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CHAPTER 151. 
PHARMACY. 

151.11 Placing drugs forbidden. 
151.12 Penalties. . 
151.15 Advertising or display of indecent 

articles, sale in certain cases pro­
hibited. 

151.16 Wisconsin pharmaceutical associa­
tion. 

151.10 Poisons, dispensing regulated. 
151.17 Prepaid prescription plans author­

ized. 

151.01 Board. (1) The state board of pharmacy shall consist of 5 pharmacists 
who at the time of appointment are residents, licensed to practice pharmacy for at 
least 5 years, and actively engaged in the full time practice of pharmacy, appointed 
by the governor, one each year for a term of 5 years. No appointee shall serve more 
than 2 terms. The governor may make the appointments from a list of 5 names sub­
mitted to him by a resolution of the board of directors of the Wisconsin pharmaceutical 
association for each vacancy. Each member of the board, except the secretary, shall 
be paid $20 per day when actually and necessarily engaged in the performance of his 
duties. The secretary of the board shall be paid an annual salary to be fixed by the 
board. If the secretary is a member of the board, such salary shall be in lieu of per 
diem. The initial appointment under this procedure shall be when the first vacancy 
occurs in the board of pharmacy existing prior to January 24, 1968. 

(2) Annual meeting shall be held in April, at which president and secretary-treasurer 
shall be elected for terms of one year. Meetings for examination shall be held at least 
semiannually. Time and place of meetings shall be fixed by president and secretary. 
Thirty days' public notice shall be given of examinations. 

(3) The secretary-treasurer need not be a member. He shall keep a record of the 
proceedings and a register of the names and places of business of persons registered under 
this chapt.er, and the books, registers and records of the board as made and kept by the 
secretary or under his supervision, subject to the direction of the board, shall be prima 
facie evidence of the matters therein recorded. He shall give such bond and receive such 
salary as the board determines. Members and officers shall receive their actual and neces­
sary expenses. The board shall have the right to employ inspectors, special investigat.ors, 
chemists, agents and clerical help for the purpose of carrying on the work of the board 
and shall have authority to employ an attorney when it deems necessary. The board slmll 
have a seal, and the president and secretary may issue subpoenas and administer oaths. 
The board may payout of its own funds witness fees and such other expenses as may 
be necessary and incidental to the carrying out of its functions. 

(4) The board may adopt bylaws, rules and regulations, except with respect to 
internship, and shall cause prosecution of violations of this chapter. It shall repOl't 
annually, to the governor and the Wisconsin pharmaceutical association, its proceedings, 
registrations, receipts and disbursements. 

History: 1965 c. 351; 1967 c. 297. 

151.015 Internship commission. (1) There is created a pha.rmacy internship com­
mission of 13 members as follows: the president of the board of pharmacy who shall , 
serve as chairman of the commission; the 4 other members of the board; 4 members of 
the faculty of the university of Wisconsin school of pharmacy designated by the dean 
of the school; and 4 additional members selected by the Wisconsin pharmacentical 
association. All successor members of the commission, except the members of the board, 
shall serve 4-year terms. The names of the members of the commission shall be certified 
to the secretary of state by the secretary of the commission. Members shall hold office 
until their successors have been selected. Members of the commission shall receive no 
compensation, hut shall be reimbursed for expenses necessarily incurred by them in 
attending meetings of the commission outside the county of their residence. The com­
mission shall elect a vice chairman and a secretary. The commission shall determine the 
qualifications of and appoint a full-time director of internship and such technical and 
clerical help as it deems necessary outside the classified service. 

(2) The commission shall promulgate such rules under ch. 227 and such reg'ulations 
as are in the public interest necessary to the internship program. 



151.015 PHARMACY 2566 

(3) The commission shall have supervisory power over the internship pr?gram and 
shall delegate to the director of internship such supervisory and administrative powers 
which the commission deems necessary. 

(4) The commission shall report annually to the governor, the board and the Wis­
consin pharmaceutical association its proceedings, registrations, receipts and disburse­
ments. 

HIstory: 1965 c. 351, 563. 

151.02 Registration. (1) All candidates for entrance to examination for regis­
tration as pharmacists must file application with the secretary of the board and pay 
the required fee of $45, at least 15 days before the date of examination. The fee for 
all su])sequent examinations shall be $35. All candidates must be at least 21 years 
of age; must be of good moral character and temperate in habits; and if not citizens of 
the United States must have filed and pl'oven their intentions of he coming citizens; 
and must be graduates of a standard, recognized high school, or must have acquired the 
equivalent of a high school education in some other institution of equal rank or standing, 
or must have passed an examination for the equivalent of high school given by a state 
university or by a state department 01' bureau of education, issuing a qualifying 
certificate for the necessary high school units recognized by the university of Wisconsin, 
or any other equivalent of a high school education recognized by the university of 
Wisconsin. 

(2) Every such applicant for examination and registration as pharmacist must, in 
addition, file with the secretary proof satisfactory to the board, of having had at least 
48 months of pharmaceutical training consisting of: 

(a) Graduation from a school or college of pharmacy 01' a department of pharmacy 
of a university, which is recognized by the board and which requires for graduation at 
least a 4-year course. Credit for actual time of attendance at the school, college 01' de­
pal'tment' of pharmacy of a university shall be given on the required 48 months of 
pharmaceutical training; the remainder of the 48 months must be practice and experience 
in a retail pharmacy or drugstore under the direction and supervision of a registered 
pharmacist, which practice and experience shall be predominantly work directly related 
to the selling of drugs, preparing and compounding of pharmaceutical preparations 
and physicians' prescriptions, and keeping of records and making of reports required 
under state and federal statutes. The said practice and experience shall include an 
aggregate of 12 calendar months commencing not eaTlier than the close of the sophomore 
college year. Credit for such periods of practice and experience shall be allowed in the 
discretion of the commission in accordance with such regulations as it adopts. The fee 
for registration of interns under this subsection is $1. The board may upon satisfactory 
proof recognize and accept evidence of practice and experience performed in whole 
or in part in any other state provided the same is approved and verified by the state 
board of pharmacy or equivalent agency of such other state. 

(b) Any candidate who was registered as an assistant pharmacist prior to the date of 
his application for examination, and for 4 years prior thereto was employed in a li­
censed drugstore, or personally operated a drugstore, shall be eligible to take the exami­
nation for registered pharmacist. In computing such 4-year period, service of the candi­
date in the armed forces of the United States shall not be deemed to have interrupted 
the required drugstore employment or operation. 

(3) Applicants filing proofs, satisfactory to the board, of qualifications and train­
ing as outlined in sub. (2) shall, after having passed the examination by the board 
and upon payment of a $5 certificate fee, be granted certificates as registered pharma­
cists. Proof satisfactory to the board covering' experience, preliminary education, college 
of pharmacy graduation and character herein required shall be filed with the secretary 
of the board. Every registered pharmacist may continue to be such by annually, at such 
time as the board determines, renewing his certificate upon paying the fee of $17.50. 
Of this fee, $7.50 shall be set aside for use by the internship commission, shall be used 
exclusively for purposes of the internship program and shall be disbursed for the pur­
poses of the internship program upon certification of the director of internship or the 
commission. Applications for renewal of registration as a pharmacist and payment of 
the required fee submitted after JliIay 31 shall be accompanied by a penalty fee of $10. 
Failure to obtain such renewal for 60 days after the secretary of such board has given a 
2nd notice of the expiration of his registration shall terminate the right of any person 
to be a registered pharmacist within the meaning of this section, and such right can 
only be acquired by compliance with the provisions concerning the original registration, 
again applying for and passing an examination satisfactory to the board. 
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(5) Every registered assistant pharmacist may continue to be such by annually, at 
such time as the board of pharmacy may determine, making' application thereto for the 
renewal of his certificate and paying the prescribed fee of $4. Failure to obtain such 
renewal for 60 days after the secretary of such board shall have given a second notice of 
the expiration of his registration, shall terminate the right of any person to be a regis­
tered assistant pharmacist within the meaning of this section, and such right can only be 
acquired by compliance with the provisions concerning original registration, again apply­
ing for and passing an examination satisfactory to the board. The issuance of either of 
the certificates provided for in this section shall entitle the person to whom it is issued 
to be registered in the proper class. 

(6) The board may register as a pharmacist without examination, any person who 
is duly registered in some other state; provided, that the person produces satisfactOl'y 
evidence of having had the required secondary and professional education and training 
and is possessed of good character and habits demanded of applicants for registration 
as pharmacists under the laws of this state, and upon payment of $100 excepting that 
persons of good character and habits who have become registered as pharmacists in 
some other state prior to July 31, 1927, shall be required to meet only the requirements 
which existed in this state at the time when they became registered in such other state, 
and that the state from which the applicant applies shall, under like conditions, grant 
reciprocal registration as a pharmacist without examination to pharmacists duly regis­
tered in this state. 

(7) The board, upon notice and hearing, may suspend or revoke the registration of 
one guilty of felony or gross immorality, or who is addicted to alcoholic liquors or nar­
cotic drugs, or addicted to the use of barbiturates to an extent affecting his fitness as a 
pharmacist, or who is otherwise unfit to practice as a pharmacist, or whose registration 
was secured by fraud or mistake or the giving of misinformation in any of the applica­
tions submitted to the board of pharmacy or who has been guilty of a violation of this 
chapter or ch. 161 or of violations of any of the rules or regulations of the board, or 
who has been guilty of acts of unprofessional conduct as herein defined. No such revoca· 
tion shall become effective until 20 days after notice of the decision of the board has 
been served upon the person accused. Decisions of the board under this section shall be 
subjec.t to review as provided in ch. 227 and in case the provisions thereof are invoked 
by the accused within such 20-day period, such 01'(1er of revocation shall become effective 
only at such time as may be ordered by the court. Unprofessional conduct means: 

(a) Sale of adulterated drugs as defined in s. 97.25. 
(b) Compounding, dispensing or selling, or causing or permitting the compounding, 

dispensing or sale of any drug which contains more or less than the proportionate quan­
tity of ingredient or ingredients specified by the person ordering or prescribing such 
drug, or which contains an ingredient or ingTedients other than those specified by the 
person ordering or prescribing such drug, or which is of a brand or which contains an 
ingredient or ingredients of a brand other t.han that specified by the person ordering 01' 
prescribing such drug, unless, in the case of a drug dispensed pursuant to a prescription 
t.he consent of the prescriber is first obtained and recorded on the prescription. Nothing 
herein contained shall be construed to prohibit the addition of such inert ingredients such 
as emulsifiers, wetting agents, solvents, or like items as may he required in the art of 
compounding, prepal'ing, mixing or otherwise producing drugs unless otherwise directed 
by the prescriber. 

( c) Violation of such standards as may from time to time be established or approved 
by the board. 

(8) No person shall use the title "pharmacist" 01' "assistant pharmacist" unless duly 
regist.ered as such under the provisions of this chapter, nor shall any person, firm 01' 

corporation use 0'1' display the title "dnlg store," "pharmacy," "apothecary," or any other 
title, symbol, insignia (including without limitation because of enumeration, mortal' and 
pestle, colored show globes, the sign Rx and the like) having the same or similar meaning 
for such place of business unless such place of business be one where drugs are sold ir; 
accordance with tlle provisions of section] 51.04. 

(9) No drugstore, phannacy, apothecary shop or any similar place of business 
shall be opened or kept open for the transaction of business until it has been registered 
with and a permit therefor has been issued by the state board of pharmacy. This 
section, shall not be construed to apply to any stores opened for the sale of proprietary 
01' so-called patent medicines which conform to state and federal laws. Every pharmacy 
and store conducted under the supervision of a registered pharmacist shall be annually 
registered on June 1 with the state board of pharmacy, on application forms provided 
for that purpose by the board, on request, and the board shall thereupon issue a suitable 
certificate of registration to such persons which permit shall be conspicuously displayed 
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in a front window or door of such place of business. Applications for registration as 
a pharmacy or drugstore shall include information regarding the names of all 
pharmacists, assistant pharmacists and registered apprentices who are employed therein. 
Only places in charge of a registered pharmacist and holding a permit as a pharmacy 
may use the title "pharmacy," "pharmacists," "apothecary" or "drugstore," or use 
customary titles, symbols or insignia and each must be under the separate management 
of a registered pharmacist, who shall not engage to manage or supervise more than 
one such place, but nothing contained in this section shall prevent a person from 
owning and conducting more than Qne pharmacy if each is under the separate supervi­
sion of a registered pharmacist. For the registration of every new drugstore or any 
drugstore upon a change of ownership herein required to be registered, there shall be 
paid an inspection fee of $15 together with a registration fee of $85. For the rein­
spection of premises considered to be unsatisfactory at the time of the original inspection 
for the registration of a new d111gstore or any dlllgstore upon a change of ownership 
herein required to be registered, there shall be paid a reinspection fee of $15. Upon 
annual renewal of registration all places shall pay a fee of $45 payable on June 1 of 
each year, Duplicate permits for the operation of a d11lgstore, pharmacy or any 
similar place of business shall be issued by the board on receipt of It fee of $5. Ally 
person failing to register his place of business as herein required, failing to have in 
charge of each pharmacy a registered pharmacist, who does not manage or supervise 
more than one pharmacy, or who otherwise fails to comply with this section, may be 
fined not less than $25 nor more than $50 for each separate offense. Each day's viola­
tion is deemed a separate offense. Issuance or continuation of the permit for the 
conduct of a drugstore, pharmacy or any similar place of business may be refused when 
the applicant for the registration thereof has been found to be in violation of ch. 
151 or 161. No refusal to continue the permit shall become effective until 20 days 
after notice of the decision of the board to refuse the continuation has been served 
upon the applicant. 

\10) Every pharmacy shall be equipped with proper pharmaceutical utensils so that 
compounding of prescriptions and dispensing of medicaments can be properly performed. 
The Wisconsin board of pharmacy, with the advice and consent of the faculty of the Uni­
versity of Wisconsin school of pharmacy, shall prescribe the minimum standards of such 
professional and technical equipment, which shall include copies of the latest revisions of 
the United States Pharmacopoeia and the National Formulary and any supplement to 
either of them. No permit shall be issued or continued for the conduct of a pharmacy 
unless the provisions of this subsection have been complied with. Failure to maintain a 
pharmacy equipped with proper sanitary appliances or in a clean and orderly manner 
constitute grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of a pharmacy permit. There 
shall be kept in every pharmacy a suitable book or file, in which every prescription com­
pounded or dispensed shall be preserved for a period of not less than 5 years. 

History: 1961 c. 603, 612, 638; 1963 c. 441; 1965 c. 351; 1967 c. 277. 

151.03 Permit. In rural districts with no registered pharmacist or assistant phar­
macist within 3 miles, the board may issue a permit to sell on certain premises for one 
year, drugs and medicines specified therein, upon payment of the fee fixed by the board, 
not exceeding $10. The premises for which the permit is issued must be an establishment 
where merchandise is sold and shall be specified in the permit. An applicant for a 
permit for a new rural store or for a permit upon change of ownership of an existing 
rural store shall pay an inspection fee of $15 in addition to the annual permit fee of $10. 

History: 1961 c. 229. 

151.04 Practice. (1) Certificates of registration, renewals, and permits shall be 
conspicuously exposed to public view in the place of business. 

(2) No person shall sell, give away, bartel', compound or dispense drugs, medicines 01' 

poisons, nor permit it, in a town, village 01' city having a population of 500 01' more unless 
he be a registered pharmacist, nor institute nor conduct a place therefor without a regis­
tered phaTmacist in charge, except that a registered assistant pharmacist may do so under 
the personal supervision of a registered pharmacist, and may have charge during the phar­
macist's necessary absence, not to exceed 10 days. If the population is less than 500, only 
a registered assistant pharmacist is required and in such case a registered assistant phar­
macist, if otherwise qualified, may continue to operate his dl1lg store, until death or retire-
ment, even though the population increase beyond 500. ' 

(3) This shall not interfere with the dispensing of dl1lgs, medicines or other articles 
by physicians, nor with the sale of proprietary medicines in sealed packages, labeled to 
comply with the federal and state pure food and drug law, with directions for using, and 
the name and location of the manufacturer, nor with the sale of economic poisons for use 
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in industrial arts, nor with the sale of economic poisons which comply with sections 94.67 
to 94.71, nor with the sale of alum, ammonia, borax, bay rum, bicarbonate of soda, cream 
of tartar, concentrated lye, olive oil, sal ammoniac, sal soda, sulphur, copperas, epsom 
salts, glauber salts, castor oil, glycerine, scnna leaves, indigo, blue vitriol, turpentine, wood 
alcohol and denatured alcohol. 

(4) No person shall manufacture, package or prepare within this state any drugs 
01' medicines except under the personal and immediate supervision of a registered phar­
macist 01' such other person as is approved by the board after an investigation and a 
determination that such other person is qualified by scientific training and education to 
perform such supervision in a manner adequate to protect the public health and safety. 
No person shall manufacture, package or prepare any drugs or medicines within this 
state without first obtaining a permit from the board. For the issuance of such permit 
there shall be paid an inspection fee of $15 together with a registration fee of $30. 
Upon annual renewal of registration all permit holders shall pay a fee of $30, payable 01] 

May 31 of each year. The issuance of such permit shall be subject to such rules as the 
board may from time to time adopt for the protection of the public health and safety. 

(5) No person shall engage in the sale or distribution at wholesale of any of the 
drugs defined in s. 151.07 (1) (a) to any of the classes of persons enumerated in s. 
151.07 (8) without first obtaining a license for such purpose from the board. The an­
nual fee is $10. Licenses expire on May 31. Such license 01' renewals thereof shall be 
issued in the discretion of the board to responsible applicants of good reputation. 

(6 ) No person shall wilfully make a false statement in any prescription, order, report 
or record, required by this chapter, nor make or utter any false or forged prescription or 
written order. 

Histtory. 1961 C. 612. 

151.05 Penalty. (1) Anyone who violates s. 151.04 (1) shall forfeit $10 for each 
failure, and anyone who wilfully makes a false representation to procure registration or 
permit for himself 01' another, or who violates this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a 
misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $50 nor more than $100, or imprisoned in the 
county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days, or both. 

(2) Each member and officer of the board shall investigate and institute actions for 
violations of this chapter and ch. 161 and the district attol'lley shall promptly prosecute 
upon notiee from any source. 

151.06 Definition of drug. The term "drug", as used in this chapter, means: 
(1) Artieles recognized in the official United States Pharmacopoeia, official Homeo­

pathic Pharmacopoeia of the United States, or official National Formulary, or any supple­
ment to any of them, intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or 
prevention of disease in man or other animals; and 

(2) All other articles intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or 
prevention of disease in man or other animals; and 

(3) Articles (other than food) intended to affect the structure or any function of the 
body of man or other animals; and 

(4) Articles intended for use as a component of any articles specified in subsections 
(1), (2) or (3); but does not include surgical, dental or laboratory instruments, gases, 
oxygen therapy equipment, X-ray apparatus, 01' therapeutic lamps, their components, 
parts or accessories; or equipment, instruments, apparatus, or cont.rivances used to render 
such articles effective in medical, surgical or dental treatment; or articles intended for 
use 01' consumption in or for mechanical, industrial, manufacturing, or scientific applica­
tions 01' purposes. 

Oatmeal cookie containing methyl-cellulose is probably not a drug within the meaning 
of 151.06. 50 Atty. Gen. 200. 

151.07 Dangerous drugs. (1) As used in this chapter unless the context requires 
otherwise: 

(a) "Dangerous drug" means any of the following: 
1. Any drug' or drug-containing preparation, the original container of which bears 

the statement "Caution-federal law prohibits dispensing without prescription." 
2. Any preparation which contains barbiturates, sulfonamides, thyroid, cinchophen, 

neocinchophen, aminopyrine, amphetamine, desoxyephedrine, diethylstilbestrol, ergot 01' 

any salts, derivatives, compounds, combinations 01' mixtures thereof except wherein one 
or more of the said drugs are in those combinations which by federal law may be dis­
pensed without the prescription of a physician. 

3. "Lysergic Acid," "LSD" (lysergic acid diethylamide), "DMT" (N-N-Dimethyltry­
ptamine), peyote, mescaline, psilocyn 01' psilocybin, or any salts, derivatives, com-
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pounds, combinations or mixtures thereof and any substances which are chemically 
identical with such substances. 

(b) "Delivery" means selling, dispensing, giving away or supplying in any other 
manner. 

(c) "Patient" means the individual for whom dangerous drugs are prescribed or to 
whom dangerous drugs are administered. 

(d) "Person" includes an individual, corporation, partnership or association. 
(e) "Practitioner" means a person licensed by law to prescribe and administer dan­

gerous drugs. 
(f) "Pharmacist" means a person duly registered with the state board of pharmacy 

as a compounder, dispenser and supplier of drugs. 
(g) "Prescription" means a written order (or an oral order later reduced to writing) 

by a practitioner for a dangerous drug for a particular patient, which specifies the date 
of its issue, the name and address of such practitioner, the name and address of the patient, 
the name and quantity of the dangerous drug prescribed, directions for use of such drug 
and in case of a written order the signature of such practitioner. 

(h) "Manufacturer" means persons othcr than pharmacists who manufacture dan­
gerous drugs, and includes persons who prepare such clrugs in dosage forms by mixing, 
compounding, encapsulating, entableting, or other process. 

(i) "Wholesaler" means persons engaged in the business of distributing dangerous 
drugs to persons included in any of the classes named in subsection (8). 

(j) "Warehouseman" means persons who store dangerous drugs for others and who 
have no control over the disposition of such dangerous dmgs except for the purpose of 
such storage. 

(k) "Supplier" means any unauthorized person who manufactures, sells or gives 
any dangerous drug defined uncleI' this section for the use of any person for whom such 
drug has not been prescribed by a practitioner 01' who in anyway delivers such contra­
band material to anyone he intends to induce to become a user. 

(2) No person except a practitioner shall deliver any dangerous drug except upon the 
prescription of a practitioner. An oral prescription, by telephone or otherwise, shall be 
promptly reduced to writing and filed by the pharmacist. 

(3) No person, except a registercd pharmacist or a practitioner shall prepare, com­
pound, dispense or prepare for delivery for a patient any dangerous dmg. 

(4) No dangerous drug shall be delivered unless there is affixed to the immediate con­
tainer a label disclosing: 

(a) The name and address of the owner of the establishment from which such drug 
was delivered. 

(b) The date on which the prescription for such drug was filled. 
(c) The number of such prescription as filed in the pl'escriptioll file of the pharmacist 

who filled such prescription. 
(d) The name of the practitioner who prescribed such drug. 
(e) The name and address of the patient. 
(f) Directions for use of the dmg as contained in the prescription. 
(5) No prescription for a dangerous drug shall be refilled except as designated on 

such prescription, and unless accurate record of such refilling is entered on such prescrip­
tion showing the date and amount thereof. No oral 01' written prescription shall be 
refilled unless the provisions of 151.07 (2) have been first complied with and unless either 
written 01' oral authority has been given by the prescriber. 

(6) In the event of any sale in bankruptcy, at public auction or any other sale except 
in the normal course of business, the seller shall give written notice of such sale to the 
board at least one week prior to the date of sale and a complete and accurate report must 
be made in writing to the board by the seller within 10 days after such sale, showing the 
name and address of the parties to whom any narcotics, exempt narcotics 01' dangerous 
drugs have been sold together with an itemized inventory thereof. This does not apply 
to the bona fide sale of a pharmacy as a business, if the parties first notify the board of 
such impending salc. 

(7) It shall be unlawful for any person to have any dangerous drug in his possession 
unless such drug was obtained in compliance with the provisions hereof. 

(8) The provisions of subsections (2), (3), (4) and (7) shall not be applicable to the 
wholesale delivery of dangerous drugs to persons included in any of the classes herein­
after named; nor to the agents or employes of such persons for use in the usual course of 
their business 01' practice 01' in the performance of their official duties, as the case may be; 
nor to the possession of dangerous drugs by such persons 01' their agents or employes 
for such use: 
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(a) Pharmacists. 
(b) Practitioners. 
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(c) Persons who procure dangerous drugs for the purpose of lawful research, teach­
ing 01' testing and not for resale. 

(d) Hospitals and other institutions which procure dangerous drugs for lawful ad-
ministration by practitioners. 

( e) Officers 01' employes of the federal government. 
(f) Manufacturers and wholesalers. 
(9) (a) No person shall obtain 01' attempt to obtain a dangerous drug, or procure 

01' attempt to procure the administration of a dangerous drug by fraud, deceit, wilful 
misrepresentation or subterfuge; 01' by the forgery or alteration of a prescription or 
of any written order; or by the wilful concealment of a material fact; 01' by the use 
of a false name or the giving of a false address. 

(b) Information connnunicated to a physician in an effort unlawfully to pTOCUTe 
a dangerous dl'llg, 01' unlawfully to procuTe the administration of any such drug', shall 
Hot be deemed a privileged communication. 

(c ) No person shall wilfully make a false statement in any prescription, order, 
report or record required by this section. 

(d) No person shall, for the purpose of obtaining a dangerous drug, falsely assume 
the title of, or represent himself to be, a licensed drug manufacturer, a licensed drug 
wholesaler, pharmacist, physician, dentist, veterinarian or other authorized practitioner. 

(e ) No person shall make or utter any false 01' forged prescription or false or 
forged wTitten order. 

(f) No peTson shall wilfully affix any false or forged label to a package or re­
ceptacle containing dangerous drugs. 

(11) The state boaI'd of pharmacy is hereby authorized to promulgate necessary 
regulations for administration and enforcement of this section. 

(11m) The provisions of this section do not apply to the nondrug-use of peyote 
and mescaline in the bona fide religious ceremonies of the Native American church. 

(12) (a) Any person who violates this section by illegally using or possessing, with­
out intent to sell, any dangeTous drug under this section may, upon a first conviction, 
be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than $500 01' both, and for a 
2nd 01' subsequent conviction under this section may be imprisoned not more than 2 
years 01' fined not less than $250 nOT more than $1,000 01' both. 

(b) Any peTson who is convicted of illegal possession, sale, furnishing or trans­
portation of any dangerous drug defined under this section in the capacity of a supplier 
may be imprisoned not more than 5 years 01' fined not more than $5,000 01' both. 

(c) Whoever, with intent that a violation of this section be committed, advises, 
induces or encourages directly or by any other means, another to commit a violation of 
this section under circumstances which indicate unequivocally that he has such intent 
may be fined not more than $2,500 or imprisoned not more than 5 years or both. 

(13) In any complaint, information or indictment, and in any action or proceeding 
brought for the enforcement of any provision of this section, it shall not be necessary 
to negative any exception, excuse, proviso or exemption, contained in this section and 
the burden of proof of any such exception, excuse, proviso or exemption, shall be upon 
the defendant. 

History: 1961 c. 601,612; 1963 c. 146; 1965 c. 619; 1967 c. 93. 

151.10 Poisons, dispensing regulated. (1) No person shall sell or deliver any of 
the poisonous salts or compoUl:ds of aJ;timony, .arsenic, ~hromium, lead, .mer~ury, silve~" 
tin or zinc, the concentrated mllleral aClds; oxahc, carbolIc or hydrocyamc aCIds or then' 
salts formaldehyde, yellow phosphorus, the essential oils of almonds, pennyroyal, rue, 
savi~ or tansy; croton oil, creosote, chloroform, cantharides, aconite, belladonna, bitter 
almonds, colchicum, cotton root, Cannabis indica, digitalis, ergot, hyoscyamus, lobelia, nux 
vomica physostigma, strophanthus, stramonium, veratrum viride, 01' any of the poisonous 
alkaloids 01' glucosicles derived from the foregoing or in any other virulent poison, unless 
it be upon the prescription of authorized practitioners of medicine, dentistry or veterinary 
medicine, except as follows: 

(a) The dispenser shall ascertain that the applicant is aware of the poisonous charac­
ter and desires it for a lawful purpose. 

(b) He shall plainly label the container with the name of the substance, the word 
"Poison," and the name and address of the dispenser. 

(c) Before delivery he shall record in a book kept for that pmpose the name of the 
article, the qualltity, the purpose, the date, the name and address of the person for whom 
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procured, and the name of the individual personally dispensing the same, such record to 
be signed by the person to whom the poison is delivered; and said book shall be preserved 
by the owner thereof for at least 3 years after the date of the last entry therein, and shall 
be open to inspection by authorized officers. 

(d) If the applicant is under 18 years of age, he must have the written order of an 
adult person. 

(2) This section does not apply to manufacturers and wholesalers selling at wholesale, 
nor to economic poisons which comply with ss. 94.67 to 94.71, but containers other than 
for economic poisons shall be labeled with the name of the substance, the word "Poison," 
and the name and address of the manufacturer or wholesaler. 

(3) A "Poison" label is not required when a single container or when one-half ounce 
fluid or avoirdupois does not contain more than an adult medicinal dose nor in the case of 
liniments, ointments or other external preparations sold in good faith as such, and plainly 
labeled "for external use only," nor in the case of pills, tablets or lozenges, when the dose 
recommended does not contain more than one-quarter of an adult medicinal dose. 

History: 1961 c. 612. 

151.11 Placing drugs forbidden. Except as authorized by law, no person shall put 
any drug, medicine 01' chemical, or any compound or combination thereof in any public 
place, or, without the consent of the owner or occupant upon any private premises, nor 
cause it to be done. 

151.12 Penalties. Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of s. 151.10 
or 151.11 shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $1,000, or imprisoned not less 
than one year nor more than 5 years. 

151.15 Advertising or display of indecent articles, sale in certain cases prohibited. 
(1) As used in this chapter, the term "indecent articles" means any drug, medicine, mix­
ture, preparation, instrument, article or device of whatsoever nature used or intended 01' 

represented to be used to procure a miscarriage or prevent pregnancy. 
(2) No person, finn or corporation shall publish, distribute or circulate any circular, 

card, advertisement or notice of any kind offering or advertising any indecent article for 
sale, nor shall exhibit or display any indecent article to the public. 

(3) No person, fil1l1 or corporation shall manufacture, purchase, or rent, or have in 
his or its possession or under his or its control, any slot machine, or other mechanism or 
means so designed and constructed as to contain and hold indecent articles and to release 
the same upon the deposit therein of a coin or other thing of value. 

(4 ) No person, firm or corporation shall sell or dispose of or attempt or offer to sell 
or dispose of any indecent articles to or for any unmarried person; and no sale in any 
case of any indecent articles shall be made except by a pharmacist registered under 
the provisions of ch. 151 or a physician or surgeon duly licensed under the laws of this 
state. 

(5) Any person, firm or corporation violating any provision of this section shall be 
deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shaH be punished by a fine 
of not less than $100 nor more than $500 or by imprisonment in the county jail for not 
to exceed 6 months, or by both such fine and imprisonment. 

151.16 Wisconsin pharmaceutical association. The Wisconsin pharmaceutical as­
sociation is continued with the general powers of a domestic nonstock corporation. It may 
take by purchase or gift and hold real and personal property. It may adopt, alter and 
enforce bylaws and rules for the admission and expulsion of members, the eleetion of offi­
cers and the management of its affairs. 

History: 1963 c. 314. 

151.17 Prepaid prescription plans authorized. (1) The Wisconsin pharmaceutical 
association may establish in the state a nonprofit plan on a prepayment or other basis 
for the pharmaceutical services of the general population, 01' any segment of it, through 
contracts with pharmacists, members of the public, any branch of government, and others; 
provided only that free choice of the public in the selection of a pharmacist shall be 
l'€tained in such contracts, and that the responsibility of the pharmacist to the individual 
patient together with all other contract and tort relationships between pharmacist and 
patient, shall remain the same as if contractual arrangements between them were direct. 
Any person covered by or insured under such plan, or someone acting for him, shall be 
free to choose for pharmaceutical services any pharmacist licensed to practice in this state 
who has agreed to abide by the terms of such plan. No such pharmacist shall be required 
tfJ participate exclusively in any such plan. 
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(2) Any such plan shall be subject to all applicable provisions of ss. 200.26 and 
209.04 (11). 

(3) This section shall apply exclusively to a corporation or other organization or-
ganized, recognized or operated under s. 151.16 or this section. 

(4) The Wisconsin pharmaceutical association may: 
(a) Establish a nonprofit pharmaceutical service plan within its corporate structure; 
(b) Approve for itself and its members a pharmaceutical service plan established by 

a nonpharmaceutical organization, when the association finds a plan of the latter type 
to be in the public health interest; or 

(c) Organize a corporation with authority to establish a nonprofit pharmaceutical 
service plan, which corporation shall be subject to subs. (1) and (2). 

(5) So as to encourage experimentation in the health and economic interests of the 
general public, any plan organized or approved under this section may operate on ;1 
service, indemnity or a combined service and indemnity basis. 

History; 1963 c. 314. 
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