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150.01 Title. This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the “Wisconsin
Veterinary Practice Law”.
History: 1961 c. 294,

150.02 Definitions, As used in this chapter, unless the context requires otherwise:

(1) “Board” means the Wisconsin bhoard of veterinary examiners.

(2) “Veterinarian” means a practitioner of veterinary medicine who is duly licensed
by the board.

(3) “Animal” means any animal except a human being.

(4) “Compensation” includes any gift, reward, bonus, fee, money, credit or other
thing of value, and any promise thereof.

(5) “License” means a license to practice veterinary medicine issued by the boald

(6) To “practice veterinary medicine” means to examine into the faet or caunse of
animal health, disease or physical econdition, or to treat, operate, plescube or advise for
the same, or to undertake, offer, advertise, announce, or hold out in any manner to do
any of said aets, for compensatlon, direet or indirect, or in the expectation thereof.

History: 1961 c, 294.

150.08 Board of veterinary examiners, (1) A board of veterinary examiners is
created. The board shall consist of 5 members who are licensed and actually engaged in
the practice of veterinary medicine, appointed by the governor upon recommendations
from the board. Members of the board shall hold office for 5 years and until their sue-
cessors are qualified and appointed. The members of the hoard appointed under s.
95.515, 1959 statutes, shall continue to hold office under this chapter until the expiration
of their present terms and new members shall be appointed under this section upon the
expiration of such terms. No member of the board shall in any way be financially in-
terested in any school having a veterinary department.

(2) Annual meetings shall be held in April at which time a president and se01eta1y-
treasurer shall be elected for terms of one year. The secretary-treasurer need not be a
member of the board. He shall keep a record of all meetmgs and business transactions.
The president shall preside at all meetings of the hoard, but in his absence a temporary
chairman shall be elected and preside at the meeting. Thlee members of the hoard shall
constitute a quorum. Upon reasonable notice meetings may be held at any place within
the state.

(3) Bach member of the board shall receive $25 for each day spent in the performance
of his official duties, together with a reasonable amount for travel and other expenses
necessarily incurred.

History: 1961 c. 294,

150.04 Board; duties. The board shall:

(1) Administer and enforce this chapter.

(2) Employ such personnel and obtain such office space, equipment and supplies as
shall be reasonably necessary to carry out this chapter,

(3) Adopt rules preseribing license qualifications for applicants, fixing fees as au-
thorized herein, and defining and prohibiting unprofessional and dlshonorable conduet by
veterinarians.

(4) The president of the hoard shall institute actions for violations of this chapter,
The distriet attorney of the county in which the offense is committed shall plOlllpﬂy
prosecute any such violation upon being informed thereof, from any source.

(5) The president and secretary-treasurer shall on or about January 1 of each year
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report its proceedings to the governor, including an account of moneys received and
dishursed.
History: 1961 c. 294,

150.06 Practice; penalties. (1) No person shall practice veterinary medicine
without a license from the hoard.

(2) No license shall he required for castrating, except for horses and dogs, or de-
horning animals; for students at a veterinary college approved by the board, while
working under the supervision: of ‘a: licensed veterinarian; for employes of the state or
federal government while engaged in their official duties; or for employes of an educa-
tlonal or 1esealch mstltutlon ‘while! engaged in teaching or research.

"(8) Any person v101at1ng this section shall for the first offense be_ ﬁned not less than
$25 nor move than' $200, and for 'any second offense within 3-years be. ‘fined .not ! less
than $500 nor more than $1,000.

(4) ‘No person is prohibited by this section from eastrating domestic' animals, ‘except
horses and mules, from dehorning cattle, from treating sprains, ‘cuts or other ordinary
minor injuries; nor shall this section he construed to prohihit any person from treating
diseases, of domestlc animals for compensation at any place which shall be 20 .or more
miles ‘distant from the office or plaee of busmess of a plaetmmg vetelmarlan
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150,06 ~Examination; Ticense. (1) L1censes shall he issued only to persons:who
successfully pass an e\ammatlon conducted by the board. at such time.and place as it
shall fix, At least one examination shall be held annually E\ammatlon fees as fixed by
‘the hoard shall not' exceed’ $50, Payable in advanee and nob 1etu1nable An apphcant
for a new license shall he at least 21 years of age and a 'gradiate of a vetennary college
which: Has been approved by the hoard. Persons who qualify’ for examination may be
granted. temporary: permits to engage in the practice of veterinary medicine imtil the
next examination. conducted by the hoard.. Veterinarians holding an existing license shall
not be required to take any.examination for renewal of their license. The board may
issue a license, without any ‘examination, to any person who holds a veterinarian’s license
issued by another state or country, if the leense requirements in'such state or country
are substantially equivalent to those in this state and if such state or country recognizes
licenses isstied under this'chapter! In ‘case of failure at any examination, the applicant
shall have' the privilege of taking ‘subsequent examinations upon the payment of another
fee for each examihation 'at any meeting of the hoard.

(2) Licenses shall expire on December 31 of each year but may be renewed annually
The board shall eharge a fee, not to exceed $25, for each license or renewal thereof,
" Hist01y 1961 c. 294,

150 07 Deny, suspend or revoke hcenses The boald may by 01de1 deny, suspend
or revoke any license if the applicant or licensee is not'qualified, has violated any provi:
sion of this chapter or rule of the board, or has misrepreserited or intentionally failed
to disclose a material fact in making any application or reportito the hoard.: The hoard
shall serve written notice of any such action by personal delivery or mailing to the-ap-
phcant or licensee.. The applicant. or licensee may file a written demand for hearing by
the board within 20 days after service of .the hoard’s. notice; thereupon the action of the
board shall be stayed pendmg hearing and service of its declsmn The hoard:or any of 'its
authorized agents may issue subpoenas, administer oaths and take testimony for the
purposes of such hearing.  After hearing and decision by the board the apphcant or
licensee may seek judicial review under ch. 227, L

Hlst01y 1961 c. 294.

150,08 Injunction. In addition to any other remedies, the several’ dlstuet attor-
neys are authorized to hring action in the name of the state to enjoin v1olat10ns of  this
chapter or the rules of the hoard.

History: 1961 c. 294,

150.10 Transitional clause. - (1) This chapter shall take effect on July 1, 1961,
(2) Veterinary licenses 1ssued under s. 95.52, 1959 'statutes, shall be vahd as hcenses
under. this chapter subject to:renewal as. herein p10v1ded

(3) All rules and ovders of the board under s. 95.54 in force prior to July 1 1961
shall remain in force under this chapter wntil - modified or rescinded;

_ (4) All matters: pending before the bodrd under the fo1mer chapter shall be eom—
pleted by the board .under this ehapter :
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