
85-86 Wis. . Stats:, 2246

NOTARIES AND COMMISSIONERS OF DEEDS

137.01 Notaries . (1) NOTARIES PUBLIC WHO ARE NOT AIT'OR-
NEYS. (a) The governor shall appoint notaries public who
shall be Wisconsin residents and at least 18 years of age ..
Applicants who are not attorneys shall file an application
with the secretary of state and pay a $15 fee . .

(b) The secretary of state shall satisfy himself or herself
that the applicant has the equivalent of an 8th grade educa-
tion, is familiar with the duties and responsibilities of a notary
public and , subject to ss„ 111 . 321, 111,322 and 111 .. 335 , does
not have an arrest or conviction record .

(c) If an application is rejected the fee shall be returned.
(d) Qualified applicants shall be notified by the secretary of

state to take and file the official oath and execute and file an
official bond in the sum of $500, with surety to be approved
by the clerk of the circuit court for his or , her county, or', if
executed by a surety company, approved by the secretary of
state .

(e) The qualified applicant shall file his signature, post-
office address and an impression of his official seal , or
imprint of his official rubber stamp with the secretary of state.

(f). A certificate of appointment as a notary public for a
term of 4 years statingg the expiration date of the commission
shall be issued to applicants who have fulfilled the require-
ments of this subsection .

(g) At least 30 days before the expiration of a commission
the secretary of state shall mail notice of the expiration date
to the holder of a commission..

(h) A notary shall be entitled to reappointment .
(2) NOTARIES PUBLIC WHO ARE ATTORNEYS . (a) Any Wiscon-

sin resident who is licensed to practice law in this state is
entitled to a permanent commission as a notary public upon
application to the secretary of state and payment of a $15 fee ..
The application shall include a certificate of good standing
from theesupreme court, the signature and post-office : address
of the applicant and an impression of the applicant's official
seal, or impri nt of the applicant's officiall rubber stamp ..

(b) The secretary of state shall issue a certificate of ap-
pointment as a notary public to persons who qualify under
the requirements of this subsection ,. . Such certificate shall
statethat the notary commission is permanent .

(c) The supreme court shall file with the secretary of state
notice of the surrender , suspension or revocation of the
license to practice law of any attorneywho holds a permanent
commission as a notary public. Such notice shall be deemed a
revocation of saidd commission ..

(3) Noi tuunL SEAL OR srnMP . (a) Every notary public shall
provide an engraved official seal which makes a distinct and
legible impression or, official rubber stamp which makes a
distinct and legible imprint on paper' .. The impression of the
seal or the impr int of the rubber stamp shall state , "Notary
Public," "State of Wisconsin" and the name of the notary .
But any notarial seal in use on August 1 , 1959 , shall be
considered in compliance ,.

(b) The impression of the notarial seal upon any instru-
ment or writing or upon wafer , wax or other adhesive
substance and affixed to any instrument or writing shall be
deemed an affixation of " the seal , and the imprint of the
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notarial rubber stamp upon any instrument or wr iting shall
be deemed an affixation of the rubber stamp .

(4) ArrESrnTTON . . (a) Every official act of a notary public
shall be attested by his written signature ..

(b) All certificates of ' acknowledgments of'deeds and other
conveyances, or any written instrument required or autho-
rized by law to be acknowledged or sworn to before any
notary public , within this state , shall be attested by a clear
impression of' the officiall seal or imprint of the rubber stamp
of said officer , and in addition thereto shall be written or
stamped either , the day , month and year when the commission
of` said notary public will expire , or, that such commission is
permanent.

(c) The official certifi cate of any notary public, when
attested and completedd in the manner provided by this
subsection, shall be presumptive evidence in all cases, and in
all courts of the state , of the facts therein stated , in cases
where by law a notary public is author izedd to certify such
facts :

(5) PowExs . Notaries public have power to act throughout
the state . . Notaries public have power to demand acceptance
of foreign and inland bills of exchangee and payment thereof,
and payment of promissory notes, and may protest the same
for nonacceptance or nonpayment , may administer, oaths ,
take depositions and acknowledgmentss of deeds, and per-
form such other duties as by the law of nations , or according
to commercial usage , may be exercised and performed by
notaries public .,

(6) AUTHENTICATION, (a) The secretary of state may certify
to the official qualifications of any notary public and to the
genuineness of his signature and seal o r rubber stamp ..

(b) Whenever any notary public has filed in the office of the
clerk of the circuit court of his county of residence his
signature, an impression of his official seal or impr i nt of his
official rubber stamp and a certificate of the secretary of
state , such cle r k may certify to the official qualifications of
such notary public and the genuineness of his signature and
seal or rubber stamp .

(c) Any certificate specified under thiss subsection shall be
presumptive evidence of the facts therein stated ,.

(6m) CHANGE OF RESIDENCE. A notary public shall not
vacate his office by reason of his change of residence within
the state Written notice of any change of address shall be
given to the secretary of state within 5 days of such change ..

(7) OFFICIAL RECORDS TO BE FILED . When any notary: public
ceases to hold office he, or in case of his death his executor , or
administrator , shall deposit his official records and papers in
the office of the cle rk of the circuit court of the county of his
residence,, If any such notary or any executor or administra-
tor, after such records and papers come to his hands , neglects
for, 3 months to deposit them he shall forfeit not less than $50
nor more than $500 If any person knowingly destroys,
defaces or- conceals any records or, papers of any notary
public he shall forfeit not less than $50 nor more than $500 ,
and shall be liable to the party injured for all damages thereby
sustained . . The clerks of' the circuit courts shall receive and
safely keep all such papers and records in their office ..
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(8) Miscoxnucx „ If any notary public shall be guilty of any the United States , of- of 'the territories belonging to the United
misconduct or neglect of duty in office he shall be liable to the States and in foreign countr ies, who shall hold his office for
party injured for all the damages thereby sustained ., the term of four years unless sooner removed . Every such

(9) Fps., A notary public shall be allowed the following commissioner shall take the official oath before a judge or
fees : clerk of one of the courts of record of the state or , tterritory or

(a) For drawing and copy of protest of the nonpayment of country in which he shall reside
, and file the same , with ana promissory note or bill of exchange, or of the nonaccept-

ance of such bill, $1 in the cases where by law such protest is impression of his seal of office and a statement of his post-
necessary, but in no other case . office address, in the office of the secretary of state, and shall

(b) For drawing and copy of every other protest, 50 cents.. at the same time pay into the treasury the sum of five dollars ;
(c) For drawing, copying and serving every notice of and thereupon his commission shall issue .

nonpayment of a note o r bill, or nonacceptance of a bill , 50
cents, (2) Suchh commissioner shall have authority to take the

(d) For drawing any affidavit , or, other paper or proceed- acknowledgment and proof of the execution of deeds , con-
ing fo r which provision is not herein made, 50 cents for each veyances and leases of any lands lying in this state , or wri tten
folio, and for copying the same 12 cents per folio .

(e) For taking the acknowledgment of deeds, and for other instruments relating thereto, or of any contract or, any other

services authorized by law, the same fees as are allowed to writing, sealed or unsealed, to be used o r recorded in this
other officers for similar services, but the fee per document state ; to administer oaths required to be used in this state ; to
shall . not exceed 50 cents. take and certify depositions to be used in thee courts of this

History: 1971 c .. 213 s 5 ; 1977 c . 29, 449; 1979 c . 221 ; 1981 c. 380; 1981 cc state, either under a commission, by consent of parties or on
391: s. 211 .

Residency requirement under (1) and (2) is not unconstitutional . . ' 74 Atty.y notice to the opposite party; and all such acts done pursuant
ce° 221 to the laws of this state and certified under his hand and seal
137.02 Commissionerss of deeds. (1) The governor, shall of office shall be as valid as if done by a proper , officer of this
have power to appoint one or more commissioners in any of state .
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