
CHAPTER 109

WAGE PAYMENTS, CLAIMS AND COLLECTIONS

109.01 Definitions 109.09 Wage claims, collection .
109,03 When wages payable; pay orders . 109 .11 Penalties.
109 .07 M ergers, liquid ations, dispositions, relocations or

cessation of operations affecting employes ; ad-
van ce notice requ ired:

109 :01 Definitions . As used in this chapter : shall be paid all earned wages no less often than
(1) "Department" means the department of at regular quarterly intervals ., Any employe who

industry, labor and human relations, is absent at the time fixed for payment or who
(2) "Employer" means any person engaged for any other reason is not paid at that time shall

in any activity, enterprise or business employing be paid thereafter at any time upon 6 days'
one of more persons within the state, including demand . . The required frequency of wage pay-
the state and its political subdivisions and cnari- ments provided in this subsection does not apply
table, nonprofit or tax-exempt, organizations to :
and institutions. (a) Employes covered under a valid collective

r3j' "Wage" or "wages" mean remuneration bargaining agreement establishing a different
payable to an employe for personal services, frequency for such payments, including deferred
including salaries, commissions ; holiday and va- payments exercised at the option of employes ; or
cation pay, overtime pay, severance pay or dis- (b) School district employes who voluntarily
missal pay, supplemental unemployment com- request payment over a 12-month period for
pensation benefits when required under a personal services performed during the school
binding collective bargaining 'agreement, bo- ,year', unless such school district employes are
nuses and any other similar advantages agreed covered under' a valid collectivee bargaining
upon between the employer, and the employe or agreement which precludes this method of
provided by the employer to the employes as an payment .
established policy . (c) Unclassified emplo,yesof the university of

(4) "Wage deficiency" means the difference Wisconsin system .
between the amount required by law to be paid (2) PAYMENT TO D ISCHARGED OR RESIGNED
and the amount actually paid to an employs . EMPLOYES. Any employs, except a sales agent

History: 1,975 c 380, 4211 employed on a commission basis, not having a
Legislative Council Note, 1975 : Section 109 .01 is the aefi- written contract for a definite period, who quitsnitional section for new ch : 109 of the statutes .. "Employer" is

broadly defined to includee any person or business entity em- employment shall be paid in full within 15 days
toying o ne or more persons, as well as the state ofWisconsin,

rts political subdivis ins, and charitable, nonprofit and tax- of the date of termination, and any employs who
exempt organizations . is discharged shall be paid in full within 3 days . .

The definition of "wages" and "w ag e def ici ency" ar e car- (3) PAYMENT UPON DEATH OF EMPLOYE „ Inrigid over from present s. 101 21 which is repealed and recre-
ated in this bill inch, 109 .. While "wage deficiency" is defined case of the death of an employs to whom wages
identically to present law, the definition of "wages" is ex- are due, the full amount of the wages due shall
panded to specifically include the term "severance pay" and
to clarify that remuneration for both traditional holidays and upon demand be paid by the employer to the
annual employe vacations shall be considered as "`wages" In spouse, children ; or other dependent living with
addition, the definition specifically includes overtime wages
and supplemental unemployment compensation when re- such employs at the time of death . In the case of
qu ired under a collective bargaining agreement . . [Bill 595.-Al an employs of the state, the amount of the wage

due includes all unused vacation allowance,
109.03 When wages payable; pay orders. Any county or municipality may include unused
(1) REQUIRED FREQUENCY OF PAYMENTS . vacation allowances for any employe who died
Every employer shall as often as monthly pay to after January 1, 1961 . An employer may, not
every employs engaged in the employer's bust- less than 5 days after the death of an employs
Hess, except those employes engaged in logging and before the filing of a petition for letters
operations and farm labor, all wages earned by testamentary or of administration in the matter
such employs to a day not more than .31 days of the decedent's estate, make payments of the
prior to the date of such payment . Employes wage due the deceased employs to the spouse,
engaged in logging operations and farm labor children, parent, brother or sister of the dece-
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dent, giving preference in the foregoing order;
or,, if no such relatives survive, the employer , mmay
apply such payment or so much thereof as may
be necessary to paying creditors of ' the decedent
in the order of preference prescribed in s . 859 .25
for satisfaction of debts by executors and admin-
istrators. The making of payment in such man-
ner shalll be a discharge and release of the
employer , to the amount of such payment . .

(4) PAYMENT TO CERTAIN SEPARATED EM-

PLOYES. Whenever' an employe is separated
from the payroll of an employer, as a result of the
employer merging, liquidating or otherwise dis-
posing of the business, ceasing business opera-
tions in whole or in part, or relocating all or part
of the business to another- area within or without
the state, the employer, or the successors in
interest of the employer, shall pay all unpaid
wages to the employe at the usual place of
payment within 24 hours - of the time of
separation

(5) ENFORCEMENT ; SUNDAYS AND HOLI-
DAYS,, Except as provided in sub . (1), no em-
ployer may by special contract with employes or
by any other means secure exemption from this
section : Each employe shall have a right of
action against any employerr for the full amount
of the employe's wages due on each regular pay
day as provided in thiss section, in anyy court of
competent jurisdiction :

(6) WAGE CLAIM In an action by an employe
against the employer on a wage claim, no secur-
ity for payment of costs is required .. In any such
proceeding the court may alloww the prevailing
party, in addition to all other' costs, a reasonable
sum for expenses .. No assignee of a wage claim
shall be benefited or otherwise affected by this
subsection except as expressly provided by s ..
109.09.

History : 1975 c .. 380,421 ;. 1979 c . 26,235,447 ;. 1981 c , 20,
388 .

Legislative Council Note, 1975: Section 109.03 contains
most of the provisions of present s . 103 ..39, but additional sub-
sections have been created for organizational purposes ,

Sub . . (2) is similar to present law except that resigned em-
ployes must be paid in full within 15 days of ' the date of termi-
nation . Present law requires that such employer be paid upon
3 days' demand..

Sub.. (3) sets forth present requirements for final payment
of wages to the relatives or the estates of deceased employer .
Subs. . (5) and (6) relating to court actions on wage claims
and court costs are also substantially identical to present law,
except that the present $10 limitation on the recovery of ex-
penses is eliminated .

Sub. (4) is new and is patterned after Section 28-14-4,
Rhode Island Statutes . Sub. (4) requires an employer who
terminates employer as a result of a merger,, business reloca-
tion, shutdown, or business disposition or liquidation to pay
such employer all unpaid wages within 24 hours after their
services nave been terminated . [Bill 595-A]

109.07 Mergers, liqu idations, disposi-
tions, relocations or cessation of opera-
tions affecting employer; advance notice
required. (1) Every employer employing 100

or' more persons in this state who has decided
upon a merger, liquidation, disposition or relo-
cation within or, without the state, resulting in a
cessation of business operations affecting em-
ployes shall promptly notify the department in
writing of'such action no later than 60 days prior
to the date that such merger, liquidation, dispo-
sition, relocation or cessation takes place.. The
employer shalll provide in writing all information
concerning its payroll, affected employes and
the wages and other remuneration owed to such
employes as the department may require . . The
department may in addition require the em-
ployer, to submit a plan setting forth the manner
in which final payment in full shall be made to
affected employes.

(2) Any employer' who violates sub .. (1), or
who fails or refuses to provide all information or
a plan for, final payment as the department
requires is guilty of a misdemeanorand may be
finedd not more than $50 for each employe whose
employment has been terminated as a result of
such merger, liquidation, disposition, relocation
or cessation of business operations .

History: 19'75 c 38 0 .
Legislative Council Note, 1975: Section Y09 :07 is new ..

Sub : ( 1 ) requires large employers who have decided upon a
merger, relocation, liquidation or disposition resu lting in a
cessa tio n of operations affecti ng the job sec uri ty of employes
to notify the department of in du stry, labor and human rela-
tions of such d ecisional leas t 60 d ays in advance of the date
the m erger, li quidation, d isposi tion, reloca t ion or cessa tion
takes place S uch e mpl oyers are also re quired to supply the
de part ment with certain information on affected empl oyes,
payrolls, e tc.., and, if the department requires, they must sub-
mit a plan for final payment of ail terminat e d employes,:

Sub. (2) p rovi des that violations of the above require-
ments are misdemea nors punishable b y a maximum $50 fine
for eac h employe whose employment is termi na ted as a result
of t h e circ umstances de scribed in sub,(.1) : [B i 1 1595- A]

109.09 Wage claims , collection . (1) The
department shall investigate and' attempt equi-
tably to adjust controversies between employers
and employes as to alleged wage claims . The
department shall enforce this chapter and ss, .
66 ..293, 103 .02, 10 .3 ..49, 103,82 and 104.12. In
pursuance of this duty, it may take an assign-
ment in trust for the assigning employe of any
wage.e claim it deems to be valid or any wage
deficiency, such assignment to run to the depart-
ment.-The department may sue the employer on
any wage claim or wage deficiency so assigned
and ss .,'109 .03 (6) and 109 .11 shall apply to
such actions, . Such actions may be referred to
the district attorney of the county wherein the
violation occurs or the attorney general for
prosecution and collection and the district attor-
ney or attorney general shall commence an
action in the circuit court having appropriate
jurisdiction . , Any number of wage claims or
wage deficiencies against the same employer
may be ,joined in a single proceeding, but the
court may order separate trials or hearings . In
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such cases the taxable costs recovered shall be due and payable as provided in this chapter ' or '
paid into the general fund . falsely denies the amount or validity thereof or -

(2) Pursuant to its authority under sub . . (1) that such wages are due, with intent to secure
to take assignments of wage claims and wage. < any discount upon such indebtedness or with
deficiencies and to maintain actions for ' the intent to annoy, harass, oppress, hinder or de-
benefit of employes, the department shall have a fraud the person to whom such wages are due,
lien: upon all p r operty of the employer, real or may be fined not more than $500 or imprisoned
personal, located in this state for- the full amount not more than 90 days or, both.. Eachh failure or
of any wage claim or wage deficiency . Such lien refusal to pay each employe the amount of
shalll take precedence over all other , debts, judg- wages due at the time, or under the conditions '
ments, decrees, liens or , mortgages against the required in this chapter, constitutes a separate
employer and may be enforced in the manner offense,.
provided in ss,. 409 . 501 to 409,507 and 779 .09 to (2) In addition to the criminal penalties
779,12, insofar ' as such provisions are applica- provided in sub . . (1), every employer' violating
ble . Any such lien shall exist as of the last date this chapter shall be liable for the payment of
on which services were performed for the em- the following increased wages : 10% if the delay
plover and for which wages are due and owing ,, does not exceed 3 days; 20% if the delay is more

History: 1975 c. 380 ; 1979 c . 32 s. 92 (9) . than 3 days, but does not exceed 10 days ; 30% if
Legislative Council Note, 1975: This section is su6stan- the delay is more than 10 days, but does not

flatly the same as presents 101 .,21 (1) which authorizes the
department of industry, labor and human relations to investi- exceed 20 days ; 40% if the delay is more than 20
gate, adjust, take assignments to collect valid wage claims on days, but does not exceed 30 days; 50% if the
behalf of smployes and, if necessary, pursue such collections
in court proceedings However, sub.. (2) is new, and gives the delay is more than 30 days ; but in no event shall
department, pursuant to :its ' authority to accept wage claim such increased liability exceed $500 „
and wage deficiency assignments, a lien on the property of the story: 1975 c . . 380, 421 ; 19777 c. 26:,
employer for the full amount of the wage claim or deficiency .. Legislative Council Note, 1975. Section 109 11, providing

do addition, the present $500 maximum limit on the criminal penalties for employers who fail or refuse to pay
amount of any wage assignment taken by the department has valid wage claims and providing additional liquidated dam-

wage
eliminated, and the department is authorized to refer ' ages to employer when payments are delayed, is substantially

wage assignments to the"attorney general for collection pro- identical to present s .. 103 . 39 (4), except that minimum finesceedings . [Bill 595-A] and prison sentences have been eliminated and the maximum
fine is increased from $100 to $500 , In addition, the maxi-

109.11 Penalties. (1) Any employer, who, mum amount of liquidated damages that an emplo e may re-

having the ability to pay, fails to pay the wages
cover is increased from $ 100 to $500, [Bill 595 -Aj~
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