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CHAPTER 29

FISH AND GAME

General definitions

Bays bounded.

Title to wild animals .

Hunting, trapping and fishing by American
Indians: - .

Public nuisances.

Police powers; searches; seizures

Fish and game law violation hotline

Sale of confiscated game and apparatus.

Assistance of police officers.

Interstate comity.

Department to regulate hunting and fishing in in-
terstate waters

Hunting, trapping and fishing; licenses and other
approvals; issuance.

Fish, wildlife and wild plant fee schedule

Fish and wildlife; effective periods; 1estrictions.

Senior citizen recreation card

Resident small game hunting license

Waterfowl hunting stamp

Wild tutkey hunting; stamp; zones; permit

Resident archer hunting license

Resident deer hunting license.

Deer hunting by practitioners of Winnebago
religion.

Deer hunting party permits

Hunter’s choice deer hunting permits

Resident bear hunting license

Nonresident annual small game hunting license.

Nonresident 5-day small game hunting license

Nontesident deer hunting license

Nonresident bear hunting license

Nonresident fur-bearing animal hunting license

Nonresident archer hunting license

Disabled veterans, Great Lakes Naval Hospital

Reports of hunters

Trapping licenses

Fur dealers regulated

Wholesale fish dealer license.

Taxidermists, records

Bait dealer license.

Nonresident fishing licenses

Resident fishing licenses.

Husband and wife fishing licenses

Sports licenses; application

Conservation patron license

Sturgeon spearing licenses

Inland waters trout stamps.

Gieat Lakes trout and salmon stamps

Interstate license privileges

Guide licenses.

Outlying water sport trolling licenses

Scientific collector permit

Conservation of fish and game; powers of

department.

Nongame species

Publications.

General restrictions on hunting

Duties on accidental shooting.

Hunting accident; failure to report

Safe use and transportation of firearms

Hunter education and firearm safety program; cer-
tificate of accomplishment

Requirement for certificate of accomplishment to
obtain hunting approval for certain persons
born on or after January 1, 1973.

Restrictions on hunting and use of firearms by per-
sons under 16 years of age

Hunting with aid of airplane prohibited

Hunting by landowners

Shining animals,

Training of hunting dogs and rules for dog trials

Taking homing pigeons.

Regulation of waterfowl blinds
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Fishing shanties on ice, regulation
Possession of fishing equipment : .
Throwing refuse in waters; abandoning

automobiles, boats or other vehicles :

Noxious substances

Fishing with nets and setlines )

Commercial fishing in outlying waters

Description of nets; use, of.

Net licenses, Mississippi and St. Croix rivers.

Slat het fishing in the Mississippi river

Trammel net fishing in the Mississippi river

Set or bank pole licenses

Setline licenses; inland waters

Clams and mussels

Possession during close season ot in excess of bag
limit.

Game, possession in open season

Possesston of deer; heads and skins

Group deer hunting

Skins of fur-bearing animals.

Endangered and threatened species protected

Possession of game birds and animals.

Possession and sale of live game animals and fur-
bearing animals.

Possession, sale, release and destruction of live
skunks

Transportation; general provisions

Interstate transportation of game

Transportation of deer

Transportation of game birds

Transportation of fish

Wildlife on Indian reservations protected

Sale of game or fish

Serving of game to guests

Propagation privileged

State propagation of fish

Cold water fish hatchery

Well disruptions caused by Bayfield hatchery
operations

Permit for private management

Trespass to state fish hatchery

Private fish hatcheries

Introducing fish and game

Municipal fish hatcheries

State propagation of wild mammals and birds

Wild rice conservation; licenses.

Ginseng protected.

Wild animals for parks

Public hunting and fishing grounds

Game or wildlife refuge

Animal wildlife exhibit

Wildlife refuges

Horicon marsh game preserve, fur farm, hatchery,
dams

Game farms; license

Pheasant and quail farms; department control;
shooting license

Game bird and animal farms

Fur animal farms

Deer farms; venison serving permits

Domestic fur-bearing animal farms

Wildlife exhibit licenses.

Humane, adequate and sanitary care of wild
animals

Beaver built structures causing damage

Damages caused by deer and bear

Wild animals causing damage

Wildlife damage abatement program; wildlife
damage claim program

Use of poison and explosives; pole traps.

Giving away of predatory animals to public zoos

Removal of injurious rough fish

Control of detrimental fish

Permit to take rough fish
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29.626  Trespass on riparian land.

29 .64 Resisting conservation warden
29 641  False impersonation of warden
29.642  Fraud in obtaining approval
29.643  Changing approval.

29644 - Breaking seals of department,
29.645  Larceny of game

FISH AND GAME 29.015

29 65 Civil actions for damages caused by law. violations
29.99 General penalty provisions.

29995  Penalties; repeaters

29996  Parties to a violation

29997  Natural resources assessments

29998  Natural resources restitution payments

29.01 General definitions. The following
terms, wherever used in this chapter, shall be
construed to apply as follows:

(1) ““Approval” means any type of approval
or authorization issued by the department or a
county clerk under this chapter including any
license, permit; certificate, card, stamp or tag
unless the context requires a different meaning.

(2) “Carcass” means the dead body of any
wild :animal to which it refers, including the
head, hair, skin, plumage, skeleton, or any
other part thereof.

(3) “Fishing” includes taking, capturing, kill-
ing, or fishing for-fish of any variety in any
manner. When the word “fish” is used as a
verb, it shall have the same meaning as the word
“fishing” as defined herein.

(4) “Fur-bearing animals” includes otter,
beaver, mink, muskrat, marten, fisher, skunk,
raccoon, fox, weasel, opossum, badger, wolf,
coyote, wildcat and lynx: -

(5) “Game” includes all varieties of wild
mammals or birds; “‘game fish” includes all
varieties of fish except rough fish and minnows;
“rough fish” includes dace, suckers, carp, gold-
fish, redhorse, freshwater drum, burbot, bow-
fin, garfish, buffalo fish, lamprey, alewife, giz-
zard shad, smelt, goldeye, mooneye, carpsucker
and quill back, in all waters and chub in inland
waters only; “minnows” includes suckers, mud
minnows, madtom, stonecat, killifish, stickle-
back, trout-perch, darters, sculpin and all min-
now family cyprinids except goldfish and carp.

(6) ““Game animals” includes deer, moose,
elk, bear, rabbits, squirrels, fox and raccoon.

(7) “Game birds” includes the following
aquatic birds: Wild geese, brant, wild ducks,
wild swan, rails, coots, gallinules, jacksnipe,
woodcock, plovers and sandpipers; the follow-
ing upland birds: ruffed grouse (partridge), pin-
nated grouse (prairie chicken), sharp-tailed
grouse, pheasants, ‘Hungarian partridge,
Chukar partridge, bobwhite, quail, California
quail and wild turkey : )

(8) “Hunt” or “hunting” includes shooting,
shooting at, pursuing, taking, catching, or kill-
ing of any wild animal or animals.

(9) “Inland waters” means- all waters ‘not
classified as outlying waters, including the bays,
bayous and sloughs -of the Mississippi river
bottoms.

(10) “Nongame species” means any species
of wild animal not classified as a game fish,
game animal, game bird or fur-bearing animal.

(11) “Outlying waters” means Lake Supe-
rior, Lake Michigan, Green Bay, Sturgeon Bay,
Sawyer’s harbor and the Fox river from.its
mouth up to the dam at De Pere

- (12) “Resident” means a person who has
maintained his or her place of permanent abode
in this state for a period of 30 days immediately
preceding his or her application for an ap-
proval.” Domiciliary intent is required to estab-
lish that a person is maintaining his or her place
of permanent abode in this state. Mere owner-
ship of property is not sufficient to establish
domiciliary intent. Evidence of domiciliary
intent includes, without limitation, the location
where the person votes, pays personal income
taxes or obtains a driver’s license.

(13) “Trapping” includes the taking, or the
attempting to take, of any wild animal by means
of setting or operating any device, mechanism
or contraption that is designed, built or made to
close upon, hold fast, or otherwise capture a
wild animal or animals. When the word “trap”
is used as a verb, it shall have the same meaning
as the word “trapping” as defined herein.

"~ (14) “Wild animal” means any mammal,
bird, fish, or other creature of a wild nature
endowed with sensation and the power of vol-

untary motion,

History: 1971 ¢. 129, 266; 1975 ¢. 39, 199; 1977 ¢ 370,
447, 1979 c. 187, 221; 1983 a. 27.

Cross Reference:  See definitions in 24.01

29.015 Bays bounded. (1) Whenever the here-
inafter named bays and harbors are mentioned
in this chapter, the following description for the
same shall apply:

~(a) That body of water khown as Moonlight
bay lying north and west of a line commencing
at the most northeast point in section 15, town-
ship 30 north, range 28 east, and running in a
straight line northeasterly to the most southerly

point in section 14, same township and range.

(b) That body of water known as Jackson
harbor lying south-and west of a line commenc-
ing at the most northerly point in section 27,
township 34 north, range 30 east, and running
in a straight line -northwesterly to the most
casterly point in the northeast quarter of section
28, same township and range.
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(c) That body of water known as Bailey’s
harbor lying north of a line commencing at the
most southerly point in section 21, township 30
north, range 28 east, and running in a straight
line westerly to the south line of section 20,
same township and range.

(d) That body of water known as Washing-
ton harbor lying south of a line commencing at
the water’s edge on the north line of section 26,
township 34 north, range 29 east, and running
in a straight line easterly to the water’s edge on
the north line of section 25, same township and
range.

-{e) That body of water known as Eagle
harbor lying south and east of a line drawn from
the most northeast point in section 9, township
31 north, range 27 east, easterly to the water’s
edge on-the north line of section 12, same
township and range. -

(f) That body of water known as Egg harbor
lying south of a:line commencing at the most
northeast ‘point in section 26, township 30
north, range-26 east, and running in a straight
line east to the north line of section 25, same
township and range. .

- (g) That body of water known as North bay
lying north of a line commencing at the most
northeast point in section 35, townshlp 31
north, range 28 east, and running in a straight
line to the west line of section 25, same township
and range

(h) That body of water known as Flsh Creek
harbor lying south and east of a line commenc-
ing at the most northerly point in the southwest
quarter of section 29,.township 31 north, range
27 east, and running northeasterly in a straight
line to the water’s edge on north line of said
section, township and range.

(i) That body of water known as Detroit
harbor lying north of a line commencing at the
most southerly point in section 14, township 33
north, range 29 east, and running in a ‘straight
line to the most southerly point m section 18,
townshlp 33 north, range 30 éast: - :

(j) That body of water known as Sturgeon
bay lying south and east of a line commencing
at the most northerly point of section 23, town-
ship 28 north, range 25 east, and running in a
northeasterly direction to the water’s edge on
north line of section 13, same township and
range. ) )

(k) That body of water known as Little
Sturgeon bay lying south ofa line commencing
at the most northeast point in section 35, town-
ship 28 north, range 24 east, and running in a
northeasterly direction to the most northerly
point in section 36, same township and range.

(I) That body of water known as Rowley’s
bay lying north of a’line commencing at the
water’s edge on south line of section 26, town-
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ship 32 north, range 28 east, and running east to
the most southerly point in section 32, same
township and range.

(m) That body of water known as Riley’s bay
lying south of a line commencing at the most
northerly point in section 36, township 28
north, range 24 east, and running in a north-
easterly direction to the most northerly point in
section 30, township 28 north, range 25 east.

(n) That body of water known as Allouez bay
lying south of a line commencing at the most
northerly point in section 29, township 49
north, range 13 west, and running due east in a
stralght line to the water’s edge on north line of
section 28, same township and range ’

(0) All that body of water known as Superior
bay lying south and east between Minnesota
point and the main land of Douglas county
extending from a line drawn from the most
southerly point in section 20, township 49
north, range 13 west, to the most northerly
point in section 29, same township and range.

(p) All that body of water known as St. Louis
bay lying between a line commencing at the
most northerly point of section 10, township 49
north, range 14 west, running due north to the
Minnesota boundary, and the north line of
sections 20 and 21, running due west to the
Minnesota boundary.

(q) All that body of water known as West
Harbor and adjoining water in sections 2, 10

.and 11, township 33 north, range 29 east, lying

east of a line starting at the most northwesterly
pointof land in section 10 of township 33 north,
range 29-east, and running in a northerly direc-
tion to the most northwesterly point of land in
section 2, township 33 north, range 29 east.

29.02 Title to wild animals. (1) The 1egal title
to, and the custody and. protection of, all wild
animals within this state is vested in the state for
the: purposes of regulating the enjoyment, use,
disposition, and conservation thereof

“(2) The legal title to any such wild animal, or
carcass or part thereof, taken or reduced to
possession in violation of this chapter, remains
in the state; and the title to any such wild
animal, or carcass or part thereof, lawfully
acquired, is subject to the condition that upon
the -violation of this chapter relating to the
possession, use, giving, sale, barter or transpor-
tation of such wild animal, or carcass or part
thereof, by the holder of such title, the same
shall revert, as a result of the violation, to the

state.. In either case, any such wild animal, or

carcass or part thereof, may be seized forthwith,
wherever found, by the department or its
wardens.
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(3) This section shall not permit seizure of

nor prohibit possession or sale of lawfully ob-
tained wild.-birds and animals which are
mounted or in the process of being mounted for
a private collection.

(4) Agents of the department may, after
making reasonable efforts to notify the owner
or ‘decupant, enter uperni private lands to re-
trieve, diagnose or otherwise determine if there
are dead or diseased wild animals upon such
lands; and take actions reasonably necessary to
prevent the spread of contagious disease in such

wild animals.
History: 1973 ¢.214; 1975 ¢ 181; 1979 ¢ 110

29.025  Hunting,  trapping and fishing by
American Indians. American Indians hunting,
trapping or fishing off Indian reservation lands
are subject to this chapter.

'Histoty’ 1983 a- 27

29 03 Publlc nuisances. The followmg are
declared public nuisanees:

(1) Any unlicensed net of any kind, or other
unlicensed device, trap, or contrivance for fish-
ing; or any licensed net or other deviee, trap or
contrivance for fishing set, placed or found in
any waters where the same is prohibited to be
used, or in a manner prohibited by law.

(2) Any unlicensed: setline, cable, rope, or
line; with more than one fish line attached
theteto; or any-licensed setline set, placed, o1
found ‘in any waters where ‘the same is prohib-
ited to be used, or in a manner prohibited by
law;or any fish line left‘in the watér-unattended,
whether having one or more hooks attached.

(2m) Any long tunnél pound net or similar
‘entrappmg net ‘other than the legal fyke net,
drop net, submarine trap net and the short
tunnel pound net whenever found in outlymg
waters or o any vessel, dock, pier, wharf or in
any building or véhicle 6n or adjacent to such
waters. Any such contraband nets so found

shall be deerhed sufficient evidence of the use of

such nets by the-owner thereof

:(3) Any screen set in public. waters.to prevent
the free passage of fish, or:set in any. stream
which “has ‘been stocked by: state authorities
unless authorized by the department.

(4) Any building, inclosure, structure, or

shelter placed occupied, or used on the ice of

any waters iii violation of this chapter.

(5) Any unlicensed trap, snare, spring gun,
set  gun, net or other device or contrivance
which might entrap, ensnare, or kill' game; or
any trap without a metal tag attached as-re-
quired by law

(6) Any boat, together with its machinery,
sails, tackle and equipment, or any lamp, light,

FISH AND GAME 29.05

gun, pivot gun, swivel gun, or -other firearm
used in violation of this chapter; or any boat,
floating raft, box, or blind set in open water and
used in hunting game birds

(7) Any decoys left in the water unattended.

(8). Any dog found running deer at any time,
or used in violation of this chapter.

(9) Any ferret, rat, weasel, or guinea pig in
possession or used while hunting.

{(10) Any blind used in hunting waterfowl in

violation of's. 29.27. ,
History: 1977 ¢ 443; 1983 a. 1925 303 (6)

29.05 Police powers; searches; seizures. (1)
WARRANTS, ARRESTS. The department and its
wardens may execute and serve warrants and
processes issued urider any law enumerated in s.
23.50 (1), 346.19, 346 94 (6) and (6m), 940 24,
94120, 941.22 and 947.047 in the same manner
as any constable may serve and execute such
process; and may arrest, with or without a
warrant, any person detected in the actual vio-
lation, or whom such officer has probable cause
to believe guilty of a violation of any of the laws
cited in this subsection, whether such violation
is punishable by criminal penalties or civil for-
feiture and may take such person before any
court in the county where the offense was
committed and make proper complaint. For
the purpose of enforcing any of the laws cited in
this subsection, any such officer may stop and

board any boat and stop any automobile, snow-

mobile or other vehicle, if the officer reasonably
suspects there is a violation of such sections.
(2) ADDIHONAL ARREST POWERS. In addition
to the arrest powers under sub. (1), a conserva-
tion warden who has completed the program of
law enforcement training approved by the law
enfoxcement standards board and has been cer-
tified ‘as qualified to be a law enforcement
officer under s. 165.85 (4) (b) 1 while on duty
and in uniform or on duty and upon display of
proper credentials may assist another law en-
forcement agency as defined unders. 165.83 (1)
(b) including making an arrest at the request of
the agency, may arrest a person pursuant to an
arrest warrant concerning the commission of a
felony or may arrest a person who has commit-
ted a crime in the presence of the warden. If the
conservation warden makes an arrest without
the presence of another law enforcement
agency, the conservation warden shall cause the
person arrested to be delivered to the chief of
police or sheriff in the jurisdiction where the
arrest is made, along with-the documents and
reports pertaining to the arrest. The conserva-
tion warden shall be available as a witness for
the state.- A conservation warden may. not
conduct investigations. for violations of state
law except as authorized in sub. (3) and s. 23.11
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(4). A conservation warden acting under the
authority of this subsection is considered an
employe of the department and is subject to its
direction, benefits and legal protection. The
authority granted in this section does not apply
to county conservation wardens or special con-
servation wardens.

* (3) INVESTIGATIONS. Such officers shall, upon
receiving notice or information of the violation
of any laws cited in sub. (1), as soon as possible
make a thorough investigation thereof, and
cause proceedings to be instituted if the proofs
at hand warrant it

(4) DRIVING WITHOUT HEADLIGHTS. In the
performance of their law enforcement duties
under this chapter, duly authorized wardens
may operate vehicles owned or leased by the
department upon a highway, other than an
interstate, a state trunk highway or any high-
way within the limits of any incorporated area,
during hours of darkness without lighted
headlamps, tail lamps or clearance lamps, con-
trary to s. 347.06, if the driving will aid in the
accomplishment of a lawful arrest for violation
of this chapter or rules promulgated under this

chapter or in ascertaining whether a violation of

this chapter or rules promulgated under this
chapter has been or is about to be committed.
Any civil action or proceeding brought against
any warden operating a motor vehicle under
this subsection is subject to ss. 893.82 and
895.46. '

(5) OPENING PACKAGES. The department and
its wardens may examine and open any package
in the possession of a common carrier which
they have probable cause to believe contains
contraband wild animals, or carcasses or parts
thereof, or is falsely labeled in violation of this
chapter; and every such common carrier, and
every agent, servant, or employe thereof, shall
permit any such officer to examine and open
any such package Any package so opened shall
be restored to its original condition.

(6) ACCESS TO STORAGE PLACES. They shall be
permitted by the owner or occupant of any cold
storage warchouse or building used for the
storage or retention of wild -animals, or car-
casses or parts thereof, to enter-and examine
said premises subject to ss. 66.122 and 66.123;
and the owner or occupant, or the agent, ser-
vant, or employe of the owner; shall deliver to
any such officer.any wild animal, or carcass or
part thereof, in his or her possession during the
closed season therefor, whether taken within or
without the state.

(7) SEIZURE AND CONFISCATION OF GAME, OR
GaME FISH. They shall seize and confiscate in the
name of the state-any wild animal, or carcass or
part thereof, caught, killed, taken, had in pos-
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session or under control, sold or transported in
violation of this chapter; and any such officer
may, with or without warrant, open, enter and
examine all buildings, camps, vessels or boats in
inland or outlying waters, wagons, automobiles
or other vehicles, cars, stages, tents, suit cases,
valises, packages, and other receptacles and
places where the officer has probable cause to
believe that wild animals, taken or held in
violation of this chapter, are to be found

(8) SEIZURE AND CONFISCATION OF :APPARA-
1US, ETC.; SALE OF PERISHABLE PROPERIY. (a)
The department and its wardens shall seize and
hold subject to the order of the court for the
county in which the alleged offense was com-
mitted, “any apparatus, -appliance, vehicle or
device, declared by this chapter to be a public
nuisance, which they have probable cause to
believe is being used in violation of this chapter,
an administrative rule promulgated under. this
chapter or s. 346.94 (6) or (6m), 940.24, 941 .20,
941.22 01 947.047. If it is-proven that within 6
months previous to the seizure the apparatus,
appliance, vehicle or device was used in viola-
tion of this chapter or an administrative rule
promulgated under this chapter ors. 346.94 (6)
or. (6m), 940.24, 941.20, 941.22 or 947.047, it
shall be confiscated if the court directs in its
order for judgment.

(b) Any perishable property selzed by the
department or its wardens may be sold at the
highest available price, and the proceeds of the
sale turned into court to await disposition of the
proceeds as the court directs. 'A conservation
warden or other officers charged with the en-
forcement of the laws dealing with the conser-
vation of the natural resources of the state may
kill a dog found running, injuring, causing
injury to, or killing any deer, or destroying
game birds, their eggs or nests, if immediate
action is necessary to protect the deer or game
birds, their nests or eggs, from injury or death.

(9) ENTIRE SHIPMENT AFFECTED. Confiscation
of any part of a shipment under this section
shall include the entire shipment.

(10) EXEMPTION FROM LIABILITY. Membets of
the natural resources board, and each warden,
in the performance of official duties, shall be
exempt from-any and all liability to any person

for acts done or permitted or property de-

stroyed by authority of law. In any action
brought against any board member or warden

“involving any official action the district attor-

ney of the county in which the action is com-
menced shall represent such board member or
warden. No taxable costs or attorney fees shall
be allowed to either party in said action.

_ History: 1971 c. 40, 42, 164; 1971 ¢ 2115 126; 1971 ¢
277,1973 ¢. 198; 1975 ¢ 365; 1977 ¢. 425, 449; 1979 ¢, 221,
289; 1981.c. 98, 285; 1983 a. 27 s 2202 (32); 1983 a. 451,




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

717

A game warden who kills a dog which- he believes is
wounding or worrying a domestic animal is not exempt from
liability under 29 05 (9), Stats. 1967, under all crrcumstances
Munyon v. Moe, 46 W (2d) 629, 1 76 NW (2d) 324.

'29.055  Fish and game law violation hotline.
(1) The department shall maintain a toll free
telephone number at department headquarters
during normal business hours to receive reports
of violations of this chapter. The department
shall relay these reports to the appropriate
warden or officer for inveéstigation and enforce-
ment action. The department shall publicize the
toll free telephone humber as widely as possible
in the state.

(2) The departmerit shall maintain records
which permit the release of rnformatron pro-
vided by informants while protecting the iden-
tity of the informant. Any records maintained
by.the department which relate to the identity of
informants shall be only for the confidential use
of the department in the administration of this
section, unless the informant expressly agrees to
release the records. Appearance in court as a
witness shall not be considered consent by an
informant to release confidential records main-
tained by the department.

Hrstory 1979°¢. 34

29. 06 Sale of confrscated game and appara-
tus. (1) All confiscated wild animals, or car-
casses or parts thereof, and all confiscatéd ap-
paratus appliances or devices shall, if not
destroyed as authorized by law, be sold at the
highest price obtainable, by the department or
its 'wardens, or by an agent on commission
under the written authority and supervision of
the depar tment. The net proceeds of such sales,
‘after deducting the expense ‘of seizure and sale
and any such commissions, shall be promptly
remitted by the warden by ‘whom or under
whose authorrty and supervision the sales are
made, to the department the remrttance to be
accompanred by a complete and certified report
of such sales, supported by proper vouchers
cove ng. all deductions made for expenses and
commrssrons to be filed with the department.
Of the remittance from such sales of confiscated
apparatus, appliances or devices, 18% shall be
'paid inito the conservation fund to reimburse it
for expenses incurred in seizure and 'sale, and
the remaining 82% shall be paid into the ¢om-
mon school fund. In the case of the’ proceeds
from the sale of a confiscated motor vehicle if
the holder ‘of a_security interest perfécted by
filing with such motor vehicle as security, satis-
fies (and the burden of proof-shall be upon the
holder of a security interest) the court, or after
judgmient of confiscation, the department, that
the violation that led to such confiscation was
not with-his” or her knowledge, consent or
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connivance or with that of some person em-
ployed or trusted by the holder of a security
interest, there shall also be deducted the amount
due under the security agreement from the
proceeds of such sale and the amount due shall
be paid to the one entitled; in case a sufficient
amount dbes not remain for such purpose after
the other deductions then the amount remain-

“ing shall be paid. The department shall make a
‘reasonable effort within 10 days after seizure to

ascertain if ‘a security interest in the seized
motor vehrcle exists, and shall within 10 days
after obtaining actual or constriictive notice of
such security interest give the secured party
notrce of the time and place when there is to be
any proceedrng before the court or the judge
pertarnmg to such confiscation and shall also
give such secured party at least 10 days’ notice
of the time and place of sale. Constructive
notice shall be limited to security interests per-
fected by filing. In all such cases the time of sale
of the confiscatéd motor vehicle shall be within
20 days after judgment of confiscation provided
in 8. 29.05 (8). This subsection shall not apply to
a deer killed, or so injured that it must be killed,
by a collision with a motor vehicle on a high-
way. Such deer carcass shall be released free of

‘charge to the motor vehicle operator under s.

29.40 (5) by the department or its agent, but
shall be retained by the department or its agent
if the motor vehicle operator declines to accept
thé carcass

(2) On any such sales of wild animals, or
carcasses or parts thereof, the warden or agent
sellrng them shall issue fo each purchaser a
certificate, on forms to be prepared and fur-
nished by the department, covering such sales.
The ahimals, or carcasses or parts thereof, so
purchased shall be consumed or otherwise dis-
posed of by the purchaser within a period to be
set by the department, but shall not be resold,
bartered, or ‘exchanged, in whole or in part, to
aniy other person, éxcépt as provided in sub. (3).

(3) Conﬁscated fish or game sold to the
keeper, manager, or steward of any restaurant,
club, hotel, or boardrng house may be served to
the guests thereof; but in such cdse the certifi-
cate COVerrng the purchase shall be hung in
pubhc view in the place where the fish or game is
served, and siich fish or game shall at the time of
sale be tagged by the warden or agent selling it,
such tag to show the date of sale and be re-
turned to said warden or agent within 5 days

thereafter.

History: 1975¢.97,199; 1981 ¢ 98s 3

29.07 - Assistance of police officers. All sher-

i,ff's,"d_eput‘y sheriffs, coroners, and other police
officers are deputy conservation wardens, and

‘shall*assist the department and its wardens in




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

29.07 FISH AND GAME

the enforcement of this chapter whenever notice
of a violation thereof is given to either of them
by the department or its wardens.

History: 1979 ¢ 110

29.08 Interstate comity. (1) Whenever any
other state confers upon the officers of this state
reciprocal powers, any officer of such other
state, who is by the laws of that state authorized
or directed to enforce the laws of that state
relating to the protection of wild animals, is
hereby designated an agent of that state within
this state. It shall be lawful for said officer to
follow any wild animal, or carcass or part
thereof unlawfully shipped or taken from his
state into this state, seize and convey the same
back to his own state; and so far as concerns any
such wild animal, or carcass or part thereof, the
laws of the state from which the same was
‘brought into this state are hereby adopted as the
laws of this state. Transportation companies

shall deliver to such officer, upon submission of

proper proof of his official capacity, any wild
animal, or carcass or part thereof, so demanded

or.séized by him. Said officer may dispose of

any such wild animal, or carcass or part thereof,

within this state, in accordance with the laws of

the ‘state from which the same was taken or
shipped, under the supervision of the depart-
ment or its wardens. Expenses for such assist-
ance shall be a lien upon such wild animal or
carcass or part thereof, or the proceeds thereof.
~ (2) Except as provided in sub. (1), the depart-
‘ment or its wardens shall seize, hold and dis-
pose, dccording to the laws of this state, of any
wild animal, or carcass or part thereof, brought
or shipped into or through this state, or at-
‘tempted to be carried through this state, in
violation of the laws of any other state.

(3) The state game warden of every other
state, and his deputies and all other officers
therein charged with the enforcement of the
laws relating to wild animals are hereby desig-
nated agents of this state for the taking posses-
sion, seizing, holding and disposing, within
such state, of any wild animal, or carcass or part
thereof, protected by the laws of this state

(4) Whenever and so long as any other state
confers upon the officers of this state reciprocal
powers, the department may appoint persons
who shall have been appointed game wardens
or deputy game wardens of such other state to
act as and have all the powers of wardens of this
state, but withouit compensation from this state.

History: 1971 c 164

29.085 Department to regulate hunting and
fishing in interstate waters. The department
may regulate hunting and fishing on and in all
interstate boundary waters, and outlying waters
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specified in s. 29.01 (9) and (11). Any act of the
department in so regulating the hunting and
fishing on and in such interstate boundary
waters and outlying waters shall be valid, all
other -provisions of: the statutes notwithstand-
ing, provided such powers shall be exercised
pursuant to and in accordance with ss. 23.09 (2)

and 29.174.
History: 1983 a. 27 s 2202 (38)

29.09 Huntmg, trapping and flshmg, Ilcenses
and other approvals; issuance. (1) LICENSE OR
OTHER.APPROVAL REQUIRED FOR HUNTING, TRAP-
PING OR FISHING. Except as specifically pro-
vided otherwise by another section of this chap-
ter, no person may hunt any wild animal, trap
any game or fish for fish in the waters of this
state unless the appropriate approval is issued
to the person. A person shall carry the required
approval with him or her at all times while
hunting, trapping or fishing unless otherwise
required by another section of this chapter or
unless Gtherwise authorized or required by the
department. A person shall exhibit the ap-
proval to the department or its wardens’ on
demand.

(1m) CONDITIONS AND RESIRICTIONS ON LI-
CENSES AND OTHER APPROVALS. A hunting, trap-
ping or fishing approval may be issued only to
and obtained only by a natural person entitled
to the approval. Except as provided under sub.
(12) (a), a residént hunting, trapping or fishing
approval may be issued only to a person who
presents_to the county clerk or issuing agent
definite proof of his or her’ 1dent1ty and that he
or she is a resident. No more than one of the
same series of approval may be issued to the
same person in any year. Except as provided
under s. 29.33 (2) (d), no person may transfer his
or her approval or permit the use of any ap-
proval by any other-person and no person while
hunting, trapping or fishing may use or carry
any approval issued to another person. No
person may obtain a hunting, trapping or fish-
ing approval for another person. No approval
authonzmg hunting may be issued to any pet-
son who'is prohibited from obtaining this type

.of approval under s. 29. 226 or 29.227 (1) ().

(2) ForMm OF APPLICATION. The application
for an approval shall be on the form and
contain the information required by the depart-
ment and no approval may be issued until the
applicant complies with these requirements.

(3) FORM OF LICENSE. (a) Date; expiration
Each license or stamp shall state for what
period the. license or stamp is effective and the
date of expiration.

(b) Name;. description; signature. Each [i-
cense issued shall state the name and residence
of the licensee, a description of the licensee and
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such other matter as may be determined by the
department. Each license shall bear upon its
face a true signature of the licensee and the date
of issuance and shall be signed by the issuing
agent. Alllicenses shall be issued in English and
in ink.

(8) DupLICATES. If any license, permit, certifi-
cate or card is lost, the person to whom the
license, permit, certificate or card was .issued
may apply to the department for a duplicate,
submitting an affidavit proving loss.. The de-
partment shall make an inquiry and investiga-
tion as it deems necessary. If the department is
satisfied that the facts are as stated in the
affidavit, the department may issue a duplicate
license, permit, certificate or card to the appli-
cant. Back tags and other tags issued with a
license, permit, certificate or card are parts of

the license, permit, certificate or card and loss of

any part is deemed to be loss of the entire
license, permit, certificate or card. Upon apply-
ing for a duplicate approval the applicant shall
surrender all parts. of the ongmal approval
remaining in his or her possession to the depart-

ment: No-duplicate stamp may be issued and if

a stamp is-lost, the person to whom it was issued
is-required to apply and pay the regular fee in
order to receive a new stamp.

(5) BLanks. The department shall prepare,
procure the printing of and supply all necessary
blanks for approvals issued under this chapter
and related applications. Approval blanks and
applications may be numbered consecutively, at
the time of printing, in a separate series for each
kind of approval. Each license blank shall be
provided with a corresponding stub numbered
with the serial number of the license. Each
requisition for: the printing of approval blanks
shall specify any serial numbers to be printed on
the blanks. -The department or a county clerk
may issue approvals only on blanks supplied by
the department.

(6) APPROVALS ISSUED BY.A COUNTY CLERK. A
county-clerk shall retain the stub of each license
under this chapter issued by the county clerk’s
office in a record in the clerk’s office. The
county clerk ‘shall file the stubs in numerical
order immediately after licenses are issued. A
county clerk shall retain a portion of any.other
dpproval issued by the county clerk’s office and
keep arecord of that issuance as the department
requxres The department or its wardens may
examine at any time records requued under thxs
‘subsection. :

(7) RETURN OF FEES. BY COUNTY CLERK. (a)
Any fees for approvals collected by the county
clerk except any issuing fee shallbe remitted to
the department by the 20th of each month, with
a report of the number of licenses issued by the
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clerk and his or her deputies during the preced-
ing month with a report on the issuance of other
approvals, as required by the department, and
with a statement of the amount of money remit-
ted. If the clerk does not remit, the clerk shall
forfeit not more than $100.

(b) All unused approval blanks shall be re-
turned by the county clerk to the-department at
the close of the effective period for which the
blanks were supplied The department shall
determine the disposition of license stubs and

other portions of approvals by county clerks at

the close of the year for which the licenses and
approvals are issued
(7m) COUNTY CLERK ACCOUNTS. (a) Except as

provided under par. (b), each county clerk, to

whom all or part of the issuing fee established
under s. 29.092 (14) is reserved as permitted
under sub. (7) or (10) and in accordance with s.
59.15 (1), shall establish either in a credit union
a share draft account, in a savings and loan
association a checking or negotiable order of
withdrawal account or in a bank a checking
account to be used for the deposit of collections
of fees for approvals. These collections shall be
deposited by the county clerk in the account
within one week after receipt. Payment to the
department of the monthly remittance specified
under sub. (7) shall be made by check, share
draft or other draft drawn against the account.
The account is subject to ch. 34 and s. 66.042
(6). Other collections made by the county clerk
and due the county also may be deposited in this
account but if the account includes collections
other than fees for approvals, the county clerk’s
record of the balance in the account is required
to show separately the exact amounts of fees for
approvals and other collections

(b) If a county retains issuing fees established
under s. 29.092 (14) as permitted under sub. (7)
or (10) and the county board requires the
county clerk to deposit collections of fees for
approvals with the county treasurer, the county
clerk shall deposit collections of fees for ap-
provals with:the county treasurer within one
week after receipt. Payment to the department
of the monthly remittance specified under sub.
(7) shall then be made by the county treasurer
upon written order of the county clerk. If the
county board does not require collections of
fees for approvals to- be deposited with the
county ‘treasurer, the county clerk shall make
deposits and remittances of collections of fees
for approvals as required under par. (a).

(c) The department shall prescribe a mini-
mum standard for accounting records which
shall be maintained by each county clerk for
approval transactions.

(8) RECORD OF APPROVALS ISSUED. The de-
partment shall keep a complete record of all
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approvals issued. The department is accounta-
ble for all unused approval blanks.

(9) DISABLED PERSONS. After proper applica-
tion and presentation of a current hunting li-
cense duly issued to the applicant, the secretary
may, after due investigation and without cost,
grant a spe01a1 permit to any person who is
unable to walk and requires a wheel chair or
prosthetic appliance for mobility, to shoot or
hunt from a standing automobile or to hunt any
deer, whether a buck or a doe, during the
regular deet season, notwithstanding any other
provision of this chapter to the contrary. Re-
gardless of deer hunting party permit limits, any
holdér of a permit under this section may obtain
a party permit deer tag without cost upon
‘application in any area for which a party deer
season has been established. -

(10) ISSUING FEE REQUIRED. (a) Collection of
issuing fee. A person authorized to issue any li-
«cense or stamp prescribed by this chapter shall
collect, in addition to the statutory license or
stamp fee, an issuing fee for each licensé and

each stamp the person issued to compensate for
services in 1ssu1ng the license or stamp.

(b) Department employes. An issuing fee
collected by any employe of the department
shall be remitted to the department together
with the statutory license or stamp fee,

(c). Nonpublic issuing agents. Deputies ap-
pointed by county clerks, other than county
employes, are entitled to retain 60% of the
issuing:fee. Deputies appointed by the depart-
ment, other than state employes, are entitled to
retain 60% of the issuing fee.

(11) BonND REQUIRED. The department shall
provide and pay the cost of a blanket surety
bond covering county clerks performing duties
under this.chapter: The bond shall be condi-
tioned, among other things, upon the faithful
performance of the clerk’s duties according to
law and shall. provide for the payment to the
parties entitled to payment, damages; not ex-
ceeding the amount provided in the bond, as
may be suffered by them in consequence of a
failure on the part of any clerk to discharge his
or her duties. The amount of the bond shall be
determined by the department.

(12) ARMED FORCES; STUDENTS. (a) Certain
resident licenses may be issued to students and
members of the armed forces. Notwithstanding
$s. 29.09 (1m) and 29.14 (1) (a), the department
and the county clerk of each county shall issue a
resident -fishing - license, resident small game
hunting license or resident deer hunting license
to a qualified student or qualified member of
the armed forces applying for the license. A
qualified student is a person who exhibits proof
that he or she is a registered full-time under-
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graduate student in residence at a public or
private college or university located in this state
and offering a bachelor’s degree or that he or
she is a citizen of a foreign country temporarily
residing in this state while attending a high
school located in this state or an agricultural
short . course. at the university of ‘Wisconsin
system: A qualified member of the armed forces
is-a person who exhibits proof that he or she is
in active service with the U.S: armed forces and
that he or she is stationed in this state.

" (b) Resident armed forces fishing license. An
annual fishing license shall be issued by the
department or a county clerk to any member of
the U.S. armed forces applying for this license
who exhibits proof that he or she is in active

‘'service with the armed forces and that he or she

is a resident on furlough or leave

(c) Resident armed forces small game hunt-
ing license. A small game hunting license shall
be issued by the department or by a county clerk
to any member of the U.S. armed forces apply-
ing for this license who exhibits proof that he or
she is in active service with the armed forces and
that he.or she is a resident on furlough or leave.

(13) Stamps; ARTWORK. The department
shall design and ‘produce waterfowl hunting
stamps, ‘wild turkey hunting stamps, inland
waters trout stamps and Great Lakes trout and
salmon stamps. If the department selects art-
work for stamps through a contest or otherwise
acquires original-artwork for stamps, the de-

‘partment shall require each contestant or indi-

vidual artist to sign an agreement permitting the
department to use the artwork on stamps and
granting the department the right to 50% of the
revenue obtained from the sale of prints and
other nonstamp copies of the artwork if the
artwork is selected or acquired by the depart-
ment. Revenue obtained by the department
from the sale of prints and other nonstamp
copies of this artwork shall be deposited in the
conservation fund and credited to. the fish and
wildlife account.

History: - 1971 ¢. 213s 5; 1971 ¢, 215; 1973 ¢: 90; 1975 ¢
365; 1977 ¢ 69; 1979 ¢ 34; 1981 ¢. 226; 1983 a. 27, 368, 420,
538 )

Treaty of 1854 construed to allow Chippewa Indians fish-
ing rights in Lake Superior by methods reasonably con-
forming to aboriginal methods State v. Gurnoe, 53 W (2d)
390, 192 NW (2d) 892

See note to 33. 53, citing State v. Peterson, 98 W (2d) 487,
297 NW (2d) 52 (Ct App 1980).°

29. 092 Fish, wnldllfe and wild 'plant fee
schedule. (1) IMPOSITION OF FEES. Unless an-
other section .of this chapter specifically pro-
vides. otherwise, a person who applies for an
approval issued under this chapter shall pay the
fees specified under subs. (2) to (14).
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(2) HUNTING LICENSES; STAMPS; CERTIFICATE;
1AG. (a) Resident small game. The fee for a
resident small game hunting license is $7.

(b) Resident armed forces small game. There
is no fee for a small game hunting license issued
to a member of the U.S. armed forces under s.
29‘09 12) (¢).

(c) Resident deer. The fee for a resident deer
hunting license is $11.50

(d) Resident bear. The fee for a resident bear
hunting license is $11.50.

(¢) Resident archer. The fee for a resident
archer hunting licenise is $11.50

(f) Nonresident annual small game. The fee
for a nonresident annual small game hunting
license is $60.

(g) Nonresident 5-day small game. The fee
for a nonresident 5-day small game hunting
license is $30.

" (h) Nonresident deer. The fee for a nonresi-
dent deer hunting licénse is $85

(1) Nonresident bear. The fee for a nonresi-
dent bear hunting license is $100

(i) Nonresident fur-bearing animal. The fee
for a nonresident fur-bearing animal hunting
license is $125

(k) Nonresident archer. The fee for a nonresi-
dent archer hunting license is $65.

_ (L) Wild turkey hunting stamp. The fee for a
wild turkey hunting stamp is $11.50.

(m) Waterfowl hunting stamp. The fee for a
waterfowl hunting stamp is $3.

‘(n) Hunter -education and firearm safety;
instruction fee; certificate of accomplishment.
The instruction fee for the hunter education and
firearm safety course provided ins. 29.225is $3.
There is no fee for the original issuance of a
certificate of accomplishment if the instruction
fee is-paid.

(o) Deer tag and back tag. Thereis no fee for
a deer tag or back tagissued with a resident deer
hunting license, resident archer hunting license,
nonresident deer hunting license, nonresident
archer hunting license, sports license or conser-
vation patron license.

. (p) Car kill deer tags Thereis no fee for a tag
issued under s. 29.40 (5). :

(3) ‘FISHING LICENSES; STAMPS. (a) Resident
annual- The fee for a resident annual fishing
license is -87.

(b) Resident annual husband and wife. The
fee for a resident annual husband and wife
fishing license is $12.

(¢) Resident daily sports fi 7 shing. The fee fora
resident daily sports fishing license is $5.50.

(d) Resident armed forces. There is no fee for
an annual fishing license issued to a member of
the U.S. armed forces under s. 29.09 (12) (b).
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(e) Resident senior citizen. There is no fee for
a permanent license issued to a resident senior
citizen under s. 29.145 (1a).

(f) Resident disabled person. There is no fee
for a fishing license issued to a resident disabled
person under s. 29.145 (1c)

(g) Fishing licenses for certain patients and
institutionalized persons; related stamps. Not-
withstanding pars. (a) to (c) or (h) to (L), there
is no fee for a fishing license issued under s.
29.145 (1b).

(h) Nonresident annual. The fee for a nonres-
ident annual fishing license is $18.

(i) Nonresident annual family. The fee for a
nonresident annual family fishing license is $32.

(i) Nonresident 15-day. The fee for a nonresi-
dent 15-day fishing license is $11.

(k) Nonresident 15-day family. The fee for a
nonresident 15-day family fishing license is $18.

(L) Nonresident 4-day. The fee for a nonresi-
dent 4-day fishing license is $8.50.

(m) Nonresident daily sports fishing. The fee
for a-nonresident daily sports fishing license is
$5.50.

(n) Sturgeon spearing license. The fee for a
sturgeon spearing license is $6.50.

(0) Inland waters trout stamp. The fee for an
inland waters trout stamp is $3.

(p) Great Lakes trout and salmon stamp. The
fee for a Great Lakes trout and salmon stamp is
$3.

(4) COMBINATION LICENSES. (a) Resident
sports license. The minimum fee for a resident
sports license is $25.50. Any applicant, at the
applicant’s option, may pay a greater or addi-
tional fee for this license.

(b) ‘Resident conservation patron license.
The fee for a resident conservation patron li-
cense is $100 if- that license is issued by the
department from its central office. If a conser-
vation patron license is not issued by the depart-
ment from its central office, the fee for this
license is $99.50.

(5) GUIDE AND SPORT TROLLING LICENSES. (a)
Guide license. The fee for a guide license is $5

. (b) Resident sport trolling license. The fee for
a resident sport trolling license is $60
(c) Nonresident sport trolling license. The fee

fora ndnresident sport trolling license is $400.

67T RAPPING AND FUR DEALER LICENSES (a)
Resident trappmg The fee for a resident trap-
ping license is $12.

(b) Resident fur dealer, Class A. The fee fora
resident fur dealer, Class A, license is $25.

(c) Resident fur dealer, Class B. The fee for a
resident fur dealer, Class B, license is $10.

(d) Fur dresser or dyer. The fee for a fur
dresser or dyer license is $25.
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(e) Itinerant fur dealer. The fee for an itiner-
ant fur buyer license is $200

(f) Fur auctioneer. The fee for a fur auctlon-
eer license is $250.

(7) COMMERCIAL FISHING AND WHOLESALE
FISH DEALER LICENSES; TAGS. (a) Resident outly-
ing waters, class A. The fee for a class A com-
mercial fishing license is $60 if no boat is used or
$60 for each boat not exceedmg 25 feet in
overall length.

(b) Resident outlying waters, class B. The fee
for a class B commercial fishing license for each
boat exceeding 25 feet in overall length is $200
plus $5 for each foot in excess of 40 feet but in
no case may the fee for any boat exceed $300.

(¢) Resident outlying waters, class C. The fee
for a class C commercial fishing license is $25 if
no boat is used or $25 per boat if boats are used

(g) Transfer of a commercial fishing license
The fée for the transfer of 'a commercial fishing
license is $5.

(h) Outlying waters, crew license. There is no
fee for a commercial fishing crew license.

(i) Mississippi and St. Croix rivers net license.
The fees for a net license for the Mississippi and
St. Croix rivers are:

1. For a seine net, $20 for the first 500 lineal
feet of the net, $10 for the 2nd 500 lineal feet and
$2 for each additional 100 lineal feet.

2. For a gill net, $10 for the first 2,000 lineal
feet of the nét and $1 for each additional 100
lineal feet ‘

3. For bait nets, $20 for the license.

4. For buffalo and frame. nets, $10 for the
license.

() Mississippi and St Croix rivers net tags.
The fees for a net tag for seine, gill, bait, buffalo
and frame nets in the Mississippi and St. Croix
rivers are:

1. For seine, gxll and bait nets, 25 cents for
cach tag.

2- .For buffalo and frame nets 50 cents for
each tag

(k) Mississippi river slat net license. The fee
for a slat net license for the Mississippi river is
$20. "
(L) Mississippi river slat net tags. The fee for
each slat net tag for the Mississippi river is 50
cents.. ' o ' ‘

(m) Mississippi river trammel net license. The

fee for a trammel net license for the M1551531pp1'

river is $20-for each net.

“(n) Mississippi river trammel net tag. The fee
for each trammel net tag for the Mississippi
river is 50 cents.’ '

(0) Inland waters set or bank pole license.
The fee for a set or bank pole license for inland
waters'is $2.25.

(p) Inland waters setline license. The fee for a
setline license for inland waters is $10:
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(q) Iniand waters setline tag. The fee for each
setline tag for inland waters is. 25 cents.

(r) Wholesale fish dealer. The fee for a whole-
sale fish dealer license is $25

(8) BAIT DEALER AND FISH HATICHERY LI-
CENSES. (a) Resident bait dealer, Class A. The
fee for a Class A bait dealer license is $25.

(b) Resident bait dealer, Class B. The fee for
a Class B bait dealer license is $5.

(c) Private fish hatchery, Class A. The fee for
a private fish hatchery, Class A license is $50.

(d) Private fish hatchery, Class B. The fee for
a private fish hatchery, Class B license is $25.

() -Private fish hatchery, Class C. The fee for
a private fish hatchery, Class C license is $5.

(f) Private fish hatchery, Class D, The fee for
a private fish hatchery, Class D license is $5.

(9) BIRD AND GAME FARMS, RELATED ACTIVI-
TIES AND WILDLIFE IN CAPTIVITY; LICENSES; TAG;
PERMITS. (a) Pheasant and quail farm license.
The fee for a pheasant and quail farm license is
$20.

(b) Game bird and animal farm licénse. The
fee for a game bird and ammal farm-license is
$10.

(c) Fur animal farm license. The fee for a fur
animal farm license is $10.

"(d) Deer farm license The fee for a deer farm
license is $25

(e) Deer farm sales license. The fee for a deer
farm sales license is $50.

(f) Deer farm sales tag. The fee for each deer
farm sales tag is 5 cents.

(g) Special retail deer sale permzt The fee for
a special retail deéer sale permlt is $5 for each
deer sold:

(h) Venison serving permit. The fee for a
venison serving permit is $5.

() Bird and game farms; late fee. The late fee
for any license filed after the expiration date of a
license issued under ss. 29.573 t029.578 s $10 in
addition to the regular fee:-

© (j) - Wildlife:- exhibit license. The fee for a
wildlife exhibit license is $10.

(10) SCIENTIFIC COLLECTOR PERMIT. There is
no fee for a scientific collector permit.

“(11) WILD RICE AND GINSENG; CARD AND
LICENSES. (a) Wild rice identification card
Theieis no fee for a wild rice identification card

(b) Wild rice harvest license. The fee for a
wild rice harvest license is $1.

(¢)"Wild rice dealer, class A. The fee for a
class A:wild rice dealer license is $15.

(d) Wild rice dealer, class B. The. fee for a
class B wild rice dealer license is $50.

(e) Wild rice dealer, class C: The fee for a
class C wild rice dealer license is $100.

() ‘Wild rice dealer, class D. The fee for.a
class D wild rice dealer license is $150.
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(g) Wild ginseng harvest license. The fee fora
wild ginseng harvest license is $5, except that
there is no fee for a license issued to a person for
cutting, rooting up, gathering or destroying
wild ginseng only on the person’s own land.

(h) Wild ginseng dealer license. The fee for a
wild ginseng dealer license is $100.

(12) SENIOR CITIZEN RECREATION CARD. The
fee for a'senior citizen recreation card is $11.

(13) FEES FOR DUPLICATE APPROVALS. (a) Du-
plicate deer hunting license. The fee for a dupli-
cate resident deer hunting license or a nonresi-
dent deer. huntmg license is $6

(b) Dup11cate archer hunting, sports or con-
servatlon patron license. The fee for a duplicate
resident -archer -hunting license, nonresident
archer hunting license, sports license or conser-
vation patron license is $6 if the duplicate
license includes any deer tags and $2 if the
duphcate license is issued after the open season
for hunting deer and does not include any deer
tags.

(c) Dupllcate huntmg Izcense other. The fee
for a duplicate. hunting license not specified
under par. (a) or (b) is 32 .

(d). Duplicate fishing license. The fee for a
duphcate fishing license is $2.

(e) Duplicate senior citizen recreation card.
The fee for a duplicate senior citizen recreation
card is $2.

(f) Duplicate certificate of accomplishment.
The fee for a duplicate certlflcate of accomplish-
ment is $2.

(g) Duplicate; other dpprovals. The fee fora
duplicate license, permit, certificate or card not
specified under pars. (a) to (f) is $2 if there is a
fee for the original-approval or dpplication.

" (18) IssUING FEE. (a) Issuing fee generally. In
addition to the fees specified for licenses and
stamps under subs.-(2) to (9), (11) and (13), a
person who applies for a license or stamp or for
a duplicate license or stamp issued under this
chapter shall-pay an issuing fee.

v(b) License. Except as provided under par.
(c), the issuing fee for each license is 50 cents

(c) Conservation patron license. There is no
issuing fee for a .conservation patron license
issued by the department from its central office.
If:a conservation patron license is not issued by
the department from its central office, the issu-
ing fee for this license is 50 cents.

(d).Stamp. The issuing fee. for each stamp is
25 cents..

(e) No issuing fee ['01 senior cztzzen recreation
card. There is no issuing fee for a senior citizen
recreation: card.

(f) Addition of issuing fee to be shown with
license or stamp fee as one amount. The issuing
fee shall be added to the fee provided in subs. (2)
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to (9), (11) and (13) and any amount shown on
the printed license form or stamp shall be the

total of the issuing fee and other fee.
History: 1983 a.27; 1983 a. 192 ss. 68 to 70, 303 (6); 1983
a.420, 538,

29.093 Fish and wildlife; effective periods;
restrictions. (1) SPECIFICATION OF EFFECTIVE PE-
RIODS; RESTRICTIONS. Unless an approval issued
under this chapter is suspended or revoked or
unless another section of ‘this chapter specifi-
cally provides otherwise, the approval is valid
for the period specified under-subs. (2) to (14).
In addition to any othet restriction under this
chapter, no license may be issued if that issu-
ance is restricted under sub. (2) or(3)

(2) HUNTING LICENSES; STAMPS; CERIIFICATE.
(a) General effective period. Except as provided
under pars. (b) and (c), a hunting license is valid
from September 1 or the date of issuance,
whlchever is later, until August 31 of the follow-
ing year:" "

(b) Archer hunting license; issuance after the
beginning of the open season for hunting deer.
A resident archer hunting license or:a nonresi-
dent -archer hunting license issued during the
open season for the hunting of deer with a bow
and arrow’is not valid until 3 days after it is
issued; excluding the date of issuance.

'(¢) Nonresident 5-day small game hunting
license. A nonresident 5-day small game hunt-
ing license is valid for the 5 -day penod specified
on the license

(d) Wild turkey buntmgstamp A wild turkey
hunting stamp is valid ffom September 1 or the
date of issuance,; whichever is later, until August
31 of theé following year.

(e) Waterfowl hunting stamp. A waterfowl
hunting stamp is valid from September 1 or the
date of issuance, whicheveris later, until August
31 of the following year

(f) Certificate of accomplishment. Except as
provided under:s.29.227 (1) (d), a certificate of
accomplishment issued under s. 29.225 is valid
for the hunting of small game in place of a small
game hunting license for one year beginning on
September 1 following the issuance of the certif-
icate and endmg on August 31 of the following
year.

(g) Restriction on the issuance of deer hunt-
ing licenses during the open season. Except as
provided under par. (i); no resident deer hunt-
ing license, nonresident deer hunting license,
sports license ‘or conservation patron license
may be issued during the- open season for the
hunting of deer with firearms.

(h) Restriction on the issuance of bear hunt-
ing licenses during the open season. Except as
provided under par. (i), no resident bear hunt-
ing license, nonresident bear hunting license,
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sports license or conservation patron license
may be issued during the open season for the
hunting of bear with firearms.

(1) Exception. A resident deer hunting license
or resident bear hunting license may be issued
before or after the opening of the season for
hunting deer or bear with firearms to a person
who is a member of the U.S. armed forces who
exhibits proof that he or she is in active service
with the armed forces and that he or she is
stationed in this state or a resident of this state
on furlough or leave.

(3) FISHING LICENSES; STAMPS. (a) Generally.
Except as provided under pars. (b) to (f), a
fishing license is valid from January 1 or- the
date of issuance, whichever is later, until De-
cember 31, :

(b) Resident senior citizen fishing license. A
permanent fishing. license issued to a senior
citizen is valid from the date of issuance and
shall remain valid as long as the licensee is a
resident.

(c) Resident disabled person fishing license
A permanent fishing license issued to a disabled
person is valid from the date of issuance and
shall remain valid as long as.the licensee is a
resident and his or her handicap continues.

(d) Nonresident 15-day and nonresident 15-
day family fishing licenses. A nonresident 15-
day fishing license or a nonresident 15-day
family fishing license is valid for the 15-day
period specified on the license.

(e) Nonresident 4-day fishing license. A non-
resident 4-day fishing license is valid for the 4-
day. period specified on the license

(f) Resident and nonresident daily sports
fishing licenses. A resident daily sports fishing
license or a nonresident daily sports fishing
license is valid only for the date specified on the
license. a

(g) Fishing stamps. An inland waters trout
stamp or Great Lakes trout and salmon stamp
is valid from January 1 or the date of issuance,
whichever is-later, until December 31..

(h)  Restrictions on -issuance -of . sturgeon
spearing licenses during the open season. No
sturgeon spearing license may be issued during
the open season for the spearing of rock or lake
sturgeon. f : .

(4) COMBINATION LICENSES. A sports license
or a conservation patron license is valid from
September 1 or the date of issuance, whichever
is later, until August-31-of the following year.

(5) GUIDE AND SPORT TROLLING LICENSES. A
guide license or sport trolling license is valid
from January 1-or the date of issuance, which-
ever is later, until December 31,

(6) TRAPPING AND FUR DEALER LICENSES. (a)
Trapping license. A trapping license is valid
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from September 1 or the date of issuance,
whichever is later, until the following August
31

(b) Fur dealer and related licenses. A resident
fur dealer, Class A license; resident fur dealer,
Class B license; fur dresser or dyer license;
itinerant fur dealer license or fur auctioneer
license is valid from September 1 or the date of
issuance, whichever is later, until the following
August 31.

(7) COMMERCIAL: FISHING AND WHOLESALE
FISH DEALER LICENSES. (a) Outlying waters. A
class A, class B, class C, class E or class F
commercial fishing license or a related crew
license is valid from July 1 or the date of
issuance, whichever is later, until the following
June 30.

(b) Mississippi and St. Croix rivers net Ii-
cense. A net license for the Mississippi and St.
Croix rivers authorizing the use of seine, gill,
bait, buffalo or frame nets is valid from April 16
or the date of issuance, whichever is later, until
the following April 15.

(c) Mississippi river slat and trammel nets. A
slat net license or a trammel net license is valid
from April 16 or the date of issuance, whichever
is later, until the following April 15.

(d) Inland waters set or bank pole or setline
license. A set or bank pole license or setline
license is valid from January 1 or the date of
issuance, whichever is later, until December 31.

(e) Wholesale fish dealer license. A wholesale
fish dealer license is valid from January 1 or the
date of issuance, whichever is later, until De-
cember 31,

(8) BAIT DEALER AND FISH HAICHERY LI-
CENSES. (a) Bait dealer. A bait dealer, Class A
license or a bait dealer, Class B license is valid
from January 1 or the date of issuance, which-
ever is later, until December 31.

(b) Fish hatcheries. A private fish hatchery,
Class A, Class B, Class C or Class D license is
valid from January 1 or the date of issuance,
whichever is later, until December 31

(9) BIRD AND GAME FARMS,; RELATED ACTIVI-
TIES AND WILDLIFE IN CAPTIVITY; LICENSES AND
PERMITS. (a) Pheasant and quail farm license. A
pheasant and quail farm license is valid from
July 1 or the date of issuance, whichever is later,
until the following June 30.

(b) Game bird and animal farm license. A
game bird and animal farm license is valid from
January 1 or the date of issuance, whichever is
later, until December 31.

(¢) Fur animal farm license. A fur animal
farm license is valid from January 1 or the date
of issuance, whichever is later, until December
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(d) Deer farm license. A deer farm license is
valid from Jahuary 1 or the date of issuance,
whichever is later, until December 31

(e) Deer farm sales license. A deer farm sales
license is valid from January 1 or the date of
issuance, whichever is later, until December 31.

(f) Special retail deer sale permit. A special
retail deer sale permit is valid for the limited
period specified onthe permit.

(g) Venison serving permit. A venison serving
permit is valid for a period notto exceed 30 days
after the date of issuance

“(h) Bird and.game farms, late filing Notwith-
standing pars. (a) to (), the rights and privileges
of a person issued a license under ss. 29.573 to
29.578 may be continued for 45 days as pro-
vided under s. 29.572 (3).

(i): Wildlife exhibit license. A wildlife exhibit
license is'valid from January 1 or the date of
issuance, whichever is later, until December 31.

" (10) SCIENTIFIC. COLLECTOR AND ENDANGERED
SPECIES PERMITS. (a).Scientific collector permit
A scientific collector permit is valid from Janu-
ary 1 or the date of issuance, whichever is later,
until December 31.

(b) Endangered species permit. A permit
issued under-s. 29 415 (6) is valid for the period
designated by the department

(11) WILD RICE-AND GINSENG. (a) W11d rice
licenses. A wild rice harvest license or any class
A, class B, class C or ¢lass D wild rice dealer
license is valid from May 1 or the .date of
issuance, whichever is later, until the followmg
“April 30. :

(b)y Wild ginseng hat vest license. A w11d gin-
seng harvest license is valid from August 15 or
the date of issuance, whichever is later, until
November 1 of that same year
" (c) Wild ginseng dealer license. A wild gin-
seng dealer license is valid from July 1 or the
date: of issuance; whichever-is later, until the
following June 30

{(12) SENIOR CITIZEN RECREATION CARD. A
senior citizen recreation card is valid from the
date of issuance and shall remain valid as long
as:the person is -a resident

(13) DuprLicates. A duplicate approval is
valid from the date of issuance until the expira-
tion of the original approval.
= (14) OTHER: A license or stamp not men-
tioned under subs.. (2) to (13) is valid from
September 1 or the date of issuance, whichever

is'later, until the following ‘August 31
History: ~ 1983 a 27,1983’ 192's 303 (6); 1983 a 420.

29.095 Senior citizen recreation card. (1)
The department and the county clerk of each
county shall issue a senior citizen recreation
card to any resident 65 years of age or older who
presents satisfactory proof of age and residence.

FISH AND GAME 29.102

(2) The recreation card entitles the holder to
exercise all of the combined rights and privi-
leges conferred by a resident small game hunt-
ing license and resident fishing license; subject
to-all duties, conditions, limitations and restric-
tions prescribed under this chapter and by de-
partment order. The card permits any vehicle
having a card holder as an occupant to enter
any vehicle admission area under s. 27.01 (2r)
without having an admission sticker affixed to
it and no fee may be charged for the vehicle to
gain entrance ‘to the vehicle admission area
The card permits a card holder to enter Heri-
tage. Hill -state park or a state trail and no
admission fee may be charged for the person to
gain entrance to those areas.

(3) Except as provided-in this section, posses-
sion of a recreation card shall not entitle the
holder to obtain any other privileges or services
for free if the privileges or services may be
obtained only through payment of a fee.

(5) The department shall allocate the pro-
ceeds from recreation card sales among the
various affected programs at its discretion.

‘History: 1977 ¢ 424; 1979 ¢. 34; 1983 2 27 '

© NOTE: Sectlon 29.145 (1a) allows a resident over 65 to re-
celve a permanent fishing hcense wnthout cost.

29.10 Resident small game hunting license.
A resident small game hunting license shall be
issied subject to s.29.09 by the department or
by a county clerk to any resident applying for
this license. The resident small game hunting
license does not authorize the huntmg of bear or
deer:

History: 1973¢ 905 538; 1973 ¢ 315;1979¢ 34; 1983 a.
27 . o : .

20.102 Waterfowl hunting stamp. (1) Re-
QUIREMENT; ISSUANCE; EXCEPTIONS. (a) Require-

~ment. Except as provided under par. (c), no

person may hunt waterfowl unless he or she is
issued a conservation patron license or unless he
or she is issued a waterfowl hunting stamp
which is affixed by the stamp’s adhesive to the
person’s hunting license. which. authorizes the
hunting of small game or to the person’s sports
license. '

(b)-Issuance. The waterfowl huntmg stamp
shall be issued by the department and its agents
and by county clerks subject to s. 29.09. The
waterfowl hunting stamp shall be designed and
produced by the department as provided under
s. 29.09 (13).

(c) Exemptions. Any person who.is under 16
years:of age is exempt from the requirements of
this subsection.. Any person. who is exempt
from the requirement to have a hunting license
or who is not required to pay a fee for a hunting




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

29.102 FISH AND GAME

license is exempt from the requirements of par.
(a). ‘

- (2) USE OF MONEY FROM FEES. (a) Habitat. The
department - shall expend 67% of the money
received :from fees for waterfowl hunting
stamps for developing, managing;. preserving,
restoring and maintaining wetland habitat and
for producing waterfowl and ecologically re-
lated species of wildlife.

(b) Propagation. The department shall ex-
pend 33% of the money received from fees for
waterfowl hunting stamps for the development
of waterfowl propagation areas within Canada
which will provide waterfow! for this state and
the Mississippi flyway. Money for the develop-
ment of waterfowl propagation areas shall be
provided only to nonprofit organizations.
Before providing any money the department
shall obtain evidence that the proposed water-
fowl propagation project is acceptable to the
appropriate provincial and federal governmen-
tal agencies of Canada.

History: 1977 ¢. 376; 1979 ¢ 34;.1983 a. 27

29.103 * Wild turkey hunting; stamp; zones;
permit. (1) DEFINITIONS. As used in this section:

(a) “Family member” means a person who is
related to another person as a parent, child,
spouse-or sibling. :

(b)“Landowner” means the owner of record
of a parcel of land or the purchaser of land
under a land contract who has the right to
occupy and the right to use the land.

(c) “Operator” means a resident who is.resid-

ing on a parcel of land under a rental agree-
ment, lease, agreement or contract and who is
engaged in farm activities or other operations
on the land.
° (2) WILD TURKEY HUNIING STAMP. (2) Re-
quirement. Except as provided under par. (d),
no person may hunt wild turkey unless he or she
has a valid wild turkey hunting stamp affixed by
the stamp’s adhesive to the person’s hunting
license which authorizes the hunting of small
game, to the ‘person’s sports license or to the
person’s conservation patron license

(b) Issuance. The wild turkey hunting stamp
shall be issued by the department or a county
clerk subject to s. 29.09." The department shall
design and produce wild turkey hunting stamps
-as provided under s. 29.09 (13).

(¢) Tags. The department may provide tags
to be issued with a wild turkey hunting stamp.

(d) Authorization. A wild turkey hunting
stamp authorizes the hunting of wild turkey in
open zones during the open season but only if
any turkey hunting permit required by the de-
partment is also issued to the person with the
wild turkey hunting stamp.
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(e) Exemptions. Any person who is exempt
from the requirement to have a hunting license
or who is not required to pay a fee for a hunting
license is exempt from the requirements of par
(a).

(3) TURKEY HUNTING ZONES. The department
may establish by rule wild turkey hunting zones
where turkey hunting is permitted. The depart-
ment may establish by rule closed zones where
wild turkey hunting is prohibited. No person
may hunt wild turkeys in a closed zone.

(4) TURKEY HUNTING PERMITS. (a) Require-
ment. The department may require by rule a
wild turkey hunting permit for any person who
hunts wild turkeys. If a wild turkey hunting
permit is required, no person may hunt wild
turkeys unless the person is issued that permit.
The department may require by rule a wild
turkey hunting permit which is valid for a
designated wild turkey hunting zone for any
person who hunts wild turkeys in that zone. No
person may hunt wild turkeys in a wild turkey
hunting zone unless the person is issued a wild
turkey hunting permit which is valid for that
zone

(b). Landowner preference. 1. If the depart-
ment requires wild turkey hunting permits, first
preference in the issuance of these permits, but
not to exceed 20% of all permits to be issued in
any established wild turkey hunting zone, shall
be given to applicants applying under the land-
owner preference system.

2. A qualified resident landowner may apply
for a wild turkey hunting permit under the
landowner preference system. A qualified resi-
dent landowner is a resident who owns at least
50 acres in one parcel in an established wild
turkey hunting zone and who agrees to allow
other persons to hunt wild turkeys on that land
if those persons first obtain permission to hunt
from the landowner. If more than one individ-
ual is the landowner of a single parcel of land,
only one individual may be considered a quali-
fied resident landowner. ~

" 3. A qualified resident landowner may assign
his or her eligibility to apply for a wild turkey
hunting permit under the landowner preference
system to a family member, to an operator or to
a family member of the operator. The depart-
ment-may specify the procedures and forms
which are required to be followed and com-
pleted to effect this assignment. After this
assignment, the assignee may apply for a wild
turkey hunting permit under the landowner
preference system and the qualified resident
landowner may not, notwithstanding subd. 2.

(c) Second and 3rd preference. If the depart-
ment requires wild turkey hunting permits, 2nd
preference shall be given to resident applicants
including resident applicants under the Jand-
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owner. preference system who did not receive
permits and 3rd preference shall be g1ven to
nonresident applicants.

(d) Permit limitation. No person may apply
for or receive more than one wild turkey hunt-
ing permit during one season.

(e) Misrepresentation. Any person who
falsely represents facts on an application or
other form related to a wild turkey hunting
permit shall forfeit $50, any wild turkey hunting
permit issued to that person shall be revoked
and no wild turkey hunting permit may be
issued to that person for the current open
season for hunting wild turkeys or, if the season
is -closed at the time judgment is rendered
against that person, for the next open season for
hunting wild turkeys.

History: 1981 ¢ 262; 1983 a. 27, 192

29.104 Resident archer hunting license. (1)
A resident archer hunting license shall be issued
subject to s. 29.09 by the department or by a
county clerk to any re31dent applying for this
license.

% (2) A resident archer hunting license autho-
rizes the hunting of -all.game during the open
seasons for hunting that game with bow and
arrow. established by the department. This
license authorizes hunting with a bow and ar-
row only, unless hunting with a crossbow is
authorized under sub. (4).

(3) The department or county clerk shall
issue to each person who is issued a resident
archer hunting license a deer tag and a back tag
in the form and numbered-as required by the
department.

(4) (a) After proper application and presenta-
tion of a current resident archer hunting license
duly issued to the apphcant the secretary may
grant to-any person who is established by medi-
‘cal evidence, verified by a written statement
from a licensed physician, to be unable to
operate a manually pulled bow because -of -a
permanent physical disability a special permit
to hunt with a crossbow meeting the specifica-
tions of par. (b).

(b) Crossbows used in hunting under this
subsection shall meet all of the following
spec1f1canons

1."Shall be fired from the shoulder;

2. Shall deliver atleast 42 ft.-lbs. of energy at
a distance of 10 feet; -

3. Shall have a stock of not less than 30
continuing inches in length;

.+ 4.Shall have a working safety; and

: 5. Shall be used with arrows or bolts of not
less than 10 inches in length with a broadhead.
27History: 1973 ¢ 90's 538; 1977 ¢. 232; 1979 ¢ 34; 1983 a
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29.105 Resident deer hunting license. (1)
Issuance. A resident deer hunting license shall
be issued subject to s. 29.09 by the department
or by a county clerk to any resident applying for
this license.

(2) AUTHORIZATION. (a) With firearms only.
A resident deer hunting license authorizes the
hunting of deer with firearms only

(b) Bear hunting. A resident deer hunting
license also authorizes the hunting of bear dur-
ing the periods when the open seasons for

‘hunting deer and bear with firearms are

concurrent.

(3) DEER TAG AND BACK TAG. The department
or county clerk shallissue to each person who is
issued a resident deer hunting license a deer tag
and a back tag in the form and numbered as

required by the department.
History: 1973 ¢ 90s. 538 1979 c. 34 1983 2. 27

20.106 Deer hunting by practitioners of Win-
nebago religion. (1) Persons who are enrolled
members of the Winnebago Indian tribe and
residents of this state and who practice the
traditional Winnebago religion may hunt deer
during daylight hours for the members’ use in
religious ceremonies without obtaining licenses
under this chapter. Each hunting party shall be
designated by the respective clan. Each clan
leader shall obtain permission for deer hunting
under this section from the department not less
than 24 hours prior to each hunt.

(2) The department shall promulgate rules
necessary to control the conditions and location
under. which hunting under this section may
take place. The department may deny permis-
sion for hunting under this section when it
determines that such a denial is necessary to
effectively manage the deer population. The
number of deer taken by all of the Winnebago
clans for religious purposes during any calendar
year shall be established by the department, by
rule; when.necessary to effectively manage the
deer populatlon Hunting privileges under this
section may not be exercised during the regular
open season for deer.

(3) Nothing in this section may be construed
to eliminate any requirement that a landowner’s
permission must be obtained prior to hunting
on his or her land. ,

History: - 1977 ¢. 242.

29.107 Deer hunting party permits. A deer
hunting party permit may be issued by the
department subject to 5..29.09, to a deer hunt-
ing party, as designated ‘by the department
Each member of a party applying for a party
permit shall possess a valid deer hunting license
of current issue. The issuance of party permits,
the areas in which they are effective and the




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

29.107 FISH AND GAME

minimum number of persons comprising a deer
huntinig party in any area i discretionary with
thé department. The department may limit the
number of deer hunting party permits-in any
area. If the number of permit applications for
an drea exceeds the number of permits autho-
rized for the drea, the department shall conduct
a drawing to detérmine who shall receive a
permit that year. The department shall give
first prefetence in drawings to residents who
applied for but were not issued permits in the
preceding’ year, and second preference to -all
other residents. Any resident who falsely repre-
sents onan application fora deer hunting party
permit that the resident was not issued ‘a permit
in the preceding year shall forfeit $50 and suffer
the revocation of the deer hunting license for
the current year. The department shall issue
party permits only in those years and for those
seasons that the department finds that the pop-

ulatlon of deer is such that additional harvest of

deer is reasonably necessary to properly man-

age the deer herd in-the state in balance with the

available deer range and natural food supply.

These findings shall be made by the department

as rules under s, 29.174 and subject to ch. 227.
History: * 1975 ¢.'89, 199; 1979 ¢ 34

-29.108 Huntérs choice deer hunting per-
mits. The depar tment may issue hunter’s choice
deer hunting permlts to a person who has a
valid deer huntmg license and who applies for
this' permit. " A-hunter’s ¢hoice deer hunting
permit authorizes the permit holder to take one
deer of either sex’in areas specified by the
department. The issuance of hunter’s choice
‘permits, the niumber of permiits, and the aréas
for which the pérmits are effective are discre-

tionary with the department.” If the number of

permit applicants exceeds-the number of per-
mits authorized, the department shall conduct a
drawing to see who shall receive a permlt The
department shall give first preference in draw-
‘ings to residents who applied for but were not
issued permits in’ the preceding year, and 2nd
preference to all other residents.” Any resident
who falsely represents on an application. for a
hurter’s-choice deér hunting permit that™ the
resident was not issued a permit in the preceding
year shall forfeit $50 and suffer the revoeition
of the deer hunting license for the current year.
History: 197‘9 c. 34, 221

29.109 -Resident bear hunting license. A resi-
“dent bear hunting license shall be issued subject
to's. 29.09 by the departmient or by a county
clerk to any resident applying for this license. A
resident “bear -hunting license authorizes the
‘hunting of bear with firearms only.

" History:  1973¢. 315; 1975 ¢ 360:1979 ¢ 34; 1983 a 27
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2911 Nonresident annual small game hunt-
ing license. A nonresident annual small game
hunting license shall be issued subject to s. 29.09
by the department or by a county clerk to any
nonresident applying for this license. The non-
resident annual small game hunting license au-
thorizes the hunting of small game during the
appropriate open season but does not authorize
the hunting - of deer bear or fur-bearing
animals. - :
- History: 1983 a 27
29.112 -Nonresident 5-day small game hunt-
ing license. A nonresident 5-day small game
hunting license shall be issued subject to s. 29.09
by the department or by a county clerk to any
nonresident applying for this license. The non-
resident 5-day small game hunting license au-
thorizes the hunting of small game for which
thereis an open season during the 5-day period
for which it is issued but does not authorize the
hunting of deer, bear or fur-bearing animals.
History: 1983-a. 27

29.113 ‘Nonresident deer hunting license. (1)
IssUANCE. A nonresident deer hunting license
shall be issued subject to s. 29.09 by the depart-
ment or by a county clerk to any nonresident
applying for this license:

© (2) AUTHORIZATION. A nonresident deer
hunting license authorizes the hunting of deer
with firearms only.

*(3) DEER TAG AND BACK TAG. The department
or county clerk-shall issue to each person who is
issued a nonresident deer hunting license a deer
tag and a back tag in the form and numbered as
required by the department.

History: 1983 a. 27.

29.114 - Nonresident bear hunting license. A
nonresident bear hunting license shall be issued
subject to s. 29.09.by the department or by a
county .clerk to any nonresident applying for
this license.- A nonresident bear hunting license

‘authorizes the hunting of bear with firearms

only.
History: 1983 a. 27

29.116 Nonresident fur-bearing animal hunt-
ing license. A nonresident fur-bearing animal
hunting license shall be issued subject to s. 29.09
by the depariment or a county clerk to any
nonresident applying for this license. The non-
resident fur-bearing animal hunting license au-
thorizes the hunting of skunk, rac¢coon, fox,
weasel, opossum, coyote and wildcat during the

‘appropriate open season but does not authorize

the hunting of other fur-bearing animals, other
small game, deer or bear.
History: 1983 a. 27
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29.117 Nonresident archer hunting license.
(1) IsSUANCE. A nonresident archer hunting
license shall be issued subject to s. 29 09 by the
department or by a county clerk to any nonresi-
dent applying for this license.

{2) AUTHORIZATION. The nonresident archer
hunting licensé authorizes the hunting of all
game except fur-bearing animals during the
open season for the hunting of that game with a
bow and arrow. This license authorizes hunting
with a bow and arrow only and does not autho-
rize hunting with a crossbow.

(3) DEER TAG AND BACK TAG. The department
or county clerk shall issue to each person who is
issued ‘a nonresident archer hunting license a
deer tag and a back tag in theé form and num-
bered as required by the department

History: 1983 a. 27

29.123  Disabled veterans, Great Lakes Na-
val Hospital. Notwithstanding any other stat-
ute, any disabled veteran who is$ a patient at the
Great Lakes Naval Hospital, Great Lakes, Illi-
nois, may hunt pheasant in this state in Colum-
bia county on any one day in November in each
year, the day to be specified by the administra-
tor of the hospital to the department, without
obtaining a resident or nonre51dent hunting
license under this chapter,
History: 1971.c 127; 1973 ¢. 243 5 81

29.125 Reports of hunters. Each person to
whom a hunting or trapping licénse has been
issued-under this chapter shall, when requested
to do so by the department, report to the
department, on forms furnished: by it, the

number of his license, the number and kind of

each animal taken by the licensee and such
other information as the department requires.

29.13 Trapping licenses. (1) (a) Issuance. A
trapping license shall be issued subject to s
29.09 by the department or by a county clexk to
any resident applying for this license.

(b) Authorization. A trapping license autho-
rizes the use of traps for trapping fur-bearing
ammals

" (¢) Individual licenses required. If a trapper
employs any person in trapping, a license is
required for each person employed.

(d) Tags. Each trap used under a trapping
license shall be tagged with a metal tag stamped
with the name and address of the owner. All
untagged traps shall be seized and confiscated,
and the owner or person using or attending the
untagged traps shall be punished as provided
under s. 29.99 (4) and (12).

(2) All shipments of hides must be marked
showing the number and kinds of hides in the
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package, the name and address of the shipper,
and the number of his trapping license.

(3) On or before June first of each year, such
licensee shall report to the department, by affi-
davit, on blanks furnished by the department,
the number of his license, the number and value
of each variety of animals taken during the
previous 12 months.ending May first, and such
other information as may be required on the
blanks furnished. ‘

((5) (a) No person may molest, take or appro-
priate a trap belonging to another person when
the trap is lawfully placed. No person may take
or appropriate the animal or contents of any
lawfully placed trap belonging to another
person.

(b) ‘A person who v1olates this subsection
shall be fined not less than $300 nor more than
$1,000 or imprisoned not more than 90 days or
both. . In addition, if a person violates this
subsection, the court shall revoke all licenses
issued to the person under this chapter for 5

years
History: 1973 ¢. 90; 1975 ¢. 365s. 62; 1979 ¢ 34; 1979 ¢
190's 4; 1981 ¢. 236; 1981 ¢. 2435 7; 1981 ¢ 391;1983a 27,

29.134 Fur dealers regulated. (1) For the
purpose of carrying out this section the follow-
ing definitions for the expressions used are:

(a) “Dressed fur” means the dressed or
tanned skins of any fur-bearing animal, but
does not inelude fur in the manufactured article.

(b) “Fur auctioneer” means a person duly
licensed to sell furs of wild-fur-bearing animals
of this or other states or foreign countries. The
department or its representatives may sell con-
fiscated or other furs in its possession by auc-
tion or otherwise.

(c) “Fur dresser or dyer” means a person
engaged in the business of dressing, dyeing,
tanning and otherwise preparing furs to be
made into manufactured articles.

(d) “Itinerant fur buyers” means persons
other than resident fur dealers who engage in
the business of buying, bartering, trading or
otherwise obtaining raw furs from trappers or
from fur buyers or fur dealers in retail lots for
purposes of resale, except those buying furs at a
nationally advertised public auction conducted
by a regularly licensed fur auctioneer..

(e) “Raw.fur’” means the undressed skins or
pelts of any fur-bearing animal.

(f) “Resident fur dealer, Class A” means
persons having an established post or place of
business in the state where they carry on the
business of buying, bartering, trading and
otherwise obtaining raw or dressed furs, to the
amount of $2,000 or more each year

(g) “Resident fur dealer, Class B” means
persons having an established post or place of
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business in the state where they carry on the
business of buying, bartering, trading and
otherwise obtaining raw or dressed furs, to the
amount of less than $2,000 each year.

(2) No person shall engage in the business of
buying; bartering, bargaining, trading or other-
wise ‘obtaining raw furs until they shall have
first secured a llcense therefor issued under this
section.

(3) Licenses shall be issued by the department
upon application. The form of application and
license shall be prescribed by the department.

(5) Persons who have not had a place of
business in the state for at least one year imme-
diately preceding the date of application for
such license, shall be issued itinerant fur buyers’
licenses only.

(6) Each resident fur dealer, Class A; resident
fur dealer, Class B; fur dresser or dyer; itinerant
fur-dealer or fur auctioneer license shall bear
upon its face the date of issuance. The license
shall be shown to the department or its wardens
upon request.

(6m) (a) Every person licensed under this
section shall keep-a correct and complete book
record in the English language of all transac-
tions in the buying, selling, dressing, dyeing or
tanning of raw furs carried on by him. This
record -shall show the name and post-office
address.of each person from whom furs were
purchased and to whom sold, together-with the
date of receipt and shipment, and a detailed
account as to the number and kinds of raw furs
in each shipment received or sold. This record
shall be open to the inspection of the depart-
ment and its agents and wardens at all reason-
able hours. The records shall be kept intact.for
a period of 2 years after the expiration of any
license issued under this section, as to all trans-
actions carried on while such . license was
effective.

(b) Not less than 10 days before conducting a
fur auction the fur auctioneer shall file with the
department evidence of national advertising
showing the date and place of such auction.

{cy Within 10 days-after conducting-any fur
auction ‘the fur auctioneer shall file with the

department on forms furnished by it a report of
such auction containing the date and place of

the auction, the names and addresses of all
persons buying furs taken from wild fur-bearing
animals, the:quantities and kinds of such furs
bought,-and the amounts pald for such furs by
each buyer.

“(7) All packages of raw furs sh1pped or
transported by -any -person shall have plainly
rharked on the outside of the package or ship-
ment the kinds and number of furs thetein, the
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license number, and the name of the consignor
and the consignee.

(8) No person on his behalf or as an agent for
a person, firm or corporation, express company
or other common carrier, shall at any time or in
any manner receive for shipment or cause to be
received for shipment out of or in the state, any
package of fur or furs unless the same is plainly
marked on the outside of the package as to the
number and-kinds of fur contained therein, the
license number, and the address of the con-
signor and consignee.

(9) All beaver and otter skins shipped .into
this state from Canada and other states must,
upon arrival, be shown to the department or its
wardens, and such department or its wardens
shall stamp or mark said furs with a stamp or
tag furnished by the department to show such
furs are legally held and possessed.

..{(10) Nothing ‘in this section shall prohibit
persons from buying raw or dressed furs for the
purpose of making themselves garments or
robes of any kind, but such persons shall apply
to the department or its wardens for permits to
buy such furs.

(11) Any person who v1olates this section
shall be fined not more than $1,000, or impris-
oned not more than 9 months, or both. Any
person violating sub. (6m) shall forfeit not more
than $100.

History: 1975 ¢ 365; 1983 a. 27
29.135 Wholesale fish dealer license. (1) As
used in this section unless the content otherwise
requires: :

(a) “Canned fish” means fish and seafood
products prepared for human consumption
commercially, sterilized by heat and preserved
in hermetically sealed containers.

(b) “Fish” means any and all varieties of
fresh fish, fast-frozen, salted, filleted, packaged,
pickled and smoked fish, frogs, frog legs and all
other forms of seafood except rough fish pro-
duced and sold by the state or by any person
under a contract with the state and minnows
produced and sold or purchased for bait.

(c) A “producer of fish”” means any person
who fishes with or without a crew. No producer
who holds a commercial fishing license or con-
tract pursuant to this chapter shall be required
to obtain a license to sell the fish he produces.

(d) “Seafood” means those types of food sold
fresh or fiozen and commonly known as:oys-
ters, shrimp, lobsters, lobster tails, crabs, scal-
lops, clams and other types of shell fish which
are or can be lawfully taken for commercial
purposes, but not any canned fish or such fish
known as lutefisk

(e) “Wholesale fish dealer” means any per-
son who buys, barters, sells or solicits fish in any
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manner for himself or any other person for sale
to anyone other than a consumer; but no estab-
lished retail store or locker plant is deemed a
“wholesale fish dealer’ solely as the result of the
sale of fish to a restautant, hotel or tavern at no
reduction in the retail price charged other retail
customers. A producer, except as otherwise
hereinafter provided, who sells fish directly to
retailers is a wholesale fish dealer. Hotels, meat
markets, grocery stores, restaurants and taverns
are retailers, except when they sell fish for
resale, in which case they are wholesale fish
dealers.

(2) No person shall engage in business as a
wholesale fish dealer until a license therefor has
been obtained from the department issued pur-
suant. to. this section-and s. 29.09.

() A wholesale fish dealer license shall be
issued by the department to any person duly
applying for this license.

{4) No person, licensed under sub. (2) shall
transport or cause to be transported, or deliver
or receive for transportation, any package or
parcel containing any fish or ¢arcass or part
thereof unless it is labeled legibly in English on
its address side so as to disclose the name and
address of the consignor which shall be identical

to that on the license, the name and address of

the consignee and the number of pounds of each
kind of fish contained in such package or parcel
and the number of his license

.- (8) A person licensed under sub. (2) may sell,
buy or barter, offer to sell, buy or barter or
possess or have under his or her control for sale
or-barter; any -commercial fish, except lake
sturgeon, which was lawfully taken either in this
or in another state. The licensee shall keep a
separate record of the purchase of fish in the
form required by the department, and the
record shall at all times be open to inspection by
the department and its wardens.

(6)- Any person who violates this section or
who has illegal fish in his or her possessxon shall
forfeit not more than $200.
| History: 1975 ¢.:365; 1979 ¢ 142; 1983.a 27

29.136 Taxidermists, records. (1) In this sec-
tion, ‘‘taxidermist”” means a person who, for a

consideration, mounts, pieserves or prepares
the dead body of any bird, animal or fish or dny
part thereof.

(2) Every taxidermist shall keep a record and
make an annual report to the department, on
forms which it shall supply, of all articles re-
ceived in his business as a taxidermist, the kind
and number of each, by whom owned, the

residénce of thé owner; and of all shipments-of

such articles, by and to whom and where
shipped, and the owner’s address. All such
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records of taxidermists shall be subject to in-
spection by the department at any time.
(3) Any person who violates this section shall

forfeit not more than $100.
History: 1975 c. 365; 1979 c. 342

29.137 Bait dealer license. (1) A bait dealer
license may be issued by the department to any
resident of this state duly applying for this
license who, in its judgment, has complied with
the rules prescribed by it, governing the taking,
handling and storing of bait, specifications of
equipment, and the filing of reports

(2) As used in this section unless the context
requires otherwise:

(a) “Bait” means any species of frog, crayfish
or minnow used for fishing purposes.

(b) “Bait dealer, Class A” means any person
who buys for resale, barters, gives or sells bait to
the amount of $2,000 or more each year.

(c) ““Bait dealer, Class B” means any person
who buys or gives for resale, barters, or sells
bait to the amount of less than $2,000 ¢ach year.

(3) No person shall engage in the businéss of
bait dealer without obtaining a license therefor
from the department issued pursuant to this
section, except that resident children under 16
years of age, without license or permit, may
barter or sell bait to consumers and shall be
allowed to have a possession limit. of 5,000 of
each species of bait, but no such resident child
shall make bait sales totaling more than $500
annually

(5) In accordance with the public policy
declared in s.°29.174 (1), the department may
establish rules pursuant to s. 29.174, governing
the methods of* taking, handling and storing
bait, specification of equipment used, and mak-
ing of reports.

(5m) Each licensee shall keep a correct and
complete book record in the English language
of all transactions in the production, buying
and selling of bait carried on by him, except that
rétail sales to consumers need not be recorded.
This record shall show the name and post-office
address from whom bait was purchased -and to
whom sold, together with the date of each
transaction and the value of such bait. This
record shall be open to the inspection of the
department and its wardens at all reasonable
hours: The record shall be kept intact for a
period of 2 years after the expiration of any
license issued under this section, as to all trans-
actions carried on while such license was
effective

(7) The department may issu¢ permits for the
taking of bait from specified waters and restrict
the number of permits that may be issued. for
any designated body of water. Such permits
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shall be issued in the order of application up to
the limit established by the department.

(8) This section does not apply to bait pro-
duced in a private fish hatchery licensed unders.
29.52

(9) Any person who molests, damages, de-
stroys or takes the bait traps of another, regard-

less of intent, shall forfeit not more than $100.
History: 1975 365; 1981 ¢ 226; 1983 a 27

29.14 Nonresident fishing licenses. (1) FIsH-
ING LICENSE REQUIREMENT; EXCEPTIONS. (a) Re-
quirement. Except as provided under pars. (b)
and (c), except for persons with resident licenses
under s. 29.09 (12) (a) and except as otherwise
specifically provided by another section of this
chapter, no nonresident may fish in the waters
of this state unless a valid nonresident fishing
license is issued to the person subject to s. 29.09
by the department or by a county clerk.

(b) Exception, nonresidents under 16 years of

age. No fishing license is required for a nonresi-
dent under the.age of 16 years to fish with a
hook and line or a rod and reel for fish of any
variety, subject to all other conditions, limita-
tions and restrictions prescribed in this chapter.

(¢) Exception; nonresident obtaining bait.
No separate or other flshmg license is required
for a nonresident who is issued a valid nonresi-
dent fishing license to take minnows for bait or
smelt for food under the same conditions and
rules governing residents but minnows or smelt
taken by a nonresident may not be sold, traded
or bartered in any manner.

(2) NONRESIDENT ANNUAL FISHING LICENSE.
The department or a county clerk shall issue a
nonresident annual fishing license, subject to s
29.09, to any nonresident who applies for this
license. '

(3) NONRESIDENT 15-DAY LICENSE. The de-
partment or a county clerk shall issue a nonresi-
dent 15-day fishing license, subject to s. 29.09,
'to any nonresident who applies for this license.

(4) NONRESIDENT 4-DAY FISHING LICENSE. The
department or a county clerk shall issue a
nonresident 4-day fishing license, subject to s
29.09, to any nonresident who applies for this
license. ; ,

(5) NONRESIDENT ANNUAL FAMILY FISHING
LICENSE, The department or a county clerk shall
issue a-nonresident annual family fishing li-
cense, subject tos. 29.09, to any nonresident
who applies for this license. This license entitles
the husband, wife and any minor children to
fish under this license.

. (6) NONRESIDENT 15-DAY FAMILY LICENSE.
The department or a county clerk shall issue a
nonresident 15-day family fishing license, sub-
Jject to's. 29.09, to any nonresident who applies
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for this license. This license entitles the hus-
band, wife and any minor children to fish under
this license.

(7) NONRESIDENT DAILY SPORTS FISHING LI-
CENSE. (a) Issuance. The department or a county
clerk shall issue a nonresident daily sports fish-
ing license, subject to s. 29.09, to any nonresi-
dent who applies for this license.

(b) Authorization. A nonresident da1ly
sports fishing license authorizes fishing only in:

1. The outlying waters.

2. Any river or stream tributary of Lake
Michigan or Green Bay, except the Kewaunee
river, from its mouth upstream to the first dam
or lake

3. The Kewaunee river from its mouth up-
stream to the CTH “C” bridge in the southeast
quarter of section 29, township 24 north, range
24 east,

(¢c) Use of fees. The department shall dep051t
receipts from the sale of nonresident daily
sports fishing licenses in the conservation fund
and shall expend 50% of these receipts to sup-
plement and enhance the trout and salmon
rearing and stocking program for outlying

‘waters.

History: 1971 ¢ 22, 42, 125; 1973 ¢ 90's 5381973 ¢
145; 1979 ¢ 34; 1983 a. 27

'29.145 Resident fishing licenses. (1) FISHING

LICENSE REQUIREMENT; EXCEPTIONS. (a) Require-
ment. Except as provided under pars. (b)and (c)
and except as specifically provided otherwise by
another section of this chapter, no resident may
fish in the waters of this state unless a valid
resident fishing license ‘is issued to the person
subject to 5. 29.09 by the department or by a
county clerk or unless the person is issued a
valid license, permit or card which authorizes
fishing or entitles the holder to the rights and
privileges of a fishing license

(b) Exception; residents under 16 or over 65
years of age and certain physically and mentally
handicapped persons. No fishing license is re-
quired for any resident under the age of 16 years
or over the age of 65 years or any physically or
mentally handicapped individual committed to
the north, south or central centers for the devel-
opmentally disabled, during the period of the
individual’s commitment, to fish for fish subject
to all other provisions of law.

(¢) Exception; residents using nets for non-
game fish. No fishing license is required for any
resident to set, place or use any landing net, dip
net, minnow seine or minnow dip net for fish
other than game fish.

(1a) PERMANENT FISHING LICENSE FOR SENIOR
ciTizens. The department shall issue a perma-
nent fishing license to any resident over the age
of 65 years
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(1b) FISHING LICENSES FOR CERTAIN PATIENTS
AND INSTITUTIONALIZED PERSONS, The depart-

ment shall issue fishing licenses to inmates of

county hospitals, state or federal mental hospi-
tals, state correctional institutions and to pa-
tients or inmates resident at nonprofit institu-
tions sponsored by religious organizations and
located in this state for rehabilitation purposes
upon .request of -the: superintendent of. the
institution , _

(1c) PERMANENT 'FISHING LICENSE FOR DIS-
ABLED PERSONS. The department shall issue a
permanent fishing license to any resident who
applies for this license and who:

“(a) Produces a certificate from a licensed
physician“or optometrist statinig that his or her
sight is-impaited to the degree that he or she
cannot read ordinary newspaper print with or
without: corrective glasses; or

(b) Produces evidence indicating he or she
was determined to be 75% disabled or more for
purposes of social security, retrrement or other
drsablhty benefits. ,

(2) RESIDENT ANNUAL FISHING LICENSE, A
resident annual frshmg license shall be issued
subject to s. 29.09 by the department or by a
county clerk to a resident of the state applymg
for this license.

(3) RESIDENT DAILY SPORTS FISHING LICENSE.
(A) Issuance. The department or a county clerk
shall issue a resident daily sports fishing license,
subject to s, 29.09, to any resident who applies
for this license. '

(b) Authonzatron A resident darly sports
fishing license authorizes fishing only in:

1. The outlying waters

- 2, Any river or stream tributary of Lake
Michigan or Green Bay, except the Kewaunee
river, from its mouth upstream to the frrst dam
or lake

3. The Kewaunee river from its mouth up-
stream to the CTH “C” bridge in the southeast
quarter of section 29, townshrp 24 north, range
24 east.

() Use of fees. The department shall deposit
receipts from the sale of ‘resident daily sports
fishing licenses in the conservation fund and
shall expend 50%:-of these receipts to supple-
ment and enhance the trout and salmon réaring
and stocking program for outlying waters.

“History: 1971 ¢. 22, 2821973 ¢ 90's 538, 1975 c. 39;
1975 . 189's. 99 (2); 1975 ¢. 216, 421; 1977:¢, 29,418; 1979 ¢
34,2215 1981 ¢, 130; 1983 a. 27 5§ 749 to 761

29.146 Husband and wife fishing licenses. A
combined husband .and wife resident fishing
hcense shall be issued subject to's. 29.09 by the
department or a county clerk to residents apply-
ing for this license. This license confers upon
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both husband and wife the privileges of resident
fishing hcenses issued under s. 29.145.
History: 1973 < 90 5. 538; 1979 ¢. 34; 1983 a. 27

29.147 Sports I|censes, application. (1) A
sports license shall be issued subject to s. 29.09
by the department or.by a county clerk to any
resident who is over the age of 12 years, a U.S.
citizen, and who applies for this license and pays
the minimum fee.

-(2) A sports license confers upon the licensee
all the combined privileges conferred by a resi-
dent small game hunting license, resident fish-
ing license and resident deer hunting license
subject to all the duties, conditions, limitations
and restrictions prescnbed in this chapter and
by department order.

(3) The department:or-its duly authorrzed
agents shall issue to each person who-is issued a
sports license a deer tag and: back tag in the
form-and numbered-as the department requires
during years of open season for hunting deer:

Hrstory 1973 ¢. 90°s5.-166, 538; 1973 ¢. 145; 1979 ¢. 34;
1983 ) . , g

29.1475 Conservation patron license. (1) Is-
SUANCE. A conservation patron license shall be
issued subject to s. 29.09 by the department to
any resident 14 years old.or older who apphes
for this license. v

(2) AUTHORIZATION; HUNTING, FISHING AND

TRAPPING PRIVILEGES. A coriservation patron Ji-

cense confers upon the licensee all the combined
privileges conferred by a resident small game
hunting license, resident deer hunting license,
resident bear hunting license, resident archer
hunting license, a waterfow] hunting stamp,
resident annual fishing license, sturgeon spear-
ing license, an inland waters trout stamp, a
Great Lakes trout and salmon stamp and: trap-
ping license.

(3) AUTHORIZAIION ADMISSION 1O STATE
PARKS AND RELATED AREAS. A conservation pa-
tron license permits any vehicle havmg aconser-
vation patron license holder as an occupant to

enter any vehicle admission area 'under s. 27.01

(7) without charge.’” The conservation patron
license permits the license holder to enter Heri-
tagé Hill' state park or a state trail and no
admission fee may be chdrged for the person to
gam entrance to those areas.

"(4) DEER TAG AND BACK TAG. The department

shall issue to each person ‘who is issued a

conservatron patron licenise a deer tag and back
tag in the form and numbered as the depart-
ment requires.

(5) SUBSCRIPTION Atthe trme the department
issues a conservation patron license, it shall
provrde the licensee with an annual subscrrptron
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to-the Wisconsin natural resources magazine
without any additional fee or charge.

(6) ADMISSION STICKER. At the same time the
department issues a conservation patron li-
cense, it'may issue an annual resident vehicle
admission sticker or a special sticker for admis-
sion to state parks and similar areas.. Alterna-
tively or in addition, the department may issue
an dnnual resident vehicle admission sticker or
a special sticker for admission to state parks
and similar areas to a person who has a conser-
vation patron license on location at the state
park or similar area. A person who is issued a
sticker under this subsection shall affix the
sticker by‘its own adhesive to the interior sur-
face of the lower left-hand corner of the wind-
shield of the vehicle. A sticker issued under this
section is not considered part.of a conservation
patron license for the purpose of issuing a
duplicate:and no duplicate sticker shall be is-
sued unless the license holder provides evidence
that the vehicle upon which the sticker is affixed
is no longer usable. or. that the vehicle. was
transferred to another person and the license
holder presents the original sticker or remnants

of it to the department.
History: . 1983 a. 27~ :

29.148 Sturgeon spearing Ilcenses 1) A
sturgeon spearing license shall be issued subject
to s. 29.09 by the department or by a county
clerk to any person applying for this license
who: ,

(a) Is 14 or 15 years of age;

(b).Is at least 14 years of age and -holds a
sports license issued under s. 29.147; or

(¢) Holds:-a: resident. fishing license issued
under s. 29.145, or a nonresident fishing license
issued under s. 29.14. -

(2) Such license shall be. accompanied by
sturgeon tags in such quantity to correspond
with the season bag limit for spearing rock or
lake sturgeon established by the department.
The serial numbers of such tags shall be entered
on the license by the i 1ssu1ng agent.

(3) A sturgeon spearing license authorizes the
spearing of rock .or lake sturgeon only during
the .open. season for spearing these sturgeon
established by the department. No person may
fish for sturgeon by means of a spear unless the
person isissued a conservation patron license or
unless the person is issued a sturgeon spearing
license. ‘The conservation patron license or the
sturgeon spearing license shall be carried on the
person of the licensee at all times while fishing
for sturgeon by means of a spear.

(4) Any person having taken a rock or lake
sturgeon by means of a spear shall immediately
attach and lock, and leave attached and locked
to the tail of such sturgeon, a sturgeon tag
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issued to him with his sturgeon spearing license
and it is unlawful for any person to have in his
possession or ‘under his control or have in
storage or as a common carrier any such stur-
geon or part thereof without such tag attached

and locked thereto.
*History:© 1979°c. 34,1983 a. 27.

29.149 Inland waters trout stamps. (1) DEF1-
NITION. As used in this section, “inland trout
waters’’ means inland waters except that this
term -excludes:

‘(a) Any harbor on Lake Michigan or Lake
Superior;

{b) Any river or stream tributary of Lake
Michigan or Green Bay, except the Kewaunee
river, from its mouth upstream to the first dam
or lake; and

(c) The Kewaunee river from its mouth up-
stream to the CTH “C” bridge in southeast
quarter of section 29, township 24 north, range
24 east.

(2) REQUIREMENT. Except as prov1ded under
sub. (4), no person may fish for trout in inland
trout waters unless he or she is issued a conser-
vation patron licens¢ or unless he or she is
issued an inland waters trout stamp which is
affixed by the stamp’s adhesive to the person’s
fishing license or sports license.
~ (3) Issuance. The department or a county
tlerk shall issue an inland waters trout stamp
subject to s. 29.09 to each person holding or
applying for a fishing license under s. 29.09 (12)
(a), 29.14, 29.145 or 29.146 or a sports license
under s. 29.147 if the person uses or intends to
use the license for trout fishing in inland trout
waters of the state. The trout stamp shall be
designed and produced by the department as
provided under s. 29.09 (13).

(4) ExeMp1ION. Any person who is exempt
from the requirement to have a fishing license or
who. is not required to pay a fee for a fishing
license is exempt from the requirements under
sub. (2).

(5) USE OF MONEYS FROM FEES. The depart-
ment shall expend the receipts from the sale of
inland waters trout stamps on improving trout
habitat in the inland trout waters of the state

and administering this subsection
History: 1983 a. 27 ss. 758 to 760, 772

29.15 Great Lakes trout and salmon stamps.
(1) DerINITION. As used in this section:

(a) “Outlying trout and salmon waters”
means any outlymg waters except this term
includes: -

1. Any river or stream tributary of Lake
Michigan or Green Bay, except the Kewaunee
river, from its mouth upstream to the first dam
orlake; and
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2. The Kewaunee river from its mouth up-
stream to the CTH “C” bridge in the southeast
quarter of section 29, township 24 north range
24 east.

(b) “Salmon”
salmon:

(2) ReQUIREMENT. No person may fish for
trout or salmon in the outlying trout and
salmon waters of the state unless the person is
issued a resident or nonresident daily sports
fishing license, unless the person is issued a
conservation patron licénse or unless the person
is issued a Great Lakes trout and salmon stamp
which is affixed by the stamp’s adhesive to the
person’s fishing license or sports license.

" (3) IssuaNce. The Great Lakes trout and
salmon stamp shall be issued subject to's. 29.09
by the department or a county clerk to any
person holding or applying for a fishing license
under s. 29.09 (12) (a); 29.14 (2) to (6), 29.145
(1a) to (2), 29.146 or a sports license under s.
29.147.  The department shall design and
produce Great Lakes trout and salmon stamps
as provided under s. 29.09 (13). '

(4) Exemp1ioNs: This section does not apply
to a person who is exempt from the payment o1
requirément for a fishing license.

(5) Usk oF FEEs. The department shall expend
the receipts from the sale of Great Lakes trout
and salmon stamps to supplement and enhance
the existing trout and salmon rearing and stock-
ing program for outlying waters and to admin-

ister this section
“History: 1981 ¢ 95, 130; 1983 2 27.

-includes coho and chmook

29.16 Interstate license privileges. When-
ever and so long as the states of Michigan,

Minnesota or Towa confer upon the licensees of

this state reciprocal rights, privileges and immu-
nities, any hook and line or other fishing license,
or clamming license issued by such other state
shall entitle the licensee to all the rights, privi-
legesand immunities, in and upon the boundary
waters between such state and this state, en-
joyed by the holders of equivalent licenses is-
sued by this state; subject, however, to the
duties, ‘responsibilities and liabilities imposed
on its own licensees by the laws of this state.

29.165 Guide licenses. (1) No person may
engage or be employed for any compensation or
reward to guide, direct or assist any other
person in hunting, fishing or trapping unless a
guide license is duly issued to the person by the
department subject to s. 29.09. No guide license
may be issued to or obtained by any person who
is not a resident of this state. No guide license
may be issued to any person under the age of 18
years.  The applicant shall deliver to the depart-
ment an oath of office that he or she will well
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and faithfully perform the duties and responsi-
bilities as a guide licensed by the department
and observe and comply with all the require-
ments of this chapter and the rules of the
department. :

(2) Any person violating this section shall
forfeit ‘not more than $100 and upon such
conviction the person’s guide license shall be

revoked for one year.
History: 1975 ¢..365; 1981 ¢::390 5. 252; 1983 a 27

29.166 = Ouilying water sport trolling li-
censes. (1) No person may be engaged or be
employed for any compensation or reward to
guide any other person in sport trolling for
trout or salmon in and upon the outlying waters
of Lake Michigan, Green Bay or Lake Superior
unless the person is duly issued a sport trolling
license by the department subject to s. 29.09.
No'sport trolling license may be issued to any
person under the age of 18 years. The applica-
tion shall include the name and address of the
applicant, the name of the home port from
which the applicant will operate, the applicant’s
U.S. coast guard operator’s license number and
other. information as required by :the depart-
ment for statistical purposes.. The licensee and
all persons on board the licensee’s boat shall
comply with all the requirements of this chapter
and the rules of the department. Boats used by
the licensee  shall meet minimum U.S. coast
guard and this state’s boat licensing and safety
requirements.

(2) Each licensee shal‘ keep an accurate
record and account as to the number of each
variety of fish taken under his or her sport
trolling license and such other information as
the department requires, and shall report to the
department on forms provided by the depart-
ment on or before the 10th day of each month
on the ‘records for the preceding calendar
month. - The license¢ is responsible for the
number of fish taken and shall be held to
account for the number.

(4) Any person licensed as a sport troller who
violates this section or any requirements of this
chapter applicable to sport. fishing or rules
adopted under this section or under this chapter
relating to sport fishing, shall forfeit not more
than $100. Upon a-2nd conviction for any
offenise under this subsection within 3 years the
person’s sport trollinig license shall be revoked
for one year beyond the date of expiration of the
license in effect at the time of the revocation.

History: 1973 c. 173; 1975 ¢ 365; 1977 c. 418; 1981 ¢ 390
s.252; 1983 a 27.

29.17 Scientific collector permit. (1) The de-
partment may issue a scientific collector permit
to a qualified natural person as provided under
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this section. - This permit authorizes the permit-
tee to collect or salvage for scientific purposes
only, the eggs, nest and wild animals specified in
the permit subject to the conditions and limita-
tions specified in the permit and the rules of the
department. . The permittee may use the speci-
mens for the scientific purposes collected or
salvaged and may transport them or cause them
to be transported by common carrier. Posses-
sion of these specimens may not be transferred
to any other person except these specimens may
be exchanged for other specimens for: scientific
purposes. »

(2) Application for a scientific collector per-
mit shall be made to. the department.

(3) Upon receipt of an :application for a
scientific collector permit, the department shall
investigate the matter. .If the department is
satisfied that the applicant is engaged in a bona
fide program leading to increased, useful scien-
tific knowledge, it may issue a scientific collec-
tor permit to the ‘applicant: This permit shall
state the name and address of the permittee; the
date‘ofissue, the purposes for which it is issued,
the type, species and number of specimens
authorized to be collected or salvaged, the area
and period of time in which the specimens may
be collected or'salvaged, the place the specimens
shall be kept and other conditions and limita-
tions-as the department deems reasonable. A
scientific collector permit is not transferable

(4) A scientific collector permit may autho-
rize the use of net guns and tranquilizer guns for
activities related to the purposes for which the
permlt is issued.

(5) The department may make' rules regulat-
ing all operations and activities conducted
under the authority of such permits:’

(6) Any person convicted of a violation of

this chapter or of any rule of the department
shall’ forfeit his permit and such permit is
‘thereby revoked, in addition to all other penal-
ties. Any pérson so convicted shall not be
eligible for a permit under this séction for the
period of one year followmg the date of such
conviction:
History: 1981 c. 246; 1983 a. 27, 14

29.174 Conservation.of fish and game; pow-
ers of department. (1) The department shall
establish and maintain’ open and close seasons
for the several spécies of fish and game and any
bag limits, size limits, rest ddys and conditions
governing the taking of fish and game as will
conserve the fish and ‘game supply and ensure
the citizens of this state continued opportunities
for good fishing, hunting and trapping.

~(2) (a) The department shall establish open
and. closed seasons, bag limits, size limits, rest

‘petitioners.
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days and other conditions governing the taking
of fish or game, in accordance with the public
policy declared in sub. (1), but all fishing sea-
sons on inland waters shall open on a Saturday.
Such authority may be exercised either with
reference to the state as a whole, or for any
specified county or part of a county, or for any
lake or stream or part thereof.

(b) The department may regulate and limit
the number of hunters and the maximum har-
vest of wild turkeys as provided under s. 29.103
or in any other manner consistent with the
purposes and procedures specified under this
section.

©1 The department may regulate and limit
the number of hunters and the maximum har-
vest of Canada geese in any area, by:

a. Requiring hunters to tag each goose killed
with a tag issued by the department;.or

b. Requiring registration of each farm on
which. Canada goose hunting is allowed and
registration of each goose killed at the farm.

2. No preference may be given in the distribu-
tion of such tags, except that any applicant who
unsuccessfully applied for tags in the previous
year shall be given priority over any applicant
who successfully applied for tags in the previous
year. .

(d) The department may limit the number of
trappers’ and the maximum harvest of wild
fisher in any area. '

(3) The depaxtment may exercise the author-
ity conferred upon it in sub. (2) by adopting
rules either on its own motion or on petition
from any group of citizens. Provided, that upon
petition of not less than 1,000 citizens in case of
a contemplated rule affecting the entire state or
a.part thereof larger than 2 counties, or of not
less than 50 citizens residing in the county if but
a single county or part thereof is affected, or of
not less than 100 citizens residing in the 2
counties. if not more than 2 counties or parts
thereof are affected, the department shall con-
duct one-or more public hearings upon such
proposed rule, at a place convenient to the
Notice of such hearing shall be
published in the community affected as a class 3
notice, under ch. 985. The department shall
send prior written notice of any hearing held
under this section to the Wisconsin conserva-
tion congress, delegates for the area affected by
the proposed rule.

.(8) The department shall make such investi-

.gations relative to any petition or proceedings

under this section as it deems necessary, and
may organize advisory committees to advise it

‘on any matter under consideration. Members of

such committees shall receive no compensation
but shall be reimbursed their actual and neces-
sary.expenses.
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* (4a) The secretary may make emergency
rules pursuant to s. 227 027.

(6) All rules of the department in conformity
with law are prima facie reasonable and lawful

(7) Every rule in conformity with law, made
under authority of this section, shall in every
prosecution . for violation thereof be conclu-
sively presumed to be just, reasonable and law-
ful, unless prior to the institution of prosecution
for such violation the person charged with such
violation shall have brought an action to vacate
and set aside such rule, as provided in this
section.

(8) Any rule of the department is subject to
review in the manner provided in ch. 227, except
that if the rule affects only the county in which
the appellant resides, the appeal shall be to the
circuit court of such county, ~

(9) The present statutes regulating open and
close seasons, bag limits, size limits, rest days

~and other conditions governing the taking of

fish or game shall continue in full force and
effect until modified by rules of the department,
as provided in this.section, or by subsequent
acts of the legislature.

(12). Nothing in this section shall be con-
strued to confer upon the department the power
to alter any provisions of the statutes relating to
forfeitures, penalties, license fees or bounties.

(13) This state assents to the provisions of the
acts of congress entitled “An act to provide that
the United States shall aid the states in wildlife-
restoration projects, and-for other purposes,”
approved September 2, 1937 (Public No. 415,
75th Congress), and “An act to provide that the
United States shall aid the states in fish restora-
tion management projects, and for other pur-
poses,’” approved August 9, 1950 (Public No.
681, 8lst Congress), and the department . is
authorized, empowered and directed to per-
form such acts as may be necessary to the
conduct ‘and establishment of cooperative
wildlife-restoration and cooperative fish resto-
ration projects, as defined in said acts of con-
gress, in compliance with said acts and with
rules and regulations promulgated by the secre-
tary. of “the interior thereunder; and no funds
accruing to this state from-license fees paid by
hunters and from sport and recreation. fishing
license fees shall be. diverted for any other
purpose than those provided by the
department. .

(14) The department shall establish the open
-season for hunting raccoon 2 weeks earlier for
persons with resident licenses than for persons
with. nonresident licenses.

History: 1971c. 179; 1975¢ 181: 1979 ¢. 34 1981 ¢ 136,
262: 1983 a.27. 415
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29.175 Nongame species. (1) The depart-
ment may conduct investigations of nongame
species in order to develop scientific informa-
tion relating to population; distribution,
habitat needs, and other biological data in
order to determine necessary conservation mea-
sures. On the basis of these scientific determina-
tions the department may adopt rules and de-
velop - conservation programs designed to
ensure the continued ability of nongame species
to perpetuate themselves. The rules may require
harvest information and establish limitations
relating to taking, possession, transportation,
processing and sale or offer for sale, in order to
conserve nongame species

{2) No rules adopted or programs developed
under. this section may impede, hinder or pro-
hibit the utilization of lands for the construc-
tion, operation or maintenance of utility facili-
ties otherwise authorized or permitted.

History: 1977 c. 370; 1979 c. 154

29.21 Publications. (1) The department may
issue pamphlets and bulletins. The department

may also issue a publication or magazine at

stated intervals as it determines, all pertaining
to fishand game, forests, parks and other
kindred subjects of general information. The
department may sell subscriptions to this publi-
cation or magazine, except that no fee may be
charged to a person who is provided a subscrip-
tion to the Wisconsin natural resources maga-
zine under s. 29.1475.

(2) The department may reprint department
publications for sale

(3) Notwithstanding s. 19.35, the department
may refuse to reveal names and addresses of
persons on- any magazine or publication sub-
scriber list. The department may charge a fee'to
recover the actual costs for providing or for the
use of any magazine or publication subscriber
list. No person who obtains or uses any maga-
zine or publication subscriber list from the
department may refer to the department, the
magazine or the publication as the source of
names or addresses unless the person clearly
indicates that the provision of or permission to
use the subscriber list in no way indicates the
department’s - knowledge, involvement, - ap-
proval, authorization or connection in any way
with the person or the person’s activities.

History: 1975c¢. 224; 1977 ¢. 418; 1979 ¢. 221; 1981-¢. 335
s 26; 1983 a. 27

29.22 General restrictions on hunting. (1)
HUNTING .RESTRICTED. AREAS. No person shall
hunt within 1700 feet of any. hospital, school
grounds or sanatorium. The department may
furnish signs designating the restricted area. No
conviction shall be-had for a violation of this
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subsection unless the restricted. area is desig-
nated by such signs.

(2) COLOR OF CLOTHING. In the areas in which
there is a season for the hunting of deer with
firearms, no person may hunt any game except

waterfowl during the season for the hunting of

deer with firearms unless at least 50% of the
person’s outer clothing above the waist 1s of a
highly visible color commonly referred to as
hunter orange, blaze orange, fluorescent or-
ange, flame orange or fluorescent blaze orange
Any person violating this subsection is subject
to a forfeiture of not more than $10

(3) BACK TAG, DISPLAY. No person may hunt
deer unless there is attached tothe center of the
person’s coat, shirt, jacket or similar outermost
garment where it can clearly be seen the back
tag issued to the person with the license autho-
rizing the hunting of deer

History: 1975 ¢ 360, 365, 421; 1979 ¢ 39,

29.221 Duties on accidental shooting. (1)
Any person who, while hunting any wild animal
or-bird, discharges a firearm or arrow, and
thereby injures or kills another: person, shall
forthwith give his name and address to such
person if injured and render such assistance to
him as.may be necessary and obtain immediate
medical or hospital care, and-shall immediately
thereafter report such.injury or death to the
sheriff or police of the locality in which such
shooting took place.

(2) Any person intentionally failing to com-
ply with sub. (1) shall be fined not more than
$5,000, or imprisoned in the county jail not
more than one year, or both. Any person who
neglects to comply with sub. (1) shall be fined
not more than $5,000 or imprisoned not more

than 9 months or both.. -
History: 1975 ¢. 365

29.222 Huhting accident; failure to report. (1)

Every person who shall have caused or been
involved in an accident in which a human being
has been injured by gunfire or by bow and
arrow while hunting or trapping, or shall have
inflicted an injury upon himself with firearm o1
‘w1th a bow. and arrow while hunting or trap-
ping, shall render a report to the department at
any. of its field offices within 10 days after such
injury unless such person be physically incapa-
ble of making the required report in which event
the person or persons-involved in the accident
shall designate an agent to file the report w1thm
‘the specified time:

(2) Any person who has been involved in an
accident'with firearm or bow and arrow while
hunting or trapping, and who fails'to submit the
report required by this section shall forfeit not
more than $50. - In’ addition; ‘the court may
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revoke any license issued to such person under
this chapter and may further provide that no
license shall be issued to such person under this
chapter for such fixed period of time that the
court may deem just.

History: 1975 ¢ 365

29.224 Safe use and transportation of fire-
arms. (1) DETERMINATION OF WHETHER A
MUZZLE-LOADING FIREARM IS UNLOADED. The
department shall consider a muzzle-loading
firearm to be unloaded if the cap is removed
from a caplock muzzle-loading firearm or if the
flashpan is cleaned on a flintlock muzzle-
loading firearm.

(2) Boats: No person may possess, place or
transport in.or on a motor-driven boat while the
motor is running any firearm, bow or crossbow
unless the firearm is unloaded and unless the
bow or crossbow is unstrung or enclosed within
acarrying case, This prohibition does not apply
to a person issued a scientific collector permit
authorizing the use of net guns or tranqulhzer
guns while the person is using those guns in
activities related to the purposes for which the
scientific collector permit is issued.

~ (3) AUTOMOBILES AND VEHICLES. (a) No per-
son may possess or place in 6t on any vehicle or
automobilée any firearm, bow or crossbow un-
less the firearm is unloaded and enclosed within
a carrying case or the bow or crossbow is
unstrung or enclosed within a carrying case
This prohibition does not apply to a person
issued a hunting permit under s. 29:09 (9) who is
hunting from a standing automobile or vehicle.
This prohibition does not-apply to a person
issued a scientific collector permit authorizing
the use of het guns or tranquilizer guns while the
perfson is using those guns in activities related to
the purposes for which the scientific collector
permiit is issued.

“(b) No person may transport in or on any
vehicle .or-automobile any. firearm, bow or
crossbow unless the firearm is unloaded and
enclosed 'within a carrying case or the bow or
crossbow is ‘unstrung:or enclosed within a
carrying case. This prohibition does not apply
to a person issued-a scientific collector permit
authorizinig the use of net guns or tranquilizer
guns while the person is using those guns in

‘activities related to the purposes for which the

scientific collector permit is issued

(c)'No person may load, fire or shoot any
firearm, crossbow or bow and arrow in, on or
from any stationary automobile or vehicle.
This prohibition does not apply to a person
issued a hunting permit under s. 29.09 (9) who is
hunting from a standing automobile or vehicle
This prohibition does not apply to a person
issued a scientific collector permit authorizing
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the use of net guns or tranquilizer guns while the
person is using those guns in activities related to
the. purposes for which the scientific collector
permit is issued.

(d) No person may load, fire or shoot any
firearm, crossbow or bow and arrow in, on or
from any moving automobile. This prohibition
does not apply.to a person issued a scientific
collector permit authorizing the use of net guns
or tranquilizer guns while the person is using
those guns in activities related to the purposes
for which the scientific collector permi‘t is
issued.

(4) AIRPLANES. (2) No per SON may possess or
place in or on any aircraft any firearm, bow or
crossbow. unless the firearm ‘is unloaded and
enclosed within a carrying case or the bow or
crossbow is unstrung or enclosed within a
carrying case..

(b) No person may transport in.any alrcraft
any firearm, bow or crossbow unless the firearm
is unloaded and enclosed within a carrying case
or the bow or crossbow is unstrung or enclosed
within a carrying case

(¢) No person may load, fire or shoot any
firearm, crossbow or ‘bow in, on or from any

aireraft;
History: 1975 c. 246; 1977 ¢ 232; 1979 ¢ 142; 1981 ¢
243; 1983 a. 80, 114, 192

29.225 Hunter education and firearm safety
program; certificate of accomplishment. (1)
ESTABLISHMENT; CONIENTS. The department
shall establish by rule a statewide hunter educa-
tion and firearm safety program. The hunter
education. and firearm safety program shall
provide for a course of instruction in each
school district or county, The department shall
conduct this course of instruction in coopera-
ﬁion with qualified individuals, organizations,
‘groups, associations, public or private corpora-
tions and federal, state and local governmental
entitiés. This course shall provide instruction to

students in.the commonly accepted principles of

safety in handling hunting firearms and equip-
ment; the responsibilities of hunters to wildlife,
environment, landowners -and: others, how to
recognize threatened and endangered species

which cannot be hunted and the principles of

wildlife management and conservation.

(2). ADMINISTRATION. Thé law enforcement
administrator shall be the department’s autho-
rized agent to-administer, supervise and enforce
this section. The department shall appoint-a
qualified person from the.law enforcement
funetion,- under the classified service,.as the
hunter education administrator and shall pre-
scribe his or her duties and responsibilities: The
department- .may appoint -county directors,
master-hunter education instructors and regular
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hunter education instructors. necessary for the
hunter education and firearm safety program.
These appointees are responsible to the depart-
ment and shall serve on a voluntary basis with-
out compensation.

(3) InsTRUCTION FEE. The department shall
collect the instruction fee specified under s.
29.092 (2) (n) from each person who receives
instruction -under the: hunter education and
firearm safety program. The department may
authorize an instructor eonducting a course of
instruction meeting standards established by
the department to retain 50% of this fee to
defray expenses incurred locally to operate the
program. The remaining portion of the fee or, if
nothing is retained, the entire fee shall be depos-
ited in the conservation fund.

(4) CERTIFICATE OF ACCOMPLISHMENT . (a) Is-
suance. The department shall issue a certificate
of accomplishment to a person who successfully
completes the course of instruction under the
hunter education and firearm safety program
and who pays the instruction fee. The depart-

‘ment shall prescribe the form and content of the

certificate of accomplishment. The certificate
may be used by a resident to whom issued in
place of a small game hunting license as re-
quired in s. 29.09.

" (b) Duplicate. The department may issue a
duplicate certificate of accomplishment to a
person who is entitled to a duplicate certificate
and who pays the fee specified under s. 29.092

(13) (f). This fee shall be deposited in the
conservation fund
‘History: - 1983 a 420

29.226 - Requirement for certificate of accom-
pllshment to obtain huntmg approval for cer-
tain persons born on or after January 1, 1973.

(1) Except as prov1ded ‘under subs. (2) and (3),

no person born on or after January 1, 1973, may
obtain any approval authorizing huntmg unless
the person is issued a certlflcate of
accomplishment.

(2) A person who has a certificate, license or
other evidence indicating that he or she has
completed a hunter safety course in another
state and the course is recognized by the depart-
ment under a reciprocity agreement may obtain
an. approval authorizing'hunting regardless of
whether the person is issued a certificate of
accomplishment in this state.

- (3) A person who successfully completes ba-
sic'training in the U.S. armed forces, reserves or
national guard may obtain an approval autho-
rizing hunting regardless of whether the person
is issued a certificate of accomplishment.

- History:  1983.a 420
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29.227 Restrictions on hunting and use of
firearms by persons under 16 years of age. (1)
PERSONS UNDER 12 YEARS OF AGE.-(a) Prohibi-
tion on hunting. No person under 12 years of
age may hunt with a firearm or bow and-arrow.

(b) Restrictions on possession or control of a
firearm. No person under 12 years of age may
have in his or her possession or control any
firearm unless he or'sheis enrolled in a course of
instruction under the hunter education and
firearm safety program and is carrying the
firearm in a case and unloaded to or from that
class under the supervision of a parent or guard-
ian or is handling or operating the firearm
during that class under the supervision of an
instructor. .

(¢) Restrictions on obtaining hunting ap-
proval. Except as provided under par. (d), no
person under 12 years of age may obtain any
approval authorizing hunting.

(d) Restrictions on validity of certificate of

accomplishment. A person under 12 years of
age may obtain a certificate of accomplishment
if he or she complies with the requirements of's.
29.225 (4) but that certificate is not valid for the
hunting of small game until that person be-
comes 12 years of age.

2) PERSONS 12 TO 14 YEARS OF AGE (@)
Restrictions on hunting. No person 12 years of
age or older but under 14 years of age may hunt
unless he or she is accompanied by a parent or
guardian. ‘

(b) Restrictions on possession or control of a
firearm. No person 12 years of age or older but
under 14 years of age may have in his or her
possession or control any firearm unless he or
she:

1. Is accompanied by a parent or guardlan or

2. Is.enrolled in a course of instruction under
the hunter education and firearm safety pro-
gram and is carrying the firearm in a case and
unloaded to or from that class or is handling or
operating the firearm during that class under
the supervision of an instructor.

(3) PERSONS 14 10 16 YEARS OF AGE. (a)
Restrictions on hunting. No person 14 years of
age ot'older but under 16 years of age may hunt
unless he or she:

1. Is accompanied by a parent or guardian; or

2. Is issued a certificate of accomplishment

under the hunter education and firearm safety
program or a similar certificate issued by an-
other state or province

-(b) Restrictions on possession or control of a
firearm. No person 14 years of age or older but
under 16 yeirs of age may have in his or her
possession or control any flrearm unless he or
she:

1. 1Is accompamed by a parent or guardian;
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2. Isenrolled in a course of instruction under
the ‘hunter education and firearm safety pro-
gram and is carrying the firearm in a case and
unloaded to or from that class or is handling or
operating the firearm during that class under
the supervision of an instructor; or

3. Is issued a certificate of accomplishment
under the hunter education and firearm safety
program or a similar certificate.issued by an-
other state or province.

(4) PARENTAL OBLIGATION. No parent or
guardian of a child under 16 years of age may
authorize or knowingly permlt the child to
violate this section

(5) ExcepTiOoN. Notwithstanding subs. (1) to
(3), a person: 12 years of age or older may
possess Or control a firearm and may hunt with

- a firearm or bow and arrow on land under the

ownership of the person or the person’s family
if no license is required and if the firing of
firearms is permitted on that land

History: 1983 a. 420

29.23 Hunting with aid of airplane prohib-
ited. No person shall hunt any animal with the
aid of an airplane, including the use of an
airplane to spot, rally or drive animals for

hunters on the ground
History: 1971 c. 151,

29.24 Hunting by landowners. The owner or
occupant of any land, and any member of his or
her family may hunt foxes, raccoons, wood-
chucks, rabbits and squirrels on the land with-
out'a license at any time, except during the
period of 24 hours prior to the opening date for
deéer hunting in those counties or parts of coun-
ties where an open season for hunting deer with
firearms is established. The owner or occupant
of any land and any member of his or her family
may take rabbits, raccoons and squirrels on the
land at any time by means of live trapping with
box ‘traps in cities or villages or other areas
Wwhere the firing of a gun is unlawful.
History: - 1979 ¢ '142.

29,245 Shining ammals (1) DEFINIIION As
used in this section:

(a) “Flashlight” means a battery operated
light designed to be carried and held by hand.

(b) “Light” includes flashlights, automobile
lights and other lights.

(c) “Peace officer”” has the meaning de31g-
nated under s. 939.22 (22).

(d) **Shining” means the casting of rays of a

light on a field, forest or other area for the

purpose of illuminating, locating or attempting
to illuminate or locate wild animals.

(2) PRESUMPTION. A person casting the rays
of light on a field, forest or other area which i3
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frequented by wild animals is presumed to be
shining wild animals. A person may introduce
evidence to rebut this presumption.

(3) SHINING DEER OR BEAR WHILE HUNTING OR
POSSESSING WEAPONS PROHIBITED. (a) -Prohibi-
tion. No person may use or possess with intent
to use a light for shining deer or bear while the
person is hunting deet or bear or in possession
of a firearm, bow and arrow or crossbow.

(b) Exception. This subsection does not ap-
ply to a peace officer on official business, an
employe of the department on official business
or a person authorized by the depaxtment to
conduct a game census::

(4) SHINING WILD ANIMALS WHILE HUNTING
OR POSSESSING WEAPONS PROHIBITED. (a) Prohi-
bition. No person. may use ot possess with
intent to.use a light for shining wild -animals
while the person is hunting or in possession of a
firearm, bow and.arrow or:crossbow.

(b)- ‘Exceptions. Thls subsection does ‘not
apply:

1. To a peace offxcex on official busmess an
employe of the department on official business
'or a person.authorized by the department to
conduct a game census
* 2.7Toa person who possesses a flashlight or
who usés a flashlight at the point of kill while

" hunting on foot raccoons, foxes or other unpro-
“tected animals during the open season for the
animals hunted.

(5) SHINING WILD ANIMALS AFIER 10 p.M.
DURING CERTAIN TIMES OF THE YEAR PROHIBITED.
‘(a)-Prohibition. No person may use or-possess
with intent to use a light for shining wild
animals between 10 p'm. and 7 a.m. from Sep-
tember 15 to December 31.

(b) . Exceptions: This subsection -does not
apply: -

1.Toa peace offlcer on off1c1a1 business, an
employe of the department on official business
or a person: authorized by the department to
conduct a game census.” - .

2.To a person who possesses a flashlight or
who uses a flashlight at the point of kill while

~hunting on foot raccoons, foxes or other unpro-
tected animals during the open season for the
animals hunted..

3. To a-person who possesses a ﬂashllght or
who uses a flashlight while on foot and training
a dog:to track or hunt raccoons, foxes or other
unprotected animals.

4. If rules promulgated by the department
specifically permit a person to.use or possess a
light for shining wild-animals during these

- times. k

(6) COUNTY ORDINANCE: A county may regu-
late:or prohibit thé use of or possession with

- intent to use a light for shining wild animals. A
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county ordinance may not be less restrictive
than the prohibition under sub. (5) (a). The
exceptions under sub. (5) (b) apply to a county
ordinance adopted under this subsection. A
county may provide for a forfeiture of not more
than $1,000 for violation of a county ordinance
adopted under this subsection.

(7) PENALTIES. (2) A person who violates sub
(3) shall be fined not less than $1,000 nor more
than $2,000 or imprisoned not more than 6
months or both and, in addition, the court shall
order:the revocation of all approvals issued to
the person under this chapter and shall prohibit
the issuance of any new approval under this
chapter to the person for 3 years.

(b)-A person who violates sub.-(4) or (5) shall
forfeit.not more than $1,000. -

History: 1979 ¢ 190; 1983 a. 27, 419, 538
This section is constitutional.” 71 Atty. Gen. 49

29.255 Training of hunting dogs and rules for
dog trials. The department may adopt, pursu-
ant'tos. 23.09, such rules governing the training

of hunting dogs and the conduct of dog trials as
“in its opinion are necessary to encourage the use

of hunting dogs and to safeguard wildlife iri the
state, but such rules shall not be made for the
use of*dogs for general hunting of small game
during general hunting seasons.

29.256 Taking homing pigeons. Any person
who takes, catches, kills or impedes the progress

‘or otherwise interferes with any homing pigeon

shall forfeit nét more than $50.
History: 1975 c¢. 365

29.27 Regulation of waterfowl blinds. (1) In
this section:

(a) “Blind” means a permanent structure
used in hunting waterfow! which is not removed
at the end of hunting hours each day

“(b) “Waterfowl” means wild geese, brant,
wild ducks, rails, coots, gallinules, jacksnipe,
woodcock, plovers, sandpipers and wild swan.

(3) A blind situated on state-owned property
and used in hunting waterfowl must bear the
name of the owner affixed permanently to the
blind in lettering one-inch square or larger. The
blind may be erected not more than 7 days prior
to the opening of the waterfowl hunting season,
as prescribed by the department, and must.be
removed within.7 days after the close of the
season. A blind situated on state-owned prop-

- erty which does not bear the name of the owner
“as prescribed by this section is a public nui-

sance. The department may seize all' such
nuisances and may destroy or sell the blinds in
the name of .the state. The department and its
deputies are exempt from all liability to the
owner for the seizure and destruction or sale of
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the blind. The owner is responsible for remov-
ing the blind within 7 days after the close of the
waterfowl hunting season. Any owner who
erects a blind more than 7 days prior to the
opening of the waterfowl hunting season or
who does not remove a blind within 7 days after
the close of the waterfowl season shall be sub-
ject to a forfeiture of not less than $10 nor more
than $200. : .
‘History: 1977 ¢ 443
29.283 Fishing shanties-on ice, regulation.
(1) The department shall ‘establish rules and
regulations governing the use of buildings, vehi-
cles, tents, fish-shanties and similar sheltets for
fishing through the ice in any waters of the state.
(3) Any building, vehicle, tent, fish shanty or
similar shelter used or left remaining on the ice
in violation of any department order is a public
nuisance. . The department may seize all such
nuisances whereupon the owner must be noti-
f1ed if after -the expiration of 10-days after
notlce given the owner does not claim such
nuisance, the department may destroy or sell
the same in the name of the state; the depart-
“ment and its deputies shall be exempt from all
liability. to .the owner for such seizure and
destruction or sale.

29.286 Possession of fishing equipment. (1)
No person shall have in his possession or under
his control at any time any trammel, gill, or
hoop net, or any other kind of net, nets, or fish
trap that might take, catch or kill fish in the
counties of: Adams, Barron, Burnett, Calumet,
Chippewa, -‘Clark, Columbla Dane, Dodge,
Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Fond du Lac,
Forest,. Green, Green Lake, lowa, -Jackson,
Jefferson, Juneau, Lafayette, Langlade, Lin-
coln, Marathon, Marquette, Monroe, Oneida,
Outagamie, Polk, Portage, Price, Richland,
Rock, Rusk, Sauk, Sawyer, Shawano, Taylor,
Vilas, ‘Walworth, Washburn, Washington,
Waukesha, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago
-and Wood except minnow nets and minnow
‘traps, whitefish and cisco nets, dip nets, crab
_traps and turtle traps aspprovided in this chapter
or by department order.
(2)-Nothing in this section shall prohibit the
department or its agents from having in posses-

sion, using, or causing the use of any kind of

- nets as:provided under other sections in the

statutes, nor prohibit the possession or use: of

-nets by contract fishermen who are operating
under the supervision of the department.

29.288 Throwing refuse in waters; aban-
doning automobiles, boats or other vehicles.
Whoever deposits; places or throws-into any
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waters within the jurisdiction of the state, or
leaves upon the ice or in the water thereof, any
cans, bottles, debris, refuse or other solid waste
material, and whoever abandons any automo-
bile, boat or other vehicle in such waters, shall
forfeit not more, than $200. Any automobile,
boat or other vehicle not removed from such
waters within 30 days shall be deemed to be
abandoned.
-History: 1975 c. 365

Cross Reference: See 947.047 for prohibition of throwing
metal or glass cans ot bottles in or on the shore of any body
of water

29.29 Noxious substances. (1) EXPLOSIVES;

-STUPEFACTIVES. No person may take, capture or

kill fish or game of any variety in any waters of
this state by means of dynamite or other explo-
sives or poisonous or stupefying substances or
devices; or place in any waters of ‘this state
explosives which might cause the destruction of
fish or- game, except for the purpose of raising
dead bodies whenever ordered by the public

-authorities, or for the purpose of clearing a

channel or breaking a log or ice jam; or have in
the possession. or under the control of such
person, upon any inland waters, any dynamite
or other explosives.or poisonous or stupefying

_substances or devices for the purpose of taking,

catching or killing fish or game. Whoever

violates this subsection shall be fined not more

than $500 or imprisoned not more than 90 days
or both. ,

(2) Poison BaIT No person shall use, set, lay
or prepare in any of the waters of this state any
lime, peoison, fish- berries, or any other sub-
stance deleterious to fish life.

(3) DELETERIOUS SUBSTANCES. (a) No person
may cast, deposit-or throw overboard from any
boat, vessel or other craft into any waters within
the jurisdiction of the state, or deposit or leave
upon the ice theteof until it melts, any fish offal
Any person violating this paxagraph shall for-
feit not more than $200.

(b) No person may throw or deposit, or
permit to be-thrown or deéposited, into any
waters within the jurisdiction of the state any
lime, oil, tar, garbage, refuse, debris, tanbark,
ship ballast, stone, sand, except where permit-
ted by s. 30.12-(3) (2) 1, slabs, decayed wood,
sawdust, sawmill refuse, planing mill shavings
or waste material of -any kind, or any acids or
chemicals or waste or refuse arising from the
manufacture of any article of commerce, or any
other substance deleterious to game or fish life
other than authorized drainage and sewage
from municipalities and industrial or other
wastes discharged from mines or commercial or
industrial or ore processing plants or opera-
tions, through treatment and disposal facilities
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installed and:operated in accordance with plans
- submitted to and approved by the department
--of natural resources under ch. 144, or in compli-
ance with orders of that department. Any such
- order shall be subject to modification by subse-
quent orders.” Any person violating this para-
graph shall forfeit not more than $200. Each
day. of a continuing violation is a separate
offense.
(c) Any person who intentionally v1olates this
subsection shall be fined not more than $200 or
imprisoned not-more than 90 days or both.

(4) Use OfF PESTICIDES. The department of

natural resources, after. public hearing, may
adopt rules governing the use of any pesticide
‘which it finds is a serious hazard to wild animals
other than those it is intended to- control, and
the making of reports thereon. In making such
‘determinations, the department to the extent
relevant shall consider the need for pesticides to
protect the well-being of the gereral public. It
shall obtain the recommendation of the pesti-
-cide review: board and such rules, other than
rules to protect groundwater.adopted to comply
with-ch. 160, are not effective until approved by
the pesticide review board. “Pesticide” has the
meaning designated in s. 94.67 '

(5) DEPARTMENT-OF TRANSPORIATION ACTIVI-

TIES; EXCEPTION. This section does not apply to
- any- activities- carried out under the direction

and supervision' of the state department of

transportation in connection with the construc-

tion, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of

highways and bridges accomplished in accord-
ance with s; 30.12 (4).
History: 1971 c. 73; 1975 ¢. 363, 365; 1977 ¢ 130; 1981 ¢
2265 13,1983 a 410
" Cross Reference:  See 134 67 for pIOhlblthn of use of
DDT and exceptions to the prohibition

The legislative history and language of (3) indicates that
[the statute is concerned primarily with the discharge into
navigable waters of refuse arising from manufacturing activi-
- ties and does not attempt to'prohibit silting caused by surface
‘water:-runoff: State v Deetz, 66 W (2d) 1, 224 NW. (2d) 407

-See note to 29.65, citing 62 Atty. Gen 130

) A proposed rule prohibiting the use of the chemical 2,4,5-
T unless a permit has been obtained is within the statutory
authority of DNR under (4) 64 Atty Gen 126

;. Discharging taconite tailings into water of' Lake Superior
~was violation of Federal Water Pollution Control Act and
commoii-law nuisance United States v. Reserve Mmmg Co
380 F Supp 11

29 30 Flshmg with'nets and setlmes (1) L1-
~€ENSE REQUIRED.. Nets and setlines may be used
+for the purpose oftaking, catching, or killing

fish, subject to the conditions, limitations and

“restrictions prescribed- in' this chapter; but no

person shall set, place or use in any waters of

this state any -net, trap, snare, set--hook, or
setline, which is intended to or might take, catch
or kill fish of any variety, other than a landing
net, dip net, minnow seine or minnow dip net,
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unless a license therefor has been duly issued to
such person

(2) RESTRICTIONS ON THE USE OF LICENSED
NETS AND SETLINES. - The use of licensed nets and
setlines- is subject, further, to the following
conditions: .

(a) No apron or other device shall be used in

-any pound net, which might prevent the escape

of small fish through the'meshes of the net when
it is.set or raised.

(b) No net of any kind shall be set so as to
shut off more than one-half of any channel or
passageway of any stream, or set within 1,000
feet of any other net in said stream.

(¢) No licensee shall join his net to that of any
other licensee.

(dyAll nets or set hooks when set or placed in

“any waters shall be marked with a. number

corresponding to the license number autho-
rizing the use of the nets or set hooks. The
method of marking the nets shall be as follows:

~On drop nets, submarine-trap nets and. fyke

nets, when set below the surface of the water,

‘there shall be a buoy attached to the pot rope,

on all gill nets and set hooks there shall be a
buoy on each end of the gang, the buoys shall
have a staff extending at least 3 feet above the
surfacé of the water, upon the upper end of the
staff there shall be a flag at least 10 inches
square. Upon the bowl of the buoys there shall
be maintained in plain figures the license
number authorizing the use of the nets or set
hooks. On pound nets and stake fyke nets there
shall be maintained at least 3 feet above the

- surface of ‘the water, or the surface of the ice,

when set through the ‘ice, a board or similar
material, which shall: bear the license number

- authorizing the use of the nets. On gill nets or

set hooks when set through the ice there shall be
maintained on each end of the gang a board or
similar material which shall bear the license
number authorizing the use of the nets or set
hooks.

“(e) The licensees of licensed nets or setlines
used: in outlying waters while engaged in the
regular process of lifting nets or setlines shall,

- on their boats, carry the department’s agents to

and from their nets or setlines when set and, on
demand of the agent, shall raise the nets or

~setlinés for inspection.” Any agent may, in the

presence or absence of the licensees, at any.time,
raise any setline or' nets, in any waters, with as
little'damage as may be, for inspection. If a
licensee refuses to carry an agent the license
shall be revoked.

(f) No licensed net shall be drawn or lifted at
any time between one hour after sunset and

-sunrise of the following morning, in-any waters

other than Lake Superior; Lake Michigan,
Green Bay, the Fox river beyond a distance of
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500 feet below the damat De Pere and Sturgeon
Bay.
~(g) No fish of .any kind shall be taken or
retained.in any net, when'drawn or lifted, other
than the kind or kinds expressly authorized to
be taken or retained in such net, as provided in
this chapter;.and except as provided by depart-
ment order.any such other kind or kinds of fish
coming into or ‘taken in such -nets shail be
immediately returned, carefully and with ‘as
little “injury. as .possible, to the waters from
-~ which they were taken.
(h) All' rough fish taken in nets or on setlines
shall be brought to.shore-and buried, sold or
otherwise lawfully disposed of, but no rough

fish shall be returned to any waters. .
. History: 1971 c. 266; 1975 ¢ 360, 422; 1977 ¢. 418; 1983
a.192ss 77, 303 (6)

See note t029.09, cmng Statc v. Gurnoe, 53 W (2d) 390,
192 NW(2d) 892.

29.33 ' Commercial fishing in outlying waters.
(1) LICENSE AUTHORIZED. Any person desiring
to:conduct commercial fishing operations.on
any of the outlying waters shall-first -obtain a
commercial fishing license.:. The department
‘may limit the number of licenses issued under
this section'and designate the areas in'the outly-
ing waters under:the jurisdiction of this state
where commercial fishing operations-shall be
‘restricted. - The department may establish har-
-vest limits and-allocate the harvest limits among
commercial fishing licensees. The department
may designate the kind, size and amountof gear
to be used in the harvest.  The limitations on
licenses, restricted fishing. areas, harvests and
gear shall be based on'the available harvestable
population of fish -and in the wise use and
conservation of the fish so as to prevent overex-
ploitation. The department-may adopt rules
defining the qualifications of licensees in. the
~-reasonable exercise of this authority, giving due
consideration to residency, past record, fishing
and navigation ability and quantity and. quality
-of ‘equipment possessed. ‘Rules relating to li-
censing. commercial fishers shall be: based ‘on
criteria’ provided by the commercial. fishing
boards under sub. (7). The application.for the
..license shall ' be made to the department on-a
“blank provided.for that purpose; accompanied
- by the fee specified in sub.'(2). The application
_shall state the name and residence of the appli-
- cant; the manner in which he or she proposes to
fish, the name or number, overall length and
value of his or her-boats, the name of the hailing

port from which the boats will operate, and the .

number-and kind of nets or other gear he or she
intends to use,. the value of real estate used in
connection . with. commercial- fishing and any
other information required by the department
for- statistical purposes. . “Overall: length”
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means the minimum distance between the ex-
treme outside end of the bow and the stern using

- the nearest whole number of feet. The license
fee shall be:based on the overall length of each

boat if boats are used. The license shall be
issued-in accordance with s. 29.09.

(2) CLASSES OF LICENSES; RESIDENCY; TRANS-

~FERS; CATCH FEES: (a) Resident. The classes of

commercial fishing licenses required for res-
idents of this state are:

1. For fishing without a boat or with a boat
not exceeding 25 feet in-overall length, a-class A
commercial fishing license.

: 2. For each large commercial fishing boat, a
class'B commercial fishing license. = A large
commerecial fishing boat is any boat in excess of

. 25 feetin overalllength used in catching, killing,
‘taking or transporting fish caught with nets

except a boat used only in transporting nets: A
class B commercial fishing:license entitles.- the

:licensee to operate a rowboat not exceeding 16

feet in overall length without additional license
if the rowboat bears the same identification as
the:boat for which the license is issued and is
used only while attending the boat for which the

- license is issued. A person with a class' B

commercial fishing-license may fish without a
boat without an additional license.
-3..For fishing with or without a boat only for

‘the harvest of rough fish from outlying waters

when the fish are taken under a contract issued
under s. 29.62 or.29.625; a-class C commercial

fishing, license.

(b) Nonresident. The following fees for com-
mercial fishing licenses shall be required from
nonresidents:

1. Fishing without a boat or with gear set

“under the ice, $300.
.. 2; For each boat 25 feet or less in overall

length used in catching, killing, taking or trans-

porting - fish caught with -nets, $300, and, in

addition, $3 per foot of the overall length.- For
each boat greater than 25 feet in length, $800,
and, ‘in “addition, $3 per foot of the overall
length. No license is required for a boat used
only. in-transporting nets. No nonresident per-
son'may pay less than $300 or more than $900
per year on any boat.

(¢c) Nonresident defined. For the purpose of
this section, the term “nonresident™ shall in-

*.clude any individual who is not a resident under

$..29.01 .(12),. any -individual applying for a
license for use of nets on a boat registered or of
record at a -port outside of the state, or any
partnership, association or corporation-any of

- whose stock, boats, nets and fishing equipment

has been owned by a nonresident at any time
during the 2 years immediately prior to the
application for a license
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(d) Transfer of license. The department may,
upon application, permit the transfer of a li-
cense to any similar boat during the time a
licensed boat is disabled or undergoing repairs
or upon the sale of a licensed boat. The
department shall establish rules governing the
transfer- of commercial fishing licenses between
individuals equally qualified to hold the licenses
and to members of a licensee’s immediate fam-
ily provided the rules assure the wise use and
conservation -of the fish resources being hai-
vested. under the license. The rules shall relate

only to those¢ waters in which the number of

licenses is limited. The commercial- fishing
boards, under sub. (7), shall approve or deny
transfers of commercial fishing licenses in ac-
cordance with the rules promulgated under this
section.

(f) Registered boats. Any registered boat
used by a resident licensee shall be from a port
of record in this state and its hailing port shall
be a port in this state

(g) Reciprocity: 1:'Except as provided under
subd. 2, the department may not issue commer-
cial fishing licenses to nonresidents of a particu-
lar state in a number which exceeds the number
of commetcial fishing licenses that that particu-
lar state issues to residents of this state

2. The reciprocity limitation on theissuance
of commercial fishing licenses to nonresidents
under subd. 1 does not apply to a nonresident
who held a commercial fishing license on or
before.July 1, 1982, or to ainonresident to whom
such a commercial fishing license is or was
transferred by a member of his or her immediate
family if that license was renewed for at least 5
consecutive years by the nonresident or a mem-
ber of his or her immediate family and: subject
to compliance with criteria and approvals re-
quired under this section.

(h) Catch fee. The department may require a

catch fee which shall be equivalent to the de-
partment’s direct costs of providing fish for
harvest, for species of fish designated by depart-
‘ment order, as further consideration for ob-
taining the license. “The feés shall be charged
only for those species of fish whose populations
are sustained or supplemented through stock-
ing and only for those fish caught by the li-
censee.All the fees shall be used exclusively to
~pay :for -the stocking,. including purchase or
propagatlon of the fish: :

(3) MEANING OF BOAT. In this section the term
~“boat” ‘includes all types of watercraft.

(4) CREW LICENSES. (a) Any commercial fish-
ing:licensee may use licensed crew members
when fishing with or without a boat. The

-number of crew members engaged under a
single. license may not exceed 4 when fishing
with nets under the ice. The department; upon
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proper application for crew licenses, may issue
with each commercial fishing license no more
than 4 crew licenses for the specific purpose of
fishing with nets under the ice and the number
indicated on the application for the purpose of
fishing in open water. Each crew license shall
bear the number of the commercial fishing
license, the purpose for which intended, the year
for which issued and the name of the crew
member to whom the crew license is issued. The
crew license permits a person to engage in
commercial fishing only as a member of a crew
of a commercial fisher licensed under sub . (1).

(b) Each member of a crew engaged in the

setting, lifting or pulling of nets or other devices
set under authority of a commercial fishing
license shall carry the crew license on his or her
person while so engaged and upon demand of
any conservation warden shall exhibit the li-
cense. Persons using minnow seines and dip
nets used for taking smelt and minnows are
exempt from this subsection.
" (¢) In case of illness or unavailability for
good cause of a licensed crew member, an
unlicensed person may work on a commercial
fishing operation for.a period not to exceed 48
hours under a temporary crew identification
card, after which time he or she must obtain a
crew license to engage in commercial fishing
operations. Temporary crew identification
cards shall be issued by the department to
commiercial fishing licensees for use as provided
in this paragraph. Prior to use, the commercial
licensee shall indicate on the temporary crew
identification card the license number and name
of the commercial fisher for whom the crew
membeér will be working, the time and date the
crew member commences work under the card
and the crew member’s name, address, descrip-
tion and his or her signature. The card shall be
presented, upon request, to a conservation war-
den and must be in the possession of the crew
member-at all times while engaged in commer-
cial fishing operations. The commercial fisher
issuing the temporary crew identification card
to an unlicensed person shall submit the card to
the department with the commercial catch re-
port submitted for the period in which work
conducted under the card was performed.

(d) The department may not suspend or
revoke a crew license of a crew member because
of a violation by the boat or by the commercial
fishing licensee unless that crew member. com-
mitted or is responsible for the violation.

(5) ReporT: Each commercial fishing licensee
shall keep an accurate record and account as to
each variety of fish taken and the number of
pounds of each fish taken under his or her
license and any other information the depart-
ment requires. The commercial fishing licensee
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shall report on forms provided by the depart-
ment, on or before the 10th day of each month,
the licensee’s records for the preceding calendar
month for each month during the license pe-
riod. If any monthly report has not been
received by the department within 10 days after
the due date, the department shall so notify the
licensee from whom the report is overdue and
shall not initiate proceedings under this subsec-
tion against the licensee until 10 days following
receipt of the notice by the licensee. . Any person
who fails to file the required records within 10
days after receiving the notice of failure to file
shall forfeit $50.-

(6) INsPECTION. For purposes of enforcement
of tHis section, conservation wardens or depart-
ment employes-duly duthorized and designated
by the secretary, upon presenting appropriate
credentials to the licensee or'agentin charge, are
authorized:

(a) To enter any building or structure, ex-
cluding a dwelling place, in which nets or fish
are stored, processed, packed or ‘held, or to
énter any vessel or vehicle being used to trans-
port ‘nets or fish when the owner-or agent in
charge is present or upon 8 hours’ notice at
other times. -

(b) To inspect bu11d1ngs structures, vessels or
vehicles, all pertinent equipment including nets
uséd or stored in the places to be inspected and
any fish stored, processed, packed or held in the
places to be’inspected.

(7) COMMERCIAL FISHING BOARDS. The Lake
Super1or and Lake Michigan commercial fish-
ing boards established under's 15.345 (2) and
3 shall review and consider applications for.a
transfer of license under this section .and shall
approve or deny applications on the basis of
rules. promulgated by the department. The
boards shall establish criteria for the allotment
of individual licensee catch quotas and shall
allot the catch quotas when the department
establishes species harvests limits for allocation
among licensees., The boards shall assist the
department in establishing criteria for identify-
ing inactive licensees. The criteria established
for identifying inactive licensees shall be the
basis .for. rules governing the issuance of
licenses.

(8) ENFORCEMENT; PENALTIES (a) Any person
who is convicted of violating this section or
rules.adopted under this section shall forfeit not
more than $1,000 for.each violation. In addi-

tion to the forfeiture, any person convicted of

possessing illegal fish shall be assessed a per fish
forfeiture equal to the value of fish under s.
29.65

(b) Upon conviction of a licensee for flshmg
with illegal nets, fishing during closed season, or
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fishing in a closed area, the nets used in the
violation shall be seized by-the department and
confiscated by the court.

(c) Any person licensed under this section,
upon his or her 2nd conviction-within a-3-year
period for possessing illegal fish, fishing with
illegal nets, fishing during a closed season, or
fishing in closed areas, in addition to the penal-
ties specified in par. (a), shall have his or her
license revoked for a minimum of one license
year beyond the date of expiration of the license
in effect at the time of the revocation. At the
end of the revocation period and upon proper
application for reinstatement, the department
shall reinstate the license.

History: 1975 ¢. 94 591 (9); 1975.¢. 199, 317; 1977 c. 29,
418; 1979 ¢ 325. 92 (1); 1979 ¢. 154, 221; 1983 a 25; 1983 a
27s 2202 (38)

See note to Art. I, sec 11, citing State v. Erickson, 101 W
(2d) 224, 303 NW (2d) 850 (Ct App 1981)

:Relationship between Indian fishing rights. and commer-
cial fishing quotas discussed 68 Atty Gen 416

29.336 Description of nets; use of. (1) EN-
TRAPPING NETS. (a) Fyke net. A fyke netis a
composite net consisting of the following parts:
1. One net of a general hoop or circular-like
structure commonly called a crib or pot with
numbers of hoops holding, encasing or inclos-
ing net webbing.
.2 One or more small funnel-shaped nets
commonly called tunnels with a large opening
at one end and a small opening or throat at the
other end through which the fish can pass from
the outer part of the net into the crib or pot.
This tunnel or these tunnels are attached to the

inside of the crib or pot.

3. Two fence-like nets called wings or hearts
attached to and extending obliquely outward
from each side of the mouth of the net proper

4. One fence-like net called a leader running
from the center of the tunnel outwaid between
the wingsina straight or angular line away from
the net proper.

(b) Dtop net. A drop net is a composite net
consisting of the following parts:

1. One net of a. general hoop or circular-like
structure called a crib. or pot with numbers of
hoops -holding, encasmg or inclosing net

webbing.

- 2..:One or.more. small funnel-shaped nets
commonly called tunnels with a large opening

at oneend and a small opening or throat at the

other through which the fish can pass from the
outer part of the net into the crib or pot. This
tunnel or these tunnels are attached to the inside
of the crib or pot.

3.One funnel- or'hood-shaped net called a

,tunnel sloping upward and outward from the

pot.orcrib.
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4, Two fence-like nets called wings or hearts
attached to-and extending obliquely outward
from each end of the tunneél

5. One fence-like net called a leader running
from the center of the tunnel outward between
the wings in a straight or angular line away from
the net proper:

‘(¢) Short tunnel pound net. A short tunnel
pound ] net isa composrte net consrstrng of the
following parts:

1.-One boxlike receptacle closed at the bot-
tom and sides and open at the top in which the
fish are finally caught or impounded and vari-
ously known as a pound, pot or crib, but
generally and commonly known in Wisconsin
as a pot.

© 2. Two fence-like nets called hearts set one on
cach side of the tunnel mouth and used to form
a preliminary inclosure resembling a heart in
shape with no cover on-the top or bottom.
.3, °0One or more funnel-shaped nets com-
monly called a’ tunnel or tunnels with a latge
opening ‘at ‘one end’and @ small opening or
throat at the other through which the fish can
pass from the hearts into the pot.

4. One fence-like net called a leader running
from the opening in the hearts in a straight or
angular line away from the het proper.

5. Al pound nets licensed or operated under
this section must have their tunnels located and
fastened entirely on the inside of the pot of the
same, forming a net that is commonly known
and called a short tunnel pound net,

(2) ENIANGLING NETS. (a) Trammel net. A
trammel net is made of 3 sheets of net webbing,

one of them of comparatively small mesh and of

fine twine being hung between 2 sheets of net
webbing. of  much  larger mesh and heavier
twine. This net is equipped at the top and
bottom with lead or maitre cord, line, or rope to
which at the top are attached floats and at the

bottom, sinkers. The inner web of this net is of

considerably greater fullness than the outsrde
web. .

(b) Gill net. A gill net is a net desrgned to
entangle-fish and made of' a single web of fine
thread hung and- fitted at the top and bottom
with lead ‘or maitre cord, line, or rope to which
‘ate attached at the top, floats, and at the
“bottom, sinkers.

' (3) DRAG NETS: SEINE.'A seine is a net made of

a ¢ircular, square or long webbing of coarse
twine hung very full-and fitted at the top and
bottom with lead or maitre cord, line or rope.
To-such lines-at the top are attached floats, and
at'the bottom, sinkers. This net is hung with
stich fullness'that it‘creates or forms a kind of a
bag near the centet of the net which holds or
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entraps-the fish while the net is being drawn

through the waters
History: - 1977 ¢ 418

29.34 Net Ircenses, Mississippi and St. Croix
rivers. (1) Licenses which authorize the use of
nets in the Mississippi river as-limited herein
and in that part of the St. Croix river down-
stream from the dam at St. Croix Falls shall be
issued subject to s..29.09 by the department to
any resident applying therefor. This subsection
as applicable to the St. Croix river shall not
become ‘effective until Minnesota has enacted
similar legislation. )

(2) Each net license authorizes the use of one
or more of the following nets only:

(a) Seine pets.

(b) Gili nets.

(¢) Bait nets used without leads.

(d) Buffalo nets. »

-(e) Frame nets.

(4) (a) Except when lrftrng or setting a gill net,
no person may use a seine, gill, bait, buffalo or
frame net in'the Mississippi and St. Croix rivers
unless the net has the required number of metal
tags stamped to designate the kind of net and
number of the net license covering it securely
fastened to it

(b) The requrred number of tags is as follows:

1. For a seine net, one tag for each 500 lineal
feet, or fraction thereof.

2. For a gill net, one tag for each 2,000 lineal
feet, or fraction thereof.

‘3. Fora bart buffalo or frame net, one tag
for each net.

(c) The department or the county clerk shall
issué net tags to the licensee at the time of
issuing the net license

(5 Each such licensee shall keep a strict
record and account as to each variety of fish and
the number of pounds thereof taken by him in
his licensed gear and such other information as
the department requires; and shall report
thereon to the department on or before the 10th

day of each month during the license period. -
- History: 1975 ¢ 360; 1983 2727, 192

29, 343 Slat net frshmg in the Mississippi
river. (1) ‘A slat. net license authorizing the
taking of commercial fish through the use of
slat nets in that part of the Mississippt river over
which this state has jurisdiction “between the
Minnesota-lowa boundary line extended and
the Wisconsin-Illinois boundary line extended
may be issued subject to's. 29.09 by the county
clerk of a county bordering these waters to any
resident who applies for this license.

~{2) A person who is issued a slat net license or
a crew may operate not to exceed 50 properly
tagged slat nets.
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(3) No person may use-a slat net unless it is
properly tagged In order to be properly tagged
a slat net is required to have attached to it a
metal tag stamped to designate the kind of net
and the number of the slat net license. - Slat net
tags are required to remain attached to the nets
until replaced by renewal tags.

(4) No slat net may be set within 100 feet of

any muskrat or beaver house. Any slat net
foundin any waters during the closéd season for
the use-of slat nets and any slat net found on the
Wisconsin banks or shotes without aslat net tag
and ‘showing evidence: of being used in the
previous 5 months shall be seized and held
subject to the order of the court or judge under
s. 29.05.

(5) Except as herein provided slat net licenses
shall be issued to any resident applying therefor
and shall be subject to s. 29.09, except that they
shall be issued by the county clerk of the coun-
ties bordering on such waters. - A sufficient
supply of slat net tags shall be furnished such
county clerks by the department.

History: 1971 ¢ 266; 1983 a. 27'ss. 793 to 795

29.344 Trammel net fishing in the Missis-
sippi river. (1) The department may issue a
trammel net license to any resident who applies
for this license subject to s; 29.09

(2) This license authorizes the use of trammel
nets in that part of the Mississippi river over
which this state has jurisdiction.

(3) No. person may use a trammel net which
exceeds 300 feet and no person may use a
trammel net unless it is properly tagged. In
order to be properly tagged, a trammel net is
required to have attached to it ‘a metal tag
stamped to designate the kind of net and the
number of the trammel net license. - Trammel
net tags are required to remain attached to the

nets until replaced by renewal tags.

" (4) No trammel net may be set within 100 feet
of any muskrat or beaver house. Any trammel
net found in any waters during the closed sea-
son for the use of trammel nets and any trammel
nets found on the Wisconsin banks or shores
without-a trammel net tag and showing evi:
dence of being used in the previous 5 months

shall be seized and held subject to the order of

the court or judge under s. 29.05.
History: ~ 1983-a.27s 795; 1983 a. 192,

29.36 Set or bank pole licenses. (1) A set or
bank pole license authorizing the use of not to
exceed 5 set or bank poles for taking, catching
or killing fish in the inland waters of the state
where the use of setlines is permitted shall be
issued subject to s. 29.09 by the department or
the county clerk of the county where the set or
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bank poles are intended to be used to any
resident of the state applying for this license.

(2) No set or bank pole shall be used unless
there is securely attached thereto-a metal tag
stamped with the number of the license covering
the-same. ‘Tags shall be furnished by the depart-
ment to the county clerk, or agents of the same
or of the department and by such agency to the
licensee at the timé of issuing the license.

(3) For the purposes of this section a set or
bank pole is defined as a pole equipped with one
lihe and not to exceed 2 hooks of a size not
smaller than 3-0 which pole is used for fishing
from the banks of lakes or rivers and may be

operated in the same manner as a setline.
History: © 1983 a. 27; 1983 a. 192's. 303 (6)

29.37 Setline licenses; inland waters. (1) A
setline license authorizing the use of setlines and
hooks in inland waters in the manner deter-
mined by the department for taking, catching or
killing fish shall be issued subject to s. 29.09 by
the - department. or  the -county clerk of the
county bordering on the waters where the set-
lines are intended and permitted to be used to
any resident of the state applying for this
license.

(3) (a) No person may opexate any setline
unless he or she has a setline license. No person
may use a setline unless it is properly tagged. In
order to be properly tagged a sétline is required
to be'securely attached to a buoy or stake at one
end, the buoy or stake is required to have
attached to it a metal tag stamped to designate
the serial number of the sétline license covering
it and the buoy or stake is required to be placed
and the tag attached in a manner so the tag is
visible above the surface of the water. :

(b) The department or the county clerk shall
issue setline tags to the licensee at the ume of
issuing the setline license.

(4) All fishermen licensed under this section
shall file such reports on the amounts and kinds
of fish taken as may be requested by the

department. s
History: 1977 ¢. 29; 1983 a. 27; 1983 a_ 192 5. 303 (6)

29.38 . Clams and mussels. No ' person shall
take, catch or kill any mussel or clam during the
close season therefor. as estabhshed by the
department.

29.39 Possession during close season or in
excess of bag limit. Except as otherwise ex-
pressly provided, no person: may have in the
person’s possession or under control, or have in
storage-or retention for any person, any game
or other wild animal or the carcass or part
thereof, during the period beginning July ! and
extending to the last day of the close season
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therefor in each year, or in excess of the bag or
possession limit or below the minimum size for
any game, game fish or other wild animal at any
time. The open and close seasons and the bag,
possession and size limits of the state, province
or county in which taken shall apply to game,
game fish and other wild animals lawfully killed
outside of this state.
History: 1975 ¢. 360, 421.

29.395 ‘Game, possession in open season. It
shall be unlawful to have in possession or under
control at any time the carcass or part of the
carcass or skin of any protected wild animal
showing that the same has been taken during
the close season for such animal.

29.40' Possession of deer; heads and skins.
(1) Dermution: In this section, “validated”

means marked with specified information in the’

manner required by the department.

'(2) DEER 1AGS. Except as provided under sub.
(5) and s. 29.405 (3), any person who kills a deer

shall immediately attach to the ear or antler of

the deer a current validated deer catcass tag
whicti is authorized for use on the type of deer
killed. Except as provided under sub. (2m) or's.
29.578 (7), (8) or (14), no person may possess,
control, store or transport a deer carcass unless
it is tagged as required under this subs_ectlon

. (2m) REMOVAL AND RETENTION OF TAGS. (a) A
deer carcass tag attached under sub. (2) and a
registration tag attached by the department or a
car kill tag attached under sub. (5) may be

removed from.a gutted carcass at the time of

butchering, but the person who killed or ob-
tained the deer shall retain all tags until the
meat is consumed. . , v
(b) Any person.who retains a tag under par.
(a) may give deer meat to another person. The
person who receives the gift of deer meat is not
required to possess a tag. . ‘

- (3) HEADS AND SKINS. The head and skin of

any deer lawfully killed, when severed from the
rest of the carcass, are not subject to this
chapter; but no person shall have in his posses-
sion-or under his control the green head or
green skin of a deer during the period beginning
30 days after the close of the open deer season
and the opening of the succeeding season; or at
any time a deer head in the velvet, ora deer skm
in the red, blue or spotted coat

(4) ANILERS REMOVED OR BROKEN. Any deer
taken during an-open season for hunting ant-
leréd deer only. or for hunting antlerless deer
onlyfrom which the antlers have been removed,

bioken, shed or dltered so as to make determi-

nationof the legality of the deer 1mpossxb1e isan
illegal deer.
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“(5) CAR KIL'LS. Any person who while operat-’
ing a motor vehicle on a highway accidentally
collides with-and kills a deer may retain posses-
sion of such deer if the person has it tagged by
any conservation warden, or by any law en-
forcement “officer designated by the depart-
ment: No fee may be charged for any such tag.

History: 1975 ¢. 97, ]9_9; 1983 a. 546 ‘ .
29.405 Group deer hunting. (1) In this
section:

(a) “Contact” means visual or voice contact
without the aid of any mechanical or electronic
amplifying device other than a hearing aid

(b) “Group deer hunting party” means 2 or
more hunters ‘hunting .in a group all using
firearms, each of whom holds an individual
license to hunt deer.

'(2)- Any member of a group deer hunting
party may kill a deer for another member of the
group deer hunting party if both of the follow-
ing conditions exist: :

(a) At the time and place of the kill, the
person who kills the deer is in contact w1th the
person for whom the deer is killed

(b) The person for whom the deer is killed
possesses a current unused deer carcass tag
which is authonzed for use on the deer killed.

~.(3)-A person who kills a deer under sub. (2)
shall-ensure that a member of his or -her group
deer. hunting- party without delay attaches a
current validated deer carcass tag to the deer in
the manner specified under s. 29.40 (2). The
person who kills the deer may not leave the deer
unattended until after it is tagged
‘History: 1983 a. 546.

29.41 . Skins of fur-bearing animals. No per-
son may possess or have under his or her
control the skin of any mink, muskrat, fisher,
marten, beaver or otter showing that the animal
was shot or speared. No person may possess or
have under his or her control the green skin of
any fur-bearing animal from the 5th day after
the begmnmg of the closed season for that
animal unt11 the end of that closed season. No
person may possess the raw skin of any musk-
rat, mink, beaver, otter, fisher or marten at any
time unless the personis the holder of a scien-
tific collector permit, fur dealer license, trap-
ping l1cense or conservation patron license of
current’ issue. No license is required for a

- person breeding, raising and producing domes-

tic fur-beating animals in captivity as defined in
s: 29.579, nor for a person authorized to take
muskrats on a cranberry marsh under a permit
issued to the person by the department

History:- 1983 a. 27
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29.415 Endangered and threatened species
protected. (1) PUrpPosE. The legislature finds
that certain wild animals and wild plants are
endangered or threatened and are entitled to
preservation and protection as a matter of gen-
eral state concern. The federal endangered
species act of 1973 and the Lacey act together
provide for the protection of wild animals and
wild plants threatened with worldwide extinc-
tion by prohibiting the importation of endan-
gered or threatened wild animals and wild
plants and by restricting and regulating inter-
state and foreign commerce in wild animals and
wild plants taken in violation of state, federal
and foreign laws. The states, however, must
also assume their responsibility for conserving
these wild animals and wild plants and. for
restricting the taking, possession, transporta-
tion, processing or sale of endangered or
threatened wild animals and wild plants within
their respective jurisdictions to assure their con-
tinued survival and propagation for the aes-
thetic, recreational and scientifi¢ purposes of
future generations. The legislature finds that by
eliminating the taking, possession or marketing
of endangered species in this state and by estab-
lishing 'a program for conservation and'restora-
tion of these endangered or threatened species,
their ‘potential for continued existence will be
strengthened. " The legislature further finds that
the activities of both individual persons and
governmental agencies are tending to destroy
the few remaining whole plant-animal commu-
nities in this state. Since these’ communities
represent the only standard against which the
effects of change-can.be measured, their preser-
vation is of highest importance, and the legisla-
ture urges all persons and agencies to fully
consider all decisions in this light.

(2) DerINITIONS. For purposes of this section:-

(a) “Endangered species” means any species
whose continued existence as a viable compo-
nent of this state’s wild animals or wild plants is
determined by the department to be in jeopardy
on the basis of scientific evidence:

(b) “Threaténed species” means any spec1es
of wild animals or wild plants which appears
likely, within thé foreseeable future, on the basis
of scientific evidénce to become enidangered.

(c) “Wild animal” means any mammal, fish,
wild bird, amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crusta-
cean, or arthropod, or any part, products, egg
or offspring thereof, or the dead body or parts
thereof.

(d) “led plant” means any undomesticated
species of the plant kingdom occurring in a
natural ecosystem.

(3) ENDANGERED AND THREATENED  SPECIES
LIST. (a) The department shall by rule establish
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an endangered and threatened species list. The
list- shall consist of 3 parts: wild animals and
wild plants on the U.S. list of endangered and
threatened foreign species; wild animals and
wild plants on the U.S. list of endangered and
threatened native species; and a list of endan-
gered and threatened Wisconsin species. - Wis-
consin endangered species shall be compiled by
issuing a proposed list of species approaching
statewide extirpation. Wisconsin threatened
species shall be compiled by issuing a proposed
list of species which appear likely, within the
foreseeable future, to become endangered. Is-
suance of the proposed lists shall be followed by
solicitation of comments and public hearing.
Wild animals and wild plants shall be deemed
approaching statewide extirpation if the depart-
ment determines, based upon the best scientific
and commercial data available to it, after con-
sultation with other state game directors, fed-
eral agencies and other interested persons and
organizations, that the continued existence of
such wild animals and wild plants in this state is
in ]eopardy

(b) The department shall'periodically review
and, following public hearing, may revise its
endangered and threatened species list. A sum-
mary report of the scieritific data used to sup-
port all amendments to'the state’s endangered
and threatened species list shall be maintained
by the department.

(¢) The department may upon the petition of
3 pérsons review any listed or unlisted wild
animal or wild plant if the persons present
scientific evidence to warrant such a review,
after which the department may by hearing and
rule amend the statewide list.

(4) ProumitioN. Except as’ permitted by
departmental rule or permit:

(a) No person may take, transport, possess,
process or sell within this state any wild animal
specified by the department’s endangered and
threatened species list.

(b) No person may process or sell to another
person any endangered or threatened species of
wild plant.

(c) No person may remove or transport any
endangered or.threatened species of wild plant
away from its native habitat on public property
or property which he or she does not own or
lease, except.in the course of forestry or agricul-
tural practices or in the construction, operation
or maintenance of a utility facility.

(5) ENFORCEMENT. (a) Whoever violates this
section or any rules promulgated thereunder
shall forfeit not more than $1,000. Whoever
intentionally violates this section or any rules
promulgated thereunder shall be fined not more
than $1,000 or imprisoned not more than 9
months or both.




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

751

(b) Any officer employed and authorized by
the department, or any police officer of this
state or of any municipality or county within
this state, shall have the authority to execute a
warrant to search for and seize any goods,
business records, merchandise or wild animal or
wild plant taken, employed, used or possessed
in violation of this section. Any such officer or
agent may, without a warrant arrest any person
whom the officer or agent has probable cause to
believe is violating this section -in: his or her
presence or view. An officer or agent who has
made an arrest of a person in connection with
any violation under this section may search the
person or business records at the time of arrest
and seize any wild animals and wild plants,
records, or property taken, used or employed in
connection with any violation.

(c) Goods, merchandise, wild: animals, wild
plants or records seized under par. (b) shall be
held by an officer or agent of the department
pending disposition of court proceedings and
thereafter be forfeited to the state for destruc-
tion or disposition as the department deems
appropriate. Priortoforfeiture, the department
may direct the transfer -of wild animals.or wild
plants so seized to a qualified zoological, educa-
tional .or scientific institution or qualified pri-

vate propagator for safekeeping. with: costs

assessable to the defendant.

(6) PERMITS. (2) The department shall permit,
under such terms and conditions as. it may
prescribe by rule, the taking, exportation, trans-
portation or possession of any wild animal or
wild plant on the list of endangered and
threatened species for zoological, educational
or scientific purposes, for-propagation of such
wild ‘animals and wild plants in captivity for
preservation purposes, unless such exportation,
possession, transportation or taking is prohib-
ited by any federal law or regulation, or any
other law of this state.

(b) Any endangered species of wild animal or
wild plant which enters the state from another
state or from ‘a-point outside the territorial
limits of the United States and which is being
transported. to a -point within or beyond the
state may .enter the state and-be transported

without restriction in accordance with the terms

of‘any federal permit or permit issued under the
laws or regulations of another state.

“(c): Possession, sale or transportation within
this state .of any endangered species on the U.S.
list of endangered and threatened foreign spe-
cies'shall not require a state permit undeér par.
(a). ‘

(7) CoNSERVATION. (a)-The department shall
conduct “'research on- the endangered and
threatened species of this state and shall imple-
ment programs directed at conserving, protect-
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ing, restoring and. propagating selected state-
endangered and threatened species to the maxi-
mum extent practicable,

(b) The department may enter into agree-
ments with federal agencies, other states, politi-
cal subdivisions of this state or private persons
with respect to programs designed to conserve
endangered or threatened species of wild ani-
mals or wild plants. Agreements with private
persons under this paragraph may include pro-

viding for the movement.of an endangered or .

threatened species -to another appropriate
habitat, preferably to a habitat located on state-
owned or state-leased land.

(8) Exemp1ioNS. This section shall not apply
to zoological societies, municipal zoos, or of-
ficers or employes thereof

(9) RULES. Any action by the department to

create, amend or repeal a rule under this section
after notice, hearing and publication as pro-
vided under ss. 227.02 to 227.027, shall be
forwdtded to the speaker of the assembly and
the president of the senate for referral to and
review by the appropriate standing committee
of each house as determined by the presiding
officer of each. For the purpose of reviewing
such proposed action on a rule, the standing
committee may be convened upon call of its
chairperson or 'of a majority of its members.
Each standing committee may, within 40 days
from receipt of the proposed action, approve or
disapprove the proposed action, but failure of a
standing committee to disapprove the proposed
action within the review: time shall constitute
approval thereof. The proposed action shall
become effective only upon the approval of
both committees. This subsection does not
apply to emergency rules adopted under s.
227.027. :

History: - 1971 ¢. 275; 1975 ¢ 365;.1977 c. 370; 1979 ¢
110, 355.°

This section does not form basis for seeking injunctive re-
lief against proposed relocation of county highway -Robin-
son'v_Kunach, 76 W (2d) 436, 251 NW (2d) 449

‘Discussion of effect and constitutionality of law broaden-

ing endangered species protection to include threatened spe-
cies. 68 Atty. Gen 9

29.42 Possession of game birds and ani-
mals. (1) APPROVAL NECESSARY. No person,
except a person who is issued a valid hunting
license, sports license, a conservation patron
license or scientific collector permit and who is
carrying this approval on his or her person, may
possess or have under his or her control-any
game bird, animal or the carcass of any game
bird or animal.

(2) NESIs AND EGGS. No person, except a
person who is issued a valid scientific collector
permit, may take, needlessly destroy or possess
or have under his or her control the nest or eggs
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of any wild bird for which a closed season is
prescribed. under this chapter.

(3) MOUNTED COLLECTIONS. This section shall
not permit seizure of nor prohibit possession or
sale of lawfully obtained wild birds and animals
which- are mounted or in tne process of being
mounted for a private collection.

History: 1973.c.214;1983 a 27

29.425 Possession and sale of live gamé
animals and fur-bearing animals. (1) DEFINI-
TIONS.” As used in this section:

(a) “Control temporarily” means to possess -
an animal for a limited period of time for-one of

the following purposes:

1. Removal or transportation of an animal
from one location to a more appropriate
location.

2. Restraint or transportatlon of an ammal
for treatment or medical care.

3. Restraint or transportation of an animal
for game censuses, surveys or other purposes
authorized by the department.

. (b)“‘Possess” means to own, restrain, keep in

captivity or transport an animal.

(2) ‘PosSESSION. (a) Restrictions. No person
may possess any live game animal.-or fur-
bearing -animal unless authorized under s.
29.55, 29.572, 29.574, 29.575, 29.578 or 29.585
except to control an animal temporarily.

(b) Local prohibition. The governing body of

any -county, city, village or town may, by ordi-
nance, prohibit a person from possessing any
live game animal or fur-bearing animal.

(3) SALE. (&) Restrictions. No person may sell
any live game animal or fur-bearing animal
unless authorized under s. 29.55,29.572,29 574,
29.575, 29.578 or 29.585 and unless the put-
chaser is also authorized under one of those
sections and presents evidence of that duthori-
zation to the seller.

(b) Record. A person who sells any live game
animal or fur-bearing animal shall keep a
record of each sale, the name and address of the
purchaser, the type of authorization ot license
held by the purchaser and its number, if any, the
date of sale and a description of the animal. The
record shall be kept for 2 years after the sale and
shall be open to inspection by the department.

(c) Local prohibition. The governing body of

any county, city, village or'town may, by ordi-
nance, prohibit the sale of any live game ammal
or fur-bearing animal.

(4) HUNTING AND TRAPPING. A person who

hunts or traps any game animal or fur-bearing:

animal shall kill the aniimal when it is taken and
make it part of the daily bag orshall release the
animal unless authorized unders. 29.55, 29.572,
29.574, 29.575, 29.578 or 29.585.
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(5) PENALTY. A person who-violates this
section shall forfeit not less than $100 nor more

than $1,000:
History: 1979 ¢ 289

29.427 Possession, sale, release and de-
struction of live skunks. (1) DEFINIIIONS As
used in this section:.

* (a) “Control temporarily” means to possess a
skunk for a limited period of time for one of the
following purposes:

1. Removal or transportation of a skunk
from one :location to a more appropriate
location.

- 2. Restraint or transportatlon of a skunk for
game cenisuses, surveys or other purposes au-
thorized by the department

(b) “Domestic skunk” means-a skunk raised
on afur-animal farm licensed under s. 29.575.

. {c). “Possess” has the meaning designated
under s. 29.425 1) (b):

(d) ““Wild skunk”™ means any skunk except a
domestic skunk.

(2) POSSESSION. (&) Restnctzons on possession
of wild skunks. No person may possess any live
wild -skunk unless authorized -under s. 29.55
except to control the skunk temporarily.

(b). Restrictions on possession of domestic
skunks. No person may possess any live domes-
tic skunk unless authorized under s. 29.55 or
29.575 except to control the skunk temporarily.

(c) Local prohibition. The governing body of
any county, city, village or town may, by ordi-
nance, prohibit a person from. possessing any
live wild or domestic skunk. ‘

(3) SALE. (a) Restrictions on sale of wild
skunks.. No person may sell any live wild skunk
unless authorized under s. 29.55 and unless the
person to whom:the skunk is sold is also autho-
rized-under s. 29.55.

(b) Restrictions on sale of domestic skunks.
No person may sell any live domestic skunk
unless authorized under s. 29.55 or 29.575 and
unless the purchaser is also authorized under
one: of those sections-and presents evidence of
that authorization to the seller.

{c) Record. A person who sells any live skunk
shall keep a record of the sale as required under
$.:29.425 (3) (b). .

(d). Return of -domestic skunks: A person
who sells any live skunk shall inform the pur-
chaser-that the release of a skunk is illegal and
that ‘the seller w111 accept the return of the
skunk:

(e) Local ptohzbmon The governing body of
a county, city, village or town may, by ordi-
nance, prohibit the sale of any live skunk..

(4) DeSCENTING. No.person may operate on a.
live wild skunk to remove its scent glands unless
the person who possesses the 'skunk is autho-
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rized under s. 29 55. A veterinarian to whom a

person brings a live wild skunk for removal of

its scent glands or for other treatment shall
notify that person that possession-of a live
skunk is illegal and shall notify the department.

(5) RELEASE. No person may release a domes-
tic skunk into the environment.

(6) DESTRUCTION. A person may kill at any
time a wild skunk which is a nuisance to activi-
ties authorized under s. 29.55, 29.572, 29.574,
29.575,29.578 or 29.585. A person who kills an
adult wild skunk with young shall attempt to
kill the young skunks. :

(7) PENALTY. A person who violates this
section shall forfeit not less than $100 nor more
than $1,000.

History: 1979 c. 289; 1981 ¢. 314,

29.43 Transportation; general provisions.
(1) DURING CLOSE SEASON. Excépt as otherwise
expressly provided, it shall be unlawful for any
person to transport or cause to be transported,
or deliver or receive or offer to deliver or receive
for transportation, any game or game fish or
carcass or part thereof at any time other than
during the open season therefor and 3 days
thereafter. Whenever any game or game fish or
carcass or part thereof is offered to any person
for transportation at any time other than during
the open season therefor and 3 days thereafter,
such. peérson shall forthwith notify the depart-

ment or its wardens, stating full particulars of

such offer and by whom made.

(2) TrUNKS; vALISES. No person shall carry
with him or under his control in any trunk,
valise, or other package or enclosure, at any
time on any common carrier, any game oI game
fish, or carcass or part thereof.

(3). TRANSPORTATION EMPLOYES. No employe
of any railroad, express or other transportation
company, and no steward, porter or other em-
ployeof any dining, parlor or sleeping car shall
have in: his personal possession or under his
personal.control,at any time while on duty, any
game or game fish, or carcass or part thereof.

(4). LABELING GAME ‘SHIPMENTS. No person
shall transport.or cause to be transported, or
deliver or.receive for transportation, any pack-
age or parcel containing any wild animal or
carcass or part thereof; unless the same is la-
beled in plain lettets on the address side of such
package or parcel so as to disclose the name and
address of the consignor, the name and address

of:the consignee, and the number of pounds of

each kind of fish or the number of each variety
of other wild animals; or carcasses, or parts
thereof, contained therein; and unless the con-
signor is the owner of such shipment and shall
deliver to the common carrier therewith, either
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personally, or by agent, a writing signed by him
personally, stating that he is the owner of the
shipment,

29.44 Interstate transportation of game. No
person shall transport or cause to be trans-
ported,.or deliver or receive or offer to deliver
or receive for transportation, into or through
this state;. any game or game fish or carcass or
part thereof from any other state in violation of
the laws of such state relating to the transporta-
tion thereof; nor any game or game fish or
carcass or part thereof lawfully transported
from any other state, nor have the same in his
possession or under his control, during the close
season or in excess of the limitations prescribed
for such animal in this chapter, unless such
person shall have in his possession a license to
take such animal duly issued to him by the state
in which taken; but any person who has lawfully
killed a deer in this state may, on his license
only, take such deer into any adjoining state, if
the laws thereof permit, and ship the same from
any point in that state to any point within this
state.

29.45 Transportation of deer. (1) No com-
mon carrier may receive for transportation or
transport or attempt to transport any deer or
carcass except as provided in this section.

(2) Any person may transport a lawfully
taken deer if it is properly tagged and registered,
except as otherwise provided by rule during the
open season for deer and for 3 days thereafter.

(3) The place of delivery of any shipment
authorized under this section by a resident shall
be within the state'and by a nonresident shall be
either within the state or at his or her residence
outside the state.

(4) This section does not apply to a bona fide

public zoo.
History: 1979 ¢. 34; 1981 ¢ 111:

29.46 Transportation. of game birds. (1)
TRANSPORTATION. No common carrier shall re-
ceive for transportation or transport or attempt
to transport any game bird, or carcass or part
thereof except as provided in this section.

:(2) RESIDENTS. Any duly licensed resident
may-transport in. his personal possession the
legal daily bag limit or possession limit of any
game birds for which an open season has been
provided to any point within the state.

" (3) NONRESIDENTS. Any duly licensed nonres-
ident may transport in his personal possession
the legal daily bag limit or possession limit of
game birds for which an open season has been

provided from any point within the state to any

point within or without the state.
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(4) MIGRATORY BIRDS. (a) In this subsection
“migratory game bird” means any bird defined
as such by the secretary of the interior in the
code of federal regulations

(b) No-person may transport:any migratory
game bird for which open seasons are pre-
scribed, unless the head or one fully feathered
wing remains attached td each bird while being
transported from the place where taken to the
personal residence of ‘the possessor or to a
cothmercial preservation facility.

~Hist0ry: 1975 ¢ 360

29.47 - Transportation ‘of fish. (2) FroM IN-
LAND WATERS.  No person- shall transport or
cause to be transported, or deliver or receive or
offer t6 deliver or receive for transportation,
any game fish taken from inland waters other
than as follows: -

(a) By commion carrier: In each period of 7
days, one shipment only of not more than one
package, containing not morethan the bag limit
for one day of game fish of any variety except
brook, brown and rainbow trout, and in addi-
tion thereto not more than 20 pounds of any
game fish for which no daily bag limit is estab-
lished may ‘be shipped by any resident to-any
point within the state, or by any nonresident
licensee to any point without the state.

(b) By means of other than common carrier:
The possession limit, as prescribed by the de-
partment, of game fish of any variety may be
ttansported by any resident to any point within
the state, or by any nonresident licensee to any
point without the state when accompanied by
the owner.

" (¢) All fish Wthh aré subject to a minimum
size limit and are transported as provided in this
section shall be entirely intact and with no part
removed except the scales, gills and viscera.

(d) No ‘box, package or container. of fish
transported by common carrier-shall centain
fish of more than one owner.

*(3) FROM OUTLYING WATERS. The transporta-
tion of fish taken in outlying watérs is sub]ect to
the following limitations:

(a)'No green fish of any variety except law-
fully taken suckers shall be shipped from any
port located on outlying waters during the
closed 'season for such fish, except the ﬁrst 3
days thereof:

(b) Pike “and pickerel of lawful size and
lawfully ‘taken from  outlying waters 'may be
transported. to’ points within or without the
state without limitation as to quantity; but all
such shipments shall be billed only from a port
on outlying waters directly to their destination,
and shall not be rebilled or reshipped from any
other point within the state. .
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(4) - SHIPMENTS FROM INLAND POINTS. Any
shipment of game fish of any variety originating
at any point in this state other than ports
located on outlying waters-is subject to this
section governing the transportation of game
fish taken from inland waters

(5) FOREIGN SHIPMENTS, Pike and pickerelin a
frozen state, whether dressed or not dressed,
legally taken or imported from any foreign
country, are not subject to this chapter except as
may be provided by department orders; but the
person importing, transporting, dealing in, or
selling such fish shall keep a separate record of
all shipments and consignments thereof, con-
taining the number of pounds, the date re-
ceived, the name of the consignor, and the name
of the carrier transporting the same, which shall
be at all times open to inspection by the depart-
ment or its wardens.

(6) INJURIOUS FISH. No live rough fish except
goldfish, dace and suckers shall be transported
into or within the state at any time without a
permit from the department except any person
holding a state contract to remove rough fish
pursuant to s. 29.62 may transport rough fish
taken by him under the authority of such
contract.

History: 1971 c. 266
29.475 Wildlife on Indian reservations pro-
tected. No person shall remove or take from
any Indian resérvation the carcass of any pro-
tected wild animal, bird or fish or any part
thereof, including the fur, during the close sea-
son for 'such animal, bird or fish without a
permit from the department issued under such
regulations as it may prescrlbe

29.48 Sale of game or fish. (1) Except as
otherwise expressly provided, no person may at
any time sell, purchase or barter, or offer to sell,
purchase or barter, or have in possession or
under control for the purpose of sale or barter
any deer, bear, squirrel, game bird, game fish
taken from waters of this state, or the carcass or
part thereof; nor any -other wild animal, or
carcass or part thereof, during the close season
therefor.:- This section applies, whether such
animals -were ‘lawfully or 'unlawfully taken
within or without the state

(2):No fish taken by hook and lme from
outlying waters, except rough fish, may be sold,
bartered or traded in any manner,

“(3) The eggs fiom trout'and salmon lawfully
taken and possessed, when removed from the
fish are exempted from this section.

(4) The tails and skin of any squirrel lawfully
Killed, when severed from the rest of the carcass

are exempted from this section
History:~ 1973 c. 315, 333; 1975¢.360; 1977 ¢ 418,
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29.49 Serving of game to guests. (1) RESTAU-
RANTS, EIC. (a) Except as provided by s. 29.52
no innkeeper, manager or steward of any res-
taurant, club, hotel, boarding house, tavern,
logging camp or mining camp may sell, barter,
serve or give, or cause to be sold, bartered,
served "or given to the guests or boarders
thereof:

1. The'meat of any deer, bear; squirrel, game
bird or game fish taken from inland waters at
any time; or

2. The meat of any other game or other wild
animal, or carcass or part thereof, during the

closed season therefor; whether such meat is of

animals lawfully or unlawfully taken within or
without the state

(b) The depar tment may issue permits autho-
rizing the serving of lawfully taken and- pos-
sessed wild animals at any time.

(2) FrRee LUNCH. The giving, offering; or
affording opportunity to take free lunch in any
of the places named in sub. (1) shall be held to
be embraced within the pIOhlblthnS thereof.

History: 1975 ¢ -360

29.50 Propagation privileged. Nothingin the
foregoing provisions concerning the protection

of ‘wild animals- shall affect the operation of

state hatcheries, the removal of fish which have

died from natural causes or the removal of

deleterious-fish by the department or under its
authority; or the propagation or transporta-
tion, collecting and transplanting of fish-or fish

fry by state authority; nor the transportation of

fish into or through this state or-out of it by the
commissioners of fisheries of other states or of
the United States; nor the operation of private
fish hatcheries, or the. propagation of fish in
private waters, or the transportation and sale of
fish therefrom as hereinafter provided; but the
department or its agents and employes, shall
not furnish fish or fry from state hatcheries to
private ponds, private clubs, corporations or
preserves, and shall not plant them in waters
where the general public is not allowed the

rights and privileges enjoyed by any individual.
Utnider 29.50 and 30 77, departmént may refuse to stock
waters where public access is inadequate. 68 Atty. Gen. 233

29.51 State propagation of fish. (1) STATE
FISH HATCHERIES. The department shall have
general charge of the following matters, and all
necessary powers therefor, namely:: :

(2). The propagation. and breeding of fish of

such species and varieties as they deem of value.
(b) The collection and diffusion of: useful
informiation in regard to the piopagation and
conservation of fish.
(¢) The government and contiol care, sup-
ply, and repair of the staté fish hatcheries and
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the grounds used therefor, whether owned or
leased, and the buildings, ponds, fish car and
other apparatus; and all other property belong-
ing to or held by the state for the propagation of
fish.

(d) The purchase and establishment and con-
trol, in.like manner; of new hatcheries when
appropriations shall be made by law, .and the
establishment of such temporary hatching sta-
tions as they may deem necessary. With the
consent and approval of the department, lands
may be acquired by grant, devise or.conveyance
constituting a voluntary donation to or
purchase by the state for the express purpose of
enabling it to use such lands for establishing
hatcheries and the propagation of fish.

() The receiving from the U.S. commission-
ers of fisheries, from the commissioners of fish-
eries of other states or from other persons of all
spawn, fry or fish donatéd to the state or
purchased, and in the most practical ways, by
exchange or otherwise, to procure, receive, dis-
tribute and dispose of spawn and fish; to make
contracts and carry on the same for the trans-
portation of fish"cars, cans; depattmental of-
ficers and employes by land or water as is most
advantageous to the state; and to take such
otheér measures as in their judgment best pro-
motes the abundant supply of food fishes in the
waters of ‘the state.

(f) The department shall keep an inventory of
the property of the several hatcheries; with the
cost of each article, and account in detail and
separately of the expenses of each hatchery; also
of the distribution of the fish, of maintaining
and repairing property and of such 1mpiove-
ments as may be ordered.

(2) TRANSPLANTATION OF FISH. The depart-
ment may take or cause to be taken fish at any
time of the year from any waters of the state for
stocking other waters or for the purpose of
securing eggs for artificial propagation. These
fish or eggs may be taken only under a special
permit issued by the department and only in the
presence of the department or its wardens. This
permit shall specify the kinds of fish that may be
taken and the manner in which they may be
takén. ‘This permit is subject to-the conditions
that the holder -pay for ‘the services of -and
furnish free transportation and meals on his or
her boat'to a competent person-approved by the
department to spawn the fish and fertilize the
eggs and that the eggs are delivered at the place
designated by the department.

(3) DELIVERY OF SPAWN. Any person fishing
in any.waters of this state: shall deliver, on
demand, to the department-or its wardens or
authorized agents, all kinds of fish, during the
spawning ‘season, for the purpose of being
stripped of their eggs and milt; and the person
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receiving them shall, immediately after having
stripped the fish, return them to the person
from whom received. Any such person shall
permit the department, or its wardens, or au-
thorized agents to enter any boats, docks,
grounds-or other places where such fish may be,
for the purpese of stripping the same while
alive, and shall render such assistance as may be
necessary to expedite the work of mixing the
eggs and milt for proper impregnation.

“(4) REMOVAL OF SPAWN OR FISH FROM STATE.
No person shall remove any fish eggs or live fish
from this state except as authorized by law,
unless a permit therefor has been issued to him
by the department:

(5) UNLAWFUL FISHING BY EMPLOYES. No
employe of the department, and no other per-
son, while engaged in catching wild fish from
the public waters for purposes of artificial prop-
agation, shall take or have in his possession or
under his control any kind of fish other than
those he has been directed, by the department,
to take therefrom. \

(6) ERECTION OF BARRIERS TO EXCLUDE ROUGH
FisH. The department may for any period in its
discretion erect and maintain or authorize erec-
tion and maintenance of -a screen or similar
barrier in any navigable stream for the purpose
of preventing rough fish or other fish found to
be undesirable from invading any part of such
stream, provided suchscreen or barrier does not
unreasonably interfere with navigation.

History: 1981 ¢ 195

29.511  Cold water fish hatchery. In exercis-
ing the powers granted to the department under
s.:29.51 the department shall purchase and
establish fish hatchery facilities specializing in
the production of cold water fish. The hatchery
shall be located in a county centrally situated
and no farther than 40 miles from Lake Michi-
gan. The capacity of the fish hatchery should
permit a minimum of 40,000 pounds of fish
production.
History: 1977 ¢. 432

29.512 Well disruptions caused by Bayfield
hatchery operations. (1) Upon complaint in
writing by an owner or lessee of land to the
department that operation of the well by the
department at the Bayfield fish hatchery has
caused-damage through disruption of well oper-
ations located within 10,000 feet of the fish
hatchery well, the department shall inquire into
the matter. Ifit appears to the department that
the facts stated in the complaint are true; the
department shall pay to the claimant the
amount of such-damages, as determined by the
department. ,
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(2) If the department determines not to pay
the claim or if the amount of damages cannot be
agreed upon, the claimant may present his claim
to the claims board in accord with s. 16.007.

History: 1973 ¢. 333

29.513 ° Permit for private management. (1)
Any person or persons owning all of the land
bordering on any navigable lake that is com-
pletely landlocked may apply to the department
for a permit to remove, destroy or introduce
fish in such lake.

(2) -Upon receiving such application the de-
partment shall hold a public hearing in the
vicinity of such lake, and if the hearing is
favorable the department may issue a permit
authorizing the applicant to remove; destroy or
introduce fish in such lake.

(3) Such permit shall be subject to such terms,
conditions and limitations as the department
deems proper.- All work done under the author-
ity of such permit shall be.under the supervision
of the department or its agents, who shall be
afforded free access to such lake at all times for
such purpose by the permittee. The expenses of
such supervision shall be paid by .the permittee.

(4) All fish removed from such lake under
such permit shall be turned over to the
department.

29.515 Trespass to state fish hatchery. Who-
ever does any of the following shall be fined not
more than $200 or imprisoned not more than 30
days or both:

(1) Without proper authority, enters upon
the grounds of-any state fish hatchery for the
purpose of killing or taking fish therefrom; or

(2) Without proper authority, kills, takes or
catches any fish from any waters ot grounds
which the person knew or should have known
belonged to or were connected with any state
fish hatchery; or

(3) Without proper authority to do so, inten-
tionally or negligently injures any fish, or in any
manner interferes harmfully with the ponds,
streams, troughs or other property of a state
fish hatchery.

History: 1975 c. 365

29.52 ' Private fish hatcheries. (1) Private fish
hatchery licenses may be issued by the depart-
ment under this section. .

(2) The owner or lessee of any lands desiring
to. construct, operate and maintain a private
fish hatchery thereon shall file with the depart-
ment on forms furnished by it a written applica-
tion for a private fish hatchery license setting
forth: .

(a) His name and address.
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- (b) The specific description of the lands to be
included in the license.

(c) A description of the water supply to be
used in the operation of the hatchery.

(d) A description or diagram showing the
ponds;, raceways, wells, flumes, dams, buildings
and other improvements in connection wrth the
proposed hatchery.

(e) His title or leasehold.

(f) Such’additional information that may be
required by the department

(3) After May 12, 1965 private fish hatcheries
shall be licensed only under the following
conditions:-

~(a) The water areas included in the licensed
area shall be limited to artificially constructed
pools, ponds, tanks, flumes and raceways and
shall. not include. any navigable stream, lake,
pond or spring unless the department finds after
investigation that no substantial public interest
exists in such navigable stream, lake, pond or
spring:and that public or private rights therein
will not be damaged

(b) The supply of water for the hatchery may
be obtained from-lakes and ponds and flowing
streams. by the use of flumes; pipes, ditches and
pumps, but the water so -obtained shall: be
discharged from the hatchery into the pond,
lake or stream from which taken. All flumes,
pipes-and ditches used to lead water into and
from such: hatchery shall be equipped at all
times with screens'so constructed;-placed and
maintained as to prevent the passage of fish to
or from such hatchery.

(4) (a) ‘‘Private fish - hatchery, Class A

means any operator who:

1..Maintains and.operates an artrfrcral fish
hatching facility and purchases fish and fish
eggs and pr'oduces fish-eggs therein for: sale or
trade; or

2. Hatches fish eggs or rears frsh so produced
forsale or trade; or

3. Sells or trades fish so produced or permits
public'fee fishing for fish:so preduced

(b) “Private fish hatchery, Class B’* means
any operator, other than Class A, who:

1. Has live fish lawfully in his possession, by

purchase or’otherwise, for sale or trade; or

2. Rears such fish to a larger size for sale or
trade; or o

73, Permits public fee fishing for such fish. -

‘(cy “Private fish hatchery, Class C” means
any operator other than Class A or Class B,
who: -

-} Has live eggs or fish lawfully in his posses-
sion by purchase or otherwise; and

- 2:-Maintains and operates an artificial fish
hatching facility - and hatches eggs but not for
sale or trade except-that bait minnows so pro-
duced may be sold ortraded; or
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3. Stocks, maintains or holds such live fish.
eggs.or-fish for natural propagation, display, or
fishing by himself or others, but does not sell or
trade such fish eggs or fish-and does not permit
public fee fishing for such fish; or

4. Stocks; maintains or holds live fish for
drsplay or for sale and consumptron on the
premises; or .

5. Sells game fish' lawfully in his possession,
by purchase or otherwise, to Class A licensees.

(d) “Private fish hatchery, Class D” méans
any Class A or Class B licensee who transfers
fish produced, reared or possessed by him-under
such Class A or Class B license to his holding or
rearing ponds situatéd on lands owned or leased
by him but not included in his Class A or Class
B license. -

(e) Each such license shall be lrmrted to notto
exceed 160. acres ‘of contiguous lands owned or
leased. by the licensee. This paragraph shall not
be construed to limit the number of licenses
which may be issued-under this section to-any
person for private fish hatchery operations on
his noncontiguous lands.

(4m) A private fish hatchery license shall be
issued and renewed by the department to any
person applying therefor who is the owner or
lessee -of lands suitable for the propagation of
fish in nonnavigable waters. Subsection (3) (a)
shall not apply.to this subsection but the re-
mainder of this section which is not inconsistent
with this subsection shall apply.

(5) Upon the filing of the application. for a
private fish hatchery license, the department
shall inspect and investigate the fish hatchery
and may hold. public hearings on the matter.
All expenses of the inspection, except the salary
of the employe who inspects the hatchery, shall
be paid by the applicant. When satisfied that
the applicant is the owner or lessee of the lands
described and upon finding that all provisions
and conditions of this section havé been fully
complied with, the department shall issue a
license to propagate, rear, sell'and possess fish
of the kind specified in. the license and as
provided in-this section. All licenses shall be
renewed, subject to this section, upon filing of a
verified report with the department containing
the information on the operation of the hatch-
ery requested by the department, together with’
the appropriate license fee.

(6) Fish, fish fry and fish eggs produced in
such private fish hatchery shall be taken;
caught, killed or otherwise harvested only by
the licensee or his bona fide regular employes or
by persons expressly authorized. by the licensee
to do so.

(7) The department may, from year to year,
renew-any private fish hatchery license issued
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prior to, and in effect on, May 12,1965, If a
private fish hatchery license is not renewed as
provided in sub. (5) or is terminated for any
reason, all rights and privileges-of the licensee
under such license terminate and thereafter the
lands and waters which were included in such

license shall be subject to all of the provisions of

this section if an application for a license here-
under is made which includes any of such lands
or waters. ,

(8) Each package, box or container contain-
ing fish propagated and raised in any private
fish hatchery shall have attached thereto a label
as’ follows: “Shipped. from the private fish
hatchery of (Name; ... Location: .... License
Number: ... ). .

(9) No person shall stock any private fish
hatchery with fish or fry obtained from any
Wisconsin state-owned fish hatchery, or from
any waters of the state except when such fish
have been taken in a lawful manner.

(10) No licensee shall sell or deliver any live
fish other than trout for planting or stocking in
any unlicensed lake, stream or pond unless a
permit for such planting or stocking has been
issued under s. 29.535.

(11) Any person who, without permission of

the licensee, trespasses on any -licensed fish
hatchery shall forfeit not more than $200; pro-
vided that the licensee gives notice by maintain-
ing signboards at least one foot square, in at

least 2 conspicuous places oneach 40 acres of

the lands included in such license. Prosecutions
under this-subsection shall be by the licensee

(12) This section shall not affect any public
right of hunting, fishing, trapping or navigation
except as herein expressly provided.

(13) This section shall not apply to civic
organizations, organizations operating newspa-
pers or television stations or promoters of sport
shows when and. in connection with publicly
showing orexhibiting or giving demonstrations
with trout for periods of not to exceed 10 days.

(14) Any fish brought into this state for the
purpose of planting in a private. fish hatchery
are subject to s. 29.535 (1). -

History: - 1975 c. 360, 365; 1983 a 27.

29.535. Introducing fish and game. (1) (a)
Unless the person has a permit, no person may
bring into the state for the purpose of stocking
or introducing, or to stock or introduce, any
fish or spawn thereof or any wild bird or animal
of any kind. :

(b) Applications for such permits :shall be
made in writing to the department.

(c) Permits for stocking shall be issued by the
department only after investigation and inspec-
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tion of the fish, birds or animals as it determines
is necessary.

- (d) Permits to import into the state fish or
spawn thereof of the family salmonidae, includ-
ing trout, char or salmon, may be issued only if
the source of the fish or eggs is certified free of
such diseases as are designated by the
department

(¢) Fish or spawn thereof imported under a
permit are subject to inspection by the depart-
ment and such inspection may include removal
of reasonable samples of fish or eggs for biolog-
ical examination.

(f) The department may seize or destroy, or
both, any fish: or spawn thereof found to be
infected with any disease organisms-as are des-
ignated by the department

(2) Nothing in this section shall prohibit the
department or its duly authorized agents from
bringing into the state for the purpose of plant-
ing, introducing or stocking, or to plant, intro-
duce -or stock in this state, any fish, bird or
animal. o

_(3) This section shall not apply to civic orga-
nizations, organizations operating newspapers
or television stations or promoters of sport
shows when and in connection with publicly
showing or exhibiting or giving demonstrations
with brook, brown or rainbow trout for periods
of not to exceed 10 days. - Brook, brown or
rainbow trout used for such purposes shall be
obtained only from resident Class A or Class B
private fish hatchery operators licensed under s.
29.52 (4). Such private fish hatchery operators
shall keep a record of all brook, brown or
rainbow trout introduced in or delivered for
introduction in:any public waters and shall
make:a report of such introduction or delivery
for such introduction to the department on or
before December 31 of each year on forms

furnished by the department.
History: 1975 c. 360, 421

29.536 Municipal fish hatcheries. (1) Any
city, town or village, upon direction and super-
vision of the department, may appropriate’
money for and may acquire, lease or contract
for any land, pond, lake or slough for a fish
hatchery, and erect, establish, operate and
maintain on, in or about such pond, lake or
slough, a fish hatchery and fishery for the
purpose of hatching, propagating and fishing
therein game fish.

(2) Such municipality desiring to erect, estab-
lish, operate and maintain a private hatchery
and fishery in conformity with this section, shall
file with the department a verified declaration
designating and describing the pond, lake or
slough, which it desires to use for the purpose of
hatching, propagating and fishing game fish
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therein, and a description of all the lands under-
lying, surrounding or bordering upon such
water. Such municipality shall also state in
square miles and fraction of square miles the
area of such pond, lake or slough, at low water.

(3) Upon the filing of such declaration, the
department shall forthwith examine and inves-
tigate .the same. If-upon such examination it

shall appear that the pond, lake or slough-

designated in the declaration is suitable for a
fish hatchery it may direct the declarant to
acquire, lease or contract for the same. There-
upon such municipality may acquire, lease or
contract for the lands underlying, surrounding
or bordering upon such water, and thereafter
the department shall issue to the municipality a
certificate under seal of the department, which
shall designate such pond, lake or slough, and
certify that it is lawfully entitled to use the same
for the hatching, propagation and fishing of
game fish therein and to erect, establish, operate
and maintain a hatchery and fishery for the
purpose of hatching, propagating and fishing
therein game fish. »

(4) The department shall make rules and
regulations for stocking, maintaining and fish-
ing insuch hatcheries.

29.54 State propagation of wild mammals
and birds.. (1) The department may take or
purchase wild mammals and birds and their
eggs for propagation.. The distribution.thereof
shall be.made throughout the various parts of
the state under the supervision and direction of
the department, and according to such regula-
tions as it shall prescribe. -

:(2) ‘No:person shall take, remove, sell, or
transport from the public waters of this state to
any place beyond the borders of the state, any
duck potato; wild celery, or any other plant or
plant product except wild rice native in said
waters and commonly known to furnish food
for game birds.

29.544 Wild rice conservation; licenses. (1)
TITLE TO WILD RICE. (2) The legal title to all wild
rice growing in any lake of the state, whether
meandered or not, is vested in the state for the
purpose of regulating harvest, use, disposition
and conservation thereof. .

(b) The legal title to such wild rice taken or
reduced to possession in violation of this chap-
ter.or of any rule of the department remains in
the:state; and the title to any such wild rice
lawfully acquired is subject to the condition that
upon the violation of this chapter or of any
department rule relating to the possession, use,
harvest, sale or purchase thereof by the holder
of such title, the same shall revert, as a result of
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the violation, to the state. In either case, such
wild rice may be seized forthwith wherever
found by the department or its agents.

(2) POWERS OF THE DEPARIMENTI. (a) The
department may establish such rules governing
the harvest, use and disposition of wild rice
growing in the navigable lakes of the state as it
deems reasonably necessary for the conserva-
tion and ‘wise use thereof. The secretary may
designate the opening date for harvesting wild
rice in any navigable lake or stream by posting
notice of such opening date on the shores of and
at places of public access to such lake at least 48
hours before such opening date. Such posting is
deemed sufficient notice of such opening date
and no other publication thereof is required.-

(b) The department shall obtain- the advice
and recommendations of the tribal council
before establishing any rules governing the har--
vest, use and.disposition of wild rice growing
within the bounds of an Indian reservation.

(3) LICENSE REQUIRED EXCEPTIONS; WILD RICE
IDENTIFICATION CARD. Every person over the
age of 16 and under the age of 65 shall obtain
the appropriate wild rice license to harvest or
deal in wild rice but no license to harvest is
required of the members of the immediate fam-
ily of a licensee or of a recipient of old-age
assistance or general relief or members of their
immediate families. The department shall issue
a wild rice identification card to each member of
a licensee’s immediate family, to a recipient of
old-age assistance or general relief and to each
member of the recipient’s family, The term
“immediate family” includes husband and wife
and minor children having their abode and
domicile with the parent or legal guardian.

(4) Licenses, (a) Wild rice harvest license. No
wild rice harvest license is required of helpers of
a licensee who participate only in shore opera-
tions. Wild rice harvest licenses may be issued
only to residents of this state.

(b) Wild rice dealer license. A wild rice dealer
license is.required to.buy wild rice within the
state for resale to anyone except consumers, or
to sell wild rice imported from outside of the
state to anyone within the state except consum-
ers, or to process wild rice not harvested by the
processor himself or herself for resale by the
processor to any other person.. The license is
required to be a class D wild rice dealer license if
the amount of wild rice bought, sold or
processed by the licensee within the year cov-
ered by the license exceeds 50,000 pounds. . The
license is required to be a class C wild rice dealer
license if this amount exceeds 25,000 pounds
but does not exceed 50,000 pounds. The license
is required to be a class B wild rice dealer license
if this amount exceeds 5,000 pounds but does
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not exceed 25,000 pounds.

this amount does not exceed 5,000 pounds. For
the purposes of this section, 2 1/2 pounds of raw
rice is- deemed equivalent to one pound of
processed rice

(5) RECORDS AND REPORIS.. Each wild rice
dealer-shall keep a correct and complete book
record in the English language of-all-wild rice

bought;.sold or processed by him during the:

period:covered by his license showing the date

of-each transaction, the names and addresses of

all'other parties thereto, and the amounbt of wild
rice involved, whether raw or processed. ' Each

such-record shall be open for inspection by the-

department or its agents at all reasonable times.
All licensed wild rice dealers shall file such
reports on their operations as wild rice dealers
as.are required by.the department. -

_:(6) PRIVATE WATERS. (a) Nothing in this sec-

tion shall be construed: as giving the state of

Wisconsin, -the department or its agents the
right to.control, regulate, manage or-harvest

wild rice growing on privately owned beds of

flowages or ponds. .

(b) No person shall within the boundaries of
this state, use or cause to be used any mechani-
cal device of any nature in the harvesting or
gathering of wild rice.

(7) PENALITIES. Any person v1olat1ng this sec-

tion -shall be punished pursuant to s. 29.99 (2)

and (12). :
History: 1975 ¢, 3655 62 1979 ¢ 110; 1979 ¢, 1905 4;
1981'c. 2435 7; 1983a.2

29.547 Gmseng protected (1) DEFINITIONS
As‘used j in this section:

(a) “Dealer” means a person who buys at
least 8 ounces of wild ginseng annually’

- (b) ““Wild ginseng” means ginseng that is not
grown or nuitured by a person:

(2) Cur1iNG.” No person may, between No-
vember 1 and the following August 15, cut, root
up; gather or destroy wild ginseng. -

'(8) Evipence. The purchase or sale of wild

green ginseng between November 1 and the

following August 15 is prima facie evidence of a
violation of this section. .

(4) PURCHASE WITH KNOWLEDGE. No person
may purchase wild ginsengif the person knows
the ginseng was:cut, rooted up’ or gathered
between November 1 and the following' August
15. No person may purchase wild ginseng if the
person knows that the vendor does not have a
license to harvest ginseng or thatthe vendor has
violated -this section or a- rule promulgated
under this section.

~(5) EVIDENCE. In ‘any prosecution under this
section proof that any wild ginseng which was
purchased ‘had” beén illegally ‘obtained by the

‘The license is re-:
quired to be a class A wild'rice dealer license if*
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vendor is prima facie-evidence of a violation of
this section by the purchaser.

(6) WILD GINSENG HARVEST LICENSE. (a) Re-
quirement. No person may cut, root up, gather
or destroy wild ginseng unless the person has a
wild ginseng harvest license issued by the de-
partment. The ‘department shall establish by
rule: the procedure for-issuing wild ginseng
harvest licenses. The department may establish
by rule limitations on the quantity of  wild
ginseng each person may harvest, restrictions
on areas where wild ginseng may be harvested
and regulations on the methods which may be
used to harvest wild ginseng.

(b) Exception. Paragraph (a) does not apply
to a person who cuts, roots up, gathers or
destroys wild ginseng growing on the person’s
own land if the ginseng is not sold

(@) WILD GINSENG DEALER LICENSE. No person
may engage in business as a dealer and no dealer
may purchase wild ginseng unless he or she has
a wild ginseng dealer license issued by the
department. The department may establish by
rule the procedure for issuing a wild gmseng
dealer license.

(8) SHIPMENT OF WILD GINSENG. (a) Certifi-
cate required. Except as provided under par.
(b), no person may ship wild ginseng out of this
staté unless the wild ginseng is accompanied by
a valid and completed shipping certificate.

(b) Exception. Paragraph (a) does not apply
to a person who ships wild ginseng to a person
outside of this state who is buying or receiving
the wild ginseng solely for the purpose of final
retail sale to consumers in the United States, if
the person shipping keeps-a written record of
the shipment. which includes all of the
following: ~

1. The name and address ‘of the purchaser or
recipient and the purchaser or recipient’s wild
ginseng dealer license number, if any.

2. The dry weight of the wild ginseng in-
cluded in the shipment

3. The date of the shipment

‘4. ‘The 'source of ‘all of the wild ginseng
included in the shipment, including the names
and addresses of the sources if purchased or
obtained from other-persons and the wild gin-
seng harvest license numbers or wild ginseng
dealer license numbers of those persons, if any.

" (¢) Issuance of certificates. The department
may issue shipping certificates only to a person
who has a wild giniseng harvest license ot a wild
ginseng dealer license. No person except the
person to whom: the shipping certificate is is-
sued may use or possess the shipping certificate.

(d) Effective period; cancellations; return.
Unless canceled, a shipping certificate is valid
for the period indicated on the certificate’s face.
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The department may cancel a shipping certifi-
cate at any time. Any person to whom shipping
certificates are issued shall return all unused
shipping certificates to the department within
10 days after the expiration of the period indi-
cated on the certificates or within 10 days after
the department cancels the certificates.

(e) Validity. A shipping certificate is valid
only if it has not expired or been canceled by the
department, is fully completed and contains no
false information. A shipping certificate is valid
only for wild ginseng ~originating from this
state.

(f) Prohibitions No person. may ship wild
ginseng originating from another state under a
shipping certificate issued under this subsec-
tion. No person may use an expired or canceled
shipping certificate, falsify information on a
shipping cértificate, use a shipping certificate
without fully .completing it, maintain. false
records or copies of shipping certificates or fail
to- maintain records or comply with rules
adopted by the department concerning shipping
certificates

(9) RECORDS; REPORIS, INSPECTIONS. . (a)
Purchases. A dealer who purchases wild ginseng
shall maintain records of the quantity
purchased, the name and wild ginseng license
number of the vendor and other information
required by the department.

(b) Sales and shipments. A dealer shall main-
tain records required under sub. (8) and shall
keep records and reports of sales, shipments
and transactions as required by the department.

_(c) Records; retention. A dealer shall retain
records required under this section for 3 years
after the date of the transaction recorded. .

(d) Submission. of records. A dealer shall
submit records required under this section or
legible copies of those records to the depart-
ment within 10 days after the department re-
quests submission of those records by mailing a
request to the dealer at the address listed on the
wild ginseng dealer license application.

(e) Reports. A dealer shall submit reports
required By the department undet this sectlon
upon request.

(f) Inspections. Upon request, a dealer shall
make all records required under this section and
all of the inventory of wild ginseng under the
dealer’s control available to the department for
inspection.

(g) Confidentiality. Notwithstanding ‘s
19.21, wild ginseng harvest license and wild
ginseng dealer license records, records required
under sub..(7) or this subsection and reports
required under this subsection are not public
records and shall not be released or used by the
department for any purpose except investiga-
tion and enforcement of this section.
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-(10) SUSPENSION; REVOCATION. (a) Suspen-
sion. The department may suspend the wild
ginseng harvest license or the wild ginseng
dealer license of a person who violates this
section subject to a subsequent right to a hear-
ing before the department. In order to obtain a
hearing, a person is required to file a request
with the department within 30 days after receipt
of the notice of suspension. The filing of a
request for a hearing does not stay the suspen-
sion pending the hearing.

'(b) Revocation. The department may revoke
the wild ginseng harvest license or the wild
ginseng dealer license of a person who violates
this section and may refuse to issue any new
license under this section for a period of not
more than 3 years. The department shall revoke
the wild ginseng harvest license or wild ginseng
dealer ‘license of ‘a pérson  who violates this
section within-3 years-after his or her license was
revoked or suspended for a previous violation
and shall refuse to issue any new license under
this section for a period of not less than one year
nor more than 3 years:

(11) PENALTY. A person who violates this
section or a rule adopted under this section shall
forfeit not more than $500." A person who
violates this section or a rule adopted under this
section within 3 years after conviction for previ-
ous violation of this section or a rule adopted
under 'this section shall forfeit not more than
$1,000.

History:
a. 27 .

1975¢.394 5. 15; 1975 ¢ 421; 1979 ¢. 157; 1983
29:55 - Wild animals for parks. (1) The depart-
ment may,.on application of any park board,
grant permit to take, have, sell, barter, or trans-
port, at any time, hve wild animals- for park
purposes. .

(2) The department may, on application of
any person, grant a permit to such person to
take and transport wild animals for propaga-
tion within the state, under the supervision of
the department or its wardens

(3) No.bona fide public zoo shall be subject
to this section

(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of
law to the contrary it is lawful for a bona fide
public zoo to have, purchase, barter or sell any
live animal, domestic or foreign, to or with
another bona fide public zoo, licensed deer farm
or reputable animal dealer, within or without
this state.

29.555 Publ|c huntmg and fishing grounds.
The department. may acquire, lease, develop
and- maintain public hunting and fishing
grounds. . The department may agree to adjust
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and pay damages arising from the operation of

publrc hunting or fishing grounds
History: 1979 ¢ 345 730

29.56 Game or 'wildlife refuge. No person
shall at any time or in any manner hunt or trap
within the boundaries of any game or wildlife
refuge established pursuant tos. 23.09 (2) (b) or
29.57, nor have in his possession or under his
control therein, any gun or rifle unless the same
is unloaded and enclosed within a carrying case.
The taking of predatory game birds and ani-
mals shall be done as the department directs.
All state game or wildlife refuge boundary lines
shall be-marked by posts placed at intervals of
not over 500 feet and bearing signs with-the
words. “Wisconsin Wildlife Refuge”

29.565 Animal wildlife exhibit. The depart-
ment shall establish an animal wildlife exhibit
where wild animals, allowed to roam at will,
may be viewed by the public without charge on
state owned lands over which the ‘department
has jurisdiction, or upon lands donated to the
state for the purpose. The boundary of the area

shall be marked by posts placed at intervals of

not over 500 feet and bearing signs with the
words “Wisconsin Wildlife Exhibit Area”. The
department shall provide shelters thereon, for
the housing of the caretaker, and the sheltering,
nursing and caring for orphaned wild animals,
which shall be furnished by the department,
which may accept private donations of such
animals. Such animals shall be sheltered and
cared for until they are old enough to release,
but by providing food and shelter efforts.shall
be made to induce the anrmals to return to the
area year afteryear

(1) The department shall employ a caretaker
with long experience with wild animals, prefera-
bly.a retited game. warden, to manage the
exhibit.

(2) No person shall at any time or in any

manner hunt or trap within the boundaries of

the area, nor have in his possession or under his
control therein, any gun or rifle unless. it is
unléaded and knocked down or enclosed ina
carrying case.
~ (8) The department may promulgate rules for

the effective accomplishment of the purposes of

this section rncludrng the dur ation of the exhrbr-
tron season.

29. 57 “Wildlife refuges. (1) ESTABLISHMENT.
The owner or owners of any tract, or contigu-
ous tracts, of land comprising in the aggregate
rot less than 160 acres focated outside the limits
of any city or village, may apply to the depart-
ment for the establishment of said lands as a
wildlife refuge. The department may thereupon
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employ such means as it deems wise to inform
itself regarding the premises; and if, upon in-
spection, investigation, hearing, or otherwise, it
shall appear to the satisfaction of the depart-
ment that the establishment of said lands as a
wildlife refuge will promote the consetvation of
one or more useful species or varieties native
within this state, it may by order designate and
establish the said lands as a wildlife refuge.

(2) SiGNs. Within 30 days after the date of
such ordér the owner or owners of the said lands
shall post or eréct signs or notices as required
and furnished by the department, proclaiming
the establishment of said refuge.

(3) PusLicATION. No such order shall be
effective until at least 30 days after the date of
its issue; nor unless the department has caused
notice: thereof to be published, as a class 3
notice, under ch. 985, in the county embracing
the lands. Thereupon the said lands shall be a
wildlife refuge, and shall so remain for a period
of not less than 5 years, from and after the date
of effect stated in said order.

(4) ABSOLUTE PROTECTION. Except as pro-
vided in' s. 29.56 no owner of lands embraced
within any such wildlife refuge, and no other
person, shall hunt or trap within the boundaries
of any wildlife refuge, state park or state fish
hatchery lands; nor have in his possession or
under his control therein any gun or rifle, unless
the same is unloaded and enclosed within a
carrying case; but deer may be hunted in those
state parks or portions thereof designated by
the department. Nothing in this section shall
prohibit, prevent or interfere with the depart-
ment, or its wardens, agents or employes, in the
destruction of injurious animals.

(5) ANIMALS PROCURED BY DEPARTMENT, The
department may place within any such wildlife
refuge, for the purpose of propagation, wild
animals of any species or variety.

" History: 1971 ¢ 42

29.571 Horicon marsh game preserve, fur
farm, hatchery, dams. (1) A wildlife refuge,
game preserve and fur farm shall be established
on the Horicon marsh in Dodge county under
the supervision of the department.

- {2). The :department may establish a fish
hatchery in connection with such wildlife
refuge.

(3) The department shall purchase or acquire
by condemnation proceédings the land known
as the Horicon marsh, or as much thereof as it
deems necessary, and may construct such build-
ings thereon and provide such equipment as is
reasonably required to carry out the purposes
of this section,
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(4) The department may construct and-main-
tain a dam or dams in or near the city of
Horicon, to control and regulate the flood
waters on Rock river; and to restore the public
waters of Rock river on Horicon marsh to the
natural levels existing prior to the pnvate drain-
age of the same.

(5) All proceeds derived'from the fur farm on
the Horicon marsh andall other income from
said state property shall' be paid, within one

week after receipt, into the conservation fund of

the state treasury.

29.572 Game farms; license. (1) No person
shall cause, authorize or permit any linds or
waters. to be posted with signs of any kind
indicating that such lands or waters are licensed
under s. 29.52 or-29:573 to 29.578 unless such
Jands-and waters are in fact so licensed ‘

(2) If any such license expires or lapses and is
not renewed, the' licensee, landowner or other
person having control ovet such lands or waters
shall remove or cause such'signs to be removed
‘within 45 days after the expiration or termina-
tion of such license.

" (3) Applications for the renewal of any li-
cense issued under ss. 29.573 to 29.578 shall be
filed with the department on or before the
expiration date of the license, except that an
application for' renewal: of this type of license
may be filed not more than 45 days after the
expiration date if it is accompanied by the late
filing fee specified under s. 29.092 (9) (i) in

‘addition to the regular license or renewal fee. If

application for renewal of a-license is not made
as required in this subsection or if a license is
terminated for any reason, all rights and privi-
leges of the licensee under the license are termi-
-nated upon-the expiration of the 45-day period

provided in this subsection or on the date of

termination.whichever occurs first. Thereafter,
the lands and waters which were included under
the llcense shall be subject to ss. 29.573 to
29.578..

History:  1975¢c 3225 14;1983'a 27.
29.573 Pheasan! and quall farms; depart-
ment control; shooting license. (1) The depart-
ment may issue pheasant and quail farm li-
censes for shooting preserves and the releasing,
_shooting, possession and use of pheasants and
quail on phedsant and quail farms if, in the
judgment of the department, operations under
these licenses will result in a net increase in the
supply of pheasants and quail in the stdate and
will otherwise be in the public interest.

~(2) No 'license shall be granted unless the
applicant owns or has under lease the area for
which the license is'granted. Boundaries of the
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area licensed shall be defined and posted as
prescribed by the department.

(3) The department shall determine the mini-
mum number of pheasants and quail ‘to be
released for shooting purposes on the licensed
premises and fix the time limits during Wthh
said birds may be hunted.

(8) (a) Until the release of said pheasants and
quail shall have been certified to and accepted
by the department it shall be unlawful to shoot,
attempt to shoot or to otherwise take pheasants
or quail on premises licensed under this section,
but when said release shall have been certified
and accepted by the department, and when such
persons are otherwise lawfully entitled to hunt
small game, the licénsee and such other persons
as the licensee designates may hunt on the
licensed premises, have in possession, and dis-
pose of such pheasants or quail by gift

(b) Each licensee shall keep a correct and
compléte book record of licensed birds as re-
quired by the department on forms furnished by
the department. The licensed area and records
may be inspected by the department or its
wardens at any time. Copies of the records
under oath shall be furnished to the department
on request.

(¢) No pheasant or qua11 of the species li-
censed shall be removed from the said licensed
premises until there shall have been securely
attached to each bird a seal, the type and design
of which shall be demgnated by the department,
anid such seal shall remain attached to said birds
until they are finally prepared for consumption.
Such'seal shall be supplied by the depaxtment at
cost.

(5) Only dead birds which have been killed by
shooting shall be removed from premises li-
censed under this section, and it shall be unlaw-
ful to sell or attempt to sell or to buy or attempt
to buy any such birds.

(6) (2) The department may make such rules
as shall be necessary to carry out the intents and
pur'poses of this section, but no rule shall re-
quire thatan apphcatlon or report be notarized.

(b). Any person violating the above provi-
sions shall forfeit not more than $300.

(7) Any person other than the licensee, agents

‘or.persons having permission from the licensee

who are otherwise qualified under this chapter
to hunt thereon, who hunts or shoots pheasants
or quail upon any lands. described in any such
license, is liable for all damage which the person
does'to said preserve or the pheasants, quail and

property thereon, but all actions for such tres-

pass shall be brought by such licensee

(8) Notwithstanding -any other provision of
the statutes-to thie contrary, no person hunting
upon a licensed shooting preserve may be re-
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quired 'to hold a hunting license for hunting
those game species for which the preserve has
been licensed under this section.

27History: 1975 ¢. 322, 365, 421; 1981 ¢ 390s 252; 1983 a

29.574 Game bird and animal farms. (1) The
owner or lessee of any lands within the state

suitable for the breeding and propagating of

game, birds or animals as may be approved by
the department shall have the right upon com-
plying with this section, to establish, operate
and maintain a game bird and animal farm for
the purpose -of breeding, propagating, killing
and. selling game birds and game animals on
such lands, the acreage and size of which shall
be determined by the department. All water-
fowl bred, propagated or held on a game bird
and animal farm licensed pursuant to this sec-
tion shall be enclosed within a covered enclo-
sure by the licensee throughout the open season
for hunting waterfowl in the state when written
or oral notice is given to the licensee by the
department or its agents. a

_(2) Such owner or lessee desiring to establish,
operate and maintain a game bird and animal
farm in conformity with this section, shall file
with the department a verified declaration,
describing the lands which such applicant for a
license desires to use for the purpose of breeding
and propagating such game birds or animals

and setting forth also the title and leasehold of

the applicant and the number of acres embraced
in said tract. = - ’

(3) Upon the filing of such declaration the
department shall forthwith investigate the same
and may require the applicant to produce satis-
factory evidence of the facts therein stated. It
will be necessary for the licensee to purchase all
wild game within the boundaries of the pro-
posed farm of the species designated in .the
license, and to effect this purpose the depart-
ment thereupon shall appoint one member, the
applicant one'memiber, and these 2 shall select a
3rd member, the 3 to act as'a board to go upon
the lands embraced within the proposed license
and determine as near as possible the number of
wild birds and animals of the desired species
thereon at the time of the granting of the license.

The necessary expenses of all of the members of

such board shall be paid by the licensee. Within
30 days after-the date of such determination as
accepted by the department the licensee shall
pay to the department a specified sum as may be
determined by the department for those species
of wild birds or wild animals on the lands that
are desired for propagation purposes, the title
of which rests in the state. . If upon such
examination it appears that the applicant is the
owner or lessee of said lands, and the applicant
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intends in good faith to establish, operate and
maintain a game bird and animal farm, the
department shall issue a license to the applicant
describing such lands, and certifying that the
licensee is lawfully entitled to use the same for

the breeding, propagating, killing and selling of

such game birds and animals thereon according
to this section.. When such license has been
granted, the licensee shall become the owner of
all such game birds or animals thereon of the
species licensed and of all of their offspring
actually produced thereon and remaining
thereon, subject however to the jurisdiction of
the department over all game.

(3m) No game bird and animal farm license
shall be issued after May 24, 1961, other than
those already in operation for any area less than
one-quarter mile from the exterior boundaries
of an approved state or federal wildlife area,
public hunting grounds or refuge which is man-
aged in whole or in part for pheasants. Alllands
under one license shall be contiguous.. This
section shall not prohibit the.licensing of game
bird and animal farms within one-quarter mile
of approved state or federal wildlife areas, pub-
lic hunting grounds, or refuges provided such
licensed farms are completely enclosed, includ-
ing an enclosed top of woven wire with mesh
not larger than 6 inches.

(3n) Within 30 days after the date of the
issuance of any such license, the licensee shall
erect, posts, or stakes at intervals of not more
than 80 rods along the boundary of the land
embraced in said license, wherever the same is
not already enclosed, and shall post and main-
tain, upon said posts, stakes or other enclosure,
notices proclaiming the establishment of a game
bird and animal farm. Such notices shall be
furnished by the department to the licensee at
cost. .

(5) Such license shall be prima facie evidence
in all courts and proceedings of the lawful right
of the licensee therein named, his or its succes-
sors or assigns, for the term of the license, to
establish and operate -such a game bird and
animal farm upon said premises, and shall
entitle the licensee therein named or his succes-
sors or assigns,-to the exclusive right for and
during said. term to breed and propagate such
game. birds and animals thereon, and to-the
exclusive and sole ownership of any property in
all such licensed game birds and animals caught
or taken therefrom.

(6) (a) Such game birds and animals, .except
waterfowl, may be taken at any time in any
manner by persons qualified under this chapter
to hunt thereon. Waterfowl may only be taken
pursuant to the rules adopted by the depart-
ment and in effect governing the hunting of
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_waterfowl, except that upon written application

the department may authorize the taking of

hand-reared mallards at any time within the
boundaries of a licensed game bird and animal
farm in numbers not to exceed those liberated
or propagated when it appears to the satisfac-
tion of the department that only mallards liber-
ated or propagated by the licensee will be taken
on such farm. The applicant shall certify to the
department that mallards liberated or propa-
gated for'shooting were produced and reared in
"¢aptivity and are more than 2 generatrons re-
moved from the wild. Hand-reared mallards
shall not be released for shooting purposes
unless such mallards have first been identified
as the department directs. Mallards confined to
‘wholly enclosed { pens or buildings may be'taken
within such pens or burldrngs atany time and in
Cany numbers No such game bird or animal oz
mallaids killed on such farm and no live game
bird or animal or mallards to be consumed as
‘food shall be removed therefrom until there has
been securely fastened to each bird or animal a
band or tag furnished by the department to the
licensee at cost. Such band or tag shall remain
attached to the bird or animal until prepared for
consumption. Live birds and animals may be
“sold or transported. Each container carrying
such live birds or animals shall have attached
_thereto a band or tag as set forth above. Live
birds or animals acquired from the licensee to
‘be consumed as fo'od shall not be kept in a live
"condition by any person beyond 48 hours from
the time such birds or animals were acquired
from such licensee. Correct and complete book
records of sales and purchases of live birds and
animals disclosing the time and date of such
sales and  whethér or not such live birds and
animals Were acquired to be consumed as food

‘'shall-be kept by the licenisee. Certified copies of

“such records shall be furnished by the licensee to
the department on request, on forms furnished
by the departmeént.’

(c) Whenever any such bird or animal shall -

be consumied for f60d, the tag attached to'such
bird or animal shall be kept in evidence until
“such bird or animal is consumed:

(Gm) Notwrthstandmg any other provision of

“the’ statutes to the contrary, no persor hunting
_upon a game bird and aniral farm shall be
required t6 hold a hunting license.

(7) Any.person other than the licensee, his
‘bona fide regular employes, or persons having
permission from the licensee who shall hunt or
shoot .game birds or animals upon any lands
described in any such license, shall be liable to
the licensee in the sum of $100, in addition to all
. damage which he may do to the farm or to the
- game birds or animals, and property thereon,

“of "the facts stated in the declaration.

_FISH AND GAME 29.575

but all actions for such trespass shall be brought
by such licensee. _
(8) Each licensee shall keep a correct and

A cpmplete book record of licensed animals and

birds as required by the department of natural

_resources on the forms furnished by the depart-

ment. The licensed area and records may be
inspected by the department or its wardens at

_any time. Copies of the records under oath shall

be furnished to the department on request.
(9) Any person who violates this section shall

. forfeit not more than $50.

History:
1983 a 27

Applicability of .animal regulatory statutes to. game farm
operators discussed 72 Atty. Gen. 43

1975¢ 94'5. 91 (11); 1975 ¢. 199, 322, 365, 422;

29.575 Fur animal farms. (1) The owner or
lessee of any lands suitable for the breeding and
propagating of fur animals may, upon comply-
ing with this section, establish, operate and
maintain on such lands a fur animal farm, for
the purpose of breeding, propagating, trapping
and dealing in fur animals. Fur-animal farms as
licensed under this section shall-be of one or
more of the following categories as specified in
the license:

(a) Beaver.

- (b) Muskrat.

(c) Mink, except domestrc mink as defined in

8. 29.579.

(d) Otter, raccoon and skunk..
- (2) Such-owner or lessee desiring to establish,

-operate: and maintain a fur animal farm, in

conformity with. this section, shall file with the
department a verified declaration describing the
lands which such applicant desires to use for the

..purpose of breeding and propagating fur ani-
..mals and setting forth the title or leasehold of
_the applicant and the number of acres which

will be maintained as a fur animal farm. Acres
under one license need not be contiguous.
(3) Upon the filing of such declaration the

’ department shall investigate and may require

the applicant to produce satisfactory evidence
If it
appears that the applicant is the owner or lessee
of the lands, and that the applicant intends in
good faith to establish, operate and maintain a
fur animal farm, the department shall issue a
license to the applicant. The license shall de-
scribe. the. lands and shall certify that the li-
censee is entitled to use the same for dealing,
breeding, propagating and trapping fur animals
on the land-described in the license.

(4) Upon issuance of the license, the depart-

- ment shall appoint one person, the applicant

shall appoint one person, and these 2 shall select

-a 3rd person to enter the lands and determine

the number of fur animals thereon at the time of
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the granting of the license. The necessary
expenses of these persons shall be paid by the
licensee. Within 10 days after the date of such
determination, the licensee shall pay to the
department $2.50 for each beaver, 50 cents for
each muskrat, $2:50 for each mink, $2.50 for
each otter, $1 f';)f"éach raccoon, and 50 cents for
each skunk so found on such lands. Only those
animals to be licensed under the fur animal farm
are to be paid for. When such payment has been
made the licensee shall become owner of such
fur animals on said lands and of all -of their
offspring remaining thereon. The licensee shall
have the right to manage and control said lands
and the licensed fur animals theréeon, to take the
same at any time or in any manner which the
licensee sees fit and deems to the best advantage
of the licensee’s business, and to sell and trans-
port at any time said fur animals or the pelts
taken from them.

(6) Within_30 days after the date of the
issuance of any such license, the licensee shall
erect posts or stakes at intervals of not more
than 80 rods along the boundary of the land
embraced in the license wherever the lands are
not already enclosed, and shall post and main-
tain upon the posts, stakes or other enclosures
notices proclaiming the establishment of a fur
animal farm. Such notices shall be furnished by
the department to the licensee at cost.

(7) A valid fur animal farm license is prima

- facie evidence in all courts and proceedings of

* the right of the licensee, successors or assigns to
establish and operate a fur animal farm upon
the premises and entitles the licensee, successors
or assigns to the exclusive right to breed and
propagate fur animals upon the premises and to
the exclusive and sole ownership of any prop-
erty in all fur animals caught or taken.

(8) Any person, other than the licensee or
agents, who hunts or traps. fur animals upon
any lands described in any such license shall be
liable to the licensee in the sum of $100;, in
addition to all damage which the person does to
the farm or to the fur animals and property, but
all actions for such trespass shall be brought by
such licensee. :

(9) Each licerisee shall keep a- correct and
complete book record of licensed animals as
required by the department on the forms fur-

“nished by the department.. The licensed area
and records may be inspected by the depart-
ment or deputies at any time. - Certified copies
of such records shall be furnished to the depart-
ment on request.

(10) Nothing in this séction shall be con-
strued to affect any public right of hunting,
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fishing or navigation except as herein expressly
provided.
History:
a. 27
Applicability of dnimal regulatory statutes to game farm
operators discussed 72 Atty. Gen 43

1975 ¢.945. 91 (11); 1975 ¢. 199, 322, 421; 1983

29.578 Deer farms; venison sérving permits.
(1) The owner or lessee of any lands within this
state suitable for breeding and propagating of
deer shall have the right upori complying with
this section to'establish, operate and maintain a

deer farm for the purpose of breéeding, propa-

gating, killing and selling deer on such lands,

~ the ‘acreage ‘and size of which shall be deter-

mined by the department. Such deer farm must
be completely inclosed by a fence. Any streams
whether meandered or not, flowing into or out
of an inclosed deer farm, and of a swampy,
marshy or boggy character and not navigable in
fact at all times of the year by ordinary boats or
pleasure craft, and which are not of any sub-
stantial beneficial use to the public, shall not be
considered navigable so as to prevent erection
and maintenance over them, of the type of fence
prescribed and permitted by this section

(2) Such owner or lessee desiring to establish,
operate and maintain a deer farm in conformity
with this section shall file with the department a
verified declaration, describing the lands which
such applicant for a license desires to use for the
purpose of breeding and propagating deer and
sctting forth also the title or leasehold of the
applicant and the number of acres embraced in
said tract.

(3) Upon- the filing of such declaration the
department shall forthwith investigate the same
and may require the applicant to produce satis-
factory evidence of the facts therein stated.
Upon receipt of such declaration the depart-
ment shall determine as near as possible the
number of deer on such lands. The necessary
expenses of such investigation shall be paid by
the licensee.

(4) The licensee shall pay to the department
$25 for each deer so found on such lands, When
such payment has been made and the license
issued, the licensee shall become the owner of all
deer on'said lands and of all their offspring. He
shall have the right to manage and control said
lands and the deer thereon, to kill and sell the
same as provided by this section. If upon
examination it shall appear that the applicant is
the owner or lessee of said lands, and that the
applicant intends in good faith to establish,
operate and . maintain a deer farm, the depart-
ment may inform him that as soon as he has
built a suitable deer fence around the area to be

“included within the license, it will issue the
“same.

Said deer-tight fence shall be built in
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accordance with specifications prescribed by
the department; provided, the department may
issue a license for such deer farms heretofore
established if the fence actually inclosing said
- farm is in fact sufficient to hold deer therein.
After the complete installation of such fence
and after the department has satisfied itself that
it is satisfactory and complies with the law, it
may issue a license to the applicant describing
such lands, and certifying that the licensee is
lawfully entitled to use the same for the breed-
ing, propagating, killing and selling of deer
_thereon according to this section.
(5) The deer farm license shall be renewed

each year if the licensee has not violated any of

the provisions under which it was granted.

(6) Such license shall be prima facie evidence
in all courts and proceedings of the lawful right
of the licensee therein named, his or its succes-
sors or -assigns, for the term -of the license, to
establish and operate a deer farm upon said
premises, and shall entitle the licensee therein
named or his successors or assigns, to the exclu-
sive right for and during said term to breed and
propagate deer théreon, and to ‘the exclusive
and sole ownership of any property in. all deer
caught or taken therefrom.

(7) Deer on a deer farm shall be killed only by
the licensee or bona fide regular employes ex-
cept that on licensed deer farms, not less than 10
acres in area, deer may be killed by persons

-expressly authorized by the licensee who are
otherwise qualified under this chapter to hunt
deer. except - that no' person hunting upon a
licensed deer farm shall be required to hold a
hunting license for deer; and all such deer killed
shall be distinctly tagged with a tag to be
furnished by the department to the licensee at
cost not exceeding 5 cents each. The licénsee
shall pay to the department $1 for each deer so
killed: Before any deer on a licensed deer farm
shall ‘be killed, the licensee shall notify -the
department or one of its representativés ‘in
advance of the taking of such deer, and the
department. or-its representatives shall make
acknowledgment of -receipt of said notice and

‘such acknowledgment when received by the
licensee shall be authority for taking deer. The

. department or any of its duly authorized répre-

sentatives may be present while the taking of

such deer is in progress.

(8) After a deer is so killed and tagged the
entire: carcass’ only shall be sold and trans-
ported, except as provided in'sub. (14). The tag
must remain on the carcass while in transit. A
deer farm tag may be removed from a gutted
carcass at the time of butchering, but the person
who killed or obtained the deer shall retain the
‘tag until the meat is consumed.

FiISH AND GAME 29.578

(9) Such licensee may sell and transport live
deer providing that the department or one of its
representatives be. notified in advance of the
shipment of such deer, and the department or
its representatives shall make acknowledgment
of receipt of said notice and such acknowledg-
ment when received by the licensee shall be his
authority for shipping deer. The licensee shall
pay to the department $1 for each live deer sold,
and each crate or conveyance carrying such live
deer must have a special tag or tags attached
thereto for each live deer transported therein,

- showing that it is.a deer from a deer farm. The

data on such tag or tags shall be entered in ink
or indelible pencil and such tag or tags shall be
retained by the purchaser of said live deer. Such
tags shall be furnished by the department, its
wardens-or agents. ~

(10) Any person other than the licensee or his
employes who shall hunt or trap deer upon any

‘lands described -in any such license shall be

liable to the licensee in the sum of $100 in
addition to all damage which he may do to said
farm or to the deer and property thereon, but all
actions for such trespass shall be brought by
such licensee

(11) Each license shall be accepted by the
licensee upon the condition that he will comply
with this section and with all provisions of law
and that he will honestly operate said deer farm
for the purpose of propagating deer; that the
title to the deer-in the inclosure-for which a
license has been granted and for which the
applicant has paid the state at the rate of $25 per
deer, 'shall ‘be conditional upon the applicant
and licensee honestly and fairly complying with
this section and provisions'of law relating to the
operation of deer farms; and- in the action to
revoke the license of said licensee, or to'estab-
lish his unfitness to further operate said deer
farm, the court, in the judgment, in the event it
is determined that the applicant and licensee has
violated this section and thé provisions of law
relating to the operation of deer farms, shall
provide that- the title to all of the deer within
said inclosure together with all of the increase
therefrom be forfeited to the state; that the said
tract of land shall not be used for a deer farm for
a period ‘of 5 years and until a new license
therefor, after said 5 years, has been issued by
the department as provided in this section; that
the department shall within 30 days of the
hotice- of - entry of judgment enter upon said
tract and open the said fences in such a manner
as to give the'inclosed :animals free egress and
may drive the said animals out of the inclosure
if in the opinion of the department it is for the
best interests of the state; said lands for which
said license has been forfeited may be used by
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the owner thereof for all lawful purposes except
the propagating of deer during said time, and

during said 5 year period said lands shall be a -

-sanctuary and no hunting or trapping of any
kind or character shall be: practiced therein-or
thereon. The department shall in such event
duly post notices thereof at intervals of 10 rods
around the entire tract.

(12) On or before January 1 of each year,
each such licensee shall make a report to .the
department, covering the period from January 1
to 'December 31 of the previous year, upon
blanks furnished by the department, stating the
number of deer killed and sold and live deer sold

during said:period, the names and addresses of

the persons to whom the same were sold and the
dates of shipment

(13) The department or its wardens shall
have the right and power to inspect such deer
farms or the books of such deer farms at any
- and all times when they may think the need

requires it. :

- (14) (a) No petson-may barter sell or other-
wisé deal in the carcasses of deer taken from a
- deer farm unless the person obtains a deer farm
sales license from the department. Each carcass
of this type of deer thatis sold by a person under
this license is required to have a distinctive tag
attached to it. The department shall issue these
deer farm sales tags.

(am) Specral retail deer sale permrts autho-
- rizing a-person:to retail a venison lawfully killed
and sold in the carcass to any.retailer of meats
. .may-be issued by the department.

-(b) Any person may serve venison obtained

from a deer farm licensed under this section if

the person has a venison: serving permit from
the department. The application for this permit
shall.be in the form and include the information
-the department requires.. If the department
after investigation is satisfied that the applica-
tion is satisfactory it shall issue a venison serv-
ing permit conditioned as follows: .
2. 1t shall be exhibited in a conspicuous place
~in the premises where such venison is retained
and served...

3/ It.shall:contain the name and address of

the -applicant together ‘with: the. name and ad-
dress of the premises where the venison will be

- retained and served, together with:the source of

the venison, the sex, approximate weight and
deer farm tag numbers of the carcass. The deer

farm tag may:be removed from a gutted carcass .

at the time of butchering, but the person who
killed or obtained the deer shall retain the tag
until the venison is: consumed.

4. The .permittee agrees to -record immedi-
_ ately -upon: possession - all. additienal venison,
purchased;-possessed or served during the per-

“mals.
-activities are farmers and engaged in farming
.. for all statutory purposes ,
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mit period in the space provided therefor on the

permit.
5: The permittee agrees that the department
or its wardens shall have the right to inspect the

“premises - where such' venison is retained or

served

(¢) Bach permittee under par. (b) shall file a
verified report to the department within 30 days
after the expiration of the permit containing
such information' regarding the operations
under-the permit as the department requires on
forms furnished by the department

(15) Any person who hunts within the enclo-
sure of a.deer farm without the permission of
the owner or who otherwise intentionally or
negligently violates this section shall be fined
not more than $200 or imprisoned not more
than 90 days, or both.

_(16) The department may sell to owners of
licenses hereunder for propagating purposes,
fawns and deer at a price to be fixed by the
department not exceeding $25 each, and the
department is directed to make all necessary
orders, rules and regulations not inconsistent
herewith, carrying out the provisions hereof to
the end that the industry may be encouraged.

History: 1975 ¢ 322, 365, 421; 1983 a. 27, 546

Applicability of animal regulatory statutes to game farm
operators discussed” 72 Atty. Gen 4

29.579 Domestic fur-bearing animal farms.

The breeding, raising and producing in captiv-
ity, and the marketing, by the producer, of
foxes, - fitch, nutria, - marten, fisher, mink,
chinchilla, rabbit or caracul, as live-animals, or
as animal pelts or carcasses shall be deemed an
agricultural pursuit, and all such animals so
raised in captivity shall be deemed domestic
animals, subject to all the laws of the state with
reference to possession, ownership and taxation
as are at any time applicable to domestic ani-
All persons engaged in the foregoing

-29.585 . Wildlife .exhibit licenses. (1) The. de-
‘partment may grant licenses for wildlife exhibits

which are defined as any place where one or

more live wild animals are kept in captivity for

the purpose of" exhibition or for advertising

purposes. The form of application and license

shall be prescribed by the department.

(2) (a) The term ““wild animal” as used in this
section means any mammal, fish or bird of a
wild'nature as distinguished from domestic ani-
mals under the common law or under the Wis-
consin statutes whether or not the mammal, fish
or bird was bred or reared in captivity

(b) “Wildlife exhibit” does not include the
exhibition of any live wild animal by any educa-
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tional institution, state department, public zoo,
park or garden, circus ot theatrical exhibition
or any such exhibition sponsored by any orga-
nization with the approval of the department.

(3) No wildlife exhibition license shall be
granted by the department until it is satisfied
that the provisions for housing and caring for
such wild animals and for protecting the public
are proper and adequate and in accordance
with the standards therefor established by the
department ‘

. (4) The department shall adopt and enforce
rules .and regulations for the housing, care,
treatment, feeding and sanitation of wild ani-
mals kept in wildlife exhibits and for the protec-
tion of the public from injury by such wild
animals. .

{5) No person may keep any live wild animal
in captivity for the purpose of exhibition or for
advertising purposes or have any wild animal in
his or her custody or. under his or her control for
such purpose, unless a wildlife exhibit licenise is
issued,to the persen by the 'department. A
wildlife exhibit license is required in addition to
any-game bird and .animal farm, deer farm or
fur farm license: required for the possession,
breeding, propagating or dealing of these wild
animals if these farms are wildlife exhibits as
“defined under sub. (1) '

. (6) Each licensee shall file an annual, verified
report with the department within 30 days after
the expiration of such license containing such
information on the operation of the wildlife
exhibit as the department may require and on
forms furnished by the department.

History: 1979 ¢ 142; 1983 a 27

29.586 Humane, adequate and sanitary care
‘of wild animals. (1) The department has:the
authority to examine all lands, together with
‘buildings, licensed as game bird and animal
farms, deer farms or fur farms to determine that
all wild -animals held in captivity on such li-
censed farms are treated in a humane manner
and confined ‘under sanitary conditions with
proper and adequate housing, care and food.

(2) The department may order any licensee to
comply with standards prescribed in such order
for the housing, care, treatment, feeding and
sanitation of wild animals held in captivity by
the licensee.

(3) ‘Any such licensee who fails to comply
‘with such order of the department within 10
days of its issuance will be subject to penalties

provided in s. 29.99 (4).
* ¥ History: 1975 c¢. 3655 62.

,29.59 Beaver bdilt structures causing dam-
-age: (1) The department or persons authorized
by the department shall have the power to

FISH AND GAME 29.598

remove all structures built by beavers causing
damage upon consent of the owner or occupant
of the land on which they are located. The
owner or occupant of the land who fails to give
such consent to the department after receiving
notice and solicitation shall be liable for all
damages .arising thereafter from beaver
structures.

(2) The department shall proceed under sub
(1) upon the complaint of a drainage commis-
sioner that a beaver dam blocks a drainage
ditch.

History: 1975c¢. 128

29.595 Damages caused by deer and bear.
(1) DEER OR BEAR CAUSING DAMAGE. Upon com-
plaint in writing by an owner or lessee of land to
the department that deer or bear are causing
damage thereon the department shall inquire
into the matter; and if upon investigation, or
otherwise, it shall appear to the depattment that
the facts stated in each such complaint are true,
the department by its agents may capture or
destroy such deer or bear, and dispose of the
same as provided'in's. 29.06.

History: 1975 ¢ 236, 310, 421; 1977 ¢ 29, 187, 418; 1979
¢34 ss.-753m to 756a, 2102 (39) (c).-

29.596 - Wild animals causing damage. Upon
complaint in writing by an owner or lessee of
land to the department that wild animals are
causing damage thereon the department shall
inquire into the matter; and if upon investiga-
tion, or otherwise, it appears to the department
that the facts stated in each such complaint are
true,.the department, by its agents, may capture
or destroy such wild animals or issue permits to
the owner or lessee of the land to capture or
destroy such wild animals. Al such wild ani-
mals captured or destroyed by permit shall
immediately be turned over to authorized de-
partment agents who shall dispose of them as

provided in s..29.06,

29.598 . Wildlife damage abatement program;
wildlife damage claim program. (1) DEFINI-
TION. As used in this section, “wildlife damage”
means damage caused by wild deer, bear or
geese to commercial seedings or crops on agri-
cultural land, to orchard trees or nursery stock
or to.apiaries or livestock.

~(2) DEPARTMENT POWERS AND DUTIES. (a)
Assistance. The department shall assist counties

in developing and administering the wildlife

damage abatement and wildlife damage claim
programs. - The department shall provide this

.assistance through technical aid, program guid-

ance, research, demonstration, funding, plan
review, audit and evaluation services.
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(b) Eligibility and funding requirements The
department shall adopt by rule eligibility and
funding requirements for the wildlife damage
abatement program and the wildlife damage
claim program in order to maximiize the cost-
effectiveness of these programs

-'(¢) Review of county administration plans.
The department shall provide guidelines to
counties applying for participation in the wild-
life damage abatement and wildlife damage
claim programs under sub. (3) (b). The depart-
ment shall review each plan of administration
submitted under sub. (3) (c) and shall approve
the plan if it is in substantial compliance with
sub. (3):(c) and the administrative rules adopted
by. the department.

(d) - Administrative funds. The department
shall provide funding to each county participat-
ing in the wildlife damage abatement program,
wildlife damage claim program or both for costs
incurred in administering these programs. The
amount of funding to be allocated for each
county shall be based on the estimate of antici-
-pated administrative costs prepared under sub.
(3) (c) 8 but the department shall determine
payments based on the:actual administrative
costs incurred. If actual costs exceed the esti-
mate, the department may allocate additional
funding based on criteria and using procedures
established by rule.

(3) COUNTY ADMINISTRATION. (a) County par-
ticipation required. Eligibility for the wildlife
damage abatement program or the wildlife
damage claim program requires participation
of the county in the administration of these
programs as specified under sub. (4) (a) and (6)
(a). The départment may not administer a
wildlife damage abatement program or wildlife
damage claim program on behalf of or instead
of a county.

(b) Application. A county seeking to admin-
ister the wildlife damage abatement program or
the wildlife damage abatement and wildlife
damage claim programs shall apply to the de-
'partment on forms providéd by it on or before
‘November 1 for the administration of these
programs in the following calendar year or
other period specified in the application.

(¢) Plan of administration. The application
shall include a plan of administration to which
the county agrees and in the form required by
the départment. The plan of administration
shall include all of the following; :

1. An agreement that the county shall make
all records and files relatmg to the wildlife
damage abatement program and wildlife dam-
age claim program, including records and files
concerning access of hunters to lands for which
a wildlife damage claim is filed, available to the
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department for audit at reasonable times with
the full cooperation of the county.

2. A description of authorized wildlife dam-
age abatement measures, mcludmg designation
of specifications for woven wire deer fences, for.
which reimbursement may be provided under
the wildlife damage abatement program or
which may be recommended under the wildlife
damage claim program.

3.°A summary of billing, allocatlon and ac-
counting procedures to be used by the county
and the department under this section. These
procedures shall be consistent with generally
acceptable accounting practices. :

4. The procedure or formula to be used to
determine land suitable for hunting and other
hunting requirements necessary to comply with
sub. (6) ().

" -5. The procedures to be used in administering
the wildlife damage abatement and w1ld11fe
damage claim programs.

6. A commitment that the county agrees to
administer the wildlife damage abatemient and
wildlife damage claim programs so that partici-
pants are encouraged to pursue sound conser-
vation as well as normal agricultural practices.

7. A summary of the organization and struc-
ture of the agency or unit of the county which is
responsible for the administration of the wild-
life damage abatement and w11d11fe damage
claim programs.

8 An estimate of anticipated administrative
costs, anticipated wildlife damage abatement
assistance costs and anticipated wildlife damage
claim payments.

9. Other information and conditions the de-
partment requires, ,

(d) ‘Departmental apptova] tevocatzon A
county may not administer the wildlife damage
abatement program or the wildlife damage
claim program and a county is not considered a
participating county for the purpose of ad-
ministering these programs unless. the depart-
ndent approves the plan of administration. The
department.may revoke its approval if a county.
does not comply with the plan of administration;
or this section. . .

(4) WILDLIFE DAMAGE ABATEMENT: PROGRAM
ELIGIBILITY. (). Participating county. In order
to be eligible for wildlife damage abatement
assistance, the land for which assistance is
sought is required to be located in a county
which is participating in the administration. of
the wildlife damage abatement program

(b) Filing of application. In order to be -
eligible for wildlife damage abatement assist-
ance, a person’is requiréd:to file an application

‘withthe participating county in a form’ accepta-

ble to the county
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(¢) Other eligibility requirements. In order to
be eligible for wildlife damage abatement assist-
ance, a person is required to comply with eligi-
bility requirements adopted by the department
under sub. (2) (b) and with eligibility require-
ments specified in the plan administration
under sub. (3) (c)

-(5) WILDLIFE DAMAGE ABATEMENT PROGRAM;
ASSISTANCE. (a) Review. A participating county
shall review each application for wildlife dam-
age abatement assistance to determine if wild-
life damage is occurring oz likely to occur.

(b) Assistance. A participating county may
provide wildlife damage assistance where wild-
life damage is occurring or is likely to occur for:

1. The reimbursement of costs associated
with wildlife damage abatement measures au-
thorized in the plan-of administration under
sub. (3) (c) 2. ]

2. A woven wire deer fence of the specifica-
tions designated in the plan of administration
under sub. (3) (c) 2.

(c) State-aid. The department may pay par-
ticipdting counties up to 50% of the actual cost
of providing wildlife damage abatement assist-
ance if wildlife damage abatement measures are
carried out in full compliance with the direction
of the county and with funding requirements
adopted under-sub. (2).(b).

(6) WILDLIFE DAMAGE CLAIM PROGRAM; ELIGI-
BILITY AND OTHER REQUIREMENTS. (a) Participat-
ing county. In order to be eligible for wildlife
damage claim payments, the land where the
wildlife damage occurred is required to be lo-
cated in a county which is participating in the
administration -of ‘both the wildlife damage
abatement program and the wildlife. damage
claim program.

(b) Filing of claim; form. In order to be
eligible for wildlife damage claim paynients, a
person is required to file a statement of claim
with the participating county in a form aecepta—
ble to the county. -

(c) Time of filing; deductzon -A person seek-
ing wildlife damage claim payments shall file a
statement of claim within 14 days after the time
the wildlife damage first occurs. If a person fails
to file a.statement of claim within this time, the
wildlife- damage claim payments shall’ be re-
duced as provided under sub. (7) (b) 4.

(d) Compliance with wildlife damage abate-
ment measures. A person seeking wildlife dam-
age claim payments shall. comply with any wild-
life damage abatement measures recommended
by the county: If a person fails to comply with
these measures, the wildlife damage claim pay-
merits shall be reduced as provided under sub.
(7) (b) 4 ' '

(&) Hunting. A person seeking wildlife dam-
age claim payments-and any other person who
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owns, leases or controls the land where the
wildlife damage occurred shall permit hunting
of the ‘animals. causing the wildlife damage on
the land where the wildlife damage occurred
and on contiguous land under the same owner-
ship’and control. If hunting of those animals is
not permitted on that land, the wildlife damage
claim payments. shall be reduced as provided
under sub. (7) (b) 4. In order to satisfy the
requirement to permit hunting of animals caus-
ing wildlife damage, the land shall be open to
hunting by the public or at least 2 persons per 40

acres of land suitable for hunting are required

to be permitted to hunt each day during the
appropriate -open season and. the land is re-
quired either not to be-posted against hunting
or to be posted to indicate hunting by permis-
siononly. The county, with the assistance of the
department, ghall issue.a determination of the
acreage of land suitable for hunting following
the filing of a statement of claim or at the time it
recommends. any wildlife damage abatement
measures. The county shall make available
signs which are appropriate for posting land to
indicate hunting by permission only.

(f) Other eligibility requirements. In order to
be eligible for wildlife damage claim payments,
a person is required to comply with eligibility
requirements adopted by the department under

sub. (2) (b) and with eligibility requirements

specified in the plan of administration under
sub. (3) (¢).

(7) WILDLIFE DAMAGE CLAIM PROGRAM; PAY-
MENT OF CLAIMS; LIMITATIONS AND DEDUCTIONS,
(a) Investigation. A participating county shall
investigate ‘each statement of claim and deter-
mine the amount of the wildlife damage

(b) Payments. A participating county may
approve wildlife damage claim payments but no
person may receive wildlife damage payments:

1. Tn excess of the actual amount of the
wildlife damage or $5,000, whichever is less.

2, For the f1rst $500 of each claim for wildlife
damage.

3. For damages to seedings or crops not
managed or harvested in accordance with nor-
mal agricultural practices.

4 For $2,000 of any claim for w11d11fe dam-
age. ifa person fails to file the statement of claim
within the. proper time period, fails to comply
with recommended wildlife damage abatement
measures or does not permit hunting in con-
formance with sub. (6) (e).

5. For.that portion of any claim for wildlife
damage equal to any payments or reimburse-
ments received from persons hunting on the
land where wildlife damage occurred or on
contiguous land under the same ownership and
control.
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(c) Review. A participating county’s determi-
nation of the amount of wildlife damage or
approval of wildlife damage payments shall be
treated as final decisions for purpose of review,

(d) State aid. 1. Except as provided under
subd. 2, the department shall pay participating
counties the full amount of wildlife damage
claim payments made in accordance with par
(b) and funding requirements adopted under
sub. (2) (b) on June 1 of the calendar year after
the calendar year in which the statement of
¢laims were filed. v

2 The' department shall pay participating
counties under subd. 1 from the appropriation
under s. 20.370 (4) (kq) after first deducting
payments made for county administrative costs
under sub. (2) (d) and payments made for
wildlife damage abatement assistance under
sub. (5) (¢). If the amount remaining in this
appropriation is not sufficient to pay the full
amount required under subd. 1, the department
shall pay .participating counties-on.a prorated
basis.

History: 1983-a 27

29.60 - Use of poison and explosives; pole
traps. (1) Except as.provided by 5.29.29 (4) it
shall be unlawful to use baits containing poison
of any description in any forests, fields or other
places where it might destroy or cause the
destruction -of wild animals or birds, and the
possession of any such poison or poison baitsin
a hunting or trapping camp or on any person
while hunting or trapping shall be prima facie
evidence of a violation hereof .

(2) No person may take, capture or kill or
attempt to take, capture or kill any wild animal
with the aid of dynamite or any other explosive
or poison gas, or set any dynamite or other
explosives near or on any beaver or muskrat
houses. Possession or control of explosives or
poison gases in places described in sub. (1) is
prima facie evidence of intent to violate this
subsection. Any person who violates this sub-
section shall be fined not more than $300 or
‘imiprisoned not'more than 30 days'or both.

(2m) It shall ‘be unlawful to take, capture or
kill or attempt to take, capture or kill any bird
by setting or operating any trap or device
designed, built or used to capture birds on a
pole, post, tree stump or any other elevated
perch more than 3-feet above the ground. -

(3) Nothing in this chapter shall prevent the
department or its wardens from using dynamite
or having dynamite in possession near beaver
houses or dams for the purpose of removing
beaver dams when the beavers are causing dam-
age to property owners. -

OHistory: 1973 ¢ 317:1975 ¢. 52, 365: 1979 ¢ 34;1981 ¢
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29.605 = Giving away of predatory animals to
public zoos. (1) It is lawful for the department
to give, present, or turn over alive, for educa-
tional purposes, to any bona fide public zoo any
predatory animal.

(2) Any predatory animal that has been given
to, presented, or turned over to any bona fide
public zoo under this section shall not be sold,
bartered or given away by such zoo in any
manner except that such animal may be re-
turned to the department.

29.62 Removal of injurious rough fish. (1)
The department may take rough fish by means
of seines, nets or other devices, or cause rough
fish to-be taken, from any of the waters of this
state

(3) Whenever the department takes rough
fish under this section it shall dispose of the

same as the department shall direct.
History: 1971 c. 266; 1977 ¢. 418

29.623 Control of detrimental fish. When the
department finds - that any species of fish is
detrimental to any of the waters of the state it
may, by rule, designate such species of fish and
specify the waters in which such fish are found
to be detrimental. Thereupon the department
may remove such fish from the waters specified

or cause them to be removed therefrom.
History: 1975 ¢ 360

29.625 Permit to take rough fish. (1) Permis-
sion may be granted to any person by the
department upon such terms and conditions as
it may require to take carp and other undesir-
able rough fish, which are detrimental to game
fish in the following bays or harbors in Door
county, namely: Sturgeon Bay, Little Sturgeon
Bay, Riley’s bay, Egg harbor, Fish creek har-
bor, Eagle harbor, Bailey’s harbor, Mud bay,
North bay, Rowley’s bay, and Washington har-
bor, Jackson harbor and Detroit harbor in
Washington Island; :

(2) A person having a contract to take rough
fish ‘under s. 29.62 or this section may be
authorized by the department to erect and
maintain a temporary pond in any navigable
water pending the sale of such- fish, provided
that such pond does not unreasonably interfere
with navigation or other public rights in ‘such
water

History: 1981 ¢. 390 s. 252

29.626 Trespéss on riparian land. In an ac-

tion against a person for damages sustained
from. trespassing on lands bordering streams
stocked by the consent of owner of such lands,
with fish received-from a state hatchery, where
such damage shall exceed $2, the trespasser
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shall be liable for double the amount of such
damage and all the taxable costs; and where the
damage sustained is $2 or less the trespasser
shall be liable for the amount of such damage
and the costs not to exceed the amount of the
damage.

29.64 Resisting conservation warden. Any
person who assaults or otherwise resists or
obstructs any conservation warden in the per-
formance of duty shall be fined not more than
$500 or imprisoned not more than 9 months or
both. ' o

History: 1975 ¢ 365, 421; 1979 ¢ 34; 1981 ¢. 20

29.641 False impersonation of warden. Any

person who falsély represents himself or herself

to bé a conservation warden or who assumes to

act as a warden without having been first duly

appointed shall be fined not more than $100 or

imprisoned not more than 90 days or both.
History: 1975 c. 365;1979 ¢. 34; 1981 ¢. 20

29.642 Fraud in obtaining approval. (1) Any
person who makes a false statement concerning
his or her residence and thereby obtains any
approval issued ‘under this chapter to which
only residents are entitled:

(a)y Shall forfeit not-more than $200; and

(c) Shall pay a natural resources restitution
payment equal to the amount of the statutory
fee for the approval which was required and
should have been obtained.

(2) Any ‘person ‘who obtains any approval
undér this chapter during the period of time
when that approval is revoked by any court
shall be fined not more than $200 or 1mpr1soned

not more than 90-day$ or both.
* History: © 1975 ¢. 365; 1979 ¢. 34, 175; 1981 ¢ 20; 1983 a
27, , :

29 643 . Changmg approval. Any person who
changes or alters, in any manner, or enters other
than the correct date of issuance on any
approval

(1) Shall.be fmed not more than $200 or
lmpxlsoned not-more than 90 days or both; and
- (3) Shall pay a natural resources restitution
payment equal to the statutory fee for the
approval which was xequued and should have

been obtained. -
History: - 1975 c. 365; 1979 c. 34 1981 ¢ 20; 1983 a. 27

29.644 Breaking seals of department. Any
person who breaks, removes or interferes with
any seal or.tag attached to any animal, carcass,
article or other thing by the department, or who
meddles or interferes with any-animal, carcass,
amcle or other thing with such seal or tag
_attached, or who counterfeits any such seal or
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tag, attached or unattached, shall be fined not
more than $500 or imprisoned not more than 90

days or both.
History: = 1975 c. 365; 1979 c. 34; 1981 c. 20

29.645 - Larceny of game. No person shall,
without permission of the owner, molest, dis-
turb or appropriate any wild animal or the
carcass or part thereof which has been lawfully
reduced to possession by another.

29.65 Civil actions for damages caused by
law violations. (1) The department may bring a
civil action in the name of the state for the
recovery of damages against any person unlaw-
fully killing, wounding, catching, taking, trap-
ping, or having unlawfully in possession any of
the. following named protected wild animals,
birds, or fish, or any part of an animal, bird or
fish, and the sum assessed for damages for each
wild animal, bird, or fish shall be not less than
the amount stated in this section:

_ (a) Any endangered species protected under
s. 29.415 and rules adopted under s. 29.415,
$875 '

(b) Any moose, élk, flsher Drairie chicken or
sand hill crane, $262.50.

"(¢) Any deer, bear, wild turkey or wild swan,
$175.

(d) Any bobcat (wildcat), fox, beaver or
otter, $87.50. -

(e) Any coyote, raccoon or mink, $43.75

“(f)’ Any sharptail grouse, ruffed grouse,
spruce hen, wild duck, coot; wild goose or
brant, $26.25.

(g) Any pheasant, Hungarian partridge,

quail, rail, Wilson’s snipe, woodcock or shore

bird, or protected song bird or: harmless bird,
$17.50.

(h) Any muskrat, rabbxt or squmel $8.75.

(i) Any muskellunge or rock orlake sturgeon,
$43.75.

() Any largemouth or smallmouth bass,
$26.25.

(k)-Any brook, rainbow, brown, or steel head
trout, $26.25.

(1) Any walleye plke northern pike, or any
other game fish not mentioned in pars. (i) to (k),
$8.75. ,

(m) Any game or fur- bearmg animal or-bird
not mentioned in pars. (b) to (h), $17.50.

(2) Any damages recovered in such action
shall be paid into the state conservation fund
and disbursed therefrom by the department.
The costs of such action'in case of a judgment in
favor-of the defendant shall be paid out of the
conservation fund.

3)A ClVll action brought under this section
shall be a bar to a criminal prosecution for the
same offense and any criminal prosecution for
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any offense chargeable under this section shall
be a bar to a civil action brought under this
section.

History: 1975 ¢. 365; 1977 ¢ 386; 1979 ¢ 34

The civil remedy is coextensive with the criminal sanctions
of the chapter, and since the chapter does not prohibit killing
fish by opening a dam unlawfully, there is no civil remedy.
Dept. of Natural Resources'v Clmlonwlle 53 W (2d) 1, 191
NW (2d) 866 . .

State may recover ““civil redress” damages under thls sec-
tion as well as prosecute perpetrator for underlying violation
punishable only by civil forfeiture.’ Staté v. Denk, 117 W (2d)
432, 345 NW (2d) 66 (Ct. App. 1984)

.When a criminal action is brought for a violation of ch
94; prohibiting deposit ‘of pesticides in public waters of the
state, such proceeding is not barred by a civil action to re-
covet the statutory value of fish killed by such pesticides 62
Atty. Gen 130

29.99 General penalty provisions. Any per-
son who, for himself or hérself, or by his or her
agent, servant, or employe, or who, as agent,
servant, or employe for another, violates this
chapter shall be punished, respectively, as
follows: ,

(1) For the unlawful use of any gill net or
trammel in taking, catching or killing fish of
any variety in any watets, or for the use of any
net in taking, catching or killing trout of any
variety in inland waters, by a fine of not more
than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 9
months or both.

(2) For hunting, trapping or fishing without
an approval required by this chapter:

(a) By a forfeiture of not more than $100; and

(¢) By the payment of a natural resources
restitution payment equal to the amount of the
statutory fee for the approval which was re-
quired and should have been obtained.

(3) For the violation of any statutes or any
department .order relating to the hunting, tak-
ing, transportation or possession of game or
game birds of all kinds, by a forfeiture of not
more than $100. -

(3m) For unlawfully hunting a moose, by a
forfeiture of not less than $1,000 nor more than
$2,000 and the mandatory revocation of all
hunting’ approvals- issued to the person. In
addition, no hunting approval may be issued to
the person for the time period specified by the
court. Thetime period'specified shall be not less
than 3 years nor more than 5 years following the
date of conviction under this subsection.

(4) For any violation of any provision of this
chapter or any department order for which no

other penalty is prescribed, by a forfelture of

not more than $100

(5) For'violation of s. 29.48 or 29”494, bya fine
of not rhore than $200 or imprisonment for not
more than 90 days or both, and a mandatory 3-
year revocation of all hunting, fishing and trap-
ping approvals issued to the pérson under thlS
chapter.
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{5m) For the violation of any statute or rule
relating to the taking or possession of lake
sturgeon, by a fine of $1,500 or imprisonment
for not more than 90 days or both for each lake
sturgeon illegally taken or possessed, and a
mandatory 3-year revocation of all hunting,
fishing and trapping approvals issued to the
person under” this chapter.

(6) For the violation of any statutes or any
department order relating to fishing, or the
possession of game fish, except where some
other penalty is specifically provided, by a for-
feiture of $100,

(7) For the violation of s. 29.224 (4) (c) or
29.23, or of any statute or administrative rule
relating to hunting from an airplane or using an
airplane to spot, rally or drive animals for
hunting, by a fine of not more than $1,000 for
the first violation and not more than $2,000 for
subsequent violations or imprisonment for not
more than 90 days, or both, by a mandatory 3-
year revocation of all hunting, fishing and trap-
ping approvals and, in addition, by payment of
a natural resources assessment equal to 75% of
the amount of the fine. An airplane used in
violation of these sections or rules is.declared a
public nuisance.

{(8) Any violation of s. 29 33 or any depart-
ment order regulating commercial fishing in
outlying waters, by a forfeiture of not more
than $500. ‘

(9) For the violation of any statute or any
department order relating to the registration of
any wild animal, by a forfeiture of not more
than $1>OO‘

(10) For any violation of any statute or of
any department order relating to snag lines,
snag hooks or snag poles, by a forfeiture of not
more than $200

(11) For hunting deer without the required
approval, during the closed season with the aid
of artificial llght or with the aid of an airplane,
for the snaring of deer, or for the possession or
control of a deer carcass in violation of s. 29.39
or 29.40, by a fine of not less than $1,000 nor
more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not
more than 6 months or both and, in addition,
the court shall order the revocation of all ap-
provals issued to the person under this chapter
and shall prohibit the issuance of any new
approval under this chapter to the person for 3
years.

(12) In addition to any other penalty for
violation of this chapter or any department
order made under this chapter, the court may
revoke or suspend any ‘or all privileges and
approvals granted under this chapter for a
period of up to 3 years. If a person is convicted
of reckless or highly negligent conduct in the




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

775

operation or handling of a firearm or bow and
arrow in violation of s. 940.08 or 941.20 and
either death or bodily harm to another resuits
from-that violation, the court shall revoke every
approval issued to that person under: this chap-
ter -and shall provide a fixed period during
which no new approval may be issued to the
person. If no death or bodily harm to another
results from the violation, the court may revoke
any approval issued to that person under this
chapter and may provide a fixed period during
which no new approval may be 1ssued to the
person.

~(13) The word “person” as used in this sec-
tion includes natural persons, firms, associa-
tions, and corporations.

(14) No penalty prescribed in any section of
this chapter shall be held to be diminished
becduse the violation for which it'is prescribed
falls also within the scope of a more general
prohibition.

(15) In'any prosecution under this section it is
not necessary for the state to allege or prove
that the animals wete not domesticated or were
not taken for scientific purposes, or were taken
or in possession or under control without a
required approval; but the person claiming that
these animals were domesticated, or were taken
for scientific purposes, or were taken or in
possession or under control under the required
approval, has the burden of proving this fact or
facts. ,

History: 1975 ¢ 365 ss. 45, 50; 1979 ¢, 34, 150, 175, 190,

355; 1981 ¢. 20, 236, 243, 391; 1983 a. 27; 1983 a. 80's. 9; 1983
a. 114s.9; 1983 a. 192, 209, 419, 520, 538.

29.995 Penalties; repeaters. (1) If a person is

convicted of any violation of this chapter or of

any department order, and it is alleged in' the
indictment, information or complaint, and
proved or admitted on trial or ascertained by
the court after conviction that the person was
previously convicted within a period of 5 years
for a vielation of this chapter or of a depart-
ment order by any court of this state, the person
shall be fined not more than $100, or impris-
oned not more than 6 months or both. In
addition, all hunting, fishing and trapping ap-
provals issued to the person shall be revoked
and no hunting, fishing or trapping approval
may be issued to the person for a period of one
year after the 2nd conviction

(2) When any person is convicted and it is
alleged in the indictment, information or com-
plaint-and proved or admitted on trial or ascer-
tained by the court after conviction that such
person had been before convicted 3 times within
a period of 3 years for violations of this chapter
or department order punishable unders. 29.134
(11), 2929 (1) or 2999 (1), (5) or (10), or for
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violation of s. 29.48, or for violation of any

statute or department order regulating the tak-

ing or possession of any wild animal or carcass
thereof during the closed season therefor or any
combination of such violations by any court of
this state, and that such convictions remain of

record and unreversed, such person shall be

fined not more than $500 or imprisoned not
more than 9 months or both.
(3) No penalty for any such violation may be

reduced or diminished by reason of this section.
“History: 1975 ¢ 3655 46,1981 ¢ 2435.7; 1983 a. 27
Criminal prosecution under this section must be com-
menced by complaint under 968 02; prosecution must be con-
ducted with statutory and tonstitutional requirements appli-
cable to other criminal prosecutions 71 Atty. Gen 136,

29.996 Parties to a violation. (1) Whoever is
concerned in the commission of a violation of
this chapter for which a forfeiture is imposed is
a principal and may be charged with and con-
victed of the violation although he or she did
not directly commit it and although the person
who-directly committed it has not been con-
victed of the violation.

{2) A personis concerned in the commission
of the violation if the person:

(a) Directly commits the violation;

(b) Aids and abets the commission of it; or

(¢) Is a party to a conspiracy with another to
commit it or advises, hires or counsels or other-

wise procures another to commit it.
History: 1975 ¢ 365

29.997 Natural resources assessments. (1)
LEVY OF NATURAL RESOURCES ASSESSMENT. (a) If
a court imposes a fine or forfeiture for a viola-
tion of a provision of this chapter or a rule or
order issued under this chapter, the court shall
impose a natural resources assessment equal to
75% of the amount of the fine or forfeiture.

(b) If a fine or forfeiture is suspended in
whole or in part, the natural resources assess-
ment shall be reduced in proportion to the
suspension.

(c) If any deposit is made for an offense to
which this section applies, the person making
the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient
amount to include the natural resources assess-
ment prescribed in this section. If the deposit is
forfeited, the amount of the natural resources
assessment shall be transmitted to the state
treasurer under par. (d). If the deposit is
returned, the natural resources assessment shall
also be returned.

(d) The clerk of the court shall collect and
transmit to the county treasurer the natural
resources assessment and other amounts re-
quired unders. 59.395 (5). The county treasurer
shall then make payment to the state treasurer
as provided in s. 5920 (5) (b). The state
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treasurer shall deposit the amount of the natu-
ral resources assessment in the conservation
fund. _

(2) USE OF NATURAL RESOURCES, ASSESSMENT
FUNDS. All moneys collected from natural re-
sources assessments-shall be deposited in the
conservation fund and appropriated for use

under s. 20.370 (3) (mu).
History: 1979 ¢. 34; 1981 ¢ 20. .

29.998 Natural _resources restitution pay-
ments. (1) LEVY OF NATURAL RESOURCES RESTI-
TUTION PAYMENT. (@) On or after January 1,
1980, if a court imposes a fine or forfeiture for a
violation of a provision of this chapter or a rule
or order issued under this chapter where the
payment of a natural resources restitution: pay-
ment is required, the court shall impose a natu-
ral resources restitution payment equal to the
amount of the-statutory fee for the- approval
which was required and should have been
obtained. ' _ S

(b) If a fine or forfeiture is suspended in
whole or in part, the natural resources restitu-
tion payment shall be reduced in proportion to
the suspension unless the court directs
otherwise. :

776

(c) If any deposit is made for an offense to
which this section applies, the person making
the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient
amount to.include the natural resources restitu-
tion payment prescribed in this section. If the
deposit is forfeited, the amount of the natural
resources restitution payment shall be transmit-
ted to the state treasurer under par. (d). If the
deposit is returned, the natural resources resti-
tution payment shall also be returned.

(d) The clerk of the court shall collect and
transmit to the county treasurer the natural
resources, restitution payment and other
amounts required under s. 59.395 (5). The
county treasurer shall then make payment to
the state treasurer as provided in s. 59.20 (5) (b).
The state treasurer shall deposit the amount of
the natural resources restitution payment in the
conservation fund.

(2) USE OF NATURAL RESOURCES RESTITUTION
PAYMENT FUNDS. All moneys collected from
natural resources restitution payments shall be
deposited. in the conservation fund and appro-
priated for use under s. 20.370 (3) (mu).

History: 1979 ¢ 34, 175, 1983 a. 27
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