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CHAPTER 973
SENTENCING
97301  Indeterminate sentence; Wisconsin state prisons 973.08 = Records accompanying prisoner
973.015 Misdemeanors, special disposition 973.09  Probation
973.02. Place of imprisonment when none expressed 973.10  Control and supervision of probationers
973.03  Jail sentence 97312  Sentence of a repeater
973.04  Credit for imprisonment under earlier sentence for ~ 973.13  Excessive sentence, errors cured
- ... the same crime. . 973 14 - Sentence to house of correction.
973.05  Fines. ) 97315  Sentence, terms, escapes
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973.06. Costs. 973.16  Time out. ~
973.07  Failure to pay fine or costs 97317  Judgment against a corporation

973.01 - Indeterminate sentence; Wiscon-
sin state prisons. (1) (a) If imprisonment in
the Wisconsin state prisons for a term of years is
imposed, the court‘may fix a term less than the
prescribed maximum. The form of such sen-
tence shall be substantially as follows: “You are
hereby sentenced to the Wisconsin state prisons
for an indeterminate term of not more than ...
(the maximum as fixed by the court) years”.
(b) The sentence shall have the effect of a
sentence at hard labor for the maximum term
fixed by the court, subject to the power of actual
release from confinement by parole by the de-
partment or by pardon as provided by law. If a
person is sentenced for a.definite time for an
offense for which he may be sentenced under
this section, he is in legal efféct sentenced as
required by this section, said definite time being

the maximum period. A defendant convicted of

a crime for .which the minimum penalty is life
shall be sentenced for life. .. . ° :

(2) Upon the recommendation of the depart-
ment, the governor may, without the procedure
required by ch. 57, discharge absolutely, or upon
such conditions and restrictionis and under such
limitation as he thinks proper,-any inmate com-
mitted to the Wisconsin state prisons after he
has served the minimum term of punishment
prescribed by law for the offense for which he
was sentenced, except that if the term was life
imprisonment, 5. years must elapse after parole
before such a recommendation can be made to
the governor. . Such discharge shall have the
effect: of an absolute or. conditional pardon,
respectively. ' ‘

. .(3). Female persons convicted of.a felony
may -be committed to the Taycheedah correc-
tional institution. :

dé-listory: 1973 ¢.90; 1975 ¢. 189 s. 99;(1‘); 1975 ¢. 224 s.
m. :

...The supreme court adopts Standard 2.3-(¢) of the ABA
Standards Relating . to Appellate Review. of Sentences,
thereby requiring the séntencing judge to staté for the record
in the presence of the defendant the reasons for selecting the

1

particular sentence imposed or, if the sentencing judge deems
itin the interest of the defendant not to state his reasons in the
presence of the defendant, to prepare a statement for trans-
mission to the reviewing court as part of the record Mc-
Cleary v State, 49 W (2d) 263, 182 NW (2d) 512

It is not a denial of equal treatment to sentence a defend-
ant to 4 years imprisonment although other persons involved
(all minors) received lesser or no punishment  State v. Schilz,
50 W (2d) 395, 184 NW (2d) 134

An abuse of discretion, as it relates to sentencing proce-
dures, will be found only where there is no rational basis for
the imposition of the sentence or these rationale are not ar-
ticulated in, or inferable from, the record, or where discretion
is exercised on the basis of clearly irrelevant or improper fac-
tors: Davis v. State, 52 W (2d) 697, 190 NW (2d) 890

It is not an abuse of discretion to sentence a mature man to
7 years in grison for a sex offense against a 5 year old boy.
Bastian v. State, 54 W (2d) 240, 194 NW (2d§ 687

Trial court increase of the defendant’s sentence based
solely on “reflection”, did not constitute a valid basis for mod-
ification of a sentence, because this was not a “new factor”
justifying a more severe sentence, a prerequisite for sentence
reevaluation. ‘Scott v. State, 64 W (2d) 54, 218 NW (2d)
350. .

The trial court must take into consideration the time the
defendant has spent in preconviction custody. Such consider-
ation must be given even though the time spent in custody
when added to the sentence would be less than the maximum
Statev. Tew, 54 W (2d) 361, modified by making such con-
sideration mandatory rather than permissive. Byrd v. State,
65 W (2d) 415, 222 NW (2d) 696.

Where the preconviction time in jail added to the sentence
imposed does not reach the maximum possible under the stat-
ute, the rule in Byrd and the credit it gives is inapplicable
State v. Seals; 65 W (2d) 434, 223 NW (2d) 158.

 Defendant’s contention that he is being punished 3 times
for carryinga weapon on the night in question is erroneous.
He was convicted and sentenced for 3 acts. Ruff v State; 65
W (2d) 713, 223 NW (2d) 446.

Sentence of the maximum 5 years in prison is reduced to

reflect. 89 days of a total 118 days of pretrial incarceration
during which time defendant was unable to raise bail because
ogindigency‘ Wilkins v. State, 66 W (2d) 628, 225 NW'(2d)
492. ’ .
* '~ A defendant’s change in attitude or rehabilitative progress
subsequent to sentencing is a factor to be considered by the
departmentof health and social services in determining parole
but is not-a proper: consideration upon which a trial court
might base a reduction of sentence. State v. Wuensch, 69 W
(2d) 467,230 NW (2d) 665.

The rule of Byrd (65 W (2d) 415) is not applicable to
confinement during nonworking hours imposed subsequent to
conviction as a condition of a probation which is later revoked.
State v. Wills, 69 W (2d) 489, 230.NW (2d) 827.

The trial court’s modification and making concurrent of
certain of defendant’s sentences for burglary was. proper on
the basis that subsequent to imposition of sentence the
supreme court determined in Edelman v. State (62 W (2d)
613) that a prison sentence has-a minimum parole eligibility
of one-year, because at the original sentencing hearing, the
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state emphasized eligibiiity for “instant parole” as a reason
for the imposition of a substantial sentence on the first count
and consecutive sentences on the other counts. Kutchera v
State, 69 W (2d) 534, 230 NW (2d) 750

See note to 973,15, citing Guyton v. State, 69 W (2d) 663,
230 NW (2d) 726

A defendant financially unable to make bail who is con-
victed of multiple offenses and given the statutory maximum
for each offense, with sentences imposed to run concurrently,
must be credited with his presentence incarceration as having
received the maximum allowable sentence, since each sen-
tence is considered separately, and the fact that the trial court
chose to impose the sentences concurrently rather than con-
secutively does not alter the fact that each sentence was the
maximum provided by law. Mitchell v. State, 69 W (2d) 695,
230 NW (2d) 884

Although evidence concerning the incidents of sexual ac-
tivity abroad was relevant as to defendant’s character and
thus admissible at the sentencing hearing, the trial court
abused its discretion by punishing defendant not only for the
crime of which he stood convicted, but for the events which
occurred-outside Wisconsin, as indicated by the fact that both
sentencing hearings were devoted largely to these foreign inci-
dents Rosado v. State, 70 W (2d) 280, 234 NW (2d) 69

.Trial court exceeded jurisdiction by specifying conditions
of mcarceratxon State v. Gibbons, 71 W (2d) 94, 237 NW
(2d) 33.

Pléa bargain agréements by law enforcement officials not
to_reveal relevant-and -pertinent information. to sentencing
Judge are unenforceable as being against public policy. Grant
v. State; 73 W (2d) 441, 243 NW (2d) 186

Chyonic offenses of theft by-fraud by promiising to-marry
several:persons provide a rational basis for lengthy sentence
Lambert v.'State, 73 W (2d) 590, 243 NW (2d) 524

Sentencmg judge does not deny due process by considering
pending criminal chatges in determining sentence Scope of
Judicial “inquiry. prior to sentencing discussed. Handel v.
State, 74'W (2d) 699, 247 NW (2d) 711 )

See note to Art I, sec. 8, citing Holmes v.State, 76 W (2d)
259 251 NW (2d) 56.

" See:note to Art. I, sec. '8, citing Wx]lxams V. State, T9W
(2d) 235,255 NW (2d) 504

Where consecutive sentences are imposed;:pretrial incar-
ceration due to indigency should be credited as time served on
only one sentence” Wilson v’ State, 82 W (2d) 657, 264 NwW
(2d)234

Courts may correct formal or clerical:errors or an illegal
seritefiée at any time. Kruéger v. State 86 W (2d) 435,272
NW (Zd) 847 (1979)

... In'fixing sentence within statutoxy limits, judge may con-
sider defendant’s false testimony: observed by. judge during
trial. Urnited Statevs‘v” Grayson, 438 US 41 (1978).

s Appellate sentence review. - 1976 WLR 655

973 015 Mlsdemeanors, speclal dISPOSI-
tion. (1) When a person under the age of 21 at
the time -of the: commission of an offense for
whxch the person has been found guilty in a
court for violation of a law for which the maxi-
mum penalty is imprisonment for one year or
less in the county jail, the court may order at the
time of sentencing that the record be expunged
upon successful completion of the sentence if the
court determines the person will benefit and
society will not be harmed by this disposition
(2) ‘A person has successfully completed the
sentence if the person has not been convicted of a
subsequent offense and, if on probation, such
probation has not been revoked. Upon success-
ful completion of the sentence the detaining or
probationary authority shall issue a certificate
of discharge which shall be forwarded to the
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court of record and which shall have the effect of
expunging the record.
History: 1975 ¢.39; 1975 ¢ 189 5. 105; 1975 ¢. 199
“Expunge” under this section means to strike or obliterate
from the record all references to defendant’s name and iden-
tity. 67 Atty Gen. 301

973.02 Place of imprisonment when none
expressed. When a statute authorizes impris-
onment for its violation but does not prescribe
the place of imprisonment, 1) a sentence of less
than one year shall be to the county jail, 2) a
sentence of more than one year shall be to the
Wisconsin state prisons and the minimum under
the indeterminate sentence law shall be one
year, and 3) a sentence of one year may be to
either the Wisconsin state prisons or the county
jail. But in any proper case sentence and com-
mitment may nevertheless be to the department
or any house of correction or other institution as
provided by law.
Hlstory 1973 ¢: 90,

973.03 - Jail sentence. (1) If at the t1me of
passing sentence upon a defendant who is to be
imprisoned.in a county jail, thete is no jail in the
county suitable for ‘said defendant, the court
may sentence him to any suitable county jail in
the state. The expenses of supporting him there
shall be borne by the county in which the crlme
was committed.

(2) A defendant sertenced to the »W_isconsin
state prisons and to a county jail 6r house of
correction for separate crimes shall serve: 4ll
sentences whether concurrent or consecutxve in

the state prisons.
Hlstory 1971 ¢ 298

973.04' Credit for imprisonment under
earlier sentence for the same crime. When
a’ sentence is vacated and a new sentence is
imposed upon the defendant for the same crime,
the department shall credit the defendant with
confinement theretofore served and good time, if
any, éarned by the defendant pursuant to ss.
53.11 and 53.12 while so confined.

973.05 Fines. (1) When a defendant is sen-
tenced to pay a fine, the court may grant permis-
sion for the payment of the fine, of the penalty
assessment imposed by s. 165.87, any applicable
domestic abuse assessment imposed” by -s.
973.055, any applicable natural resources as-
sessment imposed by s. 29.997 and any applica-
ble natural resources restitution payment im-
posed by s, 29,998 to be made within a period not
to exceed 60 days. If no such permission is
embodied in the sentence, the fine, the penalty
assessment, any applicable domestic abuse as-
sessment, any applicablé natural resources as-
sessment and any applicable natural resources
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restitution payment shail be payable
immediately.

- (2) When a defendant is sentenced to pay a
fine and is also placed on probation, the court
may make the payment of the fine, the penalty
assessment, any applicable domestic abuse as-
sessment, any applicable natural resources as-
sessment and any applicable natural resources
restitution payments a condition of probation.
When the payments are made a condition of
probation by the court, payments thereon shall
be applied first to payment of the penalty assess-
ment until paid in full, shall then be applied to
payment of the domestic abuse assessment until
paid in full, shall then be applied to payment of
the natural resources assessment if applicable
until paid in full, shail then be applied to pay-
ment of the natural resources restitution pay-
ment until paid in full and shall then be applied
to payment of the fine.

History: 1977 ¢. 29;1979 c. 34, 111.

See note to art. 1, sec: 8, citing State ex rel. Pedersen v
Blessinger, 56 W (2d) 286, 201 NW (2d) 778.

Trial courts are encouraged to use instalment method
when dealing with indigent defenders; instalment period ma
;xcc?d 96;)8<;ays Wwill vi State, 84 W (2d) 397,267 NW (2d§

57 (1

973.055 Domestic abuse assessments.
(1) Onorafter May 1,1980, if a court imposes a
fine, the court shall determine whether the crim-
inal conduct involved domestic abuse, as defined
in s. 46.95 (1) (a). If the court makes the
finding, it shall impose a domestic abuse assess-
ment, in addition to the fine and penalty assess-
ment, in an amount of 10% of the fine imposed.
If multiple offenses are involved, the domestic
abuse assessment shall be based on the total fine
for all offenses which involved domestic abuse.
If a fine is,suspended, the domestic abuse assess-
ment shall be reduced in proportion to the
suspension,

. -{2) After the court determines the amount
due,. the. clerk of the court shall collect and
transmit the amount to the county treasurer as
provided in s. 59.395 (5). The county treasurer
shall then make payment to the state treasurer
as provided in s. 59.20 (5) (b).

{3} All moneys collected from domestic
abuse assessments shall be deposited by the state
treasurer. in s. 20.435 (8) (h) and utilized in
accordance with s. 46.95.

- History: 1979.¢.111;1979 ¢. 221 5. 2202 (20); 1979 ¢. 355.

973.08 Costs. (1) The costs taxable against
the defendant shall consist of the following items
and no.others:

(a) The necessary disbursements and fees of
officers-allowed by law and incurred in cornnec-
tion: with the arrest, preliminary examination
and trial of the defendant, including, in the
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discretion of the court, the fees and disburse-
ments of the agent appointed to return a defend-
ant from another state or country.

(b) Fees and travel allowance of witnesses for
the state at the preliminary examination and the
trial.

(c). Fees and disbursements allowed by the
court 1o expert witnesses. Section 814.04 (2)
shall not apply in criminal cases.

{d) Fees and travel allowance of witnesses for
the defense incurred by the county at the request
of the defendant, at the preliminary hearing and
the trial.

(e) Attorney fees payable to the defense
attorney by the county or the state.

{2) The court may remit the taxable costs, in
whole or in part.
History: Sup. Ct. Order, 67 W (2d) 784; 1979 c. 356.

Right to counsel; repayment of cost of court-appointed
counsel as a condition of probation. 56 MLR 551.

973.07 Failure to pay fine or costs. If the
fine, costs, penalty assessment, applicable do-
mestic abuse assessment payment, applicable
natural resources assessment or applicable natu-
ral resources restitution payment are not paid as
required by the sentence, the defendant may be
committed to the county jail until the fine, costs,
penalty assessment, applicable domestic abuse
assessment payment, - applicable natural re-
sources assessment or applicable natural re-
sources restitution payment are paid or dis-
charged for a period fixed by the sourt not to
exceed 6 months.

History: 1977 ¢ 29;1979 ¢. 34, 111,

See note to art. |, sec. 8, citing State ex rel. Pedersen v,
Blessinger, 56 W (2d) 286, 201 NW (2d) 778

Where fineand payment schedule are reasonably suited to
offéndér’s means, offender carries heavy burden of showing
inability to pay. Willv, State, 84 W (2d) 397, 267 NW (2d)
357 (1978).

$73.08 Records accomp&nying prisoner.
{1} When any defendant is sentenced to the
state prisons, a copy of the judgment of convic-
tion shall be delivered by the officer executing
the ]udgment to the warden or supetmtendent of
the institution when the prisoner is delivered.

{2} The transcript of any portion of the
proceedings relating to the prisoner’s sentencing
shall be filed at the institution within 120 days
from the date sentence is imposed.

(3) The transcript of all other testimony and
proceedings upon order. of a court shall be
delivered to a prisoner within 120 days of his or
her request.

{4} The transcript of ali other testimony and
proceedings upon order of a court shall be
delivered to the department within 120 days of
its request. ;




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

973.08 SENTENCING

{8) The clerk of court shall file or deliver a

transcript under sub. (2), (3) or (4).
History: 1971 ¢. 2985s.26 (1); 1977 ¢ 187; Sup. Ct. Order,
eff. 1-1-80; !9790 221

973.09 Probation. (1) (a) Except as pro-
vided in par. (b) or if probation is prohibited for
a particular offense by statute, if a person is
convicted of a crime, the court, by order, may
withhold sentence or impose sentence and stay
its execution, and in either case place the person
on probation to the department for a stated
period, stating in the order the reasons therefor,
-and may impose any conditions which appear to
be reasonable and appropriate. If the court
places the person on probation, the court shall
require restitution designed to compensate the
victim’s pecuniary loss resulting from the crime
to the extent possible, unless the court finds
there is substantial reason not to order restitu-
tion ‘as a condition of probation. -If the court
does not require restitution to be paid to a
victim, the court shall state its reason on the
record. A court may require that restitution be
paid to an insurer or surety which has paid any
claims or benefits to oron behalf of the victim. If
the court does require restitution, it shall specify
the amount consistent with sub. (1m) and shall
notify the department of justice of its decision if
the victim may be. eligible for compensation
under ch. 949. If the court does require restitu-
tion, it shall require the probationer to pay a
surcharge equal to 10% of the amount of resti-
tution to the clerk of circuit court or the depart-
ment of health and social services, as applicable
under sub. (1m), for.administrative expenses
under this section. The period of probation may
be made consecutive to a sentence on a different
charge, whether 1mposed at the same time or
previously.

{b) When a person is convicted of the crime
specified in s. 940.01, the court shall not place
the person on probatlon

(1g) If the court places the person on proba-
tion, the court may require that the probationer
reimburse the county or the state, as applicable,
for any costs for legal representation to the
county or the state for the defense of the case.

(im) In determining the amount and
method of payment, the court shall consider the
financial resources and future ability of the
probationer to pay. The court may provide for
payment to the victim up to but not in excess of
the pecuniary loss caused by the offense, - Upon
the order of the court, the district attorney or an
official of a law enforcement agency, as defined
ins. 165.83 (1) (b), shall document the nature
and amount of the victim’s pecuniary loss. Upon
the application of any interested party, the court
shall schedule and hold an-evidentiary hearing
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to determine the value of the victim’s pecuniary
loss resulting from the offense. The court shall
not establish a payment schedule extending be-
yond the maximum term of probation that could
have been imposed for the offense under sub.
(2). Payment of restitution shall be to the
department of health and social services, unless
the county board authorizes that payments of
restitution in the county shall be to the clerk of
circuit court. The clerk or the department shall
establish a separate account for each victim for
the collection and disbursement of funds. The
clerk or the department shall notify the court if
the probationer does not comply with the resti-
tution payments required by the court. If the
clerk is acting.under this subsection, he or she
shall notify the department of any such noncom-
pliance. The probationer is entitled to assert any
defense that he or she could raise in a civil action
for the loss sought to be compensated by the
restitution order.

(2) The original term of probation shall be:

(a) For misdemeanors, not less than 6
months, nor more than 2 years;

(b) For felonies, not less than one year nor
more than either the statutory maximum term
of imprisonment for the crime or 3 years, which-
ever is greater.

(3) (a) Prior to the expiration of any proba-
tion. period, the court, for cause and by order,
may extend probation for a stated period or
modify the terms and conditions thereof.

(b) If restitution has been required, the pro-
bationer, after 6 months have elapsed since the
imposition of the order of restitution, may peti-
tion the sentencing court to adjust or otherwise
waive payment or performance of any ordered
restitution or any unpaid or unperformed por-
tion of restitution. The court shall schedule a
probation review hearing before the court and
give the victim notice of the hearing, date, place
and time and inform the victim that he or she
will ‘have an-opportunity to be heard. If the
court finds that the circumstances upon which it
based the imposition or amount and method of
payment ordered no longer exist or that it other-
wise would be unjust to require payment, the
court may adjust-or waive payment of the un-
paid portion thereof or modify the time or
payment schedule for making restitution.

(¢) If a probationer who is required to make
restitution defaults for 30 days, the court upon
the motion of the attorney general, the district
attorney, the victim or its own motion may issue
an order requiring the probationer to show cause
why the default should not be treated as a
violation of a condition of probation under s.
973.10 (2). The court may order the proba-
tioner to appear at a time, date and place for a
review hearing before the court or, upon failure
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to appear, issue a warrant for the probationer’s
arrest. The order or warrant shall be accompa-
nied by written notice of the right to a review
hearing and the rights and procedures applica-
ble to the hearing.

(d) If restitution has been required, the clerk
or the department, as applicable under sub.
(1m), shall notify the sentencing court of the
status of restitution at least 90.days before the
probation expiration date. If the clerk is acting
under sub. (1m), he or she shall give the depart-
ment the same notification.: If restitution has
not been made, the court shall hold a probation
review hearing. prior to the expiration date. A
probationer shall not be discharged from proba-
tion until the court determines that the restitu-
tion has been made or that there is substantial
reason not to continue to require the payment of
restitution. .

(4) The court may also require as a condition
of probation that the probationer be confined in
the county jail between the hours or periods of
his employment during such portion of his term
of probation as the court specifies, but not to
exceed one year and'the court shall require him
to pay the costs as:provided in s. 56.08 (4).
While confined pursuant to this subsection he
shall be subject to all the rules of the jail and the
discipline of the sheriff.

(4m) If the defendant is placed on probation,
the court shall determine if restitution would be
an appropriate condition of probation. “If resti-
tution is ordered, the court shall inquire to see if
an award has been made under ch. 949 and if the
department of justice is subrogated to the cause
of action under s. 949.15." If the restitution
ordered is less than or equal to the award under
ch. 949, the restitution shall be paid only to the
general fund, If the restitution ordered is
greater than the award under ch, 949, the gen-
eral fund shall receive an amount equal to the
award under ch. 949 and the balance shall be
paid to:the victim. '
~~ (5) When the probationer has satisfied the
conditions of his probation, he shall be dis-
charged and the department shall issue him a
certificate of final discharge, a copy of which
shall be filed with the clerk.’

. (8) If a crime victim is paid an award under
ch. 949 for any loss arising out of a criminal act,
the state is subrogated to the rights of the victim
to any. restitution required as a condition of
probation by the court. The rights of the state
are subordinate to the claims of victims who
have suffered a loss arising out of the offenses or
any transaction which is part of the same contin-
uous scheme of criminal activity.

(7)) Requiring restitution as a condition of
probation does not limit or impair the right of a
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victim to.sue and recover damages from the
probationer in a. civil action. - The facts that
restitution was required or paid are not admissi-
ble as evidence in a civil action and have no legal
effect on the merits of a civil action. Any
restitution paid by the probationer to the victim
shall be set off against any judgment in favor of
the victim in a civil action arising out of the facts
or events which were the basis for the restitu-
tion.. The court trying the civil action shall hold
a separate hearing to determine the validity and

amount of any setoff asserted by the defendant,

(8) In this section, “pecuniary loss” means:

(a) All special damages, but not general
damages, substantiated by -evidence in the
record, which-a person could recover against the
probationer in a:civil action arising out of the
facts or events constituting the probationer’s
criminal activities, including, without limitation
because of enumeration, the money equivalent
of loss resulting from property taken, destroyed,
broken or otherwise harmed and out-of-pocket
losses, such as medical expenses;

(b)  Reasonable out-of-pocket expenses in-
curred by the victim resulting from the filing of
charges or cooperating.in the investigation and
prosecution of the offense; and

(c) Interest at the legal rate on the amount of
pecuniary loss from the time of loss until pay-
ment is made. B

History: 1971 ¢.298; 1979 c. 119,189, 238, 355,.356.

Subsequent to conviction for escape of a defendant previ-
ously convicted of burglary and placed on probation with con-
dition of incarceration pursuant to.(4), the trial-court did not
abuse its discretion in granting a new trial in the interest of
justice, since defendant’s temporary. absconding occurred
during a release period, and he therefore was not in custody
within the meaning of 946.42 (5) (b). State v. Schaller, 70
W'(2d).107, 233 NW (2d) 416. L

Terminology of work-release under (4): and Huber law
privileges under 56.08 cannot be used interchangeably with-
out danger of inappropriate sentence. Yingling v. State, 73 W
(2d) 438, 243 NW (2d) 420.

Claims of credit for pretrial or preconviction incarceration
may be made only as to sentences imposed; and not to periods
of confinement during nonworking hours imposed as a.condi-
tion of probation under (4). Full confinement for one year as
a condition of probation is not authorized under (4). Statev.
Gloudemans, 73 W-(2d) 514, 243 NW (2d) 220.

Probation.condition that probationer-not contact her code-
fendant fiance was permissible infringement of her constitu-
tional rights because.the condition was reasonably related to
rehabilitation and was not overly broad. Edwards v. State, 74
W (2d) 79;:246 NW (2d) 109.. - :

Where defendant is sentenced for .3 charges and placed on

consecutive probation for the 4th charge; trial court may not
impose probation-condition that defendant make restitution
for all cgargm‘ Garskiv. State, 75 W (2d). 62, 248 NW (2d)
425. . ;
.Failure to make restitution is not cause for extending pro-
bation under (3) if probationer demonstrates good faith ef-
fort to pay but lacks capacity to pay during probation. Hug-
gett v. State, 83 W (2d) 790, 266-NW (2d) 403 (1978).

Order to pay restitution, in amount to be determined later,
authorized “coliection of funds from defendant. Thieme v
State, 96 W (2d) 98, 291 NW (2d) 474 (1980).

973.10 Control and supervision of proba-
tioners. (1) Imposition of probation shall have
the effect of placing the defendant in the custody
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of the department and shall subject the defend-
ant to the control of the department under
conditions set by the court and rules and regula-
tions established by the department for the
supervision of probationers and parolees.

(2) If a probationer violates the conditions of
probation, the department may:

(a) If the probationer has not already been
sentenced, order the probationer brought before
the court for sentence which shall then be im-
posed without further stay, and the sentence
may be concurrent with or consecutive to any
sentence imposed subsequent to the imposition
of the original probation; or

(b) If the probationer has already been sen-
tenced, order the probationer to prison, and the
term of the sentence shall begin on the date the
probationer enters the prison.

(3) A copy of the order of the department
shall be sufficient authority for the officer exe-
cuting-it‘to take the. probationer to court or to
prison. The officer.shall execute the order as a
warrant for arrest but any officer may, without
order or warrant, take the probationer into
custody whenever necessary in order to prevent
escape or. enforce discipline or for violation of
probation. S ,

History: 1971 ¢.298; 1975.¢. 41, 157, 199; 1977 ¢. 347.

Defendant cannot claim that his probation was not validly
revoked for escaping from county jail while awaiting trial on
another offense because he was subsequently acquitted of that
offense. Motions for reconsideration of probation révocation
orders must be ‘made within 90 days. Dobs v. State, 47 W
(2d) 20,176 NW (2d) 289. ° )

" ‘Before probation‘can  be revoked the department must
hold a hearing and make 4 record so that on judicial review it
can be determined whether the department acted arbitrarily
or capricidusly. The hearing need not bé formal. State ex rel.
Johnson v. Cady, 50 W (2d) 540, 185 NW (2d) 306.

Revocation of probation is an integral part of the sentenc-
ing process; hence a defendant is entitled to assistance of
counsel at parole or.probation revocation hearings without re-
gard to whetlier the hearing occursin a sentence withheld or a
ﬁ)stsentence situation. Oestrich v. State, 55 W (2d) 222, 198

W (2d) 664. , ~

Since probation revocation hearings are independent from
the original conviction and sentencing, a judge disqualified in

the original case may preside at the hearing inthe absence of
challenge. State v. Fuller, 57 W (2d) -408, 204 NW- (2d)
452. ’ ‘ : :

Witnesses at a probation-revocation hearing need not be
sworn. State v. Gerard, 57'W (2d) 611, 205:NW-(2d) 374.

ABA Standards Relating to: Probation adopted and ap-
plied. State ex rel Plotkin v. H&SS Dept. 63 W-(2d) 535,
217 NW (2d) 641.. - Co -

See note to 57.06, citing State ex rel. Hanson v. H&SS
Dept.- 64 W.(2d) 367, 219 NW.(2d) 267

While the U.S. Supreme Court in Scarpelli has explicated
that theé rights of a defendant to counsel could arise at both
the. preliminary and final hearing, discretion is specifically
lodged in the state authority charged with responsibility for
administering. State ex rel. Hawkins v. Gagnon, 64 W (2d)
394,219 NW (2d)-252. L .

The-imposition. of sentence subsequent to' revocation of
probation is governed by (2) rather than the general sentenc-
ing statute, 97315 (1), and under (2), a trial court may not
impose: the sentence consecutive to that imposed on a convic-
tion arising between imposition and revocation of the proba-
tion, because the statute requires that the sentence imposed
upon revocation of probation “shall begin on the date he en-
t(ezrg )the prison.” Drinkwater v. State, 69 W.:(2d) 60, 230 NW

126. . - .
"A defendant convicted of taking indecent liberties with a

minor-and sexual perversion, placed on probation, allowed to
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settle in Tennessee, and charged with an attempted sodomy
violation of probation there was denied due process where the
revocation hearing was held in Wisconsin and the H & SS de-
partment refused to allow déposition of his witnesses in Ten-
nessee, because the witnesses’ testimony as to defendant’s ac-
tions on the date of the alleged assault constituted testimony
of a direct and unequivocally exculpatory nature rather than
merely cumulative, character, or background testimony
which might have been adequately presented by deposition or
affidavit. Stateex rel. Harris v. Schmidt, 69 W (2d) 668, 230
NW .(2d) 890

Department of H&SS probation files and records are
public records and admissible as such at probation revocation
hearing. State ex rel. Prellwitz v. Schmidt, 73 W (2d) 35,
242 NW (2d) 227.

Time spent in jail awaiting revocation is deducted from
maximum sentence despite option available to defendant to
spend the time in prison. State ex rel. Solie v. Schmidt, 73 W
(2d) 76, 242 NW(2d) 244

When the department overrules its kearing examiner and
revokes probation, it must provide a statement of the evidence
relied upon and the reasons for revoking probation Ramaker
v. State, 73 W (2d) 563,243 NW (2d) 534.

See note to-Art. I, sec, 11, citing State'v - Tarrell, 74 W
(2d) 647, 247 NW (2d) 696. ’

Trial court had no authority to extend probation of de-
fendant brought before court under (2) State v Balgie, 76
W (2d) 206, 251 NW (2d) 36. )

See note to Art. I, 'sec 1, citing State v. Evans, 77 W (2d)
225,252NW (2d)-664. - .

See note to Art. I, sec. 8, citing State v. Evans, 77 W (2d)
225, 252 NW (2d) 664. X

" Court exceeded jurisdiction by releasing defendant on bail
pending revocation proceedings - State ex rel. DH&SS v.
?;:g%c)l Jud . Cir Ct. 84 W (2d) 707, 267 NW. (2d) 373

Sentencing and probation revocation” under (2), 1975
stats., discussed. Smith v. State, 85 'W (2d) 650, 271 NW
(2d) 20 (1978). .

See note to art. I,’sec. 1, citing State v. Aderhold, 91 W
(2d) 306, 284 NW (2d) 108 (Ct App. 1979). .

See note to art. I, sec. 8, citing State ex rel. Alvarez v
Lotter, 91 W (2d) 329, 283 NW"(2d) 408 (Ct. App. 1979)

See'note to 57.06, citing 65 Atty Gen. 20

See note to Art. I, sec. 8, citing Hahn v. Burke, 430.F (2d)

00.

A probation revocation hearing may be ‘administrative
Retained or appointed counsel must be allowed to participate
Gunsolus v. Gagron, 454 F (2d) 416.

Probation revocation; right to a hearing and to counsel.
1971 WLR 648. ’

Probation and parole revocation in Wisconsin. 1977 WLR

03 :

973.12 Sentence of a repeater. (1) When-
ever. a person charged with a crime will be a
repeater as defined in's. 939.62 if convicted, any
prior convictions may be alleged in the com-
plaint, indictment or information or amend-
ments so alleging at any time before or at
arraignment, and before acceptance of any plea.
The court may, upon motion of the district
attorney, grant a reasonable time to investigate
possible prior convictions  before accepting a
plea.” If such prior convictions are admitted by
the defendant or proved by the state, he shall be
subject to sentence under s 939.62 unless he
establishes that he was pardoned on grounds of
innocence for any crime necessary to constitute
him a repeater. An official report of the F.B.1.
or any other 'governmental agency of the United
States or of this or any other state shall be prima
facie evidence of any conviction or sentence
thereinreported. Any sentence so reported shall
be deemed prima facie to have been fully served
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in actual confinement or to have been served for
such period of time as is shown or is consistent
with the report. The court shall take judicial
notice of the statutes of the United States and
foreign states in determining whether the prior
conviction was for a felony or a misdemeanor.

(2) In every case of sentence under s. 939.62,
the sentence shall be imposed for the present
conviction, but if the court indicates in passing
sentence how much thereof is imposed because
the defendant is a repeater, it shall not constitute
reversible error, but the combined terms shall be
‘construed as a single sentence for the present
conviction.

973.13 ' Excessive sentence, errors cured.
In any case where the court imposes a maximum
penalty in excess of that authorized by law, such
excess shall be void and the sentence shall be
valid only to the extent of the maximum term
authorized by statute and shall stand commuted
without further proceedings.

973.14 Sentence to house of correction.
(1) In addition to the authority in ss. 53.18 and
56.18, prisoners sentenced to a county jail may
be transferred by the sheriff to a house of
correction without court approval.

(2) Prisoners confined in the house of correc-
tion may be transferred by the superintendent of
the house of correctior to the county jail without
court approval.

(3) A prisoner sentenced to a county jail or
the house of correction being held in a county
jail awaiting trial on another charge shall be
deemed to be serving such county jail or house of
correction sentence and shall be given credit on
such sentence as provided in s. 53.43 or 56.19.

History: 1977 ¢. 126.

973.15 Sentence, terms, escapes. (1) All
sentences to the Wisconsin state prisons shall be
for one year or more. Except as otherwise
provided in this section, all sentences commence
at noon on the day of sentence, but time which
elapses after sentence while the convicted of-
fender is at large on bail shall not be computed
as any part of the term of imprisonment.

(2) The court may impose as many sentences
as there are convictions and may provide that
any such sentence be concurrent or that it shall
commence at the expiration of any other sen-
tence. If the convicted offender is then serving a
sentence or is subject to parole revocation pro-
ceedings, the present sentence may provide that
it shall commence at the expiration of the previ-
ous sentence or any sentence resulting from a
revocation of parole.

SENTENCING 973.15

~ (3) Courts may impose sentences to be
served in whole or in part concurrently with a
sentence being served or to be served in a federal
institution or an institution of another state.

(4) When a court orders a sentence to the
Wisconsin state prisons to be served in whole or
in part concurrently with a ‘sentence being
served or to be served in a federal institution or
an institution of another state:

(a) The court shall order the department to
immediately inform the appropriate authorities
in the jurisdiction where the prior sentence is to
be served that the convicted offender is presently
available to commence or resume serving that
sentence; and ;

(b) The trial and commitment records re-
quired under s. 973.08 shall be delivered imme-
diately to the warden or superintendent of the
Wisconsin institution designated as the recep-
tion center to receive the convicted offender
when he or she becomes available to Wisconsin
authorities. v _

(5) A convicted offender who is made avail-

.able to another jurisdiction under ch. 976 or in

any other lawful manner shall be credited with
service. of his or her Wisconsin sentence or
commitment under the terms of s, 973.155 for
the duration of custody in the other jurisdiction.

(6) Sections 53.11 and 57.06 are applicable
to an inmate serving a sentence to the Wisconsin
state prisons but confined in a federal institution
or an institution in another state. Section 53.12
applies only during that portion of the sentence
served in actual residence in a Wisconsin
institution. -

(7) If a convicted offender escapes, the time
during which he or she is unlawfully at large
after escape shall not be computed as service of

the sentence. ,

History: 1973 c. 90; 1977 ¢. 347, 353, 447.

Revisor’s Note:- The following annotations concern s.
973.15, 1975 stats., which was repealed and recreated by ch.
353, laws of 1977.

Where an offender commits a crime while on parole and is
sentenced therefor prior to his return to the state prison, the
sentence determined may not be imposed consecutive to the
earlier sentence from which he was paroled because: (1)
Under (1), .2 consecutive sentence may be imposed to com-
mence at the expiration of a sentence the defendant is “then
serving,” and (2) under 57.072 the earlier sentence does not
recommence until the offender is returned to the institution;
hence, he is not “then serving” when the subsequent sentence
is imposed. Guyton v. State, 69 W (2d) 663, 230 NW (2d)
726.

All pre-sentence confinement because of indigency must
be credited toward sentence imposed. Klimas v. State, 75 W
(2d) 244, 249 NW (2d) 285

Trial court had no authority to impose sentence consecu-
tive to earlier sentence where defendant had not begun to
serve initial sentence. Bruneau v. State, 77 W (2d) 166, 252
NW (2d) 347.

Sentence of 5 years 14 days, subject tg 14 days credit for
pre-sentence confinement, was abuse of sentencing discretion
Struzik v. State, 90 W (2d) 357, 279 NW (2d) 922 (1979).

Court may consider parole eligibility in imposing sen-
tence. State v. Stuhr, 92 W (2d) 46, 284 NW (2d) 459 (Ct.
App. 1979).
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973.15 SENTENCING

Authority to impose. consecutive sentences discussed.

?o;:sal(;son v. State, 93 W (2d) 306, 286 NW (2d) 817
1980

Prisoner was entitled to credit toward his credit for the
good time he would have earned with respect to presentence
time served as a result of his inability to make bail ‘Monsour
v. Gray, 375 F Supp. 786.

State prisoner was entitled to credit for period of precon-
viction detention from date of arrest to date of. trial which

resulted from ﬁnanmal mablhty to meet the bond. Taylor v. -

Gray, 375 F Supp. 7

973.155 Sentence credit. (1) (a) A con-
victed offender shall be given credit toward the
service of his or her sentence for all days spent in
custody in connection with the course of conduct
for which sentence was imposed. As used in this
subsection, “actual days spent in custody’ in-
cludes, without limitation by enumeration, con-
finement related to an offense for which the
offender is ultimately sentenced, or for any

other sentence arising out of the same course of

conduct, which occurs:

1. While the offender is awaiting trial;

2. While the offender is being tried; and

3. While the offender is awaiting imposition
of sentence after trial.

(b) The categories in par. (a) include cus-
tody of the convicted offender which is in. whole
or in part the result of a probation or parole hold
under s. 57.06 (3) or 973.10 (2) placed upon
the person for the same course of conduct as that
resulting in the new conviction.

(2) - After the imposition of sentence,. the

court shall make and enter a specific finding of

the number of days for which sentence credit is
to be granted, which finding shall be included in
the judgment of conviction.
revocation of probation or parole, the depart-
ment shall make such a finding which shall be
included in the revocation order. ;

(3) The credit provided in sub. (1) shall be
computed as if the convicted offender had served
such time in the institution to which he or she
has been sentenced :

“In the case of
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(4) The credit provided in sub. (1) shall
include good time earned under ss. 53.11, 53.43,
56.07 (3) and 56.19 (3), whichever are applica-
ble. The department may promulgate rules
under ch. 227 to provide criteria for the award-
ing of good time allowed under this subsection.

(5) If this section has not been applied at
sentencing to any person who is in custody or to
any person who is on probation or parole, the
person may petition the depaitment to be given
credit under this section. Upon proper verifica-
tion of the facts alleged in the petition, this
section shall be applied retroactively to the
person. If the department is unable to determine
whether credit should be given, or otherwise
refuses to award retroactive credit, the person
may petition the sentencing court for relief.
THis subsection applies to any person, regardless
of the date he or she was sentenced.

History: 1977 ¢. 353; 1979 ¢ 154,

973.16 Time out. If an order or judgment
releasing a_ prisoner on habeas corpus is re-
versed, the time during which he was at liberty

“thereunder shall not be counted as part of his

term.

973.17 Judgment against a corporation.
(1) If a corporation fails to appear within the
time required by the summons, the default of
such corporation may be recorded and the
charge against it taken as true, and judgment
shall be rendered accordingly.

(2) Upon default of the defendant corpora-
tion or upon conviction, judgment for the
amount of the fine shall be entered.

(3) A judgment against a corporation shall
be collected in the same manner as in civil
actions..
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