligent operation of such rented vehicle unless, at the time when such damage' 01' injury 
occurs, the operation of the vehicle is effectively covered by a policy of insurance which 
provides coverage at least in the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (dY for property dam­
age, personal injury or death suffered by any person on account of the negligent opera­
tion of sUGh vehi~le. The amount of liability imposed upon the lessor by thi1) section in 
the absence of insuraI).ce coverage shall not exceed the limits set forth in s,344,01 (2) ,( d) 
with respect to the acceptable limits of liability when furnishing proof of financial re!lpon~. 
sibllity. l'he ;fp,ct that the Tented vehicle is operated in thissta~contrary. to apyunder-, 
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standing or agreement with the lessor is not It defense to any liability imposed by this 
section. 

(2) If a motor vehicle rented for compensation outside this Iltate is operated in this 
state, the lessor of snch vehicle is deemed to have irrevocably appointed the commissioner 
as his agent 01' attorney upon whom legal process may be served in any action 01' pro­
ceeding against such lessor 01' his executor, administrator, personal representative, suc­
cessors 01' assigns, growing out of the operation of such rented motor vehicle in this state. 
Such appointment is binding' upon the lessor's executor, administrator, personal repre­
sentative, succespors 01' assigns. rhe operation of su<:h rented motor vehicle in this state is 
a signification of the lessor's agreement that such legal process 01' notice may be served 
up9n him or his executor, administrator, personal representative, sncces"ol'S or assigns 
and that process or notice so served has the same leg'al force .as if personally se;l'Ved upon 
him or them in this state. Service of such process or notice shall be. made as provided in 
s. 345.09. This section does not affect the right to serve process or notice on .the non­
resident operator of the rented motor vehicle as provided in s. 345.09. 

(3) In this section, "motor vehicle" means It self-propelled vehicle. 

/ .. 
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