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973.01 Indeterminate sentence; Wiscon-
sin state prisons. (1) (a) If imprisonment in
the Wisconsin state prisons for a term of years is
imposed, the court may fix a term less than the
prescribed maximum. The form of such sentence
shall be substantially as follows: “You are
hereby sentenced to the Wisconsin state prisons
for an indeterminate term of not more than ...
(the maximum as fixed by the court) years”.

(b) The sentence shall have the effect of a
séntence at hard labor for the maximum term
fixed by the court, subject to the power of actual
release from' confinement by parole by the
department or by pardon as provided by law. If a
person is sentenced for a définite time for an
offense for which he may be sentenced under this
section, he is in legal effect sentenced as required
by this section, said definite time being the
maximum period. A defendant convicted of a
crime for which the minimum pénalty is life shall
be sentenced for life.

(2) Upon the recommendation of the
department, the governor may, without the
procedure required by ch. 57, discharge ab-
solutely, or upon such conditions and restrictions
and under such limitation as he thinks proper,
any inmate committed to the Wisconsin state
prisons after he has served the minimum term of
punishment prescribed by law for the offense for
which he was sentenced, except that if the term
was life imprisonmént, 5 years must elapse after
parole before siich a recommendation can be
made to the governor. Such discharge shall have
the effect of an absolute or conditional pardon,
respectively. -

" (8) Female persons convicted of a felony may
be committed to the Wisconsin home for women

‘History: 1973 ¢ 90

The supreme court adopts Standard 23 (¢) of the ABA
Standards Relating to Appellatc Review of Sentences,
thereby - requiring the sentencing.-judge to state  for - the
record in the presence of the defendant the reasons for
sclécting - the particular sentence imposed or, -if  the
sentencing judge deems it in the interest of .the defendant
not 1o state his rcasons in the presence of the defendant, to

prepare a statement for transmission to the reviewing court
as part of the record. McCleary v State, 49 W (2d). 263,
182 NW (2d) 512 .

1t is ‘not' a denial of equal treatment to sentence a
defendant 10 4 years imprisonment although other persons
involved -(all minors) received lesser or no punishment.
State v. Schilz, 50 W (2d) 395, 184 NW (2d) 134

An abuse of discretion, as it relates to sentencing
procedures, will be found only where there .is no rational
basis ‘for the imposition of the sentence or these rationale
are not articulated in, or inferable from, the record, or
where - discretion is exercised on the basis of clearly

Jirrelevant or improper- factors: Davis v.-State, 52 W. (2d)

697,190 NW (2d) 890

It is not an abuse of discretion to sentence a mature man
to 7 years in prison for a sex offense against a 5 year-old
boy. Bastian v State, 54 W (2d) 240, 194 NW (2d) 687

Proper factors to be considered in determining a sentence
listed Time spent in jail before sentencing is not necessarily
required to be deducted from the sentence. State v. Tew;-54
W (2d):361,195NW (2d) 615.

973.02 Place of imprisonment when none
expressed. When a statute authorizes impris-
onment for its violation but does not prescribe
the place of imprisonment, 1) a sentence of less
than one year shall be to the county jail, 2) a
sentence of more than one year shall be to the
Wisconsin state prisons and the minimum under
the indeterminate sentence law shall be one year,

and 3) a sentence of one year may be to either the

Wisconsin state prisons or the county jail. But in
any proper case sentence and commitment may
nevertheless be to the department or any house of
correction or other institution as provided by

law.
History: 1973¢.90

973.03 Jall sentence. (1) If at the time of
passing sentence upon a defendant who is to-be
imprisoned in a county jail, there is no jail in the
county sujtable for said defendant, the court may
sentence him to any suitable county jail in-the
state. The expenses of supporting him there shall
be borne by the county-in which the crime was
committed. - :

(2) A defendant sentenced to the Wisconsin
state prisons and to a county jail or house of
correction for separate crimes shall serve all
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sentences whether concurrent or consecutive in

thestate prisons.
History: 1971 ¢. 298

973.04 Credit for Imprisonment under
earlier sentence for the same crime.
When a sentence is vacated and a new sentence is
imposed upon the defendant for the same crime,
the department shall credit the defendant with

confinement theretofore served and good time, if

any, earned by the defendant pursuant to ss.
53.11 and 53.12 while so confined.

- 973.05 Fines. (1) When a defendant is
sentenced to pay a fine, the court may grant
permission for the payment to be made within a
period not to exceed 60 days. If no such
permission is embodied in the sentence, the fine
shall'be payable forthwith g

(2) When a defendant is sentenced to pay a
fine and is also placed on probation, the court

may make the payment of the fine a condition of

probation.
Sce.note 1o Art. 1, sec 8, «citing State ex rel Pedersenv
Blessinger, 56W(2d)286 201 NW(2d) 778

973.06 Costs. (1) The costs taxable agamst
the defendant shall consist of the following items
and noothers: ' »

(a) The necessary disbursements and fees of'
officers allowed by law and incurred
connection.with the arrest, prellmmary exami-
nation and trial of the defendant, iricluding, in
the discretion of the court, the fees and
disbursements of thé agent appointed to retux na
defendant from another'state or country.

(b) Fees and travel allowarice of witnesses for
the state at the prehmmary examination and the
trial.

(c) Fees and disbursements allowed by the
court to expert witnesses. Sectlon 271. 04 (2)
shall notapply in Criminal cases.

(d) Feesand travel allowance of witnesses for
the defense incurred by the county at the request
.of the defendant, at the preliminary hearing and
the trial.

(e) Attorney fees payable to the defense
attorney by the county.

(2) The court may remit the taxable costs in

whole or in part. .
" Right to.counscl; rcpdymcnt of cost of court- -appointed
counscl asa condmon of probanon 56 MLR 55]

973.07 “Fallure to pay fine or costs. When a
fine’or the costs aré not paid as required by the
sentence, the defendant may be committed to the
county jail until the fine and costs are paid or
discharged for a period fixed by the court not to

exceed -6 months. -
. Sce note to Art. I, sec: 8, citing State ex rel-- Pedersen v,
Blessinger, 56.-W (2d) 286,201 NW (2d) 778.
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973.08 Records accompanying prisoner.
When any defendant is sentenced to the
Wisconsin state prisons, a copy of the judgment
of conviction shall be delivered by the officer
executing the judgment to the warden or
superintendent of the institution when the
prisoner is delivered. The transcript: of the
testimony and proceedings shall be filed
pursuant to s. 256.57 (2) within 120 days from
the date sentence is imposed unless the period is

extended by the court.
- History: 1971 ¢.2985.26 (1).

973.09 Probation. (1) When a person is
convicted of a crime, the court may, by order,
withhold sentence or impose sentence and stay
its execution, and in either case place him on
probation to the department for a stated period,

statmg in the order the reasons therefor, and may
impose any conditions which appear to be
reasonable and appropriate. The period of
probation may be rhade consecutive to a sentence
on a different charge, whether imposed at the
same time or prev1ously ‘

(2) The original term of probatlon shall be:

(a) For misdemeanors, not less than 6
months, nor more than?2 years;

(b) For felonies, not. less than one year nor
more than either the statutory maximum term of
1mpnsonment for the crime or 3 years whichever
is greater, .

" (8) Prior to the explratxon of any probation
period, the court may for cause by order extend

1 xobatlon for a stated period or modxfy the ter ms

and conditions thereof. _

(4) The court may also requlre as a condition
of probatlon that the probauoner be confined in
the county jail between the hours or periods of his
employment during such portion of his term of

\probatlon as the court spec;f” ies, but not to exceed
orie 3 year and the court shall require him to pay

the costs as. provided in s. 56.08 (4). While
confined pursuant to this subsection he.shall be
subject to all the rules of the jail and the
d1s01plme of the sheriff.

- {(5) When the probatxoner has satxsﬁed the
condmons of "his probation, he shall .
dischar ged and the department shall issue h1m a
certificate of final discharge, a copy of which

shall be flled with the clerk.

History: 1971.c. 298

See note to 343 44, citing State'v. Duffy 54 W (2d) 61,
194 NW (2d) 624.
~ ABA Standard 13 adopted as to the criteria for
granung probatxon ‘Bastian v State, 54 W (2d) 240, 194
NW (2d) 6

See note to Art I, sec 8, cmngSlatcv Gerard STW (2d)
611, 205NW(2d)37

973 10 Control and: supervusnon of proba-
tioners. (1) A sentence of probation shall have
theeffectof plaemg the defendant in the custody
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of the department and shall subject him to the
control of the department under conditions set by
the court and rules and regulations established
by the department for the supervision of
probationers and parolees.

(2) If a probationer violates the conditions of
his probation, the department may order him
brought before the court for sentence which shall
then be imposed without further stay or if he has
already been sentenced, may order him to prison;
and the term of the sentence shall begin on the
date he enters the prison. A copy of the order of
the department shall be sufficient authority for
the officer executing it to take the probationer to
court or to prison. The officer shall execute such
order as a warrant for arrest but any officer may,
without order or warrant, take the probationer
into custody whenever necessary in order to
prevent escape or enforce discipline or for
violation of probation. ’

(3) Thedepartment may upon request of any
court having jurisdiction under s. 973.11 receive
for supervision.outside of any county to which s

973.11 is applicable, probationers convicted in

such county and shall have the same custody and
control of" the persons as it has over other
probationers in custody of the department.

History: 1971 ¢ 298

Defendant. cannot claim that his probation was not

validly révoked for escaping from county jail while awaiting
trial on another offensc - because "he was subsequently
acquitted of that offense. Motions for reconsideration of
“probation revocation orders must be made within 90 days
Dobs v State, 47 W (2d) 20, 176 NW (2d) 289.
" Before probation-can be revoked the department must
hold  a- hearing and make a record so that on judicial review
it can - be - determined - whether the ~department acted
arbitrarily or capriciously. The hearing need not be formal.
State ex rel Johnson v Cady, 50 W (2d) 540, 185 NW
(2d) 306

Revocation of probation is an integral part of the
sentencing  process; hence a defendant is entitled to
assistance of counsel at parole or probation revocation
hearings without regard to whether the hearing occurs in a
sentence withheld or a postsentence situation Oestrich v
State, 55 W (2d) 222, 198 NW (2d) 664

Since probation” revocation hearings are independent
from the original .conviction and - sentencing, a judge
disqualified in the original case may preside at the hearing
in the abscence of challenge State v. Fuller,'S7 W (2d) 408,
204 NW (2d) 452

Witnesses at a probation revocation hearing need not be
sworn State v. Gerard, 57 W (2d) 611, 205 NW (2d) 374

Sce note to Art 1, sec 8, citing Hahn v. Burke, 430 F
(2d) 100. :

A ‘probation rcvocation hearing may be administrative.
Retained - or appointed counsel - must  be - allowed to
participate. Gunsolus v Gagnon, 454 F (2d) 416.

Probation .revocation; right to a hearing and to counsel
1971 WLR 648 :

973.11 Probation In populous countles.
(1) This section applies only to counties having a
population of more than 500,000.

(2) The probation department of the criminal
branches of the circuit court and the misdemea-
nor and traffic branches of the county court,
respectively, shall have custody of persons on
probation from each court.

SENTENCING 973.12

(3) All courts in the county shall have all the

‘powers contained in ss. 973.09 and 973.10 with

respect to the imposition of probation and its
terms and conditions. Wherever in those sections
the term department is used it refers to the
probation department established pursuant to
this section.

(4) The senior judge of the criminal branches
of the circuit court shall appoint a chief
probation officer. Such judge may appoint
additional probation officers who shall be
subordinate to the chief. He may also appoint a
deputy chief probation officer to perform the
duties of the chief during his absence or inability

‘to perform them. Except as otherwise provided,

probation officers shall have power to arrest and
shall execute the orders of the courts affecting
their probationers.

(5) Probation violators whether sentenced or
not, shall be taken before the court for a hearing.

(6) Probation officers shall receive the
salaries and necessary expenses as determined by
the county board. The county board shall provide
quarters and supplies for the adequate adminis-
tration of probation under this section

“(7) Municipal and district court probation

officers having civil service status in such
counties on December 31, 1961, shall continue in
such status for the criminal branches of the
circuit “court and the misdemeanor traffic
branches .of the county court on.and after
January1,1962. v

(8) This section applies only to persons
placed on probation by the criminal branches of
the circuit court prior to January 1, 1972, and to
persons placed on probation by the misdemeanor
and traffic branches of the county court prior to
September 1, 1972. Persons placed on probation
by the criminal branches of the circuit court on
and after January 1, 1972, and persons placed on
probation by the misdemeanor and traffic
branches of the county court on and after
September 1, 1972, shall be placed in the control
and under supervision of the department of
health and social services pursuant to ss. 973.09
and 973.10. Effective January 1, 1974, all other
probation cases still supervised under this section
shall likewise be placed under the control of the
department of health and social services.

History: 1971 ¢. 125
See notetosec. 1,art. I, citing Stateexrel. Johnsonv Cady,
50 W (2d) 540, 185 NW (2d) 306

973.12 Sentence of a repeater. (1)
Whenever a person charged with a crime will be
a repeater as defined in s. 939.62 if convicted,
any prior convictions may be alleged in the
complaint, indictment or information or amend-
ments so alleging at any time before or at
arraignment, and before acceptance of any plea.
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The court may, upon motion of the district
attorney, grant a reasonable time to investigate
possible prior convictions before accepting a
plea. If such prior convictions are admitted by
the defendant or proved by the state, he shall be
subject to sentence under s. 939.62 unless he
establishes that he was pardoned on grounds of
innocence for any crime necessary to constitute
him a repeater. An official report of the F.B.1. or
any other governmental agency of the United
States or of this or any other state shall be prima
facie evidence of any conviction or sentence
therein reported. Any sentence so reported shall
be-deemed prima facie to have been fully served
in actual confinement or to have been served for
such period of time as is shown or is consistent
with the report. The court shall take judicial
notice of the statutes of the United States and
foreign states in determining whether the prior
conviction was for a felony or a misdemeanor.

. (2) Inevery.case of sentence under s. 939.62,
the sentence shall be imposed for the present
conviction, but if the court indicates in passing
sentence how much thereof is imposed because
the defendant is a repeater, it shall not constitute
reversible error, but the combined terms shall be
construed as a single sentence for the present
cor;vxcpon

973.13 Excessive sentence, errors cured.
In any case where the court imposes a maximum
penalty in excess of that authorized by law, such
excess shall be void and the sentence shall be
valid only to the extent of the maximum term
‘authorized by statute and shall stand commuted
without further proceedings. .

973.14 = Sentence to house of correction.

(1) In addition to the authority in ss. 53.18 and
56.18, prisoners sentenced to a county jail may

“be transferred by the'sheriff to the house of

correction without court approval except that
prisoners to whom the privileges of s. 56.08 have
been- granted may not be transferred without
courtapproval

{2) . Prisoners confmed in the house of
correction may be transferred by ‘the superin-
tendent of thé house of correction to the county
jail withéiit court approval.

(3)- A prisoner.sentenced to:a county jall or
the house of correction being held in a county jail
awaiting trial on another charge shall be deemed
to be serving such county ‘jail or hoeuse of

“correction sentence and shall be given credit on
such sentence as providedins. 53.430r 56.19.

’973.15 Sentence, terms, escapes. (1) All
sentences to the Wisconsin state prisons shall be
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for one year or more. Except as otherwise
provided in this section, all sentences commence
at noon on the day of sentence, but time which
elapses after sentence while the defendant is in
the county jail or is at large on bail shall not be
computed as any part of his term of imprison-
ment. The court may impose as many sentences
as there are convictions and may provide that
any such sentence be concurrent or that it shall
commence at the expiration of any other
sentence; and if the defendant is then serving a
sentence, the present sentence may provide that
it shall commence at the expiration of the
previous sentence. If a convict escapes, the time
during which he is unlawfully absent from the
prison after such escape shall not be computed as
part of his term. Courts may impose sentences to
be served in whole or in part concurrently with a
sentence being served in a federal mstltutlon or
aninstitution of another state.

(2) When a court orders a sentence to the
Wisconsin state prisons to be served in whole or
in part concurrently with a sentence being served
in a federal institution or an institution of

‘another state, the trial and commitment records

required under s. 973.08 shall' be delivered
immediately to the warden or superintendent of
the Wisconsin institution desxgnated as the

_reception center toreceive the prisoner when he
~becomes available to Wisconsin authorities.

(3) Sections 53.11 and 57.06 are applicable
to an inmate serving a sentence to the Wisconsin
state prisons but confined in a federal institution
or an institution inanother state. Section 53.12
applies only during that portion of the sentence
served in actual residence in a Wisconsin
institution.

History: 1973¢.90

973.16 Time out. If an order or judgment
releasing a prisoner on habeas corpus is reversed,
the time . during which he was at liberty
thereunder shall not be counted as part of his

term.

973.17 Judgment against a corporation.
(1).If a corporation fails to.appear within the
time required by the summons,-the default of
such corporation may be recorded and the
charge against it taken as true, and judgment
shall be rendered accordingly -

(2) Upon default of the defendant corpora-
tion or upon conviction, judgment for the
amount of the fine shall be entered.

3) A judgment against a cor poration shall
be collected in the same -manner as in -civil
actions.
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