# STATE OF WISCONSIN

## Senate Journal

## **Eighty-Fourth Regular Session**

WEDNESDAY, January 3, 1979. 2:00 P.M.

The senate met.

(seal)

The senate was called to order by the president of the senate.

Prayer was offered by Sue Theno, wife of Senator Dan Theno of Ashland.

The senate remained standing and Senator Risser led the senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

> United States of America State of Wisconsin Elections Board

To All To Whom These Presents Shall Come:

I, Gerald J. Ferwerda, Executive Secretary of the State Election Board of the State of Wisconsin, do hereby certify that at a General Election held on the Seventh day of November, A.D., 1978, the following State Senators were elected, for the term of four years, ending on the first Monday of January, 1983, as appears from the official certificates of the Board of State Canvassers, on file in this office.

> IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed the official seal. Done in the City of Madison, this 29th day of December, A.D., 1978.

GERALD J. FERWERDA Executive Secretary

We do, therefore, hereby determine and certify that the following candidates, having each received the greatest number of votes in their respective senatorial districts, comprised of the counties hereinbefore specified, are duly elected State Senators, to-wit:

Senatorial District	Elected
1	Alan J. Lasee
3	Gerald D. Kleczka
5	David G. Berger
7	Kurt A. Frank
9	James P. Moody
. 11	Warren D. Braun
13	Peter Bear
15	Timothy F. Cullen
17	Richard Kreul
19	Gary R. Goyke
21	Joseph Strohl
23	Marvin J. Roshell
25	Daniel O. Theno
27	Everett V. Bidwell
29	Walter J. Chilsen
31	Thomas W. Harnisch
33	Roger P. Murphy

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands. Done in the City of Madison, this 1st day of December, A.D., 1978.

JAMES R. KLAUSER Chairman, State Elections Board

CHARLES P. SMITH State Treasurer

Upon the calling of the newly elected Senators on Monday, January 3, 1979, the following appeared before the bar of the senate, took and subscribed the oath of office which was administered by the President:

Alan J. Lasee, Gerald D. Kleczka, David G. Berger, Kurt A. Frank, James P. Moody, Warren D. Braun, Peter Bear, Timothy F. Cullen, Richard Kreul, Gary R. Goyke, Joseph Strohl, Marvin J. Roshell, Daniel O. Theno, Everett V. Bidwell, Walter J. Chilsen, Thomas W. Harnisch and Roger P. Murphy.

The roll was called and the following senators answered to their names:

Senators Adelman, Bablitch, Bear, Berger, Bidwell, Braun, Chilsen, Cullen, Flynn, Frank, Goyke, Harnisch, Kleczka, Kreul, Krueger, Lasee, McCallum, Maurer, Moody, Murphy, Offner, Petri, Radosevich, Risser, Roshell, Sensenbrenner, Strohl, Swan, Theno, Thompson and Van Sistine -- 31.

Absent -- Senator Lorge -- 1. Absent with leave -- None.

## LEAVE OF ABSENCE

By request of Senator Krueger, with unanimous consent, Senator Lorge was granted a leave of absence for today's session.

### **INTRODUCTION OF RESOLUTIONS**

#### Senate Resolution 1

Relating to organizing the 1979 Wisconsin senate.

By Senators Risser, Bablitch, Krueger, Kleczka, Flynn, Sensenbrenner and Murphy.

Read.

Considered as privileged and taken up at this time.

The question was: Adoption?

The ayes and noes were required and the vote was: ayes, 31; noes, 0; absent or not voting, 1; as follows:

Ayes -- Senators Adelman, Bablitch, Bear, Berger, Bidwell, Braun, Chilsen, Cullen, Flynn, Frank, Goyke, Harnisch, Kleczka, Kreul, Krueger, Lasee, McCallum, Maurer, Moody, Murphy, Offner, Petri, Radosevich, Risser, Roshell, Sensenbrenner, Strohl, Swan, Theno, Thompson and Van Sistine -- 31.

Noes -- None.

Absent or not voting -- Senator Lorge -- 1.

So the resolution was adopted.

The President Pro Tempore, Fred A. Risser, the Chief Clerk, Don Schneider, and the Sergeant-at-Arms, Daniel Fields, appeared together before the bar of the senate, took and subscribed the oath of office which was administered by the President.

#### **Senate Resolution 2**

Relating to adopting the rules of the senate in effect at the conclusion of the 1977 regular session of the senate, with the modifications shown in this resolution, as the rules of the 1979 senate.

By Senators Risser, Bablitch, Krueger, Kleczka, Flynn, Sensenbrenner and Murphy.

Read.

Considered as privileged and taken up at this time.

By request of Senator Lasee, with unanimous consent, the senate recessed until 3:10 P.M.

2:30 P.M.

#### RECESS

3:10 P.M.

The senate reconvened.

Senate amendment 1 to Senate Resolution 2 offered by Senator Bablitch.

The question was: Adoption of senate amendment 1?

Adopted.

The question was: Adoption of Senate Resolution 2?

The ayes and noes were required and the vote was: ayes, 27; noes, 4; absent or not voting, 1; as follows:

Ayes -- Senators Adelman, Bablitch, Bear, Berger, Bidwell, Cullen, Flynn, Frank, Goyke, Harnisch, Kleczka, Kreul, Krueger, Lasee, McCallum, Maurer, Moody, Murphy, Offner, Petri, Risser, Roshell, Sensenbrenner, Strohl, Theno, Thompson and Van Sistine --27.

Noes -- Senators Braun, Chilsen, Radosevich and Swan -- 4.

Absent or not voting -- Senator Lorge -- 1.

So the resolution was adopted.

## **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

The committee on Senate Organization reports and recommends the following nominations to committees for appointment by the Senate:

Agriculture, Labor and Local Affairs Senator Van Sistine, Chairman Senator Roshell, Vice Chairman Senator Moody Senator Swan Senator Kreul

Aging, Business and Financial Institutions, and Transportation Senator Cullen, Chairman Senator Moody, Vice Chairman Senator Roshell Senator Thompson Senator Bidwell

Education and Revenue Senator Goyke, Chairman Senator Moody, Vice Chairman Senator Offner Senator Bear Senator McCallum

Governmental and Veterans' Affairs Senator Swan, Chairman Senator Roshell, Vice Chairman Senator Adelman Senator Van Sistine Senator Lasce

## Human Services

Senator Thompson, Chairman Senator Bear, Vice Chairman Senator Cullen Senator Strohl Senator Petri

Insurance and Utilities Senator Frank, Chairman Senator Strohl, Vice Chairman Senator Moody

Senator Berger Senator Lorge

Judiciary and Consumer Affairs Senator Adelman, Chairman Senator Bear, Vice Chairman Senator Harnisch Senator Braun Senator Murphy

Natural Resources and Tourism Senator Harnisch, Chairman Senator Strohl, Vice Chairman Senator Van Sistine Senator Goyke Senator Theno

Senate Organization Senator Risser, Chairman Senator Bablitch Senator Flynn Senator Krueger Senator Murphy

Joint Committee on Finance Senator Kleczka, Chairman Senator Maurer, Vice Chairman Senator Radosevich Senator Offner Senator Braun Senator Flynn Senator Chilsen

Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules Senator Berger, Co-chairman Senator Radosevich, Vice Chairman Senator Bear Senator Strohl Senator Murphy

Joint Committee on Audit Senator Harnisch, Co-Chairman Senator Berger Senator Petri Senator Theno

## Joint Committee on Debt Management Senator Risser, Co-Chairman Senator Flynn Senator Chilsen

## FRED A. RISSER Chair

By request of Senator Bablitch, with unanimous consent, the reading of the committee report was dispensed with.

The question was: Adoption of the committee report? Adopted.

Upon motion of Senator Bablitch the senate adjourned until 10:00 A.M. Tuesday, January 9.

3:20 P.M.