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GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

344.01 Words and phrases defined. (1) Words and phrases defined in ss. 340.01 
and 343.01 are used in the same sense in this chapter unless a different 'definition is spe­
cifically provided. 

(2) In this chapter the following words and phrases have the designated meanings: 
(a) "Judgment" means a judgment for damages rendered by a court of competent 

jtll'isdiction of any statc 01' of the United States upon a cause of action arising out of the 
ownership, maintenance 01' use of any motor vehicle, including damages for care and for 
loss of scrvices because of bO'dily injury to or death of any person and damages because 
of injury to 01' destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof, whicb judg­
ment has become final by expiration without appeal of tbe time within which an appeal 
might have been perfected 01' by final affirmation on appeal. "Judgment" also includes a 
judgment rendered by a court of competent jtll'isdiction upon a cause of action on an 
agTeement of settlement for damages of the type specified in this paragraph, which judg­
ment has become final within the meaning of this paragraph. 

(b) "Motor vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle and also includes trailers and 
semitrailers designed for use with such vehicles, except that "motor vehicle" 'does not 
include farm tractors, well drillers 01' road machinery. 

(c) "Operator" means a person who is in actual 01' constructive physical control of a 
motor vehicle. It includes a person who has pru'ked a motor vehicle. It includes the drivel' 
of a vehicle being pushed or towed and, in case there is no person actually doing the driv­
ing, the person who is doing the pushing or towing. 
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(d) "Proof of financial responsibility" or "proof of financial responsibility for the 
future" means proof of ability to respond in damages for liability on account of acci­
dents occurring subsequent to the effective date of such proof, arising out of the owner­
ship, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle in the amount of $10,000 because of bodily 
injury to 01' death of one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one 
person, in the amount of $20,000 because of bodily injury to 01' death of 2 or more per­
sons in anyone accident and in the amount of $5,000 because of injury to or destruction 
of property of others in anyone accident. 

(e) "Registration" means, in the case of a person whose vehicle is registered under 
ch. 341, the registration so issued; in the case of a person whose vehicle is not so regis­
tered, it means the privilege to register a vehicle in Wisconsin and the reciprocal privi­
lege granted a nonresident to operate in \Visconsin a vehicle not registered in Wisconsin. 

(f) "State" means any state, territory 01' possession of the United States, the District 
of Columbia, or any province of the Dominion of Canada. 

(g) "Vehicle" means every device in, upon 01' by which any person or property is 01' 

may be transported 01' drawn upon a highway, except vehicles used exclusively upon sta­
tionary rails or tracks 01' vehicles propelled by use of electricity obtained from overhead 
trolley structures. 

344.02 Administration of responsibility law. The commissioner shall administer 
and enforce this chapter and may, in his discretion, appoint any employe in the depart­
ment as his representative to affix his signature, including any facsimile signature adopted 
by him, to the administrative letters, notices and orders to enforce this chapter. 

344.03 Judicial review of commissioner's action. (1) Any person aggrieved by 
any action of the commissioner pursuant to this chapter may, at any time prior to 30 
days after the entry of order of suspension 01' revocation, file a petition in the circuit 
court of Dane county for a review thereof as provided in s. 227.16. The court shall 
summarily heal' the petition and may make any appropriate order 01' decree within the 
scope of s. 227.20. 

(2) If any person aggrieved by any action of the commissioner pursuant to this 
chapter fails to file a petition within the time allowed in sub. (1), the circuit court of 
Dane county may, upon the person's petition and notice to the commissioner, and upon 
the terms and within a time as the court deems reasonable. but not later than one 
y~ar aItcr the act complained of, allow a review with the same effect as though done 
within the time prescribed in sub. (1). This subsection does not authorize the court 
to stay suspension or revocation of an operator's license. 

History: 1961 c. 662; 1967 c. 118. 

Legislative Counell Note, 1967: This bill should also be noted that s. 344.14 (1) at 
amends the present law relating to judicial the request of the drivel', provides for a' 20-
review of commissioner's orders to provide day extension for filing a petition for post­
for a greater length of time to file a peti- ponement of the effective date of suspension. 
Uon. Under the statutory scheme, notice is Sub. (2) has been added to provide for an 
sent to the drivel' informing him that his extension of time allowed for petition for re­
privilege will be suspended in 10 days unless view in the case where a person may be 
he complies with the commissioner's order. incapacitated due to an accident. (Bill No. 
The 10 days begins to run 5 days after the 4-A) 
notice is mailed because of the general mail- The remedy provided is the exclusive 
ing statute. Under this bill, the driver, in remedy for review of the commissioner's 
addition to 15 days prior to suspension is suspension of a driver's operating privilege 
given 30 days after suspension. In effect, a and mandamus will not lie to compel rein~ 
petition can be filed within 45 days after the statement. Underwood v. Karns, 21 VV (2d) 
order is mailed by the commissioner. It 175. 124 NvV (2d) 116. 

344.04 Power of court to stay suspension of registration of vehicles. (1) N ot­
withstanding any other provision of this chapter, the commissioner shall not revoke or 
suspend the registration of a vehicle when ordered not to do so by the court wherein the 
judgment for damages was had 01', in a case not involving a judgment, when ordered not 
to do so by a court pursuant to petition of the registrant in accordance with sub. (2). 

(2) Upon receiving infonnation, other than of a, judgment for damages in a court of 
this state, that would be cause for revocation 01' suspension of registration, the commis­
sioner shall notify the registrant of his intention to revoke or suspend such reg·istration. 
The registrant may thereupon petition any court of record in his county for an order 
enjoining the commissioner's contemplated action, whereupon the judge of such court 
shall grant an order restraining the commissioner in the matter until the petition is finally 
determined by the court. If such petition and order are served upon the commissioner 
within 10 days after the date of the commissioner's notice or in any event before the 
commissioner has revoke'a 01' suspended the registration, the commissioner shall await 
the final determination of the court. The commissioner shall be given notice of the hearing. 
Upon a showing that it WQuid result in undue hardship up10n the p-etitib'Ml' to have any 
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such registration revoked 01' suspended, the court shall issue an order restraining the 
~ommissioner from revoking or suspending the registration. 

(3) This section does not authorize a court to stay suspension or revocation of an 
uperator's license. 

344.05 Courts to report nonpayment of certain judgments. (1) Whenever any 
judgment in excess of $100 for damages arising out of a motor vehicle accident is not 
satisfied within 30 days after its having become final by expiration without appeal of the 
time within which an appeal might have been perfected 01' by final affirmation on appeal, 
the clerk of the court in which such judgment was rendered, 01' the judge if the court has 
no clerk, shall forthwith forward to the commissioner a certified copy of such judgment 
upon request of the judgment creditor or the attorney of record for the judgment creditor. 

(2) If the defendant named in any certified copy of a judgment reported to the com­
missioner is a nonresident, the commissioner shall transmit a certified copy of the judg­
ment to the official in charge of the issuance of licenses and registration certificates of the 
state of which the defendant is a resident. 

History: 1963 c. 77. 

344.06 Commissioner to furnish operating record. The commISSIOner shall upon 
request furnish any person a certified abstract of the operating record of any person 
subject to the provisions of this chapter. If there is no record that such person has been 
convicted of violating any law relating to the operation of a motor vehicle 01' of any 
injury 01' damage caused by such person, the commissioner shall so certify in the abstract. 
The abstract of the operating record also shall fully designate the motor vehicles, if any, 
registered in the name of such person. Such abstract is not admissible in evidence in any 
action for damages 01' criminal proceeding arising out of a motor vehicle accident. 

344.07 Responsibility law not to prevent other process. Nothing in this chapter 
shall be construed as preventing' the plaintiff in any aetion at law from relying for relief 
upon the other processes provided by law. 

344.08 Suspension for failure to report accident. (1) The commissioner may sus­
pend the operating privilege 01' registration of any person who fails to report an acci­
dent as required by s. 346.70 or to give cOl'l'ectly the information requested by the com­
missioner in connection with such report unless, in the judgment of the commissioner, 
there was excusable cause for such failure 01' unless the accident did not result in injury 
or damage to the person or property of anyone other than the person so required to report. 

(2) Any operating privilege suspended pursuant to this section, or suspended pm'su­
ant to any other section for failure to report an accident, shall be reinstated in. aC/lord­
ance with s. 344.09 at the end of 13 months following the accident if, during such 13-
month period, no notice of action instituted within one year from the date of the accident 
has been filed with the department in the manner specified in s. 344.18 (1) (d). 

344.09 Reinstatement of suspended operating privilege and registration. (1) 
Whenever the commissioner is satisfied that the reason for suspension of an operating 
privilege under this chapter has been removed, including satisfaction of any of the re­
quirements of s. 344.18, he shall forthwith order reinstatement of such operating privilege 
and shall give notice of such reinstatement to the pel'son whose operating privilege has 
been suspended. Such reinstlifement order has the ·same _effect--as lin automatic reinstate­
ment under s. 343.39. 

(2) Whenever an. operating privilege suspended or revoked pursuant to this chapter 
is reinstate'd; any registration which was suspended- 01' revoked· along with the operating 
privilege is automatically reinstated and the department shall return any surrendered and 
unexpired registration plate in its possession. 

SECURITY FOR PAST ACOIDENTS. 

344.12 Applicability of provisions relating to deposit of security for past acci­
dents. Subject to the exceptions contained in s. 344.14, the provisions of this chapter 
requiring deposit of security and requiring suspension for failure to deposit security 
apply to the operator and owner of every motor vehicle which is in any manner involved 
in an accident in this state which has resulted in bodily injury to or death of any person 
01' damage to property of any other person in excess of $100. 

344.13 Commissioner to determine amount of security required following accident 
and to give notice thereof. (1) The commissioner after receipt of a report of an ac­
cident of the type specified in s. 344.12 shall determine, with respect to such accident; the 
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amount of security which is sufficient in his judgment to satisfy any judgment for dam­
ages resulting from such accident which may be recovered against either operator or 
owner of the vehicles involved in such accident. Such determination shall be based upon 
the total property damage suffered by other persons whose property was involved in the 
accident, not including the vehicle a person was operating when such operation was with 
the owner's permission, and on the extent of personal injuries, including deaths, involving 
other parties to the accident. The determination as to the amount of security required 
shall be made without regard to the fault of the persons involved but shall not be made 
with respect to operators or owners who are exempt from the requirements of security 
and suspension under s. 344.14 (2). 

(2) The commissioner shall determine the amount of security required to be deposited 
by each person on the basis of the accident reports or other information submitted. In 
addition to the accident reports required by law, the commissioner may request from any 
of the persons, including passengers and pedestrians, involve'd in such accident such 
further information, sworn statements 01' other evidence relating to property damage, 
personal injury or death in motor vehicle accidents as he de.ems necessary to aid in de­
termining the amount to be deposited as security under s. 344.14. Failure of a person 
to comply with such request is gTolmds for suspending such person's operating privilege 
but no suspension shall be made on such grounds until one follow-up request has been 
made and at least 20 'days have elapsed since the mailing of the first request. 

(3) The commissioner within 90 days after receipt of a report of an accident of 
the type specified in s. 344.12 and upon determining the amount of security to be re­
quired of any person involved in such accident or to be required of the owner of any 
vehicle involved in such accident, shall give at least 10 days' written notice to every 
such person of the amount of security required to be deposited by him. The notice also 
shall state that an order of suspension will be made as provided in s. 344.14, unless 
within such time security is depositcd as required by the notice. The order of suspen­
sion may be made a part of the notice, with a provision that it will take effect on the 
date specified in this subsection unless security is deposited prior to that date. 

Histm'Y: 1961 c. 662; 1967 c. 118. 

344.14 Suspension for failure to deposit security; exceptions. (1) If a person 
who was given notice pursuant to s. 344.13 (3) fails to deposit security in the amount and 
by the time specified in the notice, the commissioner shall forthwith suspend his operating 
privilege if he was the operator of a motor vehicle involved in the accident and all his 
registrations if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in the accident unless he 
furnishes proof satisfactory to the commissioner that he comes within one of the exceptions 
set forth in sub. (2). If the owner and operator are separate persons, only one of them 
need deposit security 01' the 2 persons may co-operate in depositing' security. Upon request 
of the owner or operator in question, the commissioner may postpone the effective date of 
a suspension under this section not to exceed 20 days. 

(2) The requirements as to security and suspension stated in sub. (1) do not apply: 
(a) To the owner of a motor vehicle involved in an accident if the owner had in effect 

at the time of the accident an automobile liability policy or bon'd with respect to such 
motor vehicle, which policy or bond complies with the requirements of s. 344.15. 

(b) '1'0 the operator who is not the owner of the vehicle involved in the accident if 
either the owner had in effect an automobile liability policy 01' bond applying to the oper­
ator's operation of. the motor vehicle at the time of the accident or there was in effect at the 
time oT the' accic}ent an automobile liability policy or bond with respect to the operator's 
operation of motor vehicles not 'o,,'ned by him, which policy or .bond meets the require-

.J:l.lents of.s. 344.15, . . . , 
, . "( c )'To the opei;ator 01' owner ,,,hose liabiiity for damages'resulting f1'om the accident 
i~, ill the" judgmellt of the commissioner, covered by any other forni of liability insurance 
policy, or bond meeting' the requirements of s. 344.15. . 

(d) To any person qualifying as a self-insurer under s. 344.16 or to any person oper­
ating a vehicle for such self~insurer. 

(e) To the operator or owner of a vehicle involved in an accident wherein no injury 
'was caused to the person of anyone other than such operator 01' owner and wherein dam, 
age to property of anyone person other than such operator or owner did not exceed $100. 

(f) To the operator 01' owner of a vehicle legally parked at the time of the accident, 
provided that the operators of the other vehicles involved admit that such vehicle was 
legally pal'ked or other. proof establishing such fact to the commissioner's satisfaction is 
filed. . . 

(gj To' Jhe owner ~f Ii vehi~ie if, at th.e time of the accident, the vehicle was being 
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operated without his permission, express or implied, or was parked by a person who ha'd 
been operating such vehicle without such permission. 

(h) To any persull who would otherwise have to deposit security if, prior to the date 
the commissioner would otherwise suspend such person's operating privilege and registra­
tions under sub. (1), there is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that 
such person has been released from liability or has been finally adjudicated not to be liable 
or has executed a warrant for confession of judgment payable when and in such instal­
ments as the parties have agreed to or has executed a duly acknowledged written agree­
ment providing for the payment of an agreed amount in instalments with respect to all 
daims for injuries or damage resulting from the accident. The commissioner may accept 
a release from liability executed by a parent as natural guardian on behalf of a minor 
child with respect to property damage or personal injuries sustained by such minor, pro­
vided that the total damages, including the cost of medical care, does not exceed $200 and 
that, in the case of personal injury, the doctor's certificate of injury filed with the depart­
ment certifies that such minor received no permanent injury. 

(i) To the owner of a vehicle insured as required by s. 121.53, 194.41 or 194.42 or to 
the operator of such vehicle if operating with the owner's permission at the time of the 
accident. 

(j) To the owner of a vehicle involved in an accident if at the time of the accident 
such vehicle was owned by 01' leased to the United States, this state or any county or mu­
nicipality of this state, 01' to the operator of such vehicle if operating such vehicle with 
permission. 

(3) A suspension for failing to deposit security under sub. (1) shall suspend only 
the operator's license and operating privileges thereunder and shall not suspend a person's 
chauffeur's license or his operating privilege thereunder when operating a vshicle subject 
to the requirements of s. 194.41 or 194.42 or a vehicle owned by or leased to the United 
States, this state or any county or municipality of this state. 

History: 1967 c, 92. 

344.15 Requirements as to policy or bond. (1) No policy or bond is effective under 
s. 344.14 unless issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do 
business in this state, except as otherwise provided in sub. (2), nor unless such policy or 
bond is subject, if the accident has resulted in hodily injury or death, to a limit, exclu­
sive of interest and costs, of not less than $10,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 
one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit £01' one person, to a limit of not 
less than $20,000 because of bo'dily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in anyone 
accident and, if the accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a 
limit of not less than $5,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in 
anyone accident. 

(2) A policy or bond with respect to a vehicle which was not registered in this state 
or was registered elsewhere at the time of the effective date of the policy or bond 01' the 
most recent renewal thereof may be effective under s. 344.14 even though not issued by an 
insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this state if the 
following conditions are complied with: 

(a) The policy or bond either meets the liability limits specified in sub. (1) or meets 
the liability limits of the equivalent law of the state in which issued and such limits are, 
in the judgment of the commissioner, adequate to cover any damage or injury involved 
in the accident in question. 

(b) The company which issued the policy or bond executes a power of attorney au­
thorizing' the cOlllmissioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any ac­
tion upon such policy or bond arising out of such accident. 

(3) Where service of process is made on the commissioner under a power of attorney 
filed in accordance with sub. (2), the commissioner shall forthwith mail by registered 
mail a copy of the process papers to the company at the address given in the filed 
power of attorney. In all. cases of such service, there shall be served the original, one 
copy for the commissioner's record of service and such additional number of copies as 
there. are defendants so served in the action. The original shall be returned with proper 
certificate of service attached for filing in court as proof of service of the copies by 
having mailed them by registered mail to the defendants named therein. The service fee 
:;;hall be $2 for each defendant so served. 

(4) After receipt of the report of an accident of the type specified in s. 344.12, 
the conimissioner shall forward to the insurance cOmpany or surety company named 
therein, that portion of the report which pertains to an auto~obile liability policy 01; 
bhnd. The commissioner shall assume that an. automohile .lia:bility policy or bona as 
d'escl'ioe'd in this section was in effect and a:pp1ie~d tb b'oth th'e owner alid opel'at

i
ot· \vlth 
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respect to the accident unless the insurance company or surety company notifies the 
('ommissionel' otherwise within 30 days from the mailing to the company of that portion 
of the report pertaining to the automobile liability policy 01' bond. Upon receipt of 
notice from the company that an automobile liability policy 01' bond was in effect as 
to the owner only, the operator only 01' was not in effect as to either of them, the COlll­
missioner shall within the remainder of the 90-day period specified in s. 344.13 (3) 
require the owner 01' operator or both, whichever is applicable, to deposit security 
pursuant to this chapter. As respects permission to operate the vehicle, the company 
may correct the report only if it files with the commissioner within the 30-day period 
Bpecified in this subsection an affidavit signed by the owner stating that the operator 
did not have the owner's permission to opcrate the vehicle. ·Where the company's 
failure to notify the commissioner within 30 days of a correction in that portion of the 
report pertaining to an automobile liability policy 01' bond is caused by fraud, the 
company shall notify the commissioner of the correction within 30 days of the time the 
fraud is discovered. 

(5) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to impose any obligation not otherwise 
assumed by the insurance company or surety company in its automobile liability policy 01' 

bond except that if no correction is made in the report within 30 days after it is mailed to 
the insurance company 01' surety company, the company, except in case of fraud, when­
ever such fraud may occur, is estoppe'd from using as a defense to its liability the in­
sured's faillU'e to give permission to the operator or a violation of the purposes of use 
specified in the automobile liability policy 01' bond 01' the use of the vehicle beyond agreed 
geographical limits. 

(6) Until July 1, 1958, the commissioner may accept for filing either the form of 
notice of insurance in use prior to the enactment of ch. 545, laws of 1957 (Form SR-21) 
01' the form of notice of insurance specified in ch. 545, la \vs of 1957. In either event, the 
substantive provisions of ch. 545, laws of 1957, shall apply. 

History: 1967 c. 118. 

(5) does not require an automobile lia­
bility insurer, In case of accident, to notify 
the state motor vehicle commissioner of an 
exclusion clause contained in its policy, and 
permits the insurer to rely on such exclu­
sion without notifying the commissioner of 
Its intention to do so. Bean v. Kovacilr, 10 
W (2d) 646, 103 NW (2d) 899. 

Under (5), providing that, if no correc­
tion is made within a certain time by the 
liability insurer in the accident report 
(here made to the state motor vehicle de­
partment by the insured), the insurer is 
estopped from using as a defense to its 
liability the insured's failure to give per­
mission to the operator of the automobile, 
the estoppel thus created removed only the 
element of reliance from equitable estoppel 
and did not mal,e it merely a matter of evi­
dence, and the statute did not create an 
estoppel as a matter of law to which the 

rules of pleading estoppel do not apply. 
Schneck v. Mutual Service Cas. Ins. Co. 18 
,y (2d) 566, 119 NW (2d) 342. 

Failure of an insurance company to deny 
that it had a policy in effect at the time 
of the accident by notifying the commis­
sioner within 30 days does not mal{e It lia­
ble. Hain v. Biron, 26 W (2d) 377, 132 NW 
(2d) 593. 

Where insured obtained the policy by 
false representations as to his identity and 
as to his physical condition, the accident 
happened 4 months later, suit was not 
brought for nearly 3 years and the company 
asserted the defense of fraud within weeks 
after discovering It, the company was not 
estopped by waiver, laches or estoppel from 
asserting no coverage. Bade v. Badger Mut. 
Ins. Co. 31 W (2d) 38, 142 NW (2d) 218. 

SR-21 filings discussed. 1959 WLR552. 

344.16 Requirements as to self-insurers. (1) Any person in whose name more 
than 25 motor vehicles are registered may qualify as a self-insurer by obtaining a eertifi­
eate of self-insurance issued by the commissioner as provided in sub. (2). 

(2) The commissioner may, in his discretion, upon the application of such a person, 
issue a certificate of self-insUl'ance when he is satisfied that such person is possessed and 
will continue to be possesse'd of ability to pay judgments obtained against such person. 

(3) Upon not less than 5 days' notice and a hearing pursuant to such notice, the com­
missioner may upon reasonable grounds cancel a certificate of self-insurance. F,ailure to 
pay any judgment within 30 days after such judgment has become final constitutes a rea­
sonable ground for cancellation of a certificate of self-insurance. 

344.17 Requirements as to form and amount of security. (1) The security required 
under s. 344.14 shall be in such form and in such amount as the commissioner may require 
but in no case in excess of the limits specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference to the ac­
ceptable limits of a policy or bond. The person depositing security shall specify in writing 
the per&on or persons on whose behalf the deposit is made and, at any time while such 
deposit is in the custody of the commissioner 01' state treasurer, the person 'depositing it 
may, in writing, amend the specification of the persons on whose behalf the deposit is made 
to include an additional person 01' persons, subject to the limitation that a single deposit 
of security shall be applicable only on behalf of persons required to furnish seCUi'ity be-
cau.se of the same accident. . 
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(2) The commissioner may reduce the amount of security ordered in any case if, in 
his judgment, from evidence su bmi tted, the amount ordered is excessive or has become 
excessive by filed release on part of the liability or by adjudication reducing the extent 
of the liability. In case the security originally ordered had been deposited at the time 
the reduced amount is ordered, the excess over the reduced amount shall be returned to the 
depositor or his personal representative forthwith, notwithstanding the provisions of s. 
344.20. 

(3) In all cases where the commissioner accepts security in the form of a lien on real 
estate, the party owning such real estate shall prepare the proper instrument to effect 
such lien, payable to the state and all persons entitled thereto under ch. 344, and shall 
record such instrument in the office of the register of deeds in the county where the real 
estate is situated. The commissioner may require the party to furnish the commissioner 
an abstract of merchantable title showing the lien to be a first lien on the premises. A 
certified copy of the recorded instrument and abstract, when required, shall be deposited 
by the commissioner with the state treasurer. In all cases where a judgment has been 
entered against a person involved in a motor vehicle accident and such judg1llent remains 
unsatisfied 60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may for his own use 
and benefit and at his sole expense bring an action to foreclose such lien in the name of 
the state for his use and benefit under this section. The costs of such foreclosure may be 
estimated by the commissioner mId added to the amount required to be posted. In the 
foreclosure of such lien, the provisions of ch. 278 on foreclosure of real estate mortgages 
shall apply as far as possible. 

(4) In all cases where the commissioner accepts security in the for111 of lien on 
pel'sonal property, the party owning such personal property shall prepare the propel' 
instrument to effect such lien payable to the state and all persons entitled thereto 
under ch. 344 and shall file such instrument as provided in s. 409.401. He shall furnish 
the commissioner a certified copy of the filed instrument and, if required by the commis­
sioner, a chattel abstract from the filing officer showing the lien to be a first lien on 
such property. The certified copy and abstract shall be deposited by the commissioner 
with the state treasurer. In all cases where a judgment has been entered against a per­
son involved in a motor vehicle accident and it remains unsatisfied .60 days after it 
has become final, the judgment creditor may, for his own use and benefit and at his sole 
expense, bring an action to foreclose such lien in the name of the state for his use and 
benefit under ch. 344. The costs of such foreclosure shall be estimated by the commis­
sioner and added to the amount required to be posted. In foreclosure of such lien the 
provisions of ss. 409.501 to 409.507 shall apply as far as possible. 

(5) In all cases where the commissioner has accepted security in the form of a lien on 
real estate 01' personal property the state treasurer shall satisfy such lien of record on 
order of the commissioner to return the security upon the party's compliance with tJh. 
344. The state treasurer shall execute a satisfaction in legal form in the name of the 
state by state treasurer, custodian security "Motor Vehicle Responsibility Act." The 
treasurer shall note on the satisfaction that the commissioner has issued such order, and 
such notation shall be prima facie evidence of such issuance. The treasurer shall record 
or file such satisfaction with the propel' register of deeds. 

History: 1963 c. 158. 

344.18 Duration of suspension for failure to deposit security. (1) Any operating 
privilege or registration suspended as provided in s. 344.14 shall remain suspended an'd 
shall not be renewed or reinstated until one of the following requirements has been met: 

(a) The person whose operating privilege or registration was suspended deposits the 
security required under s. 344.14. 

(b) There is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that the person 
whose operating privilege or registration was suspende'd has been released from liability 
01' has been finally adjudicated not to be liable. The commissioner may accept a release 
executed by a parent on behalf of a minor child only if the release satisfies the require­
ments specified in s. 344.14 (2) (h). 

(c) There is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that the person 
whose operating privilege or registration was suspended has executed a wanant for con­
fession of judgment 01' duly acknowledged written agreement in accordance with s. 344.14 
(2) (h), subject however to the provisions of subs. (2) and (3) of this section. 

(d) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date of the accident and, during such 
period, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any claimant that an action 
was instituted by a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint within 
the one-year period following the date of the accident or by service of counterclaim 01' 

cross-complaint within the 20-day answer period. If the action was cOlllmenced in a 
court of record, the notice required by this paragraph shall include a certified copy of the 
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summons and complaint or counterclaim or cross-complaint and proof of service filed 
therein. If the action was commenced before a justice of the peace, the notice required 
by this section shall include a certificate from such justice establishing the fact that the 
IIction was so cOlllmenced. In all cases of service under s. 345.09 (nonresident service), 
an additional notice and service must be made under ch. 344 to avail oneself of the pro­
visions of said chapter. 

(2) If there is any default in the payment of any instalment under any confession of 
judgment, the commissioner, upon notice of such default given within the terms of the 
instalment agreement or in no event later than 30 days after the time for the final instal­
ment, shall forthwith suspend the operating privilege and registrations of the defaulting 
person, which suspension shall remain in effect until the entire amount provided for in 
the confession of judgment has been paid. 

(3) If there is any default in the payment of any instalment under a duly aclmowl­
edged written agreement, the commissioner, upon notice of such default given in no 
event later than 30 days after the time for final instalment, shall forthwith suspend the 
operating privilege and registrations of the defaulting person, which suspension shall 
remain in effect until one of the following requirements has been met: 

(a) Such person deposits the security required under s. 344.14. 
(b) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date when the security was required and, 

during such period, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any claimant that an 
action was instituted by a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint 
within the one-year period following the date when such security was required or by serv­
ice of counterclaim or cross-complaint within the 20-day answer period. The notice re­
quired by this paragraph shall comply with the provisions of sub. (1) (d). 

(4) The commissioner shall not suspend, as required by sub. (2) 01' (3), if the de­
faulting person has made payments to the extent specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference 
to the acceptable limits of a policy or bond. 

History: 1961 c. 662. 

344.19 Applicability to nonresidents, unlicensed drivers, unregistered motor vehi­
cles and accidents in other states. (1) If the operator or the owner of a motor vehicle 
involved in an accident within this state has no license 01' registration, whether because he 
is a nonresident 01' because he is a resident who has failed or neglected to obtain a license 
or registration in this state, he shall not be allowed a license or registration until he has 
complie'd with the requirements of this chapter to the same extent as would be necessary 
if, at the time of the accident, he had held a license and registration in this state. 

(2) If the operating privilege or registration of a nonresident is suspended pursu­
ant to s. 344.14, the commissionel' shall transmit a certified copy of the record of such 
action to the motor vehicle commissioner or equivalent official of the state in which that 
person resides if the law of the state in which that person resides provides for similar 
action by the commissioner or equivalent official of that state in the event that a resident 
of this state has his nonresident's operating privilege or registration in that state sus­
pended or revoked for failure to comply with the safety responsibility law of that state. 

(3) Upon receipt of such certification from another state to the effect that the oper­
ating privilege or registration of a resident of this state has been suspende'd 01' revoked 
in such other state pursuant to a law providing for its suspension 01' revocation for failure 
to deposit security for payment of judgments arising out of a motor vehicle accident, 
under circumstances which would require the commissioner to suspend a nonresident's 
operating privilege or registration had the accident OCCUlTed in this state, the commissioner 
shall suspend the license of such resident if he was the operator and all of his registra­
tions if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department 
may accept a certification which is in the form of a combined notice of required security 
and suspension or revocation order, but shall not suspend a resident's operating privilege 
or registration on the basis of such order until at least 30 days have elapsed since the 
time for depositing security in the other state expired. A suspension under tIns section 
shall continue until such resident fUl'l1ishes evidence of his compliance with the law of the 
other state relating to the deposit of security. 

344.20 Custody, disposition and return of security. (1) Security deposited in 
compliance with this chapter shall be placed by the commissioner in the custody of the 
state treasurer and shall be applied only as provided in this section. When placing' 
security in the custody of the state treasurer, the commissioner shall also file with the 
state treasurer a memorandum specifying the respective portions of such deposit required 
because of property damage or personal injuries, including deaths, suffered by each 
person who will be entitled to a portion of such deposit in the event of a judgment 
against either operator 01' owner for the damages resulting from such accident. 
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(2) The state treasurer shall apply the security only to the payment of judgments 
and assignments and only as provided in this subsection: 

(a) The security may be applied to the payment of judgments for damages arising 
out of the accident in question rendered against either operator 01' owner for the dam­
ages resulting from such accident in an action at law begun not later than one year 
after the date of the accident or not later than one year after the date of deposit of any 
security under s. 344.18 (2). Any party to such action in favor of whom a judgment 
was rendered may move to have the court order the state treasurer to transmit to the 
court for application to the payment of the judgment the money or securities available 
for such purpose, and the court may so order. A certified copy of the order shall be 
served upon the state treasurer, which service shall be by mail only. Upon being so 
served, the state treasurer shall transmit to the clerk of the court the money or securities 
in the amount authorized by pal'. (c) or in the amount specified in the court order if less 
than the amount so authorized. Securities transmitted shall be valued at the same amount 
as when received from the department. '1'he state treasurer shall have no further responsi­
hility for the amount of the deposit so transmitted and the court shall determine and 
direct the application thereof. Any excess shall be retul'lled by the court to the state 
treasurer to he held by him subject to the provisions of this chapter. 

(b) Subject to the restrictions imposed by par. (c), the security may be applied to 
the payment of a duly acknowledged assignment by the person who made the deposit, 
provided the assignment is accompanied by releases signed by all parties in interest and 
releasing the assignor from all liability to such parties on account of damages arising 
out of the accident in question. 

(c) No amount in excess of the portion designated in the commissioner's filed security 
memorandum as having been deposited on account of damages suffered by the assignee 
or judgment creditor 01' person representing either of them shall be paid out on behalf 
of such person nnless the depositor has been released from liability by all other parties 
in interest. In the latter event, the deposit may be applied to the payment of the judg­
ment or assignment in question without regard to the designations in the security memo­
randum. 

(3) The deposit of security or any balance thereof shall be returned to the depositor 
or his personal representative when evidence satisfactory to the commissioner has been 
filed with him that one of the contingencies specified in s. 344.18 (1) (b), (c) or (d) or 
(3) (b) has occurred. 

History. 1961 c. 662. 

344.21 Matters not to be evidence in civil suits. N either the report required fol­
lowing an accident, the action taken by the commissioner pursnant to this chapter, the 
findings, if any, upon which such action is based nor the security filed as provided in this 
chapter shall be referred to in any way or be any evidence of the negligence or due care 
of either party at the trial of any action at law to recover damages, but this shall not be 
construed to exclude a notice of insurance filed pursuant to s. 344.15 (4) from being 
admissible in evidence where it would other,vise be material and admissible under the rules 
of evidence. , 

344.22 Short title. Sections 344.12 to 344.22 and the general provisions appli­
cable thereto may be cited as the safety responsibility law. 

PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE FUTURE. 

344.24 Applicability of sections relating to proof of financial responsibility for the 
future. Sections 344.29 to 344.41 are applicable in all cases in which a person is re­
quired to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the future, including those cases 
in which a person is required to deposit p1'oof of financial responsibility for the future 
under ss. 344.25 to 344.27 and those cases in which the deposit of proof of financial re­
sponsibility for the future is a condition precedent to reinstatement of an operating privi­
lege revoked pursuant to ch. 343. 

344.25 Revocation of license and registration for nonpayment of judgment; excep­
tions. Upon the receipt, pursuant to s. 344.05, of a certified copy of a judgment for 
<1amages in excess of $100 arising out of a motor vehicle accident, the commissioner 
shall forthwith revoke the operating privilege and all registrations of the person against 
whom such judgment was rendered, subject to the following exceptions: 

(1) If the judgment arose out of an accident caused by the ownership or operation, 
with pe1'mission, of a vehicle owned by 01' leased to the United States, this state or any 
county or municipality of this state or a vehicle subject to the requirements of s. 
121.53, 194.41 or 194.42, the commissioner shall not revoke such license or registration. 
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(2) If the jUdgment cre'ditor consents in writing in such form as the commissioner 
may prescribe that the judgment debtor be allowed to retain 01' reinstate his operating 
privilege and registrations, the same may be allowed by the commissioner, in his discretion, 
for 6 months from the date of such consent and thereafter until such consent is revoked 
in writing, notwithstanding default in the payment of such judgment 01' of any instal­
ments thereof as prescribed in s. 344.27, provided the judgment debtor furnishes proof of 
financial responsibility for the future and maintains such proof at all times when such 
license an'd registrations are in effect during a period of 3 years following the entry of the 
judgment. 

(3) The commissioner shall not revoke such license 01' registrations if the judgment 
debtor obtains a court order for instalment payments and furnishes proof of financial 
responsibility as provided in s. 344.27. 

(4) The commissioner shall not revoke the chauffeur's license of a debtor, his oper­
ating privilege thereunder 01' his registration with respect thereto whcn the debtor is 
operating a vehicle subject to the requirements of s. 194.41 or 194.42 or a vehicle owned 
by 01' leased to the United States, this state 01' any county 01' municipality of this state. 

(5) When the commissioner receives certification of the entry of a damage judgment 
in accordance with s. 344.05 against a resident of this state which has been entered by a 
court in another jurisdiction, he shall g'ive notice to such person that he has received 
such certification of judgment. If satisfaction of such judgment is not made and copy 
of such satisfaction filed with the commissioner within 30 days from the date such notice 
was given, the commissioner shall revoke the license and registrations of such judgment 
debtor. 

Hist01'YI 1961 c. 662; 1967 c. 92. 

344.26 Revocation to continue until judgment paid and proof of financial responsi. 
bility given. (1) Subject to the exceptions stated in ss. 344.25 (2) and 344.27 (2), 
any operating privilege or registration revoked pursuant to s. 344.25 shall remain revoked 
until every judgment mentioned in s. 344.25 is stayed, satisfied 01' discharged and, unless 
3 years have elapsed since the date of entry of the judgment which was the cause for 
revocation, until the person whose operating privilege an'd registration was revoked fur­
nishes proof of financial responsibility for the future and maintains such proof at aU 
times during such 3-year period when the operating privilege 01' registration is in effect. 

(2) A discharge in bankruptcy following the rendering of any such judgment does 
not relieve the judgment debtor from any of the requirements of this section. 

(3) Judgments in excess of the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d) shall, for the 
purpose of this section only, be deemed satisfied when payments in the amounts so speci­
fied have been credited thereon. Payments made in settlement of any claims because of 
bodily injury, death 01' property damage arising from a motor vehicle accident shall be 
credited in reduction of the respective amounts so specified. 

Discharge of a judgment in bankruptcy 
ancl satisfaction under 270.91 (2) does not 
bar the application of 344.26 and whether 
or not the satisfaction recites that it is 
based on a discharge in bankruptcy the 
commissioner can inquire into the facts. 

Zywiclce v. Brogli, 24 W (2d) 685, 130 NW 
(2d) 180. 

The encroachment of financial responsi­
bility laws on the policy of the bankruptcy 
act. 47 l'IILR 402. 

344.27 Instalment payment of judgments; revocation upon default. (1) A judg­
ment debtor upon due notice to the judgment creditor may apply to the court in which 
such ju'dgment was rendered for the privilege of paying such judgment in instalments and 
the court, in its discretion and without prejudice to any other legal remedies which the 
jUdgment creditor may have, may so order and fix the amounts and times of payment of 
the instalments. 

(2) The commissioner shall not revoke the operating privilege 01' registration and 
shall restore any operating privilege or registration revoked following nonpayment of a 
judgment when the judgment debtor obtains such order permitting the payment of the 
judgment in instalments and, unless 3 years have elapsed since the entry of judgment, 
furnishes aU'a maintains proof of financial responsibility for the future. 

(3) If the jUdgment debtor fails to pay any instalment as specified by such order, the 
commissioner, upon notice of such default, shall forthwith revoke the operating privilege 
and registrations of the judgment debtor until such judgment is satisfied as provided in s. 
344.26. 

344.29 Proof of financial responsibility required for each registered vehicle. Proof 
of financial responsibility for the future shall be furnished fdr eRch motor vehicle l'egis­
tere'd by any persdn required fa give such proof. 
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344.30 Alternate methods of giving proof of financial responsibility. Whenever the 
owner or operator of a. motor vehicle is required under chs. 343 or 344 to give proof of 
financial responsibility for the future, such proof may be given by filing: 

(1) A certificate of insurance as provided in s. 344.31 or 344.32; or 
(2) A bon'd as provided in s. 344.36; or 
(3) A certificate of deposit of money or securities as provided in s. 344.37; or 
(4) A certificate of self-insurance as provided in s. 344.16, supplemented by an agree­

ment by the self-insurer that, with respect to accidents occurring while the certificate is 
in force, he will pay the same amounts that an insurer would have been obligated to pay 
under an owner's motor vehicle liability policy if it had issued such a policy to such self­
insurer. 

344.31 Oertificate of insurance as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility for 
the future may be furnished by filing with the commissioner the written certificate of any 
insurance carrier duly authorized to do business in this state certifying that there is in 
effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the bencfit of the person required to furnish 
proof of financial responsibility. Such certificate shall give the effective date of such 
motor vehicle liability policy, which date shall be the same as the effective 'date of the 
certificate and shall designate by explicit description or by appropriate reference all 
motor vehicles covered thereby, unless the policy is issued to It person who is not the 
owner of a motor vehicle. 

(2) No motor vehicle shall be 01' continue to be registered in the name of any person 
required to file proof of financial responsibility unless such motor vehicle is so designated 
in such a certificllte. 

344.32 Oertificate furnished. by nonresidents as proof. (1) The nonresident owner 
of a motor vehicle not registered in this state may give proof of financial responsibility 
by filing with the commissioner a written certificate of an insurance carrier authorized to 
transact business in the state in which the motor vehicle described in such certificate is 
registered or, if such nonresident does not own a motor vehicle, then in the state in which 
the insured resides, provided such certificate otherwise conforms to the provisions of this 
chapter. The commissioner shall accept the certificate only upon condition that such in­
surance carrier complies with the following provisions with respect to the policies so 
certifie'd : 

(a) Such insurance carrier shall execute a power of attorney authorizing the com­
missioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any action arising out of 
a motor vehicle accident in this state. 

(b) Such insurance carrier shall agree in writing that such policies shall be deemed 
to conform with the laws of this state relating to the terms of motor vehicle liability 
policies issued herein. 

(2) If any insurance cal'lier not authorized to transact business in this state, which 
has qualified to furnish proof of financial responsibility, defaults in any such undertak­
ings 01' agreements, the commissioner shall not thereafter accept as proof any certificate 
of such carrier whether theretofore filed or thereafter tendered as proof, so long as such 
default continues. 

344.33 "Motor vehicle liability policy" defined. (1) CERTIFICATION. A "motor 
'vehiCle liability policy" as that term is used in this chapter means an owner's policy or 
'an operator's policy of liability insurance, certified as provided in s. 344.31 or 344.32 as 
'proof of financial responsibility for the future, and issued, except as otherwise provided 
in s. 344.32, by an insurance canier duly authorized to transact business in this state to 
or for the benefit of the person named therein as insured. 
, (2) OWNER'S POLICY. An owner's policy of liability insurance: 

(a) Shall designate by explicit description or by appropriate reference all motor ve­
hicles with respect to which coverage is thereby to be granted; and 

(b) The policy shall apply for a period of 30 days but in no event beyond the end 
of the policy period, to a newly acquired automobile which replaces an automobile de­
sllribed in such policy; but this paragmph shall not operate to limit coverage for a re­
placement automobile to a period of 30 days if the policy provides coverage for a replace­
ment automobile for a longer period of time; and 

(c) Shall insure the person named therein and any other person, as insured, using any 
such motor vehicle or motor vehicles with the express 01' implied permission of such named 
insured, against loss from the liability imposed by law for damages arising out of the 
ownership, maintenance or use of such motor vehicle 01' motor vehicles within the United 
States of America 01' the Dominion of Canada, subject to liinits exclusive of interest and 
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costs, with respect to each such motor vehicle, as follows: $10,000 1)ecause of bodily injury 
to 01' death of one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one person, 
$20,000 because of bodily injury to 01' death of 2 01' more persons in anyone accident, 
and $5,000 because of llljury to 01' dest1'uction of property of others in anyone accident. 

(3) OPERATOR'S POLICY. .An operator's policy of liability insurance shall insure the 
person named as insured therein against loss from the liability imposed upon him by law 
for damages arising out of the use by him of any motor vehicle not owned by him, 
within the sallle territorial limits and subject to the same limits of liability as are Ret forth 
in sub. (2) with respect to an o\\,ner's policy of liability insurance. 

(4) REQUIRED STATElIIENTS IN POLICY. Such motor vehicle liability policy shall state 
the name and address of the named insured, the coverage afforded by the policy, the 
premium charged therefor, the policy period and the limits of liability, and shall contain 
un agreement 01' be endorsed that insurance is provided thereunder in accordance with the 
coverage deflned in this chapter with respect to bodily injury and death 01' property 
dalllage, or both, and is suhject to all the provisions of this chapter. 

(5) CERTAIN TYPES OF COVERAGE EXCLUDED. Sucb motor vehicle liability policy shall 
not insure any liability under any workmen's compensation law as provided in ch. 102 
nor any liability on account of bodily injury to 01' death of any employe of the insured 
while engaged in the employment, other than domestic, of the insured, 01' while engaged in 
the operation, maintenance or repair of any such motor vehicle 01' any liability for dam­
age to property owned by, rented to, in charge of or transported by the insured. 

(6) PROVISIONS INCORPORATED IN POLICY BY LAWS. Every motor vehicle liability 
policy shall be subject to the following provisions which need not be contained therein: 

(a) The policy may not be canceled or annulled as to such liability by any agreement 
between the insurance carrier and the insured after the OCCllTence of any injury 01' dam­
age covered by such motor vehicle liability policy. 

(b) The satisfaction by the insured of a judgment for such injury or damage shall 
not be a condition precedent to the right 01' duty of the insurance carrier to make payment 
on account of such injury 01' damag·e. 

(c) The insurance carrier shall have the right to settle any claim covered by the policy, 
and if such settlement is made in good faith, the amount thereof shall be deductible from 
the limits of liability specified in sub. (2) (c). 

(d) The policy, the written application therefor, if any, and any rider 01' endorse­
lllent which does not conflict with the provisions of this chapter constitutes the entire 
contract between the parties. 

(7) EXCESS OR ADDITIONAL COVERAGE. Any policy which grants the coverage required 
for a motor vehicle liability policy may also grant any lawful coverage in excess of or in 
addition to the coverage specifled for a motor vehicle liability policy and such excess 01' 

additional coverage is not subject to the provisions of this chapter. With respect to a 
policy which grants such excess or additional coverage the term "motor vehicle liability 
policy" applies only to that part of the coverage which is required by this section. 

(8) REIMBURSEMENT PROVISION PERlIIITTED. Any motor vehicle liability policy may 
provide that the insured shall reimburse the insurance carrier for any payment the in­
surance carrier would not have been obligated to make under the terllls of the policy except 
for the provisions of this section. 

(9) PRORATION OF INSURANCE PERMITTED. Any motor vehicle liability policy may 
provide for the prorating of the insurance thereunder with other valid and collectible 
insurance. 

(10) MULTIPLE POLICIES. The requirements for a motor vehicle liability policy may 
be fulfilled by the policies of one 01' more insurance carriers which policies together meet 
such requirements. 

(11) BINDERS. Any binder issued pending the issuance of a motor vehicle liability 
policy shall be deemed to fulflll the requirements for such a policy. 

History. 1963 c. 410. 

344.34 Notice of cancellation or termination of certified policy. When an insur­
ance carrier has certified a motor vehicle liability policy under s. 344.31 or a policy under 
s. 344.32, the insurance so certifled shall not be canceled or terminated until at least 10 
days after a notice of cancellation or termination of the insurance so certified has been 
filed in the office of the commissioner, except that such a policy subsequently procured 
and certified shall, on the effective date of its certification, terminate the insurance previ­
ously certified with respect to any motor vehicle designated in both certificates. 

344.35 This chapter not to affect other policies. (1) This chapter does not apply 
to 01' affect policies of automobile insurance against liability which may now or hereafter 
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be required by any other law of this state. If such policies contain an agreement or arc 
endorsed to conform to the requirements of this cbapter, they may be certified as proof 
of financial responsibility under this cbapter. 

(2) This chapter does not apply to or affed policies inslU'ing solely the insured named 
in the policy against liability resulting from the maintenance 01' use by persons in the 
insured's employ or on his behalf of motor vehicles not owned by the insured. 

344.36 Bond at; proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility lllay be evidenced by 
the bond of a surety company duly authorized to transact business within this state or a 
bond with at least 2 individual sureties each owning real estate within this state and to­
gether having equities equal in value to at least twice the amount of the bond, which real 
estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a judge of a court of record. Such 
bond shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d). 
The bond shall be filed with the commissioner and shall not be cancellable except after 
10 days' written notice to the commissioner. 

(2) The bond constitutes a lien in favor of the state upon any surety's real estate 
wllich is scheduled in the bond and which is not exempt by law from execution. Such lien 
is effective as of the time when the commissioner records the bond in the office of the 
register of deeds of the county wherein such real estate is located, as provided in s. 
235.45. Such lien exists in favor of any holder of a final judgment against the person 
who filed such bond, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use or oper­
ation of a motor vehicle after such bond was recorded, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bodily injury to 01' death of any person and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof. 

(3) If the judgment rendered ag'ainst the principal on the bond is not satisfied within 
60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may, for his own use and benefit 
and at his sole expense, bring an action in the name of the state against the company or 
persons executing the bond, including an action or proceeding to foreclose any lien that 
may exist upon the real estate of a person who has executed such bond. In the foreclosure 
of such lien, eh. 278 on the foreclosure of real estate mortgages shall apply as far as 
possible. 

344.37 Money or securities as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility for the 
future may be evidenced by the certificate of the state treasurer that the person named 
therein has deposited with him $25,000 in cash, 01' in spcurities such as may legally be 
purchased by savings banks or for trust funds of a market value of $25,000, The state 
treasurer shall not accept any such deposit and issue a certificate therefor and the com­
missioner shall not accept such certificate unless accompanied by evidence that there are no 
unsatisfied judgments of any character against the depositor in the county where the 
depositor resides. 

(2) Deposits made under this section shall be held by the state treasurer to satisfy, 
in accordance with this chapter, any execution on a judgment issued against the person 
making the deposit, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use or opera­
tion of a motor vehicle after such deposit was made, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bodily injury to or death of any person and damages because 
of injury to 01' destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof, Money 
or securities so deposited are not subject to attachment or execution unless such attach­
ment 01' execution arises out of a suit for damages as set forth in this section. 

344,38 Owner and leasing company may give proof for others. Whenever any 
person required to give proof of financial responsibility for the future under this 
chapter is or later becomes an operator in the employ of any owner, or is or later 
becomes a member of the immediate family or household of the owner, the commissioner 
shall accept proof g'iven by such owner in lieu of proof by such other person. If the 
vehicle is leased to the employer, then the leasing company may file proof of financial 
responsibility on behalf of the person required to furnish such proof, When proof 
has been given as provided in this section, the person on whose behalf such proof was 
furnished may be granted a license, but only to operate those vehicles for which proof 
was so given. The department shall note such restriction on the person's license, includ­
ing a designation of each vehicle for which proof was given, 

History: 1967 c, 300, 

344.39 Substitution of proof. The commissioner shall consent to the cancellation 
of any bond 01' certificate of insurance or the commissioner shall direct and the state 
treasurer shall return any money or securities to the person entitled thereto upon the sub-
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stitution and acceptance of other adequate proof of financial responsibility pursuant to 
this chapter. 

344.40 Suspension for failure to maintain proof; other proof may be required. (1) 
Whenever any person who has furnished proof of financial responsibility fails to maintain 
such proof at any time during the period when proof of financial responsibility is required, 
the commissioner shall revoke such person's operating privilege and registration for a 
period of time running from the date of revocation until such time as either satisfactory 
prouf of fillallcialresponsibility is again furnished 01' the period during which proof was 
required to be furnished has expired. 

(2) Whenever any proof of financial responsibility filed under this chapter no longer 
fulfills the purposes for which required, the commissioner shall require other proof meet­
ing the requirements of this chapter and shall suspend the operating privilege and regis­
tration pending the filing of such other proof. 

344.41 Duration of proof; when proof may be canceled or returned. (1) Subject 
to the exceptions ~et forth in sub. (2), the commissioner shall, upon request, consent to 
the immediate cancellation of any bond or certificate of insurance, shall direct the state 
treasurer to retUl'n to the person entitled thereto any money or seeurities deposited pur­
suant to this chapter as proof of financial responsibility (with which directive the state 
treasUl'er shall comply) and shall waive any requirement of the filing of proof of financial 
responsibility whenever any of the following events has occurred: 

(a) The period during which proof of financial responsibility is required has expired; 
or 

(b) The person on whose behalf such proof was filed has died or has become perma­
nently incapacitated to operate a motor vehicle; or 

(c) The person who has given proof surrenders his license and registration to the 
commissioner. 

(d) If a person required to furnish proof of financial responsibility has more than 
one motor vehicle registered in his name and does not intend to use all of the vehicles he 
has registered, he may surrender the valid registration plates for the vehicle or vehicles 
not being used and continue his filing of proof of financial responsibility only on the 
vehicle on which registration plates are retained by him. 

(2) 'l'he commissioner shall not consent to the cancellation of any bond or the return 
of any money or securities if any action for damages upon a liability covered by such 
proof is then pending or any judgment upon any such liability is then unsatisfied, 01' if 
the person who filed the bond or deposited the money 01' securities has, within one year 
immediately preceding the request for cancellation of the bond 01' return of the money or 
securities, been involved as an operator or owner in any motor vehicle accident resulting 
in injury or damage to the person or property of others. An affidavit of the applicant as 
to the nonexistence of such facts, or that he has been released from all of his liability, 01' 

has been finally adjudicated not to be liable for such injury or damages is sufficient evidence 
thereof in the absence of evidence to the contrary in the records of the commissioner. 

(3) Whenever any person whose proof has been canceled or returned under sub. (1) 
(c) desires reinstatement of his license or registration prior to the expiration of the 
period during which proof of financial responsibility is required, he shall again furnish 
proof of financial responsibility. Thereupon his license is automatically reinstated as 
provided in s. 343.39 and the department shall retul'll his registration plates, if not ex­
pired. 

History: 1961 c. 662. 

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS OF OHAPTER. 

344.45 Surrender of license, and registration upon suspension. (1) Whenever a 
person's operating privilege or registration is revoked or suspended pursuant to this 
chapter, the commissioner shall also order such person to sU1'1'ender to the department his 
license and the registration plates and certificates of registration of the vehicles for which 
registration was revoked 01' suspended. If such person fails forthwith to return such 
license, registration plates or certificates of registration to the department, the commis­
sioner shall direct a traffic officer to take possession thereof and return them to the de­
partment. 

(2) Any person who intentionally fails or refuses to return a license, registration 
plate 01' certificate of registration as required by this section may be fined not more than 
$100 or imprisoncd not more than 6 months or both. 

344.46 Transfer of vehicle ownership to defeat purpose of chapter. (1) No 
owner of a motor vehicle involved in an accident in this state which is reportable 
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under s. 346.70 shall transfer the ownership or registration of any vehicle whose 
registration is subject to suspension under s. 344.14 until this chapter has been com­
plied with or until the eommissioner is satisfied that such transfer is proposed in good 
faith and not for the pUl1)ose or with the effect of defeating the purposes of this 
chapter. 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $200 or imprisoned 
not more than 6 months or both. 

(3) This section does not apply to 01' affect the registration of any vehicle sold by a 
person who, pursuant to the terms 01' conditions of any written instrument giving a right 
of repossession, has exercised such right and has repossessed such vehicle from a person 
whose registration l1as heen suspended pursuant to this chapter. 

History, 1967 c, 300. 

344.47 Operating vehicle after suspension or revocation. (1) No person whose 
registration has been revoked or suspended pursuant to this chapter shall, during such 
revocation 01' suspension, operate 01' knowingly permit the operation of any motor vehicle 
owned by him, except as permitted uncleI' this chapter. 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not less than $50 nor more than 
$200 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both. 

344.48 Forged proof. (1) No person shall: 
(a) Forge or, without authority, sign any notice provided for in s. 344.15 (4) to the 

effect that a policy or bond is in effect 01', knowing 01' having reason to believe that such 
notice has been forged 01' signed without authority, file or offer such notice for filing; 01' 

(b) Forge or, without authOl'ity, sign any evidence of proof of financial responsibility 
or, knowing' 01' l1aving reason to believe that such evidence has been forged or signed with­
out authority, file 01' offer such evidence for filing. 

(c) Sign 01' file the affidavit mentioned in s. 344.15 (4), knowing that it contains a 
false statement. 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $1,000 01' imprisoned 
not more than one year 01' both. 

FINANOI.AL RESPONSIBILITY FOR RENTED VEHICLES. 

344.51 Financial responsibility for domestic rented vehicles. (1) No person 
shall for compensation rent any motor vehicle to be operated by or with the consent of 
the person renting such vehicle unless there is filed with the department a good and 
~ufiicient bond 01' policy of insurance or certificate issued by a company or exchange 
organized under the laws of this state or duly authorized to transact business in this 
state. Such bond, policy, or certificate shall provide that the company 01' exchange 
which issued it will be liable for damag'es caused by the negligent operation of such 
motor vehicle in the amounts set forth in s. 344.01 (2) (d). 

(2) Any person failing to comply with this section is directly liable for all damages 
caused by the negligence of the person operating such rented vehicle to the extent that 
such liability could have been established if this section had been complied with. 

(3) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $200 01' imprisoned 
not more than 6 months or both. 

(4) In this section, "motor vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle. 
See note to 344.52, citing Herchelroth v. Mahar, 36 W (2d) 140, 153 NW (2d) 6. 

344.52 Fina.ucial responsibility for foreign rented vehicles. (1) Whenever any 
motor vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is operated in this state, the 
lessor of such motor vehicle is directly liable for all damages to persons or property 
caused by the negligent operation of such rented vehicle unless, at the time when such 
damage 01' injury occurs, the operation of the vehicle is effectively covered by a policy 
of insurance which provides coverage at least in the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) 
(d) for property damage, personal injury or death suffered by any person on account 
of the negligent operation of such vehicle. The alllount of linhility imposed upon the 
lessor by this section in the absence of insurance coverage shall not exceed the limits 
set forth in s. 344.01 (2) (d) with respect to the acceptable limits of liability when 
furnishing proof of financial responsibility. The fact that the rented vehicle is 
operated in this state contrary to any understanding or ngreement with the lessor is 
not a defense to any liability imposed by this section. 

(2) If a motor vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is operated in this 
state, the lessor of such vehicle is deemed to have irrevocably appointed the commissioner 
as his agent or attorney upon whom legal process may be servcd in any action or pro-' 
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ceeding against such lessor or his executor, administrator, personal representative, suc­
cessors or assig'ns, growing out of the operation of such rented motor vehicle in this state. 
Such appointment is binding upon the lessor's executor, administrator, personal repre­
sentative, successors or assig'ns. The operation of such rented motor vehicle in this state is 
a signification of the lessor's agreement that such legal process or notice may be served 
upon him or his executor, administrator, personal representative, successors or assigns 
and that process or notice so served has the same legal force as if personally served upon 
him or them in this state. Service of such process or notice shall be made as provided in 
s. 345.09. This section does not affect the right to serve process or notice on the non­
resident opeTator of the rented motor vehicle as provided in s. 345.09. 

(3) In this section, "motor vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle. 
This section is intended to assure re- between the parties. The end of the section 

sponse in damages to the injured person is met when the judgment is paid. Herchel­
and not to decide the question of liability roth v. Mahar, 36 W (2d) 140, 153 NW (2d) 6. 




