1999 ASSEMBLY BILL 615

December 1, 1999 – Introduced by Representatives Sykora, Huebsch, Porter, Kaufert, Huber, Hahn, Owens, Staskunas, Hebl, Pocan, Balow, Berceau, Bock, Hasenohrl, Kreuser, La Fave, F. Lasee, Lassa, Meyerhofer, Miller, Olsen, Plale, Richards, Schneider, Schooff, Steinbrink, Wasserman, Waukau, Ziegelbauer and Meyer, cosponsored by Senators Burke, Decker, Farrow, Huelsman, Robson, Rosenzweig, Wirch, Welch and Rude. Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Personal Privacy.

- 1 AN ACT **relating to:** assistant district attorney positions for certain counties and
- 2 making an appropriation.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Under current law, the state pays for the salaries and various benefits for district attorneys, deputy district attorneys, assistant district attorneys and other state employes of the district attorney's office. This bill adds the following assistant district attorney positions to the following counties, effective July 1, 2000: 0.25 position for Adams County; 0.25 position for Chippewa County; 0.5 position for Columbia County; 2.5 positions for Dane County; 0.25 position for Jefferson County; 0.5 position for Kenosha County; 0.5 position for LaCrosse County; 1.0 position for Manitowoc County; 1.0 position for Marathon County; 7.0 positions for Milwaukee County; 0.5 position for Outagamie County; 0.5 position for Portage County; 0.75 position for Rock County; and 1.25 positions for Winnebago County.

For further information see the *state and local* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Appropriation changes.

3

4 (1) Additional assistant district attorney positions. In the schedule under section 20.005 (3) of the statutes for the appropriation to the department of

ASSEMBLY BILL 615

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

administration under section 20.475 (1) (d) of the statutes, as affected by the acts of 1999, the dollar amount is increased by \$805,700 for fiscal year 2000–01 to increase the authorized FTE positions for the department of administration by 16.75 GPR positions on July 1, 2000, for assistant district attorney positions as follows: 0.25 position for Adams County; 0.25 position for Chippewa County; 0.5 position for Columbia County; 2.5 positions for Dane County; 0.25 position for Jefferson County; 0.5 position for Kenosha County; 0.5 position for LaCrosse County; 1.0 position for Manitowoc County; 1.0 position for Marathon County; 7.0 positions for Milwaukee County; 0.5 position for Outagamie County; 0.5 position for Portage County; 0.75 position for Rock County; and 1.25 positions for Winnebago County.

11 (END)