P.O. Box 8953, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8953
(608) 267-7990 « Toll-Free (800) 362-9472

144 County Road C
Oshkosh, Wisconsin 54904
(414) 589-4262

CAROL OWENS

WISCONSIN STATE REPRESENTATIVE

TO: Assembly Committee on Housing Members

FROM: Representative Carol Owens, Chairperson

DATE: November 21, 1997

RE: CLEARINGHOUSE RULES

As you may recall, last month we had the following three Clearinghouse Rules referred to the
Housing Committee:

Clearinghouse Rule 96-164, relating to financial qualifications of manufactured home
dealer license applicants.

Clearinghouse Rule 96-1685, relating to manufactured home dealer trade practices,
facilities and records.

- Clearinghouse Rule 96-166, relating to length, expiration date and fee for licenses issued
5 to manufactured and mobile home dealers and salespersons and for registration plates
issued to dealers.

Our deadline for committee action on these rules is November 24, 1997. 1 was recently
contacted by the Wisconsin Manufactured Housing Association (WMHA) about some concerns
they have on two of these rules (see attached letter from Ross Kinzler). One of the concerns
(CHR 96-166) has already been addressed by the Department of Administration (see attached
letter from Secretary Bugher). I have asked the Department of Administration for an additional
30 day review period (see copy attached) for CHR 96-164 so that we can address the concern of
WMHA.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.
CO:jfd

Attachments
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Wisconsin Manufactured Housing Association

Ross Kinzler, Executive Director
202 State Street, Suite 200
Madison, Wi 53703-2215 ﬁocmm“s

E-mail: wmhat@itis.com ’ .AMERICA l

608-255-3131
608-255-5595 Fax
Kfovember 19, 1997

Rep. Carol Owens
Room 105 West, State Capitol
Madison, Wi 53702

Dear Rep. Owens:

The Division of Housing has forwarded three rules for Housing Committee review.
They are ADM 66, ADM 67, & ADM 68. We wish to raise two concerns.

First, current law (TRANS 140.022) allows dealers to submit a bond or letter of
credit as evidence of financial soundness. This measure protects consumers from
undercapitalized dealers. The newly proposed rule, ADM 66.04, eliminates the bond
or letter of credit requirement and instead requires disclosure of detailed business
information to determine the net worth of a dealer. Our members are very
uncomfortable with releasing detailed and private financial statements. In addition,
many of our members have their businesses structured for tax purposes in a way
that legally constrains their net worth on paper. In some cases, a financially sound
member of our association could lose their dealer license due to their “insufficient”
net worth. We ask that the rule be amended to allow licensees to choose:

1) A bond.

2) A letter of credit.

3) A letter certifying a minimum net worth amount from a C.P.A.

4) Disclosure of net worth up to the minimum in ADM 66.09 (2).

5) A statement of value of fixed assets up to the minimum in ADM 66.09 (2).

Second, ADM 68.04 establishes a fee schedule which is contrary to s. 218.12 (2)
(c) Stats. This statute provides for a maximum annual fee of $4.00 for
manufactured home salespersons. The proposed rule, ADM 68.04, establishes a fee
of $13.00 annually -- which exceeds the fee limitation in 218.12 (2) (c).

We respectfully request a hearing to address the above concerns.
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2 STATE OF WISCONSIN
. DEPARTMENT QF ADMINISTRATION
101 East Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin

TOMMY G. THOMPSON
GOVERNOR

MARK D. BUGHER
SECRETARY
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Honorable Gwendolynne Moore g b 0 ot f/f Ahe

Chair, Committee on Economic f hio oK LAm FAL

Development, Housing and
Government Operations
Wisconsin Senate A , i
Room 321 Northeast, State Capitol L fdmn f@;‘} o
Madison, WI 53702

Honorable Carol Owens
Chair, Committee on Housing
Wisconsin Assembly

Room 105 West, State Capitol
Madison, WI 53702

Dear Senator Moore and Representative Owens:
Re: Clearinghouse Rule No. 96-166

On October 16, 1997, the Department of Administration sent the above-
referenced rule to the Legislature in final draft form. The rule was referred to
the Senate Committee on Economic Development, Housing and Government
Operations on October 22, 1997, and to the Assembly Committee on Housing
on October 23, 1997.

We have discovered an error in the salesperson licensing fee calculation in a
section of proposed Adm 68, Licensing Periods and Fees for Manufactured
Home Dealers and Salespersons. Therefore, we request the following
modification to the rule in order to conform to State Statutes.

Specifically, section 218.12(2)(c), Wis. Stats., establishes that $4 multiplied by
the number of licensing years shall be the fee charged for a salesperson license.
That equals $8 for a two-year license. Proposed section Adm 68.04(1),
erroneously states that $26 shall be charged for a two-year license. This
amount should be changed to $8. Also, in proposed section Adm 68.04(2), the
amount of $13 should be amended to $4.




Honorable Gwendolynne Moore
Honorable Carol Owens
November 18, 1997
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Enclosed is our proposed modified rule. We understand this extends the review
period for an additional ten working days.

Please advise whether the enclosed administrative rule is acceptable to your
Committees.




PROPOSED ORDER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION

The Wisconsin Department of Administration proposes an order to create
Chapter Adm 68.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Administration:

Statutory Authority: ss. 16.004(1), 218.11(2)(b) 1, 218.11(2)(b) 2,
218.12(2)(b) 1, and 218.12(2)(b) 2, Stats.

Statutes Interpreted: ss. 218.01(5)(a), 218.11, and 218.12

Section 218.101, Stats., was created in 1991 Wisconsin Act 269, authorizing
the Department of Administration to administer subchapter VI of Chapter 218
as it relates to manufactured/mobile home dealers and salespersons engaged in
the sale of primary housing units. This Chapter establishes the period,
expiration date and fee for licenses issued to manufactured home dealers and
salespersons. It also establishes the period, expiration date and fee for
registration plates issued to dealers.

Manufactured/mobile homes dealers and salespersons have been regulated
under the former chapter Trans 144 since the program was transferred to the
Department of Administration in July, 1992. Chapter Trans 144 is not being
repealed by the Department because it is currently used by Department of
Transportation for the regulation of recreational vehicle dealers and
salespersons since they continue to be licensed by the Department of
Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles.

TEXT OF RULE:
SECTION 1: Chapter Adm 68 is created to read:
Chapter Adm 68

LICENSING PERIODS AND FEES FOR
MANUFACTURED HOME DEALERS AND SALESPERSONS

Adm 68.01 PURPOSE. This chapter establishes the periods, expiration dates
and fees for licenses issued by the department under s. 218.11 and 218.12,
Stats., to manufactured home dealers and salespersons. It also establishes the
periods, expiration dates and fees for registration plates issued to dealers.

Adm 68.02 DEFINITIONS. Words and phrases in this chapter have the same
meaning as found in chs. 218 and 340, Stats., unless additional interpretations

are specified. In this chapter:

(1) “Branch” means a non-adjacent sales location in the same municipality.

(2) “Business license” means a license issued by the department under s.

-218.11, Stats., to a mobile home dealer.



(3) “Department” means the department of administration.

(4) “Individual license” means a license issued by the department under s.
218.12, Stats., to a salesperson.

(S) “Initial license” means a license issued to a person or business which does
not have a license at the time of application.

(6) “Manufactured home” or “home” means a mobile home which is
transportable in one or more sections, which in the traveling mode, is more
than 8 feet 6 inches in width or more than 45 feet in length, or when erected on
site, is more than 340 square feet, and which is built on a permanent chassis
and designed to be used as a dwelling with or without permanent foundation
when connected to the required utilities, and includes the plumbing, heating,
air-conditioning, electrical systems contained in the manufactured home.
Calculations used to determine the number of square feet in a structure shall
be based on the structure’s exterior dimensions measured at the largest
horizontal projections when erected on site. These dimensions will include all
expandable rooms, cabinets, and other projections contacting the interior
space, but do not include bay windows. For purposes of this chapter, the
measurement of length shall be determined in accordance with s. 348.07(3),

Stats.

(7) “Sublot” means a non-adjacent display lot in the same municipality.

Adm 68.03 LICENSE PERIODS AND EXPIRATION DATES. (1) BUSINESS

LICENSES. (a) General licensing period and expiration dates. The license

period for a business license is 2 years. The department may issue licenses
that start and expire on the following dates:

Date Issued ) Date Expired

February 1 January 31

April 1 March 31 All expiration
June 1 May 31 dates are in the
August 1 July 31 second year after
October 1 September 30 the date the
December 1 November 30 license was issued.

(b) Initial business licenses. The department may issue initial business licenses
that go into effect on the dates other than the first day of an even numbered
month. The licenses shall expire before the end of two years and the expiration

dates shall be as follows:

Month Issued Expiration Date
December or January Last November 30 before the end of 2 yrs.
February or March Last January 31 before the end of 2 yrs.

April or May Last March 31 before the end of 2 yrs.



June or July Last May 31 before the end of 2 yrs.
August or September Last July 31 before the end.of 2 yrs.
October or November Last September 30 before the end of 2 yrs.

(2) INDIVIDUAL LICENSES. (a) Licensing period. The department may issue a
salesperson license that remains valid until one of the following conditions

occur:

1. The business license held by the person’s current employer expires.

2. The person ceases employment with a licensed dealer.

3. The person’s employer goes out of business
4. The department suspends or revokes the person’s license.

(b) Transfer Licenses. A person whose salesperson license is invalidated by
ceasing employment with a licensed dealer may request the department to
transfer their salesperson license to a new employer without charge, as long as
the department receives the application before the new employer’s dealer license

expires.

(3) REGISTRATION PLATES. The department may register and issue plates to
business licensees for periods concurrent with the license periods described in

this section.

Adm 68.04 LICENSE AND REGISTRATION PLATE FEES. (1) The
department shall collect the fees established in the following table from
applicants before issuing their licenses or registration plates.

Type of License Type of Fee Amount
Manufactured home dealer License $100
Registration--2 plates $230
Additional plates $25
Replacement plates $25
Branch License $100
Sublot License $ 50
Salesperson License $ 8

(2) When the department issues a salesperson license for less than the
employer’s business license period, it may reduce the license fee by $4 for each
full year reduction in the salesperson license period.

Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rule:



There are currently 158 licensed mobile home dealers who employ less than 25
individuals. We are unable to determine the gross annual sales for each mobile

home dealer.

2. Reason for failing to include in the rule any of the methods specified in s.
227.114(2), Stats.:

The proposed rule increases the licensing fee by an average of $40 per year in
order to increase revenue to fully fund the program. In response to concerns
raised, the department revised the fee increases to affect all dealers equally.

3. Summary of issues raised by small businesses during the hearing of the
rule, any changes in proposed rule as a result of alternatives suggested by
small businesses and the reasons for rejecting any alternatives suggested by

small businesses:

Attached is a summary of all comments received and the Department’s
response to each comment.

4. Reporting, bookkeeping, and other procedures required for compliance with
the rule:

None.

S. Nature and cost of other measures and investments that will be required for
compliance with the rule:

None.

6. Additional cost, if any, to the agency of administering or enforcing a rule
which includes any of the methods specified under s. 227.114(2), Stats.:

None.

7. Impact on public health, safety and welfare, if any, caused by including in
the rule any of the methods specified under s. 227.114(2), Stats.:

None.

This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month commencing after the
date of publication in the Wisconsin Administratjve Register as provided in s.
227.22(2)(intro)., Stats.

Dated:/"//z/q‘j :;

“Mark D. ?ughér.)Secretary

Departmé¢nt of Administration




1996 Session

LRB or Bill No./Adm. Rule

0 ORIGINAL UPDATED ADM 66-68
FISCAL ESTIMATE {J CORRECTED [0 SUPPLEMENTAL Amendment No. if applicable
DOA-2048 (R10/92)
Subject

Transfer of mobile home regulation administrative rules from DOT to DOA under the Division of Housing, including increase of dealer fees.

Fiscal Effect
State: [0 No State Fiscal Effect

Check columns below only if bill makes a direct appropriation O Increase Costs - May be possible to absorb
or affects a sum sufficient appropriation. Within Agency’s Budget [0 Yes 0 No
[ Increase Existing Appropriation Increase Existing Revenues
[0 Decrease Existing Appropriation 00 Decrease Existing Revenues 0 Decrease Costs

0 Create New Appropriation

Local: 1 No local government costs

1. O increass Costs 3.0 Increase Revenues 5. Types of Local Governmental Units
affected:
O Permissive [ Mandatory 0O Permissive [ Mandatory 00 Towns O villages _ OCities
[ Counties O Others
[0 Decrease Costs 4. [0 Decrease Revenues [ School Districts [0 VTAE Districts

O Permissive ] Mandatory [ Permissive [J Mandatory
Fund Sources Affected Affacted Ch. 20 Appropriations

OGPR OFED OPRO ®PRS [ISEG [ SEG-S s. 20.505(7)(ii)

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate

The regulation of mobile home dealers was transferred from the DOT to DOA, Division of Housing (DOH), beginning fiscal 1933 in an effort to centralize
mobile home programs under one office. Since then DOA has had until now to carry out the routine, administrative matter of transferring the
administrative rules from DOT to DOA. Three DOT chapters covered the regulation of mobile home dealers: Trans 140, 141, & 144. To accomplish the
transfer three new DOA rules are created under this proposal: Adm 66, 67, & 68,

The new Adm rule language is identical to the language used under the old Trans chapters with the exception of Chapter Adm 68, which defines the fees
that dealers must pay. The new rule proposes a dealer fee increase,

Since DOH took over the responsibility of administering the mobile home dealer program the fund has been inadequately funded due to insufficient fee
revenue to cover the costs necessary to administer the program.. Fund shortfalls in FY 93 and FY 95 have been prevented through cost shifts or by .
using fimited GPR funds. To eliminate the annual program funding deficiency, the new rule: proposes that dealer fees be increased, -

Under the existing rule dealers with two salespeople would pay $266, under the new rule they would pay $346, or an additional $80 every two years. On
average the change results in an additional $40 per year per dealer. Assurning 158 dealers, DOH estimates tiiot the new fees would generate an
additional $6,320 annually (158 x 40), which is the amount needed to meet the costs required to administer the program based on FY 98 projections.

Long-Range Fiscal Implications
None.

Agency/Prepared by: (Name & Phone No.) Authorized Signature/Telephone No. Date

7Nl |

Paul McMahon 6-1359

TN

Ryan Gill, 6-6497




P.O. Box 8953, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 537088953
(608) 267-7990 « Toll-Free (800) 362-9472

144 County Road C
Oshkosh, Wisconsin 54904
(414) 589-4262

CAROL OWENS

WISCONSIN STATE REPRESENTATIVE

TO: Assembly Committee on Housing Members
FROM: Representative Carol Owens, Chairperson
DATE: October 23, 1997

RE: CLEARINGHOUSE RULES

Today, the following rules were referred to the Assembly Committee on Housing:

Clearinghouse Rule 96-164, relating to financial qualifications of manufactured home
dealer license applicants.

Clearinghouse Rule 96-165, relating to manufactured home dealer trade practices,
facilities and records.

Clearinghouse Rule 96-166, relating to length, expiration date and fee for licenses issued
to manufactured and mobile home dealers and salespersons and for registration plates
issued to dealers.

Please contact my office (267-7990) if you would like a copy of the rules. The deadline for
committee action on these rules is November 24, 1997. If you are interested in requesting a
hearing or submitting comments on any of these rules, please do so prior to the deadline date.

@ Recycled paper @ Soy base ink



 STATC OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
101 East Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin

Mailing Address:
Post Office Box 7864
Madison. WI 53707-7864

TOMMY G. THOMPSON
GOVERNOR

MARK D. BUGHER
SECRETARY

October 16, 1997

Honorable Fred A. Risser, President
Wisconsin Senate

119 M.L. King Jr. Blvd., Rm. 102
Madison, WI 53702

Honorable Ben Brancel, Speaker
Wisconsin Assembly
211 West, State Capitol ; )
s Madison, WI 53702 : : Lt

Dear Senator Risser and Representative Brancel:
Re: Clearinghouse Rules Nos. 96-164, 96-163 and 96-166

Enclosed, in final draft form are Chapters Adm 66, 67 and 68 relating to
Manufactured Home Dealer Financial Eligibility; Manufactured Home Dealer Trade
Practices, Facilities and Records; and Licensing Periods and Fees for Manufactured

Home Dealers and Salespersons.

Section 218.101, Stats., created in 1991 Wisconsin Act 269, authorizes the
Department of Administration to administer subchapter VI of Chapter 218 as it
relates to manufactured/mobile home dealers and salespersons engaged in the sale of
primary housing units. In July, 1992, the Mobile Home Program was transferred
from the Department of Transportation to the Department of Administration. The
proposed rules address the statutory responsibilities and obligations of the
Department under Chapter 218, Wis. Stats., and adopt the standards from the rules
originally created by the Department of Transportation for the regulation of the mobile
home program. Regulations for financial qualifications for applicants for mobile home
dealer licenses were delineated in Chapter Trans 140; the regulations for mobile
homes dealer trade practices, facilities and records were enumerated in Chapter
Trans 141: and licensing periods and fees for mobile home dealers and salespersons
were found in Chapter Trans 144.

Chapters Trans 140 and 144 are not being repealed by the Department because the
Department of Transportation has amended those chapters to regulate recreational
vehicle dealers and salespersons which are licensed by the Department of
Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles.



Honorable Fred A. Risser
Honorable Ben Brancel
October 16, 1997

Page 2

Enclosed are copies of the Legislative Council staff clearinghouse reports. All of the
comments of the Clearinghouse have been addressed in the rules. A public hearing
was held on April 24, 1997, in Madison, at which Scott Slattery of the Wisconsin
Manufactured Housing Association appeared in opposition to the rules. Attached is a
summary of the testimony received by the Department at that hearing. In addition to
the testimony provided at the hearing, written comments (attached) were also received
from Terry Funk of Future Homes. All of the comments have been addressed in an
attached summary.

cc: -Revisor of Statutes
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules



PROPOSED ORDER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION

The Wisconsin Department of Adminisctraticn proposes an order to
create Chapter Adm 68.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Administration:

Statutory Authority: ss. 16.004(1), 218.11(2) (b) 1, 218.11(2) (b)
2, 218.12(2)(b) 1, and 218.12(2) (b) 2, Stats.

Statutes Interpreted: ss. 218.01(5)(a), 218.11, and 218.12

Section 218.101, Stats., was created in 1991 Wisconsin Act 269,
authorizing the Department of Administration to administer
subchapter VI of Chapter 218 as it relates to manufactured/mobile
home dealers and salespersons engaged in the sale of primary
housing units. This Chapter establishes the period, expiration
date and fee for licenses issued to manufactured home dealers and
salespersons. It also establishes the period, expiration date and
fee for registration plates issued to dealers.

Manufactured/mobile homes dealers and salespersons have been
regulated under the former chapter Trans 144 since the program was
transferred to the Department of Administration in July, 1992.
Chapter Trans 144 is not being repealed by the Department because
it is currently used by Department of Transportation for the
regulation of recreational vehicle dealers and salespersons since
they continue to be licensed by the Department of Transportation,
Division of Motor Vehicles. '

TEXT OF RULE:
SECTION 1: Chapter Adm 68 is created to read:
Chapter Adm 68

LICENSING PERIODS AND FEES FOR
MANUFACTURED HOME DEALERS AND SALESPERSONS

Adm 68.01 PURPOSE. This chapter establishes the periods,
expiration dates and fees for licenses issued by the department
under s. 218.11 and 218.12, Stats., to manufactured home dealers
and salespersons. It also establishes the periods, expiration
dates and fees for registration plates issued to dealers.




Adm 68.02 DEFINITIONS. Words and phrases in this chapter have the

sam2 meaning as found in chs. 2.3 and 340, Stats., unless
additional interpretations are sgecifisd. In this chapter:

(1)  “ Branch” means a non-adjacsnt sales location in the same
municipality.

(2) ™ Business license” means a license issued by the department

under s. 218.11, Stats., to a mobile home dealer.
(3) * Department” means the department of administration.

(4) ™ Individual license” means a license issued by the
department under s. 218.12, Stats., to a salesperson.

(5) ™ Initial license” means a license issued to a person or
buciness which does not have a license at the time of application.

(6) " Manufactured home” or “ home” means a mobile home which is
transportable in one or more sections, which in the traveling mode,
is more than 8 feet 6 inches in width or more than 45 feet in
length, or when erected on site, is more than 340 square feet, and
which is built on a permanent chassis and designed to be used as a
dwelling with or without permanent foundation when connected to the
required utilities, and includes the plumbing, heating, air-
conditioning, electrical systems contained in the manufactured
home. Calculations used to determine the number of square feet in
a structure shall be based on the structure’s exterior dimensions
measured at the largest horizontal projections when erected on
site. These dimensions will include all expandable rooms,
cabinets, and other projections contacting the interior space, but
dc not include bay windows. For purposes of this chapter, the
measurement of length shall be determined in accordance with s.
348.07(3), Stats.

(7) * Sublot” means a non-adjacent display lot in the same
municipality.

Adm 68.03 LICENSE PERIODS AND EXPIRATION DATES. (1) BUSINESS
LICENSES. (a) General licensing period and expiration dates. The

license period for a business license is 2 years. The department
may issue licenses that start and expire on the following dates:

Date Issued Date Expired

February 1 January 31
April 1 March 31 All expiration



June 1 May 31 dates are in the

August 1 July 31 s2cond csav afner
Jctober 1 September 30 the date the
December 1 November 30 license was issued.

(b) Initial business licenses. The department may issue initial
business licenses that go into effect on the dates other than the
first day of an even numbered month. The licenses shall expire
before the end of two years and the expiration dates shall be as

follows:

Month Issued Expiration Date

December or January Last November 30 before the end of 2 yrs.
February or March Last January 31 before ‘the end of 2 yrs.
April or May Last March 31 before the end of 2 vyrs.
June or July Last May 31 before the end of 2 yrs.
August or September Last July 31 before the end of 2 yrs.
October or November Last September 30 before the end of 2
yrs.

(2) INDIVIDUAL LICENSES. (a) Licensing period. The department
may issue a salesperson license that remains valid until one of the

following conditions occur:

1. The business license held by the person’s current employer
expires.

2. The person ceases employment with a licensed dealer.
3. The person’s employer goes out of business
4. The department suspends or revokes the person’s license.

(b) Transfer Licenses. A person whose salesperson license is
invalidated by ceasing employment with a licensed dealer may
request the department to transfer their salesperson license to a
new employer without charge, as long as the department receives the
application before the new employer’s dealer license expires.

(3) REGISTRATION PLATES. The department may register and issue
plates to business licensees for periods concurrent with the
license periods described in this section.

Adm 68.04 LICENSE AND REGISTRATION PLATE FEES. (1} The
department shall collect the fees established in the following




table from applicants before issuing their licenses or registration
platces,

Type of License Type of Fee Amount
Manufactured home dealer License $100
Registration--2 plates $230
Additional plates $ 25
Replacement plates $ 25
Branch License $100
Sublot License $ 50
Salesperson License $ 26

(2) When the department issues a salesperson license for less than
the employer’s business license period, it may reduce the license
fee by $13 for each full year reduction in the salesperson license

period.
Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:
1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rule:

There are currently 162 licensed mobile home dealers who employ
less than 25 individuals. We are unable to determine the gross
annual sales for each mobile home dealer.

2. Reason for failing to include in the rule any of the methods
specified in s. 227.114(2), Stats.:

The proposed rule increases the licensing fee by an average of $58
per year in order to increase revenue to fully fund the program. In
response to concerns raised, the department revised the fee
schedule to increase dealer registration fees and lower the
salesperson fees. As a result, the fee increase should affect all

dealers equally.

3. Summary of issues raised by small businesses during the hearing
of the rule, any changes in proposed rule as a result of
alternatives suggested by small businesses and the reasons for
rejecting any alternatives suggested by small businesses:

Attached is a summary of all comments received and the Department’s
response to each comment.

4. Reporting, bookkeeping, and other procedures required for
compliance with the rule:



None.

5. Nature and cost of other measures and investments that will be
required for compliance with the rule:

None.

6. Additional cost, if any, to the agency of administering or
enforcing a rule which includes any of the methods specified
under s. 227.114(2), Stats.:

None.

7. Impact on public health, safety and welfare, if any, caused by
including in the rule any of the methods specified under s.

227.114(2), Stats.:

None.

This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month commencing
after the date of publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register
Stats

as provided in s. 227.22(2) (intro).,

{00 121943

Mark D.| Bugher, cretary
Department of Administration




1998 Session
LRB or 8ill No./Adm. Rule

0 ORIGINAL @ UPDATED ADM 66-88
FISCAL ESTIMATE {0 CORRECTED 0 SUPPLEMENTAL Amendment No. if applicable
DOA-2048 (R10/82)
Subject

Transfer of metile home regulation administrative rules from DOT to DCA under the Division of Housing, including increase of dealer fees,

Fiscal Effect
State: [0 No State Fiscal Effect

Check columns below only if bill makes a direct approgriation {1 Increase Costs - May be possible to absorb
or affects a sum sufficient appropriation. Within Agency's Budget [J Yes O No
0O Increase Existing Appropriation & Increase Existing Revenues
00 Decrease Existing Appropriation {0 Decrease Existing Revenues {0 Decrease Costs

] Create New Appropriation

Local: [J Nolocai government costs

1. [ Increase Costs 3. 0 Increasa Revenues 5. Types of Local Governmental Units
affected:
00 Permissive  [J Mandatory I Permissive [ Mandatory U Towns Ovitages . [ Cities
{J Counties OOthers
[0 Decrease Costs 4. [0 Decrease Revenues ’ {J School Districts [ VTAE Districts

[J Permissive [ Mandatory [J Permissive ] Mandatory
Fund Sources Affected Affected Ch. 20 Appropriations

OGPR OOFED OOPRO EIPRS [JSEG [ SEG-S s. 20.505(7)(ji)

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate

The regulation of mobile home dealers was transferred from the DOT to DOA, Division of Housing (DOH), beginning fiscal 1993 in an effort to centralize
mobile home programs under one office. Since then DOA has had until now to carry out the routine, administrative matter of transferring the
administrative rules from DOT to DOA. Three DOT chapters covered the regulation of mobile home dealers: Trans 140, 141, & 144, To accomplish the
transfer three new DOA rules are created under this proposal: Adm 66,67, & 68,

The new Adm rule language is identical to the language used under the old Trans chapters with the exception of Chapter Adm 68, which defires the fees
that dealers must pay. The new rule proposes a dealer fee increase.

Since DOM tock over the responsibility of administering the mobile home dealer program the fund has been inadequately funded due to insufficient fee
revenue to cover the costs necessary {o administer the program. Fund-shortfails in FY 93 and FY 95 have been prevented through cost shifts or by
using limited GPR funds. To efiminate the annual program funding deficiency, the new rule proposes that dealer fees be increased.

Under the existing rule dealers with two salespeople would pay $266, under the new rule they would pay $382, or an additional $116 every two years. On

average the change results in an additional $58 per year per dealer. Assuming 158 dealers, DOH estimates that the new fees would generate an
additional $9.164 annually (158 x 58), which is the amount needed to meet the costs required to administer the program based on FY 98 projections.

/"ﬁ

Long-Range Fiscal Implications /
7
/ et

Mone

AgencyiPrepared by: (Name & Phone No.) /\uth i eﬁvlsignatu lephone No. Date
. / f July 18, 1897
Ryan Gill, 6-6497 . 4
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WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF

RULES CLEARINGHOUSE

Ronald Skiansky David J. Stute, Director
Director Legislative Council Staff
(608) 2661946 (608) 266—1304

Richard Sweet One E. Main St, Ste. 401
Assistant Director P.O. Box 2536

(608) 2662982 Madison, W1 537012536

FAX: (608) 266-3830

CLEARINGHOUSE REPORT TO AGENCY

[THIS REPORT HAS BEEN PREPARED PURSUANT TO S. 227.15, STATS. THISIS
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LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL RULES CLEARINGHOUSE REPORT

This rule has been reviewed by the Rules Clearinghouse. Based on that review, comments are
reported as noted below:

1. STATUTORY AUTHORITY [s. 227.15 (2) (a)]

Comment Attached YES NO |~

2. FORM, STYLE AND PLACEMENT IN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (s. 227.15(2) ()]

Comment Attached YES |V~ NO

3. CONFLICT WITH OR DUPLICATION OF EXISTING RULES [s. 227.15 (2) (d)]

Comment Attached YES NO |»

4. ADEQUACY OF REFERENCES TO RELATED STATUTES, RULES AND FORMS
[s. 227.15 (2) ()]

Comment Attached - YES |V NO

5. CLARITY, GRAMMAR, PUNCTUATION AND USE OF PLAIN LANGUAGE [s. 227.15 (2) ()]

Comment Attached YES |V~ NO

6. POTENTIAL CONFLICTS WITH, AND COMPARABILITY TO, RELATED FEDERAL
REGULATIONS [s. 227.15 (2) (8)]

Comment Attached YES NO |~

7.  COMPLIANCE WITH PERMIT ACTION DEADLINE REQUIREMENTS [s. 227.15 (2) (b)]

Comment Attached YES NO |»~
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CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 96-166
Comments

[NOTE: All citations to “Manual” in the comments below are to the
Administrative Rules Procedures Manual, prepared by the Revisor of

Stas Bureau and the gislative Council Staff, dated October
1994.]

a. In the first sentence of s. Adm 68.01, “describes” should be réplaced with
“establishes.” A similar change should be made in s. Adm 68.04 (1).

b. Throughout the analysis and the text of the rule, the terms “manufactured home” and
“manufactured/mobile home” are used, apparently in reference to what the statutes refer to as
mobile homes which are “primary housing units.” Perhaps an appropriate definition of
“manufactured home” should be added to s. Adm 68.02 and that term should be used

consistently throughout the rule. See Clearinghouse Rules 96-164 and 96-165.

c. Various provisions in the rule refer to a “representative license” or “representative.”
This term is not defined in the rule or the statutes. The term “representative license” should

either be deleted or defined.
d. Ins. Adm 68.03 (1) (b), “The” should replace “Such.”
e. Section Adm 68.03 (2) (b) 1. should end with a period.
f. The terms “branch” and “sublot” in s. Adm 68.04 (1) should be defined.

a. The citation of the statutory authority for promulgation of the rule should include ss.
218.11 (2) (b) 2. and 218.12 (2) (b) 2., Stats., as those sections grant the department authority to
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establish a uniform expiration date for all licenses issued to mobile home dealers and
salespersons.

b. Ins. Adm 68.02 (intro.), it appears that the reference should be to *“chs. 218 and 340,
Stats. Chapter 341, Stats., merely cross-references the definitions in ch. 340, Stats. Also, the
(intro.) should end with “In this chapter:”.

c. The rule does not repeal ch. Trans 144. Is this intentional? See Clearinghouse Rule
96-165.

a. Ins. Adm 68.03 (1) (b), a period should be placed after “yrs”.

b. There appears to be a conflict between s. Adm 68.03 (2) (a) 2. and par. (b) (intro.).
Section Adm 68.03 (2) (a) 2. provides that a salesperson license remains valid until “(t)he person
ceases employment with the dealer or other licensed business.” It appears that under this
provision, a salesperson license remains valid as long as the salesperson is employed by any
licensed mobile home dealer. In other words, the salesperson may change his or her place of

‘employment, but as long as he or she is employed by a licensed mobile home dealer, his or her

salesperson license is valid. In contrast, s. Adm 68.03 (2) (b) (intro.) refers to a person whose
salesperson license is “invalidated by ceasing employment with a licensed dealer” and requires
the person to apply to the department for a reissuance of the salesperson license. This apparent
discrepancy should be corrected. ‘ '

In addition, s. Adm 68.03 (2) (b) (intro.) refers to licenses being invalidated by “ceasing
employment with a licensed dealer” and sets forth the conditions which must be met for
reissuance of the license. However, the previous paragraph sets forth two other scenarios under
which the license may become invalid: when the business license held by the person’s current
employer expires and when the person’s employer goes out of business. It is unclear whether the
procedure set forth in par. (b), which applies to those persons whose licenses are invalidated by
“ceasing employment” apply to the other situations described in par. (a) as well. If so, par. (b)
should be rewritten to make this explicit; if not, the rule should set forth the procedure, if any, to
be followed for reissuance of a license under those scenarios.

c. In s. Adm 68.03 (2) (b) 1., what is the purpose of making the reissuance of a
salesperson’s license dependent upon the date of expiration of the previous employer’s business
license? What assurance is there that a salesperson is aware of the date of expiration of an
employer’s business license? Would it be preferable to base the timing of the application for
reissuance of a salesperson’s license on the period of time for which he or she has been

employed by the new employer?

d. Section Adm 68.03 (2) (b) 2. requires that the person’s current employer hold “the
same type of business license” as a person’s previous employer in order to be eligible for
reissuance of his or her salesperson’s license. [t is unclear what is meant by the phrase “the same
type of business license,” because the term “business license” is a defined term and by virtue of

that definition, there is only one type of “business license.”



Summary of DOA Public Hearing
For Adm 66, 67 and 68
April 24, 1397

In attendance: Scott Slattery, Wisconsin Manufactured Housing
Associaticn (WMHA), appearing in oppositcion.

Mark Saunders, Lee Martinson, Terri Lenz and Gary Gorlen of DOA.

Listed below is a summary of the testimony presented by Mr. Slattery
of the WMHA and the Department’s responses.

Comments regarding Adm 66

1. The former Trans 140 referenced that the rule applied to mobile

’ home dealers who were selling recreational vehicles - in 218.11(3)
- in licensing for mobile homes relating to the sale of
recr2ational vehicles. The question was raised whether the
Department is creating a whole new body of regulation for the
industry or if it a transfer of regulations?

Department’s Response to No. 1: The regulations in Trans 140 for the
mobile home program transferred to the Department of Administration
from the Department of Transportation. The Department is adopting new
standards based on the former Chapters Trans 140, 141 and 144.

2. A member of the WMHA indicated that they sell both modular and
manufactured homes and if they sell only modular homes, there is
no financial requirement in Adm 66. Is there any pubklic policy
rationale for treating manufactured homes differently than
modulars?

Department’s Response to No. 2: The Department of Commerce, Divisicn
of safety and Buildings regulates modular homes and the manufacture of
* manufactured homes” pursuant to Chapter 101 of the Wisconsin
Statutes. The Department of Administration regulates and licenses
dealers of manufactured home. In short, the Department has no
jurisdiction over modular homes. This is the scheme provided by the
Legislature which the Department must follow.

3. In Adm 66.03(1), the word " may” was changed to " shall” making
it mandatory to provide all of the items listed on the financial

sheet. What is the reason for this change?

Department’s Response to No. 3: The Department has determined that
applicants must provide all of the items listed in Adm 65.03(1) (a)
chrough (g), in order to properiy evaluats applicants; therefors, the
“ may” has been changed to ™ shall” to make this information
mandatory.
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Department’s Respconse to No. 4: The words ™ mobile home” have been
deleted in Adm 66.08. The section now appiies to " dealers” as
defined in Adm 66.02(8).

5. In Adm 66.09(2), the Department eliminated the option of a bond.
The Association believes that under certain circumstances there
may be a need for a bond in order to pay off judgments. An
example would be a long-time dealer who has substantial assets but
because of how the books are handled, it shows little or no net
worth.  The Association would like to go to bonding.

Department’s Response to No. 5: The Department agrees that the
bonding option would be a good idea if there was also a review process
for claims and a hearing examiner for handling disputed-claims.
However, the department is not equipped for a bending process and,
therefore, suggests another option for responding to this concern.

The Department has amended Adm 66.09(2) (a) to reduce the financial
statement requirements for the number of homes sold and net worth

"requirements.

Comments Regarding Adm 67

1. In Adm 67.03, the language regarding relocation was eliminated and
placed in Adm 67.07. The Association requests moving the language

regarding relocation back to Adm 67.03.

Department’s regponse to No. 1l: The rule has been amended as
requested,

2. In Adm 67.04(1) (£f), homes that go onto private property do not pay
a sales tax but it is put into a use tax. The dealer can’t
disclose the sales tax per DOR regulations. In addition, there is
no title or title fees for homes on private property. Recommends
adding * if applicable” to the sales tax and titling section.

Department’s response to No 2: The requested language has been added
to this section.

3. Adm 67.04(4), includes a section regarding " cooling off period”
which appears to create a 3 day right to cancel on any sale (such
as a park listing). Recommend moving language to Adm €7.07(5)
under “ temporary sales locations.”



Department’s response to No. 3: The rule has been amended as

raguastad,

4. Recommend adding the words * if applicable” in Adm 67.07(6) (¢},
because the MV 1 and MV 11 title and registration forms do not
need to be completed for realty transactions, which ares over 50%
of the sales, and title fees are noct assessed.

Department’s response to No. 4: The requested language has been added
to this section.

5. In Adm 67.07(7), recommend deleting the word * books” and making
he word *“ record” plural.

Department’s response to No. 5: The language has been amended as
requested.

Comments regarding Adm 68

The Association reviewed the fees and it appears there is a
segregation of programs but they are co-mingled. It appears there is
some evidence that the dealer program has a smaller pool of revenues.
The Association would like the Department to justify the large
increase.

The Association objects to the large increase in salesperscon fees from -
$8 to $50. 'The Association used Steenberg Homes as an example of a
dealership with a large number of salespeople who would be impacted
more. They also used the example of modular housing which doesn’t
have licensing fees for salespersons. The Association stated that if
there is a large increase in the registration and plates, it would
impact everyone equally, not just larger businesses with a higher
number of salespeople. The Association also stated that the increase
in branch and sublots is acceptable because it is outside of the
regular scope of licensing.

The Association requests the Department to review the current amounts
and bring them in line with normal increases. Most groups use the
Consumer Price Index or other indexes for references.

The Assocciation observed that the Department’s mobile home programs
combined have $100,000 in revenue and as a whole, they are running at
a surplus. The industry just saw an increase in park fees and they
feel many are getting socked. They request further justification for

increases.

The Association is looking for evidence that general program revenue
monies were ussd to supplement the mobile home programs and request



documentation to that effect. If such documentation exists, they
would suppor:z the licensing function.

Department’s response. The Mobile Home Program has keen running a
deficit since the program was transferred from the Department of
Transportation. General purpose revenues have been supplementing the
program and staffing has been reduced to ensure continued operation.
Attached is a memo dated April 4, 1997, from Bev Tucker tc John
Eldredge, which provides a summary of the Mobile Home Program revenue
and expenditure history.

In response to the concerns raised, the department revised the
proposed fee schedyle to reflect a higher increase in the dealer
registration fee (original amendment was $200, now $230) and dropped
the salesperson fees (original amendment was $50, now $26). These
changes will result in a decrease in revenues of $1,422 from the
original amendment request. The fee increase will affect dealers
across the board.



Summary of Written Comments
on Adm 66, 67 and 68
and Department’s Response

1. Change the term ™ mobile home” to ™ manufactured home.”

Department’s Response to No. 1l: " Mobile home” 1s the term used and
defined by the Legislature in s. 218.10, Wis. Stats. However, for
clarification, the rules include a definition for ™ manufactured
home.” See sections Adm 66.02(7), 67.02(6) and Adm 68.02(6).

2. The 3 day cooling off period should only apply to manufactured
homes sold away from the dealership.

Department’s Response to No. 2: The language relating to the cooling
off period has been moved to Adm 67.07(5), in order to clarify that it
applies only to sales away from the dealership, such as expos and
trade shows.

3. Object to the proposed hike in license and registration fees.

Department’s response to No. 3: The Mobile Home Program has been
running a deficit since the program was transferred frcm the
Department of Transportation. General purpose revenues have been
supplementing the program and staffing has been reduced to ensure

. continued operation. . Attached is a memo dated April 4, 1997, from Bev
- Tucker to John Eldredge, which provides a summary of the Mobile Home

; Program revenue and expenditure history.

The department has revised the original fee schedule to reflect a
higher increase in the dealer registration fee (original amendment was
$200, now $230) and dropped the salesperson fees (original amendment
was $50, now $26). These changes will result in a decrease in
revenues of $1,422 from the original amendment request. The fee
increase will affect dealers across the board.




CORRESPONDENCE/MEMORANDUM State of Wisconsin
Department of Administration

Division of Housing

Date April 4, 1667

To. john claredge

From: Bev Tucker

Subject: Mobile Home Dealers
FY96:

The Mobile Home Dealers annual legislative authority is $37,000. The revenue received in FY96
was $20,792. Combined with the prior year revenue carryover of $6,533, provided a total of
$27,325 available. The FY96 expenses totaled $27,628. creating a $304 deficit. This does not
include the $2,000 of expenditures transferred out of dealers in April which would put the actual

deficit at $2,304.

FY93:
In FY95 revenue of $24,714 was received and combined with the FY94 carryover of $9,902, had

a total of $34,616 available. The legislative authority was $37,000. Total expenses were
$28,083 leaving a balance of $6,533.

FY94: |
Revenues received in FY94 were $23,982 and with the negative carryover from FY93 of $913
totaled $23,069 available. The legislative authority was $34,000. Expenditures in FY94 totaled

$13,167 leaving a balance of 9,902.

23]

YO93: ,
This was the first year the program was in DOA. Revenues of $21.430 were received.
Legislative authority was $31,000. The total expenditures of $22,343 created a deficit of $913.

-~

The low or no deficits in each fiscal year is deceiving. In the first three fiscal years many of the
mobile home costs were picked up by the divisions GPR Admin budget. It is difficult to say what
these costs were without spending a lot of time researching it. In addition, we were very careful
in keeping the budget to be within the projected revenue. The costs to actually effectively run the
program are not necessarily what we budgeted.

cc Terri Schmidt
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DOA Public Hearing for
ADM 66, 67, 68

April 24, 1997

REGISTRATION FOR TESTIMONY

N’

Name: %9,7 ) 34/77'/ v
/

Address: S22 5\7%7;-” S7T

Phone: Bof - T55-5/7/

Representing: 4/ Afowern s Lbuspie Livceoc.

Please place a check mark by the appropriate statement.
( ) Appearing in favor.
(_3— ) Appearing in opposition.

( ) Appearing for informational purposes only.
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FUTURE HOMES
W6474 MOON SHADOW DRIVE
GREENVILIE, ®I 54942
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M3. Donna Sorenson
Department of Administration
P.0O. Box 7864

Madlson, WI 53707-7864

Dear Ms. Sorenson:

Enclosed are some comments regarding the proposed changes in the
mabile home dealer regulations:

A. Change the term "MOBILE HOME" to "MANUFACTURED HOME"”. This
updates the terminolouyy withla our induatry.

B. ADM 67.03 Advertising and Sales Representatlons:
a. Update term "USED" to "PRE-OWNED". More inline wvilth
our industry.

C. ADM 67.05 Selllng Agreements:
a. #4 - Cooling off Perlod - There should not be a 3-day

coollng off period on manufactured homes sold away from
the dealership. My reasoning; flrst of all customers are
comlng tc us, we are nol yoing door to door selling.
A dealer who sells only Consignment Homes would face a
hardshlp; first to hls own dealershlip and second to his
customer who he ls the actling agent for. Furthermore, if
people declde to sell thelr home on thelr own they would
not be subjected to thts 3-day coolling off period so why
bother listing the home with a dealership. Agaln, the
customer ipltiataed the sale by calling or coming lnto the
dealexship therefore 1t shouldn't matter where the sale is
consummated. All conslignment sales are usually sold in
the home when the home ls conslgned or set up in a park.

D. ADM 68.04 License and Reglistration Fees:

a. I am against the proposed hike in fees. The current fees
are already substantial. The percentage hike that is
proposed is way touu high. Thls 13 more like a penalty
to dealershlips and salespersons than the actual cost of
doing business. Perhaps the funds that are needed to me=:
your projectlons ceuld be obtained through other sources
or revenues.

These are my views and suqgestlions which ! hope would be considered
and weuld ¢ wguitable 2 all narties concerned,

dincerely,

TERRY FUNK, OWNER
FUTURE HOMES
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3 § . Wisconsin Department of Transportation
'?41},-,“”,'.\,\\\\\‘\ Tommy G. “hemosan Chasl2s M. Tompaon CIVISION QF MOTOR VEHICLES
Govsior Secretary 4302 Sheboygan Avenus
P.O. Box 7949 )

Macison, Wl 537077449
November 13, 1992

Terry Funk

Future Homes

W 6490 Greenville Rd
Appleton, Wisconsin 54915

Dear Mr. Funk:

Thanks for your follow up letter to your odginal inquiry of June 1, 1992. I apologize that
you've not received a response any sooner,

You need to know when a 3-day right to cancel applies to the sale of a mobile home offered
for sale in a park. The answer is as follows:

The 3-day right to cancel dues not apply anytime the customer initiates the
sale by contacting the dealer at the dealership regardless of where the sale is
consummated,

The 3-day right Lo cancel does not apply anytime the dealer initiates the sale
with a particular customer and cunsummates the sale at the dealership.

The 3-day right to cancel does apply anytime the dealer initiates the sale with
a particular customer and consummutes the sale away from the dealecship.

Z
%

If I understand the situation you've described in the letter, the 3-day right to cancel does not
apply because the customer initlated the sale by calling you at the dealership. When that
happeass, it docsn't matter where the sale is consummatcd.

We tried to recognize the special situations when there wasn’t a straight yes or no answer Lo
when the 3-day right to cancel applies, and further explain those situations below the chari.
It wasn't a3 clear as we'd hoped it would be. I hope this explanation clarifies the situation
for you. If you've got more questions, please feel free to give me a call at (608) 267-0404.

Sincerely,
L”\....a

0an Loden
Supervisor
Business Licensing, Dealer Section

OTua
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