
NOTARIES AND COMMISSIONERS OF DEEDS  137.011 Updated 95−96 Wis. Stats. Database

Wisconsin Statutes Archive.

CHAPTER 137

NOTARIES AND COMMISSIONERS OF DEEDS

137.01 Notaries. 137.02 Commissioners of deeds.

137.01 Notaries.  (1) NOTARIES PUBLIC WHO ARE NOT ATTOR-
NEYS.  (a)  The governor shall appoint notaries public who shall be
Wisconsin residents and at least 18 years of age.  Applicants who
are not attorneys shall file an application with the secretary of state
and pay a $15 fee.

(b)  The secretary of state shall satisfy himself or herself that
the applicant has the equivalent of an 8th grade education, is
familiar with the duties and responsibilities of a notary public and,
subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, does not have an
arrest or conviction record.

(c)  If an application is rejected the fee shall be returned.
(d)  Qualified applicants shall be notified by the secretary of

state to take and file the official oath and execute and file an offi-
cial bond in the sum of $500, with surety to be approved by the
clerk of the circuit court for his or her county, or, if executed by
a surety company, approved by the secretary of state.

(e)  The qualified applicant shall file his or her signature, post−
office address and an impression of his or her official seal, or
imprint of his or her official rubber stamp with the secretary of
state.

(f)  A certificate of appointment as a notary public for a term
of 4 years stating the expiration date of the commission shall be
issued to applicants who have fulfilled the requirements of this
subsection.

(g)  At least 30 days before the expiration of a commission the
secretary of state shall mail notice of the expiration date to the
holder of a commission.

(h)  A notary shall be entitled to reappointment.
(2) NOTARIES PUBLIC WHO ARE ATTORNEYS.  (a)  Any Wisconsin

resident who is licensed to practice law in this state is entitled to
a permanent commission as a notary public upon application to
the secretary of state and payment of a $15 fee.  The application
shall include a certificate of good standing from the supreme
court, the signature and post−office address of the applicant and
an impression of the applicant’s official seal, or imprint of the
applicant’s official rubber stamp.

(b)  The secretary of state shall issue a certificate of appoint-
ment as a notary public to persons who qualify under the require-
ments of this subsection. Such certificate shall state that the notary
commission is permanent.

(c)  The supreme court shall file with the secretary of state
notice of the surrender, suspension or revocation of the license to
practice law of any attorney who holds a permanent commission
as a notary public.  Such notice shall be deemed a revocation of
said commission.

(3) NOTARIAL SEAL OR STAMP.  (a)  Every notary public shall
provide an engraved official seal which makes a distinct and leg-
ible impression or official rubber stamp which makes a distinct
and legible imprint on paper.  The impression of the seal or the
imprint of the rubber stamp shall state, “Notary Public,” “State of
Wisconsin” and the name of the notary.  But any notarial seal in
use on August 1, 1959, shall be considered in compliance.

(b)  The impression of the notarial seal upon any instrument or
writing or upon wafer, wax or other adhesive substance and
affixed to any instrument or writing shall be deemed an affixation
of the seal, and the imprint of the notarial rubber stamp upon any
instrument or writing shall be deemed an affixation of the rubber
stamp.

(4) ATTESTATION.  (a)  Every official act of a notary public shall
be attested by the notary public’s written signature.

(b)  All certificates of acknowledgments of deeds and other
conveyances, or any written instrument required or authorized by
law to be acknowledged or sworn to before any notary public,
within this state, shall be attested by a clear impression of the offi-
cial seal or imprint of the rubber stamp of said officer, and in addi-
tion thereto shall be written or stamped either the day, month and
year when the commission of said notary public will expire, or that
such commission is permanent.

(c)  The official certificate of any notary public, when attested
and completed in the manner provided by this subsection, shall be
presumptive evidence in all cases, and in all courts of the state, of
the facts therein stated, in cases where by law a notary public is
authorized to certify such facts.

(5) POWERS.  Notaries public have power to act throughout the
state. Notaries public have power to demand acceptance of for-
eign and inland bills of exchange and payment thereof, and pay-
ment of promissory notes, and may protest the same for nonac-
ceptance or nonpayment, may administer oaths, take depositions
and acknowledgments of deeds, and perform such other duties as
by the law of nations, or according to commercial usage, may be
exercised and performed by notaries public.

(6) AUTHENTICATION.  (a)  The secretary of state may certify to
the official qualifications of any notary public and to the genuine-
ness of the notary public’s signature and seal or rubber stamp.

(b)  Whenever any notary public has filed in the office of the
clerk of the circuit court of the notary public’s county of residence
the notary public’s signature, an impression of the notary public’s
official seal or imprint of the notary public’s official rubber stamp
and a certificate of the secretary of state, such clerk may certify to
the official qualifications of such notary public and the genuine-
ness of the notary public’s signature and seal or rubber stamp.

(c)  Any certificate specified under this subsection shall be pre-
sumptive evidence of the facts therein stated.

(6m) CHANGE OF RESIDENCE.  A notary public shall not vacate
his or her office by reason of his or her change of residence within
the state.   Written notice of any change of address shall be given
to the secretary of state within 5 days of such change.

(7) OFFICIAL RECORDS TO BE FILED.  When any notary public
ceases to hold office the notary public, or in case of the notary pub-
lic’s death the notary public’s executor or administrator, shall
deposit the notary public’s official records and papers in the office
of the clerk of the circuit court of the county of the notary public’s
residence.  If any such notary or any executor or administrator,
after such records and papers come to his or her hands, neglects
for 3 months to deposit them, he or she shall forfeit not less than
$50 nor more than $500.  If any person knowingly destroys,
defaces or conceals any records or papers of any notary public, the
person shall forfeit not less than $50 nor more than $500, and shall
be liable to the party injured for all damages thereby sustained.
The clerks of the circuit courts shall receive and safely keep all
such papers and records in their office.

(8) MISCONDUCT.  If any notary public shall be guilty of any
misconduct or neglect of duty in office the notary public shall be
liable to the party injured for all the damages thereby sustained.

(9) FEES.  A notary public shall be allowed the following fees:
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(a)  For drawing and copy of protest of the nonpayment of a
promissory note or bill of exchange, or of the nonacceptance of
such bill, $1 in the cases where by law such protest is necessary,
but in no other case.

(b)  For drawing and copy of every other protest, 50 cents.
(c)  For drawing, copying and serving every notice of nonpay-

ment of a note or bill, or nonacceptance of a bill, 50 cents.
(d)  For drawing any affidavit, or other paper or proceeding for

which provision is not herein made, 50 cents for each folio, and
for copying the same 12 cents per folio.

(e)  For taking the acknowledgment of deeds, and for other ser-
vices authorized by law, the same fees as are allowed to other offi-
cers for similar services, but the fee per document shall not exceed
50 cents.

History:   1971 c. 213 s. 5; 1977 c. 29, 449; 1979 c. 221; 1981 c. 380; 1981 c. 391
s. 211; 1993 a. 482.

Residency requirement under (1) and (2) is not unconstitutional.  74 Atty. Gen.
221.

137.02 Commissioners of deeds.  (1) The governor shall
have power to appoint one or more commissioners in any of the
United States, or of the territories belonging to the United States

and in foreign countries, who shall hold office for the term of four
years unless sooner removed.  Every such commissioner shall
take the official oath before a judge or clerk of one of the courts
of record of the state or territory or country in which the commis-
sioner shall reside, and file the same, with an impression of the
commissioner’s seal of office and a statement of the commission-
er’s post−office address, in the office of the secretary of state, and
shall at the same time pay into the treasury the sum of five dollars;
and thereupon the commissioner’s commission shall issue.

(2) A commissioner appointed under sub. (1) shall have
authority to take the acknowledgment and proof of the execution
of deeds, conveyances and leases of any lands lying in this state,
or written instruments relating thereto, or of any contract or any
other writing, sealed or unsealed, to be used or recorded in this
state; to administer oaths required to be used in this state; to take
and certify depositions to be used in the courts of this state, either
under a commission, by consent of parties or on notice to the oppo-
site party; and all such acts done pursuant to the laws of this state
and certified under the commissioner’s hand and seal of office
shall be as valid as if done by a proper officer of this state.

History:   1993 a. 482.
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