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CHAPTER 973
SENTENCING'
973,01 .. Indeterminate sentence; Wisconsin state prisons. 973.076 - Forfeiture: proceedings.
973.015 - Misdemeanors, special disposition. 973.077- Burden of proof; liabilities.
973.02- - Place of imprisonment when none expressed. 973.08 : Records accompanying prisoner.
973.03  Jail sentence. . 973.09  Probation.
973.04  Credit for imprisonment under earlier sentence for ~ 973.10 . Control and-supervision of probationers.
the same crime. 97312 . Sentence of a repeater.
973.05  Fines. 973.13  Excessive sentence, errors cured.
973,055 Domestic abuse assessments. 973.14. - Sentence to house of correction.
973.06 Costs. ‘ 973.15 - Sentence, terms, escapes.
973.07 - Failure to pay fine or costs. 973.155 “Sentence credit.
973.075 - Forfeiture of property derived from crime and cer- 973,16, - Time out.
.  tain vehicles. 973.17

Judgment against a corporation.

973.01 Indeterminate sentence; Wiscon-
sin state prisons. (1) (a) If imprisonment in
the Wisconsin state prisons for a term of years is
iniposed, the court may fix a term less than the
prescribed maximum. The form of such sen-
tence shall be substantially as follows: “You are
hereby sentenced to the Wisconsin, state prisons
for an indeterminate term of not more than ...
(the: maximum as fixed by the court) years”,

(b) The sentence shall have the effect of a
sentence at hard labor for the maximum term
fixed by the court, subject to the power of actual
release from confinement by parole by the de-
partment or by pardon as provided by law. Ifa
person is sentenced for a definite time for an
offense for which he may be sentenced under
this section, he is in legal effect sentenced as
required by this section, said definite time being
the maximum period. A defendant convicted of
a crime for which the minimum penalty is life
shall be sentenced for life. "

(2) Upon the recommendation of the depart-
ment, the governor may, without the procedure
required by-ch. 57, discharge absolutely, or upon
such conditions and restrictions and under such
limitation as he thinks proper, any inmate com-
mitted to the Wisconsin state prisons after he
has served the minimum term‘of punishment
prescribed by law for the offense for which he
was sentenced, except that if the term was life
imprisonment, 5 years must elapse after parole
before siich a recommendation can be made to
the governor. ‘Such discharge shall have the
effect of -an absolute or conditional pardon,
respectively. : o v

(8) Female persons convicted of a felony

may be committed to the Taycheedah corre¢4

tional institution.

l“ﬂistory: "1973¢.90; 1975 ¢. 1895.99 (1); 1975 ¢. 224 s.
m. L ) i
The-supreme court adopts Standard 2.3 (c) of the ABA

Standards Relating to Appellate ‘Review of Sentences,

thereby requiring the sentencing judge to state for the record
in the presence of the defendant the reasons for selecting the
particular senterice imposed or, if the sentencing judge deems
it in the interest of the defendant not to state his reasons in the
presence of the defendant; to prepare a statement for trans-
mission to the reviewing court as part of the record. Mc-
Cleary v. State, 49. W (2d) 263, 182 NW (2d) 512.

Itis not.a denial of ‘equal treatment to sentence a defend-
ant to 4 years imprisonment although other persons involved
(all minors) received lesser or no punishment. Statev. Schilz,
50 W (2d).395, 184 NW (2d) 134...

-~ An abuse of-discretion, as it relates to sentencing proce-
dures, will be found only where there is no rational basis for
the imposition of the sentence or these rationale are not ar-
ticulated in, or inferable from, the record, or where discretion
is.exercised on the basis of clearly irrelevant or improper fac-
tors. Davis v, State, 52 W (2d) 697, 190 NW (2d) 890.

-Tt is niot an abuse of discretion to sentence a mature man to
7 years in grison for a sex offense against a 5 year old boy.
Bastian'v. State, 54 W (2d) 240, 194 NW (2d§ 687.

Trial court increase of the defendant’s sentence based
solely on“‘reflection”, did not constitute a valid basis for mod-
ification of a sentence, because this was not a “new factor”
justifying a more severe sentence, a prerequisite for sentence
reevaluation. Scott v. State, 64 W (2d) 54, 218 NW (2d)
350. o

The trial court must take into consideration the time the
defendant has spent in preconviction custody. Such consider-
ation must be given even though the time spent in custody
when added to the senténce would be less than the maximum.
State v. Tew, 54 W-(2d) 361, modified by making such con-
sideration mandatory rather than permissive. Byrd v.'State,
65 W (2d) 415, 222 NW'(2d) 696.

Where the preconviction time in jail added to the sentence
imposed does not reach the maximum possible under the stat-
ute, the rule in:Byrd and the credit it gives is inapplicable.
State v. Seals, 65 W (2d) 434, 223 NW (2d) 158.

Defendant’s contention that he is being punished 3 times
for carrying a weapon on the night in question is erroneous.
He was convicted and sentenced for 3 acts. Ruff v. State, 65
W (2d) 713, 223 NW (2d) 446.

Sentence of the maximum 5 years in prison is reduced to
reflect 89 days of a total 118 days of pretrial incarceration
during which time defendant was unable to raise bail because
of indigency. Wilkins v. State, 66 W (2d) 628,225 NW (2d)
492,

A defendant’s change in attitude or rehabilitative progress
subsequent to sentencing -is-a factor to be considered by the
department of health and social services in determining parole
but is not a proper consideration upon which a trial court
might base a reduction of sentence. State v. Wuensch, 69 W
(2d) 467,230 NW (2d) 665.

The rule of Byrd (65 W (2d) 415) is not applicable to
confinement during nonworking hours imposed subsequent to
conviction asa condition of a 8probation which is later revoked.
State v. Wills, 69 W (2d) 489, 230 NW (2d) 827.

The trial court’s modification and making concurrent of
certain of defendant’s sentences for burglary was proper on
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the basis that subsequent to imposition of sentence the
supreme court determined in Edelman v. State (62 W (2d)
613) that a prison sentence has a minimum parole eligibility
of one-year, because at the original sentencing hcanng, the
state emphasized eligibility for “instant parole” as a reason
for the imposition of a substantial sentence on the first count
and consecutive sentences on the other counts. Kutchera v.
State, 69 W (2d) 534, 230 NW (2d) 750.

A defendant financially unable to make bail who i is con-
victed of multiple offenses and given the statutory maximum
for each offense, with sentences imposed to run concurrently,
must be credited with his presentence incarceration as having
received the maximum allowable sentence, since each sen-
tence is considered separately, and the fact that the trial court
chose to impose the sentences concurrently rather than con-

secutively does not alter the fact that.each sentence was the
maximum provided by law. Mitchellv. State, 69 W (2d) 695
230 NW (2d) 884.

Although evidence concerning the mcxdents of sexual ac-
tivity abroad was. rel as to.d ’s. character and
thus admissible at the sentencing hearing; the trial court
abused its discretion by punishing defendant not only for the
crime of which he stood convicted, but for the events which
occurred outside Wisconsin, as indicated by the fact that both
sentencing hearings were devoted largely to these foreign inci-
dents. Rosado v. State, 70 W (2d) 280, 234 NW (2d) 69.

Trial court exceeded jurisdiction by specifying conditions
<(>f ér;eg;oeratxon State v. Gibbons, 71 W.(2d) 94, 237 NW

2 .

‘Plea bargain agreements by law enforcement officials not
to reveal relevant and-pertinent information to- sentencing
judge are unenforceable as being against publlc policy. - Grant
v. State, 73-W (2d) 441, 243.NW (2d) 18

Chronic offenses of theft by fraud by promxsmg to marry
several persons provide a rational basis for lengthy. sentence.
Lambert v. State, 73-W (2d) 590, 243 NW (2d) 524. ,

Sentencing judge does not deny due process by considering

nding criminal charges in determmmg sentence, Scope of
Judicial inquiry prior to di Handel v.
State, 74.W (2d) 699,247 NW (2d) 711.

See note to Art I, sec. 8, citing Holmes v, State 76 W (2d)
259, 251 NW (2d).56.

See note to Art. I, sec. 8 cltmg lellams v. State, 79 W
(2d) 235,255 NW (2d)

Where consecutive sentences are imposed, pretrial incar-
ceratlon due to indigency should be credited as time served on

dy one sentence. Wilson v. State; 82 W (2d) 657, 264 NW

Courts may correct formal or clerical errors or an illegal
sentence at any time. Krueger v. State, 86 W (2d) 435,272
NW (2d) 847 (1979). .

Trial court did not abuse discretion durmg resentencing
where it refused to give defendant credit for time served on
unrelated conviction which was voided, Statev. Allison, 99 W
(2d) 391,298 NW. (2d). 286 (Ct. App..1980).

See note 'to 971.08; citing State v. Johnson, 105 W (2d)
657 314 NW. (2d) 897, (Ct..App. 1981).

Prosecutor is relieved from terms of plea agreement where
it- is judicially determined that defendant has materially
breached its conditions. State v. Rivest, 106 W (2d) 406, 316
NW (2d).395 (1982):

-In fixing sentence within statutory hmlts Judge may con-
sider defendant’s false testimony observed by Judge dunng
trial. United States v. Grayson, 438 US 41 (1978

Appellate sentence review. - 1976 WLR. 655.

973.015 Misdemeanors, special disposi-
tion. (1) When a person under the age of 21 at
the time of the commission of an offense for
which the person has been found guilty in a
court for violation of a law for which the maxi-
mum penalty is imprisonmeént for.one year or
less in the county jail, the court may order at the
time of sentencing that the record bé expunged
upon successful completion of the sentence if the
court determines the person will benefit’ and
society will not be harmed by this disposition.
(2) A person has successfully completed the
sentence if the person has not been convicted of a
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subsequent offense and, if on probation, such
probation has not been revoked. Upon success-
ful completion of the sentence the detaining or
probationary authority shall issue a certificate
of discharge which shall be forwarded to the
court of record and which shall have the effect of
expunging the record.

History: 1975 ¢. 39; 1975 c. 189 5. 105; 1975 ¢. 199.

‘Expunge” under this section means to strike or obliterate
from the record all references to defendant’s name.and iden-
tity.. 67 Atty. Gen, 301.

Circuit courts do not possess inherent powers to expunge
or deéstroy conviction records. 70 Atty. Gen. 115.

873.02 Place of imprisonment when none
expressed. When a statute authorizes impris-
onment for its violation but does not prescribe
the place of imprisonment, 1) a sentence of less
than one year shall be to the county jail, 2) a
sentence of more than one year shall bé to the
Wisconsin state prisons and the minimum under
the -indeterminate sentence law shall be one
year, and 3) a sentence of one year may. be to
either the Wisconsin state prisons or the county
jail. But in'any proper case sentence and com-
mitment may nevertheless be to the department
or any house of correction or other institution as
provided by law.
History: 1973 c. 90.

See note, t0.939.60, citing State ex rel. McDonald v. Doug-
las Cty. Cir. Ct. 100 W (2d) 569, 302 NW (2d) 462 (1981).

973.03 Jail sentence. (1) If at the time of
passing sentence upon a defendant who is to be
imprisoned in a county jail, there is no jail in the
county suitable for said defendant, the court
may sentence him to any suitable county jail in
the state. The expenses of supportmg him there
shall be borne by the county in whxch the crime
was committed.

(2) A defendant sentenced to the Wisconsin
state prisons. and -to a county jail or house of
correction for separate crimes shall serve all
sentences whether concurrent or consecutive in
the state prisons.

History: 1971.c. 298.

973.04 - Credit for imprisonment under
earlier sentence for the same crime. When
a sentence is vacated and .a new, sentence is
imposed upon the defendant for the same crime,
the department shall credit the defendant with
confinement theretofore served and good time, if
any, earned by the defendant pursuant to ss.
53.11 and 53.12 while so confined. .

973.05 Fines. (1) When a defendant is sen-
tenced to pay a fine, the court may grant permis-
sion for the payment of the fine, of the penalty
assessment imposed by s. 165.87, any applicable
domestic abuse assessment imposed by s.




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

5265

973.055, any applicable driver improvement
surcharge imposed by s. 346.655, any applicable
natural resources assessment imposed by ‘s.
29.997 ‘and any applicable natural resources
restitution payment imposed by s::29.998 to be
made within a period-not to exceed 60 days. If
no such permission is embodied in the sentence,
the fine, the penalty assessment, any applicable
domestic abuse assessment, any. applicable
driver improvement surcharge, any applicable
natural resources assessment and any applicable
natural resources restitution payment shall be
payable 1mmed1ately

(1m) If the court orders payment of restitu-
tion and a fine and related payments under s.
973.09 (1) (b), the court may authorize a
payment period in excess of 60 days.

{2) When a defendant is sentenced to pay a
fine and is also-placed on probation, the court
may make the payment.of the fine, the pénalty
assessment; any applicable domestic abuse as-
sessment, any applicable driver improvement
surcharge, any apphcable natural resources as-
sessment and ‘any applicable natural resources
restitution-payments a condition of probation.
When the payments are made a condition of
probation by the court, payments thereon shall
be applied first to payment of the penalty assess-
ment until paxd in full; shall then be applied to
payment of the driver improvement surcharge
until paid in full, shall then be applied to_pay-
ment of the domestic. abuse assessment until
paid in full, shall then be applied to payment of
the ‘natural resources assessment if applicable
until paid-in full, shall then be applied. to pay-
ment-of the natural resources restitution pay-
ment until paid in full and shall then be applied
to payment of the fine.

(3) (a) In lieu of part orall of a fine imposed
by a court; the court may stay the execution of
part or all of the sentence and provide that the
defendant  perform. community service: work
under pars. (b) and (¢). The amount of the fine
actually paid, if any, shall be used to determine
any applicable assessment or surcharge under
sub.(1). If the defendant fails to comply with
the community service order,  the court:shall
order the.defendant brought before the court for
imposition of sentence. . If the defendant com-
.blies with the community service order, he or:she
has satisfied that-portion of the sentence.

(b) The court may requlre that the defendant
perform community service ' work for a public
agency or a nonprofit charitable organization.
-The number of hours of work required may not
exceed what would be reasonable considering
‘the ‘seriousness ‘of ‘the offense-and any other
offense which is read into the record at the time
of conviction. An order imay only apply if agreed

SENTENCING 973.06

to by the defendant and the organization or
agency. The court shall ensure that the defend-
ant is provided a written statement of the terms
of the community service order and that the
community service order is monitored.

(c) Any organization or agency acting in
good faith to which a defendant is assigned
pursuant to an order under this subsection has
immunity from any civil liability in excess of
$25,000 for acts or omissions by or impacting on
the defendant.

History: 1977.c. 29; 1979 c. 34, 111; 1981 c. 20, 88, 352.
See note to Art. I, sec. 8, citing State ex rel. Pedersen v.

‘Blessmger S6 W (2d) 286, 201 NW (2d) 778.

Trial courts are encouraged to use instalment method
when dealing with indigent defenders; instalment period ma;
exceed 60 days, Will v. State, 34 W (2d) 397,267 NW (2d¥
357 (1978).

Court cannot impose probatlon or order defendant to per-

. form community work in lieu of i nnposmg statutorily-required

minimum jail sentence. OAG 12-82

973.055 Domestic abuse assessments.
(1) On or after May 1, 1980, if a court imposes
a fine, the court shall determine whether the
criminal conduét involved domestic abuse; as
defined in s: 46.95 (1) (a). If the court makes
the finding, it shall impose a  domestic abuse
assessment, in addition to the fine and penalty
assessment, in an amount of 10% of the fine
imposed. - If multiple offenses are involved, the
domestic abuse assessment shall be based on the
total fine for all offenses which involved domes-
tic abuse::If a fine is suspended, the domestic
abuse assessment shall be reduced in proportron
to the suspension.

{2) After the court determines the amount
due, the clerk of the court shall collect and
transmit the amount to the county treasurer as
provided in's. 59.395/(5). The county treasurer
shall then make payment to the state tréasurer
as provided in s: 59.20 (5) (b). '

(8) All moneys collected from domestic
abuse assessments shall be deposited by the state
treasurer in s. 20.435 (2) (hh) and utilized in

accordance with's. 46.95.
“History: 1979¢. 1115 1979 ¢. 221 s. 2202 (20); 1979¢.
355; 1981 . 20 5. 2202.(20) (s).

973 06 Costs. {1) The costs taxable against
the defendant shall consist of the followmg items
and no-others:

(a) The necessary: dlsbursements and fees of
officers allowed by law and incurred in connec-
tion with the arrest, -preliminary examination
and trial of the:defendant, including, in the
discretion of the court, the fees and disburse-
ments of the agent-appeinted to return a defend-

-ant from another state or country.

(b) Feesand travel allowance of witnesses for
the state at the preliminary exammatlon and-the
trial. .
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. (¢) Fees and disbursements allowed by the
court to expert witnesses. Section 814.04 (2)
shall not apply in criminal cases.

(d) Fees and travel allowance of witnesses for
the defense incurred by the county at the request
of the defendant, at the preliminary hearing and
the trial.

(e) Attorney fees payable to the defense
attorney by the county or the state.

(2) The court may remit the taxable costs, in
whole or in part.

(83) If the court orders payment of restitution
as a condition of probation; collection of costs
shall be as provided under s. 973.09 (1g) and
(1m).

History:
1981 c. 352.

~See note to §14.51; citing State v. Foster, 100 W (2d) 103,
301'NW (2d) 192 (1981). -

Right to counsel; repayment of cost of court-appointed
counsel as a condition of probation. 56 MLR 551.

Sup. Ct. Order, 67 W (2d) 784; 1979 c. 356;

973.07 Failure to pay fine or costs. If the
fine; ‘costs,. penalty assessment, applicable do-
mestic. abuse assessment. payment, applicable
driver improvement surcharge payment, appli-
cable natural resources assessment or applicable
natural resources restitution payment are not
paid-as required by the sentence, the defendant
may be committed. to the county jail until the
fine, costs, penalty assessment, applicable do-
mestic abuse assessment payment, applicable
driver improvement surcharge payment, appli-
cable natural resources assessment or applicable
natural resources restitution payment are paid
or discharged for a period fixed by the court not

to exceed 6 months.

History: = 1977 ¢. 29; 1979 c. 34 111; 1981 ¢.20.

See note. to Art. I, sec. 8, citing State ex rel. Pedersen v
Blessmger, 56 W (2d) 286, 201 NW (2d) 778.

Where fine and payment schedule are reasonably suited to
offender 's. means, offender carries heavy burden of showin
gnsa7b1(hltg tg)pay Will v, State, 84 W (Zd{ 397,267 NW (2d§

973.075 Forfelture of property derived
from crime and certain vehicles. (1) The
following are subject to seizure and forfelture
under ss. 973.075 to 973.077:

(a) All property, real or personal, including
money, directly or indirectly derived from or
realized through the commission of any crime.

(b) All vehicles, as defined in s. 939.22 (44),
which are used to transport any property or
weapon used or.to be used or received :in the
commission of any felony, but:

1. No vehicle used by any person as a common
carrier in the transaction of business as a com-
mon- carrier is' subject to forfeiture under ss.
973.075 to 973.077 unless it appears that the
owner or other person in charge of the vehicle
had knowledge of or consented to the commis-
sion of the felony; .
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2. No vehicle is subject to-forfeiture under ss.
973.075 to 973.077 by reason of any act er
omission established by the owner of the vehicle
to have been committed or omitted without his
or her knowledge or consent; and

3. A forfeiture of a vehicle encumbered by a
bona fide perfected security interest is subject to
the interest of the secured party if he or she
neithér had knowledge of nor consented to the
act or-omission.

(2) A law enforcement officer may seize
property subject to this section upon process
issued by any court of record having jurisdiction
over the property. Seizure without process may
be made under any of the following
circumstances:

(a) The seizure is incident to an arrest or a
search under a search warrant or an inspection
under any admmxstratwe or special inspection
warrant

(b) The propexty subject to seizure has been
the subject of .a prior ]udgment in favor of the
state.

(¢) The officer has. probable cause to-believe
that the property is directly or indirectly danger-

ous to health or safety.

(d)- The officer has probable cause to believe
that the property was derived from or realized
through a crime or that the property is a vehicle
which was used to transport any property or
weapon, used or to be used or received in the
commission of any felony.

(8) If there is a seizure under sub. (2),
proceedings under s. 973.076 shall be instituted.
Property seized under this section is not subject
to replevin, but is deemed to be in the custody of
the sheriff of the county in which the seizure was
made subject only to the orders and decrees of
the court having jurisdiction over the forfeiture
proceedings. When property is seized under this
section, the person seizing the property may do

any of the following:

(a) Place the property under seal.

(b) Remove the property to a place desig-
pated by it.

(¢) Requlre the sheriff of the county in which
the seizure was made to take custody of the
property and remove it to an appropriate loca-
tion. for disposition in accordance with law.
::{(4) ‘When property is- forfeited under ss.
973.075 t0 973.077, the agency seizing the prop-
erty.may sell the property that is not required by
law to be destroyed or transferred to another
agency. The agency may retain any vehicle for
official use or sell the vehicle. The agency
seizing the property may deduct 50% of the
amount received for administrative expenses of
seizure, maintenance of custody, advertising
and court costs and the costs of investigation and
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prosecution reasonably incurred. The remain-
der shall be deposited in the school fund as the
-proceeds of the forfeiture. If the property
forfeited under ss. 973.075 t0973.077 is money,
all the money shall be deposited in the school
fund.

(5) All forfeitures under ss. 973.075 to
973.077 shall be made with due provision for the
rights of innocent persons. Any property seized
but not forfeited shall be returned to its rightful
owner. Any person claiming the right to posses-
sion of property seized may apply for its return
to the circuit court for the county in which the
proper ty was seized. The court shall order such
notice as it deems adequate to be given the
district attorney and all persons who have or
may have an interest in the property and shall
hold a hearing to hear all claims to its true
ownership. If'the right to possession is proved to
the court’s satisfaction, 1t shall order the prop-
erty returned if:

(a) The property is not needed as evidence or,
if needed, satisfactory arrangements can be
made for its return for subsequent use as ‘evi-
dence, or

(b) All proceedings in which it mlght be
requu red have been completed

(6) Sections 973.075 t0 973.077 do not apply
to crimes committed under ch. 161,
History: 1981 c. 267.

973. 076 Forfelture proceedmgs. (1) Type
OF ACTION; WHERE BROUGHT. An action
brought to cause the forfeiture ‘of any property
specified in s. 973.075 (1) is an action in rem.
The circuit court.for the county in which the
property was seized shall have exclusive juris-
diction over any proceedings regarding the
property.

(2). COMMENCEMENT. (a) The district attor-
ney of the county within which the property was
seized or in which the defendant is convicted
shall. commencc,the forfeiture action within 30
days after the seizure of the property or the date
of conviction, ‘whichever is earlier, except that
the defendant may request that the forfeiture
proceedmgs be adjourned until after adjudica-
tion of any chaige concerning a crime which was
the basis for the seizure of the property. The
request shall be granted. The forfeiture action
shall be commenced by filing 2 summons, com-
plaint and affidavit of the person who seized the
property with the clerk of circuit court and by
serving authentrcatcd copies of such papers
upon the person from whom the property was
seized and upon any person known to have a
bona fide perfected security interest in the prop-
erty. Service shall be made in accordance with

ch. 801,

SENTENCING 973.09

_ (b) Upon service of an answer, the action
shall be set for hearing within 60 days of the
service of the answer but may be continued for
cause or upon stipulation of the parties.

(c¢) In counties having a population of
500,000 or more, the district attorney or the
corporation counsel may proceed under par.
(a). '

(3) BurDEN OF PROCF. The state shall have
the burden of satisfying or convincing to a
reasonable certainty by the greater weight of the
credible evidence that the property is subject to
forfeiture under s, 973.075 to 973 077.

History: 1981 c. 267.

973.077 Burden of proof; liabilities. (1) It
is not -necessary for the state to negate any
exemption or exception regarding any crime in
any complaint, information, indictment or other
pleading or in any trial, hearing or other pro-
¢eeding under s. 973.076. The burden of proof
of any exemption or exceptron is upon the person
claiming it.

(2) In the absence of proof that a person is
the duly authorized holder of an appropriate
federal registration or-order form, the person is
presumed not to be the holder of the registration
or form. The burden of proof is upon the person
to rebut the presumption.

(3) No liability is imposed by ss. 973.075 to
973.077 upon any authorized law enforcement
officer or employe engaged in the lawful per-

formance of duties.
History: 1981 c. 267.

973.08 Records accompanying prisoner.
(1) When any defendant is sentenced to the
state prisons, a copy of the judgment of convic-
tion shall be delivered by the officer executing
the judgment to the warden or superintendent of
the institution when the prisoner is delivered.

(2) The transcript of any portion of the
proceedings relatingto the prisoner’s sentencing
shall be filed at the institution within 120 days
from the date sentence is imposed.

(8) The transcript of all other testimony and
proceedings upon order of a court shall be
delivered to a prisoner within 120 days of his or
her request. '

{4) The transcript of all other testimony and
proceedings upon order of a court shall be
delivered to the department within 120 days of
its request. .

{8) The clerk of court shall file or deliver a

transcnpt under sub. (2), (3) or (4).
History: 1971 c. 298 s. 26 (1); 1977 ¢. 187;-Sup. Ct.
Order, eff 1-1- 80 1979c ‘221,

973.09 Probatlon. (1) (a) Except as pro-
vided in par. (¢)-or if probation is prohibited for

™




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

973.09 SENTENCING

a particular offense by statute, if a person is
convicted of a crime, the court, by order, may
withhold sentence or impose sentence under.s.
973.15 and stay its execution, and in either case
place the person on probation to the department
for a stated period, stating in the order the
reasons therefor. The court may impose any
conditions which appear to be reasonable and
appropriate. The period of probation may be
made consecutive to a sentence on a different
charge, whether imposed at the same time or
previously.

(b) If the court places the person on proba-
tion, the court shall require restitution designed
to compensate the victim’s pecuniary loss result-
ing from the crime to the extent possible, unless
the court finds there is substantial reason not io
order restitution as a condition of probation. If
the court does not require restitution to be paid
to a victim, the court shall state its reason on the
record. A court may require that restitution be
paid to an insurer or surety which has paid any
claims or benefits to or on behalf of the victim.
If the court does require restitution,:jt shall
specify the amount consistent with sub. (1m)
and shall notify the department of justice of its
declsmn if the victim may be eligible for com-
pensanon under ch. 949. If the court places the
person on probation, it shall require the proba-
tioner to-pay a surchaxge equal to 5% of the
total amount of any restitution, costs, attorney
fees and any fines and related payments ordered
under s. 973.05 (1) to the clerk of circuit court
or the department of health and social services,
as applicable under sub. (1m), for administra-
tive expenses. undet this sectlon

(¢) When a person is convicted of the crime
specified in s. 940.01, the court shall not place
the person on pzobatxon

(1g) If the court places the person on proba-
tion, the court may require that the probationer
reimburse the county or the state, as apphcable
for.any costs for legal representation to the
county or the state for the defense of the case. In
order to receive this rexmbursement the county
or the state public defender shall provide a
statement of its costs of legal representation to
the defendant and court within the time period
set ‘for documenting the pecuniary loss of the
victim under sub. (1m) (b). The time period
does not apply to statements of costs for legal
representation by private attorneys appointed
under s. $77.08."

“(1m) (a) In determining the amount and
meéthod of payment of restitution;, the court shall
consider the financial resources and future abil-
ity ‘of the probationer to pay.. The court may
provide for payment of restitution to the victim
up to.but not in excess of the pecuniary loss
caused by the offense. The. probationer may

5268

assert any defense that he or she could raise ina
civil action for the loss sought to be compensated
by the restitution order.. If the court also orders
payment of fines, related payments under s.
973.05 and costs under s. 973.06, it shall set the
amount of fines, related payments and costs in
conjunction with the amount of restitution and
issue a single order, s1gned by the judge, cover-
ing all payments required as a condition of
probation. If the costs for legal representation
by a private attorney appointed under s. 977.08
are not established at the time of issuance of the
order, the court may revise the order to include
those costs at a later time. The court shall
consider the interest of the victim in receiving
restitution when determining whether to order
payment of costs.

_(b) Upon the order of the court, the district
attomey, the department of health and social
services or an official of a law enforcement
agency, as defined in s. 165.83 (1) (b), shall
document, within 30 days or a different period
of time specified by the court, the nature and
amount of the victim’s pecuniary loss. Upon the
application of any interested party, the court
shall schedule and hold an evidentiary hearing
to determine the value of the victim’s pecuniary
loss resulting from the offense or the amount of
any payment ordered under par. (a). No hear-
ing is required unless this application is made.

(c) The court shall not establish a payment
schedule extending beyond the maximum term
of probation that could have been imposed for
the offense under sub. (2). Payments shall be
applied first to satisfy the ordered restitution in
full, then to pay any fines and related payments
undeér 5. 973.05, then to pay costs other than
attorney fees and finally to reimburse county or
state costs of legal representation. v

(d) Payment of restitution, costs, attorney
fees, fines and related payments under s. 973.05
ordered under this section shall be to the depart-
ment of health and social services, unless the
county board authorizes that payments in the
county shall be to the clerk of circuit court. The
clerk or the department shall establish a sepa-
rate account for each pr obationer for the collec-
tion and disbursement of funds. 'A portion of
each payment shall be considered the surcharge
for admmlstratwe expenses under sub. (1) (b).

, v(e) The clerk or the department shall notify
the court if the probationer does not make the
payments required by the court. If the clerk is
acting ‘under this subsection, he or, she shall
notify the department of any such
noncompliance.

(1r) If restitution is ordered for a merchant
who has had merchandise stolen or has other-
wise been wrongfully deprived of his or her




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

5269

merchandise, the merchant’s pecuniary loss
shall be the retail value of the merchandise.

(2) The original term of probation shall be:

(a) For misdemeanors, not less than 6
months, nor more than 2 years; ,

(b) For felonies, not less than one year nor
more than either the statutory maximum term
of i impr isonment for the crime or 3 years, which-
.ever.is greater:

(3) (a) Prior to the expiration of any proba-
tion period, the court, for cause and by order,
may. extend - probation: for a.stated period or
modify the terms and conditions thereof.

.(b) If restitution has been required, the clerk
or the department, as applicable- under. sub.
(1m), shall notify the sentencing court of the
status of the ordered payments at least 90 days
before the probation expiration date. If the
clerk is acting under sub. (1m), he or she shall
give the department the same notification. -If
payment as ordered has not been made, the
court shall-hold a probation review hearing prior
to the expiration date, unless the hearing is
voluntarily waived by the probationer-with the
knowledge that waiver may result in an exten-
sion of the probation period or in‘a revocation of
probation. A probationer shall not be dis-
charged from probation until the court deter-
_mines that payment of the ordered restitution,
costs, attorney fees, fines and related payments
under s. 973.05_has been made or that there is
substantial ieason ‘not -to contmue to require
payment

(4) The court may also require as a condition
of probation that the probationer be confined in
the county jail between the hours or periods of
his employment during such portion of his term
of probation as the court specifies, but not to
exceed -one year and the court shall require him
to pay the costs as provided in s. 56.08 (4).
‘While -confined pursuant to this subsection he
shall be subject to all the rules of the jail and the
discipline of the sheriff.

(4m) If the defendant is placed on probation,
the court shall determine if restitution would be
an appropriate condition of probatlon If resti-

‘tution is ordered; the court shall inquire to see if

an award has been made under ch. 949 and if the
department of justice is subrogated to the cause
of -action under s. 949.15. ' If the restitution
ordered is less than or equal to the award under
ch. 949, the restitution shall be paid only to the
general fund. If the restitution ordered is
greater than'the award under ch, 949, the gen-
eral fund shall receive an amount equal to the
award under ch. 949 and the balance shall be
paid. to the victim.

-(8) When the probatloner has satlsﬁed the
conditions of his  probation, he shall be dis-
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charged and the department shall issue him a
certificate of final discharge, a copy of which
shall be filed with the clerk.

(6) If a crime victim is paid an award under

ch. 949 for any loss arising out of a criminal act,
the state is subrogated to the rights of the victim
to any restitution required as a condition of
probation by the court. The rights of the state
are subordinate to the claims of victims who
have suffered a loss arising out of the offenses or
any transaction which is part of the same contin-
uous scheme of criminal activity.
- {7)- Requiring restitution as a condition of
probation does not limit or impair the right of a
victim 'to sue.and recover damages from the
probatloner in a civil action. The facts that
restitution was required or paid are not admissi-
ble as evidence in a civil action and have no legal
effect on the merits of a civil action. Any
restitution paid by the probationer to the victim
shall be set off against any judgment in favor of
the victim in a civil action arising out of the facts
or evénts which were-the basis for the restitu-
tion. - The court trying the civil action shall hold
a separateé hearing to'determine the validity and
amount of any setoff asserted by the defendant.

(7m) (a) The court may require as a condi-
tion of probation that the probationer perform
community service work for a public agency or a
nonprofit charitable organization. The number
of hours of work required may not exceed what
would be reasonable considering the seriousness
of the offense and any other offense which is
read into the record at the time of conviction.
An order may only apply if agreed to by the
probationer and the organization or agency.
The court shall ensure that the probationer is
provided a written statement of the terms of the
commumty service order and that the commu-
nity service order is monitored.

(b) .Any organization or agency acting in
good faith to which a probationer is assigned
pursuant to-an order under this subsection has
immunity from any civil liabillty in excess. of
$25,000 for acts. or omissions by or impacting on
the probationer.

(8) In this section, “pecuniary loss” means:

(a) All special damages, but not general
damages, substantiated by evidence in -the
record, which a person could recover against the
probationer in a civil action arising out of the
facts or events constituting the probationer’s

~.criminal activities, including, without limitation

because of enumeration, the money equivalent
of loss resulting from property taken, destroyed,
broken or otherwise harmed and out-of-pocket
losses, such as medical expenses; and

(b) Reasonable out-of-pocket expenses in-
curred by the victim resulting from the filing of
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charges or cooperating in the investigation and

prosecution of the offense.

History: 1971¢.298;1979¢.119, 189,238, 355,356, 1981
¢. 50, 88, 326, 352, 391.

Judicial Council Note, 1981: A cross-referencetos.973.15
has been inserted to clarify that the provisions of that statute
govern the imposition of sentence even though the court stays
execution of the sentence under this statute:: [Bill 341-A]

Subsequent to conviction for escape of a defendant previ-
ously convicted of burglary and placed on probation with con-
dition of incarceration pursuant to (4), the trial court did not
abuse its discretion in granting a new trial in the interest of
justice, -since defendant’s temporary -absconding occurred
during a release period, and he therefore was not in custody
within the meaning of 946.42 (5) (b). Statev. Schaller, 70
W (2d) 107, 233 NW (2d)416. ..

Terminology of work-release under (4) and Huber law
privileges under 56.08 cannot be used interchangeably with-
out danger of i mappropnate semence Yingling v. State, 3W
(2d) 438, 243 NW (2d) 42
" Claims of credit for pretnal or preconviction incarceration
.:may be made only as to sentences imposed, and not to periods
of confinement during nonworking hours imposed as a condi-
tion of probation under (4). Full' confinement for one year as
a condition of probation is not authorized under (4). Statev.
Gloudemans, 73 W (2d) 514, 243 NW (2d) 220.

Probation condition that probationer not contact her code-
fendant fiance was permissible infringement of her constitu-
tional rights because the condition. was reasonably related to
rehabilitation and was not overly broad.” Edwards v. State 74
W.(2d) 79, 246 NW.(2d) 109.

Where defendant is sentenced for. 3 char ges and piaced on

. consecutive probation for the dth charge, trial court may not
impose probation condition that defendant make restitution
f(;rsall charges. Garskiv. State; 75 W (2d) 62,248 NW (2d)
4

Failure to make restttutton is not cause for extending pro-
bation under (3) if probationer demonstrates good faith ef-
fort to pay but lacks capacity to pay during probation.: Hug-

“ gett v. State, 83 w (2d) 790, 266 NW (2d) 403 (1978).

Order to pay restitution, in amount to-be determined later,
authorized collection of funds from defendant. Thieme v.
State, 96 W (2d) 98, 291 NW (2d) 474 (1980).

Remand- for: resentencing was ogn}per procedure where
trial court improperly imposed peris probation to run con-
currently with period of parole. State v. Gtvens, 102 W (2d)

~~476 307'NW (2d) 178 (1981).

Issuance of warrant during probationary term tolls run-
ning of term. State ex rel. Cox v. H&SS Dept. 105 W (2d)
378, 314 NW- (2d) 148 (Ct: App. 1981).

973 10 Control and sttpervision of proba-
tioners. (1) Imposition of probation shall have
the effect of placing the deferidant in the custody
of the department and shall subject the defend-
ant to thé control of the department under
conditions set by the court'and rules and regula-
‘tions  established by ‘the department for the
supervision of probationers and parolees.

‘(2) If a probationer violates the conditions of
probation, the department may:

~(a) If the probationer has not already been
sentenced, order the probationer brought before
the -court for sentence which shall then be im-
posed without further stay under s: 973.15; or

(b) If the probationer has already been sen-
tenced, order the probationer to prison, and the
term of the sentence shall-begin on the date the
~probationer enters the prison.

{3) ‘A copy of the order: of the department
shall be sufficient authority:for the officer exe-
cuting it to take the probationer to:court or to
prison: The officer shall execute the order as a
warrant for arrest but any officer may, without
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order or warrant, take the probationer into
custody whenever necessary in order to prevent
escape or enforce discipline or for violation of

probation.
History:
1981 ¢. 50.
Judicial Council Note, 1981:  Sub. (2) (a) has been
amended to clarify that, upon revocation of probation of an
offender from whom sentence was originally withheld, the
court-must impose sentence in accordance with s. 973 15.
That section now ﬁenmts the court to order that any sentence
be concurrent with or cc tive to an, tence imposed at
the same time or previously. [Bill 341-A]
‘Before probation can be revoked the department must hold
a hearing and make a record so that on judicial review it can
be déetermined whether the department acted arbitrarily or
capriciously. The hearing need not be formal. State ex rel.
Johnson v. Cady, 50 W (2d) 540, 185 NW (2d) 306.
Revocation of probation is an integral part of the sentenc-
ing process; hence a defendant is. entitled to- assistance of
counsel at parole or probation revocation hearings without re-
gard to whether'the hearing occurs in a sentence withheld or a

1971 ¢c. 298; 1975 c. 41, 157, 199; 1977 c. 347;

- postsentence situation. Oestrich v, State, 55W.(2d) 222,198

NW.(2d) 664.

Since probation revocation hearmgs are independent from
the original conviction and sentencing, 2 judge disqualified in
the original case may preside at the hearing in the absence of
Zh;llenge State v. Fuller, 57 W (2d) 408, 204 NW (2d)

5

‘Witnesses at a probation revocation hearm need not be
sworn. State v. Gerard, 57 W (2d) 611, 205 NW (24d) 374.

ABA Standards Relating to Probation adopted and ap-
plied.. State'ex rel. Plotkin v. H&SS Dept. 63 W. (2d) 535,
217 NW (2d) 641.

See note to 57.06, citing State ex rel. Hanson v. .H&SS
Dept. 64 W (2d) 367 219 NW (2d) 267.

While the U.S. Supreme Court in Scarpelli has explicated
that the rights of a.defendant to counsel could arise at both
the prehmmary and final hearing, discretion is. specifically
lodged in the state authority charged with responsibilityfor
administering. - State ex rel. Hawkins v. Gagnon, 64 W (2d)
394,219 NW (2d) 252.

A defendant convxcted of taking mdecent liberties with a
minor and sexual perversion, placed-on probation, allowed to
settle.in Tennessee, and charged with an attempted sodomy
violation of probation there was denied due process where the
revocation hearing was-held in Wisconsin and the H&SS de-
partment refused to allow deposmon of his witnesses in Ten-
nessee, because the witnesses’ testimony as to defendant’s ac-
tions on the date of the alleged assault constituted testimony
of a direct and unequivocally exculpatory nature rather than
merely -cumulative, character, or . background - testimony
which might have been adequately presented by deposition or
affidavit. State ex rel, Harris v. Schmidt, 69 W (2d) 668, 230
NW-.(2d)-89

Department of H&SS ptobatton files and records are

" public records and-admissible as such at probation revocation

hearing. - State ex rel. Prellwitz v. Schmtdt 73 W (2d). 35,
242 NW (2d) 227.

Time spent in jail awaiting revocation is deducted from
maximum sentence. despite option available to defendant to
spend the time in prison. State ex rel. Solie v. Schmidt, 73. W
(2d) 76, 242 NW (2d) 244.

When the department overrules its hearing examiner and

. revokes probation, it must provide a statement of the evidence

relied upon and the reasons for revoking probatton Ramaker
V. State, 73 W (2d) 563, 243 NW'(2d) 53
0 Art. I, sec. 11, citing ¢ State v. Tarrell, 74 W

) (2d) 647 247 NwW (2d) 696.

" “Trial ‘court had no ‘authority to. extend ‘probation of

‘defendant brought before court under (2) State v. Balgie; 76

W (2d) 206, 251 NW (2d) 36. .

See note to Art. I, sec. 1 cttmg State v. Bvars, 77 W (2d)
225,252 NW (2d) 664,

-See note to Art. I, sec. 8 citing Statev. Evans, 77 W (2d)
225 252 NW (2d) 664.

‘Coutt exceeded jurisdiction by releasing defendant on bail
pending revocation proceedings. ‘State ex rel. DH&SS v
Second Jud. Cir. Ct. 8¢ W (2d) 707,267 NW (2d) 373

- (1978).

" See note to-art; I sec. 1, citing State v. Aderhoid; 91 W
(2d) 306, 284 NW (2d) 108 (Ct.'App. 1979). .
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. See note to art. I, sec. 8, citing State ex rel. Alvarez v.
Lotter, 91 W (2d) 329 283 NW (2d) 408 (Ct. App. 1979).

See note to art. 1, sec. 12, citing State v. White, 97 W (2d)
517,294 NW (2d) 36 (Ct‘ App. 1979).

See note to 57.06, citing 65 Atty. Gen. 20.
100 - See note to Art. I, sec. 8, citing Hahn v. Burke, 430 F (2d)

A probation revocation hearing may- be administrative.
Retained or appointed counsel must be allowed to participate.
Gunsolus v. Gagnon, 454 F (2d) 416.

Probation revocatxon, nght toa heaung and to counsel
1971 WLR 648. . -

Probatxon and parole - revocation in, Wisconsin.
WLR

1977

973.12 Sentence ofa repeater. (1) When :

ever a person charged with a crime will be a
repeater as defined in s. 939.62 if convicted, any
prior convictions may be alleged in the com-
plaint, indictment or information or amend-
ments so alleging -at any time -before or at
arraignment, and before acceptance of any plea.
‘The court may, upon motion of the district
attorney, grant a reasonable time to investigate
possible -prior convictions before accepting a
plea. If such prior convictions are admitted by
the defendant or-proved by the state, he shall be
subject to sentence under s. 939.62 unless he
establishes that he was pardoned on grounds of
innocence:for any crime necessary to.constitute
him a repeater. ‘An official report of the F.B.1.
or.any other governmental agency of the United
States or of this or any other state shall be prima
facie evidence of any conviction or sentence
therein reported. Any sentence so reported shall
.be deemed prima facie to have.been fully served
in actual confinement or to have been served for
such period of time as is shown or is consistent
with the report. The court shall take judicial
notice of the statutes of the United States and
foreign states in determining whether the prior
conviction was-for a felony or a' misdemeanor.

- (2)/In every-case of sentence under's. 939.62,
the sentence shall be imposed for the present
conviction, but if the court indicates in passing
sentence how much thereof is imposed because
the defendant is a repeater, it shall not constitute
reversible error, but the combined terms shall be
construed as a single ‘sentence for the prese’nt

conviction.
This section does not authorize 2 sentences for one-crime.
?tate;/ Upchurch,. 101 W (2d) 329 305 NW (2d) 57
1981

973._13 Excessive sentence, errors cured.
Inany case wherethe court imposes.a maximum
penalty in excess of that authorized by law, such
excess shall be void and the sentence shall be
valid only to the extent of the maximum term
authorized by statute and shall stand commuted
wlthout further proceedmgs :

,973 14 Sentence to house of correction.
(1) In addition to the authority in ss. 53.18 and
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56.18, prisoners sentenced to a county jail may
be transferred by the sheriff to a house of
correction without court approval,

(2) Prisoners confined in the house of correc-

.tion may be transferred by the superintendent of
_the house of correction to the county jail without

court approval,
(3) A prisoner sentenced to a county ]all or

~the house of correction being held in a county
jail awaiting trial on another charge shall be

deemed to be serving such county jail or house of

correction sentence and shall be given credit on

such sentence as provided in s. 53.43 or 56.19.
History: - 1977 ¢. 126.

973.15 Sentence, terms, escapes. (1) All
sentences to the Wisconsin state prisons shall be
for one year or more. Except as otherwise
provided in this section, all sentences commence
at-noon on the day of sentence, but time which
elapses after sentence while the convicted of-
fender is at large on bail shall not be computed
as any part of the term of imprisonment.

{2) The court may impose as many sentences
as there are convictions and may provide that
any such sentence be concurrent with or consec-
utive to any other sentence imposed at the same
time or previously.

(3) Courts may impose sentences to be
served in whole or in part concurrently with a
sentence being served or to be served in a federal
institution or an institution of another state.

(4) When a court orders a sentence to the
Wisconsin state’prisons to be served in whole or
in part concurrently with a sentence being
served or to be served in a federal institution or

.an institution of another state:

(a) The court shall order the department to
immediately inform the appropriate authorities
in the jurisdiction where the prior sentence.is to
be served that the convicted offender is presently
available to commence or resume serving that

sentence; and

(b) The trial and commitment records re-
quired under s. 973.08 shall be delivered imme-
diately to the warden or superintendent of the
Wisconsin institution designated as the recep-
tion -center to receive the. convicted offender
when he or she becomes available to Wisconsin
authorities.

(5) A convicted offender who is made avail-
able to another jurisdiction under ch. 976 or in
any other lawful manner shall be credited with
service of his or-her Wisconsin sentence or
commitment under the terms of s. 973.155 for
the duration of custody in the other jurisdiction.

(6) Sections 53.11 and 57.06 are applicable
to an inmate serving a sentence to the Wisconsin
state prisons but confined in a federal institution
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or an institution in another state. Section 53.12
applies only during that portion of the sentence
served in actual residence in a Wisconsin
institution.

(7) If a convicted offender escapes, the time
during which he or she is unlawfully at large

after escape shall not be computed as'service of

the sentence. S

{8) The sentencing court may stay execution
of a sentence of imprisonment only:

(a) For legal cause;

{b) Under s. 973.09 (1) (a); or

(c) For not more than 60 days.

History: 1973c¢.90;1977 ¢.347, 353,447; 1981-¢. 50, 292

Judicial Council Note, 1981: - Sub. (2) has been simplified
to allow a court, in.imposing a criminal sentence, to-order that
it be concurrent with or consecutive to any other sentence im-
posed ‘at the same time or previously. ‘The prior statute, al-
though lengthier and more complicated, failed to achieve its
apparent furpose of allowing consecutive sentencing in situa-
tions-involving probation and parole revocations, escapes, etc.
See Drinkwater v. State,-69 Wis. 2d 60 (1975); Guyton v.
State, 69 Wis. 2d 663 (1975); Bruneau v. State, 77 Wis. 2d
‘166 (1977); Smith v. State, 85-Wis. 2d 650 (1978); and Don-
aldson v. State, 93 Wis. 2d 306 (1980). s

This revision allows.sentences to be made consecutive to
any previously or simultaneously imposed sentence, without
regard to.whether the offender is “then serving” such sen-

- ‘tence, is subject to. parole revocation proceedings, or has re-
ceived a new sentence between the time of an eséape and a
return to a state facility. The revised statute also governs the
sentencing of probationers by virtue of the cross-references in
s5.973:09 (1) (a) and 973.10 (2) (2). [Bill 341-A)

Judicial Council Note, 1981: Sub, (8) has been added to
-specify the circumstances under which execution of a sen-
tence of imprisonment may be stayed. Par. (a) references the

-rule of Reinex v. State, 51 Wis. 152 (1881) and Weston v.
State, 28 Wis. 2d 136 (1965), whereby execution can be
stayed for “legal cause”, such as during the pendency of an
appeal. Par. (b) cross-references the probation statute. Par.
k(’cﬁ: new.. It allows the court to delay the commencement of
a sentence for up to 60 days. The Wisconsin supreme court
recently held that courts have no authority to stay execution
of a sentence-of imprisonment in the absence of such a statu-
tory provision or legal cause. State v. Braun, 100 Wis. 2d 77
(1981). [Bill 736-A]

Revisor’s Note: The following annotati n s.
973.15, 1975 stats., which was repealed and recreated by ck.
353, laws of 1977. .

All pre-sentence confinement because-of indigency must be
credited toward sentence imposed. Klimas v. State, 75 W
(2d) 244, 249 NW (2d) 285. .

. Seéntence of 5 years 14 days, subject to 14 days credit for
gre—sentence confinement, was abuse of sentencing discretion.

truzik v, State, 90 W (2d) 357, 279 NW (2d) 922 (1979).
... Court_may.consider parole eligibility in imposing sen-
tence. ‘State v. Stuhr, 92 W (2d) 46, 284 NW (2d) 459 (Ct.
App. 1979), -~ : :
.. See note t0.975.06, citing State v. Kruse, 101 W. (2d) 387,
305 NW (2d) 85 (1981). .

Prisoner was entitled to credit toward his credit for the
good time he would have earned with respect to presentence
time served as a result of his inability to make bail. Monsour
v. Gray, 375 F Supp. 786. .

State prisoner was entitled to credit for period of precon-
viction detention from date of arrest to date of trial which
resulted from financial inability to meet the bond. Taylor v.
Gray, 375 F Supp. 790. '

‘973.155 Sentence credit. (1) (a) A con-
victed offender shall be given credit toward the
service of his or her séntence for all days spent in

~custody in connection with the course of conduct
for which sentence was imposed. As used in this
subsection, . “actual days spent in custody” in-
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cludes, without limitation by enumeration, con-
finement related to an offense for which the
offender is ultimately sentenced, or for any
other sentence arising out of the same course of
conduct, which occurs:

1. While the offender is awaiting trial;

2. While the offender is being tried; and

3. While the offender is awaiting imposition
of sentence after trial.

(b) The categories in par. (a) include cus-
tody of the convicted offender which is in whole
or.in part the result of 2 probation or parole hold
under s. 57.06 (3). or 973.10 (2) placed upon
the person for the same course of conduct as that
resulting in the new conviction.

(2) - After the imposition of sentence, the
court shall make and enter a specific finding of
the number of days for which sentence credit is

-to-be granted, which finding shall be included in

the judgment of conviction. In the case of
revocation of probation or parole, the depart-

. ment shall make such a finding which shall be
- included in the revocation order,

{3) The credit provided in sub. (1) shall be

- computed as if the convicted offender had served

such time in the institution to which he or she

‘has been sentenced.

‘(4) The credit provided in sub. (1) shall
include good time earned under ss. 53.11, 53,43,
56.07 (3) and 56.19 (3), whichever are applica-
ble.. The department may promulgate rules
under-ch. 227 to.provide criteria for the award-
ing of good time allowed under this subsection.

(5) If this section has not been applied at
sentencing to any person who is in custody or'to

-any person who is on probation or parole, the

person may petition the department to be given
credit under this section. Upon proper verifica-
tion of the facts alleged in the petition, this
section shall be applied retroactively to- the
person. If the department is unable to determine
whether- credit should be given, or otherwise
refuses to award retroactive credit, the person
may- petition. the sentencing court for relief.
This subsection applies to any person, regardless

of the date he or she was sentenced.

History:© 1977 ¢..353; 1979 c. 154.

Department ‘may not grant jail credit where it is not pro-
vided for by statute. OAG 29-82.

-973.16 . Time out. If an order or judgment

releasing -a. prisoner -on habeas corpus is re-
versed, the time during.which he was at liberty

~thereunder:shall not be counted as part of his

term. .

973.17 Judgment against a corporation.
(1) If a corporation fails to appear within the
time required by the summons, the default of
such corporation may be recorded and -the
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charge against it taken as true, and judgment
shall be rendered accordingly.

{2) Upon default of the defendant corpora-
tion or upon conviction, judgment. for the
amount of the fine shall be entered.

SENTENCING 973.17

(3) A judgment against a corporation shall
be collected in the same manner as in civil
actions.
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