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State of Wisconsin
Department of Health and Family Services

Tommy G. Thompson, Governor

Joe Lecan, Secretary

December 13, 1996

The Honorable Richard Grobschmidt, Co-Chairperson
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules
Room 404, 100 North Hamilton

Madison, Wisconsin

Dear Senator Grobschmidt:

The Department of Health and F amily Services has two emergency rulemaking orders in
effect that will expire before permanent rules replace the emergency rules unless the
effective periods of the emergency orders are extended. Pursuant to s. 227.24(2), Stats., |
ask the Joint Committee to exiend the effective pertods of these emergency rules by the
number of days indicated below. The emergency rules are as follows:

(1) Operation of Public Swimming Pools. These emergency rules, amendments to HSS
172, clarify and update the definition of public swimming pool, update lifeguard
qualifications and add rescue tubes as required lifeguard equipment. Emergency rules
were necessary because of ambiguity in the definition of “public swimming pool,” which
affected enforcement, and recent changes made by the American Red Cross and the
American Heart Association in lifeguard training courses. The Joint Committee on
October 16, 1996, extended the effective period of the emergency rules by 60 days,
through January 17, 1997, Replacement permanent rules were sent to the Legistature on
October 14, 1996, for review by standing committees and were filed on November 22,
1996, for a February 1, 1997, effective date. Therefore, I request an extension of the
effective period of the emergency rules by 14 days, through January 31, 1997. If the
emergency rule effective period is not extended, in the interim the Department will not
have the authority to take action against some pool operators for violating the rules.

(2) Coverage of School-Based Medical Services by the Medical Assistance Program.
These emergency rules, HSS 101.03, 105.53 and 107.36, implement s, 49.45(39), Stats.,
as created by 1995 Wisconsin Act 27, which establishes “school medical services” as a
new covered benefit under Medical Assistance. The statute directs the Department to
promulgate rules for administration of the benefit, and s, 9126(7m) of Act 27 directs the
Department to publish the rules quickly by using emergency rulemaking procedures but
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Senator Grobschmidt
December 13, 1996
Page 2

without having to make a finding of emergency. Only school districts and CESAs may
be certified providers of the services. The rules refer to these services as “school-based
services” and specify the particular covered services and conditions for reimbursement.
The Joint Committee on October 16, 1996, extended the effective period of the
emergency rules by 60 days, through January 11, 1997 Replacement permanent rules
were sent to the Legislature on October 21, 1996, for review by standing committees, and
were filed on December 5, 1996, for a February 1, 1997, effective date. Therefore, |
request an extension of the effective period of the emergency rules by 20 days, through
January 31, 1997.

Copies of the emergency rule orders are attached to this letter. If you have any questions
about the rules relating to operation of public swimming pools, you may contact Steve
Keifer of the Department’s Division of Health at 266-8282. If vou have any questions
about the rules relating to Medical Assistance coverage of school-based medical services,
you may contact Marjorie Hannon Pifer of the Department’s Division of Health at
266-1940,

Sincerely,

Secretary

Attachments

c¢  Representative Grothman
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. ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
AMENDING AND CREATING RULES

FINDING OF EMERGENCY

The Department of Health and Social Services finds that an emergency exists and that
the rules included in this order are necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health, safety or welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The Department and agent local government health departments regulate the operation
of public swimming pools under the authority of s. 254.47, Stats., to ensure that these
facilities comply with health, sanitation and safety standards established by the Department by
rule. The Department rules are in ch. HSS 172, Wis. Adm. Code. No public swimming pool
may operate without having a permit from the Department or an agent local government health
department.

This rulemaking order clarifies and updates the definition of public swimming pool,
updates requirements for lifeguards and adds rescue tubes as required lifeguard equipment.

Section 254.47(1), Stats., directs the Department to define “public swimming pool,” in
rule, for purposes of the regulatory program. The current rule definition has not been
changed for many years and has some resulting ambiguity, one reason being that some types
of facilities are called by new names.

The requirements under s. HSS 172.05(2)(a)3. for lifeguard certification have to be
modified due to changes in American Red Cross and the American Heart Association courses.
The rule changes will ensure that all lifeguards are qualified to fulfill their duties as specified
in ch. HSS 172. The exception under s. HSS 172.05(2)(c) to lifeguard certification for
persons holding a current American Red Cross Water Safety Instructor certificate is removed.
This is because the American Red Cross Water Safety Instructor certification course no longer
includes course work in lifesaving methods. The change, however, will allow persons
currently certified under the old program to continue the use of that certification until it
expires. .

New lifeguard training incorporates use of rescue tubes. These tubes are therefore
made required equipment when lifeguards are provided.

These changes are needed to protect the health and assure the safety of persons using
public swimming pools.



ORDER

Pursuant to authority vested in the Department of Health and Social Services by ss.
227.11(2), 227.24(1)(a) and 254.47(1), Stats., the Department of Health and Social Services
hereby amends and creates rules interpreting s. 254.47, Stats., as follows:

SECTION 1. HSS 172.03(12) is amended to read:

HSS 172.03 (12) “Public swimming pool” means a pool used for one or more purposes
described in sub. (10) except a pool serving fewer than 3 individuat-residential-quarters
residences such as homes or apartments used by the owner or persons making the property
their primary residence. A public swimming pool includes a pool installed in a “place of

emg!ozr_l_lent,” as defined in s. 101.012)(H), Stats., or in a “public building,” as defined in s.

101.01(2)(g), Stats., and any pool used on a regular basis by persons other than the residents.
A public swimming pool includes but is not limited to a pool serving or installed for the state

or any political subdivision of the state—including-a-school-district; a pool serving or installed
at 2 motel, hotel, resort, tourist rooming house, bed and breakfast establishment, campground,
camp, club, association, housing development or school, or a religious, charitable or youth
organization; a mobile pool; and a pool at an educational or rehabilitative institution. Included
in the meaning of 2 “public swimming pool” are buildings, equipment and appurtenances,
irrespective of whether or nota fee is charged for their use.

SECTION 2. HSS 172.05 (2)(2)3. is amended to read:

HSS 172.05(2){(a)3. Except as provided in subd.4., Every every lifeguard shall hold a
current American Red Cross Lifeguard Training certiﬁcate,—m-ﬁuncricaﬂ-kedﬁﬁsrﬁﬁic
Eifeguarding-certificate, a Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) Lifeguard certificate,
a National Pool and Waterpark Lifeguard Training (NPWLT) program certificate or other
lifeguard certification approved by the department. In addition, every lifeguard shall hold 2
current standard-first-aid certificate from for the American Red Cross Community First Aid
and Safety Course or other first aid certification approved by the department and a current
certificate from for the American Red Cross CPR for the Professional Rescuer Course or the
American Heart Association BLS Health Care Provider Course or other equivalent
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification approved by the department for-the

SECTION 3. HSS 172.05(2)(@)4. is created to read:

HSS 172.05(2)(a)4. A lifeguard with approved certification prior to }aﬁuary 1, 1996
may continue to use that certification until it expires. At renewal the certification shall comply
with the requirements of subd. 3.




SECTION 4. HSS 172.05(2)(c) is amended to read:

HSS 172.05(2)(c) When a pool is used for instructional purposes, an instructor holding
a current American Red Cross Water Safety Instructor (WS certificate and-a

» ¥ - i

Assocta 2y-St s-subsection: with training in
«Emergency Water Safety” may substitute for a lifeguard re ired in this subsection until the
current certification expires or comes up for renewal or until July 1, 1997, whichever is
earliest. WSI certification received after January 1, 1995 with training in “Community Water
Safety” does not meet the requirements of this subsection. WSI certification received after
January 1, 1996, does not meet the requirements of this subsection.

iy ] IATIO -

SECTION 5. HSS 172.05(4)(b) is renumbered 172.05(4)(b)1.

SECTION 6. HSS 172.05(4)(b)2. is created to read:

HSS 172.05 (4)(b) 2. When lifeguards are provided, a rescue tube with harness shall
be provided to each lifeguard on duty.

The rules contained in this order shall take effect as emergency rules upon p\iblication
in the official state newspaper, as provided in s. 227.24(1)(c), Stats.

Wisconsin Department of Health
and Social Services

Dated: June 12, 1996 Byg. ;&&%M
@Joscph Leean
Secretary

SEAL:
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ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
CREATING RULES

The Legislature in s. 9126(7m) of 1995 Wisconsin Act 27 directed the Department to
promuigate rules required under s. 49.45(39), Stats., as created by Act 27, by using
emergency rulemaking procedures, but exempted the Department from the requirement
under s. 227.24(1) and (3}, Stats., to make a finding of emergency. These are the rules.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and Social Services

The 1995-97 Budget Act, 1995 Wisconsin Act 27, created s. 49.45 (39), Stats., which
requires the Department of Health and Social Services to reimburse school districts and
Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESAs) for Medical Assistance school-based
services. This rule-making order describes the covered services: speech, language,
audiology and hearing services; occupational therapy; physical therapy; nursing services,;
psychological services, counseling and social work; developmental testing and assessments;
transportation; and certain durable medical equipment. The order also explains the record-
keeping collaboration with other health care providers required of school-based service
providers.

QORDER

Pursuant to authority vested in the Department of Health and Social Services by
s. 49.45(39), Stats., as created by 1995 Wisconsin Act 27, and s. 9126(7m) of 1995 Act 27,
the Department of Heaith and Social Services hereby create rules interpreting s. 49.45(39),
Stats., as created by 1995 Wisconsin Act 27, as follows:
SECTION 1. HSS 101.03(24m), (78m), (78r) are created to read:

HSS 101.03(24m) “CESA” means a cooperative educational service agency under
ch. 116, Stats.

(78m) “IEP” means an individualized education pian developed under s. 115.80(4), Stats.

(78r) “IFSP” means an individual family service program developed under s. 51.44, Stats.

SECTION 2. HSS 105.53 is created to read:

HSS 105,53 SCHOOL-BASED SERVICES (1) For MA certification, school-based

service providers shall be school districts under ch. 120, Stats., and cooperative educational

service agencies (CESAs) under ch. 116, Stats.




(2) As of July 1, 1996, no school district or CESA may be certified as a provider of
nursing services under ss. HSS 105.19 and 105.20, physical therapy services under s. H8S
105.27, occupational therapy services under s. HSS 105.28, speech and language pathology
services under ss. HSS 105.29 and 105.30, audiology services under s. HSS 105.31 or

transportation services under s. HSS 105.38.

SECTION 3. HS8S 107.36 is created to read:

HSS 107.36 SCHOOL-BASED SERVICES (1) COVERED SERVICES (a) General.

1. School-based services covered by the MA program are services described in this
section that are provided by a school district or CESA. The school district or CESA shall
ensure that individuals who deliver the services, whether employed directly by or under

contract with the school district or CESA, are licensed under s. PI 3.

2. For each recipient of school-based services, the provider shall keep a record
containing, at a minimum, all of the following:

a. The recipient's first and last name and date of birth;

b. The prescription or, if referred, the referral for the service;

c. Documentation used to develop the recipient’s IEP or IFSP and in the annual revision
of the IEP or IFSP; and

d. Annual documentation of the individual's progress toward treatment goals, changes in
the individual's physical or mental status and changes in the treatment plan.

3. For each date of service, the provider shall keep a record containing all of the
following:

a. The date of service;

b. The general type of service provided;

CH03036.JC/CODE -2~




¢. A brief description of the specific service provided;

d. The unit of service delivered as defined through handbooks distributed by the
department under s. HSS 108.02(4);

e. A description and the cost of each equipment item with sufficient detail to allow the
MA program to determine the reimbursement rate;

f. A statement of whether the procedure was provided in a group or individual setting;

g. For each service provided, a brief description of the recipient’s response to the service
and progress; and

h. The service provider's signature.

4. The required annual audit of school district accounts under s. 120.14, Stats., and the
audit of CESA receipts and expenditures under s. 115.28(3m), Stats., shall include evidence
through instructions distributed by the department under s. HSS 108.02(4) that requirements
under s. 49.45(39)(b), Stats., for paying expenses and billing are being met.

5. When a recipient in a school district or CESA receive MA-covered services from both
a school-based service provider and an MA-assigned health maintenance organization
(HMO), the school-based service provider shall contact the HMO in order to create and sign
a joint memorandum of understanding to coordinate the provision of services. These
contacts shall be documented. When a recipient receives similar services from both an MA
fee-for-service provider and a school-based service provider, the school-based service
provider shall document, at least annually, regular contacts with the MA fee-for-service
provider, and provide the MA fee-for-service provider with copies of the recipient’s |IEP or
IFSP and components of the muitidisciplinary team evaluation under s. 115.80(3) and (5),
Stats., upon request.

6. Consuiltation, case monitoring and coordination related to developmental testing
under the individuals with disabilities education act, 20 USC 1400 to 1485, are included in

CHO03036.JC/CODE 3-




the MA-covered services described in this subsection when an IEP or IFSP results from the
testing. Consultation, case monitoring and coordination for IEP or IFSP services are also
included in the covered services described in this subsection.

7. Notwithstanding s. HSS 106.13 (intro.) and (1)(c), requirements under chs. HSS 101
to 108 as they relate to school-based services, to the extent consistent with 42 CFR ch. IV,
may be waived if they are inconsistent with other federal mandates. Services provided
between July 1, 1985 and June 30,1996 may be bilied through June 30, 1997, 10 the extent
allowed by federal law, notwithstanding s. HSS 106.03(3)(b}1. |

(b) Speech, language, hearing and audiological services. Speech, language, hearing

and audiological services for a recipient with a speech, language or hearing disorder that
adversely affects the individual's functioning are covered school-based services. These
services include evatuation and testing to determine the individual’s need for the service,
recommendations for a course of treatment and treatment. The services may be delivered to
an individual or to a group of 210 7 individuals. The services shall be performed by or under
the direction of a speech and language pathoiogist licensed by the department of public

instruction under s. P1 3.35 or by an audiologist licensed by the department of public
instruction under s. PI 3.355, and shall have a physician referral and be identified in the

recipient’s |EP or IFSP.

{c) Occupational therapy services. Occupational therapy services which identify, treat,
rehabilitate, restore, improve or compensate for medical problems that interfere with age-
appropriate functional performance are covered school-based services. These services
include evaluation, recommendations for a course of treatment, and rehabilitative, active or
restorative treatment services. The services may be delivered to an individual or to a group

of 2 to 7 individuals. The services shall be performed by or under the direction of an

CH03036.JC/CODE -4




occupational therapist licensed by the department of public instruction under s. P1 3.36 and

shall be prescribed by a physician and identified in the recipient’s |IEP or IFSP.

(d) Physical therapy services. Physical therapy services which identify, treat, rehabilitate,
restore, improve or compensate for medical problems are covered school-based services.
These services include evaluations to determine an individual's need for physical therapy,
recommendations for a course of treatment, and therapeutic exercises and rehabilitative
procedures. The services may be delivered to an individual orto a group of 2t0 7
individuals. The services shall be performed by or under the direction of a physical therapist

licensed by the department of public instruction under s. P1 3.37 and shall be prescribed by a

physician and identified in the recipient’s IEP or IFSP.

(e} Nursing services. Professicnal nursing services relevant to the recipient’'s medical
needs are covered school-based services. These services include evaluation and
management services, including screens and referrals for treatment of health needs;
treatment: medication management; and explanations given of treatments, therapies and
physical or mental conditions to family members or school district staff. The services shali be
performed by a registered nurse licensed under s. 441.08, Stats., or a licensed practical
nurse licensed under s. 441,10, Stats., or be delegated under nursing protocols. The
services shall be prescribed or recommended by a physician or an advanced practice nurse
as defined under s. N 8.02(1) with prescribing authority granted under s. 441 .16(2), Stats.,
and shall be identified in the recipient’s |EP or IFSP.

{f) Psychological counseling and social work services. Psychological counseling and
social work services relevant to the recipient’s mental health needs with the intent to
reasonably improve the recipient’s functioning are covered school-based services. These

services include testing, assessment and evaluation that appraise cognitive, emotional and

CHO03036.JC/CODE -5-




social functioning and self-concept; therapy or treatment that plans, manages and provides a
program of psychological counseling or social work services to individuals with psychoiogicai
or behavioral problems; and crisis intervention. The services may be delivered to an
individual or to a group of 2 to 10 individuals. The services shall be performed by & school
psychologist, school counselor or school social worker licensed by the department of public

instruction under ch. P13, The services shall be prescribed or referred by a physician or a
psychologist licensed under s. 455.04(1), Stats., and shall be identified in the individual's IEP

or IFSP.

(9) Developmental testing and assessments under IDEA. Developmental testing and

assessments under the individuals with disabilities education act (IDEA), 20 USC 1400 t0
1485, are covered school-based services when an IEP or IFSP results. These services
include evaluations, tests and related activities that are performed to determine if motor,
speech, language or psychoiogical problems exist, of to detect developmental lags for the
determination of eligibility under IDEA. The services shall be performed by a special
education teacher, diagnostic teacher or other school district staff licensed by the department

of public instruction under ch. P1 3. The services are also covered when performed by a

therapist, psychologist, social worker, counselor Of nurse licensed by the department of

public instruction under ch. PI 3 as part of their respective duties.

(h) Transportation. Transportation services provided to individuals who require special

transportation accommodations in vehicles equipped with a ramp or lift are covered school-
based services if the recipient receives an MA-covered service on the day transportation is
provided. These services include transportation from the recipient’s home to and from
school on the same day if the school-based service is provided in the school, and

transportation from school to a service site and back to school or home if the school-based

CHO03036.JC/CODE -6-




service is provided at a non-school location. Transportation shall be performed by a schooi
district, CESA or contracted provider using vehicles equipped with a ramp or lift. A
prescription from a physician or advanced practice nurse, as defined under s. N 8.02(1), with
prescribing authority granted under s. 441.16(2), Stats., is required to demonstrate the
recipient’s need for special transportation. The service shall be included in the !EP or IFSP,
The covered service that the recipient is transported to and from shall meet MA reguirements
for that service under ch. HSS 105 and this chapter.

(i) Durable medical equipment. Durable medical equipment except as covered in s.
HSS 107.24 is a covered service if the need for the equipment is identified in the recipient’s
IEP or IFSP, the equipment is recipient-specific, the equipment i not duplicative of
equipment the recipient currently owns and the equipment is for the recipient’s use at school
and home. The recipient shall own the equipment, not the school district or the CESA.

(2) LIMITATIONS (a) Age limit. School-based services may only be provided to MA-
~ eligible recipients under 21 years of age, or for the school term during which an MA-eligible
recipient becomes 21 years of age.

(b) Medically necessary. School-based services shall be medically necessary. In this
paragraph “medically necessary” has the meaning prescribed in s. HSS 101.03 (96m} and in
addition means services that:

1. ldentify, treat, manage or address a medical problem or a mental, emotional or
physical disability;

2. Are identified in an IEP or an IFSP;

3. Are necessary for a recipient to benefit from special education, as defined in s. Pl

11.02(48);

CH03036.JC/CODE ' -7~



4. Are referred by a physician or prescribed by a physician, an advanced practice nurse,
as defined under s. N 8.02(1), with prescribing authority granted under s. 441.1 6(2), Stats.,
where appropriate, or a psychologist, where appropriate; and

5. Meet the requirements under s. 49.45(39), Stats.

(3) NON-COVERED SERVICES. Services not covered as school-based services are the
following:

(a) Art, music and recreational therapies;

(b) Services that are strictly educational, vocational or pre-vocational in nature, or that
are otherwise without a defined medical component;

(c) Services that are not in the recipient’s IEP or IFSP;

(d) Services performed by a provider not specifically certified under s. HSS 105.53;

(e) General classroom instruction and programming;

(H) Staff development;

{g) In-school services to school staff and parents;

(h) General research and evaluation of the effectiveness of school programs;

(i} Administration or coordination of gifted and talented programs or student assistance
programs;

(j) Kindergarten or other routine screening provided free of charge uniess resulting in an
|IEP or |FSP referral;

(k) School health program services that are not in an 1EP or IFSP;

{) Diapering;

(m) Durable medical equipment covered under s. HSS 107.24; and

(n) Non-medical feeding.

CHO03036.JC/CODE -8-




The rules contained in this order shall take effect as emergency rules upon publication in
official newspaper, as provided in s. 227.24(1)(c), Stats.

Wisconsin Depariment of Health and
Social Services

Dated: June 6, 1996 %»( /é»\_

Jo Leean
tary

SEAL:

CHO03036.JC/CODE -9-
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The 1995~97 Budget Act, 1995 Wisconsin Aet 27, added school medical services as a
covered benefit under the Medical Assistance (MA)program. Section 49.45(39)(b)
and {(c), Stats., as created by Act 27, directed the Department to promulgate
rules to implement the new covered benefit. These are the rules.

Under the rules, school districts and cooperative educational service agencies
(CESAs)} are identified as MA-certified providers of schoocl-based medical services
and may claim reimbursement from the Department for part of the costs of the
services they provide to children who are eligible for Medical Assistance. The
rules specify the covered services, record-keeping requirements and requirements
for coordinating service provision with MA-assigned health maintenance
organizations and MA fee-for-service providers serving the same children.

School districts and CESAs are not required under 8.49.45(39), Stats., as created
by Act 27, or by these rules to provide school-based medical services to certain
students, but if they do and if the students are MA-clients, they can claim
reimbursement from the Department for part of the costs of the services.

These rules will not affect the expenditures or revenues of state government or
local governments. All costs were considered by the Legislature when school
medical services were made a covered MA benefit.

Lorng-Range Fiscal Implications
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
201 East Washington Avenue
P.C. Box 7946

Madison, W1 33707-7946
Telephone: (608) 266-7552
FAX: (608) 266-1784

Tommy G. Thompson
Governor

Richard C. Wegner
Acting Secretary

State of Wisconsin
Department of Workforce Development

December 16, 1996

The Honorable Richard Grobschmidt The Honorable Glenn Grothman
Room 404, 100 N. Hamilton Street 125 West, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 53702 Madison, Wisconsin 53702

Dear Senator Grobschmidt and Representative Grothman:

Administrative rule DWD 56, relating to the administration of child care funds,

was promulgated as an emergency rule on July 1, 1996, under ss. HSS 55.70 to 55.76. The
emergency rule was amended, effective August 13, 1996, to repeal the copayment schedule
under s. HSS 55.76(5). The Governor appointed a Child Care Working Group to formulate
recommendations to revise the copayment schedule.

The Wisconsin Legislative Council assigned Clearinghouse Rule number 96-140 to DWD 56.
The Clearinghouse Report contained several comments for the Department to consider.

A public hearing was held on DWD 56 on September 17, 1996 and the deadline for written
testimony was held open until September 24, 1996. The rule was submitted to the presiding
officers of the Legislature on October 23, 1996. The Senate Committee on Labor held a
public hearing on December 4, 1996.

A 60 day extension of the emergency rule was granted on November 20, 1996, and will
expire on January 26, 1997. The Department expects to file the permanent rule early in
January. Since the permanent rule will not be effective until March 1, 1997, the
Department is requesting a second 60 day extension for emergency rule DWD 56.

If this emergency rule is not extended, the administrative rules would conflict with the
statutory provisions of 1995 Wisconsin Act 289, which implemented key changes to child
care policies. On the basis of emergency rules promulgated in June 1996, regulations were
implemented statewide for administration of child care funds. Failure to extend the
emergency rule would cause confusion and disruption to the child care funding program at a
time when the state is gearing up to implement Wisconsin Works {(W-2].

Thank you for your consideration of this request. Please contact Katie Mnuk, the
Department’s Legislative Liaison, at 7-3200, if you have any questions concerning this
request,

Sincerely,

(JCM)V

Richard C. Wegner
Acting Secretary

SEC-7792-E (R. 07/96)




SECTIONS HSS 5§5.70 TO 55.76, WiS. ADM. CODE

EMERGENCY RULE RELATING TO
THE ADMINISTRATION OF CHILD CARE FUNDS
AND REQUIRED CO-PAYMENTS

Pursuant to the authority vested in the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development by
§§46.98(2)(b), (2r)(d), (4)(d) and (e)2, and (5)(e), the Department of Workforce Development
hereby repeals rules interpreting §46.98, Stats,, relating to the administration of child care funds
and required co-payments.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Workforce Development finds that an emergency exists and that the attached
rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety and welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

Congress has just enacted welfare reform legislation which makes major changes to the federal
welfare system, in many cases replacing federal entitiements with block grants to the states. The
Governor has directed the creation of a Child Care Working Group to analyze the impact that the
federal legislation will have on child care in Wisconsin and on the Wisconsin Works program, and
to analyze and identify effective methods and funding sources to increase child care options and
expand the availability of affordable child care. Under these circumstances, it is necessary to
withdraw the schedule for child care co-payments and the phase-in co-payment formula which
were implemented by emergency rule on July 1 of this year. This will avoid the administrative
problems and costs that would otherwise be incurred if these rules are changed again as a result of
the new federal law.

Analysis

This rule amends the emergency rule of July 1, 1996, to repeal the co-payment schedule for new

applicants applying for W-2 child care and the phase-in co-payment formula for families currently

receiving child care assistance. (This effectively deletes Item #2 of the original
analysise)

SECTION 1. HSS 55.76(5), as created by the emergency rule of July 1, 1996, is

repealed.
SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DATE. This emergency rule shall take effect upon
publication in the official state newspaper in accordance with §227.24, Stats.

(End)




6-28-94

ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
REPEALING AND RECREATING RULES

The Legislature in s. 275(2) of 1995 Wisconsin Act 289 directed to Department to
promulgate rules relating to public assistance required under chs. 46, 48 and 49, Stats., as
affected by the Acts of 1995, before July 1, 19986, for the period before permanent rules
take effect, by using emergency rulemaking procedures but without having to make a
finding of emergency. These are public assistance-related rules. They are for
administration of child care funds. They will take effect on July 1, 19986.

Analysis Prepared by the Repartment of Health and Social Services

The Department’s rules for county agency, tribal agency and other child care
administrative agency administration of funds for child day cars under s. 46.98, Stats., are
revised by this order to bring the rules into compliance with Statute changes made by 1995
Wisconsin Acts 27 and 289 and changes in federal regulations, including federal
regulations for child care and development black grant funding, 45 CFR Parts 98 and 99,
and at-risk child care, 45 CFR Part 257, since the rules were last revised in late 1991: to
make policies relating to eligibility for low-income child care more like child care eligibility
policies under the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills (JOBS) training program under
42 USC 682 and s. 49.193, Stats.; to prevent and deal with fraud; and to clarify the
applicability of certain policies.

Key changes are the following:

1. Income Eligibility

income eligibility for low income child care is changed to be in compliance with
changes made in s. 46.98(4), Stats., by Act 289.

2. Costs Charged to Parents

Parent co-payment responsibilities are revised to be those established in state law
based on family income and the cost of care.

3. Eligibility for Parents in Trainina or Educational Programs

Parent eligibility to receive fow-income child care funds when the parents are in
training or educational programs is modified so that only parents under 20 years of age
enrolled in high schoo! or an equivalent program are eligible, in compliance with Act 289
changes in the statutes.

4. Loss of Eligibility

A local agency is permitted to determine that a parent is no longer eligible for child
care funds if the parent fails to make raquired Co-payments or provides false information to
the agency about income or other matters affecting eligibility.



5. R very of Fun

Rules are added in compliance with 1895 Wisconsin Act 27 to provide for recovery
of funds from a parent if the parent was not eligible for the child care funds, and for
recovery of an overpayment made to a provider when the provider is responsible for the
overpayment.

6. imbursemen

Local agencies are permitted to reimburse parents under certain circumstances for
the cost of child care services or to make funds available to parents for the purchase of
child care services, and local agencies are directed when to reimburse child care providers
on the basis of authorized units of service or for days of attendance.

7. Authorized Child Care Providers

Local agencies are permitted to make payments, under certain conditions, to child
care providers who are not licensed or certified, including:

a. When an AFDC recipient is involved in orientation, enrollment or initial
assessment in the JOBS program.

b. When child care is on-site and short-term for parents in training or education
programs.

c. When short-term care is needed for a child who is ill and not allowed to

receive care from a regulated provider.

8. Higher Rates for Higher Quality Care

Local agencies are required to pay higher rates for child care to providers who meet
higher quality of care standards, as allowed under federal regulations.

9.  Reimbursement Rate Categories

Reimbursement rates are required for two age categories and five provider types, a
change from earlier policy.

10. limination_of Rules for Respi il r

_ Rules for respite child care are eliminated, now that there is no longer a separate
funding program. The 1995-97 state budget folded funding for respite child care into
general community aids allocations for counties.

QRDER

Pursuant to authority vested in the Department of Health and Social Services by
$8. 46.98(2)(b), (2ri{d}), (4){d} and (e)2. and (5)(e} and 227.1 1(2), Stats., and 5. 275(2) of
1995 Wisconsin Act 289, the Department of Health and Social Services hereby repeals and
recreates rules interpreting s. 46.98, Stats., as affected by 1985 Wisconsin Acts 27 and
289, as follows:
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SECTION 1. HSS 55.70 to 55.76 are repealed and recreated to read:

Subchapter VIi - Administration of Child Care Funds

H 70 AUTHORI PURP AND APPLICABILITY. This subchapter is
promulgated under the authority of ss. 46.98(2)(b), (2r)(d), (4}{d) and (e)2. and (5)(e) and
227.11(2), Stats., to provide definitions, procedures and standards for the administration
of child care funds, including the distribution to county agencies of low-income child care
funds under s. 46.98(4)(a), Stats., the use of those funds by county or triba! agencies or
JOBS administrative agencies and the eligibility of parents for low-income child care for
their children. This subchapter applies to the department, county and tribal agencies,
JOBS administrative agencies, private agencies under contract to administer child care
funds, both licensed and certified providers of child care and sligible parents.

HSS 55.71 DEFINITIONS. The definitions in subch. Vi apply to this subchapter,

except the definition of "parent” under s. HSS 55.56(12). in addition, in this subchapter:

{1) "AFDC" means aid to familiss with dependent children, a public assistance
pragram under title IV-A of the Social Security Act of 1935, as amended, ss. 49.19 to
49.41, Stats., and ch. HSS 201.

(2) "Center slots™ or "slots” means the number of places for children within the
licensed capacity of a day care center.

{3) "Child care administrative agency™ means a county agency, tribal agency, JOBS
administrative agency, food stamp employment and training program administrative agency
or other agency having a contract with the department to administer child care funds.

(4) "Child care funds” means funding allocated by the state to child care
administrative agencies for child care purposes under ss. 46.98(3), 49.191, 49.193, 49.26
or 49.27, Stats.

(8) "Child care price” means the amount regularly charged by a provider to a parent
who pays for tha child care services out of his or her personal funds.

(6} "Child care provider" or "provider” means a provider licensed under
‘8. 48.65, Stats,, certified under s. 48.651, Stats., or established or contracted for under
5. 120.13{14), Stats,

{7) "Department” means the Wisconsin department of workforce development.

(8) "Economic support agency” means a county department of social services or
human services or a tribal agency which administers economic support programs including

AFDC.



description of activities to be completed by the participant and a description of supportive
services to be provided to the participant,

(10) "Family” means one or more adults and children, if any, related by blood or law
and residing in the same household. Where adults other than Spouses reside together,
each is considered a separate family, except for a nonmarital parent. An emancipated
minor and child living under the care of an individual is considered a one-person family.

(11) "Formula” means a prescribed method for determining funding allocations.

(12) "Food stamp employment and training program”™ means the program
established under s. 49.124, Stats., for the Purpose of assisting food stamp recipients to
develop marketable work skills and obtain gainful employment,

(13} "Income™ means money, wages or salary, net income from non-farm self-
employment, net income from farm self-employment, social security, dividends, interest on
savings or bonds, income from estates or trusts, net rental income or royalties, public
assistance, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), pensions and annuities, unemployment
compensation, worker’s compensation, alimony and other maintenance payments, child
Support payments and veteran pensions.

(14) "Income-eligible” means family income as established in s. 46.98(4){a) and
(am), Stats.

(18} "JOBS" means the job opportunities and basic skills training program
established under 42 USC 682 and s. 49.193, Stats., for the purpose of assisting AFDC
recipients to develop marketable work skills and obtain gainful employment,

(16) "JOBS administrative agency” means a public or private organization that has a
contract with the department to provide JOBS services to AFDC recipients referred to the
agency by economic support agencies.

{17) "Low-incomae child care” means child care that is provided for a person who
is eligible for funding for that child care under s. 46.98(4)(a) and {am), Stats., and 42
USC 9858.

(18) "Parent” has the meaning prescribed in s. 46.98(1)(c), Stats., namely, a
parent, guardian, foster parent, legal custodian or person acting in place of a parent. In
this subsection, "person acting in place of a parent” means a person to whom the child is
related in one of the ways listed in 5. HSS 201.17{1},




(19) “Poverty line” means the annuaily updated poverty income thresholdé by family
size published by the U.S. department of health and human services in the federal register.

Note: The federal poverty guidelines for 1996 were published in the Federal
Begister, March 4, 1996, 8286.

(20) "Rate" means the maximum amount a county or tribal agency will pay for child
care. '

(21) "Special need” means emotional, behavioral, physical or personal needs of a
child requiring more than the usual amount of care and supervision for the child’s age, as
documented by a physician, psychologist, special educator or other qualified professional.
A special need includes a develiopmentai disability.

(22) "Tribe" means a Wisconsin American Indian tribe recdgnized by the federal
government.

(23) "Voucher™ means an authorization for reimbursement.

22D RTMENT WORKFOR EVELOPMENT RESPONSIBILITIES.
(1} GENERAL. The department shall maintain oversight responsibility for administration by
child care administrative agencies of the child care funding program.

(2) RATE APPROVAL. The department shall review and approve the methods
employed by counties and tribes for determining reasonable and customary child care rates
as required under s, HSS 55.74(3).

{3) ASSISTANCE TO COUNTIES, TRIBES AND JOBS ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES.
The department shall provide information and technical assistance to county and tribal
agencies and JOBS administrative agencies regarding administration of the child carg
funding program.

(4) FUNDS DISTRIBUTION. The department shall distribute low-income child care
funds to county agencies through a formula which shall be developed each year in
accordance with all of the following procedures:

{a) A child care advisory committee appointed by the secretary shall review the
formula annually and make recommendations to the department;

(b} All of the following criteria shall be considered in developing the allocation
formula:

1. The number of recipients of AFDC in sach county;

2. The number of parents in each county who work and have children of child care
age;
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3. The number of children in income-sligible families: and
4. Each county’s expenditure history; and

{c) The department shall consider the availability of reliable and current county-by-
county data.

{5) RATE REVIEW. (a) The department shall annually review child care rates
set by each county and tribe, and shall approve or disapprove each county agency’s rates
and tribal agency’s rates based on the following criteria: :

1. The rate-setting method is in accordance with rate-setting requirements specified
under ss. HSS 55.74(3) and 55.75; and

2. The rate-setting method documents that the maximum allowable rate permits all
aligible parents a reasonable choice of day care providers.

(b} The department may grant a variance to a nonstatutory requirement under
ss. HSS 55.73 to 55.77 on written request of a county or tribal agency if the department
is convinced that an alternative means meets the intent of the requirement.

{c) The department may set maximum rates for multi-county or muiti-tribe areas
based on surveys or another methodology instead of setting rates based on each county’s
or tribes survey.

H .7 RAL CHILD CARE POLICIES. (1) APPLICABILITY. This section
applies to all of the following child care funding sources and the child care administrative
agencies responsible for administration of those funds:

{a) Low-income child care under s. 46.98(3) and (4), Stats.:
{b) At-risk child care under s. 46.98(2m) and (2r), Stats.;
{c} Child care for the JOBS program under s. 49.193(8), Stats.;

(d) Child care for AFDC recipients who are participating in self-initiated education or
training activities as specified under 5. 49.191(1)a), Stats., and s. HSS 206.15;

(e) Chiid care for AFDC recipients who are working with child care costs in axcess
of the amount of the child care disregard under s. 49.191(1)(b), Stats., and child care
costs incurred before the child care disregard under s. 49.1 9(5)(a), Stats., becomes
available, as specified under s. 49.50{6e){b), Stats.;

{f) Child care for former AFDC recipients as specified under s. 49.50(6g), Stats.:

(g} Child care for participants in the learnfare program under s. 49.50(7), Stats.: and

(h} Child care for participants in the food stamp employment and training program
under s. 49.124, Stats.



(2) NON-APPLICABILITY. Except for sub. (3) related to authorized providers, this
section doas not apply to family services program child care funds provided to tribes and
used for child care. Requirements for tribes using family services program funds shall be
set in the terms of the contract.

(3} AUTHORIZED PROVIDERS. (a) A child care administrative agency may pay for
child care services from any of the following child care providers:

1. Providers licensed by the department under ch. HSS 45 or 55;

2. Providers certified by a county or tribal agency under standards specified in
s. HSS 55.61 or 55.62; or

3. Programs established and provided by a school board under s. 120.13(14},
Stats.

(b} A child care administrative agency may purchase services from a child care
provider other than a child care provider under par. (a) only when one of the following
conditions is met:

1. The care is an arrangement for parents in training or counseling programs and
the child care is provided at the training or counssling site:

2. The care is a short-term arrangement when a child is ili and not able to receive
care from a regulated child care provider or the provider has an emergency due to iliness or
other circumstance:

3. The care is for a JOBS enroliee to attend a JOBS program activity prior to the
development of an employability plan under s. 49.193(4), Stats., approved by a JOBS
administrative agency; or

4. The care is for a food stamp employment and training program enrollee to attend
a program activity prior to the development of an employability plan,

(¢} A child care administrative agency may not purchase services or issue vouchers
for child care services provided by a person legally responsible under s. 49.90, Stats., for a
child.

(d) A child care administrative agency may not purchase services or issue vouchers
for child care services provided by a person residing in the child’s household.

{e) An in-home care arrangement may be authorized for reimbursement only in one
of the following circumstances:

1. The child has a special need; .

2. Licensed or certified care is not available during the times care is nesded, such
as during evening hours;

3. Care is provided to 3 or more children from the same family; or
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4. Licensad or certified care is not available within a reasonable geographic
distance.

(4) PROVISION AND PURCHASE OF SERVICE. (a) A child care administrative
agency shall provide child care services directly, provide child care services by contracting
with child care providers, provide vouchers to parents for the purchase of child care
services or, in accordance with par. (a), reimburse parents upon presentation of a receipt
from the provider or make payments to parents. The child care administrative agency shall
offer vouchers to each parent approvad for child care funding.

(b} 1. A child care administrative agency shall use a portion of its child care funds
and may use all of its child care funds to provide vouchers to eligible parents, as follows:

a. A child care administrative agency shall offer a voucher to each eligible parent to
the extent that allocated funds are available;

b. A voucher shall be in writing and shall authorize a parent to obtain stipulated
child care services from a provider under sub. (2}); and

c. The voucher shall set a maximum amount of authorized reimbursement which is
less than the county or tribal maximum rate or the provider's weekly price, minus any co-
payment that the parent is required to make.

2. Parents using vouchers for the payment of child care services may receive child
care services from a provider whose price is higher than the county or tribal maximum rate
and pay the difference between the provider’s price and the county or tribal maximum rate
in addition to any required parents’ co-payment.

{c} If a child care administrative agency purchases child care services by contract
with a provider, billing and collection procedures shall be subject to ch. HSS 1. If a county
or tribal agency purchases child care services by means of a voucher issued to the parents,
billing and collection of any parent co-payment requirement is the responsibility of the
provider.

(d) A child care administrative agency shall reimburse child care providers as
follows:

. 1. For licensed group and family day care centers, the agency shall make payments
based on authorized units of service, adjusting future authorized units of service when
excessive absence occurs:

2. For certified providers, tha agency shall reimburse for units of service used by
each child, up to the maximum number of approved units, with the reimbursement rate
increased by 10 percent to account for absent days; and
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3. For licensed group and family day care centers, the agency may make. payments
to licensed providers based on units of service used by each child, up to the maximum
number of approved units, when the schedule of child care to be used is expected to vary
widely, with the reimbursement rate increased by 10 percent to account for absent days.

(8) A child care administrative agancy may reimburse or make payments to a parent
for child care services only when the care is provided by an in-home provider, when a
payment to the parent is the only way to assure access to needed services on an
emergency or temporary basis, or when a parent is being reimbursed for child care
services previously paid for by the parent.

{5) ELIGIBILITY REDETERMINATION. A child care administrative agsncy shall
redetermine parent need for service and eligibility at least every § months.

(6} PARENTAL CHOICE AND PARENTS’ PAYMENT. (a) Parent choice of provider.
Parents may choose the particular licensed or certified child care provider for their child,
except that parents may use in-home day care if one of the criteria under sub. {3)e) is
met.

(b) Parent payments. When a parent is required to make co-payments for child
care, the co-payments shall be in accordance with a payment schedule under s. HSS
55.76(5)}.

(7} RECOUPMENT. (a} A child care administrative agency shall take all reasonable
steps necessary to recoup or recover from a parent funds paid to a child care provider or to
that parent when the parent was not sligible for that lave! of child care benefit.

(b} A child care administrative agency shall take all reasonable steps necessary to
recoup or recover from a provider any overpayments made for child care services for which
the provider was responsible.

HSS $5.74 COUNTY AND TRIBAL AGENCY RESPONSIBILITIES. (1) GENERAL.
Each county and tribal agency shall administer child care funds specified in s. HSS
55.73(1) in accordance with the requirements set forth in this section. A county or tribal
agency may subcontract for administration of child care funds with the approval of the
department.

{2) FUNDING SOURCE PRIORITY. County and tribal agencies shall ensure that
parents are saerved first by child care funding sources guaranteed to AFDC recipients and
former AFDC recipients who meet applicable sligibility criteria.

(3) RATE-SETTING METHOD. Each county and tribal agency shall submit a written
statement to the department which describes the method by which the county or tribal
agency has datermined reasonable and customary rates and the maximum rate that the
county or tribal agency will allow for the purchase of child care services. The department
may prescribe standard units of service by which rates are set in order to achieve
statewida consistency.

(4} INFORMATION TO PROVIDERS. County and tribal agencies shail distribute
information to child care providers regarding child care funding policies.



10

(5) WAITING LIST. (a} If funding is not sufficient to meet the needs of all parents
eligible for low-income child care funds under s. 46.98(4), Stats., a county shall establish a
waiting list for parents who cannot be accommodated by available funding. The waiting
list shall include a parent’s name, address and phone number, priority status, and the date
of the parent’s application.

(b) The county shall place a parent’s name on the waiting list when an application is
received by phone or in writing and the parent’s eligibility appears likely. Documentation
of eligibility is not required before placing a name on the waiting list.

{c) The county shall at least annually update the waiting list to ensure that families
on the list still need child care and are still likely to be eligible.

{d) The county shail submit information to the department upon request on the
number of parents on the waiting list and the number and ages of the children on the
waiting list, by category of sligibility under s. HSS 55.76.

.7 T HIN TY AND TRIBAL AGENCY CHI ARE R )
(1) ESTABLISHMENT OF MAXIMUM RATES. (a) Besponsibility. 1. Except as provided in

subd. 2., a county or tribal agency shall annually set reasonable and customary maximum
child care rates in accordance with the poiicies and procedures set out in this section
unless the department sets maximum rates for a multicounty area which includes the
particular county or tribal area.

2. A tribal agency may use the maximum rates established by a neighboring county
rather than establish its own rates.

(b} Survey. The county or tribal agency, except a tribal agency under par. (a) 2.,
shall annually contact all licensed group day care centers and family day care centers in the
county to determine the child care prices they charge to the general community,

(c) Group. The county or tribal agency shali set separate maximum rates for the
following groups of children:

1. Infants and toddlers under 2 years of age; and

2. Children age 2 and older.

{d) Types of care. To the extent permitted by federal statutes and regulations, the
rates for each group under par. (c) shall be set separately for each of the foliowing types of
care:

1. Licensed group day care centers:

2. Licensed family day care centers;

3. Regularly certified family day care providers;

4. Provisionally certified family day care providers; and



1

8. Certified in-home providers.

{2) MAXIMUM RATES. (a) Group day care centers. In setting maximum rates for
group day care centers, the county or tribal agency shall comply with the following:

1. Maximum rates shall be set so that at least 75 percent of the group day care
center slots in the county or tribal area may be purchased at or below the maximum rate.
The number of siots attributed to a center shall be equal to the center’s licensed capacity;

2. In determining whether 75 percent of the day care slots can be purchased at or
below the maximum rate, the county or tribal agency may exciude day care centers which
operate less than § days a week or 5 hours a day, which receive funding from a county
department established under s. §1.42 or 51.437, Stats., or which do not have a set day
care price; and

3. Reduced maximum rates may not be set for siblings.

(b} Family day care genters. In setting maximum rates for family day care centers,
the county or tribal agency shall comply with the following:

1. Maximum rates shall be met so that at least 75 percent of the family day care
center slots in the county or tribal area may be purchased at or below the maximum rates.
The number of slots attributed to a center shall be equal to the center’s licensed capacity;
and

2. Reduced maximum rates may not be set for siblings.

{c) Certified family day care. To the extent permitted by federal statutes and
regulations, maximum rates for certified family day care shall comply with s. 46.98(4)(dg}
and (dm), Stats.

{(d) Certified in-home dayv care. For certified in-home care, the county or tribal
agency shall establish the maximum rate at the level of the state minimum wage

established under ch. 104, Stats., and ch. IND 72,

(e) Other day care providers. For a day care program established and provided by a
school board or for a certified school-age day care program, the county or tribal agency
shall establish maximum rates in accordance with par. (a) or {(b).

(3) HIGHER RATES. (a) Special nged child. A rate higher than the maximum
allowed under this section may be set on an case-by-case basis for child care for a child
with a special need.

{b) Higher quality. Rates higher than the maximum rates allowed under subs. {1}
and (2) shall be paid to child care providers who meet higher quality of care standards
under s. HSS 55.90, up to maximums determined by the department.
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(4) SPECIAL RATES. A county or tribal agency may set maximum reimbursemaent
rates that are different from the rates aliowed under sub. (1) and {2} for child care provided
for less than a 2-week period, provided sporadically or provided for care of an ill child
through negotiations with the child care provider.

- [ . {1) USE OF FUNDS. Low-income child
care funds distributed under s. 46,98, Stats., may be expended by a county only to fund
services that directly or indirectly benefit parents eligible under this section, as follows:

(a) Servi h irectl nefi rents. Counties shall expend child care funds to .
provide day care services for parents eligible under this section through the use of
vouchers issued to parents or contracts with providers for purchase of services.

(b) Services that indirectly benefit parents. Department approval is required for
counties to expend child care funds for start up, improvement and expansion of child care
services and facilities, and recruitment, education and training for persons providing child
care.

{2) PARENT ELIGIBILITY. (a) Need. To be eligible for low-income child care funds,
a parent shall have a need for child care services for a child who is under 13 years of age
and shall meet the criteria under par. (b} or (c). )

{b) Eligibili riteria f rkin rents. or in rk. A parent who is
working or seeking work is aligible if one of the following criteria is met:

1. The parent is working, is a recipient of AFDC and has monthly child care
expenses exceeding the child care disregard limit under AFDC. These parents are eligible
for funding of child care costs which are above the disregard limit up to the county or tribal
maximum child care rate;

2. The parent is income-sligible and is in paid employment, including migrant or
seasonal labor; or

3. The parent is income-eligible and is actively seeking work. This parent is eligible
for the funding of a maximum of 20 hours of child care a week for 60 working days for
time related to activities involved in seeking employment,

{c) Eligibili iteria for parents in training or ional programs. A parent is
aligible if less than 20 years of age and enrolled in a high school or a high schooi
equivalency program or a course of study mesting the standards established under s.
115.29(4), Stats., for the granting of a declaration of equivalency of high school
graduation, ‘

(d) Two parent families. In two parent families, both parents shail meet eligibility
criteria for working, seeking work, or training under par. (b} or (c).
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{e) Income eligibility. A parent is income-eligible if standard family income is at or
below lavels set in s. 46.98(4)(a) and (am), Stats.

(3) LOSS OF ELIGIBILITY. (a) A parent may be determined no longer eligible for
child care funds because of false information or serious violation of program requirements
provided to county agencies concerning income or eligibility.

(b) The county agency shall send a written notice to the parent and the provider
when the parent is determined no longer eligible for child care funds, stating the reasons
for that determination. The notice shall specify that the parent’s eligibility will end on the
10th day after the date of the notice. The notice shall inform the parent of the right to a
fair hearing.

(c) The parent may request a fair hearing. A request for a fair hearing shall comply
with the procedures under ch. HSS 225 except that the request shall be sent to the office
of administrative hearings so that it is received there within 45 days after the effective
date of the action being appealed.

(d) Changes in the manner of payment of child care services are not subject to
timely notice requirements under s. HSS 201 .09(2)(a) unless the change results in a
discontinuation, suspension, reduction or termination of these benefits, or the change
forces a change in the parent’s child care arrangements.

{e) The provisions of s. HSS 201.09(2)(a) regarding continuation of aid pending
results of a hearing do not apply to hearings under this section.

(4} FUNDING PRIORITIES FOR LOW-INCOME CHILD CARE. (a) If funding for low-
income child care is insufficient to meet the needs of all eligible parents, a county agency
shall piace eligible parents who cannot be accommodated by available funding on a waiting
list in accordance with s. HSS 55.74(5) and shall distribute funds in accordance with
priorities established in s. 46.98(4){c), Stats.

{b) A county agency may not establish priorities for low-income child care other
than those set forth in s. 46.98(4)(c), Stats.

(c) A county agency may not terminate funding provided to any parent eligible
under sub. (2) and s. 46.98(4), Stats., in order to give priority to clients identified in
s. 46.98{4}){c}), Stats.

(5) COSTS CHARGED TO PARENTS. (a) Co-payment requirement. Parents shall be
required to make co-payments for child care services provided directly or by voucher or
purchased by the county agency. Co-payments shall be required of all parents receiving
low-income child care subsidies. A family receiving low-incomse child care assistance shall
be liable for the following percentages of the cost of care received:

1. For a family with an income equal to or less than 75% of the poverty line,
7.5%.
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2. For a family with an income greater than 75% of the boverty line but not greater
than 95% of the poverty line, 10%.

3. For a family with an income greater than 95% of the poverty line, 10%, plus
1.2857% for every percentage point by which the individual’s income exceeds 95% of the
poverty line, up to the cost of the child care.

{b) Phase-in of co-payment raquirement. The co-payment amount for a family
receiving low-incoma child care assistance on July 1, 1996, shall be gradually increased
until the full co-payment under sub. (a) is required on July 1, 1997. Tha department shall
develop a phase-in schedule of the co-payment raquirement.

SECTION 2. HSS 55.77 is repealed.
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The rules contained in this order shall take effect as emergency rules on :
July 1, 1986.

Wisconsin Department of Health and Social Services

Dated: June 25, 1996 vamw

Joe Leaan
Secretary

SEAL:




State of Wisconsin
Department of Health and Family Services

Tommy G, Thompson, Gevernar

Joe Leean, Secretary

December 19, 1996

The Homnorable Richard Grobschmidt, Co-Chairperson
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules
Room 404, 100 North Hamilton

Madison, Wisconsin 53702

Dear Senator Grobschmidt:

In my letter to you dated December 13, 1996, [ asked the Joint Committee to extend
the effective periods of two emergency rule orders, those relating to operation of public
swimming pools and to Medical Assistance coverage of school-based medical services.
The Department of Workforce Development now advises me that there is need for the
Department of Health and Family Services to also request extension of emergency rules
relating to child care certification. As Secretary Wegner and I pointed out in our letter
of November 14, 1996 to Senator Russell Decker and Representative John Gard,
although 1995 Wisconsin Act 404 transferred responsibility for the child care
certification program to the new Department of Workforce Development on July 1,
1996, responsibility for making rules for the program was inadvertently left in DHFS.
Therefore, in response to DWD’s request and pursuant to s. 227.24(2), Stats., I ask the
Jomnt Committee to extend the effective period of the child care certification emergency
rules by 33 days. through February 28, 1997.

The child care certification emergency rules, HSS 55.55 to 55 .63, were published by
the Department of Health and Social Services on June 29, 1996, to take effect on Jaly
1, 1996. The Joint Committee on October 16, 1996, extended the effective period of
the emergency rules, by 60 days, through January 26, 1997. Replacement permanent
rules were submitted to the presiding officers of the Legislature on October 22, 1996,
for review by standing committees. The Senate Labor Committee held a public hearing
on those rules on December 4, 1996, and discussions with DWD are continuing about
possible modifications in the rules. The Department of Health and Family Services
expects to file the permanent rules early in January for a March 1, 1997 effective date.
If the effective period of the emergency rules is not extended, there will be confusion
and disruption in the child care certification program at a time when the state is
preparing to implement Wisconsin Works (W-2).

b West Wilson Street= Post Office Box 7850+ Madison, W1 53707-7850¢ Telephone (G08) 266-9622




The Honorable Richard Grobschmidt
Page 2
December 19, 1996

A copy of the child care certification emergency rule order is attached to this letter. If
you have any questions about the rules, please contact David Edie, director of the
Office of Child Care in the Department of Workforce Development, at 266-6946.

Sincerely,

Secretary

Attachment

cc Representative Grothman




6-25-98a

ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
REPEALING AND RECREATING RULES

The Legislature in s. 275(2) of 1995 Wisconsin Act 289 directed the Department to
promulgate rules relating to public assistance required under chs. 46, 48 and 49, Stats., as
affected by the Acts of 1985, before July 1, 18886, for the period before permanent rules
take effect, by using emergency rulemaking procedures but without having to make a
finding of emergency. These are public assistance-related rules. They are for certified
child care. They will take effect on July 1, 1996.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and Social Services

The Department’s current rules for certification of family day care providers, in-
home day care providers and school-age day care programs are amended by this order to
bring the rules into compliance with recent statute changes, in particular the changes made
by 1895 Wisconsin Act 289 in establishing Wisconsin Works (W-2), a new system of
assistance for families with dependent children which will replace Aid to Families with
Dependent Children (AFDC), and to add needed protections for children, reduce or
eliminate unnecessary requirements and clarify the authority of certifying agencies.

Key changes include:
1. rovisional Certification

Modifying standards for provisional certification so that no training is required, in
compliance with Act 289 changes in the statutes.

2. Limi ification

Deleting the category of limited certification, in compliance with Act 289 changes in
the statutes.

3. Training for Reqular Certification

Deleting the optional requirement to add 5 hours of initial training for regular
certification, in order to standardize regulation statewide.

4. Criminal Records Check

Adding requirements for state criminal records checks and FBI criminal record
checks under certain circumstances, as required by Act 289 changes in the statutes.




5. ification F

Permitting counties and tribai agencies to charge certification fees, as aliowed under
Act 289, not to exceed licensing fees for family day care centers plus the cost of criminal

record checks.

6. Acceptance of Certification

Providing that certification issued by one certifying agency is to be accepted as
valid by other certifying agencies.

7. Certification Exemption

Exempting specified child care arrangements from certification because those
arrangements are short-term.

8. Sanction Authority

Giving sanction authority to certifying agencies when there is danger to the health,
safety or welfare of children in care,

9. School-Age Programs

Adding requirements relating to swimming pools and water safety.
Adding requirements for the safety of vehicles transporting children.
Deleting requirements for:

a. Physical exams for children and staff (replaced by a health history
requirement).

b. 76 square feet of outdoor space per child.

c. Daily outdoor activities.

d. A place for rest or relaxation.

e. Ongoing communication with the child’s parent.

f. Making copies of the certification standards available to all parents.




10. rochial and Priv hool

Deleting rules related to certification of parochial and private schools since those
programs can become licensed in order to receive public child care funding.

11. Parent Checklist

Deleting the rules requirement that parents in certified family day care and in-home |
day care complete and return a checklist of basic certification standards but permitting
counties and tribes to continue to require it.

12. her New or Chan Rul

a. Clarifying what is acceptable supervision and limiting the number of hours a
provider can provide child care per day.

b. Requiring TB tests for all certified providers.
C. Requiring proper hand washing for child care providers and children.
d. Changing the water testing requirement when a public water supply is not

available to be a one-time test prior to or within 3 months of initial certification.

e. Requiring certified providers to report relevant information to the certifying
agency.

f. Prohibiting consumption of alcoholic beverages or controlled substances on
the premises during hours of operation.

g. Prohibiting discrimination.

ORDER

Pursuant to authority vested in the Department of Health and Social Services by
s. 46.03(21), Stats., and s. 275(2) of 1995 Wisconsin Act 289, the Department of Health
and Social Services hereby creates rules interpreting s. 48.651, Stats., as affected by
1995 Wisconsin Act 288, as follows:

SECTION 1. HSS 55.55 to 5§5.62 are repealed and recreated to read:




Subchapter VI - Day Care Certification

HSS 55.55 AUTHORITY, PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY. (1) AUTHORITY AND

PURPOSE. This subchapter is promulgated pursuant to s. 46.03 (21), Stats., and
implements s. 48.651, Stats. It establishes standards for the certification of persons who
provide child care for 1 to 3 children or who are not otherwise required to be licensed as a
day care center under s. 48.65, Stats., and whose services are purchased with state or
federal child care funds. The standards are intended to protect and promote the health,
safety and welfare of children in the care of these providers. '

(2) APPLICABILITY. This subchapter applies to county and tribal agencies and to all
providers of day care who receive reimbursement with state or federal child care funds and
who are not required to be licensed under s. 46.95, Stats., including providers of child care
for 1 to 3 children, providers of child care for a child in the child’s home and providers of
child care for school-age children.

HSS 55.56 DEFINITIONS. In this subchapter:

(1} “AFDC recipient” means a recipient of aid to families with dependent children, a
public assistance program under title IV-A of the Social Security Act of 1935 as amended
$s. 49.18 to 49.41, Stats., and ch, HSS 201.

(2) "Certified day care™ means day care not required to be licensed under
s. 48.65, Stats., as a day care center and which meets the standards under s. HSS 55.61
or s. HSS 55.62 for purchase of care by county or tribal agencies.

(3) "Certified day care operator” means an individual, corporation, partnership or
non-incorporated association or cooperative which has legal and financial responsibility for
the operation of a day care program and for meeting the certification requirements under
this subchapter.

(4) "County agency™ means a county department of social services established
under s. 46.215 or 46.22, Stats., or a county department of human services established
under s. 46.23, Stats.

(5) "Department” means the Wisconsin department of health and family services.

(6) "Family day care center™ means a day care center licensed under s. 48.65,
Stats., and ch. HSS 485,

{7) "Family day care provider” means a person providing care for preschool or
schooi-age children, or both, outside their homes for less than 24 hours a day and who is
not required to be licensed under s. 48.65, Stats., because the provider is caring for fewer
than 4 children under 7 years old who are not related to the provider.

{8} "Group day care center” means a day care center licensed under s. 48.65,
Stats., and ch. HSS 55.




{9) "HealthCheck provider” means a provider of health assessment and evaluation
services eligible to be certified under s. HSS 105.37{1}(a), including an outpatient hospital
facility, health maintenance organization, visiting nurse association, clinic operated under a
physician’s supervision, local public health agency, home health agency, rural health clinic,
Indian health agency and neighborhood health center.

(10) "infant” means a child under one year of age.
(11) "In-home provider™ means a person caring for a child in the child’s own home:
(12) "Licensed physician” means a physician licensed under ch. 448, Stats.

(13} "Parent” means a parent, guardian, foster parent, legal custodian, or person
acting in place of a parent. In this subsection, “person acting in place of a parent” means
a person to whom the child is related in one of the ways listed in 5. HSS 201.17(1).

(14} "Physician’s assistant™ means a heaith care professional certified under
s. 448.04(1){f), Stats., and ch. Med 8.

(15) "Provider™ means a person who provides child care for children.

(16} "Publicly funded parent™ means a parent whose child care expenses are
subsidized directly with state or federal funds.

(17) "Registered nurse” means a nurse licensed as a registered nurse under
ch. 441, Stats.

{18} "Related to the provider” means the provider’s natural or adopted children,
foster children, stepchildren, grandchildren, brothers, sisters, first cousins, nephews,
nieces, uncles and aunts.

(19) “School-age child” means a child 7 years of age or oider who is enrolled in a
public school or a parochial or other private school.

(20) "School-age day care program”™ means a program providing care and
supervision in other than a provider’s home for less than 24 hours a day for 7 or more
school-age children and which is exempt from being licensed as a day care center under
s. 48.65(1), Stats.

(21) “Tribe” means an American Indian tribe recognized by the federal government.

(22) “Wisconsin works participant® means an individual participating in the
Wisconsin works program for families with dependent children administered under
$5. 49.141 t0 49.161, Stats.

HSS 55.57 CONDITIONS FOR PURCHASE OF SERVICES. {1) REGULATION
REQUIRED. Except as provided under sub. (2), a County or tribal agency may purchase
child care only from a family day care center licensed by the department of health and
family services, a group day care center licensed by the department, a day camp licensed
by the department, a day care provider certified by a county or tribal agency under this
subchapter or a day care program established and provided by a public school board.




(2) EXEMPTION FROM REGULATION. A county or tribal agency may purchase child
care that is exempt from licensing for any of the following reasons:

(a) Care is provided to the child of an AFDC recipient or Wisconsin works
participant involved in orientation, enroliment, job search or initial assessment prior to the
development of an employability plan;

{b} The care is an arrangement for parents in training or counseling programs and -
the child care is provided at the training or counseling site; or

{(c} The care is a short-term arrangement when a child is ill and not allowed to
receive care from a regulated child care provider or the provider has an emergency due to
iliness or other circumstance.

HSS 55.58 CERTIFICATION. {1) BASIS FOR CERTIFICATION. In order to be
certified, a day care provider shall be exempt from having to be licensed under subchs. I,
and I, lll or IV and shall comply with the appropriate standards for the type of certified

provider that are specified in this subchapter.

{2) TYPES OF CERTIFIED PROVIDERS. The following types of day care providers
shall be certified as a condition for receiving state or federal child care funds:

(a) Family day care providers and in-home providers. Family day care and in-home
providers are required to meet the standards under s. HSS 55.61 and may care for
preschool children or school-age children or a combination of preschoo! and school-age
children consistent with Table 55.61(6); and

(b} School-age day care programs. School-age day care programs are required to
meet the standards under s. HSS 55.62.

{3) APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION. (a} Form. Application for certification shall
be made on a form available from the county or tribal agency in the provider’s county or
tribal_territory. The applicant shall submit the completed form to that county or tribal
agency.

{b) References. The applicant shall submit with the application the names and
addresses of persons who can attest to the applicant’s good character and ability to care
for children. The county or tribal agency shall require references of all applicants and shall
contact references by phone or letter before certifying an applicant.

{c) Criminal background. The applicant shall submit a completed notarized
background verification form for each provider, employe, prospective employe, substitute
or adult living in the provider’'s home.

(d) Compliance with standards and certification. The county or tribal agency shall
process all certification applications as follows:

1. if the application is for certification under sub. {2}{(a), the county or tribal agency
shall review the application for compliance with standards under s. HSS 55.61 prior to
issuing a certificate; and



2. If the application is for certification under sub. (2)(b), the county or tribal agency
shall refer the application to a licensing representative in the department of health and
family services regional office. The licensing representative shall determine whether the
applicant is in compliance with all standards under s. HSS 55.62 and report back to the
county or tribal agency. The county or tribal agency may issue a certificate based on the
licensing representative’s report.

(d} Approval, Within 60 days after receiving a completed application for
certification or recertification, the county or tribal agency shall either approve the
application and issue a certificate or deny the application. If an application is denied, the
county or tribal agency shall give the appiicant the reasons, in writing, for denial.

(e) [neligible individual. An individual residing in the child’s household is not eligible
for certification for that child.

{4) CERTIFICATION FEE. A county or tribal agency may charge a fee for day care
certification not to exceed the licensing fee for a day care center that provides care and
supervision for 4 to 8 children, under s. 48.65(3}(a), Stats., plus the costs of criminal
record checks.

(8} CATEGORIES OF CERTIFICATION. Certification of a provider by a county or
tribal agency shall be provisional or regular as foliows:

(8) Regular fLevel 1] certification. Regular certification may be issued only after the
provider has demonstrated compliance with all certification standards including training.
Regular certification shall be for a period of 2 years and shall be renewed upon application
if the provider continues to comply with the certification standards. A provider is not
eligible to be issued reguiar certification if the provider is related to all the children in care;
or

tb) Provisional {Level ll} certification. Provisional certification may be issued only

after the provider has demanstrated compliance with all certification standards, except
standards for training under s. HSS 55.61(1)(b). Provisional certification shall be for a
period of 2 years and shall be renewed upon application if the provider continues to comply
with the certification standards, except standards for training under s. HSS 55.61(1)(b).

{6) CERTIFICATION AGENCY. (a) The county or tribal agency responsible for
certification of a provider shall be determined by the geographic area in which the provider
resides.

{b) Certification issued to a provider by a county or tribal agency shall be accepted
as valid by all other agencies authorized to certify providers.

(7) COMPLIANCE. (a) Qualifications of providers. County and tribal agencies shall
maintain records demonstrating provider compliance with s. HSS 55.61{1).

(b)Y Compliance with other standards. 1. General. County and tribal agencies shail
help assure provider compliance with s. HSS 55.61(2) to (12) in accordance with this
paragraph.

2. Required procedures. A county or tribal agency shall:



a. Require receipt of a signed application from the provider agreeing to follow day
care certification standards;

b. Provide a checklist of basic day care certification standards and procedures for
filing a complaint to all parents who are using certified family day care or in-home care and
who are publicly funded parents;

c. Provide orientation for applicants for certification to explain how the certification
system works; )

d. Conduct an inspection before certification or within 30 days following
certification of any provider;

8. Check the criminal record history for applicants for certification, for employes
and prospective employes including substitutes, and for adults living in the applicant’s
home as specified in s. 48.651(2), Stats.; and.

f. Check relevant files on child abuse and neglect findings or pending
investigations.

3. Optional procedures. A county or tribal agency may:

_a. Conduct or)-site inspections at any time prior to or after certification to monitor
compliance with certification standards, in addition to the required inspection under subd.
2.d.; '

b. Conduct on-site inspections of a random sample of certified providers:

¢. Make certification available to all family day care 'hroviders, whather or not
public funding is involved; and

d. Request that all parents who are using a certified home complete and return the
checklist provided under subd. 2.b.

4. Exception. The department of workforce development may grant an exception
to the required procedure under subd. 2.e. if the department determines that the alternative
procedure meets the intent of the requirement.

(8) EXCEPTIONS TO PARTICULAR CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS. A county or
tribal agency may grant an exception to any standard in s, HSS 55.61 or 55.62 if the
county or_tribal agency is convinced that an alternative means meets the intent of the
requirement. '

HSS 55.59 SANCTIONS. (1) The county or tribal agency shail deny, suspend,
revoke or refuse to renew certification and discontinue payment for care if the certified day

care operator, day care program employe, provider, assistant to the provider, substitute
provider or person living in the family day care provider’s home:

(a) Is the subject of a pending criminal charge if the charge substantially relates to
the circumstances of caring for children or the activities of the home; or

{b) Has been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense the
circumstances of which substantially relate to the care of children or activities of the home.




(2) The county or tribal agency may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew
certification and discontinue payment for care if the certified day care operator, day care
program employe, provider, assistant to the provider, substitute provider or person living in
the family day care provider’s homae:

(a) Has been determined to have abused or neglected a child pursuant to s. 48.981 .
Stats.; or

(b} Is the subject of a court finding that the person has abandoned his or her chiid,
has inflicted emotional damage or sexual or physical abuse on a child or has neglected or
refused, for reasons other than poverty, to provide necessary care, food, clothing, medical
or dental care or shelter so as to seriously endanger the physical health of a child.

(3) The county or tribal agency may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew
certification and discontinue payment for care if:

(a) The provider is not in compliance with certification standards under s. HSS
56.61 or 55.62, as appropriate;

(b) The provider's references or other community information does not support the
provider’s declaration that he or she is able to provide an acceptabie level of child care; or

{c} The county or tribal agency determines there is danger to the heaith, safety or
welfare of the children in care.

HSS 55.60 APPEAL. If a county or tribal agency denies, suspends, revokes or
refuses to renew a certification, the county or tribal agency shall notify the provider in
writing and give reasons for the action. The action is reviewable pursuant to ch. 68.
Stats., which provides for administrative review of the decisions of local agencies.

HSS 55.605 COMPLAINTS. Within 10 working days after a county or tribal agency
receives a complaint by telephone, letter or personal contact about a certified day care

provider, the county or tribal agency shall investigate that complaint.

HSS 55.61 STANDARDS FOR FAMILY DAY CARE AND IN-HOME DAY CARE.

(1) QUALIFICATIONS OF PROVIDERS. (a) Ability, age and health. 1. A provider shall be
physically and emotionally able to provide responsible child care and shall be at least 18
years of age.

2. A provider, household member, volunteer, visitor or parent who has symptoms
of iliness or of a communicable disease reportable under ch. HSS 145 that may be
transmitted through normal contact, or whose behavior or mental or physical condition
gives reasonable concern for the safety of the children, may not be in contact with the
children in care,

3. A provider shali demonstrate that he or she is free from tuberculosis prior to
certification.
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{b) Training. 1. A regularly certified provider under s. HSS 55.58(5)(a} shall have
completed 15 hours of child care training approved by the county or tribal agency
responsible for certification prior to regular certification.

2. A county or tribal agency may require up to 5 hours of annual contmusng
education by a regularly certified provider each year foliowing regular certification.

(c) Reporting changes. A provider shall report immedlatefy to the cemfymg agency
any changes related to certification rules, including changes in individuals living in the
househoid.

(2) THE HOME IN FAMILY DAY CARE. A prov:der s home and outside play areas
shall meet the following requirements:

{a) Each floor level used for child care shall have at least one unblocked exit and at
least one smoke detector;

(b) All areas used for child care shall have adequate and safe heat, light and
ventilation;

(c) The home shall be free of hazards and the following items shall be kept
inaccessible to the children:

1. Medications and drugs;

2. Cleaning supplies, poisops and insecticides;

3. Guns, knives, scissors and sharp objects;

4. Matches, cigarstte lighters and flammable liquids;
5. Plastic bags; and

6. Litter and rubbish;

{d) Indoor and outdoor areas used for child care shall include sufficient space for
pfay and for activities which meet the developmental needs of the children in care;

(e} Qutdoor play areas shall be free of hazards and shall be fenced or the provider
shall take special measures 1o ensure the safety of the children;

{f) Pets that are kept in the home shall be tolerant of children and vaccinated
against rabies;
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(g} The home shall have at least one telephone in working order with a list of
emergency numbers posted by each teiephone, including numbers for the rescue squad,
police, fire station, emergency medical care and poison control center:

{(h) The provider shall use an enrollment form which inciudes:

1. The parents’ home and work phone numbers;

2. The parents’ signed consent for emergency madical care; and

3. A name and number to call if the child requires emergency medical care:

(i) The provider shall maintain first-aid supplies and shall wash superficial wounds
with soap and water before bandaging;

(i} The home shall be clean, uncluttered and free of insects and rodents;

(k) Bathrooms, including toilets, sinks and potty chairs, shall be clean and in good
working condition;

{) When a public water supply is not available, the well water shall be tested and
found to be bacterioclogically safe by a laboratory certified under ch. HSS 165 prior to or
within 3 months of initial certification.

{m) Areas, equipment and utensils for food preparation, serving and clean-up shall
be kept clean and sanitary; and

{n) Children may not share cups, eating utensils, washcloths or towels.

(3) THE HOME FOR IN-HOME CARE. When a provider cares for children in the
children’s own home, the provider shall comply with requirements in sub. {2)(c), (e}, (h), (i}
and {mj}.

{4) CHILD HEALTH CARE. (a) Except as provided under pars. {c} and (d), a provider
shall have a current report of a physical examination on file for each child, including each
provider’s child in care, as foilows:

1. For a child under 2 years of age, a report of a physical examination conducted
not more than 6 months prior to nor later than 3 months after the child is admitted, and 2
follow-up heaith examination at teast once every 6 months after admission; and

2. For a child 2 years of age or older, a report of a physical examination conducted
not more than 2 years prior to nor later than 3 months after the child is admitted.

{b) The physical examination report shall be signed and dated by a licensed
physician, a physician’s assistant or a HealthCheck provider.
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{c) The requirement under par. (a) does not apply to a provider who requests from
the county or tribal agency in writing an exemption for a child based upon adherence by
the child’s parent to religious belief in exclusive use of prayer or spiritual means for
healing.

{d) The requirement under par. {(a) does not appiy to school-age children. in this
paragraph, "school-age children" means children 5 years of age or older who are enrolled in
kindergarten or a higher grade in a public or private school. -

(e} The provider shall have on file a written record verifying that each child in care
has been immunizad in accordance with s. 252.04, Stats., and ch. HSS 144,

(f) The provider may administer medication to a child only in accordance with
written and signed permission from the child’s parent.

(g} The provider shall wash hands with soap and warm funning water after toileting,
prior to food preparation and after diapering children.

(h) All children in care shall wash their hands with soap and warm running water
before eating and after toileting.

(5) SUPERVISION. (a) The provider may not be engaged in any other activity or
occupation during the hours of operation which interferes with the adequate care and

supsrvision of chiidren.

(b} The provider shall be awake whenever the children in care are awake,

{c) No individual provider may take care of children for more than 16 hours in any
24-hour period. The 16-hour period includes any combination of care by a provider who is
both licensed as a family day care provider and certified as a family day care provider.

{d} A child shall have adult supervision at all times.
{e) No person under 18 years of age may be left in sole charge of the children,

{f) The provider and any other adult working with children may not consume or be
under the influence of alcoholic beverages or any non-prescribed controlled substance
specified in ch. 161, Stats., during the hours of operation.

(g} No person in the home of a provider may consume or be under the influence of
alcoholic beverages or any non-prescribed controlled substance specified in ch. 161,
Stats., during the hours of operation in the presence of children,

(h) The provider, a household member, volunteer, visitor or parent whose behavior
or mental or physical condition gives reasonable concern for the safety of children may not
be in contact with children in care.
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(86) MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN. (a) A certified provider may take care of no
more than 3 children under the age of 7 who are not related to the provider.

{b) A certified provider may take care of no more than 6 children, including children
related to the provider, except that:

1. If 3 of the children are under the age of 2, the total number of children may not
exceed 5; or .

2. If 4 of the children are under the age of 2, the total number of children may not
exceed 4.

{c} A provider's natural, adopted or foster children 7 years of age or older are not
counted in determining the maximum number of children allowed under par. (b).

(d) The maximum number of children that one provider may care for is shown in
Table 55.61(6)A and B.
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Table 55.61(6)
MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN IN CERTIFIED DAY CARE

A. WHEN ALL CHILDREN ARE 2 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER

%

Related Additional : Maximum
Children Under  Children Under Number of
7 Years of Age 7 Years of Age Additional Children Ages 7 to 11 Children*

0 3 Additional children ages 7 to 11 may 6
1 3 be cared for as long as the maximum 6
2 3 total number of children is not 6
3 3 exceeded. 6
4 2 6
5 1 6
6 0 6

* The maximum number does not include the provider’'s natural, adopted or foster
children 7 years of age and older.

B. WHEN CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF 2 YEARS ARE PRESENT

%

Number of Children Under 2 Years of Maximum Number of Children*
Age

%

WM -0
G o

o

%

* The maximum number does not include the provider’s natural, adopted or foster
children 7 years of age and older.

Note: Under s. 48.65(1), Stats., if a provider takes care of 4 or more children under
the age of 7 who are not related to the provider, for compensation, the provider must
obtain from the department of heaith and family services a license to operate a day
care center,
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{7} PROVIDER INTERACTIONS WITH CHILDREN. The provider shall interact with the
children in a caring and positive manner and:

{a} Shall protect children in care from danger and be aware of where each child is at all
times;

(b) May not hit, spank, pinch, shake or inflict any other form of corporal punishment on
the child, or use any discipline which is frightening to the child; and ~

(c} May not verbally abuse or threaten a child or make derogatory remarks about the
child or the child’s family.

(8) ACTIVITIES AND EQUIPMENT. (a) The provider shall implement a program of
learning and play activities. Activities shall include:

1. A balance of active and quiet play for each child daily;

2. Both indoor and, weather permitting, outdoor activities for each child daily;

3. Opportunities for each child to play with a variety of toys and equipment;

4. Opportunities for each child to be involved in a variety of activities during a week;

5. Activitias specifically for children under one year of age, if these children are
present; and

6. Activities specifically for children from one to 2 years of age and for children 2
years and older, if these children are present.

(b} Television may be used only to supplement the daily plan for children. No chiid may
be required to watch television.

{9) TRANSPORTATION. When transporting children the provider shall ensure that:

(a) The driver of the vehicle holds a valid operator’s license;

{b} The vehicle is registered in Wisconsin; and

.(c} Each child is seated and properly restrained in a seat belt or, for a child under 4
years of age, a child safety restraint system, in compliance with s. 347.48(2m) and 4),

Stats.

(10) MEALS AND SNACKS. The provider shall ensure that each child receives proper
nourishment while in day care as follows:

(a) Each child shall be served one meal or snack at least once every 3 hours;
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(b} Each child in attendance for 4 or more hours shall be served a noon or evening meal
which consists of a protein food, fruit and vegetable, a cereal or bread product and
pasteurized grade A vitamin D milk; and

(c) Each infant who is unable to hold his or her own bottle shaill be held for bottle
feeding. Botties may not be propped.

{11) REST. The provider shall ensure that each child has a clean, comfortable and safs
place to rest as follows:

(a} Each child shall be allowed to have undisturbed rest or a nap, when needed, in a
place that is clean, safe and comfortable; and

{b) Each child shall have a personal clean sheet or blanket or both and pillowcase if a
pillow is used.

(12) PROVIDER AND PARENT COMMUNICATION. The provider shall be in ongoing
communication with a child’s parent by:

(a) Allowing parents to visit and observe the program of child care during any hours
that care is being provided;

(b} Talking to each child’s parent at least once a week about his or her child’s
development, activitiss, likes and dislikes;

(c} Developing written information which specifies the charge for child care and the
expected frequency of payment for the service;

(d) Making a copy of the applicable certification standards available to each parent; and
(e) Display a copy of the certificate in an area easily seen by parents and visitors;

(13) DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED. The provider shall not discriminate on the basis of
race, color, sex, sexual orientation, creed, handicap or national origin or ancestry.

HSS 55.62 STANDARDS FOR SCHOOL-AGE PROGRAMS. (1} CONDITIONS FOR
CERTIFICATION. Schooi-age day care programs shall meet the standards set out in this
section in order to be certified.

(2) PERSONNEL. (a) Director. Each school-age day care program shall have a person
designated as director. The director shail:

1. Be at least 21 years of age; and
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2. Have had at least one year of child care or administrative experience with preschool
or school-age children or have compieted 36 classroom hours or 3 credits of training in at
least one of the following areas: child development, early childhood education, slementary
education, child guidance, physical education, recreation or other department-approved
area.

(b) Program leader. A program leader shall be designated by the program director to
plan and implement the daily activities for a designated group of children. The program
leader shall:

1. Be at least 18 years old;
2. Have completed high school or its equivalency;
3. Have had 80 working days experience working with school-age children; and

4. Have completed 10 classroom hours of training in at least one of the following
areas: child development, early childhood sducation, elementary education, child guidance,
physical education, recreation or other department-approved area,

{c) Program assistant. A program assistant shall:

1. Work under the supervision of a program leader;
2. Be at least 18 vears old; and

3. Have completed or be enrolled in 10 classroom hours of training in at least one of
the following areas: child development, early childhood education, elementary education,
child guidance, physical education, recreation or other department-approved area.

(d) Substitutes. [n the absence of a regular staff member, there shall be a similarly
qualified substitute who is at least 18 years old, but when the regular staff member is not
expected to be absent for more than 3 days a person nat meeting the educational
qualifications under par. (a), (b) or (c) may substitute for the regular staff member if a
qualified person is not available.

(e) Staff records. The school-age day care program shall maintain a record for each
employe which is available to the county or tribal agency and includes:

1. The name, address, date of birth, education, position, names and addresses of
employers in previous work experience in child care, the name, address and telephone
number of a person to be notified in an emergency, and a statement signed by the employe
affirming that he or she has not been convicted or is not the subject of a pending criminal
charge as specified under s. HSS 55.59 (1);
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2. Evidence that the employe is free from tuberculosis; and

3. Documentation of educational qualifications for the position.

(3) ORIENTATION. Each program shall develop and implement an orientation program
which shall be given to all new staff and volunteers in the first week that they are working
in the program. This arientation shall include:

{a3) Review of health, nutrition and discipline poiicies;

{b) Review of plans for evacuation and other emergencies;

{¢) Training in emergency procedufas and use of first-aid;

(d) Review of all applicabie parts of this subchapter;

(e) Review of the program’s activity schedules;

{f) Training in the recognition of signs of child abuse and neglect and explanation of
responsibilities for reporting suspected cases of child abuse or neglect;

{g) Explanation of job responsibilities and job descriptions; and
(h) Training in the recognition of childhood ilinesses.

(4) FACILITY. (a) General rules. 1. A program shall consuit local authorities to obtain
any required zoning clearances or building permits.

2. There shall be a report of inspection which indicates approval of the buiiding by the
state department of commerce or by a certified agent of that department. The building
shall comply with applicable state and local building codes.

(b} Indoor space. 1. The space used by children shall be no less than 35 square feet
(3.3 sq. meters) of usable floor space per child.

2. The indoor area shall be free of hazards, and items that may be harmful to children
such as madications, drugs, poisons, insecticides, weapons, matches, cigarette lighters
and flammable liquids shall be kept out of reach of the children.

(d) Swimming pool. 1. A program which has a swimming pool on its premises shali
comply with the requirements of chs. ILHR 90 and HSS 172, relating to swimming pool

safety.

2. The program shall maintain a ratio of one person qualified by Red Cross, Boy
Scouts, Young Men’s Christian Association or other generally accepted lifesaving
certificate for every 25 children in the water.
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{5) CHILD HEALTH CARE. (a) Within 30 days after a child is enrolled, the program
shall have on file a health history for that child. ‘

(b) The program shail isolate any ill child and contact the parent or designated
responsible person as soon as possibie to arrange for removal of the child from the
program,

(c) The provider may administer medication to a child only in accordance with written
and signed permission from the child’s parent.

{d) Pets that are kept on the premises shall be tolerant of children ang vaccinated
against rabiaes. '

{e) Staff shall wash hands with soap and warm running water after toileting and prior to
food service and preparation.

{f) All children in care shall wash their hands with soap and warm running water before
eating and after toileting.

(6) STAFFING AND GROUPING. (a) At least one person meeting the qualifications of a
program ieader shall supervise each group of children.

(b) There shali be no more than 32 children in a group.
{c) There shall be at least one staff member for every 16 children.

(d) Children who are relatives of staff are counted in the group size and ratio
calculations.

{e) In a program with 10 or more children present, there shall be at least 2 adults
available at ali times on the premises.

(b} A program shall have on file:
1. The parents’ home and work phone numbers;
2. The parents’ signed consent for emergency care; and

3. A name and number to call if a child requires emergency medical care.
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{c) The pragram shall maintain first-aid supplies and staff shall wash superficial wounds
with soap and water before bandaging.

(8) SANITATION. (a) The premises shall be ciean, uncluttered and free of insects and
rodents.

(b) Bathrooms, including toilets and sinks, shall be clean and in good working condition.

(c} When a public water supply is not available, the well water shall be tested and
found to be bacteriologically safe by the state laboratory of hygiene or a laboratory
certified under ch. HSS 165 prior to or within 3 months of initial certification.

{d) Areas, equipment and utensils for food preparation, serving and clean-up shall be
kept clean and sanitary.

(e) Children may not share cups, eating utensils, washcloths or towels.

{3} STAFF INTERACTIONS WITH CHILDREN. Staff shall interact with the children ina
caring and positive manner and:

(a) Shall protect children in their care from danger and be aware of where each child is
at all times:

(b} May not hit, spank, pinch, shake or inflict any other form of corporal punishment on
a child, or use any discipiine which is frightening to the child; and

{c) May not verbally abuse or threaten a child or make derogatory remarks about the
child or the child’s family. _

(10) ACTIVITIES AND EQUIPMENT. (a) The program shall implement a schedule of
activities which include:

1. A variety of activities which ensure that each child is involved in both active and
quiset play;

2. Opportunities for each child to use a variety of materials and equipment; and

. 3. Opportunities for each child to be involved in a variety of activities during a week
and to select and plan his or her own activities. .

{b) Television viewing, if part of the activities, may not exceed one hour a day per child
and shall be appropriate for the children in care. i

(11) MEALS AND SNACKS. (a) A program operating for less than 4 hours shail ensure ?
that each child is served a snack.

{b) A program operating 4 or more hours shall ensure that each child is served one meal 1
or one snack at least once every 3 hours.




21

{c) For each child served a noon or evening meal, that mea! shall consist of a protein
food, fruit and vegetable, a cereal or bread product and pasteurized grade A vitamin D
milk.

{d) Snacks shall consist of at least one of tha following: milk or a milk product, fruit,
fruit juice, vegetable, peanut butter or other protain, whole grain or enriched bread or
cereal. When only fruit juice is served, it shall be pure fruit juice.

(12) TRANSPORTATION. (a) The program shall have a written agreement with sach -
child’s parent or guardian, and signed by the parent or guardian, which specifies how the
child will be transported to and from the program.

(b} A driver for the program shall hold a valid Wisconsin Operator’s license of whatever
type is required.

{c} Any vehicle used by the program to transport children shail be registered in
Wisconsin.

{(d) Any vehicle used by the program to transport children shail be in safe operating
condition and at 12-month intervals the school-age day care program shall provide
evidence of the vehicle’s safa operating condition.

(e} Each child and aduit being transported in a vehicle with a seating capacity of 15 or
fewer shall be seated and properiy restrained in an individual vehicle seat belt or a car
safety seat.

(13} PARENTS. The program shall allow parents to visit and ohserve the program at
any time during the hours of operation.

(14) INSURANCE. The program shall provide documentation of insurance coverage by
submitting to the county or tribal agency a certificate of insurance reflecting current dates
of coverage for:

(a) General liability insurance which provides coverage with limits of not less than
$25,000 for each person and total limits of $75,000 for each occurrence:

(b} Vehicle liability insurance when transportation is provided, with minimums no less
than those specified in s. 121 .53, Stats.; and

(c} Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when transportation is provided by other than
center-owned vehicles.

SECTION 2. HSS 55.63 is repealed.
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The rules contained in this order shall take effect as emergency rules on July 1, 1996.

Wisconsin Department of Health and
Social Services

SN Reaey

Dated: June 25, 1996 By
Joe Lesan

"Sacretary

SEAL:






