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STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND
DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION : LICENSING ADOPTING RULES
AND LICENSING : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 97-001)

TO: Ben Brancel
Speaker of the Assembly
Room 211 West, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 53702

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that the DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND
LICENSING is submitting in final draft form proposed rules relating to educational requirements
for real estate salesperson’s and broker’s licenses.

If you have any questions concerning the final draft form or desire additional information,
please contact Pamela Haack at 266-0495.




s State of Wisconsin \ peraRTMENT oF REGULATION & LICENSING
19 A% )
l i 17

Marlene A. Cummings
Secretary

Tommy G. Thompson
r

Governo 1400 E. WASHINGTON AVENUE

P.O. BOX 8935
MADISON, WISCONSIN 53708-8935

Administrative Rules
in Final Draft Form

Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Rule: Chapter RL 25

Relating to:
Educational Requirements for
Real Estate Salespersons

and Brokers

Clearinghouse Rule:
N o.w%&JOO 1

Accounting; Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional Geologists, Professional Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors; Auctioneer; Barbering and Cosmetology; Chiropractic; Dentistry; Dietitians; Funeral Di .
Hearing and Speech; Medical; Nursing; Nursing Home Administrator; Optometry; Pharmacy; Physical Therapists; Psychology; Real Estate; Real Estate Appraisers; Social Workers, Mamiage and Family Therapists and
Professional Counselors; and Veterinary.

Committed to Equal Opportunity in Employment and Licensing



STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : REPORT TO THE LEGISLATURE

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : ON CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 97-001
DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION (s. 227.19 (3), Stats.)

AND LICENSING :

L THE PROPOSED RULE:

IL.

IIL.

The proposed rule, including the analysis and text, is attached.

REFERENCE TO APPLICABLE FORMS:

No new or revised forms are required by these rules.

FISCAL ESTIMATES:

These rules will have no significant impact upon state or local units of government.
STATEMENT EXPLAINING NEED:

The proposed reduction in hours of education was requested by the Wisconsin Realtors
Association.

SECTIONS 1 and 4 add a content item to the list of contents which must be covered in
the 72-hour salesperson’s course and the 36-hour broker’s course. That content item is
lead-based paint. New state and federal laws relating to lead-based paint were enacted
during the past few years.

SECTION 2 repeals s. RL 25.02 (3) and SECTION 3 creates s. RL 25.025 which reduces
from 20 hours to 3 hours the education which an out-of-state applicant for a broker’s
license must complete at a Wisconsin-approved school. This provision, both in the
current rules and in this proposal, applies to an applicant who has held an active real
estate broker’s license in another licensing jurisdiction within the 2-year period prior to
filing an application for an original broker’s license in Wisconsin. SECTION 3 also lists
the contents of the 3 hours and the amount of classroom time which must be devoted to
each subject.

SECTION 5 repeals s RL 25.03 (4) and SECTION 6 creates s. RL 25.035 which reduces
from 23 hours to 13 hours the education which an out-of-state applicant for a
salesperson’s license must complete at a Wisconsin-approved school. This provision,
both in the current rules and in this proposal, applies to an applicant who has held an
active real estate salesperson’s license in another licensing jurisdiction within the 2-year
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period prior to filing an application for an original salesperson’s license in Wisconsin.
SECTION 6 also lists the contents of the 13 hours and the amount of classroom time
which must be devoted to each subject.

SECTION 7 removes a sentence which contains an expiration date for the department’s
approval of continuing education programs and courses. This change is made because the
approval of courses need not terminate on any date. Many licensees complete continuing
education after the license renewal deadline, which is December 31 of each even-
numbered year , and schools continue to offer the courses while there is a sufficient
number of licensees interested in taking them. After that, licensees may take portions of
the salesperson’s prelicense course, as stated in s. RL 12.04 (1) (a) and (b). This section
also removes an unnecessary word in the last sentence of the current rule.

SECTION 8 repeals a requirement that schools approved for presenting real estate
continuing education programs or courses send a list of those who passed or failed the
program or course to the department within 30 days after completion of the program or
course. The department has determined that other provisions in the rules which require

~ schools to give licensees a certificate of attendance for each program or course

successfully completed and to keep attendance records for at least 5 years are adequate for
resolving questions about whether a licensee had completed the required continuing
education.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING:

A public hearing was held on February 27, 1997. Rick Staff, Madison, representing the
Wisconsin Realtors Association, Inc., appeared and registered in support of the proposed

- rules. There were no other appearances nor were any written comments received.

RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:

In response to Comment 1. The department did consult with both the Council on Real
Estate Curriculum and Examinations, and the Real Estate Board.

The remaining recommendations suggested in the Clearinghouse Report were accepted in
whole.

FINAL REGULATORY FLEXIBILITY ANALYSIS:

The proposed rules will have no significant economic impact on small businesses, as
defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats. :



STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING PROPOSED ORDER OF THE

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION : LICENSING ADOPTING RULES

AND LICENSING : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 97-001)
PROPOSED ORDER

An order of the Department of Regulation and Licensing to repeal RL 25.02 (3), 25.03 (4) and
25.066 (6) (h); to amend RL 25.066 (1); and to create RL 25.02 (2) (h) 5 cm, 25.025, 25.03 (3)
(9) 2m and 25.035 relating to educational requirements for real estate salesperson’s and broker’s
licenses.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing.

ANALYSIS
Statutes authorizing promulgation: ss. 227.11 (2), 452.05, 452.06 and 452.07, Stats.
Statutes interpreted: ss. 452.05, 452.09 and 452.11, Stats.

SECTIONS 1 and 4 add a content item to the list of contents which must be covered in the
72-hour salesperson’s course and the 36-hour broker’s course. That content item is lead-based
paint. |

SECTION 2 repeals s. RL 25.02 (3) and SECTION 3 creates s. RL 25.025 which reduces from
20 hours to 3 hours the education which an out-of-state applicant for a broker’s license must
complete at a Wisconsin-approved school. This provision, both in the current rules and in this
proposal, applies to an applicant who has held an active real estate broker’s license in another.
licensing jurisdiction within the 2-yearperiod prior to filing an application for an original
broker’s license in Wisconsin. SECTION 3 also lists the contents of the 3 hours and the amount
of classroom time which must be devoted to each subject.

SECTION S repeals s RL 25.03 (4) and SECTION 6 creates s. RL 25.035 which reduces from

23 hours to 13 hours the education which an out-of-state applicant for a salesperson’s license
must complete at a Wisconsin-approved school. This provision, both in the current rules and in
this proposal, applies to an applicant who has held an active real estate salesperson’s license in
another licensing jurisdiction within the 2-year period prior to filing an application for an original
salesperson’s license in Wisconsin. SECTION 6 also lists the contents of the 13 hours and the
amount of classroom time which must be devoted to each subject.

SECTION 7 removes a sentence which contains an expiration date for the department’s approval
of continuing education programs and courses. This change is made because the approval of
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courses need not terminate on any date. Many licensees complete continuing education after the
license renewal deadline, which is December 31 of each even-numbered year, and schools
continue to offer the courses while there is a sufficient number of licensees interested in taking
them. After that, licensees may take portions of the salesperson’s prelicense course, as stated in
s. RL 12.04 (1) (a) and (b). This section also removes an unnecessary word in the last sentence
of the current rule.

SECTION 8 repeals a requirement that schools approved for presenting real estate continuing
education programs or courses send a list of those who passed or failed the program or course to
the department within 30 days after completion of the program or course. The department has
determined that other provisions in the rules which require schools to give licensees a certificate
of attendance for each program or course successfully completed and to keep attendance records
for at least 5 years are adequate for resolving questions about whether a licensee had completed
the required continuing education.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. RL 25.02 (2) (h) 5. cm. is created to read:

RL 25.02 (2) (h) 5. cm. Lead-based paint.

SECTION 2. RL 25.02 (3) is repealed.

SECTION 3. RL 25.025 is created to read:

RL 25.025 SATISFACTION OF BROKER'’S 36-HOUR PROGRAM BY OUT-OF-
STATE APPLICANTS. (1) An applicant who has held an active real estate broker’s license in
another licensing jurisdiction within the 2 year period prior to filing an application for an original

real estate broker’s license may satisfy the requirements of s. RL 25.02 (2) if the applicant
submits evidence of all of the following:

(a) Attendance at 3 hours of education under sub. (2) at a school approved
by the department under s. RL 25.05 or RL 25.06.

(b) Attendance at 33 hours of education on some or all contents of
s. RL 25.02 (2), completed at any school. )

(2) The content of the 3-hour course shall include all of the following:
(a) Broker-only contracts and contract issues. Minimum of .5 hours.
1. Reynolds v. Dinger, 14 Wis. 2d, 193.

2. State bar forms - s. RL 16.03 (1).
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3. Uniform commercial code forms - s. RL 16.03 (1).

4. Forms used in other states.

5. Developing forms and contingency manual.

6. Supervising salespersons’ use of approved forms.

(b) Miscellaneous Wisconsin laws. Minimum of .5 hours.

1. Change of name, address or trade name - ch. RL 23.

2. Trust accounts - s. 452.13, Stats., and ch. RL 18.
a. Procedure to open trust account.
b. Authorization to sign trust account checks.
c. Bookkeeping system.

3. Policy manual - s. RL 17.08.

(c) Review, update or more in-depth coverage of any of the contents of
the 13- hour course in s. RL 25.035 (2).

SECTION 4. RL 25.(‘)3’ (3) (@) 2m is created to read:
RL 25.03 (3) (q) 2m. Lead-based paint.

SECTION 5. RL 25.03 (4) is repealed.

SECTION 6. RL 25 .035 is creat;ea to -read:

RL 25.035 SATISFACTION OF SALESPERSON’S 72-HOUR PROGRAM BY OUT-
OF-STATE APPLICANTS. (1) An applicant who has held an active real estate salesperson’s
license in another licensing jurisdiction within the 2-year period prior to filing an application for
an original real estate salesperson’s license may satisfy the requirements of s. RL 25.03 (3) if the
applicant submits evidence of attendance at no less than 13 hours of education in sub. (2) at a
school approved by the department under s. RL 25.05 or RL 25.06. Some or all contents in
s. RL 25.03 (3) may be completed at any school.

(2) The content of the 13-hour course shall include all of the following:

(a) Contracts. Minimum of 3.5 hours.
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1. The law of conveyances.

a. Conveyance defined - s. 706.01, Stats.

b. Requirements for a void conveyance - ss. 706.02,
706.03, Stats.

2. Chapter RL 16.

3. Review of forms approved by the department.
a. Listing contracts.
b. Offers to purchase.
¢. Counteroffer and multiple counteroffer.
d. Amendment/notice.
e. Buyer agency agreement.
f. Grant of option.
g. Bill of sale.
h. ‘Bxchan'ge agreement.
L Cancellaﬁon ’an’d mutual release.
j. Other approved forms.

(b) Agency. Minimum of 2 hours.
1. Duties owed to parties and clients. - s. 452.133, Stats.

2. Requirement for an agency agreement and disclosure of
agency - s. 452.135, Stats.

3. Multiple representation - s. 452.137, Stats.

4. Revisions to common law duties and responsibilities -
s. 452.139, Stats.

(c) Business conduct. Minimum of 1 hour.
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1. Direct contact with the public.
a. Competence in area of service - s. RL 24.03.
b. Tie-ins - s. RL 24.075.
c. Agreements in writing - s. RL 24.08.
d. Misleading market values - s. RL 24.09.
e. Net listings - s. RL 24.10.

2. Advertising - s. RL 24.04.

3. Completing and presenting offers - ss. RL 24.12, 24.13.
a. Confidentiality.
b. Drafting and submitting offers.
c. Prompt delivery to buyer.
d. Fair presentation of offers.
e. Prompt notification.

4. 'saf-de‘aﬁng - 5. RL 24.05.
a. Dual compensation.
b. Disclosure of interest.
c. Referral services.
d. Disclosure of profits.
e. I;isclosure of licensure.

(d) Consumer protection. Minimum of 2 hours.
1. Property inspections - s. RL 24.07 (1) (a).
- 2. Inquiry by listing broker - s. RL 24.07 (1) (b).

3. Disclosure of material adverse facts - s. RL 24.07 (2).
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s. RL 24.07 (3).

9.

Disclosure of material suggesting adverse material facts -

. Disclosure of side agreements - s. RL 24.07 (4).

Reliance upon third parties - s. RL 24.07 (5).

. Investigations and inspections - s. 452.23, Stats.

Civil liability for misrepresentation.

Seller’s disclosure duties - ch. 709, Stats.

(e) Fair housing. Minimum of .5 hours. Wisconsin law - s. RL 24.03 (1),

ss. 66.432, 101.22, Stats.

(f) Environmental factors. Minimum of 1 hour.

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

Underground storage tanks - ss. ILHR 10.74 to 10.805.
Floodplains - s. 87.30, Stats., ss. NR 116.01, 116.06.
Wetland - s. 23.32, Stats.

Farmland preservgtion - 5. 91.01 to"91.21, Stats.

Rental unit energy efficiency standards - ss. ILHR 67.03, 67.08.

(g) Trust accounts and escrows. Minimum of 1.5 hours.

L.

Trust accounts - s. 452.13, Stats., ch. RL 18.
a. Definition of trust account.
b. Interest-bearing and non-interest-bearing accounts.
c¢. Definition of trust funds.
d. When a trust account is required.

e. Deposit of trust funds.

2. Escrow agreement procedures.
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a. Escrows requiring separate escrow agreements.

b. Pre-closing earnest money escrows.

c. Post-closing escrows. -

d. Escrows not requiring separate €sCrow agreement.

e. Drafting escrow agreements.

(h) Miscellaneous issues. Minimum of 1.5 hours.

1.

2.

236.35, Stats.

8.

9.

Condominiums - ss. 703.08, 703.21, 703.33, Stats.

Homestead - ss. 706.01 (7), 766.065, Stats.

Taxes - ss. 74.15, 74.47 (1) and (2), Stats.

Taxation and transfer fee - ss. 77.22, 77.27, Stats.

Residential rental practices - ss. ATCP 134.02, 134.06, 134.09.

Platting and subdivisions - ss. 236.01 to 236.03 and 236.31 to

Documents and records - ch. RL 15.
Licensure and supervision of employes - ch. RL 17.

Commercial bulk sales - ss. 406.101 to 406.108, Stats.

10. Property provision for aliens and corporations - ss. 710.01,

710.02, Stats.

11. Property rights of married persons - ss. 766.31, 766.51,

766.60, 766.63, Stats.

12. Mortgage banking - s. 224.71, Stats., s. RL 40.03 (4) (b).

SECTION 7. RL 25.066 (1) is amended to read:

RL 25.066 (1) A school seeking initial approval from the department of the continuing
educauon program or a course shall subxmt its apphcatlon ona form prov:ded by the department.

WWMW A schooi sha.ll subrmt apphcauons for approval
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of continuing education programs and courses to the department before conducting any
continuing education program or course which the department has prescribed for a subsequent
licensing biennium.

SECTION 8. RL 25.066 (6) (h) is repealed.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin administrative register pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

Dated Agency
Marlene A. Cummings, Secretary
Department of Regulation and Licensing
FISCAL ESTIMATE

1. The anticipated fiscal effect on the fiscal liability and revenues of any local unit of
government of the proposed rule is: $0.00.

2. The projected anticipated state fiscal effect during the current biennium of the
proposed rule is: $0.00.

3. The projected net annualized fiscal impact on state ‘fﬁnds of the proposed rule is:
$0.00.

FINAL REGULATORY FLEXIBILITY ANALYSIS

These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact on small businesses, as defined in
s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

g:\rules\ri25ed.doc
3/19/97
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WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF FORM 2

RULES CLEARINGHOUSE

David J. Stute, Director
Legislative Council Staff
(608) 2661304

Ronaid Skiansky
Director
(608) 2661946

One E. Main St,, Ste. 401
P.O. Box 2536

Madison, W1 537012536
FAX: (608) 2663830

Richard Sweet
Assistant Director
(608) 2662982

CLEARINGHOUSE REPORT TO AGENCY

[THIS REPORT HAS BEEN PREPARED PURSUANT TO S. 227.15, STATS. THISIS
A REPORT ON A RULE AS ORIGINALLY PROPOSED BY THE AGENCY; THE
REPORT MAY NOT REFLECT THE FINAL CONTENT OF THE RULE IN FINAL
DRAFT FORM AS IT WILL BE SUBMITTED TO THE LEGISLATURE. THIS
REPORT CONSTITUTES A REVIEW OF, BUT NOT APPROVAL OR DISAPPROVAL
OF, THE SUBSTANTIVE CONTENT AND TECHNICAL ACCURACY OF THE
RULE.] : . g

CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 97-001

AN ORDER to repeal RL 25.02 (3), 25.03 (4) and 25.066 (6) (h); to amend RL 25.066 (1); and to
create RL 25.02 (2) (h) 5. cm., 25.025, 25.03 (3) (q) 2m. and 25.035, relating to educational
requirements for real estate salesperson’s and broker’s licenses.

Submitted by DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING

01-03-97 RECEIVED BY LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL.
02-03-97 REPORT SENT TO AGENCY.

RS:DD:jt;ksm



Clearinghouse Rule No. 97-001
Form 2 — page 2

This rule has been reviewed by the Rules Clearinghouse. Based on that review, comments are
reported as noted below:

1. STATUTORY AUTHORITY [s. 227.15(2) ()]

Comment Attached YES |~ NO

2. FORM, STYLE AND PLACEMENT IN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE [s. 227.15 (2) ()]

Comment Attached . YES | ¥ NO |

3. CONFLICT WITH OR DUPLICATION OF EXISTING RULES [s. 227.15 (2) ()]

Comment Attached YES NO |~

4. ADEQUACY OF REFERENCES TO RELATED STATUTES, RULES AND FORMS
[s. 227.15 (2) (e)]

Comment Attached YES |~ | NO

5. CLARITY, GRAMMAR, PUNCTUATION AND USE OF PLAIN LANGUAGE [s. 227.15 ) (f]

Comment Attached YES Z] NO j

6. POTENTIAL CONFLICTS WITH, AND COMPARABILITY TO, RELATED FEDERAL
REGULATIONS [s. 227.15 (2) (8)]

Comment Attached YES NO |~

7. COMPLIANCE WITH PERMIT ACTION DEADLINE REQUIREMENTS [s. 227.15 (2) (b)]

Comment Attgcheci YES NO |~

R S R RS SRR




WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF

RULES CLEARINGHOUSE

Ronsld Sklansky David J. Stute, Director
Director Legislative Council Staff
(608) 266-1946 (608) 266~1304

Richard Sweet One E. Main St., Ste. 401
Assistant Director P.O. Box 2536

(608) 2662982 Madison, W1 53701-2536

FAX: (608) 2663830

CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 97-001
Comments

[NOTE: All citations to “Manual” in the comments below are to the

Administrative Rules Procedures Manual, prepared by the Revisor of

Statutes Bureau and the Leglslatlve Council Staff, dated October
1994.]

1. Statutory Authority
The rule does not indicate whether the departmcnt complied with s. 452.05 (1) (c), Stats.,
requiring consultation with the Council on Real Estate Curriculum and Examinations, or with s.

452.07 (2), Stats., requiring submittal of the proposed rule to the Real Estate Examining Board
for comment.

5. Form. Style and Pl in Administrative Cod

a. While the format of ss. RL 25.025 (2) and 25.035 (2) is parallel in most respects to
current ss. RL 25.02 (2) and 25.03 (3) and, therefore, some questionable style and format of the
proposed subsections are ignored for purposes of these comments, the introductory clauses of the
proposed subsections should at least provide: “The content of the [3-hour] [13-hour] course
shall include all of the following:”.

b. In SECTION 7, the title of s. RL 25.066 should not be included.

a. Ins. RL 25.02 (1) (é) 1., the reference to “14” is unclear. (Is it the beginning of an
incomplete case citation?)

b. Ins. RL 25.025 (2) (b) 2. (intro.), “RL” should not precede 452.13.
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c. Ins. RL 25.035 (2) (f) 1., *, Stats.” should be deleted.

d. Ins. RL 25.035 (2) (f) 4., reference can be made to “ss. 91.17 to 91.21, Stats.” Ins.
RL 25.035 (2) (h) 6., reference can be made to “ss. 236.01 to 236.03” and “236.31 to 236.335,
Stats.” Note that sub. (9) also contains some consecutively numbered statutory provisions which
can be cited in a similar manner.

e. Ins. RL 25.035 (2) (h) 12., the citation to s. 227.71, Stats., is incorrect.

a. The department’s analysis fails to indicate why the second sentence of s. RL 25.066
(1) is deleted by SECTION 7.

b. Section RL 25.025 (1) can be better stated. As drafted, the first sentence, read alone,
implies that the 36-hour requirement can be satisfied merely by three hours of education as
specified. It is suggested that sub. (1) be subdivided, with an introductory clause, as follows:

(1) An applicant who has held an active real estate broker’s
license in another licensing jurisdiction within the 2-year period
prior to filing an application for an original real estate broker’s

license may satisfy the requirements of s. RL 25.02 (2) if the
applicant submits evidence of all of the following:

(a) Attendance at 3 hours of education under sub. (2) at a school
approved by the department under s. RL 25.05 or RL 25.06.

(b) Attendance at 33 hours of education on the remaining content
~ of s. RL 25.02 (2), completed at any school.

Is it clear in s. RL 25.025 (1) how the remaining 33 hours of the required education
program is to be divided among the “remaining content” of s. RL 25.02 (2)?

c. Comment b. also applies to s. RL 25.035 (1).



