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TITLE XIVA.
Regulation of Trade.

CHAPTER 125.

WATCHMAKING,
125.01 Definitionas. . 1256.07 Apprentice watchmakers,
125.02 Certificate required, 125.08 Revocation.
125.03 Board of examiners. 125.09 Penalty.
125.04 Application, 125.15 Sale of secondhand watches regu-
125.06 Examination. lated.

125.06 Registration,

125.01 Definitions, (1) The term “watchmaking,” for the purposes of sections
125.01 to 125.09, includes and means the repairing, replacing, rebuilding, reconditioning,
cleaning, adjusting or regulating of the mechanical parts of watches and the manufac-
turing and fitting of parts designed for use or used in watches. Such term shall not
include or mean the manufacturing or repairing of watchcases, but shall include the
repairing of all winding mechanisms whether they are parts of such cases or not.

(2) The term “board” as used in such sections shall mean the “Wisconsin board of
examiners in watchmaking.”

125.02 Certificate required. No person shall engage in watchmaking for profit or
compensation of any kind, without first obtaining a certificate of registration, as herein-
after provided, which certificate shall at all times be conspicuously displayed in his place
of business.

125.03 Board of examiners. (1) There is ecreated a “Wisconsin board of examiners
in watchmaking” whose duties it shall be to carry out the provisions of ss. 125.01 to 125.09
and to promote the education and training of watchmakers. The board shall consist of 5
members, appointed by the governor. All persons so appointed shall have heen residents
of this state and actually engaged in watchmaking, as defined in s. 125.01, for at least 5
years immediately preceding the time of their appointment. Each member of the hoard
ghall hold office for 5 years and until his successor shall be appointed and qualifies. Each
"member of the board, before entering upon his duties, shall take and file the official oath.
The board shall have a common seal. ,

(2) The board shall choose annually one of its members as president and one as sec-
retary, who shall severally have power to administer oaths and take affidavits, certifying
thereto under the seal of the board. The board shall mect at least once every 6 months
whenever and wherever the officers call a meeting. A majority of the members of the
board shall constitute a quorum. The board may retain legal counsel if it deems it nec-
essary. The secretary shall give such bond as the board determines to be proper. The
secretary shall keep a full record of its proceedings, which shall be open to inspection
at all reasonable times. The members and officers of the board shall be compensated as
follows: Each member of the board shall be paid a per diem of $15 for time actunally
spent in the performance of his duties and for necessary expenses; the secretary, in
addition to such expenses, may he paid an annual salary to be determined by the board.

(3) The board may appoint such elerks and assistants as it may deem necessary to
the execution of its functions and fix their salaries.

(4) The board shall, on the first day of January of each year, report its proceedings
to the governor, including an account of moneys received and disbursed. The secretary
shall upon request of the governor, supply a verified list of watchmakers qualified to
serve as members of the board.

125.04 Application. Applicants for certificates shall be examined at a time and
place fixed by the board. Applications for examinations shall be filed with the board at
least 10 days before the date set for the examination and shall he accompanied l:y an
examination fee of $20. The applicant shall be of good moral character, at least 20 vears
of age and possess such training and experience as the board shall by rule determine to be
required.
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125.06 Examination. An applicant, to be entitled to a certificate, shall pass an
examination before the board, which examination shall be confined to such knowledge,
practical ability and skill as 1s essential in the proper repairing of watches, and shall
include an examination of theoretical knowledge of watch construction and repair, and
also a practical demonstration of the applicant’s skill in the manipulation of watch-
maker’s tools. The board shall make rules and regulations for conducting examinations
and shall define the standards of workmanship and skill. ' In case of failure at any ex-
amination, the applicant shall have the privilege of taking another examination at any
other examination period upon the payment of a fee of $10.

125.06 Registration. (1) If the applicant successfully passes the examination, the
secretary of the board shall register such fact and shall issue to him a certificate of reg-
istration. N ’

(2) A watchmaker in good standing, registered and licensed in another state and
having engaged in watchmaking therein for 2 years immediately preceding his appliea-
tion for a certificate, upon filing with the hoard satisfactory proof thereof, may, in the
discretion of the board, be issued a certificate without examination upon the paymernt of
a fee of $25, provided the standards in such other state ave at least as high’ as those
defined and established by the board. L S

(3) Persons actually engaged in watchmaking within this state prior to April 29,:1937
shall be exempt from taking the examination herein provided upon making application
for a certificate before June 30, 1939, accompanied by an application fee of $5 and his
affidavit setting forth the fact of having so actnally engaged in watehmaking, which
affidavit shall be attested to by two freeholders in this state, and if the board shall be
satisfied that such applicant is entitled thereto it shall cause its secretary to so register
and issue a certificate of registration. ,

(4) Certificates of registration shall expire on December 31 of each year and may be
renewed for one year upon the payment of a fee of $6. Applications may be made for
renewal after December 15 of each year.

125.07 Apprentice watchmakers. Any person sixteen years of age or over, of good
moral character, indentured to a vegistered watchmaker in aeccordance with section
106.01, may engage in watechmaking subject to the provisions of sections 125.01 to 125.09
upon obtaining from the board a certificate of registration as an apprentice watechmaker,
which eertificate shall be conspicuously displayed at all times at the place of employ-
ment of such apprentice. Apprentice watchmakers shall pay a fee of one dollar for the
certificate and shall pay a renewal fee of one dollar annually. = -

125.08 Revocation. (1) The board may revoke a certificate of registration upon
the failure of the holder thereof to pay the annual renewal fee, upon giving said holder 30
days’ notice in writing of such proposed revocation. Notice shall be sufficient when sent
by registered mail to the last known address of the holder. ‘ .

.(2) The hoard may revoke a certificate of registration obtained through error of the
hoard or fraud on the part of the applicant, or if the holder is grossly incompetent,
guilty of immoral or unethical conduct, or obtained or sought to obtain anything of
value by fraundulent representations in the practice of watechmaking.  The holder of such
cértificate shall be given 30 days’ notice in writing enumerating the charges and specifying
a date for the hearing on such charges. Af the hearing he shall have the opportunity
to confront witnesses against him and to produce evidence hearing on such charges. A
stenographic. record of all proceedings shall be made and transeript kept on file with
the hoard. The revecation shall be subject to review in the manner provided in chapter
227. ‘ o . o
(3) One whose certificate has been revoked, may, upon the expiration of one year
after such revocation, apply to the board for registration and upon satisfactory proof
that the cause of revoeation no longer exists, the board may, in its discretion, issue to
said person a certificate of registration upon payment of the fees herein provided,

(4) The board shall by rule define the specific infractions which because they are
likely to mislead, deceive or defraud the public and violate professional standards shall he
considered unethical conduet.

125.09 ' Pendlty., Anyone not having a certificate of registration, who shall hold
himself out as a watchmaker or as qualified to do watchmaking, or anyone who shall
violate any of the provisions of seetions 125.01 to 125.09, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor
and shall be punished by a fine of not less than twenty dollars nor more than one
hundred dollars or by imprisonment in the county jail not less than one month nor
more than three months, or by both sueh fine and imprisonment,
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125,15 Sale of secondhand watches regulated. (1) Derinmrions. As used in this
section

(a) “Person” means a person, firm, partnership, association or ecorporation, but shall
not include a referee in hankruptey, the executor or administrator of an estate, or any
other officer of a court.

(b) “Consumer” means an individual, firm, paltne1sh1p, association or corporation
who buys for their own use, or for the use 'of another but not for resale.

(e) “Secondhand”: wateh means:

1. A watch, which as a whole, the case thereof, or the movement thereof has previously
been sold to a consumer.

2, Any watch whose case or movement, serial numbers or other dxstmgulshmg num-
bers or identification marks have heen erased defaced, removed, altered or covered.

(2) TaGs REQUIRED. Any person, or agent or employe thereof, who sells a secondhand
watch shall afix and keep affixed to the same a tag with the wo1ds ‘secondhand” legibly
written or printed thereon in the English language. For the purposes of this subsection,
“sell” includes an offer to sell.or exchange, expose for sale or exchange, possess with in-
tent to sell or exchange, and sell or exchange.

(3) INVOICE REQUIRED. Any person, or agent or employe theleof who sells a second-
hand wateh shall deliver to the vendee a written invoice setting fmth the name and ad-
dress of the vendor, the name and address of the vendee, the date of the sale, the name
of the watch or its maker, and the serial numbers (if any) or other distinguishing num-
bers or identification *na1ks oh its case and movement. ‘In the event the serial numbers
or other distinguishing numbers or identification marks have been erased, defaced re-
moved, altered or covered, such facts shall be stated in the invoice;. A duphcate of such
invoice shall be kept on ﬁlé' by the vendor of such secondhand watch for at least one year
from the date of the sale thereof and shall be open to inspection during all business hours
by the distriet attorney, or his representative, of the county in which the vendor is en-
gaged in business, or by the chief of police, or his representative, of the city in which such
person is engaged in business. . If the vendor does not maintain an established place of
business within this state, he shall within 2 days after every such sale, file such duplicate
copies in the office of the county ¢lerk of the county in which such sale. was made.

(4) REQUIREMENTS IN ADVERTISEMENTS. Any person advertising in any manner
secondhand watches for salé shall state clearly in such advertising that the watches so
advertised are secondhand watches.

(5) PENALTY. Any person who violates any provision of this section is guilty of a
misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by .a fine of not less than
$20 nor more than $500, or by imprisonment in the county jail not more than 100 davs,
or by both such fine and 1mprlsonment

.






