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" GENERAL PROVISIONS,

345, 01 Words and phrases defined. Words
‘and phrases defined in s. 340.01 are used in the
same sense in -this chapter unless a chfferent
‘ defimtlon is spec1ﬁcally provided.

CIVIL LIABILITY

'345.05 State and municipal Habllity for
motor vehicle accldents. (1) In this section
the following terms have the designated mean-
ings:

(a) “Municipality” means any county, city,
village, town, school district (as enumerated ins.
67.01 (1)), sewer district, drainage district and,
without restriction because of failure of enumer-
ation, any other political subdivision of the state.

(b) “Governing body” means the state
legislature with reference to the state, the county
board with reference to counties, the town board
with reference to towns, the legislative body of a
city or village with reference to cities and villages
and the board of any district, center or other
municipality with reference to other municipal-
itiesenumerated in par. (a).

(c) “Business” means any business whether
governmental or proprietary.

(2). Any of the following may file a claim for
damages against the state or municipality

concerned and the governing body thereof may

“allow, compromise, settle and pay thesame:

“(a) A person suffenng any damage’ p10x1-

; mately resulting from the negligent operation of

a motor vehicle owned and operated by the state
or a municipality, which damage was occasmned

by the operation of such motor vehicle in 'the

course of its business. For the purposés of this
subsection, a motor vehicle shall be deemeéd
owned and operated by the state or 4 municipal-
ity if such vehicle is either being rented or leased,
or is being purchased under a contract whereby
the state or municipality will acquire title.

(b) A person suffering any damage proxi-
mately resulting from the negligent operation of
a motor vehicle owned or operated by the state
through the agency of the Wisconsin national
guard, the Wisconsin air national guard or the
members or employes thereof when on state duty
and whether paid from state or federal funds and
which damage was occasioned by the operation
of such motor vehicle in the performance of its
business.

(3) Themanner and form of and the place for
filing claims shall be:

(a) If against the state, as provided ins. 16.53
(8), with the department of administration.

(b) If against any county, as provided in ss.
59.76 and 59.77 (1), with the county clerk.




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

3495

(¢) If against any city, as provided in s. 62:25,
with the city clerk.

(d) If against any village, as prov1ded in s.
61.51, withthevillage clerk.

(e) If against any town, as provided in's.
60.36, with the town clerk.

(f) If against any school district, as prov1ded
1ns 118.26.

~(g) If against any other mumc1pah_ty; the
claim shall be filed with the person who performs
the duties of a clerk or secretary and shall state
the time and place of the accident and an
itemized statement of the damages sought.

{4) Failure of the governing body to-pass
upon the claim within 90 days after preserntation
constitutes a disallowance. Disallowance by the
governing body bars any action founded on the
claim unless brought within 6 months after
disallowance. Actions against the state and
payment of the amount recovered shall be as
provided in ss. 28501 and 285.04. For the
purposes of this section, judgments against
municipalities shall be certified, filed and
collected as provided in s. 66.09 whether named
thereinor not.

(5) If the allowance of claim is by or the
judgment is against any municipality lying in
more than one town, city, village or county, the
governing body of the debtor municipality shall
prorate the amount of the claim allowed or the
judgment and so certify to the proper officials for
tax levy, so that the taxable property of the
debtor municipality will equitably bear the
amountjof'thc claimor judgment. .

(6) This section does not create any liability
against a county for any act of the sheriff where
such liability is prohibited by Article VI, section

4, Wisconsin constitution.
History: 1975¢.200. :

345.06 Owner’s llabllity for act of oper-
ator. The owners of every vehicle operating upon
any highway for the conveyance of passengers
for hire are jointly and severally liable to the
partyinjured for all injuriés and damage done by
any person in the employment of such owners as
an -operator, while -operating - such vehicle,
whether the act occasioning such injuries ‘or
damage was intentional, negligent or otherwise,
in the same manner as such-operator would be
liable.

345.07 Civil actions by administrator. In
addition toall existing remedies afforded by civil
and criminal law, the administrator is author-
ized-to bring civil actions for the recovery of all
fees, taxes, interest and penalties to which the
state may beentitled by reason of the operation
by-any person of a motor: vehxcle ‘upon the
highways of this state.
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345.08 Sult to recover protested tax or

fee. No suit shall be maintained in any court to
restrain or delay the collection or payment of the
taxeslevied or the feesimposed or enacted in chs.

341 to 349. The aggrieved taxpayer shall pay the
tax or fee as and when due and, if paid under

protest, may at any time within 90 days from the
date of such payment sue the state in an action at
law to recover the tax or fee so paid. If it is ﬁnally
determined that such tax-or fee or any part

thereof was wrongfully collected for any reason,

the department of administration shall issue a
warrant on the state treasurer for the amount of
such tax or fee so adjudged to have been
wrongfully collected and the state treasurer shall
pay the sameout of the highway fund. A separate
suit need not be filed for each separate payment
made by any taxpayer, but a recovery may be
had in one suit for as many payments as were
made within the 90-day. period preceding the
commencement of the action. Such suits shall be
commenced asprovidedins. 285.01.

345.09 Servlce of process on nonresl-
dent. (1) The use and operation of a motor
vehicle over the highways of this state by a
nonresident is deemed an irrevocable appoint-
ment by such nonresident of the administrator of
the division of motor vehicles to be his true and
lawful attorney upon whom may be served all
legal processes in any- action. or proceeding
against him or his executor, administrator or
personal representative, growing out of the use or
operation of the motor. vehicle in this state and
resulting in damage or loss to person or property,
whether the damage or loss occurs on a highway
or on abutting public or private property. Such
appointment is binding upon the nonresident’s
executor, administrator or personal representa-
tive. Such use or operation of a motor vehicle by
such nonresident ‘is a signification of - his
agreement that any such process or notice
against him or his executor, administrator or
personal representative which is so served shall
be of the same legal force and validity as if served
on him personally, or.on his executor, .adminis-
trator or personal Iepresentatlve

(2) The admmlstrator as attorney - upon
whom processes and notices may be served under
this section shall, upon being served with such
process or notice, forthwith mail by registered
mail a copy thereof to such nonresident at the
out-of-state nonresident address given in the
papers so served. It is the duty of the party or his
attorney tocertify in the papers soserved that the
address given therein is the last known out-of-
state nonresident ‘address of the ‘party to be
served. In all cases of service under this section
there shall beserved the original, one copy for the
administrator’s record of service and such
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additional number of copies as there are
defendants so served in the action. The original
shail .be returned with proper certificate of
service. attached for filing.in court as proof of
service of the copies by having mailed them by
reglstered mail to the defendants named therein.
The service fee shall be $4 for each defendant so
served. The administrator shall keep arecord of
all'such processes and notlces, whlch record shall
show the day and hour of service.

(3) . This section applies to a nonresident
‘defendant who was a resident of this state at the
time of the accident or occurrence which gave
rise tothe cause of actionsued on.

% See note to 801.03, citing Chilcote v. Shertzer, 372 F Supp.

" ARRESTS, BAIL, PENALTIES. .

345.11 Uniform traffic citation and com-
piaint. (1) On and after July 1, 1969 the
uniform traffic citation created by this section
shall in the case of moving traffic violations and
may in the case of parking violations be used by
all law enforcement agencies in this state which
are authorized to enforce the state traffic laws
and any local traffic laws enacted by any local
authority in accordance with s. 349.06.

(1m) The uniform traffic citation shall be
used for violations of ch. 350 relating to highway
use or ordinances in conformity therewith when
committed on the highway, but no points shall be
assessed ‘against ‘the driving record of the
operator of a snowmobile. The- report of
conviction and abstract of court record copy
shall be forwarded ‘to the division of motor
vehicles. -

(2) The umform traffic citation and com-
plaint shall be on a form prescribed by the
committee created by sub. (3) and shall consist
of 4 parts: a complaint, a report of conviction and
abstract of court record for the department, a
police record and report of action on the case and
a traffic citation and stipulation of guilt. The
form’ shall provxde for the name, address, birth
date, operator’s license number of the alleged
violator if known, the license mimber of the
vehicle, the offense alleged; the time and place of
the. offense, the section of the statute or
ordinance violated, a designation of the offense
in such manner as can be readily understood by a
person making a reasonable effort to do so, and
such other information as may be pertinent to the
offense

(3) The administrator shall appomt a
committee fo prescribe the form of the uniform
traffic citation and complamt The committee
shall be composed as shown in pars. (a) to (i),
but if any appointment is not made by March 1,
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1968, the- administrator shall designate the
appointee from the proper category. .

(2) Theadministrator, himselfaschairman.

(b) A member of the enforcement bureau of
the division of motor vehicles. :

(¢) A member of the-Wisconsin sheriffs and
deputy sheriffs association, designated by the
president thereof.

(d):A member of the county traffic patrol

‘as‘sociation, designated by the president thereof.

(e). A member of the chiefs of police
association, designated by the president thereof.

(f) A member of the state bar of Wisconsin,
designated bythe president thereof.

(g) A member of the Wisconsin council of
safety, designated by the president thereof. .

(h) A member of the Wisconsin district
attorneys’ association, designated by the presi-
dent thereof.

(i)A member of the Wisconsin traffic judges
association, designated by the president thereof.

_'(4) The committee shall meet at the call of
the chairman. Members of the committee shall

receive no.compensation for their services and

shall not be reimbursed for their expenses. Upon
approval of a form for the uniform traffic
citation and complaint by the committee, the .
administrator shall under s. 110.06 promulgate
such form as an administrative rule, and with the
approval of the committee shall make such other
rules as are necessary for the implementation
and operation of this section.

- (5) Notwithstanding any other provision of
the statutes, the use .of the uniform traffic
citation and complaint promulgated under sub.
(4) by any peace officer in connection with the
enforcement of any state traffic lawsor any local
traffic ordinances in strict conformity with the
state traffic- laws, shall be deemed adequate
process to give the appropriate court jurisdiction
over the person upon the filing with such court of
the uniform traffic complaint.

(6) The administrator shall cause to be
pr inted and sold to all law enforcement agencies
in this state with authority to enforce state traffic
laws or local laws adopted under authority of s.
349.06 serially numbered uniform traffic cita-
tionsand complamts ‘

(7) Each law enforcement agency issuing
uniform traffic citations and complaints shall be
responsible for the disposition of all such forms
issued under its authority, and such law
enforcement agencies shall prepare and submit
such records and reports relating to the uniform
traffic citations and complaints in the manner
and at the time prescribed by the administrator.

- (8) Any person who, with criminal intent,
solicits or aids in the disposition or-attempted
disposition. of a uniform traffic citation and
complaint in any unauthorized manner shall be
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in criminal contempt of the court having orlgmal

jurisdiction of said cause of action.
History: 1971¢. 164's.81;1971¢.277;1973¢. 218; 1975 ¢
41.

In general sheriff, trafﬁc officer or policeman who issués a
uniforin traffic citation where no warrant has been issued is not
entitled to service or mlleage fees for delivering citation. 63
Atty Gen 99.

34517 Penalty for false statements. Any
person making a false statement to the division of
motor vehicles or administrator of said division
of motor vehicles on which such division or the
administrator relies in performing an act, issuing
a duphcate title, license or oper: ating privilege, or
administering any law which the division or
administrator is required by law to administer or
perform, shall, on the first offense be required to
forfeit not less than $25 nor more than $100; and,
on the 2nd and each subsequent offense not less
than $100 nor more than $500.
Hlstory 19730 218

345 i8 Sentenclng of juvenlies. A person
under the age of 18 years shall be present at the
imposition of sentence in cases for violation of
chs. 341 to 348 .or ordinances enacted in
conformity therewith under ch. 349. This section
does not apply to parking violations or to cases
where a stipulation of guilt or nolo contendere
has been accepted for a violation of a local
ordinance. A court may waive the requirement of
personal-appearance under this section in cases
of exceptlonal hardship.

345.20  General provisions In traffic for-
felture actions. (1) DerINITIONS: In s5. 345.20
t0345.53: ‘

" -(a) “Traffic regulation” means a provision of
chs. 341to 349:for which the penalty forviolation
is  a . forfeiture, or' an ordinance enactcd in
accordance with's. 349:06.

(b) “Judge” has the meaning spe01f1ed in's.
967.02(6).

“ (2) ‘PROCEDURE. The apprehension of al
leged violators of traffic regulations and the trial
of forfeiture actions for the violation of traffic
regulations shall be governed by ss. 345.21 to
345.53. Where no specific procedure is provided

inss. 345.21t0345.53,ch. 299 shall apply.

Hlstory 1971¢.278.
Wisconsin’s uniform traffic court procedure Hough 1972
WBBNo. 4.

345.21 - Authority to arrest with a warrant.
(1) A-person may be arrested for the violation of
a* traffic regulation with “a . warrant that
substantially complies with ch; 968. Except as
provided in sub. (2), the person arrested shall be
brought without unreasonable delay before a
court having’ ]urlsdlctlon 1o try the action or a
judge:

CIVIL AND CRIMINAL LIABILITY 345.24

(2) In traffic regulatlon actions, the judge or
municipal justice who issues a warrant under
sub. (1) may indorse upon the warrant the
amount of the deposit. If no indorsement is made
the deposit schedule under s. 345.26 (2) shall
apply unless the court directs that the person be

brought before the court.
History: 1971¢.278;1973¢.218

345.22 Authority to arrest without a war-
rant. A: person may be arrested without a
warrant for the violation of a traffic regulation if
the traffic officer has reasonable grounds -to
believe that the person is v1olat1ng or.hasviolated

atrafficregulation.
. History:1971¢.278. :
See note t0 968.07, cxtmg()l Atty Gen. 419,

345.23 Officer’s action after arrest ‘with-
out a warrant. If a person is arrested without a
warrant for the violation of a traffic regulation,
the arresting officer shall issue a citation unders.
345.25, and inaddition:

(1) Mayrelease him;or

{2) Shallrelease him when he:

“(a) Makesa deposit under's. 345.26; or

(b) Makes a stipulation of no contest and
deposit unders. 345.27; or

(¢) Deposits his valid Wisconsin operator’s
license as defined in s. 343.01 (2) (b) with the
officer. The license deposited shall be the license
under which he was ‘operating at the time of
arrest, If the license is deposited with the officer,
the officer shall issue to the licensee a receipt
which shall be valid as a driver’s license through
the date specified ‘on the receipt, which shall be
the same as the court appearance date, and the
officer shall, at the earliest possible time prior to
the court appearance date, deposit the license
with the court. :

(d) Presents a guaranteed arrest  bond
certificate unders. 345.61.

(3) Shall, if the alleged violator is not
released under sub. (1) or (2), bring him
without unreasonable delay before a judge or, for
ordmance v1olat10ns, ‘before a mumc1pa1 justice
in the county in which the violation was alleged

to have been committed.
Hlstmy 1971¢.278;1973¢.218.

345.24 Officer’s action after arrest for
driving under Influence of Intoxicant. A
person arrested under s. 346.63 or an ordiniance
lawfuily enacted 'in conformity therewith for
operating a ‘motor vehicle while under the
influence of ‘an intoxicant may not be released
until 4 hours have elapsed from the time of his
arrest or unless a chemical test administered
under's. 343.305 shows that there is .05 % or less
by weight ‘of alcohol in such' person’s blood, but
such person may be released to his attorney,
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spouse, relative or other responsible adult at any
time after arrest.
History: 1971 <. 278.

345.25 Traffic citation. (1) Traffic citations
issued under ss. 345.20 to 345.53 shall conform
10s.345.11.

(2) In addition to the requnements under
sub. (1), citations may inform the alleged
violator.that in lieu of a court appearance he
may,. within ‘a -specified time, make a deposit
‘under s. 345.26 or stipulate no contest under s.
345.27. If the citation provides for mailing the
deposit, it shall state the amount of the deposit,
shall contain the information required under s.
343.27 and shall provide that the alleged violator
shall sign a statement before mailing to the effect
that he has read such information and mail the
statemient w1th ‘the deposit. If the citation does
not “contain the information specified in this
subsection, siich mformatlon shall be given to the
alleged violator in a separate printed statement
attached to the violator’s copy of the citation.

(3) The receipt required by s. 345.23 (2) (¢)

may be part of the citation or may be given to the -

alleged violator on a separate form.
History: 1971 ¢.278.

345.255 Deposli after release. A person
arrested under s. 345.22 for the violation of a
traffic regulation who is released under s. 345.23
(1) shall'be permitted to make a deposit any
time prior to the court appearance date. The
deposit shail be made in personor by malllng itto
the clerk of the court of the county in which the
alleged violation occurred.
Hlstory 1973c 218

345.26 Deposlt (1) (a) A person arrested
under s. 345.22 for the violation of a traffic
regulation who is allowed to make a deposnt
under:s. 345.23 (2) (a) shall deposit the money
as the arrestlng officer directs by either mailing
the‘deposit at'a nearby mailbox to the office of
the sheriff, headquarters of the county traffic
patrol, district headquarters or station of the
state traffic patrol, city, village or town police
headquarters or a precinct station, the office of
the municipal justice the office of the clerk of
court, or by going, in the custody of the arresting
ofﬁcer, to_any of those places. to make the
deposit.. Before allowmg the arrested petson to
make the dep031t the arresting officer or the
person receiving the deposn shall comply withs.
343.27 or, if the deposit is mailed, the signed

§tatement required under s..343.27 shall be -

malled withit.

(b) The arresting. officer or the person
recelvmg the deposn shall notify the arrested
person, orally or in writing, that

3498

1. Ifhe failstoappear in court at the time fixed
in the citation, he will. be deemed to have
tendered a plea of no contest and submitted to a
forfeiture plus costs not to exceed the amount of
the deposit which the court may accept as
providedins. 345.37;0r :

2. If he fails to appear in court at the time fixed
in the citation and if the court does not accept the
deposit as a forfeiture for the violation, he will be
summoned into court to answer the complaint.

(2) (2) The basic amount of the deposit for
the alleged violation of a traffic regulation shall
be determined in accordance with a deposit
schedule which the board of county judges shall
establish. Annually, the board shall review and
may revise the scheduie,

(b) In.addition to the amount in pat (a) the
deposit shall include court costs and suit tax if
applicable.

(3) (a) The arrestmg officer or the person
accepting the deposit may allow the alleged
violator to submit a check for the amount of the
deposit, and such check shall be considered a
receiptin lieu of par. (b).

(b) The person receiving the deposit shall
furnish a receipt on a serially numbered form,
and ‘shall deliver the original receipt to the
alleged violator if requested, and shall state to
the alleged violator -that he may inquire at the
office of the clerk of court or justice regarding
the disposition - of the deposit. The receipt
referred to in this subsection may be included as
part of the uniform citation unders. 345.25.

{4) If the alleged violator is in custody, he
shall be released after he-has made the depos1t
specified in this section.

(5) Any person, other than the clerk of court
or the .municipal . justice before  whom the
defendant is directed to appear, who accepts the
deposit shall, before the. time: fixed - for: the
appearance of the defendant, deliver the deposit
and a copy of the receipt and of the citation
issued to the defendant to the clerk of the court or
the -municipal justice. The clerk or municipal
justice shall give a receipt therefor, spec1fy1ng
the serial number of the receipt accompanying
the deposit. ,

History: 1971 ¢ 278; 1973 ¢ 218,228,336,

Judges may not reduce the amounts of the deposit schedule
established under (2) (a). 61 Atty. Gen. 401

345.27 Stipulation of no contest. (1) If a
person is issued a citation for-a violation of a
traffic regulation, he may make.a stipulation of
no contest and deposit-in accordance with the
schedule established under s. 345.26 (2) (a) at
the office of the clerk of court, sheriff; or city;
village -or town police department or a precinct
station;: headquarters of - the . county.. traffic
patrol, district headquarters or station of the
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state traffic patrol, or the office of the municipal
justice in the county in which the citation was
issued as designated by the arresting officer or he
may mail the stipulation and deposit to the place
designated by the arresting officer. The deposit
shall _include - court costs and suit tax if
applicable. The stipulation shall be- received
within .10 days of the date of the alleged
violation. The person who has mailed or filed a
stipulation under this subsection may, however,
appear in.court on the court appearance date. If a
person appears in court after - making a
stipulation, s. 345.37 (3) applies. Stipulations
are not permitted for violations of ss. 346.62 (1)
and 346.63.(1) or a local ordinance which is in
conformity therewith.

{2) If a person is cited for a violation for
which a stipulation is authorized and makes a
timely stipulation and pays the requn ed deposit,
the person need not appear in court. Before
allowing the arrested person to make a
stipulation and deposit the arresting officer or
the person receiving the stipulation and deposit
shall comply with s. 343.27 or, if the stipulafion
and deposit are mailed, the signed statement
required under s. 343.27 shall be mailed with it.
The official receiving the stipulation and deposit
shall - promptly transmit the stipulation and
deposit to the clerk of court or the municipal
justice having jurisdiction in the county. The
clerk of the court or the municipal justice having
jurisdiction in the county may receive: stipula-
tions according to this subsection and shall
receive all other stipulations made pursuant to
sub. (1) but the municipal justice shall process a
stipulation when a citation is issued within his
municipality: The clerk or municipal justice
shall, for all stipulations, record on the court
appearance date, a judgment of conviction and
enter deposits as fines-or forfeitures and shall
comply with ss. 343.28 and 345.37 (5). The
judge or'the court may relieve any person from a
stipulation or any ‘other order, judgment or
conviction entéred or made as provided in-s.
345.37 (3). '

Hlstory 1971c 278;1973¢.218.

345 28 Nonmovlng vlolatlons (1) A per-
son charged with a nonmoving traffic violation
may mail the amount of the forfeiture to any of
the places specified in s. 345.26 (1) or to.a
violations bureau, or to the city, town or county
clerk or treasurer if the .traffic citation so.
provides. In that case, the citation shall not be
filed in court.. A nonmoving traffic violation is
any parking of a'vehicle in violation of a statute
oranordinance. :

(2) If the alleged v1olator does not mail the
amount of the forfeiture as provided in sub. (1),
a summons_or warrant under ch. 968 may be

CIVIL AND CRIMINAL LIABILITY 345.32

issued for him. Upon his appearance, the
procedure under ss. 345.32 to 345.36 shallapply.
History: 1971 ¢.278.

345.30 Jurisdiction. Jurisdiction over ac-
tions for violation of ftraffic regulations is
conferred upon any court of record which has
criminal jurisdiction, but circuit courts shall not
have original jurisdiction over traffic regula-
tions. Municipal courts shall have jurisdiction
over traffic regulations enacted in accordance
withs. 349.06.
History: 1971¢.278.

345.31 Venue in traffic regulation actions.
Section 971.19 on: place of trial in criminal
actions applies to actions for the violation of
traffic regulations except that, in the case of a
violation of an ordinance of a municipality which
is located in more than one county, the action
may be brought in any court sitting in that
municipality even though in another county. As
an alternative, the plaintiff may bring the action
in the county where the defendant resides.
History: 1971 ¢. 278

345.315 Change of judge. (1) In traffic
regulation cases a person charged with a
violation may file  a written request for a
substitution of a new judge or justice for the
judge or justice assigned to the trial.of that case.
The written request shall be filed not later than 7
days after the return date of the citation. Upon
filing the written request, the alleged violator
shall forthwith serve a copy ther eof on each par ty
totheaction.

{2) Notmore than one judge or justice can be
dlsquahfled in any action. All defendants must.
join in any request to substltute a judge or
justice. C

(3) Inacourtof record in counties having 3 or
more county judges the clerk shall reassign any
case transferred by virtue of the substitution of a
judge as provided herein. The county board of
judges shall make rules for such-assignment. All
other cases shall be assigned as provided in s.
251.182. ' '

{4) In municipal court, upon receipt of the-
written request accompanied by a fee of $4, the
justice shall transfer the case to another justice
or to the county court of the county where the
offense occurred. Upon transfer, the justice shall
transmit to the appropriate court all the papers
in the action.and.the action shall proceed as if it
had been commenced therein.

History: 1971 ¢.278;1973¢.218.

345.32  Initial appearance before judge. If
a defendant is arrested and brought without
unreasonable delay. before a judge who, or a -
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court which, does not have jurisdiction to try the
case, he shall be committed to await trial in a
court with jurisdiction and all papers shall be
sent forthwith to that court. In lieu of
commitment, the judge may release the defend-
ant if he posts bond for his appearance in such
court, or the judge may release him on his own
recognizance for such appearance, or the judge
may release him without bail. The court to which
the case is sent may similarly release the

defendant.
History: 1971 ¢ 278.

345.34 Arraignment; pleas. (1) If the
defendant appears in response to a citation, or is
arrested and brought before a court with
jurisdiction totry the case, he shall be informed
that he is entitled to a jury trial and then asked
whether he wishes presently to plead, or whether
he wishes a continuance. If he wishes to plead, he
may plead guilty, not guilty or no contest.

(2) If he pleads guilty or no contest, the court
shall accept the plea, find him guilty and proceed
unders. 345.47.

(8) If a summons or cxtatlon is issued by a
police officer for a violation of any municipal
ordinance or of chs. 194 or 340 to 348 and 350,
the defendant may enter a plea of not guilty
based on such summons or citation by letter to
the judge or justice at the address indicated -on
the summons or citation, the letter to show the
defendant’s return address. Such letter may
include a request for trial during normal daytime
business hours. Upon receipt of the letter, the
judge or justice shall reply by mail to the
defendant’s address setting forth 4 time and
place for trial, such time to be during normal
business hours if requested by the defendant.
Thedate of the trial shall be at least 10 days from
the mailing by the judge or justice. Nothing in
this subsection forbids the setting of the trial at

any time convenient to all parties concerned.
History: 1971 ¢.278;1973¢ 218.
Courts may not dismiss traffic complaints on payment of
penalty and costs, or costs alone 63 Atty. Gen. 328

345.35 Not gullty plea; immediate trial.
(1) If the defendant pleads not guilty, the court
shall ascertain whether he wishes an immediate
trial or whether he wishes a continuance. The
plaintiff shall also be entitled toa continuance if
thedefendant pleads not guilty.

(2) If the defendant pleads not guilty and
states that he waives the right to jury trial and
that he wishes an immediate trial, the case may

be tried forthwith if the plaintiff consents.
History: 1971 ¢.278.

345.36  Not gulity plea; continuance. If the
defendant pleads not -guilty and. requests a
continuance the court shall set a date for trial or
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advise the defendant that he will later be notified
of the date set for trial. The defendant shall be
released if he posts a bond for hisappearance, or
the court may release him on his own
recognizance, or the court may release him’
without bail; if he is not so released he shall be
committed to jail to await trial. If a defendant
fails to appear at the date set under this section,
the court shallissue a warrant under ch. 968 and,
if the alleged violator has posted bond for his
appearance at that date, the court may order the
bond forfeited.
History: 1971¢ 278

345.37 Procedure on default of ap-
pearance. If the defendant fails to appear in
court at the time fixed in the citation or by
subsequent postponement, the following proce-
dure shall apply:

(1) If he has not made a deposit under s.
34526 or a stipulation of no contest under s.
345.27, the court may issue a warrant under ch.
968:

(2) If the defendant has made a deposit under
s. 345.26, the citation may serve as the initial
pleading and the defendant shall be deemed to
have tendered a plea of no contest and submitted
to a forfeiture plus costs and-the applicable suit
tax; not exceeding the amount of the deposit. The
court may either accept the plea of no contest
and enter judgment accordingly, or reject the
plea and issue a summons under ch. 968. If the
defendant fails to appear in response to the
summons, the court shall issue a warrant under
ch, 968, If the court accepts the plea of no
contest, the defendant may move within 6
months after the date set for the appearance to
withdraw the plea of no contest, open the

judgment and enter a plea of not guilty upon a

showing to the satisfaction of the court that the
failure to appear was due to mistake, in-
advertence, surprise or excusable neglect. If on
reopening, the defendant is found not guilty the
court shall immediately notify the division to
delete the record of conviction based on ‘the
original proceeding and shall order the defend-
ant’s deposit returned.

(3) If the defendant has stipulated no contest
unders. 345.27, the court, judge or justice having
trial jurisdiction of such violation may, on
motion with or without notice, for cause shown
by affidavit and upon just terms, within 10 days
after such stipulation has been entered into,
relieve any party from such stipulation and the
effects thereof. If a party is relieved from the plea
of no contest, the court, judge or justice may
order the stipulation or a written complaint to be
filed and set the matter for trial. After trial the
costs and fees shall be taxed as provided by law,




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

3501

.. (4) If aviolator’s deposit is forfeited for, or if
analleged violator stipulates to entry of, a plea of
no contest to -any .violation . for which his
operator’s record will be charged with demerit
points asestablished by rule under s. 343.32 (2),
the official accepting the forfelture shall comply
withs.343.27(3). -

(5) Within 5 working days aftet forfeiture of
deposit or entry of default judgment, the official
receiving the forféiture shall forward to- the
division a certification of the entry of default
judgment or a judgment of forfeiture.

.-(6) Any person who fails to comply with this
section relative to forwarding records of convic-
tions to the'division may be fined not more than
$100.

(7) If a defendant who has not made a cash
deposit or stipulation of no contest and who has
deposited his valid Wisconsin’s: chauffeur’s or
operator’s license under s. 345.23 (2) (c) fails to
appear in courtat the time fixed in the citation or
by subsequent postponement, the court shall
order his license suspended for a period of 30
days or until the case is disposed of, whichever is
longer. Within 48 hours after the order of
suspension, notice of the suspension shall- be
forwarded to the division but the court shall
retain possession of the suspended license. The
court may enter an order vacating the suspension
if the defendant so moves within 10 days after the
date set for his appearance and proves to the
satisfaction of the court that his failure to appear
was due to mistake, madvertence, surprise. or.
excusable neglect. If no order has been entered
vacating the suspension the court shall forthwith
forward the license to the administrator. If the
court enters an order vacating the suspension or
if the disposition of the case requires termination
of the suspension the court shall immediately
notify the administrator. Suspension under this
subsection shall not affect the power of the court
to suspend or revoke unders. 343.30 or the power
of the administrator to suspend or revoke under

$.343.32. -
History: 1971 . 278; 1973¢ 218; 1975 ¢.231,421.

345.375 Judgment agalnst a corporatlon.
(1) If a corporation.fails to-appear within the
time required by-the citation, the default of such
corporation may be recorded and the charge
against it taken as true and Judgment shall be
renderedaccordingly. -

{2): Upon default of the defendant corpora-
tion Or upon--conviction, judgment for “the
amount of the forfeiture shall be enter: ed

Hlstoly 1973c 218 . .

345.38 Effect of plea of no contest.
Forfeiture of deposit under s. 345.37 (2), an
accepted plea of no contest, or a stipulation of no
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contest under s.345.27, to a charge of violation
of a traffic regulation shall not be admissible in
evidence as an admission against interest in any
action or proceeding arising out of the same
occurrence as.the charge of violation of a traffic
régulation: . .

- History:1971¢. 278

345.40 Pleading. A citation which complies
with s. 345.11 or a complaint which complies
with the appropriate provisions of ¢h:- 968 may be
used as the initial pleading; or the justice, clerk or
one of his deputies may enter upon the records of
the court a statement of the offense charged,
whichshallstand as a complaint, unless the court
directs that formal complaint be made. Several
counts may be joined in one complaint or a
separate complaint may be prepared for each
separate violation. The defendant’s plea shall be
guilty, no contest or not guilty and shall be
entered asnot guilty upon failure to plead. A plea
of not gulltv shall put ali matters in such case at

1ssue -
History: 19;1c 278

345 41 Motion to dismiss. Defenses which
could; be taken:by pleas in abatement, in-bar,
demurrers and motions to quash shall.be raised
by motion to dismiss, which motion .shall be
made before any trial on the merits; or be waived.
History: 1971 ¢.278. .

345.42  No preliminary examination. There

shall be no pr: ehmmary examination.

History: 1971 c. 278

345. 421 Discovery. Neither party is entitled
to pretrial discovery except that if the defendant
moves within 10 days after the alleged : violation
and shows cause therefor, the court may order
that the defendant be allowed to inspect and test
under s. 804.09 and under such conditions as the
court pr escribes, any devices used by the plaintiff
to determine ‘whether a violation has been
committed, inctuding without limitation, devices
used to determine presence of alcohol in breath
or- body fluid or to measure speed, and may
inspect under s..804.09 the reports of experts

relating to thosedevices.
) Hgstory 1971 c.278; Sup Ct. Order, 67 W (2d) 776; 1975

345.422 No guardian ad'litem. No guar dlan

ad Jitém need be appomted for any defendant
. History: 1971¢.278. .

345.425 Mode of trial. (1) The defendant
shall be informed of his right to a jury trial‘in
county court on payment of fees required by s.
345:43.(1).If the defendant requests a jury trial
in municipal court and pays the fees required by
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$..345.43, the justice shall promptly transmit all
papers-and fees in the cause to the clerk of the
county court of the county where the violation
occurred. .

(2) If both parties, in a court of record,
request a trial by the court or if neither demands
a trial by jury, the right to a trial by jury is
waived.

-History: 1971 ¢. 278.

345 43 Jury trlal (1) (a) If a case has been
transferred unders.’345.425, orifin county court
either party files a written demand for a jury trial
within 10 days after the defendant enters a plea
of not guilty under s. 345.34 and immediately
pays the fees specified in par. (b), the court shall
place the case on the jury calendar of the county
court or shall forthwith transfer the case to
circuit court for-trial. The demand shall specify
whether trial is to be by a jury of 6 or 12. If no
party demands a trial by a jury-of 12, the right to
trial by a jury of 12is waived forever,

(b) The fee for a 12-man jury is $24, plus the
applicable suit tax and clerk’s fee. The fee for a 6-
man jury is $12, plus the apphcable suit tax and
clerk’s fee. ;

(2) If there is a demand for a trial by a jury of
12, the procedure applicable to jury tnals in civil
actlons shall apply. - :

“(8)(a) If 2 6-man jury is demanded in
counties having a population of 500,000 or more,
the jury shall be drawn from the circuit court
jury panel and selected as set forth under Title
XLIIA. in all'other counties, such juriesshall be
selected as provided in pars. (b) and (c), except
that any party may. demand trial by a
countywide jury and that the clerk shall select,
by lot, the names of sufficient persons qualified
to serve as ]UIOIS as will provide to each party
entitled to peremptory challenges the number of
challenges specified in par. (b). '

. (b) If a timely 6:man jury demand is made,
the judge shall direct the clerk of the court to
select by lot from the current jury ‘panel the
names of 18 residents of the county qualified to
serve as jurors in courts of record, from which
lists either party may strike 5 names. If either
party neglects to strike out names, the clerk shall
strike out names for him. Except in counties
having a populatlon of 500,000 or more, no voir
dire examination or challenge for cause shall be
permitted. The clerk shall issue a venire to the
sheriff. or constable to summon any 6 persons
whose names are not struck out, to appear.at the
time and place named in the venire.

(¢) Jurors may :all. be .residents ofa
municipality in which the court is held unless the
defendant demands a countywide jury. For this
purpose a municipal jury list may be established,
known as the “.... (name of municipality) jury
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list”, which shall be constituted as follows: The

jury commissioners appointed by the circuit

court of the county in which the municipality is
located shall, from-time to time as required by
the court, provide and furnish.a list containing
the names of:.200 jurors selected by them from
citizens residing within the municipality in-
volved. The judge or judges of the court may by
court order direct the jury commissioners to
furnish a list of less than 200 jurors, but in no
event shall such list contain less than 50 names.
Except as herein provided, the provisions of s.
255.04, relating to the preparation of jury lists
for the circuit court, so far-as applicable, shall
apply to and govern the preparation of such list,
but the slips containing the names of jurors so
selected shall be deposited in a box designated
the“.... (name of municipality) jury list”.

(4) Anyjury fee paid under this section shall
be refundedif:-

(a) The caseis dismissed by the court prior to
the commencement of the trial; or

: (am) The defendant is found not guilty of the

charge by the jury; or

(b) The defendant pleads guilty to the charge
ora lesser charge more than 24 hours before the

Jjuryisrequired toreport to the court.

History: 1971 c. 278; 1973 ¢. 218; Sup Ct Order, 67 W
(2d)776 1975¢ 231, 291

345. 45 Burden of proof The standard of
proof for conviction of any person charged with
violation of any traffic regulation shall be
ev1dence that is clear, satlsfactoxy and convmc-

ing.”
History: 1973 ¢.218.

345.46  Verdict. A verdict is valid:if agreed to
by five-sixths of the jury. If a verdict relates to
more than one count, it shall be valid as to any
count if any five-sixths of the jury agree thereto.
The form of the verdict shall be guilty or not
guilty, except where it is necessary to determine
speed. The-amount of the forfeiture shall be
determined by the court after the court makes its

finding.
History: 1971¢.278

345.47 Judgment of forfeiture. (1) If the
defendant is found guilty, the court may enter
judgment ‘against him for a'monetary amount
not to éxceed the maximum forfeiture provided
for the violation and for costs under s.7345.53
and, -in addition,  may suspend or revoke his
operating privilege under s: 343.30. If the

judgment is not paid, the court shall order:

(a) That the defendant be imprisoned for a
time specified by the court until the judgment is
paid; but notto exceed 90 days; or

(b) Inlieu of imprisonment and in addition to
any .other suspension .or revocation, that the
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defendant’s'operating privilege be suspended for
a period of time not less than 30 days nor more
than 6 months. If the person.pays the forfeiture
after suspension under this section, the suspen-
sion shall be reduced to the minimum period of
30 days. Suspension under this paragraph shall
not affect the power of the court to suspend or
revoke under s. 343.30 or the power of the
administrator to suspend or revoke such oper at-
ing privilege.

(c) If a court or judge suspends an operating
privilege under this section, the court or judge
shall immediately take possession of the sus-
pended  license and shall forward it to the
department together with the notice of suspen-
sion, which shall clearly state that the Suspension
was for failure to pay a forfeiture imposed by the
court. If the forfeiture is paid during a period of
suspension the coutt or judge shall immediately
notify the department. Upon receipt of such
notice, the department shall return the license
when “the minimum penod of suspension has
passed.

(2) The payment of any judgment may be
suspended or deferred for not more than 60 days
in the discretion of the court. In cases where a

~ deposit has been made, any forfeitures and costs
shall be'taken out of the deposit and the balance,
ifany, returned tothe defendant.

(3) When a defendant is imprisoned for
nonpayment of a forfeiture for an action brought
by a municipality located in more than one
county, any commitment to a county institution
shall be to the county in which the action was
tued

(4) Section 343.345 takes precedence over

this section to the extent the 2 sectzons conflict.
History: 1971 ¢.278; 1973c 218 )

345. 48 Reporllng pending appeal (1) If
the defendant is found guilty the court shall,
within ‘48 hours, forward -to the ‘division the
record of such conviction.

(2) If the defendant is found gurlty of a traffic
violation for which revocation of his operating
privilege is mandatory under s. 343.31, or for
which the . court = revokes. -or..suspends -his
operating privilege under s..343.30, the court
shall immediately take possession of the sus-
pended -or:revoked license. The revocation or
suspension is .effective.immediately. The court
ordered: suspension -or- revocation ‘shall be
included as part of the report of convrctxon under
sub. (1). -

(3) If no notlce of appeal i ﬁled within lO
days, sthe - court :shall, ‘within . 48 hours: after
expiration of the 10-day period, forward to.the
division any surrendered license.

- (4) If notice-of appeal is filed the court shall
within 48 hours after it is filed, forward to the
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division a certificate stating that:the appeal has
been perfected and shall return any surrendered
license. Thereafter, the court shall notify the
division as requned under s. 343.325 (1) (b)
and (¢).

History: 1971 ¢.278

345.49 - Procedure  ‘'on - imprisonment;
nonpayment of forfeiture. (1) Any person
imprisoned under 5:-345.47 for nonpayment of-a
forfeiture may, on his request, be allowed to work
under s. 56.08; if he'doés work, his earnings shall
be “applied -on' the unpaid forfeiture - after
payment of his board and expenses and support
of his dependents to the extent directed by the
court. .

(2) Any person who is sub]ect to 1mprrson-
ment under s. 345.47 for nonpayment of a
for ferture may be placed on probation to some
person satisfactory to the court for not more than
90'days or until the forfeiture is paid if that is
done before éxpiration of the 90-day period. The
payment of the forfeiture during such period
shall be a condition of such probation. If the
forfeiture is not paid or “the court deems that the
interests of justice require, probation may be
terminated and the defendant imiprisoned as
provided in sub. (l)or s. 345, 47

Hlstory l971c 278 " )

345.50 Appeal. (1) JURISDICTION ON AP-
PEAL: Appeals shall be to the circuit court for the
county. On appeal.from municipal court, the
defendant is entitled to a trial de novo and to a
jury trial, on request. On appeal from county
court the circuit court has power similar to that
of the supreme court under ch. 817 to review and
to - affirm, reverse, remand or modif'y the

judgment appealed from.

(2). StAY OF EXECUIION. The amount of
under, takmg required tostay execution on appeal
shall not exceed the amount of the maximum
forfeiture plus court costs.

. -(3) PROCEDURE ON APPEAL. Within 10 days
after judgment, appeal may be taken:to. the
circuit court by filing a notice of appeal withthe
municipal justice or:with the clerk of the trial
court, and by serving a copy of such notice on the
opposing party or his attorney. If the action was
tried in county court the appellant shall, within
40 days after the-notice of appeal was filed, file
with'theclerk of the trial court either a transcript
of the reporter’s notes of the trial or.a statement
that his appeal can be supported by the:case file
without a transcript: The appellant shall pay the
cost of preparing the transcript, and shall deliver
a copy of the transcript to all parties. Within 10
days after the transcript or statement is filed
with the clerk, the clerk shall return the case file
and the transcript or statement to the circuit
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court, and shall notify the parties of such filing in

the circuit court.
History: 1971¢. 278 ;Sup Ct Otder 67W (2d) 776

345.51 Reopenlng of default judgment.
Except as provided in s. 345.37, there shall be no
reopening of default judgments unless allowed
by order of the trial court after notice and motion
duly .made. and upon good cause shown. The
notice of motion must be filed within 6 months
after entry of judgment in the case docket.
Default judgments for purposes of this section
include pleas of guilty, no contest and forfeitures

of deposit.
History: 1971¢.278;1973¢.218

345.52 No double prosecutlon (1) A
judgment on the merits in a traffic ordinance
action bars any proceeding under a state statute
for the same violation. A judgment on the merits
in' an ‘action under a state statute bars any
proceeding under a traffic ordinance enacted in
conformity with the state statute for the same
violation.

(2) The pendency of an action under a traffic
ordinance is grounds for staying an action under
a state statute for the same violation. The
pendency of an action under a state statute is
grounds for staying an action under a_ traffic
ordinance enacted in conformity with the state

statute for the same violation.
History: 1971¢.278

345.53 Costs not taxed against plaintift.
In traffic regulatlon actions in all courts, costs

may not be taxéd against the plamtlff
) Hlstory 1971¢ 278,

345.55 Traffic officers not to profit from
arrests. (1) No traffic officer shall demand,
solicit, receive or be paid any remuneration upon
the basis of number of arrests made, convictions
obtained or amount of fines collected.

(2) Any person violating this section may be
required to forfeit not less than $25 nor more
than $200for the first offense and, for the second
and each subsequent conviction within one year
thereafter, may be required to forfeit not less

than $50 nor more than $500.
Hlstory 197%¢.278s.42.

345. 60 Penalty of compulsory safety
school attendance. (1) Inadditionto orinlieu
of otherpenalties provided bylaw for violation of
chs. 346 to. 348, the -trial court may in its
judgment of conviction .ordér. the . convicted
person to attend, for.a certain number of school
days, a traffic safety school whese course and
mode of instruction is approved by the adminis-
trator of the division of motor vehicles and which
is conducted: by the police department of the

3504

municipality, the sheriff’s office of the county or
by any regularly established safety organization.
(2) This section also applies in the case of an
adjudication of violation of a local traffic
regulation which is in conformity with chs. 346
t0348.
History: 1971¢.278s. 45.
Convicted drunk drivers may be sent to safety school in licu
of other penalties. 60 Atty. Gen.261.
The court may not waive the revocation of operatmg

privileges by the division of motor vehicles as required by
34331(1) (b). 62 Atty Gen.31

345.61 Guaranteed traffic arrest bonds.
(1) 'SURETY COMPANIES AUTHORIZED 10
GUARANTEE. (a) Any domestic or foreign surety
company which has qualified to transact surety
business in this state may, in any year, become
surety in an amount not to exceed $200 with
respect to any guaranteed arrest bond certifi-
cates issued in such year by an automobile club,
association or by an insurance company. author-
ized to write automobile liability insurance
within this state, by filing with the commissioner
of insurance an undertaking thus to- become
surety. ‘

(b). An association. providing a guaranteed
arrest bond certificate may obligate itself in an
amount not to-exceed $1,000 for violations of ch.
348. All courts in this state must accept such
guaranteed arrest bond certificate. When a state
traffic patrol officer or state inspector or any
local law enforcement officer stops an operator
of a vehicle, having in his possession a valid
guaranteed arrest -bond certificate, he shall
obtain the necessary information for his citation
and if such guaranteed arrest bond covers the
fine for the violation such officer shall release
such vehicle and operator.

(2) Form orF BOND. Such undertaking shall
be in the form prescribed by the commissioner of
insurance and shall state the following:

(a) The name and address of the automobile
clubs, association or companies with respect to
the guaranteed arrest bond certificates of which
the surety company undertakes to be surety.

(b) The unqualified obligation of the surety
company to:pay the fine or forfeiture in.an
amount: not to ‘exceed $200, or $1,000 as
provided in sub.- (1) (b), of any. person who,
after posting a guaranteed arrest bound certifi-
cate with respect to which the surety. company
has undertaken to be surety; fails to make. the
appearance to-guarantee which, the guaranteed
arrest bond certificate was posted.

. (€) > The term . “guaranteed arrest bond
certificate” as used herein:-means any printed
card or other certificate issued by an automobile
club, association or insurance company to any of
its members or insureds; which card or
certificate is signed by the member or insureds
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and contains a printed statement that such
automobile club, association or insurance com-
pany and a surety company, or an insurance
company authorized to transact both automobile
liability insurance and surety business,
guarantee the appearance of the persons whose
signature appears on the card or certificate and
that they will in the event of failure of the person
toappear in court at the time of trial, pay any fine
or forfeiture imposed on the person in an amount
not exceeding $200, or $1,000 as provided in sub.
(1) (b).

(d) A guaranteed arrest bond certificate
under sub. (1) (b) need not be secured by a
surety company. The commissioner of insurance
may promulgate rules to insure such bond if he
feels it necessary.

(3). Any guaranteed arrest bond cemflcate
with respect’ to which a surety company has
become surety, or a guaranteed arrest bond
certificate issued by an insurance company
authorized to transact both automobile liability
insurance and surety business within this state as
herein provided, shall, when posted by the person
whose signature appears thereon, be accepted in
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lieu of cash bail or other bond in an amount not to
exceed $200, or $1,000 as provided in sub. (1)
(b),as a bail bond, to guarantee the appearance
of such personin any court in this state, including
all municipal courts in this state, at such time as

-may be required by such court, when the person

is arrested for violation of any vehicle law of this
state or any motor vehicle ordinance of any
county or mummpahty in this state except for the
offense of driving under the influence of
intoxicating liquors or of drugs or for any felony
committed prior to the date of expiration shown
on such guaranteed arrest bond certificates;
provided, that any such guaranteed arrest bond
certificates so posted as bail bond in any court in
this state shall be subject to the forfeiture and
enforcement provisions with respect to bail
bonds in criminal cases as otherwise provided by
law or as hereafter may be provided by law, and
that any such guaranteed arrest bond certificate
posted as a bail bond in any municipal court of
this state shall be sub;ect to the forfeiture and
enforcement provisions, if any, of the charter or
ordinance of the particular county or municipal-
ity pertaining to bail bonds posted.
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